You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Joan Burton and Enda Kenny Niall Carson/PA

Most people think the government has NOT done a good job

A poll finds the majority of people think the coalition hasn’t done a good job over the last four years.

THE MAJORITY OF people in Ireland believe the government has not done a good job, according to a new poll.

A Claire Byrne Live/Amárach Research poll has found that 52% of people responded No when asked the question: ‘Do you think this government has done a good job?’

Nearly a third, 31%, said the Fine Gael-Labour coalition has done a good job while 17% said they didn’t know.

The survey was carried out among over 1,000 people earlier this week and shows an interesting breakdown among the various age groups.

While over 60% of those aged between 35 and 54 believe the coalition has NOT done a good job, 41% of those aged 55 and over believe the government HAS done a good compared to 40% who think it hasn’t.

More people think the government hasn’t done a good job than those who think it has when the poll is broken down by social class.

Across all regions, the majority of people think the coalition has not done a good job.

The poll comes ahead of next month’s Budget announcement where the coalition is expected to announce further tax cuts and increases to areas like child benefit.

A recent Red C opinion poll put the coalition parties on a combined 38% of support, short of what would be needed for it to be returned to government without support from other parties and independent TDs at the next general election.

Taoiseach Enda Kenny told the Dáil on Tuesday that the general election take place in “early 2016″. However there have been persistent rumours that a snap election will be called for November.

The poll was conducted yesterday by Amárach Research. The survey panel comprises more than 1,000 adults who all own a smartphone. More details here.

Read: Most people think Labour HASN’T protected the least well-off

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

143 Comments
    Mute Liam O Connor
    Favourite Liam O Connor
    Sep 23rd 2015, 9:39 PM

They had options when they got in to reform the way things are done and cut quangos and wasteful spending but rather than do this they went for a raft of new taxes and massive increases in existing taxes. I only hope they get what they deserve with any luck!

Mute ciaran
    Favourite ciaran
    Sep 23rd 2015, 10:22 PM

the fg/lab coalition had a golden opportunity to bring in a new way of doing things yet as soon as bums hit seats it got worse than the last crowd.
    all the main parties should hang their collective heads in shame at how they creased every man/woman yet to be born in this country

Mute gregory
    Favourite gregory
    Sep 23rd 2015, 10:26 PM
    See 13 more replies ▾
    Mute gregory
    Favourite gregory
    Sep 23rd 2015, 10:30 PM

How about an Annaul On-Line Public Accountability Report (APAR) signed of by the responsible Minister listing all KPI’s? Eg. No. Of heads per salary band-annual pension costs-consultant costs-infrastructure costs/CAPEX-expenses-total no. Employees-sub contractor costs-materials costs/consumables….

Mute gregory
    Favourite gregory
    Sep 23rd 2015, 10:36 PM

I propose we reduce renumeration/pension levels for politicians to those of a (much) rich(er) country like Holland….

Mute gregory
    Favourite gregory
    Sep 23rd 2015, 10:40 PM

Reduce water charges to those in Holland ie. €1.59 per m3 not the CER approved IW rate of €3.70 per m3 (per jan2019).

http://www.nibud.nl/consumenten/energie-en-water/

Mute gregory
    Favourite gregory
    Sep 23rd 2015, 10:41 PM

Note acc. NiBud each person uses 45m3 of water per year (avg.)

Mute Chris O Neill Cabra
    Favourite Chris O Neill Cabra
    Sep 23rd 2015, 10:48 PM

Spot on Liam, they promised us transparency all we got was more cute hoorism… Labour as well – what a feckin disgrace of a party. I will never vote for that shower again, feel so utterly betrayed and still angry like almost everyone else who voted for them.

Mute gregory
    Favourite gregory
    Sep 23rd 2015, 10:53 PM

Cancel All Unvouched Expenses. Cancel additonal tax relief on 2nd home properties in Dublin for Politicians. Cancel €6.5k maintenance allowance on politician 2nd home properies in Dublin. Reduce mileage rate to €0.60 per mile (as companies do). Cancel untaxed Gross/Termination Lump Sums. Cancel Bonusses/Uplift for Committee Work-they are already paid. Cancel “overpayments-on-travel expenses” for all-reumerate the cost.

Get ready for rage:

https://namawinelake.wordpress.com/2012/02/18/how-much-do-irish-politicians-get-paid-part-1-of-2/

Mute gregory
    Favourite gregory
    Sep 23rd 2015, 11:06 PM

Cancel Party Whip “bonus” ranges from €3k – €15k. Cancel Unvouched Public Representation Allowance €15k. Cancel Unvouched property maintenance tax deductions of €4.5k. Cancel Unvouched tax deductions of €3.5k and Vouched allowances for Dry Cleaning etc. Cancel Ministers Cost+15% Hotel/Subsistence allowances-reimburse@cost only. Cancel Cost+80% allowance for attending “Parliamentary Assemblies” eg. OSCE meetings-reburse@cost.

Mute Angry Squirrel
    Favourite Angry Squirrel
    Sep 23rd 2015, 11:11 PM

Won’t vote for FF FG or labour next election hopefully they will be wiped out . Sick of the parties.

Mute Gill B
    Favourite Gill B
    Sep 23rd 2015, 11:13 PM

Gregory can you please stop posting comments that make sense !!!

You are distracting us from believing politicians as such I find it quite offensive you speak the truth :)

Mute gregory
    Favourite gregory
    Sep 23rd 2015, 11:16 PM

Accountability, Transparency and a level of Responsibility in terms of renumeration & expenses, Efficiency-we don’t have it. FG did not even pick the Low Hanging Fruit & Labour is compromised by SiPTU/Unions. #failure2reform.

