You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

The HIQA inspection uncovered significant concerns at Letterkenny General Hospital. Google Maps

Health risks in hospital baby baths discovered in random inspection

A HIQA assessment of Letterkenny General Hospital finds that the absence of a cleaning system poses a risk to child health.

NEWBORN BABIES AT one of the biggest hospitals in the north-west are at risk of contracting hospital-borne infections because of the lack of a system to oversee the cleaning of baby baths.

A HIQA inspection of Letterkenny General Hospital said there was no system for cleaning baby baths in the hospital – meaning it was impossible to tell whether a baby cot in a hospital corridor needed cleaning.

The report said mothers took a baby bath from the corridor outside the maternity ward whenever one was needed – meaning newborn babies were at risk of acquiring a ‘HCAI’, or healthcare-associated infection.

The report was compiled after an unannounced visit to the hospital on February 27, and says the risks of the unwashed baby baths had been brought to the attention of the clinical nurse manager on the ward.

Elsewhere in the maternity ward, inspectors noted that the there had been visible debris and dust on floors, edges, corners, bed frames, bedrails and high surfaces – and even on the hand-gel dispensers at the entrance to each room.

‘Moderate’ dust in room for C-section recovery

In particular, the room used by women recovering from caesarian sections had a moderate amount of dust, including on its bed frame, mattress, cot and lampshade.

The report also criticised clutter in many areas, in particular the storage and ‘dirty’ utility rooms – the latter, containing clinical waste and materials awaiting collection, was unlocked.

It also identified a recurring issue of empty wheelchairs hindering access to fire-fighting equipment in the hospital’s emergency department. The wheelchairs were removed when the problem was first identified, but more wheelchairs had been left in the same spot later in the visit.

“The Authority found that while there was some evidence of good practice in the three areas assessed, overall, the three areas assessed were unclean,” its report said.

The report acknowledged that the hospital building was old, and posed larger “infrastructure challenges”, but said the overall level of dust and clutter suggested that the physical environment “was not effectively managed and maintained” to reduce the risk of infecton to patients.

Hospital authorities have been given six weeks to compile a quality improvement plan, while a follow-up inspection will be held in the next six months.

Read: ‘Worrying’ HIQA report raises questions about safety of foster children in Dublin North West

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

27 Comments
    Mute Thomas Quinn
    Favourite Thomas Quinn
    Jun 13th 2018, 6:45 AM

This is what happens when a vermin population goes unchecked for so long. Absolutely shocking and tragic for the family. We need much harsher prisons and much harsher sentences. Amnesty international can piss off. Id vote for death penalty no problem. Id also be happy to see a vigilante group wipe out our criminal element at this stage. Currently our methods do nothing but encourage.

Mute Dave Malon
    Favourite Dave Malon
    Jun 13th 2018, 6:53 AM

@Thomas Quinn: 100% agree with that comment

Jun 13th 2018, 7:23 AM

@Thomas Quinn: What if this was a vigilante group who considered their target “vermin”?

See 24 more replies ▾
    Mute Gavin Daly
    Favourite Gavin Daly
    Jun 13th 2018, 7:58 AM

@Adrian: violence breeds violence

Mute CC
    Favourite CC
    Jun 13th 2018, 8:04 AM

@Thomas Quinn: wouldn’t vote for death penalty now to be honest. That gives them a easier way out id give them LIFE. They’d suffer more rotting in prison until the end of their days.

Mute Nick Caffrey
    Favourite Nick Caffrey
    Jun 13th 2018, 8:18 AM

@CC: Yes, but you will be paying for it.

Mute Veronica
    Favourite Veronica
    Jun 13th 2018, 8:56 AM

@Nick Caffrey: I read a long time ago that putting someone to death costs more than keeping them in prison for the rest of their lives, what with legal fees etc.

Mute Ian Phillip Creaner
    Favourite Ian Phillip Creaner
    Jun 13th 2018, 9:14 AM

@Thomas Quinn: Coz the death penalty has obviously solved America’s problems. However, O do believe this has gone unchecked for too long. We need to arm our police.

