You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

The European Central Bank headquarters in Frankfurt, Germany. PA Archive/Press Association Images

Ireland's biggest banks are getting a new regulator today and here's how it's going to work

Fine Gael MEP Brian Hayes explains the detail of the new pan-eurozone Single Supervisory Mechanism.

Today, the European Central Bank is formally taking over supervisory powers from the Central Bank of Ireland in regulating the biggest banks in our financial system. Fine Gael MEP Brian Hayes explains what it all means… 

RECENT TURMOIL IN the financial markets is a stark reminder that the eurozone economy is still very fragile. The Irish economy, by contrast, is gaining momentum. Yet we are still exposed to the negative consequences of a massive banking crisis that devastated the eurozone for several years.

But now, for the first time in history, we will have a European banking supervisor with a European mandate. No longer will we have a fragmented eurozone where 18 different regulators enforce 18 different sets of rules.  The new Single Supervisory Mechanism (SSM) means that there will be a single set of banking rules overseen by one single entity, the European Central Bank.

Let’s remember that the financial crisis was truly European in nature and to eradicate potential future contagion, we need to develop a unified European approach.

A prevailing idea throughout the crisis was that our financial systems were too interconnected to allow big banks to fail. Such banks, anticipating bailouts, therefore acted recklessly. Light touch regulation allowed them to do so.

The new supervisory rules are designed to limit such interconnectedness between banks, thereby putting a stop to the idea of ‘too-big-to-fail’ banks.

And this is not only for euro-area countries; non-eurozone Member States can opt to participate in the Supervisory Mechanism if they wish. I believe that once it’s up and running, we will start to see new Members joining. They will see the benefits of integrating their markets with European partners.

This Supervisory rules stems back to 2012 when European leaders agreed to take action to break the vicious cycle between the banks and sovereigns. This led to the ECB being chosen as the direct single supervisor of all the eurozone’s main banks.

On-site inspections

The ECB will now supervise all eurozone banks that are classified as “significant”, i.e. those banks that have assets in excess of €30 billion or are significant to the economy of the country. This accounts for 128 banks across 18 Member States.

In Ireland this includes: AIB, Bank of Ireland, Permanent TSB, Ulster Bank and Bank of America Merrill Lynch (although Bank of America’s parent company is in the US). Other smaller banks will remain under the direct supervision of the Central Bank of Ireland. In total, 6,000 banks across the eurozone will remain under the direct supervision of national regulators.

This essentially means that the supervision of the vast majority of Irish retail banking operations will change hands from the Central Bank of Ireland to the ECB.

In preparation for this changeover, the Central Bank of Ireland is creating a Department to carry out checks on Irish banks across all risk areas. This also coincides with the on-going stress tests.

As supervisor, the ECB will be able to carry out ‘on-site inspections’ of banks when necessary. These inspections will supervise the level of risk and the risk culture in a bank, as well as the appropriateness and quality of capital they hold. They will also assess a bank’s corporate governance and risk management procedures. Other important issues for inspection will be compliance with banking regulations and the quality of balance sheet items.

Importantly, the ECB has built in a crisis management division to the supervisory powers. This will allow the ECB to react in a timely manner when a bank does not meet capital requirements and it can then instigate a recovery plan.

Penalties

The ECB will be able to take action when necessary. It will have powers to directly penalise banks when regulatory requirements have been breached but it cannot penalise individual bankers; the Central Bank of Ireland will hold onto these powers.

The ECB is empowered to impose on banks administrative penalties of up to twice the amount of the profits gained or losses avoided, or up to 10% of the total annual turnover in the preceding business year.

The whole procedure is a massive logistical arrangement for the Frankfurt based regulator and it is understood to have taken on about 1000 new staff, some of which have come from the Central Bank of Ireland. Yet staff working on the Supervisory Mechanism will not be entitled to regulate banks in their home country.

Apart of this effort, the ECB will have a tough job establishing a healthy relationship with new banks. It will also have to answer to the Dail and the European parliament when carrying out its duties. Parliamentarians need to be well aware of the processes and procedures that are taking place. Considering the past failures of financial regulation, let’s make sure we act as a strong watchdog over the ECB’s new powers.

People may argue that this represents a surrender of economic sovereignty, but in fact it puts Ireland on a level playing field with fellow eurozone countries. Given the globalised nature of banking services, it is important that we have the same standards and practices as our European partners.

With this new Supervisory Mechanism we are building a solid structure for bank reform right across the eurozone. Let’s make sure it is implemented correctly in Ireland.

