You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Tributes are left at the La Carillon restaurant in Paris, following the attacks in the French capital. Steve Parsons/PA

Where does Ireland stand in terms of global terrorism?

A report published this week revealed a nine-fold increase in the number of deaths from terrorism in the since the beginning of the 21st century.

AMID THE AFTERMATH of the Paris terror attacks, a report was released this week highlighting the impact of terrorism all across the globe.

The Global Terrorism Index revealed an increase of 80% in deaths from terrorism last year when compared to the previous year. This is the largest increase in the last 15 years.

Since the beginning of the 21st century, there has been a nine-fold increase in the number of deaths from terrorism, rising from 3,329 in 2000 to 32,658.

Though the report pointed out terrorism remains highly concentrated in countries like Iraq, Nigeria, Afghanistan, Pakistan and Syria, it said it is spreading to more countries. The number of countries experiencing more than 500 deaths increased from just five to 11 on one year.

Statista Statista

In the West, ‘lone wolf’ attacks account for 70% of all terrorist deaths since 2006. The majority of these incidents were attributed to a mixture of right wing extremists, nationalists, anti-government elements and other times of political extremism, rather than Islamic fundamentalism.

So where does Ireland stand in all of this?

In this latest index we ranked 48th in the world in terms of the impact of terrorism, well behind other European countries like the UK at 28th and France at 36th.

When it comes to fighters travelling to Iraq and Syria, Ireland ranks low on the list. The majority of foreign fighters from countries where Muslims are not in the majority travelling to join terror cells from Russia and France.

Previous research has already indicated 26 fighters have left Ireland to join Syrian rebels.

Click here for larger version

Terrorism-related deaths

Of the 37 deaths from terrorism in western countries last year, 18 were in the US.

According to the report, there were 30 attacks in Ireland, but no deaths were recorded in these attacks. The highest number of incidents was in the UK. However, none of these 102 attacks resulted in fatalities. The majority of these attacks occurred in Northern Ireland and involved the New IRA.

Click here for larger version

Northern Ireland has also influenced European statistics. The region had the lowest ratio of deaths per attack because of the 79 incidents in Northern Ireland which had no casualties last year.

In Europe around half of the attacks used explosives and 10% of attacks used firearms. Terrorist attacks became more deadly in 2014, even though 46% of attacks didn’t kill anyone, the lowest proportion since 2007.

“Possible but not likely”

The attacks in Paris have changed the climate somewhat and big changes and decisions are currently being made in European countries.

This week Taoiseach Enda Kenny said additional Irish troops may be needed in peacekeeping missions in Lebanon and Mali as France may decide to withdraw their presence.

He said an incident in Ireland is “possible, but not likely”. A Claire Byrne Live/Amárach Research poll this week found 91% of Irish people believe Ireland is not adequately prepared to defend against a terrorist attack.

An Garda Síochána, which is responsible for national security, said it is in close contact with security partners in Europe.  Since the events, the force has conducted an intelligence assessment review and the threat level remains unchanged.

However, it said the level of threat will be kept under constant review and all appropriate measures will be taken to deal with any threats.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

28 Comments
    Mute Juan Franc
    Favourite Juan Franc
    Nov 22nd 2015, 9:28 AM

We are lucky that when the uda/uvf parade around with the oo it’s is deemed culture and heritage on display and deserving of funding from taxpayers.

The uvf’s bad batch of ectasy that killed 12 people in the Belfast area recently won’t happen again due to stricter quality control,so everything is grand

Sweep sweep

Mute Eire
    Favourite Eire
    Nov 22nd 2015, 8:07 AM

Ask the department of defence Counterterrorism section whose minister Simon Coveney shares his brief keeping down those mad & dangerous lot IF (irish farmers) with his second brief Agriculture ….We just don’t take it seriously enough with resources & proper government attention given it’s a part time minister

Mute B-Egan
    Favourite B-Egan
    Nov 22nd 2015, 8:06 AM

That war on terror is going well . 3 Trillion Dollars Euros Pounds later.

Mute conor
    Favourite conor
    Nov 22nd 2015, 9:23 AM

Pretty sure more people die from peanut allergies each year than terrorism

Mute Vote Left Ireland
    Favourite Vote Left Ireland
    Nov 22nd 2015, 12:48 PM

Don’t say that out loud you will attract the islamaphobs

Mute Flip off
    Favourite Flip off
    Nov 22nd 2015, 1:01 PM

Most years in the US, you are more likely to be shot dead by a toddler than killed by a terrorist.

