You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Stress via Shutterstock

HSE and GAA join forces to offer 'practical ways' to deal with stress

Organisers say it is Ireland’s first sport and health partnership to help combat stress in the local community.

THE HEALTH SERVICE Executive (HSE) and the GAA will launch a joint initiative aimed at helping people cope with stress without having to visit their doctor later this week.

Mental Health Minister Kathleen Lynch will launch the joint initiative on Wednesday with GAA clubs in Midleton and St Finbarr’s in Cork who will run ‘Stress Control’ courses over the course of six weeks from the end of January.

Organisers say it is Ireland’s first sport and health partnership to help combat stress in the community with the aim of bringing information to people through their GAA Club, rather than them having to go to their doctor or local healthcare facility.

The free course is open to anyone over 18 and interested in learning how to manage stress.

‘Stress Control’ is a technique designed by Jim White, a clinical psychologist based in Scotland, and has been run in England and Ireland in recent years.

Classes will deal with a different topic each week and will teach skills to control stress and anxiety and offer solutions to sleep problems.

“When stress gets a grip it can affect how we think and feel, what we do or don’t do, it can affect our sleep and it can interfere with home life, work life and with our social lives,” Dr Jennifer Hayes, a principal psychologist with the HSE South, said.

“This course is open to anybody who is currently experiencing stress or interested in learning how to manage stress better and therefore improve their quality of life.”

Pearse McCarthy, project leader of the Midleton GAA Healthy Club, said that the GAA has identified a significant need for a practical course such as ‘Stress Control’.

“The course is also beneficial in instances where people are not sure what the cause of their stress is, which is a common experience for many,” he said.

“The benefits of sports and exercise are evident in many research studies; hence the GAA can play an important role in tackling stress.”

Courses will run weekly from 29 January to 5 March. For more information you can email CorkBeatsStress@hse.ie or call 086 787 1016

Read: People with a genetic history of stress feel more pain – study

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

6 Comments
    Mute Kieran Monaghan
    Favourite Kieran Monaghan
    Jun 18th 2020, 3:43 PM

Tell Faite Ireland to take a hike. Never seen any of them in an locals pub

Mute Rochey77
    Favourite Rochey77
    Jun 18th 2020, 3:56 PM

@Kieran Monaghan: They go undercover. And they know you. They have you on a list of ‘not great’.

Mute Canyon
    Favourite Canyon
    Jun 18th 2020, 4:10 PM

@Kieran Monaghan: second wave coming to a town near you….

Mute Tomás Tiernan
    Favourite Tomás Tiernan
    Jun 18th 2020, 4:36 PM

@Canyon: thanks dr Canyon

Mute Charles Coughlan
    Favourite Charles Coughlan
    Jun 18th 2020, 4:40 PM
    Mute Tomás Tiernan
    Favourite Tomás Tiernan
    Jun 18th 2020, 5:03 PM

@Charles Coughlan: thats america not ireland!!

Mute Charles Coughlan
    Favourite Charles Coughlan
    Jun 18th 2020, 5:17 PM

@Tomás Tiernan: That’s America, could be Ireland you mean.

Mute Lily Martin
    Favourite Lily Martin
    Jun 18th 2020, 5:43 PM

@Tomás Tiernan: do you think we are somehow more resistant to the virus? Covid doesn’t know whether it’s in America, Ireland or the moon.

Mute Canyon
    Favourite Canyon
    Jun 18th 2020, 5:55 PM

@Tomás Tiernan: don’t need to be a Dr to figure these things out….I’m not a pilot either but I know a plane won’t fly if the wings are missing.

Mute John Egan
    Favourite John Egan
    Jun 18th 2020, 4:01 PM

Why in the F is Failte Ireland (a tourism trade organization) making decisions on businesses who’s main trade for the next few months will be their local community and not tourism.

Mute Gisele Mansfield
    Favourite Gisele Mansfield
    Jun 18th 2020, 6:20 PM

@John Egan: It may seem that way, however Failte Ireland promote Ireland to the Irish tourist i.e. they want you to holiday in Ireland as well as supporting industry in developing a product to attract an international toourist and so therfore want pubs, restaurants, attractions etc to open to cater for this market, especially as Ireland will have no international visitors this summer. Restaurants and pubs are members of FI and so expect that support.