Brian Hayes is a Fine Gael MEP for Dublin and former Minister of State.

Read: If Michael Noonan is going to get a bank debt deal this is how he says he’ll do it

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

View 22 comments
22 Comments
    Mute Jimmy
    Favourite Jimmy
    Mar 5th 2013, 7:38 PM

What I find particularly amusing is how these “protestors” how they are always whiter than white. They can do no wrong, ever and always the David V Goliath. I wonder has the same UN spokesperson looked into intimidation and harassment of the local community by some of these protestors as they try to go about their daily lives. It’s the same shower of rag taggle wasters, “job seekers”, Shinners, professional protestors…nothing constructive to offer….

Mute Sean Beag
    Favourite Sean Beag
    Mar 5th 2013, 7:46 PM

Wasn’t there a teacher who tried to drive through a crowd of people and got arrested? Then they gave out because her window had to be broken to arrest her. I guess it wasn’t the polite thing to do. The “protestors” up there live in a different world.

Mute John Burke
    Favourite John Burke
    Mar 5th 2013, 7:52 PM

Stupid comment, some teacher? Who, when where?

Mute Jimmy
    Favourite Jimmy
    Mar 5th 2013, 7:57 PM

You are right Sean there was, Maura Harrington was her name.

Mute Anne De Croix
    Favourite Anne De Croix
    Mar 5th 2013, 7:58 PM

You think Shell is a paradigm of virtue?

Funny thing in BBC news today- they reckon that life on Earth was seeded by meteorites. The tin hat brigade were saying that 20 years ago. The vegetarians and wierdos also said that cutting down forests would destroy the World and that corporations care for profit not for people or the planet and that they would make slaves of us with economic policies based on debt.

I thought this was funny……….. http://dangerousminds.net/comments/uk_9_11_truthers_get_their_day_in_court_well_kinda

I wish more people would stand up for what we all know is right.

Mute Sean Beag
    Favourite Sean Beag
    Mar 5th 2013, 8:03 PM

Can you point out where anyone sang Shells praises Anne?

Mute Joe Mc Dermott
    Favourite Joe Mc Dermott
    Mar 5th 2013, 8:04 PM

when will you all wake up,, the gardai are there to protect people,, not multinational companies,, they are sworn to protect people and their belongings, full stop,, for yrs the harassment givin not just to protesters but also to locals is a crime and an infringment on human rights, dont just assume that the gardai are doing what they are paid to do, you couldn’t be further from the truth

Mute Sean Beag
    Favourite Sean Beag
    Mar 5th 2013, 8:11 PM

Actually Joe the Gardaí are there to enforce the law and preserve the peace. Protecting people is not possible when they actively try to break the law and assault you. And companies have just as much right to have their proerty protected as people do.

Mute ciaran clarke
    Favourite ciaran clarke
    Mar 5th 2013, 8:33 PM

Some people just hate progress.
    Sure didn’t they protest over the introduction of electricity back in the 60s.
    Attacking and intimidating workers.
    Shell to sea are a bunch of clowns.

Mute Andrew Flood
    Favourite Andrew Flood
    Mar 5th 2013, 9:02 PM

Wow these are the most depressingly set of comments I’ve ever seen on any Journal article. Just what would it take to move the majority of you beyond this lazy unthinking acceptance of the demonisation of Shell to Sea campaigners? If not the UN than what might get you to pause for the 30 seconds it might take for your brain to click into gear and reconsider things? That’s a serious question, is there any individual or organisation on the planet that might cause you to do that?

Mute Gerry O'Donoghue
    Favourite Gerry O'Donoghue
    Mar 5th 2013, 10:25 PM

Should we be grateful that nobody was shot? Have you ever felt strongly enough to protest about anything? Are you so smug because you are happy with how the world is, or are you happy because you are so smug? Like it or not,any of the freedoms and rights which you now enjoy we’re won for you by ” protesters” Reflect a little.

Mute Keith McNair
    Favourite Keith McNair
    Mar 5th 2013, 11:26 PM

Maybe you should visit “up there” and then it would be “up yours”!

Mute Keith McNair
    Favourite Keith McNair
    Mar 5th 2013, 11:29 PM

And how protects the people when there community is placed under threat? And who protects the nation when our resources are given away? Certainly not An Garda by what we have seen so far! Who would you suggest, Sean?

Mute Keith McNair
    Favourite Keith McNair
    Mar 5th 2013, 11:30 PM

Icarian, it is evident you simply haven’t a clue what you at talking about!

