You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

No Irish hurt as Tunisia museum death toll rises to 19

Seventeen of the dead were foreign tourists.

Updated at 6.09pm

A TUNISIAN OFFICIAL has confirmed that 17 tourists and two Tunisians were killed in a shooting attack at a popular museum today.

Polish, Italian, German and Spanish tourists were among the dead, Prime Minister Habib Essid said, adding that two gunmen had been killed.

A Tunisian national and a policeman were also reported dead.

The Department of Foreign Affairs in Dublin has told TheJournal.ie that the Irish Embassy in Madrid and Honorary Consul in Tunis are monitoring the situation and providing updates to them.

“We are currently not aware of any Irish citizens involved in the incident at this time,” they said in a statement.

Shooting 

Essid said the gunmen, dressed in military uniforms, opened fire on the tourists as they were disembarking from a bus and chased them inside the museum.

Health Minister Said Aidi told reporters that 38 others had been wounded in the attack, including citizens of France, South Africa, Poland, Italy and Japan.

Tunisia Attack Tourists and visitors line up before being evacuated AP / Press Association Images AP / Press Association Images / Press Association Images

The attack appeared to be the worst on foreigners in Tunisia since an Al-Qaeda suicide bombing on a synagogue killed 14 Germans, two French and five Tunisians on the island of Djerba in 2002.

Some officials, including French Prime Minister Manuel Valls, had said hostages were taken at the museum but this was not confirmed by Tunisian authorities.

There was no immediate claim of responsibility for the attack but Tunisia – the birthplace of the Arab Spring revolutionary movement – has struggled to tackle a rise in attacks from Islamist extremists.

Interior ministry spokesman Mohamed Ali Aroui told reporters that “two or more terrorists armed with Kalashnikovs” had targeted the Bardo National Museum next to the Tunisian parliament.

Aroui said about 100 tourists had been inside the museum at the time of the attack.

He said “anti-terrorist units” had entered the museum but refused to confirm reports of a hostage taking.

TUNISIA Shooting PA Graphics PA Graphics

The Bardo National Museum, a famed repository of ancient artefacts, is next door to Tunisia’s parliament, where work was suspended during the attack.

An Islamist lawmaker, Monia Brahim, told AFP that gunfire from the initial assault prompted parliamentary committees to suspend their meetings as lawmakers were ordered to assemble in the main chamber.

“There was enormous panic,” another lawmaker, Sayida Ounissi, wrote on Twitter, saying the attack took place during hearings on Tunisia’s anti-terrorism law.

Tunisia has seen an upsurge in Islamist extremism since the 2011 revolution that ousted longtime strongman Zine El Abidine Ben Ali. Dozens of police and military personnel have been killed or wounded in attacks blamed on Islamist militants.

Condemned

Foreign Affairs Minister Charlie Flanagan described today’s incident as a “vicious mass killing”.

“This attack is a deliberate attempt to undermine Tunisia’s achievements since 2011 in delivering a democratic State, which reflects the aspirations and rights of all its citizens,” he added in a statement offering his sympathies to the people of Tunisia. 

Includes reporting from Associated Press.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

70 Comments
    Mute VIncent McGloughlin
    Favourite VIncent McGloughlin
    Oct 8th 2019, 7:02 PM

This crowd caused major traffic disruption in city this afternoon. The bus to Wexford was over 50 minutes behind schedule on the journey to Wexford.

Mute JusticeForJoe
    Favourite JusticeForJoe
    Oct 8th 2019, 7:02 PM

@VIncent McGloughlin: There’s a bigger picture to be more concerned about, Vincent

Mute milton friedman
    Favourite milton friedman
    Oct 8th 2019, 7:05 PM

@JusticeForJoe: inconveniencing ordinary people, most of whom try their best to be as Green as possible, is not the answer.

Either tip over Leo Varadkar’s State car or stay at home

See 30 more replies ▾
    Mute Diarmuid Hunt
    Favourite Diarmuid Hunt
    Oct 8th 2019, 7:09 PM

@milton friedman: Do you honestly believe most people try to be green as possible? Inconveniencing people raises awareness, how many people would notice if it happened in a field in Donegal? If Governments and major Corporations did their bit then you wouldn’t be inconvenienced, instead of getting the message you’re attacking the messenger. Governments and major Corporations won’t change their behaviours unless they are made to change.

