You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Deirdre O'Kane Sasko Lazarov/Photocall Ireland

Host Deirdre O'Kane 'up for' actresses wearing black against sexism at this year's IFTAs

The awards will take place on 15 February and O’Kane will host the event.

THE HOST OF this year’s Irish Film and Television Academy awards (IFTAs), Deirdre O’Kane, has said she’s open to wearing black in solidarity with women against sexual misconduct in the film world.

At last weekend’s Golden Globe awards, female actors wore black to show they were part of the Time’s Up movement. It was set up by women in Hollywood, and is about showing that “the clock has run out on sexual assault, harassment and inequality in the workplace”.

Yesterday, the nominees for the IFTAs were announced in Dublin city centre. At the event, when we asked O’Kane about the Time’s Up movement, she said: “I’m very excited by it and I loved how they marked it at the Globes. I think it’s an amazing moment for women.

“And despite the heavy side of things, we’ve got to remember the bigger picture is a really positive picture for women. This is the moment to say ‘we’ve had enough now – can we just be recognised for what we do’, and so ultimately it’s exciting.”

Asked would there be any wearing black at the IFTAs, O’Kane said:

I haven’t had any discussions about that, but now that you say it, I’d be up for it. I wear black 24/7 so it would suit me down to the ground.

O’Kane said that the IFTAs are important for showcasing the Irish talent that’s out there. “When you make fantastic films like Cardboard Gangsters, some of them do translate to Oscars and Baftas but not always and still they’re fantastic and have to be recognised. So you’ve got to recognise your own industry.”

Game of Thrones actor Liam Cunningham said that that he’s seen a “good sea change” regarding sexual harassment in the industry, but whether such a change will take place in Ireland is up to “the people who have either stories to tell or who feel they have been under pressure from people here”.

“There isn’t that many powerful people here, it’s much more of a community thing, it’s a smaller thing, but it’s in everything. I think the reason the entertainment industry is [focused on is because] everyone knows the faces involved,” he said.

It’s happening everywhere, it’s happening in politics, business … so the sooner this gets sorted and we get on a level playing field, that’s when it’s going to be over.

Áine Moriarty, chief executive of the IFTA, said that the issue of wearing black in solidarity “hasn’t come up”. “If it comes up we will obviously discuss it,” she told TheJournal.ie.

“We will always work with whatever is [brought up]. We have a great membership so whatever people feel is appropriate… We are looking forward to a great evening and a great night of celebration.”

“It’s about the work I think in Ireland – we are lucky, it’s small community of people. We are quite a positive nation as well. That comes across in the night as well.”

The IFTA awards will take place at the Round Room at the Mansion House on Thursday, 15 February.

Read: These are the Irish films we’ll be talking about in 2018>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

62 Comments
    Mute Peter Brophy
    Favourite Peter Brophy
    Jan 12th 2018, 6:18 AM

Powerful statement. Wearing black will shock the establishment to its very core.

Mute john g mcgrath
    Favourite john g mcgrath
    Jan 12th 2018, 7:27 AM

@Peter Brophy: Shock in Ireland!!
    Don’t think so

Mute Paul Furey
    Favourite Paul Furey
    Jan 12th 2018, 7:35 AM

@john g mcgrath: It won’t matter as only their families will be watching.

Mute Gillian Scully
    Favourite Gillian Scully
    Jan 12th 2018, 10:51 AM

@Peter Brophy: Ah sure most people would wear black at a do and all men would hence black tie event.

I would be more impressed by men and women rolling up in a pair of jeans and colored runners then wear a fancy top. That would make a statement.

Mute Sean Higgins
    Favourite Sean Higgins
    Jan 12th 2018, 6:46 AM

And the award for the most original idea goes to……… Oh wait

Mute Fear Uisce
    Favourite Fear Uisce
    Jan 12th 2018, 6:33 AM

if they really want to make a statement they should wear luminous green

Mute John Campbell
    Favourite John Campbell
    Jan 12th 2018, 6:58 AM

Personal attention-seeking nonsense. It won’t change anything. Like a cheap fire lighter, short lived flame and then it’s gone.

Mute John Quill
    Favourite John Quill
    Jan 12th 2018, 6:26 AM

We’re some lemmings.

Mute Eamonn O'Riain
    Favourite Eamonn O'Riain
    Jan 12th 2018, 7:15 AM

Sheep.

Mute Valthebear
    Favourite Valthebear
    Jan 12th 2018, 7:42 AM

Virtue signalling season is in full swing

Mute Kevin Fee
    Favourite Kevin Fee
    Jan 12th 2018, 8:26 AM

A real protest would be to turn down the €20,000 to host it and stay at home along with all the other nominated actors but no, you’ll wear a beautiful black dress instead.

Mute Ann Experiment
    Favourite Ann Experiment
    Jan 12th 2018, 3:32 PM

@Kevin Fee: Of course, because she doesn’t need to make an income. Right?

Mute Joe Conway
    Favourite Joe Conway
    Jan 12th 2018, 3:40 PM

@Kevin Fee: What would your fee be Kevin?!!!!!