Mute Tom Reilly
    Favourite Tom Reilly
    Jun 13th 2018, 9:17 AM

@Thomas Quinn: I believe that there has to be much,much more resources given to the Gardai to combat violent gangs. I would like to see several more specially trained armed units in isolated rural areas visible all the time. There should be huge financial incentives for detectives in bringing violent thugs to court including bonuses for each conviction. There should be a massive increase in the number of detectives being recruited and specially trained. Known gangsters should be hounded on a daily basis with their whereabouts being known all the time.

Mute Ray Farrell
    Favourite Ray Farrell
    Jun 13th 2018, 9:59 AM

@Thomas Quinn: We need Frank Castle

Mute Maciej Zadorozny
    Favourite Maciej Zadorozny
    Jun 13th 2018, 10:22 AM

@Thomas Quinn: So-called experts claim that death penalty does not prevent crime.
    I strongly disagree with this.

Mute Magda Krywsza Hryniewiecka
    Favourite Magda Krywsza Hryniewiecka
    Jun 13th 2018, 10:39 AM

@Thomas Quinn: Fully agree. You can’t feel safe anymore. I hope the law changes soon and there will be action, consequences and penalty for any type of criminal action. Every serious criminal has the beginning in petty crimes, which so far are too small for Garda to take action on.

Mute CrabaRev
    Favourite CrabaRev
    Jun 13th 2018, 10:57 AM

@Thomas Quinn: Ireland has one of the lowest murder rates per capita in the entire world.

Mute Maciej Zadorozny
    Favourite Maciej Zadorozny
    Jun 13th 2018, 11:28 AM

@Gavin Daly: Prove it please. Stronger wins

Mute Mark O Sullivan
    Favourite Mark O Sullivan
    Jun 13th 2018, 11:32 AM

@CrabaRev: this is not the place for facts.

Mute CrabaRev
    Favourite CrabaRev
    Jun 13th 2018, 11:44 AM

@Maciej Zadorozny: In the US, States with the death penalty have on average a25% higher murder rate than those without.

Mute Ann Morris Doolan
    Favourite Ann Morris Doolan
    Jun 13th 2018, 11:44 AM

@Thomas Quinn:
    Yes I’d totally agree Thomas, death penalty for this lot ,horrendous crime against a family .. if we don’t stop this kind of thing our country is completely gone out of control,these four murdering thugs need to feel the pain this family are feeling now.

Mute CrabaRev
    Favourite CrabaRev
    Jun 13th 2018, 11:45 AM

@Maciej Zadorozny: Better wins.

Mute Mark Gearey
    Favourite Mark Gearey
    Jun 13th 2018, 11:45 AM

@Thomas Quinn: May you be the first innocnet man on Irelands death row, and after your name is cleared and you’re released may the vigilantes get you cos they still think you’re guilty. Your sacrifice will be worth it tho becauase clearly vigilantism and the death penalty make society much safer.

Mute David Garland
    Favourite David Garland
    Jun 13th 2018, 12:08 PM

@Thomas Quinn: Ireland’s criminal underworld has exploded since the Provos have decommissioned.. Do you think that feud in Dublin would be rumbling on for over two years back if they were still around.. Do you think We’d have lads on scramblers causing havoc in working class areas.. Like it or not the Provo’s kept a lid on things, now its a free for all..

Mute John Mc Donagh
    Favourite John Mc Donagh
    Jun 13th 2018, 1:32 PM

@David Garland: An awful lot of the crime and drug dealing is now done by redundant Provos!

Mute Raymond Power
    Favourite Raymond Power
    Jun 13th 2018, 3:58 PM

@Mark O Sullivan: This is not a question of comparing ireland with other places…. It’s about comparing it with the Ireland of 15 yrs ago.

Mute Naoimh Ó Murchadha
    Favourite Naoimh Ó Murchadha
    Jun 13th 2018, 5:48 PM

@Tom Reilly: wouldn’t agree with commission but the criminals need to be be constantly hounded.

Mute Austin Rock
    Favourite Austin Rock
    Jun 13th 2018, 6:15 PM

@Tom Reilly: That sounds great turning our police force into bounty hunters, maybe you should consider the Phillipines, yer man over there is wiping everyone out.

Mute David Garland
    Favourite David Garland
    Jun 13th 2018, 6:24 PM

@John Mc Donagh: Stop reading everything that Paul Williams writes..

