You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Shutterstock/Syda Productions

There's now a 'Tinder' specifically for people carrying an STI

MPWH (Meeting People With Herpes) aims to unite people suffering from the stigma of the virus, for which there is no cure.

PROOF THAT THERE really is an app for everything, a Hong Kong firm has developed a dating application which enables sufferers of Herpes to meet each other.

MPWH (Meeting People With Herpes) is exclusively for sufferers of that particular disease, something the publicity for the app is at pains to point out.

Herpes Simplex is a virus that can affect both the skin of the face (cold sores basically) as well as sexual organs.

For many people there are no physical manifestations of the affliction, but for those who do suffer from such there is no known cure for the virus.

The app adopts a Tinder-esque approach, with people swiping left and right over users located nearby depending on whether they ‘like’ them or not.

Apart from that, the chief difference is that you need to tell the app what variety of Herpes you are suffering from before you can browse users. Rather worryingly one of the options available is ‘I don’t know what kind of Herpes I’m suffering from’.

herpes MPWH MPWH

A quick look at the app would suggest that almost every user is based in the US (where 45 million people suffer from the disease according to MPWH) so it may be a distance away from establishing itself on this side of the Atlantic.

“The app aims to help people living with Herpes find love, companionship, friendship and support,” say the producers MPWH, which seems noble enough.

It’s available on both iOS and Android.

Read: Hundreds of people could have an excruciating skin disease but be too embarrassed to get diagnosed

Read: Too embarrassed to see a doc? Now you can test for almost any STI from your bedroom

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

49 Comments
    Mute Denis Reidy
    Favourite Denis Reidy
    Nov 2nd 2015, 2:44 PM

Well, they make cheap replicas of everything else, why not aircraft.

Mute Dot Com
    Favourite Dot Com
    Nov 2nd 2015, 4:43 PM

Dose C O M A C stand for Can Only Make A Copy

Mute My EL531W
    Favourite My EL531W
    Nov 2nd 2015, 6:57 PM

I remember seeing an article showing Chinese aircraft

Mute My EL531W
    Favourite My EL531W
    Nov 2nd 2015, 6:58 PM

Knockoffs. I found it: flyingmag.com/photo-gallery/photos/50-years-chinese-aviation-knockoffs

Nov 6th 2015, 3:10 PM

I hope their aircraft work better than their cheap knock off watches!

Mute Niall Cassidy
    Favourite Niall Cassidy
    Nov 2nd 2015, 2:32 PM

I don’t mind a kettle or a TV made in China but an aircraft?

Mute Simon Daly
    Favourite Simon Daly
    Nov 2nd 2015, 4:26 PM

Not true, very few are built in Tianjin and others when compared to the likes of Toulouse and Washington

Mute Simon Daly
    Favourite Simon Daly
    Nov 2nd 2015, 11:15 PM

Some minor components maybe, Airbus’s avionics are manufactured in Europe along with all the major flight components

Mute Tom Collins
    Favourite Tom Collins
    Nov 2nd 2015, 2:32 PM

I’m never filled with optimism when I read “made in China”

Mute IrishGravyTrain
    Favourite IrishGravyTrain
    Nov 2nd 2015, 2:34 PM

It will be grand. Most technology made there these days.

Mute Beachmaster
    Favourite Beachmaster
    Nov 2nd 2015, 2:35 PM

Made but not designed.

Mute Wrath of Cheney
    Favourite Wrath of Cheney
    Nov 2nd 2015, 2:37 PM

If you’ve ever had to use power tools or equipment made in China you will know about the lack of quality, they cut corners wherever possible.

Mute IrishGravyTrain
    Nov 2nd 2015, 2:41 PM

They lack quality because they are catering for the cheap end of the market. If you want to buy a power drill for €20 dont expect high end performances

Mute Wrath of Cheney
    Favourite Wrath of Cheney
    Nov 2nd 2015, 2:44 PM

They lack quality because they use shitty materials, poor quality steel etc and they cut corners to save cost their stuff is crap by and large. If you wouldn’t trust a power drill for high end performance why trust a jumbo jet!

