You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Niall Carson/PA Wire/Press Association Images

HSE: 178,000 waiting to see a consultant at an outpatient clinic

The Health Minister has said the number of people on waiting lists to see specialists is “utterly unacceptable”.

THE HEALTH MINISTER James Reilly has described as “utterly unacceptable” HSE figures which show that almost 178,000 people in Ireland are on waiting lists to see specialists at an outpatient clinic.

The information, which has been collated for the first time, shows that more than 300 patients have been waiting for over four years to be seen by a consultant after being referred by their GP.

Some 167,825 patients are still waiting to be seen by a specialist since January 2010, and a further 10,129 people are waiting since being referred before January 2011, according to the figures.

The Minister for Health James Reilly has described the length of time that public patients are being forced to wait to see a specialist as “utterly unacceptable”.

Speaking on RTÉ’s Morning Ireland programme  today, Reilly said the data was “proof positive” that a major problem had lain submerged in the HSE for years.

Reilly said the root of the problem was that well-qualified and experienced GPs who recognised a problem in a public patient were obliged to refer them to a consultant who could then “rubber-stamp it”.

He vowed to make it “a priority” to ensure that those who have been waiting the longest would receive care as quickly as possible.

The Minister added that he wished to roll out the new electronic referral system, currently used for cancer patients only, across the entire system.

List not complete

The HSE list is not yet complete – as not all hospitals in the country have submitted waiting list figures to date, including large hospitals like St Vincent’s in Dublin, University Hospital Galway and Limerick’s Mid-West Regional Hospital.

Reilly admitted that the list, which involved 30 hospitals in Ireland, was incomplete but said that “in a couple of months it will be and we can then set realistic targets for everyone.”

Reilly said the list exposed “the heart of what is wrong with the two-tier system” and underlined the need to bring in universal health insurance.

The HSE has warned that, as outpatient waiting list data is not complete at this stage, the actual total number waiting could exceed 200,000.

Thousands of ‘incidents and near misses’ at two hospitals last year>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

42 Comments
    Mute Sean Murphy
    Favourite Sean Murphy
    Feb 17th 2024, 1:14 PM

He can deny it all he wants, doesn’t mean it’s not true. Who do we rely on to scramble their jets when Russian jets fly over our airspace? The UK. Our “air force” (a bunch or propeller planes by international standards) is a joke not even worth maintaining at this point. We don’t even have radar systems to detect these incursions. Out understaffed navy that consists of a whopping 6 ships with 4 in reserve to guard one of the biggest coastlines in Europe is yet another joke and we’d rely on the UK to protect our offshore cabling. Ireland is a joke of a neutral country, a truly neutral country can defend its neutrality, like Switzerland.

Mute Jerry LeFrog
    Favourite Jerry LeFrog
    Feb 17th 2024, 1:24 PM

@Sean Murphy: I think Ireland also relies on the French and Dutch navies to patrol Irish waters.

Mute Matt Rogers
    Favourite Matt Rogers
    Feb 17th 2024, 2:13 PM

@Sean Murphy: Switzerland is one bomb away from destruction !!.

Mute Mr Inbetween
    Favourite Mr Inbetween
    Feb 17th 2024, 2:23 PM

@Matt Rogers: Most countries are only one bomb away from annihilation, the US have a semi-circle ring of bases surrounding China/Russia, all it takes is one power mad amadan to hit the button, ground troops and military aircraft will be vaporised.

Mute Thomas Sheridan
    Favourite Thomas Sheridan
    Feb 17th 2024, 3:03 PM

@Sean Murphy: But Ireland could spare a ship to send to the Mediterranean last summer and has ordered a new navy ship at a cost of €300 million (obviously, that will be €700 million by the time it’s delivered).
    The MRV will serve as the new flagship of the Naval Service and will be equipped with a helicopter landing pad, hospital facilities and the ability to transport vehicles and troops. One of the ship’s main tasks will be to support Irish overseas deployments, negating the need to rely on private shipping.
    Now, some might say it seems more suitable for picking up illegal migrants that are being trafficked across the Mediterranean and that the stated purpose is BS.
    No mention of patrolling undersea cables or even fishing in any case.

Mute Matt Rogers
    Favourite Matt Rogers
    Feb 17th 2024, 3:30 PM

@DGQ: After ‘The Bomb’ !! what will they find when they leave their bunkers ?.

Mute Sean Sean
    Favourite Sean Sean
    Feb 17th 2024, 3:59 PM

@Sean Murphy: Fair enough. How much more in taxes would you be prepared to pay? On the other hand it’s quite laudable that we are one of the few countries who spend more on overseas aid than on military spending. If only the rest of the world could follow our example.

