You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

PICS: Horse sheds at animal sanctuary 'crushed like paper' in storm

Volunteers rushed to move all of the terrified animals to safety yesterday, but the shelter will now need significant funds to repair the damage.

AN ANIMAL SANCTUARY in Kerry took a beating in yesterday’s storms with a number of its horse sheds flattened by the gale force winds.

On its Facebook page, Animal Heaven Animal Rescue (AHAR), founder Suzanne Gibbons described the terrifying scenes, as “buckets blew past my face, dog runs just lifted and left the dogs out”.

“Then the roof of the small stables started flying into the air,” she explained. “For all the world like someone threw a deck of cards.”

We all stood in shock and disbelief. Devastated, as we watched the fear in the eyes of the animals we promised were safe. Now terrified.

The sanctuary put a call out to anyone and everyone for help moving horses out of the sheds and to safety before they fell to the ground. Tralee Civil Defence and a number of local people pitched together to get the terrified animals out of the ruined stables.

In one photo of a shed that can hold up to 20 horses, posted today, Gibbons said it was “crushed like paper” by the strong winds.

The shelter will now have to try to raise funds to repair the devastation.

Read: Crews ‘working against the clock’ but 80,000 to remain without power overnight>

Read: Boil water notice issued in Cork, but lifted in parts of Limerick>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

26 Comments
    Mute 829nza
    Favourite 829nza
    Dec 24th 2016, 3:39 PM

RIP, can’t wait for 2016 to end ….

Mute Steve Austin
    Favourite Steve Austin
    Dec 24th 2016, 4:02 PM

Legend. .R.I.P Rick… the opening rif to Caroline respect..

Mute Steve Austin
    Favourite Steve Austin
    Dec 24th 2016, 4:10 PM

R.I.P Rick ..Rool Over Lay Down

Mute Steve Austin
    Favourite Steve Austin
    Dec 24th 2016, 4:15 PM

RI.P.Rick ..Roll Over Lay Down

Mute Steve Austin
    Favourite Steve Austin
    Dec 24th 2016, 4:22 PM

@829nza:R.I.P Rick ..Roll over Lay Down.

Mute Steve Austin
    Favourite Steve Austin
    Dec 24th 2016, 4:24 PM

@829nza: R.I.P Rick ..Roll Over Lay Down

Mute Gerry Fallon
    Favourite Gerry Fallon
    Dec 24th 2016, 4:41 PM

Totally agree with you friend. It’s been truly awful. I loved the quo.

Mute Daisy Chai NSaw
    Favourite Daisy Chai NSaw
    Dec 24th 2016, 4:43 PM

@Steve Austin: One more song… One more song!

Mute Steve Austin
    Favourite Steve Austin
    Dec 24th 2016, 5:20 PM

Sorry for multiple comments. .Journal App took a figaire

Mute sheridan
    Favourite sheridan
    Dec 24th 2016, 5:54 PM

Why cant a bunch of politicians be taken instead?

Mute Justin Gillespie
    Favourite Justin Gillespie
    Dec 24th 2016, 6:19 PM

@829nza: Feck off 2016, just feck off why don’t you.

Mute jason stenson
    Favourite jason stenson
    Dec 24th 2016, 3:48 PM

“Rocking all over the world” adored that song,i think they opened up live aid in 1985 with that song. RIP another one gone

Mute The Magnificent Hog
    Favourite The Magnificent Hog
    Dec 24th 2016, 3:39 PM

Christ. Not another one. RIP

Mute Matt Donovan
    Favourite Matt Donovan
    Dec 24th 2016, 4:01 PM

Ah here 2016 would you ever fukk off with yourself & do something useful & go after Beiber or Kanye.

Dec 24th 2016, 7:18 PM

I don’t get why people would wish others would die instead . Beiber is a young lad with his life ahead of him and kanye has a couple young kids . I don’t like either of them but I would wish them dead ..

Dec 25th 2016, 2:41 AM

*Wouldn’t *

Mute Asha
    Favourite Asha
    Dec 24th 2016, 3:41 PM

Thoughts and prayers are with his family, another star gone from our sky’s tonight

Mute Etherman
    Favourite Etherman
    Dec 24th 2016, 4:10 PM

Saw Status Quo at Wembley Stadium in 1986. Queen headlined with The Alarm and INXS also. They were great craic live and had us all head banging even though most of us there for Queen. Thanks for the great memories.

