You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

People asked to report stockpiling of bonfire materials ahead of Halloween

Dublin City Council said it wants everyone to have a safe and enjoyable Halloween.

Stockpile 2 Dublin Fire Brigade Dublin Fire Brigade

WITH JUST OVER two weeks left until Halloween, Dublin City Council is urging people to report any stockpiled bonfire material as part of a bid for everyone to have a safe and enjoyable Halloween.

The council said it was carrying out dozens of stockpiling raids to remove bonfire material, from the beginning of this month right up to Halloween.

Dublin Fire Brigade has said it has seen an increase in bonfires as preparation for Halloween has gone on.

Simon Brock, of Dublin City Council’s Waste Management Services, said: “[We] are again asking in place an extensive action plan for the 2017 Halloween period.

We are asking you to report incidents of stockpiling of bonfire material to us as soon as possible so we can remove the material and avoid the risk of serious injury and damage to our environment over the Halloween period.

The council said it removed in excess of 420 tonnes of bonfire materials during the Halloween period last year, after receiving 280 reports from the public of stockpiling taking place.

Anyone wishing to report bonfire stockpiling can call the council’s litter hotline on 1800 251 500 or the customer services centre on 01 222 2222 between 9am and 5pm Monday to Friday.

Out of hours, you can call 01 679 6186.

Read: Petrol bombs thrown at police at site of Derry bonfire

Read: A ‘world-class’ Halloween could lure foreign tourists to Ireland’s overlooked south-east

36 Comments
    Mute Awkward Seal
    Favourite Awkward Seal
    Oct 14th 2017, 8:31 AM

Maybe the council should hold some official bonfire events that are safe instead of just being killjoys. It’s our oldest festival we should really make the most of it with official fireworks displays and scary parades etc. Tourism Ireland need to get on board.

Mute Daniel
    Favourite Daniel
    Oct 14th 2017, 8:54 AM

@Awkward Seal: No, bonfires should be outlawed everywhere. They are pointless and damaging to the environment and wildlife. All sorts of shot get thrown on them, tires, plastics toxics. Then the shit that was burned just gets left there. All so someone can say ‘aaaaahhh’ for an hour.

Mute Eamonn Sheen
    Favourite Eamonn Sheen
    Oct 14th 2017, 9:15 AM

@Daniel: Hold an official one and tyres,plastic etc wouldn’t be burnt.

Mute Shannon Mcg
    Favourite Shannon Mcg
    Oct 14th 2017, 8:28 AM

Give us back the ability to have community organised Bonfires and then maybe they will be safer and less likely to go out of control.
    Back when I was a kid, there were 2 disignated areas where the bonfires were lit – both of them were away from trees or bushes that could light up accidentally, and both of them were checked regularly to make sure all materials were safe and would not get out of hand.
    It has only been since the ban on bonfires that the dangers have increased.

And final point -
    Why are the British allowed to burn a bonfire which symbolises the murder of a Catholic but we, the old Pagans who uses bonfires as a worship to the sun to give it back power it had lost during the Autumn months, can not?

Mute Melissa O'Callaghan
    Favourite Melissa O'Callaghan
    Oct 14th 2017, 10:02 AM

@Shannon Mcg: guessing the UK combined the pagan bonfire with religious propergandra and now that meaning has been forgotten, unless you are in the North.

Mute Stephen Devlin
    Favourite Stephen Devlin
    Oct 14th 2017, 10:23 AM

@Melissa O’Callaghan: “unless you are in he north” that meaning has been forgotten too, replaced with ignorance and hatred.

Mute Simon O'Connor
    Favourite Simon O'Connor
    Oct 14th 2017, 12:12 PM

@Shannon Mcg: The UK has bonfire night to celebrate how the parliament was saved from a martyr. What are you talking about?

Mute Ian Oh
    Favourite Ian Oh
    Oct 14th 2017, 12:47 PM

@Simon O’Connor: With the wisdom of hindsight, they;d probably have been better letting the parliament destruct? Instead of considering this guy a traitor , maybe he should be considered a hero. For all the good parliament or the Seanad is, we be better off without them. Just an excuse for a group of overpaid corrupt self entitled overlords who treat the rest of us as their slaves and serfs.

Mute Frank Drebbin
    Favourite Frank Drebbin
    Oct 14th 2017, 8:56 AM

There’s a whole lot of dead wood in rte. Especially fair city. Could the police please take it away before more harm is done.

Mute Jamie
    Favourite Jamie
    Oct 14th 2017, 8:20 AM

It’s a pity kids can’t have bonfires anymore it used to be such craic collecting for weeks before hand especially going to rob the tyres from farmers silage pits

Mute sean o'dhubhghaill
    Favourite sean o'dhubhghaill
    Oct 14th 2017, 8:29 AM

@Jamie: Those tyres on silage pits have a serious biological purpose, Maintaining weight to squeeze air out and so keep anaerobic conditions in the silage ensuring a high nutrient level for the cattle. Oh, great craic interfering with a person’s business and livlihood.