Mute J
    Favourite J
    Sep 23rd 2015, 11:34 PM

It’s imperative that the Left Political establishment come together in a cohesive manner to put forward a realistic opposition to the dominant Right Wing Parties (Fine Gael, Fianna Fáil, Renua…and so on). Fine Gael just continued the policies which Fianna Fáil left behind them…which were vehemently rejected by the Electorate in the last General Election.
    We live in very dangerous Political times, in which the Country’s Assets (Property, Industry, People, Land) are being sold off in fire sales to Foreign Fund Management Financiers and God knows who else in a bid for very short term gain.
    We need a Common-Sense Left Political movement with Credibility which will work to enable people here an equal Opportunity to achieve their potential…The wealth of this Nation is fleeing our shores to Foreign Jurisdictions …Inequality of Opportunity to achieve ones potential is the seed and lifeblood of disorder and disfunction…Right Wing Policies at this moment in time greatly add to inequality by indirectly facilitating a massive transfer of wealth to the most well-off in society…indirectly because these policies actively prevent the less well off in society an opportunity to advance by mounting increasing amounts of debt onto their shoulders (Debt Spiral)…this leaves the Asset playing field wide open for the Wealthy to thrive further at everyone else’s expense.
    Do we want another 5yrs more of this Societal Inequality and deprivation under Fine Gael/Labour?

Mute Blathnaid1986
    Favourite Blathnaid1986
    Sep 24th 2015, 7:09 AM

Blame Labour for selling out the left

Mute Carmo Vanderval
    Favourite Carmo Vanderval
    Sep 24th 2015, 8:58 AM

I always voted labour and unsure who I’ll vote for next time. But yes to reasonable water charges and yes to a cohesive left wing coalition but I’m worried the alternative won’t be cohesive.
    When the tories won the election I was like” thank god I don;t live in the UK”, now with Corbyn I must admit I’m a bit jealous.

Mute Darren Mc Mahon
    Favourite Darren Mc Mahon
    Sep 23rd 2015, 9:22 PM

Get rid of usc and water charges.

Mute Stephen Ring
    Favourite Stephen Ring
    Sep 23rd 2015, 9:27 PM

And replace those revenue sources with what? Or cut what services?

Mute Jamsey
    Favourite Jamsey
    Sep 23rd 2015, 9:28 PM

I’m not sure that would save FG/Lab at this stage.There have been way too many other controversies at this stage.Everything from the Shatter affair to the firing of the Garda Commissioner.Homelessness being at an all time high.HSE in tatters.Noonan holding meetings with the DUP.The whole government reeks….

See 30 more replies ▾
    Mute Ciaran Morgan
    Favourite Ciaran Morgan
    Sep 23rd 2015, 9:37 PM

by not paying private bank and insurance company debt Stephen.

Mute John Doe
    Favourite John Doe
    Sep 23rd 2015, 9:37 PM

legalize and heavily tax weed.. it could bring in a few hundred million euro per year. that would more than pay for the water, use the rest of to pay for more rehab centres and clinics to help hard drug addicts to overcome their addiction instead of sending them to a prison full of drugs that costs way more per person than clinics.. actually deal with drug problems instead having a “War” with it..

Mute Merkler
    Favourite Merkler

Don’t be so progressive now you. Tis Ireland sur

Mute Stephen Ring
    Favourite Stephen Ring
    Sep 23rd 2015, 9:41 PM

They’ve already paid that Ciaran. I think what you mean is to stop paying interest on the borrowings used to pay said debts. We’d effectively cut ourselves off from international credit by doing that as effectively we’d be defaulting on sovereign debt.

Have another go there.

Mute Robert Doherty
    Favourite Robert Doherty

@Stephen. How about raising corporation tax by 2% to replace usc. Then putting Irish water into the constitution and apply a % onto the property tax to cover it?

Mute Tom Kelly
    Favourite Tom Kelly
    Sep 23rd 2015, 9:50 PM

Ciaran, even when that debt is removed we still have a short fall you muppet

Mute Stephen Ring
    Favourite Stephen Ring

@Robert – considering USC and corporation tax raise roughly the same (I know, I’m shocked too, see sources below) you’d have to double corpo tax which’ll never happen. Water aside, can anyone give me a realistic replacement source of the USC revenue or are you just going to keep red thumbing a question you can’t/won’t answer?

http://www.oecd.org/ireland/revenue-statistics-and-consumption-tax-trends-2014-ireland.pdf

http://www.finance.gov.ie/sites/default/files/Universal-Social-Charge-Review.pdf

Mute Anthony Halpin
    Favourite Anthony Halpin
    Sep 23rd 2015, 9:52 PM

Careful now! Down with that kind of thing!

Mute Robert Doherty
    Favourite Robert Doherty
    Sep 23rd 2015, 10:00 PM

@Stephen, well then bin the corp tax idea so. Anything viable on taxing the our natural resources being given away to internationals? Any objections to the IW idea? It would probably keep most happy as it would be afford based on poorest size and also keep ownership in the people’s hands??

Mute OneTrueVoice
    Favourite OneTrueVoice
    Sep 23rd 2015, 10:00 PM

A fish-caught-in-Irish-Waters-tax. We just need a fleet of about 2000 speedboats to patrol the perimeter.

I’m sure the mainland Europeans would object if we started digging up their crops and selling them for profit without paying them something.