Mute JusticeForJoe
    Favourite JusticeForJoe
    Oct 8th 2019, 7:09 PM

@milton friedman: So what is? Omelettes and eggs, milton. Compare the inconvenience of a delayed commute now to the inconvenience for your kids when there’s not so much of a world left for them to raise THEIR kids in

Mute Trevor J Coonan
    Favourite Trevor J Coonan
    Oct 8th 2019, 7:15 PM

@milton friedman:
    So criminal damage instead of concerted protest?
    Sheez dude. Call in sick and join us

Mute milton friedman
    Oct 8th 2019, 7:15 PM

@JusticeForJoe: the purpose of extinction rebellion is to compel governments to take action on climate change.

So I’m telling them to up the ante on the government, not average Joe. Not protracted protests that most likely won’t work.

Mute JusticeForJoe
    Favourite JusticeForJoe
    Oct 8th 2019, 7:17 PM

@milton friedman: Sorry, I actually missed the funny bit about Leo’s car. Haha. Yeah but it has to be kept legal and you can’t be seen to be “victimising” or “intimidating” poor innocent politicians who are just trying to earn an honest shilling. Remember Joan in the car?

Mute milton friedman

@Trevor J Coonan: it was more of a joke, but the London protests don’t seem to be obeying the law based on the arrest numbers. If ours is the same movement then how long before it’s not criminal?

Mute JusticeForJoe
    Favourite JusticeForJoe
    Oct 8th 2019, 7:24 PM

@milton friedman: Seriously, man. You’re gonna look at a few arrests and focus on that?

Mute Seán O'Sullivan
    Favourite Seán O'Sullivan

@JusticeForJoe: yes delay public transport genius

Mute JusticeForJoe
    Favourite JusticeForJoe
    Oct 8th 2019, 7:27 PM

@Seán O’Sullivan: Fine point well made, Sean. I wouldn’t dare debate you

Mute Alan Carthy
    Favourite Alan Carthy
    Oct 8th 2019, 7:31 PM

@JusticeForJoe: yea all the exhaust fumes the extra hr longer the bus n car were running while ye trying to save the world

Mute GerryCummins
    Favourite GerryCummins
    Oct 8th 2019, 7:36 PM

@JusticeForJoe: Yes, what were these bandwagoners protesting about two years ago before “Climate Change” became the latest buzz word?

Mute GerryCummins
    Favourite GerryCummins
    Oct 8th 2019, 7:37 PM

@JusticeForJoe: yeah “man” …

Mute JusticeForJoe
    Favourite JusticeForJoe

@Alan Carthy: Yeah but now consider the changes they’re trying to bring about. They’re trying to prevent more pollution than was caused there and they’re trying to push for ways to start getting rid of the carbon dioxide. Like planting forests. Did you know they actually have a reason to do this?

Mute JusticeForJoe
    Favourite JusticeForJoe
    Oct 8th 2019, 7:39 PM

@GerryCummins: Just to help a little bit with the counting… “Climate change” is two words.
    Read over that a few times tonight and I’ll test you on it tomorrow. Then we’ll talk

Mute Sean O' Donovan
    Favourite Sean O' Donovan
    Oct 8th 2019, 8:28 PM

@JusticeForJoe: “A buzzword is a word OR PHRASE, new or already existing, that becomes very popular for a period of time”.

Mute JusticeForJoe
    Favourite JusticeForJoe
    Oct 8th 2019, 8:32 PM

@Sean O’ Donovan: Slow clap for you, Sean. Glad you’re focussed on what’s important anyway

Mute Noel Doherty
    Favourite Noel Doherty
    Oct 8th 2019, 8:47 PM

@Diarmuid Hunt: have you ever been in a field in Donegal Diarmuid, mad craic altogether so it is

Mute milton friedman
    Oct 8th 2019, 8:57 PM

@JusticeForJoe: well I was advocating destruction of property up there so I’m not really emphasizing that.

I just don’t think they should shut the place down to a large extent (I’m not sure if it’s that bad here, but in London they were blocking access to a hospital apparently).

