You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Captain Eoin Rochford poses with a copy of the Proclamation at the GPO. Laura Hutton/Photocall Ireland

An Post plan two-storey extension of GPO ahead of 1916 anniversary

Planning permission has been sought for a new exhibition, a gallery space and a landscaped outdoor area.

AN POST HAS lodged plans with Dublin City Council to construct a new two-storey building within the GPO complex ahead of the centenary of the 1916 Rising.

The new facility will be built in an existing courtyard just behind the public post office area and will feature a new exhibition, a gallery space and a landscaped outdoor area.

The new development will be integrated with GPO’s current main post office hall with An Post pledging that it will allow for greater access by members of the public.

The new building will extend the current exhibition space at the GPO to approximately 1,600 sqm.

An Post say that the project will reflect the centrality of the GPO to the events of Easter 1916 and will be “a fitting focus for the commemoration of the events of Easter week 1916″.

It is also envisaged that the new facility will be available to be used as part of the Decade  of Commemoration currently being undertaken by DCC.

“This is a really exciting development which will ensure that Easter 2016 is suitably marked with a fitting development commemorating both the centenary of the Easter Rising and the building that forms such a central element of the story,” said an An Post spokesperson.

The original construction of the GPO is also the focus of an anniversary itself this year with construction of the O’Connell Street building having begun 200 years ago in 1814.

Much of the building was destroyed during the Easter Rising  and was rebuilt and reopened in 1929.

Plans for the new development have been lodged with DCC and planning permission has been sought.

Column: Nordic Rebels – The Swede and Finn who fought in the GPO, 1916 >

Read: Commemorative centre to be built at 14 – 17 Moore Street >

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

32 Comments
    Mute James O'Donoghue
    Favourite James O'Donoghue
    Nov 1st 2016, 7:48 PM

Great to see TG4 continue their tradition of having absolute crackers present the weather.

Mute John003
    Favourite John003
    Nov 1st 2016, 8:09 PM

Just like the girls on Fox News They
    could be sisters

Mute Eugene Walsh
    Favourite Eugene Walsh
    Nov 1st 2016, 7:07 PM

That was kinda good in a kinda way. Beats any effort rte ever did

Mute Screaming Toddy
    Favourite Screaming Toddy
    Nov 1st 2016, 7:47 PM

How does it rate against anything done by TV3 or the BBC?

Mute Tony Canning
    Favourite Tony Canning
    Nov 1st 2016, 11:04 PM

Ah to be fair, rte Christmas news is great.

Mute Lazlo Saint Pierre
    Favourite Lazlo Saint Pierre
    Nov 1st 2016, 9:23 PM

LOL, fair play to TG4 for having a bit of fun and showing some spirit. A great channel to be fair, whatever amount of the license fee goes to them is better spent than with RTE. It probably doesn’t get the viewer figures it deserves.

Mute Tony Canning
    Favourite Tony Canning
    Nov 1st 2016, 7:01 PM

How would people think this was anything other than a prank?

Mute Greg Blake
    Favourite Greg Blake
    Nov 1st 2016, 7:09 PM

You’d be surprised. … my solicitor tells me I obviously suffered PTSD after seeing that, he’s coming on my annual compo holiday to Torremolinos next year.

Mute Aural Abuse
    Favourite Aural Abuse
    Nov 1st 2016, 7:35 PM

Its gonna be tropic

Mute Paul Shepherd
    Favourite Paul Shepherd
    Nov 1st 2016, 8:17 PM

Can you pass me his name…..I could do with a good holiday!!!

Mute garb yakob
    Favourite garb yakob
    Nov 1st 2016, 8:55 PM

War of the worlds broadcast all over again

Mute Dan Dan
    Favourite Dan Dan
    Nov 1st 2016, 11:03 PM

@Tony Canning: Of course It’s for real. Cause everybody knows that lighting strikes inside a building. And after it strikes, she just disapear into nowhere.

Mute George Hogan
    Favourite George Hogan
    Nov 1st 2016, 7:16 PM

Iontach mhaith!

Mute Shane Walsh
    Favourite Shane Walsh
    Nov 1st 2016, 8:06 PM

Awesome. Love it.

Mute Bottleneck
    Favourite Bottleneck
    Nov 1st 2016, 7:07 PM

Brilliant!!!

Mute smithers
    Favourite smithers
    Nov 1st 2016, 7:01 PM

Shocking

Mute Nigel Carvill
    Favourite Nigel Carvill
    Nov 1st 2016, 8:57 PM

Brilliant. Beats Teresa Mannion getting soaked in that downpour.

Mute Eamonn Boylan
    Favourite Eamonn Boylan
    Nov 1st 2016, 7:22 PM

RTE report a joke.. that’s a joke.

Mute casey
    Favourite casey
    Nov 1st 2016, 7:12 PM

electrifying stuff

Mute Tweety McTweeter
    Favourite Tweety McTweeter
    Nov 1st 2016, 7:25 PM

Oh no, poor Caitlín :-(

Mute Vincent Wallace
    Favourite Vincent Wallace
    Nov 1st 2016, 7:10 PM

Hahaha if only I was watching TG4.

Mute Patch Quinn
    Favourite Patch Quinn
    Nov 1st 2016, 10:46 PM

Here’s to the poor souls of the red thumbs. You obviously need to step away from your keyboard warrior stations and have a pint laughing with at bit of craic. Loosen the feck up . WE ARE IRELAND!

Mute JJ
    Favourite JJ
    Nov 1st 2016, 9:02 PM

Wow people actually watch TG4 :o

Mute Jimmyjoe Wallace
    Favourite Jimmyjoe Wallace
    Nov 1st 2016, 9:57 PM

Why not? It’s the best of the Irish stations

Mute Naniba Nobru
    Favourite Naniba Nobru
    Nov 1st 2016, 11:07 PM

Us she ok now?

Mute Naniba Nobru
    Favourite Naniba Nobru
    Nov 1st 2016, 10:30 PM

Badly done

Mute Alois Irlmaier
    Favourite Alois Irlmaier
    Nov 1st 2016, 8:32 PM

Not lightening but a charged static streamer, they occur in thunder storms. They travel from the ground up and from the clouds down, it is only when they meet that it provides a path for lightening to travel through as lightening can come from the clouds down or from the ground up.
    A static streamer and she was lucky…

Mute Alois Irlmaier
    Favourite Alois Irlmaier
    Nov 1st 2016, 8:38 PM

I should have looked at the video first rather than the photo, what a daft joke to do… April 1st is 6 months away…

Mute Elma Phudd
    Favourite Elma Phudd
    Nov 1st 2016, 9:31 PM

Jaysus, it’s not going well for you. You can’t even count.

Mute Gerry Fallon
    Favourite Gerry Fallon
    Nov 2nd 2016, 12:58 AM

Sounding like someone farting in the studio!