Mute Margaret Doyle
    Favourite Margaret Doyle
    Jun 18th 2020, 6:34 PM

@Gisele Mansfield: I’ve yet to hear of anyone holidaying in Crumlin Dublin 12. Only locals use local pubs and most of them don’t serve food.

Mute Dave Hammond
    Favourite Dave Hammond
    Jun 18th 2020, 9:38 PM

@Gisele Mansfield: True for a % of the pub trade – but our country is more than a tourist ‘product’ and most of these so called experts are marketeers who specialise in making attractive TV commercials to attract visitors from overseas and build a brand image for Ireland. They haven’t a clue about running the SMEs and shouldnt be allowed within an arses roar of decisions and management of reopening and getting our lives back – this increasingly nanny state ham fisted reopening is wearing very very thin on a LOT of people who have tolerated a LOT of horseshit* these past few months – need to look to Germany or some other intelligent countries who have managed to reopen hospitality without the need for making an evening out seem like 1984 complete with no music but regular public announcements need to made to remind people of the advice and guidelines – jesus wept im losing the will to live listening to their horseshite.

Mute Gisele Mansfield
    Jun 18th 2020, 9:58 PM

@Margaret Doyle: if they don’t serve food then they are outside the remit of FI in this particular article. Regardless of where the pub is situated.

Mute Gisele Mansfield
    Jun 18th 2020, 10:04 PM

@Dave Hammond: true. But this article has picked up on comments made by a FI spokesperson and so relates to our tourist product. I agree we need to look to other countries and learn from them, however the pub culture in some European countries is very different to Ireland.

I was thinking that the pub will be more like a restaurant. One of the pubs local to me serves food from breakfast to 9pm in normal times. On a Sunday evening there are lots of people enjoying some food and drinks, staying ab hour or two and then heading home. That’s what I’m imagining… but maybe not.

Mute Eugene Tyson
    Favourite Eugene Tyson
    Jun 18th 2020, 3:49 PM

105 minutes – that’s at least 21 pints.

Mute Lester Jeffcoat
    Favourite Lester Jeffcoat
    Jun 18th 2020, 4:46 PM

@Eugene Tyson:And an aul package of crips.

Mute Tommy Berry
    Favourite Tommy Berry
    Jun 18th 2020, 5:23 PM

@Eugene Tyson: Lightweight.

Mute Margaret Kane
    Favourite Margaret Kane

This virus is all about control and boy are they milking it

Mute Dave Harris
    Favourite Dave Harris
    Jun 18th 2020, 5:30 PM

@Margaret Kane: Control? So you think somebody or something set this virus upon us to control us?

Mute Lily Martin
    Favourite Lily Martin
    Jun 18th 2020, 5:47 PM

@Margaret Kane: who are ‘they’? What genius organisation is behind this? Government, NPHET, HSE?

Mute Dave Hammond
    Favourite Dave Hammond
    Jun 18th 2020, 9:41 PM

@Dave Harris: no but they are definitely milking the opportunity for Nanny State Ireland – the fact they are trying to explain that you can have 1 metre as long as you pay 9 euro but can’t open with less than 2 metres if you don’t is evidence enough for me they are full of shi*.

Mute Rochey77
    Favourite Rochey77
    Jun 18th 2020, 3:59 PM

105 minutes. Who comes up with this stuff? This is Ireland, at 105 minutes we’ll be playing swap the fake moustache and order another round. In all seriousness, if the prospect of whats on offer is no craic whatsoever, people won’t go. I understand the necessity, but nobody wants their leisure time to be on the clock. Except for birthday sex, obviously.

Mute Canyon
    Favourite Canyon
    Jun 18th 2020, 4:09 PM

@Rochey77: 90minute soccer game plus 15min half time break =105 mins

Mute Declan Carty
    Favourite Declan Carty
    Jun 18th 2020, 4:24 PM

@Rochey77: ‘people won’t go’ -
    some got up at 3am to q thru the night for Penneys !!!!!

Mute The next small thing
    Favourite The next small thing
    Jun 18th 2020, 4:33 PM

@Canyon: Hope there isn’t much injury time :-) better off giving the first 10 minutes a miss

Mute Lochlainn Marcus
    Favourite Lochlainn Marcus
    Jun 18th 2020, 3:51 PM

I heard that interview with that Tara wan and honestly she didn’t know what she was talking about! She was unable to answer questions put to her by the presenter, she hummed and hawwwed and confused herself. She really doesn’t know anything so I certainly wouldn’t be listening to this!!