Mute milton friedman
    Oct 8th 2019, 8:58 PM

@milton friedman: *unintentionally blocking the access to the hospital

Mute JusticeForJoe
    Favourite JusticeForJoe
    Oct 8th 2019, 9:14 PM

@milton friedman: I’m glad to see it was unintentional, at least. I hope they make sure not to do it again. I also think disruption is the only thing that works. Otherwise nothing changes. People continue their humdrum existence trying not to rock the boat or call attention to themselves.
    I also get what you were originally saying about the car. Personally, i used to say I’d like to drag a few politicians from their cosy beds in the middle of the night and hold public floggings for their flagrant disregard for the majority of people they’re supposed to represent. I realise that would probably be frowned upon by some people though

Mute Peter Mc
    Favourite Peter Mc
    Oct 8th 2019, 10:30 PM

@JusticeForJoe: arrest them for disturbing the peace. It’s illegal to do so muppet

Mute Niall Brew
    Favourite Niall Brew
    Oct 8th 2019, 10:57 PM

@JusticeForJoe: dismissing people like this isn’t going to win friends and influence people. The guy going to wexford or wherever maybe has sick kids, parents obligations. By antagonising normal folk u turn them against the message. Many people recycle etc take public transport.

Protest corporations and chains etc . If any of the protestors travel, buy in large chains or use large corporations at all they are part of the problem. Like the carbon tax penalising individuals is a ridiculos propsition when capitalism and corporations are the gigantic elephant in the room. Yes teach consumers ,change attitudes but go to the source. Protest diageo and other big business in the capital. Agriculture another problem here.

Mute Niall Brew
    Favourite Niall Brew
    Oct 8th 2019, 11:01 PM

@Niall Brew: it’ a crisis no denying it but attacking ordinary joe soaps imo is a waste of time. Gigantic social media companies ( who give ad vrevenue to huge polluters etc ) are all based here. Its not hard to find out where much of them are based using google maps

Mute Niall Brew
    Favourite Niall Brew
    Oct 8th 2019, 11:03 PM

@Niall Brew: * take ad revenue i mean…billions of it

Mute GerryCummins
    Favourite GerryCummins
    Oct 8th 2019, 11:30 PM

@JusticeForJoe: oh dear, anal much?

Mute JusticeForJoe
    Favourite JusticeForJoe
    Oct 8th 2019, 11:52 PM

@Niall Brew: I’m always gonna call out people who are slagging people who are trying to help. I’ll taunt them and boo them until my throat is sore because I refuse to let them belittle such a just cause. I don’t care if they don’t wanna be my friend and I don’t care that they’ll never change their mindsets. They’re lost causes and we have to push on without them. I’ll happily argue with them any chance I get though because otherwise they’ll assume I agree with them and I can’t have that.

Mute JusticeForJoe
    Favourite JusticeForJoe
    Oct 8th 2019, 11:52 PM

@GerryCummins: Are you 12?

Mute John Weldon
    Favourite John Weldon
    Oct 9th 2019, 8:57 AM

@JusticeForJoe: Carbon is 0.01% of the atmosphere.

Mute Rob Devine
    Favourite Rob Devine
    Oct 9th 2019, 1:35 PM

@milton friedman: What use is a protest that doesn’t inconvenience someone, keeping quite doesn’t make a difference. Taxes are not equivalent to action. Time the Govt stepped up and banned single use items, e.g. why do McDonald’s, KFC etc allow paper cups, wrappers etc for sit down meals? Single use coffee cups should be banned, separate bins in the streets to separate rubbish, ban non-recyclable packaging on food etc. Lots they could do but don’t.

Mute the-baldie-lad
    Favourite the-baldie-lad
    Oct 9th 2019, 5:17 PM

@VIncent McGloughlin: that’s the point.

Mute John gaughan
    Favourite John gaughan
    Oct 8th 2019, 7:10 PM

Have these people jobs and if they have how are they getting the time off to hold other people going about their daily lives

Mute JusticeForJoe
    Favourite JusticeForJoe
    Oct 8th 2019, 7:13 PM

@John gaughan: Can you genuinely not figure out how educated, qualified, working people would care enough about the state of the planet to get off their holes in the evening and show their distress?

Mute Trevor J Coonan
    Favourite Trevor J Coonan

@John gaughan:
    The world is on fire.
    You’re sniping at fellow human beings for trying to save you.
    Join us. We can be the generation that saves the future

See 13 more replies ▾
    Mute Jonathan Morgan
    Favourite Jonathan Morgan

@John gaughan: Not everyone works 9-5 Mon-Friday

Mute ObsidianShine
    Favourite ObsidianShine

@John gaughan: Believe it or not, Some people actually care about these things enough to use their annual leave for it.