Mute IrishGravyTrain
    Nov 2nd 2015, 3:07 PM

Lets try again. 2 types of phones. 1 is a flagship model costing €600+. Another is a basic model for €30. Don’t buy the €30 model and expect it to have quality of the flagship model.

Mute Gerard McAuliffe
    Favourite Gerard McAuliffe
    Nov 2nd 2015, 5:21 PM

I know a lot of people with the OnePlus phone. I don’t like Android but if you do they’re apparently fantastic phones. China moved past just being a cheap manufacturing location a while back. They produce high quality products along side the budget stuff. I have no doubt that this plane will become a significant player and to be fair it’s not like Airbus or Boeing never had issues – Dreamliner anyone?

Mute Armin Tamzarian
    Favourite Armin Tamzarian
    Nov 2nd 2015, 8:11 PM

The one plus isn’t really a good example here, as it’s not just a “cheap” alternative. The low price is not due to poor components, they are selling below cost to build a market share and gain a reputation. In time, the cost of the phones will increase. Anyway, we are going off topic! Interesting to see how these aircraft will perform in the long term.

Mute Hypernova
    Favourite Hypernova
    Nov 2nd 2015, 2:46 PM

Id say a lot of the bigger airlines will wait a few years to find out how reliable these are.

Mute Jason Culligan
    Favourite Jason Culligan
    Nov 2nd 2015, 2:57 PM

The aircraft is competing directly with the new Boeing 737 MAX and Airbus A320Neo, both new versions of aircraft with a long established record. Both aircraft have a massive backlog of orders.

Mute Matty Reese
    Favourite Matty Reese
    Nov 2nd 2015, 3:50 PM

They will have to wait a few years for one to even fly, i believe there is no systems installed inside this thing yet. I also believe Comac have now abandoned plans to get it FAA/ EASA certified.
    Also lazy journalism, since Ryanair entered the agreement (which was only to put pressure on other manufacturers) in they have placed a big order with boeing for lots of new 737 max 200

Mute Michael Fehily
    Favourite Michael Fehily
    Nov 2nd 2015, 8:25 PM

James…totally agree plus the excellent safety record.. Chinese aviation safety is no where near the standards required by the EU and Fed aviation authority…
    This was actually announced 2 years ago…

Mute Hypernova
    Favourite Hypernova
    Nov 2nd 2015, 2:35 PM

Tom,did you type that on your ipad or iphone by any chance?.

Mute Tom Collins
    Favourite Tom Collins
    Nov 2nd 2015, 4:26 PM

I hear you, but the design, decisions on material and practically everything else is American when it comes to I pads and iPhone ect. I have no issue with parts and large units like planes being put together in China but I do raise an eyebrow when they are designed there

Mute Proinsias Ó Foghlú
    Favourite Proinsias Ó Foghlú
    Nov 2nd 2015, 3:23 PM

If I had a choice of an Airbus or Boeing vs a C919, then my ass would not be sitting on the latter!

Mute Mick McGuinness
    Favourite Mick McGuinness
    Nov 2nd 2015, 2:33 PM

Fair play to the Chinese when they put their mind to do something they do it. A big blow for Airbus and Boeing for future sal

Mute Jason Culligan
    Favourite Jason Culligan
    Nov 2nd 2015, 2:55 PM

In the Chinese market, yes, but from what I understand there have been very few orders outside of China. The only companies outside of China ordering it are Irish-based rental companies.

Mute The Dude
    Favourite The Dude
    Nov 2nd 2015, 3:04 PM

Yet another Chinese knock off of western innovation.

Mute Matty Reese
    Favourite Matty Reese
    Nov 2nd 2015, 3:54 PM

It will be some years before this enters service and it will likely be a commercial flop. Most of this is for the learning experience. Google the ARJ21 to see how poor the Chinese are at industrialisng new aircraft.
    Maybe the next project after this might produce some valid competition.

Mute Drew TheChinaman :)
    Favourite Drew TheChinaman :)
    Nov 2nd 2015, 4:03 PM

North Korea will be happy to get their hands on them… Currently their only option are Russian planes no longer in production.