Mute Robbie Kelly
    Favourite Robbie Kelly
    Mar 5th 2013, 11:51 PM

Not quite true, companies and corporations have MORE rights than people!

Mute Sean Beag
    Favourite Sean Beag
    Mar 5th 2013, 7:32 PM

Great idea. The level of abuse the Gardaí have to put up with from those “protestors” is a disgrace. An investigation with a view to prosecuting them is really needed.

Mute Sean Beag
    Favourite Sean Beag
    Mar 5th 2013, 7:34 PM

Oops, commented before reading the article. I see it’s the criminals whose rights have been abused. That’s so sad.

Mute Adelle Smyth
    Favourite Adelle Smyth
    Mar 5th 2013, 7:36 PM

Students protesting in Dublin watch the whole video. Students bit rowdy at start but what happened next when they were peacefully sitting down was uncalled for.
    Check out this video on YouTube:

http://youtu.be/aPnoAY1wXfI

See 13 more replies ▾
    Mute Sean Beag
    Favourite Sean Beag
    Mar 5th 2013, 7:39 PM

Thanks Adelle, I already saw the video before it was edited though.

Mute Julie
    Favourite Julie
    Mar 5th 2013, 7:52 PM

I was there, can you send me the unedited version, that video seems 100% accurate as to what I saw happening. But still can you send me the link.

Mute Sean Beag
    Favourite Sean Beag
    Mar 5th 2013, 8:02 PM

Sorry Julie, funnily enough it was removed quite fast. It was then reuploaded without the whole firing missiles at Gardaí part. The same thing was done at a protest in Baldonnell a while back. The first video showed someone asking a man in cuffs if he had been beaten by the Gardaí. He said he hadn’t. That video was up for a bout a half an hour before it changed to a version without that particular exchange.

Mute Rory Conway
    Favourite Rory Conway
    Mar 5th 2013, 8:07 PM

Sean beag , everyone is confused. A protester being turned off the road turns you stomach ? Get real. What was the protester actually doing. Trying to kiss the Gardai?

Mute Petr Tarasov
    Favourite Petr Tarasov
    Mar 5th 2013, 8:10 PM

Some people are such slaves to state power. It’s OUR country!

Mute Sean Beag
    Favourite Sean Beag
    Mar 5th 2013, 8:13 PM

Rory please google sarcasm and then feel free to ask for your comment to be deleted from pure embarassment.

Petr who is this “our” you are referring to? Is it the minority of people that are involved in the protest or the wider country who rely on the Gardaí to uphold the law and prevent public order breaches on a frand scale like they do in Mayo?

Mute Leonard Washington
    Favourite Leonard Washington
    Mar 5th 2013, 8:28 PM

Jesus Sean enda must be paying you double time, or are you one of those employed by the EU to troll news sites and social networks to ‘convince’ people that you guys are right.
    The garda should be ashamed of themselves protecting thieves stealing resources that could really help this countries recovery.

Mute Nuffsaid Thatsall
    Favourite Nuffsaid Thatsall
    Mar 5th 2013, 8:29 PM

Have to agree with Sean here! Shell-to-See haven’t exactly excelled themselves when it comes to providing video minus agenda now have they!?!

Mute Anne De Croix
    Favourite Anne De Croix
    Mar 5th 2013, 10:45 PM

@Sean

I am an anarchist and I think the Law is an Ass. Just look at the white-collar crime committed in this country and they are running the country, yet people are flung in jail for having no TV licence. That said, more fool them for having a TV in the first place. What a lot of rubbish people feed themselves with.

Obviously my name is Anne. My son once asked me if my partner is then a Johnarchist.
    For the record, I am not a Marxist or a communist.
    I like Bakunin.

:)

Mute Anne De Croix
    Favourite Anne De Croix
    Mar 5th 2013, 10:48 PM

Oh yes, and weren’t these the Gardai up at Shell-to-Sea who were making jokes about raping women……..

Charming I’m sure.
    That’s what we need- more of that sort of thing.

Mute Kelley Doolan
    Favourite Kelley Doolan
    Mar 5th 2013, 10:59 PM

This was proven to be false

Mute Anne De Croix
    Favourite Anne De Croix
    Mar 5th 2013, 11:11 PM

@Kelley

If you are suggesting that the allegations about the rape comments were proven to be false then you are wrong.
    For the record, I live in Skibbereen and I have nothing but good things to say about the Gardai here. I have always found them to be very helpful.
    : )

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/shell-to-sea-protest-disciplinary-action-against-one-garda-over-rape-tape-comments-26846479.html

Mute Keith McNair
    Favourite Keith McNair
    Mar 5th 2013, 11:24 PM

So Sean, do you support our nation getting the second lowest tax take on this natural resource in the world, second only to Ghana? I contrast this with the excellent public yield the Norwegians have secured.