Mute OneTrueVoice
    Favourite OneTrueVoice
    Nov 22nd 2015, 8:13 AM

Fortunately the IRA are no longer offering terrorism training courses overseas, like they did in South America and North Korea. It wouldn’t look good in this climate.

Mute B-Egan
    Favourite B-Egan
    Nov 22nd 2015, 8:32 AM

How do you know they could be watching you right now .

Mute Vote Left Ireland
    Nov 22nd 2015, 12:49 PM

Actually like hezbellah terrorist organisations in other countries are exactly what would prevent Isis coming in. That said Isis are never coming in and the ira are gone for good

Mute Enda Kenny
    Favourite Enda Kenny
    Nov 23rd 2015, 2:56 AM

that reminds me
    the new Johnny Depp movie Black MAss
    he plays that animal whitey bulger

will martin ferris have a cameo ?????????????

Mute Charles Williams
    Favourite Charles Williams
    Nov 22nd 2015, 9:50 AM

One is reminded of Brendan Behan’s comment that “the terrorist is the one with the small bomb”, over the same period how many hundred oft thousands have died in American led and perpetrated wars. If one were to add the millions that died from starvation, preventable diseases, lack of clean drinking water, no health care etc. terrorism becomes a very small global issue. Like gout, terrorism is the rich mans worry.

Mute Enda Kenny
    Favourite Enda Kenny
    Nov 23rd 2015, 2:57 AM

@ Charles Williams

“Patriotism is a virtue of the vicious” –Oscar Wilde

Mute Charles Williams
    Favourite Charles Williams
    Nov 22nd 2015, 10:01 AM

Table 3. above has 18 death from terrorism in the USA in 2014. Given on average 80 persons are shot dead in the USA every single day, amounting to an annual death count of 29,200, why was this form of terrorism ignored in your statistical analysis above. Was the figures of 29,200 not significant compared to 18 from political terrorism.

Mute Fiona deFreyne
    Favourite Fiona deFreyne
    Nov 22nd 2015, 10:27 AM

It is obvious that Ireland is very low risk from a terrorist perspective and the risk is very low of any Daesh sponsored attack on Ireland. We need to keep a sense of perspective about this.

Mute My EL531W
    Favourite My EL531W
    Nov 22nd 2015, 10:43 AM

That’s true. Our Muslim population is only about 1%. We probably wouldn’t be high up there on their list of desired targets. Radicalised lone wolfs living here are probably the greatest threat rather than a concerted effort by IS to strike us.

Mute Stephen Deegan
    Favourite Stephen Deegan
    Nov 22nd 2015, 12:18 PM

As well as this, we respect our Muslim communities, some of our European neighbors don’t. Ghettos and banning burkas that women are proud to wear is hardly respectful. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not into sharia law, but I believe that a national feeling of contempt towards a certain community can lead to problems.

Mute Joachin Peiper
    Favourite Joachin Peiper
    Nov 22nd 2015, 12:37 PM

That’s the spirit Stephen….the French and Belgians had the poor divils terrorised…..

Mute Vote Left Ireland
    Nov 22nd 2015, 12:51 PM

Exactly Stephen. There is no excuse for terror but we can certainly make it less likely to happen if we have an inclusive society without segregation

Mute My EL531W
    Favourite My EL531W
    Nov 22nd 2015, 3:23 PM

I would suggest that’s it’s difficult for any immigrant group to assimilate into a new society. One thing that seems to help is limited numbers. When a country can’t accommodate large numbers the ghettos form. Immigrants also have to be willing to adapt to their new society. They don’t have to completely give up their culture but certain aspects need to be abandoned if they wish to live in the west when they are the antithesis of our principles. The burka is one such tradition that should not be tolerated as it represents the worst form of sexism. How anyone claiming to be liberal can defend it is beyond me. You’d have to question why any immigrant would go to a country and not be willing to adapt to the local way of life. Telling such immigrants they’re not welcome seems perfectly reasonable to me.

Mute Enda Kenny
    Favourite Enda Kenny
    Nov 23rd 2015, 2:59 AM

ISIS hate America for obvious reasons and they hate France (who joined in)

they could care less about us

Mute Ciaran Duffy
    Favourite Ciaran Duffy
    Nov 22nd 2015, 8:35 AM

Yeah, they’d feicin freeze to death instead

Mute conri
    Favourite conri
    Nov 22nd 2015, 3:44 PM

Steve, absolutely NO to anyone covering their face, if that’s what they want then let them go back to where the came from. When in Rome !!

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    Nov 22nd 2015, 3:50 PM

Wut?……yis giving me grief abou’ me bleedin’ hoodie?

Nov 22nd 2015, 9:35 PM

Where ever others tell us to stand?