Mute Anthony Kielthy
    Favourite Anthony Kielthy
    Jan 12th 2018, 6:30 AM

Muther a jaysus!

Mute Gearóid Ó Brádaigh
    Favourite Gearóid Ó Brádaigh
    Jan 12th 2018, 8:40 AM

Sexism, racism, multi culturism , social media, gender pay gaps and bla bla politically correct BS . Is society better now? I think not. Somebody send me back to the 90s when life was more simple.

Mute JJ O Riordan
    Favourite JJ O Riordan
    Jan 12th 2018, 11:25 AM

@Gearóid Ó Brádaigh: absolutely. A time where kids were getting f@#&ed by priests and it got swept under the carpet. A time where cancer mortality rates were multiple times what they are today. A time where the catholic church still had an iron grip over the rights of minorities and women. Good times, eh?

Mute Gearóid Ó Brádaigh
    Favourite Gearóid Ó Brádaigh
    Jan 12th 2018, 1:55 PM

@JJ O Riordan: Cancer rates more than they were today ? Where do you obtain your statistics? Cancer rates have increased so remove your tin foil hat and have a seat there . https://www.ncri.ie/publications/annual-statistical-reports/cancer-ireland-2011
    Despite the minority that were affected by the catholic church its clear that the 90s were better times .

Mute JJ O Riordan
    Favourite JJ O Riordan
    Jan 12th 2018, 3:58 PM

@Gearóid Ó Brádaigh: cancer mortality rates have decreased. Never mind a tin foil hat, improving your reading comprehension would be useful.

Mute Dave Sherman
    Favourite Dave Sherman
    Jan 12th 2018, 6:52 AM

If you want to make a real statement, just don’t have the IFTA’s and Sonya all a favour.

Mute Julesy
    Favourite Julesy
    Jan 12th 2018, 7:02 AM

Wha!! To follow in the footsteps off Oprah and Streep!! These Hypocrites who knew what was going on for Years!! Who didn’t do anything to prevent what going on or even shine a light on it!! Now are saying (Streep) “I did know anything about it “. Total and utter tosh!! Then she has the gall to attack trump about some locker room talk!! She could have prevented a lot of things from happening!! So wearing black dresses are suddenly going to wipe out sexism!! Ya right !!

Mute Susan Adair Farrelly
    Favourite Susan Adair Farrelly
    Jan 12th 2018, 8:50 AM

@Julesy: whats your problem with her calling out what trump said? Wipe out sexism? Clearly you don’t have a clue what the me too movement is about.

Mute Jigz
    Favourite Jigz
    Jan 12th 2018, 9:27 AM

@Susan Adair Farrelly: No it is you who knows nothing it seems no Julesy is bang on and the number of thumbs up on their comment backs that up and many agree with them.
    The complete hypocracy from the likes of Streep is sickening she must of had a hunch cmon wake up, im not surprised tbh she was defended her paedo friend Roman Polanski for years, strange she is also ‘great’ (her words) friends with another sex pest Harvey too coincidence right?

Hypocrites virtue signalling to appear right on. Sheep.

#WeKnew

Mute The Outsider
    Favourite The Outsider
    Jan 12th 2018, 9:27 AM

@Susan Adair Farrelly: Julesy does know what she is talking about. Check out the interest and you will see the history of Streep with Weinstein and Roman Polanski. Why didn’t she call out her pals? Probably wasn’t in her interest to do so.

Mute Ó Connmhaigh
    Favourite Ó Connmhaigh
    Jan 12th 2018, 9:32 AM

@Susan Adair Farrelly:
    When Roman Polanski got the Oscar for best director for The Pianist it was public knowledge he’d fled the US to escape charges for child molestation.
    And who was first on her feet in the audience when the Oscar was announced, giving rapturous applause?
    Meryl Streep.

Mute GameOverMan
    Favourite GameOverMan
    Jan 12th 2018, 6:47 AM

Im behind the movement 100% but wearing black is not a statement… especially if its a sexy black number with a $200 haircut… black burkas all round and no smiling….thats a statement….yes im serious!

Mute Patrick j Brady
    Favourite Patrick j Brady
    Jan 12th 2018, 8:08 AM

I think this whole thing is just something for people to get on a band wagon…. it’s over done…

Mute Damien Kirwan
    Favourite Damien Kirwan
    Jan 12th 2018, 7:49 AM

How about do something different and wear nothing.

Jan 12th 2018, 6:44 AM

Anything that simplifies the dress choosing dilemma!

Mute Johnhunky Dory
    Favourite Johnhunky Dory
    Jan 12th 2018, 9:26 AM

I suppose if she can’t be funny she has to say something…

Mute Austin Rock
    Favourite Austin Rock
    Jan 12th 2018, 8:31 AM

OMG this is beyond shame and embarressment, a profession that encapsulates nepotism, a tiny pool of people who for decades have closed off doors to aspiring talent and who now find the chickens have truly come home to roost. Yes these people want to make a colour stand now! pathetic they would do ANYTHING to be seen.

