You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Sasko Lazarov/Photocall Ireland

HMV's Irish staff told not to honour vouchers, NCA: decision is 'disappointing'

Bad news for consumers with HMV gift vouchers but it could be possible to get your money back if you bought the vouchers with your credit or debit card.

THE NATIONAL CONSUMER Agency (NCA) has said that staff at HMV’s 16 stores in Ireland have been told that they cannot honour gift vouchers that have already been purchased at the music retailer.

The NCA said that the decision – which follows the decision by the retailer to go into administration in the UK – is “very disappointing” given that consumers bought vouchers over the Christmas period on the expectation they could be redeemed.

Politicians have come out calling for HMV to honour vouchers but at the moment it appears unlikely that this will happen.

A lot of vouchers would have been bought as Christmas gifts and this compounds the difficulties and impact of this decision for Irish consumers who bought and received these vouchers,” the NCA said in a statement issued this afternoon.

There is no legal impediment to the administrators, Deloitte, taking the decision to instruct HMV to not honour gift vouchers but the NCA said that it will push for the decision to be reversed or to at least give more clarity to customers in Ireland over the situation.

Politicians including Labour’s Gerald Nash and Fine Gael senator Catherine Noone criticised the decision.

Nash said: “HMV clearly has trading difficulties, but I believe they and the appointed administrators should appreciate their customer’s loyalty over the past number of decades and accept all vouchers, if even for a limited period.”

The agency also advises consumers who purchased a voucher using their Visa or Mastercard credit or debit card to contact their issuer to see if they can get their money back through these card companies’ chargeback processes on the basis that the service paid for was not rendered.

“The outcome of the Administration process is not yet known. Customers who paid for vouchers in cash or who are unsuccessful on securing a chargeback should hold on to their vouchers to see how the situation unfolds,” the NCA added.

Read: People love HMV… here’s why

Earlier: Around 300 Irish jobs at risk as HMV expected to enter administration

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

171 Comments
    Mute Siobhan O'Mahony
    Favourite Siobhan O'Mahony
    Jan 15th 2013, 12:41 PM

They had to have known before Christmas that this was going to happen..

Yet they had no problem taking people’s money that were buying the vouchers!!

Pity they didn’t tell their staff to NOT SELL vouchers that they could not “honour”

Mute chilli16
    Favourite chilli16
    Jan 15th 2013, 12:54 PM

Totally agree with you Marie. Disgusting way to treat loyal customers! They basically stole your money! Guys at the top don’t give a damn about you or their staff!

Mute chilli16
    Favourite chilli16
    Jan 15th 2013, 12:55 PM

Sorry Meant that for you Siobhan not Marie! Who ever she is! :)

Mute Siobhan O'Mahony
    Jan 15th 2013, 12:59 PM

Lmao!!! Was wondering who you were replying to..

Mute Pádraig O'hEidhin
    Favourite Pádraig O'hEidhin
    Jan 15th 2013, 1:06 PM

This is shocking. If I had bought a voucher in HMV before xmas, I’d walk in, pick out something the price of the voucher, leave the voucher at the counter, and walk straight out the door.

Mute MVM
    Favourite MVM

It was a over priced sh1t hole delighted its going to be gone..hope No one helps them keep stores open..bad policys and no interest in the consumer other than Rob their money

Mute chilli16
    Favourite chilli16
    Jan 15th 2013, 1:08 PM

Siobhan, I’m hungry! My brain needs fuel!! :)

Mute Siobhan O'Mahony
    Jan 15th 2013, 1:08 PM

Ya it is daylight robbery!!!
    I’m so angry reading it and I don’t even have any vouchers!! :P
    The staff will bear the brunt if it unfortunately :/
    The “lads” at the top don’t give a shite!!

Mute Brianán Mc Bride
    Favourite Brianán Mc Bride
    Jan 15th 2013, 1:26 PM

Hughes and Hughes done the same, I know someone who was working in Dundalk branch who sold a voucher, couple hours later receivers closed the doors, he had no idea it was on the cards and felt terrible

Mute Kay Tighe
    Favourite Kay Tighe
    Jan 15th 2013, 1:38 PM

They did know
    It was on the net in and around dec12th / 13th about it

Mute Siobhan O'Mahony
    Jan 15th 2013, 2:08 PM

Ya of course they knew!

The worst thing is they’ll most likely get away with doing what they did!!

People being left out of pocket again!!!

Mute Evin Lee
    Favourite Evin Lee
    Jan 15th 2013, 2:33 PM

Totally agree with you Siobhan. If HMV are allowed to not honour their gift vouchers it’s basically sending the message that if a company is struggling they have the right to rip off consumers to pay their bills. That should be illegal.
    It’s also way too convenient they waited until just after Christmas (the greatest voucher buying time of the year) before releasing this. Planned robbery.

Mute Siobhan O'Mahony
    Jan 15th 2013, 3:10 PM

Exactly Evin!!! Planned robbery is right!!!

Imagine the amount of money they would have taken in during the Christmas period, knowing full well people were not going to get to use the vouchers!!!

I really hope they are made accountable and forced to pay back the money!!!

But I highly doubt it!!

Mute jonathan kerr
    Favourite jonathan kerr
    Jan 15th 2013, 3:28 PM

Any1 working 4 hmv and getten abused by customers over the vouchers should give a shite of abuse back cos at the end od the day they will probli not have a job so ..

Mute ManOnTheStreet
    Favourite ManOnTheStreet
    Jan 15th 2013, 5:49 PM

@jonathan
    Or they could just honour the vouchers seeing as they will be out of a job anyway.