Mute GerryCummins
    Favourite GerryCummins
    Oct 8th 2019, 7:39 PM

@Trevor J Coonan: I don’t need to be saved … so jog on with your “new cause”. Where were you 2 years ago before Climate Change became a “buzz word”? It’ like the Life of Brian quote “He is the Messiah, and I should know I’ve followed a few”….

Mute JusticeForJoe
    Favourite JusticeForJoe
    Oct 8th 2019, 7:44 PM

@GerryCummins: Nobody cares what you think you need. They care about their kids

Mute David
    Favourite David
    Oct 8th 2019, 8:00 PM

@John gaughan: what a stupid comment. Do you work 24 7 ?

Mute John gaughan
    Favourite John gaughan
    Oct 8th 2019, 9:04 PM

@David: I work hard six days a week I am mad to see these people sitting on the streets in the middle of the day when working people paying for them to be there

Mute John gaughan
    Favourite John gaughan
    Oct 8th 2019, 9:05 PM

@JusticeForJoe: working people are too tired to sit on the streets

Mute John gaughan
    Favourite John gaughan
    Oct 8th 2019, 9:06 PM

@Trevor J Coonan: I don’t think that bunch on the Dublin streets will quench it

Mute John gaughan
    Favourite John gaughan
    Oct 8th 2019, 9:08 PM

@ObsidianShine: yes some people do care and use holiday days to protest but the majority is on the dole

Mute JusticeForJoe
    Favourite JusticeForJoe
    Oct 8th 2019, 10:28 PM

@John gaughan: You don’t speak for all working people, John. I work and you don’t speak for me.

Mute GerryCummins
    Favourite GerryCummins
    Oct 8th 2019, 11:36 PM

@JusticeForJoe: kids? Like the offspring of Goats? Anyway I broke my own rule , interacting with scaredy anonymous people…Who is Joe anyway. You are looking for Justice for him?

Mute JusticeForJoe
    Favourite JusticeForJoe
    Oct 9th 2019, 8:18 AM

@GerryCummins: Shh. Run along, child

Mute SC
    Favourite SC
    Oct 9th 2019, 3:25 PM

@John gaughan: Why are you getting so wound up about some fantasy you had where the majority of the protesters are on the dole? They’re not. You can rest assured that whatever bad working conditions you have that have you working six days a week are a result of you being too scabby and mean to join a union as well.

Mute Em Gee
    Favourite Em Gee
    Oct 8th 2019, 7:30 PM

These protesters are very green indeed. Causing delays to public and private transport and indirectly increasing CO emissions in the process. They’re not doing much to get ordinary workers on their side either but these people tend to look down their powdered noses at ordinary workers anyway.

Mute WoodlandBard
    Favourite WoodlandBard
    Oct 8th 2019, 7:42 PM

@Em Gee: I agree that most ‘ordinary workers’ would never be on their side if they are not taking time off to be with them. They will not even bother to look into what they are protesting about very much either. Most important things in their lives are keeping time routines, and trying hard to keep doing what they think will keep the blesses and families happy.

The protesters are also hypocrites, but not arseholes, and I think Jonathan Pie explains this very well in his report today … https://youtu.be/TuCmdtcWKog

Mute WoodlandBard
    Favourite WoodlandBard
    Oct 8th 2019, 7:44 PM

… that’s ‘keep the bosses and families happy’, the usual autocorrect bungle …

Mute JusticeForJoe
    Favourite JusticeForJoe
    Oct 8th 2019, 7:50 PM

@Em Gee: Look down their powdered noses at ordinary workers?? Who do you think is protesting? Politicians and royalty??

Mute Mark O'Leary
    Favourite Mark O'Leary
    Oct 8th 2019, 9:02 PM

@Em Gee: People tend to have no interest in anything other than their own self interest.

Mute Kev
    Favourite Kev
    Oct 8th 2019, 7:07 PM

Don’t use all of your annual leave at once lads

Mute JusticeForJoe
    Favourite JusticeForJoe
    Oct 8th 2019, 7:10 PM

@Kev: Hilarious Kev. Your 9-5 existence must be thrilling

Mute Kev
    Favourite Kev

@JusticeForJoe: well I feel like I actually contribute to society through my employment & taxation instead of blocking up the city

Mute JusticeForJoe
    Favourite JusticeForJoe
    Oct 8th 2019, 7:14 PM

@Kev: Good for you. You also think everyone else works in the same job as you, or else they don’t work.

