You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

This ice cream man got himself into a sticky situation on a Donegal beach

Life’s a beach.

THIS POOR ICE Cream man.

Surfers Bar in Rossnowlagh, Donegal, spotted this unfortunate soul in the sand. Seems that nice spot of weather distracted him to the point of no return.

DONE Surfers Bar Rossnowlagh Surfers Bar Rossnowlagh

The real winner here is Surfers’ Bar caption on Facebook.

He’s got 99 problems..

Well, a beach is most definitely one.

While many claim they helped (and failed) to push the truck out and got free ice creams for their effort, it seems Mr Whippy eventually did get out of the moist mess, with one commenter saying: “We were there ….tractor saved the day !!!”

Originally written by Nicola Byrne and published on DailyEdge.ie. 

de-14

This Galway pub had the best possible response to the glorious weather>

RTÉ weather gave us all an unnecessary geography lesson>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

18 Comments
    Mute ian110664
    Favourite ian110664
    Mar 22nd 2016, 8:48 AM

Hopefully anyone responsible is caught and locked up. They want death but I would prefer them alive to witness the eventual fall of ISIL. I want them to know the cause they were willing to die for is a failure and will be a regrettable footnote in history.

Mute Conor O'Neill
    Favourite Conor O'Neill
    Mar 22nd 2016, 8:58 AM

Need boots on ground to defeat Isis . They can’t be reasoned with

Mute Marg murphy
    Favourite Marg murphy
    Mar 22nd 2016, 9:12 AM

No, I’d prefer death. To all of them and deportation to their sympathisers of whom make no mistake, there are hundreds of thousands on European soil.

Mute Vincent Wallace
    Favourite Vincent Wallace
    Mar 22nd 2016, 2:21 PM

Who’s boots do you propose? Let me guess expecting uncle sam to come to Europe’s rescue and forfeit their young men and womens lives yet again. Sure why don’t you go over there and do it?

Mute callanan
    Favourite callanan
    Mar 22nd 2016, 6:18 PM

Uncle Sam was not to fast to enter the war in Europe. They joined the war in December 1941 only after they got attacked themselves by the Japanese. 2 years and 3 months later!!!

Mute ian110664
    Favourite ian110664
    Mar 22nd 2016, 9:14 AM

Merkel, what have you created?

Mute Brendan Greene
    Favourite Brendan Greene
    Mar 22nd 2016, 9:30 AM

Blair and Bush what did you create?

Mute Mike Cantwell
    Favourite Mike Cantwell
    Mar 22nd 2016, 9:33 AM

Get your justifications ready Brendan good man

Mute Scarr
    Favourite Scarr
    Mar 22nd 2016, 10:13 AM

Please elaborate Brendan

Mute TTIP McGowan
    Favourite TTIP McGowan
    Mar 22nd 2016, 10:29 AM

@Scarr if you look into the history of the West interfering in the Middle East’s business you will see how ISIS is a reaction to these actions.

Mute Jason Culligan
    Favourite Jason Culligan
    Mar 22nd 2016, 2:41 PM

TTIP, Daesh is not a response to Western actions. The last 80 years are the first time in history where there hasn’t been a large Muslim Caliphate in the Middle East for a long period of time. There’s always been a large theocratic dictatorship at the helm of Islam since it’s foundation (hell the Quran is basically an account of the creation of the First Caliphate).

Mute Scarr
    Favourite Scarr
    Mar 22nd 2016, 9:14 AM

Islam in Europe needs to be managed and quickly.

Mute Diarmuid Lenihan
    Favourite Diarmuid Lenihan
    Mar 22nd 2016, 9:29 AM

It needs to be eradicated

Mute Antonov Merinov
    Favourite Antonov Merinov
    Mar 22nd 2016, 2:14 PM

Islam has no belonging in western civilization.
    The recent events as well as history are proof of that.

Mute Red Marauder
    Favourite Red Marauder
    Mar 22nd 2016, 2:16 PM

it is not the entire religion at fault , only the orthodox stream

Mute Patrick J. O'Rourke
    Favourite Patrick J. O'Rourke
    Mar 22nd 2016, 2:56 PM

I’m no prophet but my money is on internment and/or mass deportations within five years. I’m not advocating anything, just crystal ball gazing. Solutions to this problem, whatever they are, can only be unpalatable to many people.

Mute Michael Collins
    Favourite Michael Collins
    Mar 22nd 2016, 3:10 PM

Religion is the problem

Mute Juan Venegas
    Favourite Juan Venegas
    Mar 22nd 2016, 5:02 PM

It needs to be declared a cult and be made illegal. The practices are those of a cult. Just like Catholic practices from 1000 years ago were those of a cult. We need to do with Islam what Germany did with Scientology, ban it, plain and simple. If you are a migrant and want to live in the west you must choose, Islam or western society, the two together can’t co-exist and you can’t have the best of both worlds, not any more.