Mute Maurice F Glennon
    Favourite Maurice F Glennon
    Feb 17th 2024, 4:33 PM

@Sean Murphy: I think legally we are not a neutral country, we are non-aligned with a policy of military neutrality.

Switzerland is neutral.
    Which means that we do not need to defend our territory like Switzerland.

Still though, it’s true that we are completely reliant on others if anyone was to invade.

Lulu
    Mute Lulu
    Favourite Lulu
    Feb 17th 2024, 4:53 PM

@Mr Inbetween: I think you’ll find no one person can “ push the button “ !!

Mute P. V. Aglue
    Favourite P. V. Aglue
    Feb 17th 2024, 10:14 PM

@Mr Inbetween: a hi tech Ai virus will launch the missiles.

Mute James Moylan
    Favourite James Moylan
    Feb 18th 2024, 10:23 AM

@Sean Murphy: don’t you know that Ireland can’t be wasting money defending the country when our corrupt politicians have their own and their cronies pockets to look after

Mute Paul Ennis
    Favourite Paul Ennis
    Feb 18th 2024, 12:09 PM

@Sean Murphy: The real question is why are certain countries neutral? I suspect that countries that are traditionally neutral such as Switzerland because it sits geographically between traditional great powers (French / Prussian / Australia Hungarian Empires). Switzerland needed to defend itself from attack but equally could not afford to take one side or the other. On the other hand, Irish nationalists as far back as the 17th Century, saw an independent Ireland as neutral. Yet fought with the Spanish and then the French against a common enemy. The leaders of the 1916 rising even sought financial aid from Germany. Irish neutrality was born from a position which viewed Britain as an enemy and therefore our neutrality has never been traditional in the way Switzerland is or Sweden was.

Mute Paul Ennis
    Favourite Paul Ennis
    Feb 18th 2024, 12:09 PM

@Paul Ennis: *Austro-Hungarian

Mute Mike 100
    Favourite Mike 100
    Feb 17th 2024, 1:20 PM

You always know when Leo tells a lie… His mouth opens.

Mute chris gaffney
    Favourite chris gaffney
    Feb 17th 2024, 4:02 PM

@Gregory C Donoghue: Mary doesn’t need to even open her mouth!

Mute Injustice Cop
    Favourite Injustice Cop
    Feb 17th 2024, 1:13 PM

Then Varadkar is in denial. It is a catch 22 for the British. They defend us otherwise there is a huge back door. We should have a proper military presence. It is.embarrassing.

Mute Itsme83
    Favourite Itsme83
    Feb 17th 2024, 1:16 PM

@Injustice Cop: actually extremely embarrassing

Mute Pat O Dwyer
    Favourite Pat O Dwyer
    Feb 17th 2024, 1:31 PM

@Itsme83: Seeing as we are too stingy to pay for our own defence we should grant the US naval, air and army bases here. Lots of other European have US bases on their territory and that doesn’t undermine their sovereignty

See 14 more replies ▾
    Mute brendan C5
    Favourite brendan C5
    Feb 17th 2024, 1:35 PM

@Pat O Dwyer: you want the USA to dig their claws deeper into Europe by getting a base in Ireland, where we then become a target for long range missiles. Go off and think about that again.

Mute Pat O Dwyer
    Favourite Pat O Dwyer
    Feb 17th 2024, 1:37 PM

@brendan C5: You think we’re not a target anyway?

Mute Raymond Dennehy
    Favourite Raymond Dennehy
    Feb 17th 2024, 2:04 PM

I’m sure Russia regard Shannon Airport as a US base and would be on their target list. I’m sure our port facilities would get pounded by the Russians as well Cork, Limerick, Roslare port and Dublin port so they could not be used by allied forces to reinforce positions.

Mute Mr Inbetween
    Favourite Mr Inbetween
    Feb 17th 2024, 2:50 PM

@Injustice Cop: We are a tiny country in the grand scale of things and have never really invested in not only ordinary infrastructure but military infrastructure and even if we did it would be like firing slingshots against deadly bombs. Thousands of Irishmen fought in WW1/WW2 to aid the British & Allied defences against Hitlers’s Nazi’s, I’m quite happy for them to return the favour and continue looking out for us. Let’s face it, we are never going to have the capability of defending ourselves on a solo basis.

Mute Mr Inbetween
    Favourite Mr Inbetween
    Feb 17th 2024, 3:36 PM

@Injustice Cop: Embarrassed about neutrality, I’m embarrassed that my beloved country cannot house its people or build infrastructure. I’m embarrassed about what’s happening in RTE on FFG’s watch especially when you consider the Coveney connection. We should have the best of everything but years of corruption saw that horse bolt a very long time ago.