Mute JusticeForJoe
    Favourite JusticeForJoe
    Oct 8th 2019, 7:16 PM

You also demonstrate beautifully the exact type of person who slags this movement

Mute Brian Ó Dálaigh
    Favourite Brian Ó Dálaigh
    Oct 8th 2019, 7:20 PM

@Kev: is that contributing to society, or is it contributing to the status quo?

Mute Kev
    Favourite Kev
    Oct 8th 2019, 7:50 PM

@JusticeForJoe: raising environmental issues is fine but jumping on the “let’s save the environment” bandwagon and blocking up traffic and preventing people from getting home from work, college etc is not the way to do it. Why can’t they do that on the weekend when it would disrupt less people? Don’t go blocking me on my way to work now while I pay for your entitlements

Mute Kev
    Favourite Kev
    Oct 8th 2019, 7:51 PM

@Brian Ó Dálaigh: well it’s contributing to a little thing called a mortgage so that I can own my own home and earn a decent living for myself. I don’t these lads doing that for themselves.

Mute JusticeForJoe
    Favourite JusticeForJoe
    Oct 8th 2019, 7:58 PM

@Kev: There you go. No interest in actual debate or discussion. I don’t claim entitlements, thanks. I work a lot. I doubt you earn much with that intellect though

Mute JusticeForJoe
    Favourite JusticeForJoe
    Oct 8th 2019, 7:58 PM

@Kev: Have you spoken to any of “these lads”?

Mute Mark O'Leary
    Favourite Mark O'Leary
    Oct 8th 2019, 8:54 PM

@Kev: Where you think you got the time to work and then come on and comment here. Protests. Trade union and otherwise.Go research your worker history. Your taxation gets wasted quite alot. 150 odd million gone on fixing schools this summer for example that should of been built the right way the first time simple checks from any one of multiple departments would of done it from many people employed and being taxed. Everything you buy is taxed. as your employed you probably go on holidays or buy a car, washing machine whatever with your money most of which goes overseas to whichever company produces it to be given out as a dividend . If a person on the dole buys something chances are it all stays in country, so they are funding themselves.

Mute Mark O'Leary
    Favourite Mark O'Leary
    Oct 8th 2019, 8:58 PM

@Kev: Thats your choice as to what you decide to do with your time on this planet. Look after yourselve. Other people want to see a better world for them, you and the kids of both so they put time into that. Everyone end up in the same place in the end. You probably work just long enough making another bunch of indiviuals money to croak it as you make your final mortagage payment.

Mute Mark O'Leary
    Favourite Mark O'Leary
    Oct 8th 2019, 9:01 PM

@Mark O’Leary: And before you start im full time self employed.

Mute Brian Ó Dálaigh
    Favourite Brian Ó Dálaigh
    Oct 8th 2019, 9:26 PM

@Kev: you’re on TheJournal. Shouldn’t you be out working instead of commenting if you’re that concerned about your mortgage?

Mute davey boy
    Favourite davey boy

It would have more of an impact if they occupied the Dail bar.

Mute Tommy C
    Favourite Tommy C
    Oct 8th 2019, 10:02 PM

@davey boy: some of the attacks on protesters here makes me laugh. People need to wake up and stop acting like a hen nursing a grenade

Mute John Mulligan
    Favourite John Mulligan
    Oct 8th 2019, 11:31 PM

@davey boy: or the bord na mona bogs

Mute Damian Moylan
    Favourite Damian Moylan
    Oct 8th 2019, 7:18 PM

All plastics are derived from hydrocarbons, so where will these hc’s come from to make mobile phones, EV cars, computers, tv’s, ipads?

Mute MarkS
    Favourite MarkS

@Damian Moylan: your ma

Mute Mark O'Leary
    Favourite Mark O'Leary
    Oct 8th 2019, 8:17 PM

@Damian Moylan: Go do some research before making completely untrue statements like that please. Your ignorance is astounding, Hemp as one of many, can cover all of those things and is stronger and more durable and its one of many, https://www.google.com/search?client=firefox-b-d&q=uses+of+hemp+plastic , https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bioplastic List is endless. Unfortunately the fossil fuel lobbyist and industries are so integrated within society that they are tough to remove without concerted pressure. Hence movements like ER. If people actually got off their high horsed asses , realized the need for their contribution to the world and society around them rather than watching, people watching tv shows, people fake dating on islands and “people that appeared on tv 5 times, appearing on t.v 5 more times dancing and made a concerted attempt to educate and make social change. Which they gained from people protesting and educating themselves in the first place the worlds problems would be solved in very short measure.

