You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.
Dutch students can live in nursing homes rent-free (as long as they keep the residents company)
It sounds like they’re all having the craic together.
5.30pm, 7 Dec 2014
1.0M
NINETY-TWO-YEAR-OLD Johanna beams at the 20-year-old stepping into her room — not a visiting grandson, but rather a housemate at her retirement home.
Town planning student Jurrien is one of six who have chosen to live in the yellow-brick home in Deventer in the eastern Netherlands as part of a unique project that benefits everyone.
The university students pay no rent and in exchange spend at least 30 hours a month with some of the 160 elderly who live here, doing the things professional staff cannot always do — such as just hanging out.
“They go see the pensioners for a chat, they play games, go with them to the shopping centre, (and) do shopping for those who can’t,” says activity coordinator Arjen Meihuizen.
Deventer in The Netherlands
Gea Sijpkes, the head of the Humanitas retirement home, said: “It’s important not to isolate the elderly from the outside world.”
When you’re 96 years old with a knee problem, well, the knee isn’t going to get any better, the doctors can’t do much.
But what we can do is create an environment where you forget about the painful knee.
Preventing care ‘ghettoes’
While retirement homes in many European countries – including Ireland – lack enough rooms for an ageing population, budget cuts by the Dutch government have made it increasingly difficult to get a subsidised place, leaving some with more rooms than they can fill.
The sharing idea has resonated in a country where many people do volunteer work, and other retirement homes are coming up with their own variations on the theme.
So-called “intergenerational” projects are also springing up elsewhere in Europe, but usually not within retirement homes because of the shortage of rooms.
Shutterstock
In some schemes, the elderly rent out a room in their own house or apartment, in others, housing projects are built specifically to house the young with the elderly.
In the French city Lyon, a project was set up for students to pay rent to live in a retirement home, but the rules are strict and, unlike in Deventer, friends are not allowed to visit.
In Britain, a commission chaired by a former minister recommended in September that new housing for the elderly and disabled should be incorporated into shopping developments, new apartment blocks and even universities to prevent the elderly from being cut off in “care ghettoes”.
“The old model saw care homes as isolated institutions where things were done to you rather than for you and were islands of misery,” said former care minister Paul Burstow.
Care homes that are cut off from their communities aren’t real homes.
Graffiti workshops
The students in Deventer prepare simple meals for some of the elderly in the evening and offer them activities according to their interests. Student Jordi, for instance, took a group into the garden and gave them cans of paint to spray on cardboard so they could learn about graffiti.
Jurrien gives weekly computer lessons to Anton Groot Koerkamp, 85.
“Now I can send emails, go on the internet, look up videos and go on Facebook,” he said proudly.
There is no obligation for the elderly to take part in activities with the students.
But many, like Jurrien’s neighbour Johanna, seem happy with the arrangement.
“I’m old, he’s young, but we get along well,” she said.
“We do small things, not much really, but it can help put them in a good mood,” said Jurrien.
Student rooms are too small
“Not only do I not pay any rent, but I also like working with the elderly,” said journalism student Denise, 22.
Given that student rooms are too small, too dirty and too expensive, this is a fantastic alternative.
“For €400 I’d get barely 10 square metres (100 square feet) and I’d have to share the kitchen and bathroom,” Jurrien said.
Here I have twice as much space and I have my own kitchen and bathroom.
The students can have friends over for drinks and even have a partner over for the night. There is no curfew or other restriction as long as the students are reasonable.
“One time I came back in the middle of the night and I woke my neighbour (Johanna), she wasn’t very happy,” said Jurrien.
So, being a good neighbour I went and apologised and promised not to do it again.
Then again, Jurrien said, smiling: “When she watches (Dutch television game show) ‘Lingo’, I can hear everything through the wall.”