Mute Thesaltyurchin
    Favourite Thesaltyurchin
    Feb 17th 2024, 4:57 PM

@Injustice Cop: Absolutely not. Massive waste of money. Even if we did we’d still be a tiny tiny nation that any global power would brush aside with ease, our best weapon is how pointless it would be to attack us. Why would they bother? Same as the Romans.

Mute Max
    Favourite Max
    Feb 17th 2024, 6:12 PM

@Pat O Dwyer: We can’t even afford proper medical care and housing for our citizens, never mind a decent army, air-force or navy.

Mute Injustice Cop
    Favourite Injustice Cop
    Feb 17th 2024, 6:22 PM

@Mr Inbetween: My position is that we should have proper military presence, not one that would beat Russia head-to-head. It’s about doing our bit and not freeloading. I wonder if Finland, with their 5.5 million people – very similar to Ireland, took your advice would Russia think to take yet another bite off their land? We are a laughingstock when it comes to our military and rightly so.

Mute Injustice Cop
    Favourite Injustice Cop
    Feb 17th 2024, 6:28 PM

@Thesaltyurchin: Ireland is a great back door to the UK. The world has moved on since the Romans. Finland, comparable in population to Ireland, have a world class military. You, like Mr Inbetween think I am asking that we would win head-to-head with Russia. I’m stating that we should have enough of a military to contribute something meaningful and stop freeloading which is immoral.

Mute Injustice Cop
    Favourite Injustice Cop
    Feb 17th 2024, 6:29 PM

@Mr Inbetween: There’s always places for money to go. It’s high time our military is overhauled for the twenty first century and we stop freeloading.

Mute brendan C5
    Favourite brendan C5
    Feb 17th 2024, 8:19 PM

@Gregory C Donoghue: and we in turn are under their thumb. We can’t tell them to f off, we’re too reliant on them.

Mute brendan C5
    Favourite brendan C5
    Feb 17th 2024, 8:21 PM

@Pat O Dwyer: no we’re not a target, what would they target?, a few fields and a few kegs of Guinness.

Mute Denis O Connor
    Favourite Denis O Connor
    Feb 17th 2024, 9:32 PM

@brendan C5: I wonder would one of the closest European airports to the USA that had one of the longest runways in Europe not be a target? And is currently used by American military?

Mute Thesaltyurchin
    Favourite Thesaltyurchin
    Feb 18th 2024, 6:22 PM

@Injustice Cop: “Ireland is a great back door to the UK”… Not our problem.

Mute Michael o connor
    Favourite Michael o connor
    Feb 17th 2024, 1:10 PM

Didn’t fine gael try and bring the black and tans back last year FFS

Mute Brendan O'Brien
    Favourite Brendan O'Brien
    Feb 17th 2024, 1:12 PM

@Michael o connor: No.

Mute Sean O'Dhubhghaill
    Favourite Sean O'Dhubhghaill
    Feb 17th 2024, 1:16 PM

@Michael o connor: No.

Mute Ian
    Favourite Ian
    Feb 17th 2024, 1:18 PM

@Michael o connor: the bullshyte just flows outta you.

Mute Brendan O'Brien
    Favourite Brendan O'Brien
    Feb 17th 2024, 1:29 PM

@DGQ: They wanted to commemorate (not celebrate) the ordinary RIC men. Unfortunately, that proved to be impossible as the Black & Tans technically were part of the same force. They handled it badly: they should have made a clear distinction.

Mute Midnight Mechanic
    Favourite Midnight Mechanic
    Feb 17th 2024, 1:48 PM

@Michael o connor: no, and FG are awesome btw

Mute Mr Inbetween
    Favourite Mr Inbetween
    Feb 17th 2024, 1:52 PM

@Michael o connor: Fine Gael wanted to commemorate a bunch of psychos imposed upon us by the British to police our people. They didn’t want to re-instate them. It was absurd.

Mute Thom Hunter
    Favourite Thom Hunter
    Feb 19th 2024, 4:22 PM

@Mr Inbetween: so what about a place for everyone in this ‘new Ireland’ I hear about? You do realise those men, were our grandfathers etc? Seriously now, how should they be commemorated? They WERE Irishmen after all. I would imagine they were patriots too.
    How can I celebrate my ancestors in a ‘new ireland’?