Mute Robert Doherty
    Favourite Robert Doherty
    Sep 23rd 2015, 10:01 PM

F’ing auto correct! *on property size

Mute Stephen Ring
    Favourite Stephen Ring
    Sep 23rd 2015, 10:13 PM

@Robert – No, the Irish water is red herring as far as I’m concerned as it’s a non-budgetary item. If you want to cut USC you’re going to have to find €4 billion elsewhere. I couldn’t comment on whether there’s €4 billion to be raised on natural resources exploration and extraction, but I’m quite sure these companies purchased licenses and that any attempt to unilaterally change the terms of these licences would be illegal. So I don’t see it as a viable option if we wish to stay in the EU. Any other ideas?

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    Sep 23rd 2015, 10:19 PM

Stephen….we haven’t already paid the bank debt, that’s where you’re being mislead. We only started paying for that in 2014 and will destroy/delete at the behest of the ECB €2 billion a year for the next 40 years just to cover the money that was created to pump into Anglo/IN. All we have to do is tell the ECB we are not going to destroy any more taxpayers money to feed the EU private bank debt….it really is that simple.

Mute Jamsey
    Favourite Jamsey
    Sep 23rd 2015, 10:25 PM

@Ciaran.They have a history of paying off bank and insurance debts using taxpayers money.Remember AIB/ICI in 1985? Is was a write off of €200m which was a huge amount back then and an amount that we are still paying and will be paying into 2030′s.Blueshirts always look after their own first and if the people are lucky they might get a few scraps.Scraps that we will be charged for.

Mute Stephen Ring
    Favourite Stephen Ring
    Sep 23rd 2015, 10:37 PM

Al Ca – No, we haven’t repaid the bank debt – we borrowed money and put it into the banks. There now exists a deb. Rightly or wrongly, we are now paying off that debt. What your suggesting is a default. I’ve already explained why that’s not a great idea.

The journal comment section is full of people with slogans but no concrete solutions. No-one has presented one feasible source of the €4 billion needed should USC be abolished, be it tax raises or spending cuts. Just keep red-thumbing, it’s a great replacement for debate and solutions.

Mute Anne de Croix
    Favourite Anne de Croix
    Sep 23rd 2015, 10:39 PM

OTV- First comment EVER that you have made here that I agree with. Progress! We’ll make a socialist out of you yet! ;)

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    Sep 23rd 2015, 10:49 PM

Stephen…that’s where you are wrong. Noonan was allowed by the ECB to create digital money and pump it into Anglo/IN…….it was not borrowed. Now that there is €32 billion to much in circulation in Ireland(even thought that money went to foreign banks) it now has to be removed from circulation.
    To do this we are forced to sell an average of €2 billion a year of Government bonds to investors and the money we get for those bonds is destroyed/deleted in the Central Bank. We start paying the investor their interest and then in a few years the investor returns for his principle of €2 billion……then we have to borrow €2 billion to pay them back their principle and pay interest again on a new loan.
    That is how the deal was done between Noonan and the ECB, we have literally only started this process. already this year alone €1.5 billion was deleted in this manner.

http://thechatteringmagpie14.blogspot.ie/

Mute Anne de Croix
    Favourite Anne de Croix
    Sep 23rd 2015, 10:49 PM

Legalise it.

Mute Shakka1244
    Favourite Shakka1244
    Sep 23rd 2015, 10:50 PM

Hows this for a mental idea. How about cutting waste and excess staff from the public sector. Why does a country this size need circa. 300,000 public/civil servants? I know there will be short-term pain but will result in long-term gain and huge savings. Where is the public sector reform and quango culling that we were promised? Easier to ignore the problems and just throw good money after bad using our taxes – great strategy FG/Lab/FF. But to be fair, we have let them away with it thus far…

Mute Stephen Ring
    Favourite Stephen Ring
    Sep 23rd 2015, 10:59 PM

Anne – that’s the best idea I’ve heard all night.

Shakka – not far behind. I think people think I’m pro-government, I’m absolutely not. I’m pro realism.

Al Ca – I don’t know where to start. Genuinely. Does it get hot under your tin-foil hat!? You really don’t seem to have a clear grasp of international money markets. And don’t quote a crack pot conspiracy blog as a source. It’s the ramblings of a financially uninformed loon failing to understand the creation of credit and international finance.

Mute lavbeer
    Favourite lavbeer
    Sep 23rd 2015, 11:05 PM

Stephen with IIRC farce if Ireland grew a pair; who is getting burnt?

Mute gregory
    Favourite gregory
    Sep 23rd 2015, 11:12 PM

Stephen, paying tax I understand. But I expect Accountability & Transparency. And a level of Responsible Behaviour when to comes to renumeration and expense-we don’t have it and FG didnt even pick the low hanging fruit….

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    Sep 23rd 2015, 11:17 PM

LOL…Diarmuid O’Flynn is a journalist that runs that page, he is also the founder of the ‘Ballyhea Says No’ group.
    He explains how the deal was done and has his information backed by economists Constantin Gurdgiev and Bill Black. This is no ‘crackpot conspiracy’ blog’ that is how the deal was done between Noonan and the ECB….it is fact!
    You don’t want to understand what was done because it would upset your world and your love for FG.
    You also may want to educate yourself on credit and international finance.
    Keep you head in the sand while Noonan and the ECB dip your pockets.
    You can bring a horse to water but you can’t make him drink.

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca

Here’s a picture of the time a group from Ballyhea including MEPs Luke Ming Flanagan and Nessa Childers, TDs Stephen Donnelly and Peter Mathews went to Dublin to ask The Governer of the Central Bank Patrick Honohan will he destroy money received for Government bonds.

https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.739722889417830.1073741891.162154057174719&type=3

No tin foil hats required Stephen.