I got an appointment but didn’t need it because I got booster in work but there is no way of cancelling the appointment only requesting a new one. This might have something to do with the percentage…
@Mary Ryan: exactly. Same here and for others in my dept. If every healthcare worker who gets their booster in work is being booked in at an alternative location, then that will account for a huge proportion of so-called “no shows”. Perhaps if they had a cancel option on the text, they could give the appointment to someone else. But it’s the HSE, so…
@Anna Carr: most people dont have time to wait 45 mins on hold to tell somebody they can’t make an appointment/postpone it to be fair..so frustration will take hold at some stage where you’ll just sat feck it
@Mary Ryan: v sad that HSE is spending millions on digitisation, delivering mega profits to external consultants and the level of service is still this bad. It’s the Childrens Hospital over and over. No accountability for the misuse of taxpayers funds. The buck stops with Minister Donnelly and the Taoiseach.
@Mary Ryan: I was given 2 options, reply Yes to reschedule or phone the Covid Helpline which I presume you would do to cancel. I’d say a lot of people are doing neither and just not turning up. If they get their booster elsewhere then this will be registered centrally eventually and they will be taken off the no show list I should imagine. They had all of the details of my first two vaccines when I was at the centre even though I received a different drug first time and at a different location so good setup.
HSE systems again, when u got the booster it should have come up on their IT system that u got the boster, another one that is showing No Showing is u can’t get a booster vaccine till 6 months after getting Covid. U can inform them that u can’t get the booster due to their regulations with covid but u will be put down as a no show. They have no way of reccording people who can’t get the booster because of having had covid.
City West today had 24 hatches available for registering people for the booster only 4 hatches manned people waiting over 2 hours to get registered, numerous people leaving the que. No wonder such high rates, comments made by people completely detached for the reality on the ground
@Anna Carr: Most people have work and childcare to worry about in addition to appeasing the governments “booster” programme. Such a flippant comment Anna.
@LaoisWeather: ur not appeasing anyone it’s ur choice if u feel ur been put out by having to get ur free booster don’t get it stay on work or collect ur kids instead easy solution
@LaoisWeather: saving lives and agonising deaths for those who were careful is not flippancy and that guy answered my comment perfectly. “but they weren’t handing out €1000″. Do people even hear themselves?
@Carl Corcoran: Genuinely, thanks for the heads up, at least we know to allow hours for the process if necessary. Out of curiosity, was it a socially distanced queue, and indoors?
The HSE send you an appointment without verifying if it is convenient or if you want it at all.That was never going to be as successful as you making your own appointment as what happened for your first vaccines.
@Roger Bond: Honestly an inconvenient time is no excuse. You make the time and take the Jab. We are lucky to be in a country getting boosters never mind vaccination in general. Almost 65% of the world is currently unvaccinated so we should stop moaning and get on with it.
@Heather Knowles: In my case as a health care worker doing extra shifts. I much prefer to get my booster on my day off than just walk out and get someone to cover for me.
@Heather Knowles: yes but in the real world people have other appointments they can’t miss like weddings, funerals, hospital appointments, etc. you can’t just assume people will be able to make time to get the booster at the drop of a hat.
@Sean Mccabe: I don’t think that’s his point. I’m no medical expert but it looks to me like the HSEs mantra is vaccinate, wanes in a few months, booster, wanes, booster, wanes booster so on so forth. you won’t get healthy individuals taking the booster as easily as the initial vaccine. I know alot of people now have the mindset, “if I get covid, I get it and I hope my body fights it”. People are just sick to the teeth of it all and mentally fatigued listening to the same thing day in day out with 20, nearly 21 months.
@Macca1986: it’s not the hse’s mantra it’s the world’s leading immunologists plans that people need boosters not only Ireland we r not on our own were not being singled out we need to stop feeling sorry for ourselves and trust the experts when it comes to boosters.peoples choice to take them or not but can’t be moaning saying this and that if they refuse help that’s being offered on a plate to them.
@Sean Mccabe: thats my point. everywhere is the same. I’m talking ireland as I live here and from here. my point still stands that alot won’t take the booster who are young, fit and healthy.