Russia may bite too, but they worked so hard to elevate the stereotype of Aeroflot flying dodgy Russian planes…

Mute Patrick J O'CONNOR
    Favourite Patrick J O'CONNOR
    Nov 2nd 2015, 4:32 PM

@The Dude. Exactly Dude. Just like the Japanese Bullet Trains they copied-right down to the last washer. Except the quality was missing and several crashed leading the Chinese Govt. to cover ups,etc.
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=q9Ap0aRUx8E

Mute Jason Culligan
    Favourite Jason Culligan
    Nov 2nd 2015, 5:21 PM

The Russians are currently busy on their own aircraft, the Irkut MC-21, which will also compete in the same market.

Mute David
    Favourite David
    Nov 2nd 2015, 6:55 PM

They also have the Sukhoi Superjet. Although I don’t think it’s been the success they hoped for, especially in the Western markets!

Mute Supernova
    Favourite Supernova
    Nov 2nd 2015, 2:34 PM

780 billion.. Madness

Mute William Grogan
    Favourite William Grogan
    Nov 2nd 2015, 4:02 PM

No fantastic.

Mute Kian
    Favourite Kian
    Nov 2nd 2015, 2:37 PM

Any major airlines have one on order?

Mute Jason Culligan
    Favourite Jason Culligan
    Nov 2nd 2015, 2:55 PM

Outside of China, no.

Mute brian magee
    Favourite brian magee
    Nov 2nd 2015, 4:15 PM

No, becuase the AMericans are dragginf their heels with regards granting them a licence and cert.

Mute brian magee
    Favourite brian magee
    Nov 2nd 2015, 4:19 PM
    Mute Matty Reese
    Favourite Matty Reese
    Nov 2nd 2015, 4:32 PM

@brian.

They have not applied for FAA certification (or EASA for that matter) but don’t let that fact interupt yer rant

Mute Matty Reese
    Favourite Matty Reese
    Nov 2nd 2015, 4:40 PM

That article you quote refers to shadow certification for the ARJ21, a trail to establish how they could apply for FAA certification for the C919. Because that project was so badly mishandled no clear way to establish a certification process was developed and AFAIK there is now no plans to apply for a FAA tcfor the C919.
    Certification of modern airliners starts with the design stage. its not just a case of bringing it for a test run. Every step of the whole process must be transparent and verifible. All vendors must also be compliant. This is still not the case in China. Insistance on using local components means some component manufacturers would not meet industry stanards. Also the whole oversight and accountability set up still needs work.

Mute Neil
    Favourite Neil
    Nov 2nd 2015, 3:57 PM

I’m no aviation expert but I dont think planes should go “head-to-head”

Mute Lapmo_Dancer
    Favourite Lapmo_Dancer
    Nov 2nd 2015, 3:27 PM

Airbus is a European consortium, albeit with it’s HQ based in Toulouse. Amongst other things wings are produced in the UK, A320 final assembly takes place in Hamburg and all horizontal tail planes are produced in Spain.

Bloody French trying to claim credit for everything European…. Though its HQ is not even in France these days it’s in the Netherlands.

Mute Crocodylus Pontifex
    Favourite Crocodylus Pontifex
    Nov 2nd 2015, 3:27 PM

It should say ‘European Airbus’ rather than ‘French Airbus’.

Mute David McShite
    Favourite David McShite
    Nov 2nd 2015, 3:41 PM

Jason….. Do you ever sleep?

Mute Jason Culligan
    Favourite Jason Culligan
    Nov 2nd 2015, 5:27 PM

What’s ‘sleep’ exactly? I do, I just have a lot of travel time in the day that I can use up.

Mute Jason Culligan
    Favourite Jason Culligan
    Nov 2nd 2015, 3:01 PM

An expectation of 5,500 orders is very hopeful for an untested aircraft from a relatively unknown manufacturer. In comparison the upcoming A320Neo has over 4,300 firm orders as of September 2015 and the Boeing 737 MAX has 2,700.