Mute Ciaran Morgan
    Favourite Ciaran Morgan
    Sep 23rd 2015, 11:35 PM

wrong again Stephen. its not paid, please don’t comment unless you know the facts

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    Sep 23rd 2015, 11:41 PM
    Mute scoop delivery
    Favourite scoop delivery
    Sep 24th 2015, 12:13 AM

Stephen actually comments on all articles that have any notional resemblance to fine gael.it would not surprise me if he was a fine gael youth member . what Stephen fails to admit is that we don’t even enforce our existing corporation tax , we systematically created loop holes within it through various mechanisms including “research” tax right downs specifically for software companies. research can effectively mean anything there is sparce if any enforcement of what constitutes research and we are loosing hundreds of millions of euro . that is just one example. we need to tidy up these systems and ask in a honest way for these companies to make a contribution to the place that gives them so much. issue is we are too afraid .don’t ask don’t get

Mute Eilis Scott
    Favourite Eilis Scott
    Sep 24th 2015, 5:55 AM

George there are probably enough grow factories (houses) already, all we need to do is legalise and tax them. Ah no, we can’t be doing that, sure the pharmaceutical companies wouldn’t like it

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    Sep 24th 2015, 8:08 AM

You don’t know where to start Martino because you don’t know how the deal was done and what was done conflicts with your sheepish blueshirt view. Even when it is shown to you, you ignore and refuse to read and learn.
    https://www.facebook.com/Lukemingflanagan/posts/759319407478711

Quanititive easing….lol….don’t make me laugh.

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    Sep 24th 2015, 4:33 PM

No Martino because Constantin Gurdgiev told me personally….and he’s a lot more qualified than you.

Mute Willy
    Favourite Willy
    Sep 23rd 2015, 9:31 PM

Tax and tax and tax… They see no solutions but taxes… We are taxed out… Fu(k of with your taxes.. No more. Ram your water tax where the sun don’t shine.. Straw, camel etc…

Mute Left, left, stop
    Favourite Left, left, stop
    Sep 23rd 2015, 9:42 PM

Untrue. You obviously didn’t read the report where we pay less Tax than nearly every European country, some Low earners pay no tax or USC. Don’t let facts destroy a good rant though

Mute gregory
    Favourite gregory
    Sep 23rd 2015, 10:05 PM

inability to reform. Costs too high. No progress on efficiency*-despite the crisis and hard measures. *would take ages main headings: renumeration-ALLOWANCES-pensions-ALLOWANCES. Quangos etcetc. No progress made at all-very disappointing, I really thought Enda was the man to do it at the last election.

Mute littleone
    Favourite littleone
    Sep 23rd 2015, 10:08 PM

No they haven’t done a good job. Worst homeless crisis the state has ever seen under their watch. Health services in shambles, how much wasted on Irish water. People with disabilities having to stage a 72 hour protest, hospitals suffering. Services all over the country suffering. List goes on. Scandal after scandal . fennelly , penalty points scandal, whistleblowers, sacking the commissioner, siteserv ,irbc NAMA sitting on Moriarty. Taoiseach goes into hiding when his buddy tried to shut up the dail.

Mute littleone
    Favourite littleone
    Sep 23rd 2015, 10:41 PM

€80 million on consultants for Irish water wasted on a shambles. Rural Ireland is getting €30 million for all the towns and villages. Shows what their priorities are. It not the people of Ireland.

Mute North Korean General
    Favourite North Korean General
    Sep 23rd 2015, 10:56 PM

Typical right wing boll@x…
    Direct tax in Ireland might not be the highest but when indirect taxes are factored into the equation the people are fleeced.

It’s a wonder there hasn’t been a revolution and Enda’s and Joan’s heads chopped off?

Mute Christine Hanway
    Favourite Christine Hanway
    Sep 23rd 2015, 11:26 PM

And dare I ask am I the only one that thinks the 2 billion they want to spend on another form of transport to the airport wud be better used in the Health Service to correct all that’s wrong there. Can’t see how hospitals esp and the under run an under funded systems aren’t being made a priorty they need the money to get off beds in corridors, open operating theatres and wards, an stop much needed surgery’s and treatment of patients being turned away. This should be top of any governments list to have it brought up to scratch.. I don’t get how the system in such dier need is left struggling year after year.

Mute Eilis Scott
    Favourite Eilis Scott
    Sep 24th 2015, 5:43 AM

Revolution? Sure can’t we just ring Joe to get it off our chest?

Mute paul gurney
    Favourite paul gurney
    Sep 24th 2015, 8:34 AM

Who commissioned the report and then on top of that add your VRT,back to school cost so,hi VAT rates ,hi fuel and electricity etc etc etc
    Not exactly cheap living anymore huh

Mute David Clarke
    Favourite David Clarke
    Sep 23rd 2015, 9:27 PM

Have to get the young out to vote like the same sex marriage

Mute Jason
    Favourite Jason

And what makes you think that they wouldn’t vote for the government that introduced same sex marriage?

Mute little jim
    Favourite little jim
    Sep 23rd 2015, 11:25 PM

Because the young aren’t as stupid as you might think.

Mute Eamonn coughlan
    Favourite Eamonn coughlan
    Sep 23rd 2015, 9:43 PM

Recovery is a load of rubbish there’s no recovery outside of Dublin rural Ireland is dying, young people are still emigrating in there droves and this government seem to be more corrupt then the last!