I can see why people who already have both doses could be frustrated and not show up for the booster but the current situation is what it is and people need to get on board or else another lockdown is unavoidable and nobody wants that
@Raymond Scott: Why should they. People did what they were asked they went got vaccinated. Now suddenly vaccination isn’t enough you think everyone should be forced into getting the booster. How many boosters should we be forced to get?
@Roy Dowling: you sound like a petulant child. The government isn’t forcing you to do anything. It’s in people’s and societies interest to continue to follow the latest research. Nobody has a Covid crystal ball.
@Homes: so we’re not allowed ask questions? So say I chose not to get the booster can I still go to the cinema? Bring the wife for a meal in a restaurant? No I cant so yes the vaccine is being forced on people. Now I myself would no be eligible for a booster shot til April, and yes I’m still not decided if I want take vaccine every 6 months for the foreseeable future.
@Roy Dowling: you sound like an anti vaxxer. by the same logic an unvaccinated person is forced the vaccine… They cant bring the wife to a restaurant. Which makes no sense since when vaccinated after couple months one transmits the virus like unvaccinated person, check the Lancet. Viral load the same. So in way, that covid cert is useless from health perspective, all should be tested: vaccinated and non vaccinated. Hmm, in roundabout way, we agree ha ha
@Raymond Scott: No he fookin doesn’t. Seriously, stop with this BS. An anti-vaxxer is exactly that: anti-vaccination. Someone who’s had 2 jabs of the vax but isn’t too keen on never-ending booster shots isn’t an anti-vaxxer. FFS why are so many words so ídiotically overused these days…?
@David Van-Standen: did the HSE flag leo getting off an airplane the other day not wearing a mask and sitting looking at Riverdance not wearing his mask.
@Mark Wallace: Please try to keep up if you are going to join the discussion, my comment was in regard to a certain person in the HSE that’s always telling everyone else to wear their mask, being immortalised in a photo not doing so themselves at the rugby in an enclosed area.
Sure I could keep mine in the first-aid box with my iodine tablet. Seriously, I reckon the treatment will improve a lot as we go along & be longer lasting and easier to take. I’d say eventually there will be alternatives such as drops offered and a future dose spaced over a decade. But for now, we need to keep our immunity up. I’m too young right now but if/when I get the text I’ll be doing my utmost to get it.
A health expert on with Claire Byrne this morning was advocating for boosters for everyone every 2 months!
At some point people are going to question what they’re signing up for, particularly those who experienced side effects from the first jabs. There doesn’t seem to be any plan here anymore other than taking infinite boosters when beckoned.
There are walk in appointments in vaccination centres that HCWs can avail of, as the appointments offered to them are often across the city, mid week and midday. Many staff aren’t given leave for boosters as there is no cover. There was no option for me to cancel my scheduled appointment. is Paul aware of this
@Sean Ryan: As did I. I’m waiting now for my sister who is 51 and vulnerable (Down’s syndrome) to get hers before I can relax. Infuriates me that she must wait while others who are offered can’t be rsade to get theirs.
@Paul Whitehead: That seems unfair in the cases of people who were booked into two different centres. They need to double-check for duplicate appointments being assigned and take out the ones who have indeed got a booster at one place.
People are opting out. But they’ll be capitulate (as Pat Kenny says) when the same level of coercion (covid passes revoked) & vitriol applied to the ‘anti-vaxxers’ starts being thrown at them. A good chunk of those eligible are not even due their boosters until January. And considering there’s been c.215k cases just going back to August, how many of them have contracted the virus in the past 6 months making them ineligible? Is that or natural immunity being factored in by the HSE? No chance.
People understandly fatigued with Govt lack of leadership and nphet cock ups followed by u turns (antigen) but got to get those booster shots in to arms everyone. Likely to be an annual injection for some, mix of flu jab with covid booster from now on.
I rang HSE live and asked how do the high risk who were approved for vaccines 2 days ago get the vaccine. He said unless their GP refers them into the system, they’ve no knowledge who is high risk and needs a booster. How long is that going to take for the hundreds of thousands with underlying conditions to get referred into the system?