Mute Jason Culligan
    Favourite Jason Culligan
    Nov 2nd 2015, 5:14 PM

I wish, just an aircraft enthusiast.

Mute Walter Black
    Favourite Walter Black
    Nov 2nd 2015, 3:26 PM

A great bunch of lads!

Mute Sallins Man
    Favourite Sallins Man
    Nov 2nd 2015, 4:30 PM

Error I’ll stick with Boeing or the Airbus for the next 10 years and then make the decision to fly in one.

Mute mrmeade
    Favourite mrmeade
    Nov 2nd 2015, 5:27 PM

Made in China, i think ill pass.

Mute Donnacha Byrne
    Favourite Donnacha Byrne
    Nov 2nd 2015, 3:22 PM

It looks like a Boeing

Nov 2nd 2015, 3:56 PM

No doubt they will find dozens of parts that infringe Boeing and Airbus design patents….that will keep them out of European and USA airlines and maybe even landing rights in European and American cities.

Mute Stephen Devlin
    Favourite Stephen Devlin

Not be long until they are manufacturing more wings than a Chinese phone book

Mute William Grogan
    Favourite William Grogan
    Nov 2nd 2015, 4:08 PM

I’m reminded of a comment by an airline owner in India. He said “95% of my passengers on every flight have never set foot on a plane before.” The Chinese and Indian markets (1/3rd of the worlds population) are due for enormous growth. (Now that I think of it, many of the people in front of me in security don’t seem to have either.)

Mute Oakwoodservices
    Favourite Oakwoodservices
    Nov 2nd 2015, 6:05 PM

The chinese – a great bunch of lads

Mute themanwiththeplan
    Favourite themanwiththeplan
    Nov 2nd 2015, 3:36 PM

the company has an agreement with Bombardier. if you look at the c-series from bombardier very similar design. i believe the belfast plant does a lot of work with them!

Nov 2nd 2015, 8:26 PM

You can probably buy one on eBay

Nov 2nd 2015, 3:53 PM

I’m sure they’ll find a market.

Mick O’Leary has been wetting his lips waiting for the opportunity to have a lash at Boeing that he can get cheaper planes from China if he doesn’t get them at cost he’s said as much several times.

Mute Matty Reese
    Favourite Matty Reese
    Nov 2nd 2015, 3:56 PM

That agreement is meaningless MOL got Boeing to develop the 200 max for him instead and he’s ordered them instead.

http://corporate.ryanair.com/news/news/14908-ryanair-places-order-for-up-to-200-new-boeing-737-max-200-aircraft-worth-up-to-22bn/?market=en

Mute brian magee
    Favourite brian magee
    Nov 2nd 2015, 4:25 PM

Matty,

if Ryanair want to expand to Asia, i’m pretty sure that the Chinese would prefer and encourage them to use their plane rather than than a Boeing.

Mute Matty Reese
    Favourite Matty Reese
    Nov 2nd 2015, 5:01 PM

Expanding to Asia would require a plane that can fly between Europe and Asia not a C919 or 737.

Expansion in Asia for local flights would require Ryanair to start a new Asian airline as current bilaterals won’t allow an Irish registered airline any routes.

And I don’t think they would give permission for an Irish airline to compete domesticaly with all the state owned airlines.

MOL was only trying to get Airbus and Boeing to drop their prices.

Mute Shane Kinsella
    Favourite Shane Kinsella
    Nov 2nd 2015, 5:02 PM

Brian, the Chinese can want all the like. Ryanair are committed to Boeing for the forseable future.

Mute Emachine
    Favourite Emachine
    Nov 2nd 2015, 6:30 PM

Ah, Hamilton Standard/Sunstrand the good folks behind the Challenger space shuttle explosion. Where do I sign.

Mute Tony_Kilduff
    Favourite Tony_Kilduff
    Nov 2nd 2015, 8:31 PM

I think they were the ones advising Nasa not to launch that day were they not ?

Mute Robert Preston
    Favourite Robert Preston
    Nov 3rd 2015, 7:20 PM

Ah give it a couple of months and it will fall to pieces . They may make it cheaper but who would buy one .