Mute Eilis Scott
    Favourite Eilis Scott
    Sep 24th 2015, 5:39 AM

I was with you until your last sentence, don’t think it’s possible to be more corrupt than the last shower who got us into the mess to begin with. Having said that, I will never vote for either FG or Labour again as they reneged on their promises of reform, and, and as for Irish Water …….

Mute Martin Hayes
    Favourite Martin Hayes
    Sep 24th 2015, 8:04 AM

It’s eminently possible Eilis and FG/Lab ar

Mute Mike Clinton
    Favourite Mike Clinton
    Sep 23rd 2015, 9:23 PM

They got in the back of the lies & spin they spouted when Cowen was attempting to drink Ireland dry. Remember the “it is immoral, not a red cent,labours way,kennys contract etc” People have copped on to them and their scams. Fool me once and all that.

Mute pjm
    Favourite pjm
    Sep 23rd 2015, 9:30 PM

Mike let’s face facts here, a large percentage of the Irish population are clueless when it comes to politics and blindly vote for the local idiot no matter what their capabilities are, all because daddy voted that way or simple because of where they are from. Look at what they continually vote in down in Kerry and Tipperary as an example.

Mute Stephen Ring
    Favourite Stephen Ring
    Sep 23rd 2015, 9:35 PM

There’s no real alternative now except for the rainbow left coalition and SF which certainly wouldn’t be stable. It’ll be FF/FG and a few indos.

Mute Ronan Stokes
    Favourite Ronan Stokes
    Sep 23rd 2015, 9:55 PM

FG/FF/Lab are just so snide. Sickening to think of a fg/ff coalition, Lab are finished.

Mute Shakka1244
    Favourite Shakka1244
    Sep 23rd 2015, 10:52 PM

Just imagine, Enda and Micheal holding hands on the plinth of Leinster House. Good Lord. They would kill their own children to stay in “power”

Mute Merkler
    Favourite Merkler

Wannabe dictators don’t care about public opinion. He won’t budge until he is booted out

Mute gary kelly
    Favourite gary kelly
    Sep 23rd 2015, 9:18 PM

They are their own worst enemy with some of the choices they’ve made

Mute Brenda Malloy
    Favourite Brenda Malloy

More like our worst enemy with some of the choices they made

Mute Dave cullen
    Favourite Dave cullen
    Sep 23rd 2015, 9:43 PM

They’ve alienated almost all the people they should be representing,instead they appease Europe and more so Germany and they’ve done it so blatantly,I think their contempt and arrogance toward us will see them out in the next g.e. Cant remember a worse line-up of genuinely unlikeable party members,Kenny,Hogan,Hayes,Reilly,Kelly,burton,Noonan…all self servers with mass amnesia regarding who their actually meant to be serving.

Mute jenni
    Favourite jenni
    Sep 23rd 2015, 10:33 PM

€30million to revive our towns and rural villages. Well wow, omg thats so fantastic..oh we are so excited..we can have a party!! Gobh!tes..what the feck do they think every town and village could do with a collective amount of €30m. stick it. oh and put it with Minister Kellys investment in ‘rural cameras’! He’s giving €50000, for cameras to watch rural areas? thats about 100 cameras…all primed and ready to be stolen by these thugs robbing our old and alone people. For gods sake, put the Garda stations back in use!

Mute Dave cullen
    Favourite Dave cullen
    Sep 23rd 2015, 10:56 PM

Imagine,130 + stations closed down under this coalition,and worse,closing them in a recession,when crime rises,they’ve zero empathy with the people and they probably wonder why we want them out of our Dail.

Mute jenni
    Favourite jenni
    Sep 23rd 2015, 11:08 PM

but Dave, they’re going to put in cameras!! So before these guys take out some rural home, they’ll get a nice fancy camera to boot..

Mute Shane Mc Glashan
    Favourite Shane Mc Glashan
    Sep 23rd 2015, 11:38 PM

No you see rural Ireland does not matter.What matters Jenni my dear is us bringing 4,000 immigrants here and allowing their families to follow suit.Four thousand immigrants will cost a whopping 25 million in direct funds/benefits,payments for one year,but thank heavens to Brussels paying the other 25 million gap for now.Of course the poor government forgot to elaborate on the costs of transport,housing,future family members arriving,schooling,medication,places of worship and many more government employed bodies to help with this relocation farce. All the while this APPROX 100 million-200 million euro a year project is unfolding before our very eyes,our supreme leader Enda decides to choose the first number that comes to mind at the ploughing today.Oddly enough most catholics choose 33 being the age of Jesus when he died but that is neither here nor there.Enda chose 30,possibly because there is 30 days in this month,who knows.All we know is the number is a lot lower than the number brussels normally demands,so Enda kept it simple and straight to the point as to get back to watching the plough.
    So the 1 million 750 thousand inhabitants of rural Ireland can expect a staggering 30 million over five years,which equals 3 euro and 40 cents a head per year, Enough to buy a snickers,can of coke and packet of tayto and keep the heart of the community ticking.

Mute Tommy Holmes
    Favourite Tommy Holmes

Its supposed to be; By the people for the people, but couldn’t a rats ass about the people.

Sep 23rd 2015, 9:54 PM

Look at what the government HAS DONE and not what they said they have done, have people forgotten the 500 spin doctors from the U.S. in Dublin Castle to help this government to improve their public image or all the scandal after scandal that came out or even one new charge / tax after one followed by another?
    Or how many new jobs were coming here that made front page news but were later in the backs of papers saying it fell through?
    Are people that gullible?

Mute Periguin
    Favourite Periguin
    Sep 23rd 2015, 9:21 PM

So 70% of the country think the government stinks. Our system is needs a re-boot.