Mute Damian Moylan
    Favourite Damian Moylan
    Oct 8th 2019, 8:20 PM

@Mark O’Leary: rubbish

Mute JusticeForJoe
    Favourite JusticeForJoe
    Oct 8th 2019, 8:37 PM

@Mark O’Leary: Well said

Mute Eileen O'Sullivan
    Favourite Eileen O'Sullivan
    Oct 9th 2019, 1:09 AM

@Mark O’Leary: that’s one long sentence!

Mute BitDub1878
    Favourite BitDub1878
    Oct 8th 2019, 9:33 PM

These people are nuts. Im sure they all walk to work & live in trees & use no electronic devices. If there that concerned go plant a few trees, clean the streets etc

Mute JusticeForJoe
    Favourite JusticeForJoe
    Oct 8th 2019, 7:01 PM

Lovin’ the chant

Mute Damian Moylan
    Favourite Damian Moylan
    Oct 8th 2019, 8:29 PM

Carbon sequestration of our meadow lands should, but is not, taken into account for calculating Ireland’s carbon emmissions. For example in the beef industry. Green plants contain chlorophyll which undergo photosynthesis meaning they consume co2.

Mute Damian Moylan
    Favourite Damian Moylan
    Oct 8th 2019, 8:44 PM

@Damian Moylan: Other countries do this but not Ireland. Of course cattle fed in slatted sheds in the U.S. and other hot countries do not have this benefit so emmissions in their case are much higher, also in terms of providing processed meal.

Mute Mark O'Leary
    Favourite Mark O'Leary
    Oct 8th 2019, 9:17 PM

@Damian Moylan: USA is a “hot country”?

Mute Damian Moylan
    Favourite Damian Moylan
    Oct 8th 2019, 9:29 PM

@Mark O’Leary: yes it is, very hot in fact, aircon everywhere!! check out their methods of beef production…

Mute Mark O'Leary
    Favourite Mark O'Leary
    Oct 8th 2019, 9:34 PM

@Damian Moylan: maybe 13/14 states could be considered “hot”… they have 50 on the mainland….

Mute Jack Cass
    Favourite Jack Cass
    Oct 9th 2019, 8:10 AM

@Mark O’Leary: 49 actually, Hawaii is not on the mainland

Oct 8th 2019, 9:32 PM

These people need to get a job and contribute to our society instead of causing trouble. #crusties

Mute Damian Moylan
    Favourite Damian Moylan
    Oct 8th 2019, 8:18 PM

Where will plastic come from to make EV’s, phones, computers and another 1000 things. All plastics are derived from hydrocarbons…

Mute MarkS
    Favourite MarkS
    Oct 8th 2019, 8:44 PM

@Damian Moylan: your ma!

Mute Damian Moylan
    Favourite Damian Moylan
    Oct 8th 2019, 9:07 PM

@MarkS: Jez, forgot ask her.

Mute Mark O'Leary
    Favourite Mark O'Leary
    Oct 8th 2019, 9:09 PM

@Damian Moylan: PLA Polyesters, Hemp,Starch-based plastics,Cellulose-based plastics,Protein based plastics and various others all more than capable of replacing hydrocarbons….. Legislation makes hydrocarbon based ones more affordable and blocks the use of others Hemp can make much stronger plastics than alot of hydrocarbon plastics. Look up Henry Ford and his hemp car for one example

Mute Damian Moylan
    Favourite Damian Moylan
    Oct 8th 2019, 8:23 PM

Adhesives used for making shoes and also products made from plastics like batteries, electric cabling, tv’s, well just about anything really are made from refining hydrocarbons.

Mute Means of escape
    Favourite Means of escape
    Oct 8th 2019, 9:54 PM

@Damian Moylan: our extinction will come via a meteor strike or super resistant bacteria/virus long before climate change impact

Mute Damian Moylan
    Favourite Damian Moylan
    Oct 8th 2019, 8:14 PM

Where will the electricity come from for EV’s, home and industrial use, we don’t have a fraction of what we need.

Mute Mark O'Leary
    Favourite Mark O'Leary
    Oct 8th 2019, 9:15 PM

@Damian Moylan: Wind 20% of Englands electricity comes from Wind, 15% of it off shore,(they have 60 million people, we got 5 and we got more coast ) , Thermo electric, Photovoltic (thats all those paneled roofs you been seeing last 5 years (only about .005% of the space on roofs used) , Wave, Biomass, Hydrogen generators to name a few….