Mute Tony Stanley
    Favourite Tony Stanley
    Mar 22nd 2016, 5:37 PM

Stop talking shite lads

Mute Mick Power
    Favourite Mick Power
    Mar 22nd 2016, 9:17 AM

This is going to change the way you even get into airports now

Mute Lily
    Favourite Lily
    Mar 22nd 2016, 9:37 AM

You can drive up to the door of our airports. One could easily drive into the airport, straight through the glass. Don’t pass a single security check.

Mute Mick Power
    Favourite Mick Power
    Mar 22nd 2016, 9:47 AM

You could set off a bomb at security before you go through, there’s always a big crowd packed in

Mute Archangel72
    Favourite Archangel72
    Mar 22nd 2016, 11:09 AM

That’s what they want, create havoc amongst heavily populated areas. They won’t get past security to get on a plane but they can get to a departure lounge when packed without passing security.
    I see Israeli security measures next where everyone is checked before entering any airport building. Causing delays and probably more expensive flights in return.
    Belgium hasn’t gone far enough with migrants; ignored them for decades, never stepped up when shit hit the fan, even police dodged certain areas of Brussels. No grip whatsoever on what has been going on with them No extra police capacity when required, just shifting personnel from one place to another.
    Unfortunately this is far from the end I’m afraid. Let’s hope (left wing) politicians will see the light, finally.

Mute Tony Stanley
    Favourite Tony Stanley
    Mar 22nd 2016, 5:35 PM

Archangel! Sorry but you’re wrong about Israeli airports. Ben Gurion you still gain access to the terminal building before you start the security process! Still enough space and time to cause damage!

Let’s not forget that up until 1999 all passengers entering Dublin Cork and Shannon airports (and indeed later than 1999 up north) underwent a security check before entering the checkin and arrivals areas from outside.

It’s been done before but IMHO not going to solve the problem. It’s a logic that would have to be applied to any area the public congregate including train stations, bus stops, cinemas, restaurants, anywhere really!

Mute Sinead Fortune
    Favourite Sinead Fortune
    Mar 23rd 2016, 12:25 AM

I flew through Ben Gurion in October, bags scanned on the way in the front door, questioned while in check in queue and pulled out of security queue to have bags swabbed for explosives & questioned again. Comparing this to JFK a few years ago when going through security set off metal detectors & wasn’t even asked to remove heavy boots, Israels security is very tight & so it should be. Europe could learn a lot!!

Mute Moderate Michael
    Favourite Moderate Michael
    Mar 22nd 2016, 8:51 AM

Just another day in the New Europe

Mute Alfie Bonney
    Favourite Alfie Bonney
    Mar 22nd 2016, 9:55 AM

Vermin Muslims are at it again, they need to be wiped out, they get refuge in safe countries and then rape the women or blow the place up, tramps the lot of them

Mute TheBull
    Favourite TheBull
    Mar 22nd 2016, 9:40 AM

Islam should be put down like the disease that it is.

Mute Kenneth Bailey
    Favourite Kenneth Bailey
    Mar 22nd 2016, 10:53 AM

I wonder how the treasonous open border anarchists in the EU are feeling right now. Maybe this will make them realise how f$#king stupid they are?

Mute David Clarke
    Favourite David Clarke
    Mar 22nd 2016, 10:01 AM

This could be a game changer how dare they bomb the elite and their place of work bring the Kurds over they’re the only one who are bringing the fight to them and winning

Mute Jason Culligan
    Favourite Jason Culligan
    Mar 22nd 2016, 2:38 PM

You mean with all those American weapons which they’ve been given to the anger of Turkey.

Mute Scarr
    Favourite Scarr
    Mar 22nd 2016, 9:06 AM

Two explosions at airport – Three explosions at metro – 11 killed, dozens wounded – City in lock-down, country on terror alert Explosions also near EU building.

Mute Mark Gormley
    Favourite Mark Gormley
    Mar 22nd 2016, 8:50 AM

That’s local time in Brussels, Amsterdam etc etc Kieran.

Mute Kenneth Bailey
    Favourite Kenneth Bailey
    Mar 22nd 2016, 11:04 AM

I wonder how the open border anarchists in the EU are feeling right now? Maybe this will wake them up a little bit as to how short sighted and totally f#$&ing stupid they have been!

Mute Kay English Curtin
    Favourite Kay English Curtin
    Mar 22nd 2016, 8:56 AM

8am local time is 7am here they are an hour ahead

Mute ian110664
    Favourite ian110664
    Mar 22nd 2016, 11:33 AM

Hard, rational, calculated polices stripped of hubris, self-pity and racist clap-trap are what we need now.

Mute Peter Fechter
    Favourite Peter Fechter
    Mar 22nd 2016, 12:10 PM

Its only a matter of time before some attention seeking irish “politician” describes this atrocity as a “tragedy”…

Mute Peter Fechter
    Favourite Peter Fechter
    Mar 22nd 2016, 2:05 PM

Edna was pipped at the post by Rte news at 1…rte referred to the bombings as a “tragedy”…edna said it was “tragic”…so just unlucky for the 34 dead…

Mute Val Rossi
    Favourite Val Rossi
    Mar 22nd 2016, 9:01 AM

Need boats in the water – to get more of them over here.