@Caitlin Far: your GP should have automatically referred you in as most have for people with underlying conditions or who are immunocompromised . Call your GP if you’ve any concerns and he/she will register you immediately. You should be notified of an appointment within 24-48hrs.
@GrumpyAulFella: thanks. The GP told me the HSE are managing it for people with underlying conditions and they’ve no involvement. They said my underlying condition doesn’t qualify as immunocompromised because only hospital consultants can refer immunocompromised people. They said they’re not referring anyone and the only people getting referred are the immunocompromised ones referred by consultants. I have an underlying condition that’s significant but im not an immunocompromised transplant patient etc. GP sending same standard email to everyone.
That’s just awesome. Taking on board the comment about the inability to cancel, totally understandable but people just not bothering is inexcusable. Wasting vaccines that others would be happy to have.
Hospitalisation rates are falling (ratio of COVID-19 patients admitted per 1,000 infections).
The only other times hospitalisation rates fell, was when infections fell to low levels, testing capacity exceed the rate of low and falling infections. And when tests could not keep up with rising infections, the hospitalisation rate increased. There may also be an effect from the Alpha and Delta variant which tend to make more people severely sick.
But we’re now seeing the hospitalisation rate fall sharpy despite a large increase in infections, and even despite occasional backlogs in testing.
So the fall in hospitalisation rate since the end of September is best explained by increasing protection provided by the vaccine booster.
@David Jordan: informative as always. Let’s hope so. Seems like protection against serious illness should rise to 95% within two weeks of receiving the booster. Seems to be working well in Israel.
Care staff offered boosters in a pop up Centre in Wexford the other day on the same day as they were all doing compulsory in service training. If they didn’t attend the training they didn’t get paid… Sounds like lack of communication and tomfoolery to me
There are walk in appointments in vaccination centres that HCWs can avail of, as the appointments offered to them are often across the city, mid week and midday. Many staff aren’t given leave for boosters as there is no cover. There was no option for me to cancel my scheduled appointment. is Paul aware of this
@John Doyle: 25% is a quarter and 50% is a half.so if 200 people had an appointment and only 100 showed up that means 50% didn’t show up.not rocket science pal
@John Doyle: no pal because its a live scenario it’s a broad range 25-50 % because its still ongoing.more accurate in it’s totality when it’s towards the end.
@Sean Mccabe: Give over will ya. If they have given 200,000 appointments and a 150,000 people showed up they can clearly state the 25% 0f people did not show up, If 100,000 show up they can clearly say 50% of people did not show up. You’re correct tho, it is a live ongoing situation. But up until the time he made that statement, it was an exact % of people who were no shows. He should have them figures available to him, with the salary he is on. Stop making excuses for the ridiculous broad range he gave off the top of his head, trying to look like he knows what’s going on and he is on top of things.
@John Doyle: we agree there is wiggle room on those figures he’s probably trying to put a bit of a positive spin knowing the figure is 50% maybe higher who feckin knows
@John Doyle: Oh come on John, read the 1st paragraph again, he said some vaccination centres, so one centre might have a 25% no show and another at the other side of the city could be at 40% no show. It’s not too hard to understand.
@Sean Mccabe: There’s that. I know I stopped following him on Twitter when he started posting the percentage of adults fully vaccinated but passed it off as a percentage of our entire population. A positive spin is grand for a radio DJ. The CEO should be able to get exact figures – there are enough bluffing as it is.
I got an appointment but was unable to attend. I called the number in the text message to reschedule and after 3.5 minutes of press 1, press 2 etc I was told a new a new appointment would follow automatically and to just not show up for my current appointment. No way to actually cancel it. Did not get another appointment and everytime I call I go through the automated section and wait on hold for ages only to hear that the service is currently not available. Very frustrating.