Mute Barry Doyle
    Favourite Barry Doyle

Unused €25 euro HMV voucher for sale:
    €25 or nearest offer

Mute Zachary W. Hennessy
    Favourite Zachary W. Hennessy
    Jan 15th 2013, 12:47 PM

Ill give you two buttons and some lint from my pocket

Mute PerkyBeans
    Favourite PerkyBeans
    Jan 15th 2013, 12:50 PM

Il swap you a €50 GAME voucher and some la senza coupons

Mute Pádraig O'hEidhin
    Jan 15th 2013, 1:07 PM

Walk into HMV, pick out something the price of the voucher, leave the voucher at the counter, and walk straight out the door.

Mute Pádraig O'hEidhin
    Jan 15th 2013, 1:07 PM

If say secuity say anything, tell them to take it out with Arnie!

Mute Who's Yer Man
    Favourite Who's Yer Man
    Jan 15th 2013, 1:34 PM

When stopped by security and asked for your name, reply “Pádraig O’hEidhin”. Extra kudos if you do this and you’re female.

Mute Justin Donoghue
    Favourite Justin Donoghue
    Jan 15th 2013, 2:51 PM

I have a Pan Am voucher here if anyone’s interested…

Mute Mark Larson
    Favourite Mark Larson
    Jan 15th 2013, 4:31 PM

I have a comet voucher £300 will sell for £100

Mute Iam D Best
    Favourite Iam D Best
    Jan 15th 2013, 6:40 PM

i don’t get these Gift Vouchers, dodgy, you always see “Gift Vouchers available” meh after this i think we can also see the end of the… yes thats right The Gift Voucher! Just get a cheque or give them cash to spend anywhere. No Vouchers!

Mute Sandra Turner
    Favourite Sandra Turner

apparently they had to shut in limerick today because people were taking goods worth the amount of voucher and handing over the voucher. Some people bought vouchers yesterday!

Mute Steve Maye
    Favourite Steve Maye

I was wondering when that was going to start happening. Think they’re going to have to beef up security……which will probably cost more than the redeemable vouchrs

Mute Dave
    Favourite Dave
    Jan 15th 2013, 1:40 PM

Fair play to them! This is theft from HMV. Those vouchers were already paid for. Its not bloody credit!!!

Mute Paul M. Barrett
    Favourite Paul M. Barrett
    Jan 15th 2013, 12:39 PM

It’s unfortunate but anyone who was reasonably clued in would have known HMV were in trouble and either not bought vouchers or redeemed the ones they had.

Mute Graham Ó Móráin
    Favourite Graham Ó Móráin
    Jan 15th 2013, 12:42 PM

So it’s people’s fault for not being clued in? As regards businesses in trouble, there are countless of those in the current economic climate – life and purchases and gifts still go on!

Mute chilli16
    Favourite chilli16
    Jan 15th 2013, 12:45 PM

And people will still go in and abuse the staff, just remember those staff don’t make the rules and will all probably be out of work in comming weeks, so think before you have a go at the front liners! P.s I don’t work on HMV.

See 41 more replies ▾
    Mute Robert Callaghan
    Favourite Robert Callaghan
    Jan 15th 2013, 12:58 PM

Paul,

Your an emptyhead

Mute Bilbo Baggins
    Favourite Bilbo Baggins

By that logic Paul we shouldn’t book to stay in any hotel in the country or buy anything from stores struggling.or never book a ticket with an American airline or any of the loss making European ones, Condemning them all to closure.

Mute MVM
    Favourite MVM
    Jan 15th 2013, 1:04 PM

Just abuse the staff and demand a manager them really tear strips off him that’s what I done this morning and mine was accepted

Mute Liam Byrne
    Favourite Liam Byrne
    Jan 15th 2013, 1:05 PM

Couldn’t agree more. Anyone who has worked in customer service will have experienced this in some form.

Mute Figo murphy
    Favourite Figo murphy
    Jan 15th 2013, 1:16 PM

I don’t know many teens who read the Sunday business post or follow the markets. Should we ask to see the books before buying vouchers in future?

Mute Luca Costa
    Favourite Luca Costa
    Jan 15th 2013, 1:30 PM

Good job MVM. They find out today they’re more than likely out of a job soon and you go in whining and moaning about the cost of a CD. You are a really big man. Well done.

Mute MVM
    Favourite MVM
    Jan 15th 2013, 1:35 PM

@luca I coundn care less I had a voucher which was paid for in full there was not a hope I was leaving without the value of it..
    You might be a little soft whimp letting people walk over you but I’m not iv never let anyone do me out of money and never will

Mute Sarah Louise
    Favourite Sarah Louise
    Jan 15th 2013, 1:39 PM

What Doilette need to consider is the impact this will have on store STRUGGLING already to make sale
    Honouring these gift cards will bring people into the store!
    If someone comes in with a€10 gift card and see’s they’re favourite game for €20 they’ll be spending MORE money…… They need to get back to basics and start thinkin of getting customers into the store rather then turning them away

Mute David
    Favourite David
    Jan 15th 2013, 1:45 PM

You’re right @MVM once you’re ok then it’s someone else’s problem. And maybe the person you were ‘giving hell’ to had bigger problems like, family finances or unemployment on his mind to be bothered by what a small minded little man says and acts. It’s win/win.

Mute MVM
    Favourite MVM
    Jan 15th 2013, 1:48 PM

@david everyone has problems it go’s with life.

Mute Al K Seltzer
    Favourite Al K Seltzer
    Jan 15th 2013, 1:58 PM

@ Sarah Louise

Deloitering…….wouldn’t hire people like you…….you make too much sense……..

Mute MVM
    Favourite MVM
    Jan 15th 2013, 2:02 PM

@pat,I don’t like cats dogs are a much more faithful animal..
    Here the way I look at it I caused a holy stinker and got what I was entitled to why should I have left it with them?they were able to honour the voucher in the end..

Mute Shaunagh Ginty
    Favourite Shaunagh Ginty
    Jan 15th 2013, 2:27 PM

In fairness, Paul has a point. They have closed a lot of stores in the last two years and where not price competitive.