Mute Brian McHale-Boyle
    Favourite Brian McHale-Boyle
    Jun 18th 2020, 3:53 PM

I’ll have the chicken curry. Hold the rice. Hold the chicken. Hold the curry. And 6 of your finest pints as well, please.

Mute sandra clifford
    Favourite sandra clifford
    Jun 18th 2020, 3:59 PM

No thanks I’ll pass on that one

Mute John Whyte
    Favourite John Whyte
    Jun 18th 2020, 8:04 PM

As a publican who operates a small local pub where the regulars are like family and call in for a chat and the craic with their friends how can I be expected to tell them , sorry you must book a table and get out after 105 mins or any other timeframe , sur most of them are only getting settled in by then . Then you have the lads who come in on their own , sit at the bar and chat with myself or whoever is working . How do I tell them you can no longer sit at the bar . We won best local pub a couple of years ago because we treated the customers like family . What they are asking us to do now is not just going to be super costly for my business but also not how I want to treat my customers without whom I have no business . Common sense needs to prevail or goodbye The Local Pub .

Mute Oracle Steve
    Favourite Oracle Steve
    Jun 19th 2020, 7:23 AM

@John Whyte: you don’t. Just ignore this nanny state crap and run your business

Mute Joe Moore
    Favourite Joe Moore
    Jun 19th 2020, 2:12 PM

@John Whyte: Just run your business as normal. You don’t have a choice sir! You need to do this. We have been controlled enough. They are preying on people’s freedom at this stage I don’t care what anyone says.

Mute Thomas Corrigan
    Favourite Thomas Corrigan
    Jun 18th 2020, 4:33 PM

105 Minutes. What happens when it goes into Extra Time. / Penalties

Mute pat seery
    Favourite pat seery
    Jun 18th 2020, 6:00 PM

Is Board Failte the Now Dep of Health

Mute Dave Hammond
    Favourite Dave Hammond
    Jun 18th 2020, 9:44 PM

@pat seery: i was surprised that this wasn’t really questioned by the media – who. decided these quangoes can start having a say in how we live our lives – they are experienced marketeers that spend money on glossy tv ads to build brand Ireland to american muppets – they havent a bulls notion about anything else.

Mute James Keane
    Favourite James Keane
    Jun 18th 2020, 5:26 PM

I’ll just wait until 20th July….Yeesh

Mute Delta Ball
    Favourite Delta Ball
    Jun 18th 2020, 4:20 PM

I’ll have that chicken Kiev take away in 2 hours. Also can you have a taxi ready. Now let’s start drinking for a couple of hours.

Mute MollyMsalone
    Favourite MollyMsalone

Define a substantial meal.

Mute Logan Shepherd
    Favourite Logan Shepherd
    Jun 18th 2020, 5:15 PM

@MollyMsalone: Define substantial, and I’ll have a go.

Mute Brian Burke
    Favourite Brian Burke
    Jun 18th 2020, 5:24 PM

@MollyMsalone: they already have. A meal that you’d expect as a main course to a midday or evening meal of, at least, 9 euro value

Mute Paul Mcnevin
    Favourite Paul Mcnevin
    Jun 19th 2020, 9:43 AM

@MollyMsalone: 6 Guinness.

Mute Liam Meade
    Favourite Liam Meade
    Jun 18th 2020, 7:26 PM

all the places where people gather they are trying to keep people apart so let’s open the feckin pubs add the demon drink so the vintners can pay their Bill’s and turn pubs into hug a rama remember the mayor from jaws ( theirs still July it’s only a shark we will put more life guards on )
    jaws 2 was rubbish however (Covid the return) will be a real bleedin disaster..

Mute Sean Fahey
    Favourite Sean Fahey
    Jun 19th 2020, 12:38 AM

So it’s settled. We’re going on a pub crawl with a shepherds pie for the table.

Mute Sean O Callaghan
    Favourite Sean O Callaghan
    Jun 19th 2020, 3:20 AM

Ah jaysus, how the fupp are we expected to ate the dinner, drink 6 pints, and have a game of 45 in 105 minutes?
    FO FI.
    Preferred yiz when ye were “Bored” Failte.