Mute Magnus
    Favourite Magnus
    Sep 24th 2015, 12:37 AM

Well according to tomorrow’s IT poll FG are on 28%, FF 20%, Sf are down 3 to 18%, Lab 8%, and Independents are at 25%.

So FG/FF all the more likely.

Mute Alan Hanley
    Favourite Alan Hanley

I think any improvement in the economy, GDP etc is in spite of this government, not because of it. Issues they have more direct control over are a mess, like the health service especially is a bad way. And theres a constant odour of corruption.

Mute Dave cullen
    Favourite Dave cullen
    Sep 23rd 2015, 10:17 PM

They spend more time covering up their mess than actually governing.

Mute Pius Flynn
    Favourite Pius Flynn
    Sep 23rd 2015, 9:32 PM

Worst government since the foundation of the state. They have to go.

Mute Tony Hartigan
    Favourite Tony Hartigan
    Sep 23rd 2015, 10:05 PM

With thousands of children going to bed hungry, record numbers of homeless families, a Tànaiste opening a food bank. Having spent literally we actually don’t know how many millions on a failed Quango Irish Water in my humble opinion this has been a total disaster of a government.

Mute James Gorman
    Favourite James Gorman
    Sep 23rd 2015, 10:14 PM

Tony given that our welfare benefits are among the best in the world I think if their are thousands of children going hungry it has more to do with their parents priorities.

Mute Shakka1244
    Favourite Shakka1244
    Sep 23rd 2015, 10:54 PM

@james. You addressed one thing listed. What about the others? Do they make you feel proud?

Mute James Gorman
    Favourite James Gorman
    Sep 23rd 2015, 10:58 PM

Shakka this country looks after its weak better than most. Who do you see as the most credible alternative government?

Mute lavbeer
    Favourite lavbeer
    Sep 23rd 2015, 11:06 PM

All a legacy from Bertie really.

Mute Jamsey
    Favourite Jamsey
    Sep 23rd 2015, 9:24 PM

Ah so this explains the rehash of the ‘west brit’ article.Gotta get a dig in before biting the bullet and posting the truth about how the Blueshirts are doing in the polls.

Mute Therightman2015
    Favourite Therightman2015
    Sep 23rd 2015, 9:17 PM

Probably still get in again though

Mute Supernova
    Favourite Supernova

Well the electorate have made some shocking decisions the last two terms so I wouldn’t put it past them voting these gawms in again.. Squawk squawk “fastest growing economy on Europe” squawk squawk..

Mute Conor Heffernan
    Favourite Conor Heffernan
    Sep 23rd 2015, 10:25 PM

The electorate kept the seanad, it was, is and forever will be useless. What are the chances we are not going to get more of the same after the next GE?

Mute Seán O'Ceallaghan
    Favourite Seán O'Ceallaghan
    Sep 23rd 2015, 11:33 PM

To say the majority of people in Ireland said no is disingenuous. 520 people said no. Also its only a minor majority at that and hardly representative of nearly 5 million people.

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Sep 24th 2015, 12:52 AM

Sean well done, you just proved you don’t understand how polling works.Would you be happy in the poll was more representative of your opinion prehaps?

Mute brian magee
    Favourite brian magee
    Sep 23rd 2015, 9:19 PM

They haven’t done a bad job. GDP is the highest in Europe, employment is up. Let’s see how the team get on in the World Cup

Mute Periguin
    Favourite Periguin
    Sep 23rd 2015, 9:23 PM

and there is no corruption in the world cup.

Mute Paul Mc
    Favourite Paul Mc
    Sep 23rd 2015, 9:31 PM

The government have enriched themselves and their cronies over the last 4 years and with the help of RTE and the DOB owned media have buried the true story of the Irish recovery. As long as we have a Minister of Finance that is a bond holder and an investor in gold and who is responsible for the selling of of state assets at huge discounts this will continue to happen and I as an ex Labour party supporter is sick to think that these politicians have sold themselves for 30 pieces of silver.

Mute lavbeer
    Favourite lavbeer
    Sep 23rd 2015, 9:33 PM

The billions they put on the national debt on prom night and the “special” liquidation showed either their lack of negotiating position or power. Not one red cent capitulation.

Also their guillotining and arrogance didnt help. IW being the biggest cockup here .

Mute Ciaran Morgan
    Favourite Ciaran Morgan
    Sep 23rd 2015, 9:38 PM

GDP is the highest in Europe brian? Really?
    you liar.

Mute Shakka1244
    Favourite Shakka1244
    Sep 23rd 2015, 10:57 PM

@paul – they didn’t sell themselves. They sold us, our children and our grandchildren.

And yet we all still take it right up the jacksy.

Mute David A. Murray
    Favourite David A. Murray
    Sep 24th 2015, 6:41 AM

Read ‘The Price Of Inequality’ by Joseph Stiglitz. Also, weren’t we Europe’s fastest growing economy during the Celtic Tiger. Using GDP figures to argue economic policy is working is repeating the mistakes of the past, because we should be (in the 21st Century) capable of examining and revising policy based on what is actually happening in our society, economy and environment. Instead we just quote statistics selectively to defend our limited interests. Ahern, McCreevey, Cowen and Lenihan were all doing an outstanding job until time caught up with them.

Mute Kathleen Kavanagh
    Favourite Kathleen Kavanagh

I think they need to have Economist David McWilliams on board to help guide them along the way – and Im Not being sarcastic in anyway.