Mute chilli16
    Favourite chilli16
    Jan 15th 2013, 2:40 PM

MVM….Did you pick up all your toys that you threw out of your pram on the way out the door???? How many times did you stamp your feet and pout before your bullying ways got what you wanted? Customers like you give good customers a bad name! Grow up!

Mute It's all good
    Favourite It's all good
    Jan 15th 2013, 2:41 PM

I went into the store today to confirm that gift vouchers were not being accepted. I politely asked a staff member the situation, the guy, holding back the tears said, “at present we’re not accepting them” I could see the worry in in face, wondering would he have a job tomorrow. The vouchers felt insignificant then. I walked out of the shop deeply saddened. Abusing these people is uncalled for.

Mute Brendan Harlowe
    Favourite Brendan Harlowe
    Jan 15th 2013, 2:41 PM

Your right MVM, thy cant just take the money and run! And as long as things didn’t get personal then fair is fair! Why would the staff obey these stupid rules at a time when it doesn’t matter?

Mute Justin Donoghue
    Favourite Justin Donoghue
    Jan 15th 2013, 2:48 PM

Not redeeming gift vouchers is….well it’s stealing really isn’t it. A bit like what HMV have been doing for yrs with their over pricing.

As usual the customer gets shafted and the corporates get their money. Just another Groundhog Day. I do have sympathy for the staff obviously but that’s beside the point.

Mute Gearoid Ryan
    Favourite Gearoid Ryan
    Jan 15th 2013, 2:59 PM

@ MVM, fair play lad I would have done the exact same, its a disgrace that these vouchers are not honoured, and while i feel sorry for the frontline staff the fault lies with the cowardly administrators hiding behind them.

Something needs to be done about these situations, the management knew damn well that the administrators would be called in after christmas yet still sold vouchers, thats fraud.

Mute MVM
    Favourite MVM
    Jan 15th 2013, 3:05 PM

It’s spineless people like yous who think I’m wrong for getting what belongs to me that have the country ruined because yous roll over for sob stories..I’m better than all of yous mainly because I stand up for myself..I got my way so I couldn’t care if I had no job hmv won’t be giving me free stuff..
    Bahahah I got my vouchers worth and yous didnt..bunch of soft saps

Mute Shoe lady
    Favourite Shoe lady
    Jan 15th 2013, 3:07 PM

We were told HMV was in trouble last Christmas and it survived. People bought vouchers in good faith – they should be redeemable against stock

Mute Pat McCarthy
    Favourite Pat McCarthy
    Jan 15th 2013, 3:29 PM

Ha MVM you are a hero. We are all spineless people apparently. I hope that 20€ keeps you happy you leper.

Mute MVM
    Favourite MVM
    Jan 15th 2013, 3:41 PM

@pat,yea yous are..I got my moneys worth really not bothered about who else did or didnt

Mute chilli16
    Favourite chilli16
    Jan 15th 2013, 3:51 PM

MVM, you have claimed to be a business owner on numerous occasions. Have you found those staff you were looking for since October??? Doubt it. With a stinking attitude like that!!! Your nothing more than a bully and a troll who makes disparaging comments where ever you think you can get the most reaction.

Mute MVM
    Favourite MVM
    Jan 15th 2013, 4:08 PM

@chilly I didn’t know you were a follower of mine,i don’t see the relevance of your comment?is the big dog upsetting the lil puppy…Awh…

Mute Pat McCarthy
    Favourite Pat McCarthy
    Jan 15th 2013, 4:13 PM

@MVM I think it’s hilarious you referred to yourself as a big dog on a social news site.

He probably works for HMV. That’s how he redeemed his voucher.

Mute Aaron Broughill
    Favourite Aaron Broughill
    Jan 15th 2013, 4:14 PM

All ye dopes saying that the peoples jobs are worth more than the vouchers, ye seem to forget that people worked hard before Christmas scraping by to buy people presents, the shop took the money willingly and by refusing to take vouchers now thmat have already been paid for is robbery. I would do the exact same and demand my money back or something to that value, if they refused id pick it up to the value of the voucher, put the voucher on the counter and walk out, bloody idiots!

Mute chilli16
    Favourite chilli16
    Jan 15th 2013, 4:17 PM

Biggest fan MVM!! Haha! I love reading troll comments!!!! Same gang on every day with a comment about everything and know sweet f.a about nothing. Keep it up!! I enjoy your drivel…and I enjoy responding, just to keep you occupied, it’s a long day in the shed talking to yourself.

Mute MVM
    Favourite MVM
    Jan 15th 2013, 5:00 PM

@chilli,we could say the same about you,
    I am comming off as a ars*whole but I’m the guy everyone rings when their car brakes down or house getting flooded and I help out seeking nothing but a cuppa tea in return but in no way will I let someone fiddle money from me,the voucher was paid for they didn’t make it aware at purchase time so I went hell for leather and won

Mute chilli16
    Favourite chilli16
    Jan 15th 2013, 5:11 PM

You could indeed say it MVM but because you’ve shown your true colours here today I won’t be listening. You see I respect people and I respect people who are working hard in this country trying to get by and keep the wolves from the door. I don’t go ranting and raving into shops and taking it out on staff who are just numbers in the eyes of the employer and don’t give a crap about them. It’s easy to bully someone who can’t fight back!

Mute MVM
    Favourite MVM
    Jan 15th 2013, 5:20 PM

Chilli…you won’t be able to stay away your worse because you say u will but won’t..I can’t see how you think its ok to let people walk over you,if Tesco double charged you would you be in go get a refund and if they refuses you wouldn’t look for the management and have a go at them??or do u just sulk away at a loss if so your a pushover my friend

Mute Shane Breslin
    Favourite Shane Breslin
    Jan 15th 2013, 5:59 PM

Hey Journal, is there a way of filtering out or blocking users? My head is wrecked here.