Mute Paul whitehead
    Favourite Paul whitehead
    Feb 17th 2024, 1:42 PM

If we were to invest in a navy and airforce capable of defending the country, it would require tens of billions of Euros. One F35 costs €120 million per aircraft and tens of millions per annum to maintain. A decent fully armed warship costs half a billion. Imagine the waiting lists then! No thank you..

Mute Injustice Cop
    Favourite Injustice Cop
    Feb 17th 2024, 2:15 PM

@Paul whitehead: That’s a self serving statement if ever I read one. There’s lots of good cheaper alternatives. Not having a military and calling our selves neutral is a sick joke. We could not defend ourselves nor would we be neutral for long. We’re lazy and apathetic because of history and geography and freeloading of the British.
    It’s clear both historically and present day that a for a country to stand on it’s own two legs and be respected, it requires a strong military presence.

Mute Wolfgang Bonow
    Favourite Wolfgang Bonow
    Feb 17th 2024, 2:41 PM

@Paul whitehead: Ireland does not need billions in fighter jets.
    A functional navy would be at least a start. 2 ships out of the lot in active service is a joke.

Mute Benny Colreavy
    Favourite Benny Colreavy
    Feb 17th 2024, 2:57 PM

@Paul whitehead: @Paul whitehead: Why F-35s? We don’t need stealthy planes that primary use is to attack well defended ground targets in other countries. Why not do a deal with the Swedes and lease Gripens for air defence of this island?

The Spitfires we had in the 50s would be just as useful at air defense than the dinky wee planes we use now.

Mute Thesaltyurchin
    Favourite Thesaltyurchin
    Feb 17th 2024, 5:00 PM

@Paul whitehead: Why are we talking about this? Because the arms dealing net is closing around us, they’ve supplied everyone and are looking to ‘break new ground’. Ridiculous to pretend to ‘defend ourselves’. 5 million people ffs..

Mute RT TR
    Favourite RT TR
    Feb 17th 2024, 2:04 PM

Thousands of Irish serve in the UK armed forces, so it’s only natural that we get our seas and skies protected. It has kept us safe for many decades, no need to be so insecure about the reality.

Mute Injustice Cop
    Favourite Injustice Cop
    Feb 17th 2024, 2:18 PM

@RT TR: That’s a ridiculous and selfish statement. How about this. There’s millions of people with Irish roots in the UK and US, so it’s only fair that they defend us. Your sense of entitlement is exceptionally large. We have zero autonomy. We’re holding the British hostage because if they don’t defend us, it’s a back door.

Mute RT TR
    Favourite RT TR
    Feb 17th 2024, 2:28 PM

@Injustice Cop: How about this. These islands are so interconnected that the British army has Irish-only regiments and its forces have thousands of southern Irish in their military.
    No matter what sort of future upgrade to Irish defence might mean, we still won’t have anywhere near the capability that the UK provides for us (5 eyes, submarines, nuclear umbrella, intelligence), and therefore aren’t we better to just be less insecure about it and say that we enjoy the protection, thanks.

Mute Diarmuid Hunt
    Favourite Diarmuid Hunt
    Feb 17th 2024, 2:57 PM

@Gregory C Donoghue: Would you like to have a try at his main point rather than nitpicking?

Mute Thesaltyurchin
    Favourite Thesaltyurchin
    Feb 17th 2024, 5:01 PM

@Injustice Cop: If it aint broke

Mute Padraig O'Brien
    Favourite Padraig O'Brien
    Feb 17th 2024, 1:23 PM

The thickidity of some posters here and of some cheerleaders in the media is unbelievable. How are we expected to “defend” ourselves, put everyone of serviceable age in the country into the defence forces – get real.

Mute John Terry
    Favourite John Terry
    Feb 17th 2024, 1:33 PM

@Padraig O’Brien: Exactly,the same people giving out the most would run a mile away from military service…. And probably contribute very little towards the billions needed to defend ourselves.

Mute honey badger
    Favourite honey badger
    Feb 17th 2024, 1:14 PM

I recall seeing RAF Tornado fighter bombers flying over Louth after 9/11.
    We’ve all read about the RAF escorting Russian long range bombers off the West coast.
    Don’t act silly Varadkar.

Mute Robert smith
    Favourite Robert smith
    Feb 17th 2024, 3:00 PM

@honey badger: They would have had to ask permission from Irelands d to use their airspace.

Mute frank dowling
    Favourite frank dowling
    Feb 17th 2024, 4:06 PM

@Robert smith: don’t be facile!! We don’t have the radar capability to detect them in our airspace .. they and anyone else who has fast jets, can fly around our airspace with impunity.

Mute Paul Fahey
    Favourite Paul Fahey
    Feb 17th 2024, 5:37 PM

@Robert smith: actually we often ask them to do this. There was a documentary about a GB Warship and it featured Russian ships in Irish waters and we asked them to come and help. We should be ashamed at this.