Mute Bernadette Fitzpatrick
    Favourite Bernadette Fitzpatrick
    Jun 13th 2018, 11:34 PM

@Veronica: i cant see how it could be ….a dead person. is not costing the state to keep them in prison uless its cost in terms of how it impacts on others somehow ie partner childen etc

Mute Martin O'Reilly
    Favourite Martin O'Reilly
    Jun 14th 2018, 11:23 AM

@Thomas Quinn: So you exclaim you want to become part of the vermin population by reintroducing the death penalty. Mr. Death Wish speaks.

Mute Rudi Giuliani 8th
    Favourite Rudi Giuliani 8th
    Jun 13th 2018, 6:54 AM

No doubt the likes of The Learned Judge Martin Nolan will give these killers stiff 7-year sentences with partial suspensions; should they be brought to court.

Mute pg38
    Favourite pg38
    Jun 13th 2018, 8:03 AM

@Rudi Giuliani 8th: Doubtful he’s a circuit judge, I’d say this case would probably go to the central

Mute Kevin Moylan
    Favourite Kevin Moylan
    Jun 13th 2018, 9:10 AM

@Rudi Giuliani 8th: probably 7 years between them knowing his previous sentences

Mute DJ François
    Favourite DJ François
    Jun 13th 2018, 11:39 AM

@Rudi Giuliani 8th: Mandatory life for guilty murder, facts are important

Mute Rudi Giuliani 8th
    Favourite Rudi Giuliani 8th
    Jun 13th 2018, 1:02 PM

@DJ François: You really think that these men will face murder charges…I’d say one will be charged with murder but this will be pled down to manslaughter. The other 3 will be up for different categories of assault.

This is Ireland, DJ…

Mute John Shea Hen
    Favourite John Shea Hen
    Jun 13th 2018, 8:29 AM

Really hope they get these skûm soon. Although what they did was so horrific and messed up, nothing can do justice for this bar the same being done to them. Hard to believe people like this are walking around.

Mute The Dons
    Favourite The Dons
    Jun 13th 2018, 10:29 AM

Truly callous and evil. When I imagine the type of individuals he may have come across as maybe rivals in a garden maintenance business, as well as the use of machetes in the attack, it does make you wonder… I hope as much resources as possible are made available to the Gardai on finding these sub human skum either way.

Mute John East
    Favourite John East
    Jun 13th 2018, 10:48 AM

@The Dons: I was going to post a similar comment but you worded it better, hope the Gardai are thinking the same way

Mute The Dons
    Favourite The Dons
    Jun 13th 2018, 10:54 AM

@John East: I might be speculating but with the information we know and have, it certainly is an avenue I’m sure the gardai are looking at.

Mute Veronica
    Favourite Veronica
    Jun 13th 2018, 8:57 AM

10 min attack by 4 men with MACHETES. Holy hell, I can’t even get my head around it. And his wife and children witnessed it?? The poor man, I hope he was unconscious very soon after it started.

Mute Dave Malon
    Favourite Dave Malon
    Jun 13th 2018, 9:25 AM

@Veronica: he was conscious throughout and tried to speak to the guards after the attack :(

Mute Veronica
    Favourite Veronica
    Jun 13th 2018, 9:38 AM

@Dave Malon: Sweet Jesus, that’s beyond horrific. What kind of person can bear to put another person through that kind of pain??

God I feel sick thinking about it. The poor poor man.

Mute Dave Malon
    Favourite Dave Malon
    Jun 13th 2018, 10:07 AM

@Veronica: I know and his poor little kids witnessed it too.

Mute FrustratedASDMum
    Favourite FrustratedASDMum
    Jun 13th 2018, 10:34 AM

@Veronica: I can get my head around it. How can human inflict that degree of violence upon another, especially in front of small children? It’s insane.

Mute Ennui Kenny
    Favourite Ennui Kenny
    Jun 13th 2018, 11:01 AM

@Veronica: I would say a (un)healthy dose of drugs and Severe Antisocial Personality Disorder also known as Psychopathy.

Mute Peter Hughes
    Favourite Peter Hughes
    Jun 13th 2018, 1:34 PM

@Ennui Kenny: I would just pure an utter evil animals and nothing else.