Mute Ruairi O' Sullivan
    Favourite Ruairi O' Sullivan
    Jan 15th 2013, 6:26 PM

@MVM….

YOUS IS NOT A WORD……

The plural of you is you……..

Mute Cliodhna O'Sullivan
    Favourite Cliodhna O'Sullivan
    Jan 15th 2013, 6:35 PM

Your right MVM a gift voucher is essentially money they can not refuse to honor them and they stated on BBC the stopped issuing them before Christmas which is bull because a lady in front of me on the 23rd dec bought two.

Mute Paul M. Barrett
    Favourite Paul M. Barrett
    Jan 15th 2013, 6:37 PM

Basically yes, it’s been widely reported for the past couple of years that HMV were in difficulty with store closures and making losses. If a company goes into administration its standard practice that gift vouchers can no longer be redeemed. It has happened before. It’s wrong but legal.

Mute MVM
    Favourite MVM
    Jan 15th 2013, 6:42 PM

@rory,thanks for trying but look at you comment again..jackass

Mute Iam D Best
    Favourite Iam D Best
    Jan 15th 2013, 6:50 PM

Go MVM you were right, its like this Government, we need to go in and pull them out for telling lies. Stand up for your rights. Down with robbery. Anyways, i think anyone in these times who buy vouchers from one store are saps.

Mute Siobhan O'Mahony
    Jan 15th 2013, 7:10 PM

Why are people picking on MVM??

If I had vouchers from hmv I’d be in demanding them to be redeemed!!
    He has every right to want them redeemed!!!

Understandably the people on the front line will feel the backlash, that’s the joys of working with the public!!
    And if an employee feels they cannot satisfy the customer, they call a manager, whom are trained and paid enough to deal with unhappy customers!!

Mute Ruairi O' Sullivan
    Favourite Ruairi O' Sullivan
    Jan 15th 2013, 8:11 PM

@MVM….what’s wrong with my comment? Its correctly spelt and there are no makey-uppey words either…..!

Mute Dr.fury
    Favourite Dr.fury
    Jan 15th 2013, 9:39 PM

Stupidest comment of the week goes to Paul ,please collect your 100 Euro hmv voucher at the front desk

Mute Graham Kavanagh
    Favourite Graham Kavanagh
    Jan 15th 2013, 10:51 PM

You would be known as the ID10T model.

Mute Laura Connolly Hatchett
    Favourite Laura Connolly Hatchett
    Jan 16th 2013, 2:19 AM

So why keep selling vouchers if they know they can’t honour them surely thats fraudulent so?

Mute Daniel Dudek Corrigan
    Favourite Daniel Dudek Corrigan
    Jan 15th 2013, 1:48 PM

If I was member of staff, about to loose my job anyway, I’d keep accepting vouchers…

Mute colm connolly
    Favourite colm connolly
    Jan 15th 2013, 3:14 PM

Thing is if someone steps in and aces the company that person can then be fired, but if I was working there is be bumping the security cameras out of view and backing up a very large van cause they probably won’t get full redundancy

Mute Louise Callan
    Favourite Louise Callan

Labour have a neck to come out and slam anyone for anything. I’m losing my job and I don’t know what’s going to happen and people are giving out to staff about gift cards? I understand where customers are coming from and I don’t think it’s fair bit there’s no call to give out to the staff who are faced with uncertainty.

Mute Sandra Turner
    Favourite Sandra Turner
    Jan 15th 2013, 1:03 PM

did you sell any vouchers this week?

Mute chilli16
    Favourite chilli16

It’s always the frontline that suffer for the actions of those at the top…good luck in future and keep the good side out hon. :)

Mute Bilbo Baggins
    Favourite Bilbo Baggins
    Jan 15th 2013, 1:09 PM

You’re right Louise peoples anger shouldn’t be pointed at staff, who in the end will most probably lose their job. But I guess you have to understand that as far as customers are concerned the staff are HMV , the can’t speak to the board of directors and will want to vent their anger somewhere.. What’s worse is you can be sure management will be thin on the ground now too …

Mute Phillip O Brien
    Favourite Phillip O Brien
    Jan 15th 2013, 1:10 PM

Its all part of the job.

Mute John Scott
    Favourite John Scott
    Jan 15th 2013, 5:07 PM

look i feel very sorry for the staff on the tills just like the bank staff on the window. it is not any of there faults. u wood think that the law makers who run thje country wood change the laws if that is what is needed

Mute Rob Cunningham
    Favourite Rob Cunningham
    Jan 15th 2013, 12:52 PM

I wouldn’t buy vouchers again, this type of thing happens too frequently nowadays to take the risk.

Mute Who's Yer Man
    Favourite Who's Yer Man
    Jan 15th 2013, 1:36 PM

I’m with you, though this is no consolation, a One4All voucher is probably the best. At least you can use it in many retailers.

Mute Karen NíDhochartaigh
    Favourite Karen NíDhochartaigh
    Jan 15th 2013, 5:13 PM

But the one4all has small print and they charge interest deducting off the value of the voucher if you don’t spend it in one go. Robbing feckers too

Mute ManOnTheStreet
    Favourite ManOnTheStreet
    Jan 15th 2013, 5:52 PM

Lets be honest. We would all prefer cash anyway. It’s only the “giver” who feels it impersonal to give cash as a present. The “receiver” takes it happily with no worries. :)

Mute Chris Day
    Favourite Chris Day

If management knew of the problems, which they undoubtedly did, they should not have sold vouchers which they knew would not be honoured, apart from anything else this shows extremely poor ethical standards and a total lack of appropriate corporate governance. Disgusting when you think of the financial position consumers find themselves in that a company would willfully steal from them.

Mute Khaosan Roche
    Favourite Khaosan Roche

I don’t have vouchers but if I did I’d go into HMV and take whatever I wanted to the value of my vouchers.

B*stards.