Mute MTB Mayo
    Favourite MTB Mayo
    Feb 19th 2024, 1:54 AM

@Robert smith: …what are we gonna say, “No”? Lol

Mute richard griffin
    Favourite richard griffin
    Feb 17th 2024, 4:37 PM

Hands up for increasing our naval capacity, hands up for investing in fighters, hands up for investing in radar and anti aircraft capabilities… Hands up for paying substantially more taxes to fund it…. Thought not.

Mute Wolfgang Bonow
    Favourite Wolfgang Bonow
    Feb 17th 2024, 5:13 PM

@richard griffin: Almost no one in the comments is talking about significantly increasing the capacity in navy, air or whatever defence.
    This would be a moot point, since we don’t have enough personal for what Ireland does have already, e.g. the Navy and the lack of personal to put the ships on duty.
    The government is wasting away millions/billions every year on NGO’s and whatever fancy projects. Redirecting a few millions is not breaking the bank or will put an additional burden on any taxpayer.
    Let’s see for a start:
    Take the over 70 million (or is it more?) Horse Racing Ireland is getting this year and put it to support and attract personal for the Navy.
    Horse Racing vs. Navy and defence = I know where I would put the money.

Mute Athena
    Favourite Athena
    Feb 17th 2024, 9:03 PM

@Wolfgang Bonow: 95 mio between HRI and the Greyhound crowd for 2024.

Mute tara tevlin
    Favourite tara tevlin
    Feb 17th 2024, 4:38 PM

Need to get that thing OUT asap

Mute ahhhhh Ted...... Tubridys going into comedy
    Favourite ahhhhh Ted...... Tubridys going into comedy
    Feb 17th 2024, 1:50 PM

What are you prepared to forego to have several navy frigates, multi million jet fighters(fuel, man and train and maintain) support logistics, new runways, docks etc, etc.
    And the Brits dutch and French do it for nothing.

Mute Wolfgang Bonow
    Favourite Wolfgang Bonow
    Feb 17th 2024, 2:37 PM

@ahhhhh Ted…… Tubridys going into comedy:
    Ireland don’t need these “multi million jet fighters”, getting the already exiting navy ships manned and in service would be a good start.
    There’s so little left in service, even the navy won’t disclose if they have actually 2 or maybe 3 ships in active service.
    “And the Brits dutch and French do it for nothing.” – Always looking for freebies, aren’t we?

Mute Robert smith
    Favourite Robert smith
    Feb 17th 2024, 3:09 PM

@Wolfgang Bonow: We have the ships we don’t have the personnel the same applies to the Army, the Airforce and the Garda.

Mute Wolfgang Bonow
    Favourite Wolfgang Bonow
    Feb 17th 2024, 3:37 PM

@Robert smith: Why?
    The pay seems not to be that bad from what I found on the web.
    Is it the work conditions? Internal structure problems?
    Or is it that younger generations in general have an issue with taking orders – essential for a functioning army?
    Honest questions, because don’t know.

Mute John Farrant
    Favourite John Farrant
    Feb 17th 2024, 5:55 PM

Since when has he had any contact with reality.
    He lives in a well protected bubble.

Mute Mick Hanna
    Favourite Mick Hanna
    Feb 17th 2024, 4:30 PM

They will never be ready for the lack of foresight on Minister’s behalf is beyond shocking.

Mute John Boyle
    Favourite John Boyle
    Feb 17th 2024, 2:14 PM

It is strange that when the war starts the people that is taking about it always head for the hill or the bunkers and leve the rest to fend for them selves like the son of the leader of Israel sitting safe and .in America

Mute Gerry Lamont
    Favourite Gerry Lamont
    Feb 17th 2024, 2:37 PM

The man is a deluded tool.We rely on the UK to patrol our airspace and in truth our army couldn’t defend our Country if they were paid.

Mute Peter McCormack
    Favourite Peter McCormack
    Feb 17th 2024, 9:15 PM

@Gerry Lamont: Defend our country from whom.
    Ireland has no enemies.
    Having a strong military force will only make a country a target.

Mute Colin L
    Favourite Colin L
    Feb 17th 2024, 9:58 PM

@Peter McCormack: Switzerland has a strong military – why has their strong military not made them a target peter?

Mute Kevin O Brien
    Favourite Kevin O Brien
    Feb 17th 2024, 6:21 PM

The weapons and mass exterminating industry cant wait to get ireland tooled up and into NATO

Mute Damien Leahy
    Favourite Damien Leahy
    Feb 17th 2024, 3:38 PM

Wtf is he smoking? Do we even have radar yet? Luxembourg spend more on security than we do.