Mute Kieran Shields
    Favourite Kieran Shields
    Mar 22nd 2016, 8:48 AM

9am Irish time??? It’s not nine yet.

Mute Yvonne Gavican
    Favourite Yvonne Gavican
    Mar 22nd 2016, 8:58 AM

Time it arrived in BRU

Mute Peter Fechter
    Favourite Peter Fechter
    Mar 22nd 2016, 2:33 PM

Its not so much an invasion as an inside job…

Mute Kenneth Bailey
    Favourite Kenneth Bailey
    Mar 22nd 2016, 1:36 PM

they can be stopped and they will be defeated !!

Mute Sean og S
    Favourite Sean og S
    Mar 22nd 2016, 3:32 PM

When will people wake fu##in up. Open boarders is ruining Europe. Not all Muslims are terrorists but 99% of terrorists are Muslim!

Mute Has-an
    Favourite Has-an
    Mar 22nd 2016, 9:24 AM

This an evil attack to the innocent people and nothing related to religious.

Mute Shane Manton
    Favourite Shane Manton
    Mar 22nd 2016, 9:33 AM

Nothing to do with religion! Pull the other one mate! This has everything to do with religion

Mute Mike Cantwell
    Favourite Mike Cantwell
    Mar 22nd 2016, 9:40 AM

In has everything to do with a medieval barbaric belief system that goes by the name Islam and as long as we have apologists who expect us to ‘ understand ‘ to ‘accommodate ‘ we can expect more of the same throughout Europe , I find it hard to believe that the Belgians did not know what was growing in Molenbeek , can we be confident that we in Ireland know what’s happening in our ‘ new communities ‘ ! I fear not

Mute Kate Flaherty
    Favourite Kate Flaherty
    Mar 22nd 2016, 1:59 PM

Well said Mike!

Mute William Boyd
    Favourite William Boyd
    Mar 22nd 2016, 2:09 PM

Mike the same faces will be one regurgitating the same old BS apologist rhetoric even after the next inevitable attack possibly Berlin or Stockholm?.

Mute John Kelly
    Favourite John Kelly
    Mar 22nd 2016, 2:23 PM

fu#ck off Has-an

Mute Peter Fechter
    Favourite Peter Fechter
    Mar 22nd 2016, 12:31 PM

They cant be stopped.they cant be defeated.atrocities such as these just further incite and encourage other wahabbi jihadis.

Mute John Kelly
    Favourite John Kelly
    Mar 22nd 2016, 2:21 PM

oh Peter Peter Peter…europe defeated islam before and it will do it again. Islam will never take over europe.

Mute Peter Fechter
    Favourite Peter Fechter
    Mar 22nd 2016, 2:32 PM

John…i hope you are right and im totally wrong…but,the ottoman empire didnt have the european court of human rights to consolidate their gains,herr sutherland as their advocate,herr merkel as their gatekeeper….or any of the myriad of state funded migrants rights quangos (charities)? to guide them through Europe.

Mute john
    Favourite john
    Mar 22nd 2016, 3:12 PM

How long are European countries going to put up with this ! Thoughts and prayers are not working ministers we need action , Europe needs to gets tough with these radicals before there are any more innocent people killed .

Mute Philip Gerard
    Favourite Philip Gerard
    Mar 22nd 2016, 3:22 PM

Prayers never work, and those institutions that brought us praying are also responsible for these actions.

Mute Brandon McGrane
    Favourite Brandon McGrane
    Mar 22nd 2016, 10:01 AM

Was Joan burton in Brussels today by any chance ??

Mute Diarmuid
    Favourite Diarmuid
    Mar 22nd 2016, 10:06 AM

Muppet.

Mute Brandon McGrane
    Favourite Brandon McGrane
    Mar 22nd 2016, 10:37 AM

Acting the monkey.. Oh wait

Mute Owen McDermott
    Favourite Owen McDermott
    Mar 22nd 2016, 9:01 AM

Thank Allah not more innocent people were injured or killed!

Mute Noel
    Favourite Noel
    Mar 22nd 2016, 8:50 AM

Surely you mean 6am or 7am Irish time? As it ain’t 9 yet and they happened a good bit before 8

Mute Michael Collins
    Favourite Michael Collins
    Mar 22nd 2016, 3:12 PM

It’s not the open border it’s people who beleive in imaginary God’s

Mute Thomas Quinn
    Favourite Thomas Quinn
    Mar 22nd 2016, 2:47 PM

That’s your reaction to this??? D@I”%h£?d

Mute Thomas Quinn
    Favourite Thomas Quinn
    Mar 22nd 2016, 2:50 PM

That’s your reaction to this???. Media de-sensitisation is hopefully responsible for you lack of empathy.

Mute smart cat
    Favourite smart cat
    Mar 22nd 2016, 9:03 AM

Europe needs to get tough with these fanatics !!!. Increase bombing then in there holes in the middle east