Mute John Bathe
    Favourite John Bathe
    Sep 23rd 2015, 10:33 PM

We have the biggest national debt in the world per capita except Japan who can print Yen to pay debt so can never default. We cannot print money so we are the worst indebted nation in the world. We are running continual budget deficits every year so not solving debt. If we do not offload the bank debt we will eventually default. Normally long term debt is offset by further borrowing to pay old debt and by relying on inflation to reduce real debt value. Eurozone inflation is 0.2 % for some years now so that old trick is no longer valid.

Mute Shakka1244
    Favourite Shakka1244
    Sep 23rd 2015, 10:55 PM

Shhhh John. Stop with all the facts. YFG don’t like facts that make their beloved party look bad.

Mute Tony O'Dalaigh
    Favourite Tony O'Dalaigh
    Sep 23rd 2015, 10:44 PM

I consider that the Government has done an abysmally bad job. The Government’s policies delayed the recovery and to the limited extent that there has been any improvement, this is due to international and external factors. Look at the numerous messes and situations badly handled by this Government. IW is merely the tip of a rubbish dump.

Mute Jarlath Murphy
    Favourite Jarlath Murphy
    Sep 23rd 2015, 9:42 PM

Sorry, how is this news?

In other news the sky is blue!

Mute @mdmak33
    Favourite @mdmak33
    Sep 23rd 2015, 10:38 PM

they are a disgrace to humanity.

Mute Kieran OKeeffe
    Favourite Kieran OKeeffe
    Sep 23rd 2015, 10:30 PM

Brian
    How much of that GDP is corporate manipulation via multi nationals for tax purposes?

Mute John Ward
    Favourite John Ward
    Sep 24th 2015, 12:17 AM

Enda and Joan F U C K YOU BOTH!

Mute Neuville-Kepler62F
    Favourite Neuville-Kepler62F
    Sep 24th 2015, 12:26 AM

Financial Predators now running riot in Ireland …. about time voters brought their brains to the Polling Booths.
    - Landlords who Max peoples Rent
    - Banks who max peoples Debt ..both personal and societal
    - Political Parties (private clubs like Fine Gael an Labour) who max peoples Tax

Mute lavbeer
    Favourite lavbeer
    Sep 23rd 2015, 9:24 PM

In comparison to 5 years ago things are much brighter on the surface. More people working wtc but downsides of homeless crisis etc.

So big question is why will they not retain their level of support?

Must be Diarmiud !!!

Mute pjm
    Favourite pjm

Things were so bad in Ireland they only way was up. They got in on promises of tackling the Europeans on the banking debt and ended up saddling us with every penny, they promised us a different kind of transparent politics but have shown themselves to be just as good as FF at crony politics, they promised us reform of the political system and we end up with a Seanad referendum, no actual reform and the most one sided Ceann Comhairle in Dail history. They took over the country when there was an overflow of housing and we now have a homelessness crisis and rents rising at 6/7 times the rate of wage increases, all the while imposing water charges and property charges. FG we supposed to be the party of law and order yet Dublin city centre looks like a scene of the Walking Dead with junkies committing crimes in broad daylight on every street, meanwhile 20 cops can man a water protest with 20 protestors. I won’t even get started on the health system, or the Fennelly report.

Mute Ciaran Morgan
    Favourite Ciaran Morgan
    Sep 23rd 2015, 11:52 PM

and anyway gnp is the true measure as gdp includes money that never enters Ireland, but you’ll struggle to find gnp stats.

Mute Tweed Cap
    Favourite Tweed Cap
    Sep 23rd 2015, 10:15 PM

I hate to say it but I have a feeling that deep down the Irish nation secretly likes to be fooked. The more sand in the Vaseline the better.

That snibbling, slithering, creeping sack of slurry is going to be voted back in.

Mute Michael Duffy
    Favourite Michael Duffy

Have to laugh at some of these comments. Can I ask what government all you’d like to see. Not really a credible alternative to be honest. Have they done a great job?? No is probably the answer but they’ve done a decent job considering the shit we were in. Fasting growing economy in Europe and unemployment rate is steadily decreasing. Some of you people need to get real and stop being negative about Ireland all the time. Whinge whinge whinge is all you here

Mute Eamonn coughlan
    Sep 23rd 2015, 9:48 PM

It’s sad because fine gael could have wiped fianna fail off the political map but now it looks like Micheal Martin will be the leader of the next government, how depressing!

Mute Cupid Stunt
    Favourite Cupid Stunt

Michael if you were to listen to any party here the one thing they all have in common is that they say they’re the only ones who can help us, it’s a tactic they use to try to get more votes, these politions are crooked and will try anything to get elected, I’d say that none of them in there current state are capable of making us a successful country, there’s to much corruption and two tier society here for it to work.

Mute Eilis Scott
    Favourite Eilis Scott
    Sep 24th 2015, 6:17 AM

Unemployment decreasing? Unfortunately so many of the jobs that have been created are either intern/JobBridge or casual labour where people aren’t earning enough to even pay rent.

Mute Sean Wong
    Favourite Sean Wong
    Sep 23rd 2015, 10:36 PM

Who can we elect then, all liars, even SF.

Mute Guy Incognito
    Favourite Guy Incognito
    Sep 23rd 2015, 10:32 PM

Data coming from Claire byrne, and it’s critical of the government, so it’s ok. Any time data from the Claire byrne shows support for the government, it’s not reliable, or not credible……. Same goes for red Sea polls.

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter

It’s not from Claire Byrne.Read the article the clues are there if you read it.

Mute Guy Incognito
    Favourite Guy Incognito
    Sep 24th 2015, 8:36 AM

second paragraph: “A Claire Byrne Live/Amárach Research poll has found that 52% of people responded No when asked the question: ‘Do you think this government has done a good job?’”