Mute Neal Ireland Hello.
    Favourite Neal Ireland Hello.
    Oct 14th 2017, 8:34 AM

@sean o’dhubhghaill: They stink up entire areas for weeks on end and get away with it. They can lose a few tyres.

Mute Jamie
    Favourite Jamie
    Oct 14th 2017, 8:41 AM

@sean o’dhubhghaill: you sound like great fun I’d say you’re the life and soul of all the parties.

Mute Eamonn Sheen
    Favourite Eamonn Sheen
    Oct 14th 2017, 9:17 AM

@Jamie: I hope he wouldn’t be at parties with robbing knackers at it.

Mute Jamie
    Favourite Jamie
    Oct 14th 2017, 9:25 AM

@Eamonn Sheen: we stole a few tyres hardly going to ruin the farmers livelihood I’m happy to say the farmer is still in business and his cattle are dead ending up as steaks burgers etc. As for the knackers comment some of the people who robbed the tyres with me turned out be a solicitor, soldier, two guards, Engineers, it was one of the joys of living in a semi urban area before major housing developments started we were 14/15 year olds it was innocent fun

Mute Eamonn Sheen
    Favourite Eamonn Sheen
    Oct 14th 2017, 9:31 AM

@Jamie: You get thieves in all jobs.

Mute Jamie
    Favourite Jamie
    Oct 14th 2017, 9:42 AM

@Eamonn Sheen: that you do you also get dry sh!tes too

Mute Robert Beatty
    Favourite Robert Beatty
    Oct 14th 2017, 10:09 AM

Loved collecting for the bomfire when i was a kid then a teenager first ever drink was on halloween also got me hands on me first ever pair of diddies halloween night after two cans of scrumpy ahh the memories

Mute Daffy the Bear
    Favourite Daffy the Bear
    Oct 14th 2017, 9:08 PM

@Robert Beatty: diddies.. superb..

Mute Ian Oh
    Favourite Ian Oh
    Oct 14th 2017, 9:21 PM

@Robert Beatty: And did ya like the diddies, did ya?

Mute Seth Cheffetz
    Favourite Seth Cheffetz
    Oct 14th 2017, 9:04 AM

Why bother? It’s not like anything is done when you do report it.
    A week back I called the guarda because teenagers were firing rockets at people. They never showed up of course.

Mute Gnik
    Favourite Gnik
    Oct 14th 2017, 9:13 AM

@Seth Cheffetz: maybe if you’d called the Gardaí they night have turned up.

Mute Maire
    Favourite Maire
    Oct 14th 2017, 9:44 AM

Absolutely should be banned, thought they were, they attract ASB, heavy drinking, etc! A major problem here!

Mute Minom Pnom
    Favourite Minom Pnom
    Oct 14th 2017, 1:49 PM

If only we could have a bonfire of the scrotes.

Mute Rex Banner
    Favourite Rex Banner
    Oct 14th 2017, 9:40 AM

Really? Would you have nothing better to do than report teenagers stockpiling wood? Whats the crime here? Conspiracy to commit a bonfire?

Mute Neville Mc Carthy
    Favourite Neville Mc Carthy
    Oct 14th 2017, 10:24 AM

@Rex Banner: or maybe i should just sit back and watch my house burn down as the little runts set fire to bonfire material thats been stored beside my house!!

Mute Rex Banner
    Favourite Rex Banner
    Oct 14th 2017, 12:41 PM

@Neville Mc Carthy: if its that close to your house and your house is genuinely in danger then ring the Gardai and have them put a stop to it or go out yourself and run the f****rs away from your home but im betting most bonfires arent up the side of someones house

Mute Donal Martin
    Favourite Donal Martin
    Oct 14th 2017, 8:41 AM

But they are allowed up north!!! Not fair

Mute Mary Murphy
    Favourite Mary Murphy
    Oct 14th 2017, 9:30 AM

@Donal Martin: Part of the cultural activities….just had a thought…isn’t it part of our culture to have bonfires too? Just need to stick boss on the culture word and it will be saved!

Mute Flip off
    Favourite Flip off
    Oct 14th 2017, 9:51 AM

When did it become socially acceptable to be a rat?

Mute Daffy the Bear
    Favourite Daffy the Bear
    Oct 14th 2017, 9:11 PM

@Flip off: Varadkar’s social wefare fraud grass-on-your-neighbour campaign..

Mute Eamonn O'Riain
    Favourite Eamonn O'Riain
    Oct 14th 2017, 8:24 AM

Squealers all!!!

Mute ⚡ Seánie ⚡
    Favourite ⚡ Seánie ⚡
    Oct 14th 2017, 8:08 AM

What do they do with all the timber?

Mute Jumperoo
    Favourite Jumperoo
    Oct 14th 2017, 8:13 AM

@⚡ Seánie ⚡: burn it.

Mute Tommy Dunbar
    Favourite Tommy Dunbar
    Oct 14th 2017, 12:04 PM

Bonfires is a stupid idea all together.

Mute mark kelly
    Favourite mark kelly
    Oct 14th 2017, 7:22 PM

Keep the mutts and pussies(oh er missus) indoors too!