You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

20 firefighters have been battling a fishing boat fire in Dublin

The boat caught fire at the pier wall in the north Dublin suburb this morning.

A FISHING VESSEL that caught fire in north Dublin has  required 20 firefighters to bring the blaze under control.

The incident happened at Howth pier in the suburb 10 miles north of the city.

Three units from Dublin Fire Brigade (DFB) and two ambulances are reported to have attended the scene.

boat3 Dublin Fire Brigade / Twitter Dublin Fire Brigade / Twitter / Twitter

boat4 Dublin Fire Brigade / Twitter Dublin Fire Brigade / Twitter / Twitter

“20 firefighters were on the scene and the blaze was brought under control very quickly,” a DFB spokesman told TheJournal.ie.

A number of people were treated for smoke inhalation but no hospitalisations were required.
These were fishermen who refused to go to hospital.

It appears that the fire started in the wheelhouse of the vessel, which was moored at the main pier wall.

Read: Fire fighters tackling large blaze reported in Stillorgan

Read: A lucky escape: This Dublin cyclist’s helmet was split in three places in a crash

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

16 Comments
    Mute Mark Malone
    Favourite Mark Malone
    Jan 10th 2015, 7:52 AM

Trampolines are having a ball playing musical gardens too.

Mute Stephen Duggan
    Favourite Stephen Duggan
    Jan 10th 2015, 7:37 AM

Isn’t it about time that power lines were buried ?

Mute Jennie
    Favourite Jennie
    Jan 10th 2015, 7:46 AM

Why so they can pose more of a threat to farmers and construction workers?
    Best kept in plain sight.

Mute Mark Malone
    Favourite Mark Malone
    Jan 10th 2015, 7:53 AM

More killed by overhead cables Jennie.

Mute Keaneland
    Favourite Keaneland
    Jan 10th 2015, 8:44 AM

Where did you hear that Mark?

Because almost all our medium to high voltage lines are overhead so naturally this poses more of a risk. But we have far more cable strikes from underground cables than from overhead cables. Irish water workers for example tend to have 300 to 400 cable strikes a month, all underground.

Mute Mark Malone
    Favourite Mark Malone
    Jan 10th 2015, 8:55 AM

And just how many deaths came from those 300 to 400 cable strikes a month Keane? Thank you.

Mute Keaneland
    Favourite Keaneland
    Jan 10th 2015, 9:32 AM

You missed the point Mark. The deaths will come if you star sticking the high voltage lines underground. Even the Dutch who pretty much have 100% low to medium voltage lines underground, will not put high voltage lines underground.

Mute Joe
    Favourite Joe
    Jan 10th 2015, 9:48 AM

Great idea, only cost about a few billion, maybe we could levy the consumers.

Mute David Conway
    Favourite David Conway
    Jan 10th 2015, 12:18 PM

It costs too much to put cables underground. Overhead are easier to maintain. The odd downed power line is a easier price to pay than ducting the whole country.

Mute Stephen Earle
    Favourite Stephen Earle
    Jan 11th 2015, 12:29 AM

Did you consider the unbelievable cost of burying all such cables? C’mon!!

Mute Nobby Donnelly
    Favourite Nobby Donnelly
    Jan 10th 2015, 11:36 AM

“Our whole wall fell down..” Well im not surprised since you effectively fixed a timber sail to it from what I can see in the photo.

Mute Martin O'Rourke
    Favourite Martin O'Rourke
    Jan 10th 2015, 8:56 AM

Very windy in Donegal my house moved a yard last night!

Mute little jim
    Favourite little jim
    Jan 10th 2015, 10:30 AM

My house took in the front lawn.

Mute Nell foran
    Favourite Nell foran
    Jan 10th 2015, 9:57 AM

Was in meath yesterday and two enormous trees fell on the road in front of the car only missed us by a couple of feet. Scary

Mute Derek Byrne
    Favourite Derek Byrne
    Jan 10th 2015, 8:40 AM

I don’t think were in Kansas anymore Toto.

Mute Mary Kavanagh
    Favourite Mary Kavanagh
    Jan 10th 2015, 8:11 AM

And wheelie bins!

Mute Tony Skillington
    Favourite Tony Skillington
    Jan 10th 2015, 8:19 AM

Our wheelie bins were like a couple of R2D2′s last night…being blown around aimlessly

Mute Catherine Mayock
    Favourite Catherine Mayock
    Jan 10th 2015, 3:30 PM

Well batten down the hatches cause it aint over.

