You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Groupon rapped on knuckles for 'misleading' exclusive beauty product deal

The coupon company issued an offer for a beauty ‘mystery gift’ which failed to specify how many items a customer would receive.

shutterstock_75309625 (1) Shutterstock Shutterstock

ONLINE COUPON VENDOR Groupon has been censured by Ireland’s advertising watchdog over a misleading deal offered on exclusive beauty products.

The initial Groupon email gave customers the option to buy either a standard or deluxe health and beauty ‘mystery gift’ for €5.99 or €8.99 respectively.

The complainant in this instance bought the deluxe edition. The blurb for same mentions eight separate products, including a three-in-one nail polisher, Olay face wash, a face mitt, and Tresemme Oleo radiance oil.

It also suggests that one customer in 40 would receive something from a list of exclusive brand products, such as Christian Louboutin shoes, a Prada handbag, or GHD hair straighteners.

The customer who complained actually received a pack of six assorted peel-off nail polishes, a pack of assorted blending sponges, and an eyebrow stencil tool.

She complained that the products received were inferior to what had been advertised.

In response, Groupon said that the point of the deal was that customers would be sent a ‘mystery’ gift, ie the nature of which would be unclear until they actually received it.

Value

They said that the value of the received goods was in fact more than four times that which the customer had paid, adding that if the customer were to receive everything on the list the deal could not be described as a ‘mystery gift’.

The Advertising Standards Authority of Ireland (ASAI), in its ruling, noted that ‘there was no indication that customers would receive only one’ of the gifts listed under each of the options given.

It also noted that the woman in question had received some products that had been listed under the ‘standard’ option, rather than the ‘deluxe’ one which she had paid for.

It said that if the ‘mystery gift’ consisted of just one option from the list of products given, then that should have been clearly indicated in the advertising. The absence of that inclusion constituted several breaches of the ASAI’s code, it said.

In conclusion, the ASAI said that the advertisement should ‘not be used in its current format again’, and that the company should ‘exercise greater care in the preparation of similar offers to ensure that consumers know how many items they will receive prior to purchase’ in future.

Read: Complaint partially upheld about ‘Despicable Me’ Sky ad

Read: Scientology-linked group WILL move ahead with controversial ‘drug treatment centre’

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

5 Comments
    Mute Tomred
    Favourite Tomred
    May 21st 2013, 11:58 AM

Can a happy event like this not occur without the usual gobxxxtes crawling into the light with their “witty” comments. As a dog lover I found this a very emotional moment. My condolences to all who lost their lives or suffered…..

Mute Hipster Enda
    Favourite Hipster Enda
    May 21st 2013, 12:16 PM

I’m a dog lover too but I feel it’s a rather insensitive story considering the tragedy that has occurred. 20 parents have lost their kids and yet they have to endure someone on the main networks telling them that she prayed to her god and he saved her dog. Think how the people whose kids are dead feel with this being blasted around the networks. It’s sick.

Mute Stephen Keeler
    Favourite Stephen Keeler
    May 21st 2013, 12:24 PM

So nobody can be happy for fear of upsetting others?

Mute Leslie Alan Rock
    Favourite Leslie Alan Rock
    May 21st 2013, 12:38 PM

Great, when you thought you’d seen all the idiots…here comes another attention seeking one

Mute Hipster Enda
    Favourite Hipster Enda
    May 21st 2013, 12:41 PM

It’s the typical bible belt reporting that’s sick, no matter what the story, find someone saying god saved someone/thing and run with that. Oh, cute doggy. Even better.

Mute Maria Farrell
    Favourite Maria Farrell
    May 21st 2013, 12:59 PM

Exactly Stephen. Who cares if she believes it was God or pot luck that kept him safe? You can be happy for her and still sympathise with the bereaved families. And in case nobody noticed, her home is now a pile of rubble! If her dog is a comfort to her, who are we to complain??

Mute Debbie Ennis
    Favourite Debbie Ennis
    May 21st 2013, 1:13 PM

Well said Maria the dog is probably the only thing the poor lady has left

Mute Paula Corr
    Favourite Paula Corr
    May 21st 2013, 11:42 AM

Isn’t it true to say that life is more precious than any possessions!

Mute aziz shaversian
    Favourite aziz shaversian
    May 21st 2013, 11:47 AM

where i come from we consider dog a delicacy…..hard to get it in ireland tho

Mute John F
    Favourite John F
    May 21st 2013, 12:27 PM

Thats ruff Aziz

Mute Fergal Kelly
    Favourite Fergal Kelly
    May 21st 2013, 1:58 PM

Hang on, so because we don’t eat dog, that makes people who do come from dumps?? So… Is your narrow mindedness limited to food or other things as well? This lad is a troll but your comment is off the mark imo. There are hundreds of millions of people who consider any meat up for the eating, just because we choose no to doesn’t make them savages.

Mute Dave Grant
    Favourite Dave Grant
    May 21st 2013, 10:12 PM

People consider a dog’s life way more important than a humans life, thats whats sad, very sad.

Mute Ken Seymour
    Favourite Ken Seymour
    May 21st 2013, 12:34 PM

What does the reunion between this elderly lady and her dog have to do with the existence of god or not?? Can we not just embrace a happy story (however small) from this terrible event. She lost all of her possessions except now for her pet dog which is alot more than most have come away with. I for one am very happy for her & her dog

Mute Conor Buggy
    Favourite Conor Buggy
    May 21st 2013, 1:16 PM

I saw that earlier in full on Skynews, she was giving a really frank perspective to the reporter and the reporter was asking kinda dumb questions before the dog appeared. It really pulled at the heart strings when her little pet came out of the rubble. All she cared about was her dog, it was so sad and yet so lovely to watch at the same time.