Mute David Ronan
    Favourite David Ronan
    Jan 15th 2013, 1:04 PM

As HMV are technically not in administration (yet) can they legally not accept vouchers?

Mute Sophie Smyth
    Favourite Sophie Smyth
    Jan 15th 2013, 1:00 PM

Is that not just straight forward robbery?? How is this legal? Feel terrible for the staff who are going to be the vent for the appropriately angry mobs.

Mute Anthony McGowan
    Favourite Anthony McGowan

I would consider this robbery and so would have no problem walking in and “robbing back” goods to the value of my voucher.

Mute Ignoreland
    Favourite Ignoreland
    Jan 15th 2013, 2:04 PM

It’s not theft as people with vouchers are creditors. And unfortunately they’re unsecured creditors which means they go right to the back of the queue when the assets are being divided up.
    People who are calling for such vouchers to be honoured must also endorse Ireland paying back all our creditors, i.e. not ‘burn the bondholders’. Otherwise they’re being inconsistent and contradicting themselves.

Mute Ignoreland
    Favourite Ignoreland
    Jan 15th 2013, 2:25 PM

When a company is in trouble and it’s assets are being distributed, it has to be done in this order according to law:

1.Liquidator’s costs
    2.Creditors with fixed charges
    3.Preferential creditors (e.g. the Revenue)
    4.Payments due to employees
    5.Creditors with floating charges (e.g. over assets that fluctuate in value, like stock)
    6.Unsecured creditors (e.g. Those with HMV vouchers)
    7.Shareholders

The further down the line you are, the less likely you are to get paid.

Mute PerkyBeans
    Favourite PerkyBeans

Robbin bastards

Mute Andrew Telford
    Favourite Andrew Telford
    Jan 15th 2013, 12:54 PM

Nothing to stop you taking your desired product leaving your voucher and any extra cash on the counter and walking out…. Just saying

Mute mart_n
    Favourite mart_n
    Jan 15th 2013, 1:15 PM

Not really the best of advice to be giving out. Sure, as a matter of principle doing so might be okay, but you can be done for theft regardless. Fine print on the vouchers states that the company are not obliged to honor vouchers.

Mute Gareth Harpur
    Favourite Gareth Harpur
    Jan 15th 2013, 1:54 PM

@ mart_n Technically your right but as far as I know, if you steal something from someone, it’s up to the victim to press charges and seeing as their heading for the wall, there’ll be no-one left to follow through on those charges and even if they did, I can’t see a judge in the country throwing the book at anyone unless they have previous convictions for the same offence. In short, if I had any vouchers, I’d be heading to my nearest HMV as soon as possible

Mute Barry O'Brien
    Favourite Barry O'Brien
    Jan 15th 2013, 2:00 PM

Mart, I doubt the Gardai would be too concerned about it. After all, they are people too and could just as easily be in the same position.

Mute Andrew Telford
    Favourite Andrew Telford
    Jan 15th 2013, 2:08 PM

You’re not stealing… You’re a creditor recovering a debt from them.

By remaining open for business and having merchandise for sale but not honoring these debts they are in violation of the conditions in which it was sold to you.

Mute mart_n
    Favourite mart_n
    Jan 16th 2013, 2:27 AM

Andrew, what you or someone else bought is a piece of paper or a card with a bit of code on it. It’s worth nothing. HMV have themselves well covered in legalese and doublespeak.

The best bet for anyone with a voucher is to look for a charge-back from credit card providers, or hold onto the voucher and wait for the company to be shamed into exchanging them.

Looting shops isn’t the way to go! The staff don’t deserve it yet they are the ones left struggling to insure a final months pay.

Mute laura o sullivan
    Favourite laura o sullivan

pity ive one for 70e since Xmas I got as a present now thats a waste must chase who ever gave it me up for the cash now he he

Mute Anthony McGowan
    Favourite Anthony McGowan
    Jan 15th 2013, 12:57 PM

The nerve of them. If I had a HMV voucher and they wouldn’t redeem it I’d simply pick up goods to the value of the voucher and walk out, and god help anyone who tried to stop me. Regardless if they continue in business or not, I’ll never step foot in a HMV again. Disgusted.

Mute Zachary W. Hennessy
    Favourite Zachary W. Hennessy
    Jan 15th 2013, 12:46 PM

Bloody outrageous – With business practices like this it isnt hard to see why they are having such hard times

Mute Marko Burns
    Favourite Marko Burns
    Jan 15th 2013, 2:36 PM

I’m kinda amazed Xtravision is still going. Who rents dvd’s for €5 a night?

Mute Shaunagh Ginty
    Favourite Shaunagh Ginty
    Jan 15th 2013, 3:24 PM

To be honest me too. I was in it once last year, buying the love/hate DVD. There was a q for them and it’s all people where buying. Do people still rent DVDs?

Mute Bilbo Baggins
    Favourite Bilbo Baggins
    Jan 15th 2013, 4:33 PM

It’s crazy that xtravision hasn’t setup an Irish version of netflix with the rights to everything.. no shop overheads they would make a killing if the set up a simple system and advertised it well, netflix are only here a couple of months an their selection isn’t great..
    Wtf we’re gona do with all the empty shops though I don’t know …

Mute Cheeky Bums
    Favourite Cheeky Bums

Maybe NAMA will buy them at a discount. :P

Mute Dave Hammond
    Favourite Dave Hammond
    Jan 15th 2013, 4:27 PM

its a shitty thing to happen and in my opinion its an abuse of the trading laws , especially as the decision makers appear to have timed it to take cash but then be unable to honour , but …..i have a family member who is staff , they are getting dogs abuse today and ITS NOT THEIR FAULT , i seen the comments that says the staff are HMV because the public cannot speak to the board , but the staff dont get to speak to the board either , they are just a spissed getting the news the group may collape and be out of work and it is utter shite that they have been given these instructions to refuse honouring the vouchers , the public are obviously going to be angry and now politicians and various other idiots jumping on bandwagon for popularity , the public dont deserve this treatment but neither do the HMV staff !