Mute Damian Moylan
    Favourite Damian Moylan
    Oct 8th 2019, 9:28 PM

@Mark O’Leary: The Uk has a 5% electricity surplus despite having nuclear energy, and that’s before they go all electric on cars ie. they don’t have enough electricity either. Btw if a hard Brexit ensues we are looking at tariffs in imported electricity from the Uk so the costs are going up.

Mute Eileen O'Sullivan
    Favourite Eileen O'Sullivan
    Oct 9th 2019, 1:11 AM

@Damian Moylan: I’d like a horse and cart
    but the poor yoke would fart.

Mute Tom Cullen
    Favourite Tom Cullen
    Oct 9th 2019, 10:13 AM

@Damian Moylan: We’ve been a net exporter of electricity since 2016 so start again

Mute Eric Davies
    Favourite Eric Davies
    Oct 9th 2019, 12:22 PM

@Damian Moylan: france – there are plans to lay an underwater cable / interconnector from france to ireland and then to connect up with the one from the uk to ireland , allegedly we will be able to ‘sell’ any excess electricity to either the uk and europe (though how that is going to work after brexit -the ‘brainboxs’ have not come up with yet ) or import extra when we need too – this of course means ireland will no doubt become dependant on either the uk or on europe for our energy needs – costs will no doubt double and we will face more carbon taxs to pay for the infrastructure – of course we COULD also try to build out own energy generating stations running of renewable sources like solar ,wind ,wave power etc or even nuclear –but that wont happen – we will end up going with the french option and screwing the irish citizens while making the french richer !!

Mute Damian Moylan
    Favourite Damian Moylan
    Oct 8th 2019, 8:21 PM

Polyester used in clothing is derived from hydrocarbons.

Mute Damian Moylan
    Favourite Damian Moylan
    Oct 8th 2019, 8:38 PM

@Damian Moylan: Idem, nylon and acrylic.

Mute Mark O'Leary
    Favourite Mark O'Leary
    Oct 8th 2019, 9:05 PM

@Damian Moylan: PLA Polyesters

Mute BewaretheBeardies
    Favourite BewaretheBeardies
    Oct 8th 2019, 8:34 PM

Might stick on the fire…

Mute Alan Brazil
    Favourite Alan Brazil
    Oct 8th 2019, 8:32 PM

They are protesting in the wrong place, they should head down to poolbeg and protest down there! Sure come down to lovely Kilkenny and the air is as fresh as you’ll get anywhere in the world, don’t know what these are smoking

Mute Tommy the postman
    Favourite Tommy the postman
    Oct 8th 2019, 10:14 PM

How many av n alarm clock set on there for the morning rent a crowd

Mute Damian Moylan
    Favourite Damian Moylan
    Oct 8th 2019, 9:06 PM

Polystyrene (foam) is used for making matresses, couches, and insulation material used in buildings and cars and is derived from hydrocarbons.

Mute Mark O'Leary
    Favourite Mark O'Leary
    Oct 8th 2019, 9:31 PM

@Damian Moylan: gypsum , sheeps wool, hemp easily and when done on scale has replaced and is replacing all of those things. Many more where those came from. Again Hydro carbon integration within society and the lobbyist and pressure groups and lack of understanding about alternatives within industries and subsidies by oil producing nations are the only reason these harmful products are used over less harmful products.

Mute Damian Moylan
    Favourite Damian Moylan
    Oct 8th 2019, 9:37 PM

@Mark O’Leary: Gave ya a thumbs up. Good debate, you posted some interesting information, fair play.

Mute Nigel Mcatamney
    Favourite Nigel Mcatamney
    Oct 8th 2019, 11:30 PM

Walkinstown roundabout at around 8am be a great spot for a sit down protest…..

Mute Michael Mike Mathäß
    Favourite Michael Mike Mathäß
    Oct 9th 2019, 2:32 PM

:-) :-) How can one have a “sit-in” out in the open? Was it not a “sit-down” protest. I just love the sloppy writings of the (pun intended) Journal(ist) …. hahahaha….

Mute Joe Dixon
    Favourite Joe Dixon
    Oct 9th 2019, 6:45 PM

Why do the police wear those silly yellow jackets all the time now

Mute SC
    Favourite SC
    Oct 9th 2019, 3:26 PM

They should let public transport through.