Mute Thesaltyurchin
    Favourite Thesaltyurchin
    Feb 17th 2024, 5:05 PM

The irony, where would we get all our new weapons from? Oh the UK. Don’t get fooled into thinking you can be anything except a people’s army. It’s all a con to take your money.

Mute Wolfgang Bonow
    Favourite Wolfgang Bonow
    Feb 17th 2024, 5:21 PM

@Thesaltyurchin: Why is everyone focused on getting “more weapons”?
    The first point would be to get enough personnel to man existing equipment,
    e.g.: the Navy ships.
    Ireland has a couple of ships. 2 are usually on duty right now.
    If it it happens, a 3rd one will be send to some mission.
    Ireland does not “need” fighter jets, battle tanks, or whatever.
    But at least some form of a working Navy to patrol and protect the coast should be considered essential.

Mute Thesaltyurchin
    Favourite Thesaltyurchin
    Feb 18th 2024, 6:37 PM

That’s pretty fair, create more employment opportunities, people would (should) potentially be receptive to that idea.

Mute Mario
    Favourite Mario
    Feb 17th 2024, 4:07 PM

The hypocrisy of how the collective west deals with Russia vs Israel. Also of note is the amount of countries that the US have dropped bombs on. I certainly would not want to be aligned with NATO or an EU army. I do think we need to beef up our own defences to some extent if possible. I don’t believe that Russia has any intention of moving beyond the complex Ukraine situation. However, if NATO are stupid enough to go up against the Russians then there will be no winners. No doubt, in some circles I’ll be branded as Putin sympathiser or whatever.

Mute Wolfgang Bonow
    Favourite Wolfgang Bonow
    Feb 17th 2024, 4:25 PM

@Mario: Sorry, but what is “the complex Ukraine situation” you’re talking about?
    The “Russian minority”?
    No side can win a full blown Russian – NATO conflict.
    However: I believe that the NATO countries bordering Russia or Belarus, like Estonia, Latvia, are more than happy than being happy to be a member of NATO for this very same reason.
    And yes: Your wording of the “complex Ukraine situation” does make you sound a bit like a Putin sympathiser.

Mute Eric
    Favourite Eric
    Feb 17th 2024, 2:41 PM

Talk is cheap, but our days of freeloading are coming to an end. It’s remarkable how little respect we have for our own sovereignty and hard-won independence considering we lack credible air, sea and land defenses, but we’ve fudged the issue of military alignment since the foundation of the State, relying on genuflection towards neighbouring countries and the US as well as our small size and relative obscurity to deflect attention away from us and it’s no longer sustainable.

Mute Paul Fahey
    Favourite Paul Fahey
    Feb 17th 2024, 5:40 PM

@Eric: what independence do we really have? We are reliant on a small number of countries for almost everything.

Mute A F
    Favourite A F
    Feb 17th 2024, 1:36 PM

There’s no way I’m signing up for any of these ‘scam’ wars. And for the idiots in this comment section, put your money where your mouth is and sign up to the British army or head over to the Ukraine instead of mouthing off here!

Mute Tom Dillon
    Favourite Tom Dillon
    Feb 17th 2024, 1:45 PM

@A F: ‘Signing up’? What do you mean?

Mute Midnight Mechanic
    Favourite Midnight Mechanic
    Feb 17th 2024, 2:10 PM

@A F: well said, the keyboard warriors on here need to get out on the front lines and show their mettle

Mute Sean O'Dhubhghaill
    Favourite Sean O'Dhubhghaill
    Feb 17th 2024, 1:34 PM

Those who decry our inability to defend ourselves are, I assume, in favour of an EU defence force?

Mute Paul Fahey
    Favourite Paul Fahey
    Feb 17th 2024, 5:39 PM

@Sean O’Dhubhghaill: why do they have to be in favour of that, they are not the same.

Mute Damien Leahy
    Favourite Damien Leahy
    Feb 17th 2024, 3:40 PM

Wasn’t it the royal Air force that was called when we had Russian Jets in our airspace leo not 2 years ago

Mute Jonny Byrne
    Favourite Jonny Byrne
    Feb 17th 2024, 2:05 PM

The last 20 articles the journal put up, you can only comment on two, good job

Mute Tom Dillon
    Favourite Tom Dillon
    Feb 17th 2024, 2:08 PM

@Jonny Byrne: A shame if all yours would be as insightful as this one.