Mute Lara Lemon
    Favourite Lara Lemon
    Jan 15th 2013, 4:46 PM

Well said Dave.

Mute Suzanna Cantwell
    Favourite Suzanna Cantwell

Both my children were given HMV vouchers as Christmas presents by their Aunt.Some of them spent already but 20 euro remaining on one and 10 euro on the other. We went in to use them today and would have spent more than their acutal value on some CDs and a DVD so yes I agree we would have been spending more in the store. We were told that we could not use them and given the phone number of The National Consumer Agency.
    Very disappointing and to be honest feels a bit like theft… but there is absolutely no point in taking it out on the staff in the stores.. it’s not their fault and they are most likely going to lose their jobs.. not a great start to 2013.
    ” Just abuse the Staff …. “. quote above from MVM’s comment… but MVM these people are human beings and s**t happens that they have no control over… it’s the senior management behind the scenes not on the shop floor that you want to be ” abusing ” .. their salaries mean they are paid to take grief….
    On a final note… I have shopped since childhood in the huge HMV on Oxford Street in London.. their flagship store… it’s the end of an era….

Mute Shane Murphy
    Favourite Shane Murphy
    Jan 15th 2013, 1:24 PM

Is this not fraud? They sold vouchers with no intention of honouring them, they obviously knew the trouble they were in and chose to scam as many people as possible while they still could.

Mute Pauric H Kilcullen
    Favourite Pauric H Kilcullen
    Jan 15th 2013, 1:11 PM

Simple- shop local! These UK companies don’t give a damn about Irish consumers! Not surprised in the least by this behaviour

Mute colm connolly
    Favourite colm connolly
    Jan 15th 2013, 3:12 PM

Shop local? Where is there to go ands but a cd now and don’t say tower cause there both out of reach for 80% of the population and a rip off

Mute Nun on Yokes
    Favourite Nun on Yokes
    Jan 15th 2013, 1:50 PM

I have a Virgin voucher…….and have equal difficulty redeeming it. Must be my aftershave.

Mute Lara Lemon
    Favourite Lara Lemon
    Jan 15th 2013, 4:38 PM

MVM…..big dog? I bet you’re one ugly sack of sh*t and that’s why you’re such a miserable wan**r

Mute MVM
    Favourite MVM
    Jan 15th 2013, 5:15 PM

@leamon..lemon my name and lemon by nature,oh what a sour weapon you are..your probably waddling around your pen in a house coat eating out of a cattle feeder snorting out complete shite

Mute Irish Red
    Favourite Irish Red
    Jan 15th 2013, 5:17 PM

The NCA are a disgrace. They should be forcing HMV Ireland to honor these vouchers and at the very least, they should be coming up with more than ‘it’s disappointing’. NCA, what are you for if you’re not going to stand up for consumers who are getting shafted through absolutely no fault of their own?

Mute Aldo
    Favourite Aldo
    Jan 15th 2013, 1:28 PM

I haven’t bought vouchers for anywhere in the past 5 years because so many shops were closing down, once they have the money for the vouchers, the vouchers are worthless. .

Mute grainne
    Favourite grainne
    Jan 15th 2013, 1:58 PM

Mvm that’s the biggest load of bulls**it you clearly don’t understand the terms of administration and i sincerely doubt that gift card was honoured! Hard man you are!

Mute MVM
    Favourite MVM
    Jan 15th 2013, 3:17 PM

I got my 50euros worth from the voucher so really I don’t give a toss about you..and yes if they had of denied to honour it I would have just left the voucher and walked out with my stuff..
    Obviously you are a little whimp afraid to stand up for yourself and expect other to do it for you

Mute Lara Lemon
    Favourite Lara Lemon
    Jan 15th 2013, 4:44 PM

Hard…he’s probably a bored 12 year old boy with his lil voice just about breaking.

Mute ManOnTheStreet
    Favourite ManOnTheStreet
    Jan 15th 2013, 5:57 PM

I agree Grainne. I’d say he is all talk. Probably didn’t even have a voucher.

Mute Fiona Mullen
    Favourite Fiona Mullen
    Jan 15th 2013, 10:36 PM

What’s a whimp?

Mute Karolyn Cassidy
    Favourite Karolyn Cassidy
    Jan 16th 2013, 1:11 AM

MVP my boyf works in dublin central and came home telling me about a row in HMV, I have a sneaky suspicion it was u lol I have to say and I don’t often but I totally agree with what u did. They took people’s money, now give them their goods! No wonder where phucked as a country!

Mute Ciaran McCann
    Favourite Ciaran McCann
    Jan 15th 2013, 1:30 PM

Who the hell buys gift vouchers for specific shops these days!! HMV’s demise has been in the public domain the last 6 months! ! Shops are folding like card board boxes lately!! money for old rope!! Total Fitness caught me cold years ago!!

Mute Ciaran McCann
    Favourite Ciaran McCann
    Jan 15th 2013, 4:50 PM

13-13 GAME ON

Mute Rob Zombie
    Favourite Rob Zombie
    Jan 15th 2013, 12:55 PM

The staff have known for a while, its not a total shock to them.

Mute Derek McKenna
    Favourite Derek McKenna
    Jan 15th 2013, 2:23 PM

I would pick up DVDs and CDs to the value of the voucher and walk out the door with them!! I bet the company executives got their Christmas bonus this year!

Mute Marc Metcalfe
    Favourite Marc Metcalfe
    Jan 15th 2013, 2:26 PM

I bet you wouldnt

Mute fizi_water
    Favourite fizi_water
    Jan 15th 2013, 3:04 PM

This will be theft. Two wrongs don’t make one right do they?