Mute Patrick J. O'Rourke
    Favourite Patrick J. O'Rourke
    Jun 13th 2018, 8:26 AM

Machetes are banned. That’s working well then.

Mute Brendan O'Brien
    Favourite Brendan O'Brien
    Jun 13th 2018, 8:55 AM

@Patrick J. O’Rourke: Machetes are not banned.

Mute Native
    Favourite Native
    Jun 13th 2018, 10:53 AM

@Brendan O’Brien:

They are illegal, The firearms and offensive weapons act prohibits their possession in a public place. It also includes your vehicle when travelling. The legal definition is any article which has a blade or is sharply pointed. It doesn’t matter what kind of knife it is.

Mute Native
    Favourite Native
    Jun 13th 2018, 10:59 AM

@Native:

Firearms and Offensive Weapons Act, 1990
    PART III OFFENSIVE WEAPONS
    Possession of knives and other articles.

9.—(1) Subject to subsections (2) and (3), where a person has with him in any public place any knife or any other article which has a blade or which is sharply pointed, he shall be guilty of an offence.

Mute Ennui Kenny
    Favourite Ennui Kenny
    Jun 13th 2018, 10:59 AM

@Native: They are not banned. If you have one on your possession and you have ” good reason or lawful authority for having the article” then you are not breaking the law. So if you are a landscaper for instance and you are using the machete for work and you can prove that then you are OK. You might have difficulty however if you are in possession of it while walking down Patrick Street at 2 AM dressed in your best Saturday night clubbing clothes.

Mute Native
    Favourite Native
    Jun 13th 2018, 11:51 AM

@Ennui Kenny:

Read my first post and see where I said banned.

Mute Ennui Kenny
    Favourite Ennui Kenny
    Jun 13th 2018, 1:17 PM

@Native: You either deliberately or just carelessly missed the rest and more relevant bits.

(2) It shall be a defence for a person charged with an offence under subsection (1) to prove that he had good reason or lawful authority for having the article with him in a public place.

(3) Without prejudice to the generality of subsection (2), it shall be a defence for a person charged with an offence under subsection (1) to prove that he had the article with him for use at work or for a recreational purpose.

Mute Patrick J. O'Rourke
    Jun 13th 2018, 1:24 PM

@Brendan O’Brien:
    OK…under the Firearms and Offensive Weapons Act, 1990 section 12
    “(a) manufactures, sells or hires, or offers or exposes for sale or hire, or by way of business repairs or modifies, or

(b) has in his possession for the purpose of sale or hire or for the purpose of repair or modification by way of business, or

(c) puts on display, or lends or gives to any other person,

It applies to S.I. No. 66/1991 and under that list of weapons is

( q ) the broad knife known as a machete or matchet.

They are technically illegal.

Why am I interested? Because I used one for years elsewhere and was thinking of getting one for my own piece of jungle. However when I found out the legalities I had to make do with my Khukuri.

Mute Ennui Kenny
    Favourite Ennui Kenny
    Jun 13th 2018, 1:54 PM

@Patrick J. O’Rourke: Under Section 12 it is an offence to sell, hire etc all of those weapons mentioned in the S.I but it says nothing about possession. You can possess it but the person who sells, hires or lends it to you is guilty of an offence. You can buy one on the Internet but it might not be the postman who delivers it to your door!

Mute Patrick J. O'Rourke
    Jun 13th 2018, 2:01 PM

@Ennui Kenny: I was told quite categorically by the Gardai that they are illegal to own, as are knuckle dusters etc. That’s why I didn’t pursue the matter. I could have made my own very easily.

Mute Ennui Kenny
    Favourite Ennui Kenny
    Jun 13th 2018, 2:30 PM

@Patrick J. O’Rourke: I’ve talked to a few Gardai myself and they admitted to me that they are a little confused as to the legislation. For instance I quite often carry a lock knife in a pouch on my belt for work or just to have it handy for cutting ropes or fishing lines etc. I’ve often walked around the street or even ito pubs without thinking because I’d forgotten that I had it on me so I asked a few cops that I know as to what the law was in relation to it. Now the knife I bought is available from B&Q so it’s not like I bought it off the internet.