Mute Paul Coughlan
    Favourite Paul Coughlan
    Jan 12th 2018, 7:33 AM

All blacks. Bandwagon comes to mind

Mute Johnnie Sexton
    Favourite Johnnie Sexton
    Jan 12th 2018, 4:34 PM

@Paul Coughlan: sponsored by AIG

Mute Geraldyn Swanepoel
    Favourite Geraldyn Swanepoel
    Jan 12th 2018, 9:28 AM

Oh give me a break . Shrieks off Pink October and we all know how successful that has been .

Mute Boutros Boutros-Ghali
    Favourite Boutros Boutros-Ghali
    Jan 12th 2018, 10:00 AM

Stunning and brave.

Mute Red hurley
    Favourite Red hurley
    Jan 12th 2018, 7:39 AM

Deirdre you could wear a phone book and id be happy.

Mute dick dastardly
    Favourite dick dastardly
    Jan 12th 2018, 8:02 AM

Only widows wear black

Mute Rob Cahill
    Favourite Rob Cahill
    Jan 12th 2018, 1:50 PM

The 4 people who tune in will be shocked.. Shocked I tell you!!!

Mute Cindy Crawford
    Favourite Cindy Crawford
    Jan 12th 2018, 10:27 AM

Why was my comment about women wearing low cut dresses slashed to the thigh deleted?

Mute paul kelly
    Favourite paul kelly
    Jan 12th 2018, 11:15 AM

@Cindy Crawford: ye I thought it was funny.

Mute Cindy Crawford
    Favourite Cindy Crawford
    Jan 12th 2018, 11:31 AM

@paul kelly: Ah thanks pet.

Mute Irish Bob
    Favourite Irish Bob
    Jan 12th 2018, 8:06 AM

Great, wont have to hear the usual sh*te about what they wearing and who made them.

Mute Johnnie Sexton
    Favourite Johnnie Sexton
    Jan 12th 2018, 2:44 PM

Yawn….. next pc or political stunt please! I wonder when the first court case in relation to all the allegations will start? Surely if a crime has been committed there’d be charges, court cases and guilty or not guilty verdict by appointed jury….

Mute JJ
    Favourite JJ
    Jan 12th 2018, 9:34 AM

Maybe Deirdre should whack a load of Coke up her snout and repeatedly say “Snorah Jones” about 100 times trying to get a cheap laugh from a cheap joke. That image is my brains screensaver unfortunately.

Mute Coles
    Favourite Coles
    Jan 12th 2018, 8:03 AM

Why do so many males comment on threads like this just to attack a woman?

It’s ironic really.

Mute John Campbell
    Favourite John Campbell
    Jan 12th 2018, 8:59 AM

@Coles: they don’t! People are commenting on the silly black dressing bandwagon that’s rolling just now. Too many women and men who could have stopped what was going on put their careers before principles and are now self aggrandising in an attempt to save face.

Mute Coles
    Favourite Coles
    Jan 12th 2018, 9:36 AM

@John Campbell: Name and shame those awful evil women who said nothing while they were being sexually harrassed!! How dare they!!

Grrrr… I’m a very angry man!

Mute Jigz
    Favourite Jigz
    Jan 12th 2018, 9:38 AM

@John Campbell: bang on, maybe men wouldn’t come here to moan if this site didn’t attack them on a daily basis, and the hypocrisy of the screaming SJW/Feminazi stance this site continues to take is getting tiresome. We want news (entertainment sports or otherwise) not some hormonal teenagers personal blog. Nothing better than a few articles dealing with Sexual assault thrown in with “X burns haters on twitter & shuts down Trump” or “13 things to watch on Netflix while strumming yourself this weekend” etc

Mute Coles
    Favourite Coles
    Jan 12th 2018, 11:35 AM

@Jigz: You said ‘feminazi’ AND ‘sjw’ in the same sentence! That’s full house in Alt Right Bul!shit Bingo! Yayyyy!

Mute Jack Reece-Murphy
    Favourite Jack Reece-Murphy
    Jan 12th 2018, 12:22 PM

@Coles:

You really don’t get irony do you?
    Your on here giving out about other people giving out.

Also ironic your throwing the Lefties favourite buzzword Alt Right you care to throw any more maybe a Trumpanzee, Racist, misoginyst, Nazi, etc or anymore that don’t addresses the topic in debate but deflect.

Mute Ronan Sexton
    Favourite Ronan Sexton
    Jan 12th 2018, 1:30 PM

“I wear black 24/7 so it would suit me down to the ground” Lolz.

Mute Bernie McArdle
    Favourite Bernie McArdle
    Jan 12th 2018, 10:30 AM

Yes! it will make the appropriate statement so long as every woman doesn’t sexualise themselves by wearing sexy, revealing little black numbers…………..

Mute Brendan O'Brien
    Favourite Brendan O'Brien
    Jan 12th 2018, 11:24 AM

Hysterical misogyny from the wannabee alt-right: just another normal journal.ie comments section when the topic has anything to do with feminism.

Mute Farty Towels
    Favourite Farty Towels
    Jan 12th 2018, 8:37 PM

wish someone would give my ass a squeeze