Mute ha?
    Favourite ha?
    May 21st 2013, 1:06 PM

lovely heart warming story spoiled by a few thicks! I’m so happy some of you stopped licking your windows long enough to show the rest of us just how pathetic you really are! now back to your windows! happy for lady and her wee dog. R.i.P to those who lost their lives.

Mute David Thompson
    Favourite David Thompson
    May 21st 2013, 11:50 AM

It appears every storm has a silver lining

Mute Hipster Enda
    Favourite Hipster Enda
    May 21st 2013, 11:45 AM

God takes out an elementary school and saves and old lady’s dog. Must be a really just god.

Mute Mike Flynn
    Favourite Mike Flynn
    May 21st 2013, 11:48 AM

But who’s more likely to have committed sins? The dog or….

Mute Ken Seymour
    Favourite Ken Seymour
    May 21st 2013, 11:49 AM

It was a tornado that took out the schools, not god

See 13 more replies ▾
    Mute Hipster Enda
    Favourite Hipster Enda

…the old lady ?

Mute Hipster Enda
    Favourite Hipster Enda

My point exactly

Mute Jack Bauer
    Favourite Jack Bauer
    May 21st 2013, 11:53 AM

Mike,

Elementary school children have not sinned. What a stupid thing to say.

And there is no God.

Mute Hugo Sanchez
    Favourite Hugo Sanchez
    May 21st 2013, 11:59 AM

Lads ye should meet up and get your cult organised

Mute Hipster Enda
    Favourite Hipster Enda
    May 21st 2013, 12:07 PM

@Hugo Not believing in a god without evidence whatsoever is cultish now ? Think about it. It’s the complete opposite.

Mute Ciaran Phelps
    Favourite Ciaran Phelps
    May 21st 2013, 12:45 PM

Jack Bauer-idiot.

Mute Rory Mc Daid
    Favourite Rory Mc Daid
    May 21st 2013, 12:47 PM

I lol’d!

Mute Jack Bauer
    Favourite Jack Bauer
    May 21st 2013, 1:27 PM

Ciaran,

Why am I an idiot?
    Because I don’t believe in a made up fairy tale?

Yeah, I’m the idiot.

Hilarious

Mute Hugo Sanchez
    Favourite Hugo Sanchez
    May 21st 2013, 1:39 PM

Jack i’m just going to spit this out here,

I can never take anything you say seriously since Lisa Coyne hit ya with a comment one day with
    “Your the detective, you work it out”

So anytime you post a question as in the two above I automatically think Jack Bauer should already know these answers

Mute Jack Bauer
    Favourite Jack Bauer
    May 21st 2013, 1:44 PM

Hugo,

I’m just going to spit this out,

Get a life and stop stalking me.

Thanks.

Mute Hugo Sanchez
    Favourite Hugo Sanchez
    May 21st 2013, 1:51 PM

Ohh someone is cranky

Mute Graham Kavanagh
    Favourite Graham Kavanagh
    May 21st 2013, 2:30 PM

Idiots, I guess a few here not parents, not the place for your God/no God crap, show some heart…

Mute Laura Rogan
    Favourite Laura Rogan
    May 22nd 2013, 11:13 PM

It was a natural disaster that took out the school not god , with so much horror in the world can you not just let the little old lady believe what she wants to get though this this terrible time for her and her community , have some heart and compassion man

Mute Donna L Tier
    Favourite Donna L Tier
    May 21st 2013, 12:30 PM

Awww that would tweak the heart strings!

Mute Debi-Nikita Rathbone-Rentzke
    Favourite Debi-Nikita Rathbone-Rentzke
    May 21st 2013, 2:33 PM

Can’t believe some of the bickering comments people make. Glad that the old lady is okay and her pooch is well and safe.

Mute Declan Noonan
    Favourite Declan Noonan
    May 21st 2013, 5:10 PM

For the people above who are critical of people saying “god help us” or something similar, I would like to hear what you would say in a similar situation when you are screaming for help while shitting your pants?!

Mute Uncle Mort
    Favourite Uncle Mort
    May 21st 2013, 6:04 PM

There are no atheists in foxholes and thats a fact.

Mute Mark O Flaherty
    Favourite Mark O Flaherty
    May 21st 2013, 6:20 PM

I suggest you watch the documentary on Pat Tillman….get back to me about atheists in foxholes then.

Mute mahonez
    Favourite mahonez
    May 21st 2013, 7:13 PM

Lovely story but did it annoy anyone else that the stupid reporters stood there and let an old woman remove rubble herself instead of helping her? Just stand by and watch and hold a bloody microphone instead of getting stuck in and helping her get the dog out. ‘ Get the story’ being the priority instead of assisting an old woman and her dog. Regardless of the brutal journalism and ridiculous interview skills of the reporter, it’s a nice story though.

Mute Marie Louise Ni Riain
    Favourite Marie Louise Ni Riain
    May 21st 2013, 12:29 PM

Poor toto

Mute Declan Noonan
    Favourite Declan Noonan
    May 21st 2013, 6:54 PM

God, the comments on the journal drive me nuts!

Mute Jack Bauer
    Favourite Jack Bauer
    May 21st 2013, 2:37 PM

This is a story about a woman finding her dog Graham. And proclaiming that her prayers to God had been answered.

So, yes, it is the place for a God/no God debate. Now run along

Mute Uncle Mort
    Favourite Uncle Mort
    May 21st 2013, 6:01 PM

Death toll revised down to 24