Their response was that it depended on the garda that stopped me. One might accept that it was carried quite innocently but another might arrest and prosecute you for it. Technically carrying a multitool like a Leatherman or a Gerber, even a Swiss Army knife is against the law unless you can prove that you had a lawful purpose for it. So it really is down to the cop that you meet.

If you have a machete in the boot of your car and you are going to or from a premises where you were cutting weeds or hedges then there should be no problem. A slash hook is a ” article which has a blade or which is sharply pointed” so you could arrest half the landowners in the country for being on a public road even though they were cutting back hedgerows. On the other hand if you turn up at a funeral with one I think that it’s fair to say that you weren’t there to do a bit of gardening!

Mute Dáithí
    Favourite Dáithí
    Jun 13th 2018, 11:55 AM

There use to be a time when FG were tough on crime . too busy these days on social media pimping themselves to the public

Mute james lee
    Favourite james lee
    Jun 13th 2018, 9:26 AM

Who’s going to give evidence or any information against these maniacs?this one could quite easily go down in the unsolved category.

Mute D Writer
    Favourite D Writer
    Jun 13th 2018, 10:23 AM

@james lee: special criminal court time again

Mute Gerry Caden
    Favourite Gerry Caden
    Jun 13th 2018, 10:48 AM

Reporting these types of vicious ,sub human , personal attacks in any detail is frightening the lives out of elderly people ,living alone, I believe.
    No doubt, the attackers probably get some personal satisfaction from reading reports of their activities too.
    So, let’s remember the readers when reporting these incidents.
    There is a very thin line to be walked here and judgment is everything.

Mute The Dons
    Favourite The Dons
    Jun 13th 2018, 11:26 AM

@Gerry Caden: we understand that but going on the information at hand, it was certainly not a random attack for the public at large to be worried about, and with certain calling cards in the attack already known to the public, there’s a strong likelihood that these individuals wouldn’t be capable of reading anything. Lets hope the skum are caught soon.

Mute Greedylocks
    Favourite Greedylocks
    Jun 13th 2018, 12:02 PM

@The Dons: the public needs to be very concerned about any attack where a man is hacked to death in front of kids. Barbaric

Mute Brendan Deegan
    Favourite Brendan Deegan
    Jun 13th 2018, 2:21 PM

Personal Grudge ..Whatever that means ???

Mute The Dons
    Favourite The Dons
    Jun 13th 2018, 2:37 PM

@Greedylocks: we’re all very concerned, thats not my point!

Mute Alison Kenny
    Favourite Alison Kenny
    Jun 13th 2018, 6:24 PM

I hope the picture you used wasn’t taken from someone’s Facebook page or something like that without permission with other people totally unrelated clearly visible in the background

Mute Declan O'Neill
    Favourite Declan O'Neill
    Jun 13th 2018, 10:12 PM

@Alison Kenny: Ah ffs… cmon, a man was just killed in a horrific attack with machetes and you’re worried about background people in a photo!!

Mute Alison Kenny
    Favourite Alison Kenny
    Jun 13th 2018, 10:59 PM

@Declan O’Neill: yes obviously it’s horrific what happened. I think that goes without saying. We don’t know why this happened. I’m pointing out that they probably shouldn’t be posting pics of the couples and people close to them who may not want to have pictures shared.

Mute JOanna Kelehan
    Favourite JOanna Kelehan
    Jun 17th 2018, 11:23 AM

Most recently Irish media wrote that Russian mafia is suspected for this attack, as ” Irish gangs could possibly not been THAT VIOLENT”. I found it discriminating, dismissive, ignorant and misleading in the investigation, as everyone knows about Cork travellers recently posted video online in their gang masks snd matches threating to rip guts out of their enemies…I urge Irish Gardai to be more sensible before making rediculous asumptions about foreginers in Ireland especially when murder investigation is being carried out

Mute JOanna Kelehan
    Favourite JOanna Kelehan
    Jun 17th 2018, 11:18 AM

Most recently the Irish media wrote that Russian magia is suspected for this attack as ” Irish gangs could possibly not been THAT VIOLENT”. I found it discriminating, dismissive, ignorant and misleading in the investigation, as everyone knows about Cork travellers recently posting video online in madks snd matchetas threating to rip guts outvif their enemies…I urge Irish Gardai to be more sensible before making rediculous asdumptions about foreginers in Ireland especially when murder investigation is being carried out