Mute Guy Incognito
    Favourite Guy Incognito
    Sep 24th 2015, 8:48 AM

http://www.thejournal.ie/general-election-2015-2016-2318631-Sep2015/
    http://www.thejournal.ie/refugee-crisis-take-in-ireland-2317179-Sep2015/ in those examples, Claire Byrne = bad and not representing the views of all the nation. Yet in this anti-government article, nobody cares where the data came from

Mute David A. Murray
    Favourite David A. Murray
    Sep 24th 2015, 6:27 AM

The question we should be concentrating on is why do opposition parties transform when they go into government. Even if we get rid of FG/Labour at the next election, does anyone really believe that their replacements won’t be dodging searching questions by trotting out lists of what they’ve done, regardless of whether what they’ve done is as much as they could or should. It’s also very apparent that we expect our governments to stand up to the ECB/European Commission/vested interests, but we as a people are not willing to stand up to our own government (peacefully but firmly) and instead just wait to vote them out and go through the whole thing again until the next general election. It’s not a flattering picture of our society, but it does seem to be the case.

Mute Jude Perry
    Favourite Jude Perry
    Sep 23rd 2015, 9:59 PM

MOST people are deluded and buy into Sinn Fein populism and Fantasy economic. MOST people wouldn’t know an economic recovery if it hit them in the face.

Mute Eamonn coughlan
    Sep 23rd 2015, 10:31 PM

Jude there is no economic recovery in rural Ireland.

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Sep 23rd 2015, 11:31 PM

YFG member thinks most people are deluded unless of course they support FG, then they are enlightened.Funny boy.

Mute Alex Dolan
    Favourite Alex Dolan
    Sep 23rd 2015, 10:21 PM

This is ridiculous at the end of the day the government did what we voted them in to do, clean up the mess of previous parties and get the country out of recession We are in a much better position than we were 4 years ago, no one can argue with that..

Mute P Quinn
    Favourite P Quinn
    Sep 23rd 2015, 10:28 PM

No we’re not. Our national debt is still growing, so are hospital waiting lists, homelessness and crime levels. I certainly didn’t vote Labour and FG for that! They won’t get my vote again.

Mute J.Rudd
    Favourite J.Rudd
    Sep 24th 2015, 8:58 AM

Just look at the staggering amount of stuff they are not telling the Irish nation, look at the stuff they have lied and u-turned on, the lies, the cronyisn, the nepotism, the aid of media mates over the public, the money grabs, the secret meetings, the censorship, the 45 tax changes since 2011 alone …and on and on.. See: http://www.unitedpeople.ie/shush.html

Mute brian magee
    Favourite brian magee
    Sep 23rd 2015, 9:45 PM

Ah Ciaran, look at you name calling to avoid the truth.
    There you go
    http://statisticstimes.com/economy/european-countries-by-gdp-per-capita.php
    Highest in euro zone.

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Sep 23rd 2015, 11:24 PM

Your comment that attracted Ciaran’s ‘liar’ accusation, stated highest GDP in Europe. There is a difference between Europe and Euro zone.

Mute Ciaran Morgan
    Favourite Ciaran Morgan
    Sep 23rd 2015, 11:44 PM

“GDP is the highest in Europe”
    Not according to the link you provided brian.

and if your’e talking eurozone now (sly change there brian), Luxembourg are higher than Ireland.

and if you look at eurozone stats on poverty and unequal distribution of wealth Ireland are top of the pile.

as for the name calling, people who are dishonest in what they say are in my book liars. If the cap fits……………..

Mute Patrick Mcauliffe
    Favourite Patrick Mcauliffe
    Sep 24th 2015, 7:57 AM

2011 unemployment 15% 2015 less than 10%

Mute whitecross
    Favourite whitecross
    Sep 24th 2015, 2:03 PM

Its all about choices ,Fine Gael and Labour could have cleaned up ,with honest policies ,no cronyism getting rid of quangos ,holding ministers and senior civil servants to account for their decisions ,and would have been reelected by a huge majority again ,But no ,they choose the same way as Fianna Failers ,put cronies into quangos ,The super quango that is Irish Water ,if you were to give a 1st prize for the worst so called utility company in the world Then I.W. would be champion ,With its so called “customers” having agreed its a failed entity ,soaking up money like a black hole in space ,The coalition has looked after the wealthy in the last budgets while putting the squeeze on the lower income earners and middle class with tax after tax ,You expect Fine Gael to look after its core voters ,but for the labour party to sell out its principles and its core voters without having to suffer the consequences ,then the labour leadership is in a complete state of denial ,

Mute SMcB
    Favourite SMcB
    Sep 25th 2015, 1:13 AM

Given the mess they were left with, anything would have been an improvement. That being said, in this country, Government always seems to act in its own self interest. Much like a lot the way a lot of people carry on these days.

Mute Dominick Johnston
    Favourite Dominick Johnston
    Sep 24th 2015, 10:33 PM

this fg and labour has destroyed our country in many a way in what cuts they done on the least well off with cuts on older people hospitals schools and the dole when any government can stoop so low 2 take away a funeral grant from people they are afread 2 die as they have no money 2 pay 4 it and then come in with water meters people have not got that extra 5 euro 2 pay 4 this i my self was a fg member for over 50 years and i can tell you now that they will never get a vote from me or any of my family and thats is a lot of votes fg will be down since kenny got leader of fg we have gone down hill all the way i am sick of what is going on why take money from people that has not got it they should be ashamed of their selfs . i rest my case and leave them all 2 the man above .