Mute Alan Marrinan
    Favourite Alan Marrinan

Another victim of 2016…vicious. RIP

Mute Derek hutchings
    Favourite Derek hutchings

He’s in the army with the great up above

Mute Brendan Walsh
    Favourite Brendan Walsh
    Dec 24th 2016, 4:58 PM

RIP. His guitar intro to Caroline was always sensational and wrote some beautiful songs for Quo like Living on an Island. A true rocker.

Mute Geraldine Kelly
    Favourite Geraldine Kelly
    Dec 24th 2016, 3:57 PM

R.I.P.

Mute Eamon Mac Gowan
    Favourite Eamon Mac Gowan
    Dec 24th 2016, 5:03 PM

A true rock and roller, not like our two best known sanctimonious hypocrites.

Mute Tony Furlong
    Favourite Tony Furlong
    Dec 24th 2016, 5:53 PM

That’s no way to speak about Foster and Alan

Mute Patricia O Brien
    Favourite Patricia O Brien
    Dec 24th 2016, 4:31 PM

Matt Donovan I couldn’t agree with you more.

Mute Jimmy Carter
    Favourite Jimmy Carter
    Dec 24th 2016, 4:31 PM

The coke finaly took its toll .

Mute Neal, not Neil.
    Favourite Neal, not Neil.
    Dec 24th 2016, 4:54 PM

This is not the time or place to get on your high horse about sugary drinks.

Mute Pat Comer
    Favourite Pat Comer
    Dec 24th 2016, 6:24 PM

Status Quo brought fun to Rock RIP Rick

Mute ScotsAmbassador2IRL
    Favourite ScotsAmbassador2IRL
    Dec 24th 2016, 4:24 PM

Very sad..

Mute Ken Pepper
    Favourite Ken Pepper
    Dec 24th 2016, 8:37 PM

Prince might teach him a forth chord. RIP

Mute shouldweallbe
    Favourite shouldweallbe
    Dec 24th 2016, 9:12 PM

His family were considering cremating him, but decided to bury him down, down, deeper and down.

Mute Patrick J. O'Rourke
    Favourite Patrick J. O'Rourke
    Dec 24th 2016, 10:13 PM

Gutted. If there is a heaven he’ll be seeing his little Heidi again. Her death at two years old in the swimming pool really knocked him. He was one of the nicest, gentlest, funniest guys in the business. God’s band is about to rock. RIP Rick. Let ‘em’ ave it.

Mute Tony Furlong
    Favourite Tony Furlong
    Dec 24th 2016, 5:44 PM

RIP to a legend. I loved Yellow Brick Road

Mute Daisy Chai NSaw
    Favourite Daisy Chai NSaw
    Dec 24th 2016, 4:44 PM

Eff you, 2016. Eff you in the A

Mute Eamon Mac Gowan
    Favourite Eamon Mac Gowan
    Dec 24th 2016, 5:04 PM

@Daisy Chai NSaw: Pop stars are starting to enter old age, so 2017 will probably be just as bad.

Mute Sloop John G
    Favourite Sloop John G
    Dec 24th 2016, 6:04 PM

@Eamon. You hit the nail on the head there. A lot of the rock stars of the 60s and 70s are getting old, many in there 70s now. It’s kind of inevitable that, because of the lives of excess they lived in their hay day, that it’s taking its toll now. RIP Rick, one of my favourite Status Quo songs is “Mystery Song” which has Rick on lead vocal. Just gave it a blast a few mins ago, still sounds great.

Mute Steve Austin
    Favourite Steve Austin
    Dec 24th 2016, 4:06 PM

R.I.P Rick… Rool Over Lay Down

Mute Jimmy Murphy
    Favourite Jimmy Murphy
    Dec 24th 2016, 7:48 PM

2016 isn’t finished yet. Glad to see the back of it given the loss of so many legends. RIP Rick.

Mute Trevor Beale
    Favourite Trevor Beale
    Dec 24th 2016, 8:31 PM

God, I think you got your take and not to take list mixed up.