Mute John Terry
    Favourite John Terry
    Feb 17th 2024, 1:31 PM

And if we were to spend billions(and that’s what we are talking about)the same people would be whinging about the waste of money…..and ‘how many houses would you get for that’?….damned if they do or don’t.

Mute Diarmuid Hunt
    Favourite Diarmuid Hunt
    Feb 17th 2024, 3:01 PM

@John Terry: Personally I’d rather the money spent on housing rather than defence. Our need for housing is much greater than our need for defence. We are on the peripherary of Europe and despite anything Leo says we are protected by the UK. The circumstances are what they are, we should take advantage of them.

Mute Wolfgang Bonow
    Favourite Wolfgang Bonow
    Feb 17th 2024, 3:52 PM

@Diarmuid Hunt: So, Ireland is free-loading of the UK (and other EU countries) and that’s fine with you?
    “The circumstances are what they are” – they are not.
    At least, Ireland should ensure to have what it has (navy ships) fully in service.

Mute Thesaltyurchin
    Favourite Thesaltyurchin
    Feb 17th 2024, 5:04 PM

@Wolfgang Bonow: Don’t get suckered into the arms race. Any global power who wants to take this place can do so in the morning regardless of how many ‘navy ships’ we have ffs. Ridiculous bs. It’s more provocative to have them.

Mute Wolfgang Bonow
    Favourite Wolfgang Bonow
    Feb 17th 2024, 5:37 PM

@Thesaltyurchin:
    I don’t think that I’m suckered in the arms race.
    If someone is slapping me in the face, I rather have him/her to believe that I will punch him back instead he/she thinks I’m handing out flowers.
    I might/will lose, but rolling over before something might even happen seems to be a poor choice of defence.

Mute Diarmuid Hunt
    Favourite Diarmuid Hunt
    Feb 17th 2024, 6:43 PM

@Wolfgang Bonow: It’s bsolutely fine with me, every nation plays to it’s advantages/opportunities. The circumstances aren’t what they are? – I think you’re going to have to check your logic on that one or elaborate. We should have some level of naval force and airforce but we should be smart/careful about how much we dedicate to them in our situation.

Mute Thesaltyurchin
    Favourite Thesaltyurchin
    Feb 18th 2024, 6:44 PM

@Wolfgang Bonow: That’s not really a fair comparison, but I agree with your earlier sentiment (above) I was leaning into this heavily the first time around, but you don’t have to do either. It’s not one or the other, like what are the logical outcomes after all the variables have been considered? If any larger nation wants to do that, it can. BUT they need to understand that the ‘punch back’ happens over hundreds of years of hate and terrorism.

Mute Brendan Fitzsimons
    Favourite Brendan Fitzsimons
    Feb 17th 2024, 5:45 PM

There would be no threat if we hadn’t decided to declare economic war on Russia. England/Britain is the only country to invade us since the Vikings.

They committed serial genocides, physical and cultural here, yet we thing Russia is the problem?

Crazy.

Mute Wolfgang Bonow
    Favourite Wolfgang Bonow
    Feb 17th 2024, 6:00 PM

@Brendan Fitzsimons:
    Ireland is not an insulated island in Europe or the world.
    A lot of vital infrastructure is going out of Ireland, like the undersea cables.
    You want to hit the US – European trade = you hit these cables.
    There’s your threat.
    We can argue all day long about what happened in the past, what the US or the UK did, but that’s not changing the current issue.
    Remember 9/11, when flights were suspended and the impact of the stock trading and other?
    Now imagine if the internet, all trading, banking, over the internet is down between
    the US and Europe for for a day or more.
    I’m sure, or at least hope, there’s some limited backup in place, but the impact would be massive.
    So, because Ireland is geographical at the corner of Europe, this doesn’t make it a less of a target. At least, that’s what I think.

Mute Diarmuid Hunt
    Favourite Diarmuid Hunt
    Feb 17th 2024, 6:46 PM

@Wolfgang Bonow: So we should be responsible for US-EU undersea cables because our land was used to make it easier/feasible? Surely if it is that important then everyone would have an interest in them being protected and it wouldn’t be up to just the Irish Navy…

Mute Thesaltyurchin
    Favourite Thesaltyurchin
    Feb 18th 2024, 6:45 PM

@Brendan Fitzsimons: Bro we’re pirates. We would 100% do deal with Russia before anything would happen lol

Mute Fran Mooney
    Favourite Fran Mooney
    Feb 17th 2024, 3:16 PM

Why dont the the jounal fact check,or do they not want to prove he is a liar

Mute AnthonyK
    Favourite AnthonyK
    Feb 17th 2024, 3:33 PM

We are wholly reliant on other countries to come to our aide should any threat appear.