Mute Liam Mangan
    Favourite Liam Mangan
    Jan 10th 2015, 6:37 PM

To the driver of the jeep on m9 dublin carlow yesterday for making shit of my car when your plastic material flew out including ratchet straps , my bumper grills spot lights and drivers light (€1600) also 2 other cars damaged, you pulled over down the motorway realised what you done jumped back in and sped off , shame on you, we could have been killed, and it’s me that has to somehow pay for this for your thickness

Mute Helen Downey
    Favourite Helen Downey
    Jan 11th 2015, 1:06 AM

That is honestly disgusting that they didn’t take responsibility for their crap.

Mute Tommy Shannon
    Favourite Tommy Shannon
    Jan 10th 2015, 10:23 AM

Turn on the washing machines
    There’s great drying out !!

Mute Jennie
    Favourite Jennie
    Jan 10th 2015, 8:11 AM

That’s because none are underground.
    So obviously yes more are killed by overhead cables.
    If they’re underground you’ll all be giving out that they’ll limit what you can do with your land too much. Ie building works etc.
    And if something goes wrong it’ll be a much bigger job to fix. Digging up cable to try and find the break. Relaying the whole length. Etc

Mute Mark Malone
    Favourite Mark Malone
    Jan 10th 2015, 8:43 AM

I think if you look, most cities and towns, and certainly all newer developments, have now buried the cables. This has led to far less disruption and far fewer deaths. It isn’t that difficult to map where power lines are buried.

As an aside, overhead cables are an unsightly blight on our landscape.

Mute Jennie
    Favourite Jennie
    Jan 10th 2015, 8:17 AM

*to sorry

Also it’ll do a huge amount of damage to the landscape and the environment laying them underground in the first place….

Out of sight, Out of mind isn’t always the best policy

Mute Foxtrot Hotel
    Favourite Foxtrot Hotel
    Jan 10th 2015, 1:12 PM

Everyone starts juicing and detoxing after new years: giant uptake in wind speeds. Coincidence? I think not.

Kevin Hunt really exposing some shoddy workmanship on that wall. It’s only a bit of wind.

Mute kevinhunt101
    Favourite kevinhunt101
    Jan 10th 2015, 2:43 PM

Well I didn’t build the wall?! and the neighbors had the fence not us

Mute Davin Lynch
    Favourite Davin Lynch
    Jan 10th 2015, 2:53 PM

And tell your neighbour it’s time to put the crimbo decorations away.

Mute Foxtrot Hotel
    Favourite Foxtrot Hotel
    Jan 10th 2015, 3:46 PM

I didn’t say you, Kev. I said you exposed shoddy workmanship.

Mute kevinhunt101
    Favourite kevinhunt101
    Jan 10th 2015, 8:09 PM

Oh sorry haha, Ye I guess so!

Mute Paul Smith
    Favourite Paul Smith
    Jan 10th 2015, 11:14 AM

Snow in Fermangh. Not settling but great to look at

Mute Dermot Mc Loughlin
    Favourite Dermot Mc Loughlin
    Jan 10th 2015, 3:38 PM

Bit of snow here in Cavan, just enough to lightly dust an annoyed cat.

Mute Veronica
    Favourite Veronica
    Jan 10th 2015, 10:01 AM

Thankfully we escaped it in cork but was quite windy for a time but it blew itself out late last night

Mute Andy Patton
    Favourite Andy Patton
    Jan 10th 2015, 11:31 AM

#JeSuisKevinHunt

Mute Dylan Neary
    Favourite Dylan Neary
    Jan 10th 2015, 9:54 AM

There was a might wind in co Louth after that hot curry last night

Mute Dylan Neary
    Favourite Dylan Neary
    Jan 10th 2015, 9:55 AM

“Mighty”

Mute Emily Morris
    Favourite Emily Morris
    Jan 10th 2015, 9:02 AM

Our trampoline hasntlufted a finger yet! youd think it would have blown to the next county with these winds lol!

Mute Eoin Dixon Murphy
    Favourite Eoin Dixon Murphy
    Jan 11th 2015, 12:32 PM

Go home snowman, you are drunk.

Mute Martinp Hoey
    Favourite Martinp Hoey
    Jan 10th 2015, 10:58 AM

That’s the problem with Irish water not obeying safety legislation when digging holes in footpaths

Mute SCO Electrical
    Favourite SCO Electrical
    Jan 10th 2015, 12:23 PM

It depends alot on the machine driver. I work with one who could stir your tea with a 13 Tonne machine. I’ve worked with other lads you wouldn’t trust digging a hole with a teaspoon.

Mute Paul Parsons
    Favourite Paul Parsons
    Jan 11th 2015, 2:03 AM

Short hairy and fat. Perfectly adapted for this weather. Form an orderly que ladies.

Jan 11th 2015, 1:25 AM

If the night of the big wind happened in 1839 (6th Jan) then if it happened again with global warming, what would we do?