Just get over that 10 euro stop crying. If I saw your man MVM in hmv crying for that tenner I’d seriously take it out of my own pocket and gave it to him.

Mute Karolyn Cassidy
    Favourite Karolyn Cassidy
    Jan 16th 2013, 1:14 AM

What fizi-water just like we’re doing with Europe? Giving them our money that other people owe them! Oh god why are the Irish so thick!

Mute Daniel Murray
    Favourite Daniel Murray
    Jan 15th 2013, 1:18 PM

How is this even legal?

Mute Shaunagh Ginty
    Favourite Shaunagh Ginty
    Jan 15th 2013, 2:47 PM

Just ignore what that idiot said. He is only looking for attention on Here. He’s clearly lying, if they have been told not to accept them, they obviously can’t be put through the system.
    I hope the Irish jobs can be saved.

Mute MVM
    Favourite MVM
    Jan 15th 2013, 3:18 PM

And you would know what?

Mute rach
    Favourite rach
    Jan 15th 2013, 7:47 PM

Just imagine what it’s like, you’re sitting eating your dinner with your partner on a Monday night, Sky News is on, and suddenly, you see the Breaking News banner across the bottom about HMV going into administration. You worked there for 16 years, your partner still does, and that’s how he finds out his jobs on the line, possibly gone. And then you see the comments on here by some people who think it’s ok to abuse staff over something theyve no control over whatsoever, who could be out of work for months or years. Some of you are a disgrace!

Mute trevor flanagan
    Favourite trevor flanagan
    Jan 15th 2013, 2:34 PM

Xtravision is next to go I’d say, like HMV I don’t really see how they can keep their doors open with internet downloads, Netflix, on demand tv.

Mute Elaine
    Favourite Elaine
    Jan 15th 2013, 3:46 PM

Every year I ask my family for HMV vouchers I get one maybe for €30, this year I got €160 worth of vouchers, why is it always be careful what ya wish for. I feel sorry for the staff, I rang the store in Henry Street this morning and the fella on the phone was really nice he didn’t even no what was going on. HMV shouldn’t of being selling vouchers if they knew there were in trouble. They have to honour the vouchers, to many people are at a loss.

Mute Phillip O Brien
    Favourite Phillip O Brien
    Jan 15th 2013, 9:52 PM

HMV have been trying to make a profit for a year now. They knew that this was happening and should not have sold them

Mute Francis Stokes
    Favourite Francis Stokes
    Jan 15th 2013, 3:22 PM

In cases like this staff are always kep in the dark and are probably only told before the announcement is made public In the case of H.M.V. It must have been a great shock..As regards Vouchers yes they should redeem them. However the staff should not have to be abused in the situation H.M.V now finds itself in.

Mute Elaine
    Favourite Elaine
    Jan 15th 2013, 3:47 PM

It’s not the staffs fault, god only knows if they’ll even get the wages there entitled to.

Mute pip white
    Favourite pip white
    Jan 15th 2013, 5:54 PM

I’ve just been to HMV in Drogheda cos I have a ?50 voucher. The girl was nearly crying. She said they only found out when it was on sky news yesterday. And the gift card feature has been disabled on the tills so they can’t even scan the cards. So that’s 50 yoyos down the swanny . . . And they don’t know how long they have a job for.

Mute Iam D Best
    Favourite Iam D Best
    Jan 15th 2013, 6:53 PM

and you took a few dvds to that value or just walked off? they’re winning, hiding behind their employees who have to bear the brunt of it. Ripping artists off for years these record companies and their high street stores and now they’re still at it.

Mute Declan
    Favourite Declan
    Jan 15th 2013, 2:17 PM

There should be a directive regarding gift vouchers on those foolish enough to buy one. Honour them because if you don’t, the consumer should have a right to close down the business as the business is not in a stable financial position to honour what should be a straight forward obligation to do so.

Mute Michael Skellig
    Favourite Michael Skellig
    Jan 15th 2013, 5:14 PM

A voucher is essentially cash that you have given in advance for a future purchase. That cash in on their books and must be redeemed. Anyone with a voucher is a creditor. I don’t accept this refusal to take them.

Mute Lara Lemon
    Favourite Lara Lemon
    Jan 15th 2013, 5:38 PM

@MVM I’m all about the love fella ;) I just don’t like it when someone with no understanding of people encourages other people to be a wan**r like them.

Mute MVM
    Favourite MVM
    Jan 15th 2013, 5:50 PM

Sure if we were all the same the world would be boring place

Mute Paul Corrigan
    Favourite Paul Corrigan
    Jan 15th 2013, 8:24 PM

Sh*t like this affects other business’s too, who’s ever going to buy a voucher again in this country?

I’ve a €30 voucher for TK Maxx, anyone know if they’re safe? Better get in there tomorrow and buy the first pair of jocks I see

Mute Tony Skillington
    Favourite Tony Skillington
    Jan 15th 2013, 2:19 PM

Surely it amounts to a breech of contract doesn’t it?

Mute David Kelly
    Favourite David Kelly
    Jan 15th 2013, 4:57 PM

I can’t see myself buying vouchers from any store in future. Seems there’s very little legal protection for the voucher holder.

There’s a lot to be said for just giving actual physical gifts or at least unimaginative presents in the form of hard cash!
    At least it’s always redeemable!

Seems like a fairly dumb move from a public relations point of view too.
    Any sympathy customers may have felt or nostalgic memories will quickly fade if they are suddenly being told their Christmas present from their elderly aunty is now gone!

It will just make life even more miserable for staff who may lose their jobs and generate loads of bad press for the brand!!

Mute Sean Smith
    Favourite Sean Smith
    Jan 15th 2013, 11:49 PM

@MVM somebody has been telling porkies as the gift card feature on all HMV tills were disabled before business opened this morning

Mute James
    Favourite James
    Jan 15th 2013, 7:51 PM

So long HMV, you will be missed.