I can see why people who have got both jabs would be frustrated and choose not to show up for their booster jabs but the situation is what it is and if people don’t get on board another lockdown will be unavoidable and nobody wants that
A lot of those no shows are folks who have contracted Covid between the time of receiving their 2nd jab and scheduled for the booster….you can’t receive the booster until your 6 months clear of covid…
I had my booster at a mass vaccination Centre and there was 1000s there. Its great to see. However, they are turning away people in droves who don’t have an appointment or those who have not passed the 6 months since full vaccination. I was talking to a steward who said a fake WhatsApp is going around saying to present yourself with or without an appointment or without having passed 6 months and you will be done. Supposedly supply will be spoiled if they don’t get rid of it. People will honestly believe anything….
Not true – a lot of healthcare staff who got their initial vaccine doses moved to different hospitals around the country in July, i.e. being called for your booster dose at Wexford Hospital when you have been working in Letterkenny Hospital since July.
Kind of explains why most booster doses have been ‘walk-ins’ as opposed to by appointment
HCW who have or will be receiving their boosters at their place of work should just reply NEW if they receive a text from the HSE to go to a Vaccination clinic, by the time they go to give you a new appointment you will be registered on their system as already having had the booster shot. But there should be an option to cancel.
Verona Murphy has ‘full’ government support and opposition needs to ‘get on with it’
13 mins ago
trade war
Taoiseach: Government's priority is to protect Irish jobs as threat of US-imposed tariffs looms
29 mins ago
Courts
Garda superintendent appears in court accused of assaulting woman in Dublin city
4 hrs ago
Your Cookies. Your Choice.
Cookies help provide our news service while also enabling the advertising needed to fund this work.
We categorise cookies as Necessary, Performance (used to analyse the site performance) and Targeting (used to target advertising which helps us keep this service free).
We and our 160 partners store and access personal data, like browsing data or unique identifiers, on your device. Selecting Accept All enables tracking technologies to support the purposes shown under we and our partners process data to provide. If trackers are disabled, some content and ads you see may not be as relevant to you. You can resurface this menu to change your choices or withdraw consent at any time by clicking the Cookie Preferences link on the bottom of the webpage .Your choices will have effect within our Website. For more details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
We and our vendors process data for the following purposes:
Use precise geolocation data. Actively scan device characteristics for identification. Store and/or access information on a device. Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development.
Cookies Preference Centre
We process your data to deliver content or advertisements and measure the delivery of such content or advertisements to extract insights about our website. We share this information with our partners on the basis of consent. You may exercise your right to consent, based on a specific purpose below or at a partner level in the link under each purpose. Some vendors may process your data based on their legitimate interests, which does not require your consent. You cannot object to tracking technologies placed to ensure security, prevent fraud, fix errors, or deliver and present advertising and content, and precise geolocation data and active scanning of device characteristics for identification may be used to support this purpose. This exception does not apply to targeted advertising. These choices will be signaled to our vendors participating in the Transparency and Consent Framework.
Manage Consent Preferences
Necessary Cookies
Always Active
These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems. They are usually only set in response to actions made by you which amount to a request for services, such as setting your privacy preferences, logging in or filling in forms. You can set your browser to block or alert you about these cookies, but some parts of the site will not then work.
Targeting Cookies
These cookies may be set through our site by our advertising partners. They may be used by those companies to build a profile of your interests and show you relevant adverts on other sites. They do not store directly personal information, but are based on uniquely identifying your browser and internet device. If you do not allow these cookies, you will experience less targeted advertising.
Functional Cookies
These cookies enable the website to provide enhanced functionality and personalisation. They may be set by us or by third party providers whose services we have added to our pages. If you do not allow these cookies then these services may not function properly.
Performance Cookies
These cookies allow us to count visits and traffic sources so we can measure and improve the performance of our site. They help us to know which pages are the most and least popular and see how visitors move around the site. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous. If you do not allow these cookies we will not be able to monitor our performance.