Mute Fran Mooney
    Favourite Fran Mooney
    Feb 17th 2024, 3:19 PM

Why dont the journal fact check it,or does it not want to prove he is a liar

Mute Matt Rogers
    Favourite Matt Rogers
    Feb 17th 2024, 2:19 PM

Yeah deffo guys The only solution is for Ireland to develop an independent nuclear deterrent !!!WTF

Mute Biddy Shea
    Favourite Biddy Shea
    Feb 17th 2024, 8:04 PM

In order to have a secure form of neutrality, Ireland really needs to invest in a much bigger and better equipped Army and Navy – as soon as possible !! No delays, just get it done !! Warships, tanks, manpower, womanpower, radar – NOW !!

Mute Fred Coloe
    Favourite Fred Coloe
    Feb 17th 2024, 8:08 PM

Every time, almost, when he opens his mouth, nonsense pours forth! We don’t have an air force. 6 of our 8 navy ships can’t be staffed and we don’t even have a radar to monitor our own air space!! What is wrong with this man??

Mute Robbie Masterson
    Favourite Robbie Masterson
    Feb 17th 2024, 10:42 PM

Mr Varakar is defensive of successive Irish Governments running the Defence Forces into the ground to the point of been operationally unable to fulfil their role. He may hide behind rethoric and deflection but the reality is what it is, Ireland has no meaningful defense no matter what he says. We as a nation need to seriously rethink our attitude to our own defense and be prepared to fund and resource the Defence Forces to do so. Or we can continue to believe we’re grand !.

Mute Michael James Brennan
    Favourite Michael James Brennan
    Feb 17th 2024, 2:47 PM

Who asked the question ?Bad reporting yet again.

Mute Brendan O'Shaughnessy
    Favourite Brendan O'Shaughnessy
    Feb 17th 2024, 8:33 PM

An Irish solution to Irish problem

Mute Andy Preneur
    Favourite Andy Preneur
    Feb 17th 2024, 8:05 PM

Other than themselves the British would never allow any other country to invade Ireland

Mute Éanna o Sca
    Favourite Éanna o Sca
    Feb 17th 2024, 7:31 PM

Rely on a few Cessnas out in baldonnel?

Mute Harry Whelks
    Favourite Harry Whelks
    Feb 18th 2024, 8:57 AM

Varadkar denies grass is green and water is wet.

Mute Alan Dunne
    Favourite Alan Dunne
    Feb 17th 2024, 10:01 PM

Why tell a Blatant Lie Leo ????

Mute Stevie Doran
    Favourite Stevie Doran
    Feb 17th 2024, 4:48 PM

Yeah but like they’ll hardly leave us hanging

Mute Tony Humphreys
    Favourite Tony Humphreys
    Feb 17th 2024, 7:21 PM

The UK and others should just stop protecting international companies assets where they are registered in Ireland. These companies are in Ireland for the miniscule tax. Pay a ‘eurosaver’ price and get a eurosaver service.
    If they want their international infrastructure protected, then domicile your companies in a NATO, G7 or Five Eyes country, and pay the tax that pays for a proper level of international protection. They cant (but do) have it both ways.

Mute Cormac Garvey
    Favourite Cormac Garvey
    Feb 18th 2024, 11:52 AM

Oh my God, biggest mistake of his career. The UK does protect us and the fact that he will not officially recognize and be grateful for UK support is now going to result in Ireland getting thought a lesson next time Russia comes calling. He is completely out of step with UK (our most important relationship by far) ,EU,NATO,US. He is going to have to apologize for this one. Fast.He understands nothing about the English if he thinks they will let this slight slide.

Mute Éanna o Sca
    Favourite Éanna o Sca
    Feb 18th 2024, 1:03 PM

@Cormac Garvey: get this clown out of government – he’s an embarrassment.

Mute Max
    Favourite Max
    Feb 17th 2024, 7:08 PM

Don’t do it, Bibi. Bibi will ignore Biden.

Mute MTB Mayo
    Favourite MTB Mayo
    Feb 19th 2024, 1:52 AM

We will run screaming to NATO headquarters begging to join the day an undersea cable gets cut. The Russians know exactly where they all are. We really need to be in NATO.

Mute Elizabeth Doyle
    Favourite Elizabeth Doyle
    Feb 19th 2024, 7:53 AM

Sure he can rely on the Bantry fishermen to patrol the South West Coast ,didn’t they see the Russians off !!!!!!

Mute MTB Mayo
    Favourite MTB Mayo
    Feb 19th 2024, 1:51 AM

…he’s right. We rely on the US.