DVDRIP.

Mute Paddy McGarr
    Favourite Paddy McGarr
    Jan 15th 2013, 5:09 PM

Check out the views from Cearta.ie on the vouchers. It would appear that HMV have to honour them. It’s a question of contract law and they can’t simply walk away and say no.
    http://www.cearta.ie/2013/01/i-cant-believe-the-news-today-if-administration-fails-then-hmv-might-go-away/

Mute Statler Waldorf
    Favourite Statler Waldorf
    Jan 16th 2013, 8:19 AM

Paddy, that’s the only useful comment I’ve seen on this page. Thanks.

Mute Al K Seltzer
    Favourite Al K Seltzer

hmv give down loaders a good name…………yeah…….

Mute Andy Cleary
    Favourite Andy Cleary
    Jan 15th 2013, 4:39 PM

I hope they go bang robbing gits.

Mute pip white
    Favourite pip white
    Jan 15th 2013, 7:24 PM

Iam I didn’t get anything! I wanted a game for me xbox . And the girl said she couldn’t even scan the card

Mute Suniva Lynch
    Favourite Suniva Lynch
    Jan 15th 2013, 7:12 PM

But… If I was a staff member in hmv right now, why let it get to the point where you let people shout abuse at you? Why not just take the gift voucher against stock? What’s the worst that can happen when you’re out of a job anyway?

Mute colm connolly
    Favourite colm connolly
    Jan 15th 2013, 11:17 PM

Well if someone steps in and buys the company these staff members taking in vouchers when there told not to can be fired

Mute jonathan foy
    Favourite jonathan foy
    Jan 15th 2013, 4:47 PM

Unbelievable 1st the Irish government taking our money now HMV just robbing it for there own good.

Mute Sean Glynn
    Favourite Sean Glynn
    Jan 15th 2013, 5:56 PM

@MVM you were dead right! I would have done exactly the same!

Mute seamus mcdermott
    Favourite seamus mcdermott
    Jan 15th 2013, 5:22 PM

Certainly senior management knew before Christmas what the outcome was going to be. There should be emails and budget projections that should be turned over to fraud investigators. You can’t get blood from a stone, but you can put a stone on ice for a couple of years.

Mute Martin Smith
    Favourite Martin Smith
    Jan 15th 2013, 10:10 PM

spokesman was on the radio today informing everybody it is business as usual…unless you have a voucher of course however he left that little snippet of imformation out of the pr exercise.this recievership was flagged to the markets before xmas yet they literally took money under false pretenses from unsuspecting customers…would not spend a cent in HMV now due to this blatant act of dishonesty

Mute Peadar Grant
    Favourite Peadar Grant
    Jan 15th 2013, 10:36 PM

People worked hard to pay for vouchers. I don’t like the attitude that those with vouchers should just take it lying down.

Mute James Gorman
    Favourite James Gorman
    Jan 15th 2013, 11:26 PM

Never heard such fuss over so little. Vouchers are unsecured creditors. The person who gifted them got away with his obligation and the recipient isn’t at the loss of anything they ever had. Most vouchers wouldn’t exceed 50 euro. Save the real sympathy for the employees and real creditors for whom its a worrying time. Some people ring Joe Duffy out of pure boredom.

Mute Ronan B
    Favourite Ronan B
    Jan 15th 2013, 3:00 PM

Will Hodges Figgis and Waterstones continue to honour them?

Mute Sophie Smyth
    Favourite Sophie Smyth
    Jan 15th 2013, 4:30 PM

No apparently they only changed it recently but you can only use the vouchers in HMV now

Mute Paul Davis
    Favourite Paul Davis
    Jan 15th 2013, 2:51 PM
    Mute Dónal O'Flynn
    Favourite Dónal O'Flynn
    Jan 16th 2013, 12:44 AM

Assuming HMV continue to refuse to honour their vouchers (and especially if they close down altogether), some of the independent CD stores could make a killing and gain some new customers in the process by offering half price deals on presentation of a HMV voucher. Not a system based on the monetary value of the voucher. but just in the same way that shops give discount on presentation of a student card.

While those with vouchers in the hundreds might think it worthwhile to chase down HMV (or their administrators/liquidators etc.) for their money, I’m sure that people with vouchers worth under say €25 would gladly receive some kind of discount elsewhere rather than just binning the card.

Mute colm connolly
    Favourite colm connolly
    Jan 16th 2013, 1:08 AM

Nice idea donal but I can’t see that happening ever, tryst me the margins are tight enough for indie pendant ( see what I did there ) retailers, hopefully someone can step in and take over because the nearest record store besides the 2 hmvs in limerick is a small dive of a place in ennis that stocks stuff that makes the charts and thats about it the next record store after that would be cork or Galway

Mute John Nolan
    Favourite John Nolan
    Jan 16th 2013, 1:21 AM

From my understanding HMV knew they were in difficulty before Christmas, why then sell vouchers which they knew they may not , or as now will not honour?

Mute Turbotoaster
    Favourite Turbotoaster
    Jan 15th 2013, 9:22 PM

Irritating that they won’t accept gift cards but if they go out of business then the only retail game retailer left will be Gamestop and they’re expensive. 60€ for Halo 4 in comparison with HMV’s 45€ is a fécking rip off

Mute Turbotoaster
    Favourite Turbotoaster
    Jan 15th 2013, 9:26 PM

Meant non online game retailer

Mute Ronan B
    Favourite Ronan B
    Jan 15th 2013, 3:00 PM

Will Hodges Figgis and Waterstones continue to take them?

Mute Elaine Ryan
    Favourite Elaine Ryan
    Jan 16th 2013, 9:39 AM

Any updates yet on the vouchers, Will the staff issue you out a receipt for a voucher that was bought using a credit card so you can post to your credit card company saying you’ve not spent any of the money on the card. I heard that the tills have the voucher button deactivated on them.