Store and/or access information on a device 110 partners can use this purpose
Cookies, device or similar online identifiers (e.g. login-based identifiers, randomly assigned identifiers, network based identifiers) together with other information (e.g. browser type and information, language, screen size, supported technologies etc.) can be stored or read on your device to recognise it each time it connects to an app or to a website, for one or several of the purposes presented here.
Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development 142 partners can use this purpose
Use limited data to select advertising 112 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times an ad is presented to you).
Create profiles for personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (such as forms you submit, content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (for example, information from your previous activity on this service and other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (that might include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present advertising that appears more relevant based on your possible interests by this and other entities.
Use profiles to select personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on your advertising profiles, which can reflect your activity on this service or other websites or apps (like the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects.
Create profiles to personalise content 38 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (for instance, forms you submit, non-advertising content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (such as your previous activity on this service or other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (which might for example include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present content that appears more relevant based on your possible interests, such as by adapting the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find content that matches your interests.
Use profiles to select personalised content 34 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on your content personalisation profiles, which can reflect your activity on this or other services (for instance, the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects. This can for example be used to adapt the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find (non-advertising) content that matches your interests.
Measure advertising performance 133 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which advertising is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine how well an advert has worked for you or other users and whether the goals of the advertising were reached. For instance, whether you saw an ad, whether you clicked on it, whether it led you to buy a product or visit a website, etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of advertising campaigns.
Measure content performance 59 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which content is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine whether the (non-advertising) content e.g. reached its intended audience and matched your interests. For instance, whether you read an article, watch a video, listen to a podcast or look at a product description, how long you spent on this service and the web pages you visit etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of (non-advertising) content that is shown to you.
Understand audiences through statistics or combinations of data from different sources 74 partners can use this purpose
Reports can be generated based on the combination of data sets (like user profiles, statistics, market research, analytics data) regarding your interactions and those of other users with advertising or (non-advertising) content to identify common characteristics (for instance, to determine which target audiences are more receptive to an ad campaign or to certain contents).
Develop and improve services 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service, such as your interaction with ads or content, can be very helpful to improve products and services and to build new products and services based on user interactions, the type of audience, etc. This specific purpose does not include the development or improvement of user profiles and identifiers.
Use limited data to select content 37 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type, or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times a video or an article is presented to you).
Use precise geolocation data 46 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, your precise location (within a radius of less than 500 metres) may be used in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Actively scan device characteristics for identification 27 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, certain characteristics specific to your device might be requested and used to distinguish it from other devices (such as the installed fonts or plugins, the resolution of your screen) in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Ensure security, prevent and detect fraud, and fix errors 92 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Your data can be used to monitor for and prevent unusual and possibly fraudulent activity (for example, regarding advertising, ad clicks by bots), and ensure systems and processes work properly and securely. It can also be used to correct any problems you, the publisher or the advertiser may encounter in the delivery of content and ads and in your interaction with them.
Deliver and present advertising and content 99 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Certain information (like an IP address or device capabilities) is used to ensure the technical compatibility of the content or advertising, and to facilitate the transmission of the content or ad to your device.
Match and combine data from other data sources 72 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Information about your activity on this service may be matched and combined with other information relating to you and originating from various sources (for instance your activity on a separate online service, your use of a loyalty card in-store, or your answers to a survey), in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Link different devices 53 partners can use this feature
Always Active
In support of the purposes explained in this notice, your device might be considered as likely linked to other devices that belong to you or your household (for instance because you are logged in to the same service on both your phone and your computer, or because you may use the same Internet connection on both devices).
Identify devices based on information transmitted automatically 88 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Your device might be distinguished from other devices based on information it automatically sends when accessing the Internet (for instance, the IP address of your Internet connection or the type of browser you are using) in support of the purposes exposed in this notice.
Save and communicate privacy choices 69 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
The choices you make regarding the purposes and entities listed in this notice are saved and made available to those entities in the form of digital signals (such as a string of characters). This is necessary in order to enable both this service and those entities to respect such choices.
have your say