Do you also support a high pressure pipe line being put through a community which has not been done anywhere else in the world? The residents will have about 12 seconds to evacuate their home should a fault occur.

Do you also support the failure not to perform the refining at sea, now that the technology exists? A viable, achievable alternative exists, but sadly, as in so many cases, people remain blind to this achievable option.

The entire Shell to Sea / Rossport travesty could be resolved if these three issues were addressed – and they can be, but it appears the political will to work for the greater common good simply has evaporated, or never existed in the first place, quite possibly displaced by greedy unaccountable secret deals.

What do you think?

Mute Petr Tarasov
    Favourite Petr Tarasov
    Mar 5th 2013, 7:20 PM

Gardaí and a veritable army of private security have been operating with impunity in the community for years now. The coercive arm of the state, and it’s private lackeys, need to be put in their place. The people need to be heard.

Mute John Burke
    Favourite John Burke
    Mar 5th 2013, 7:24 PM

Agreed, ray Burke did the deal enough said.

Mute John Burke
    Favourite John Burke
    Mar 5th 2013, 7:26 PM

Some arses seem to be happy with the natural resources giveaway. Saps.

Mute Statler Waldorf
    Favourite Statler Waldorf
    Mar 5th 2013, 7:33 PM

No, we just don’t like condescending comments

Mute John Burke
    Favourite John Burke
    Mar 5th 2013, 7:50 PM

I don’t ignorant idiots in Ireland who thinks its ok to give away the countries resources. Tell me what you like about the deal, do you even know the deal? Please, prove your not a sap. What is the deal FF did? I know what the deal is.

Mute Sean Beag
    Favourite Sean Beag
    Mar 5th 2013, 8:09 PM

Prove your not a sap? Is that your opening statement when you debate this issue with people John?

Mute Pádraig O'hEidhin
    Favourite Pádraig O'hEidhin

the hippys need to be heard.

Mute Little Jim
    Favourite Little Jim
    Mar 5th 2013, 8:25 PM

Meanwhile, back at the shell camp things are going south fast!

Mute B
    Favourite B
    Mar 6th 2013, 9:37 AM

Little Jim

Should that not read ‘meanwhile back at the SMELL camp….’

Mute Adelle Smyth
    Favourite Adelle Smyth
    Mar 5th 2013, 7:25 PM

Enda Kenny constituency, here 3-4 men were jailed one who canvassed for Enda, he did nothing to help another FG TD did try and help and he was stopped.Many protestors were beaten some ended up in hospital, Enda kenny response, ” they must obey the law”.

He didn’t care about his own constituents why would he care about Us.He is a spineless coward.

Mute ADEBAYO FLYNN
    Favourite ADEBAYO FLYNN
    Mar 5th 2013, 8:31 PM

I still can’t believe he is the Taoiseach….

Mute Nuffsaid Thatsall
    Mar 5th 2013, 8:40 PM

Any more ‘independent’ video there Adelle in support of your comments!?

Mute Pablo
    Favourite Pablo
    Mar 5th 2013, 8:05 PM

The Gardai are only doing a job, some of the protesters are winder uppers. I have met a couple of their representatives in different situations before, and they revel in wasting public time and money. I am speaking specifically about the slugs and the snails. The principle of the protest is fine but these people make it personal. Sad.

Mute John Burke
    Favourite John Burke

Completely agree, but as a country we need to have ownership of our resources. These companies know the oil and gas is there. We should scrap the current giveaway and do a proper deal. We as a country are broke and shell or whoever finding oil or gas and keeping while we get a tax of their profit will not do. A bad deal and only an ass would like the current situation.

Mute Sean Beag
    Favourite Sean Beag
    Mar 5th 2013, 8:19 PM

So you would advocate the luring of a company with a good deal and then breaking that deal when the company is invested in the country in order to extort them for more money? Isn’t that called a bait and switch? By all means once the industry is established you can offer more lucrative deals to new entrants.

But is the Shell2Sea campaign not supposed to be a cmapaign to move the facilities out to sea? Have they combined the two campaigns now?

Mute John Burke
    Favourite John Burke
    Mar 5th 2013, 8:26 PM

No, not luring. Maybe 65% state ownership but not this deal. It’s a really bad deal for Ireland.

Mute Tom Keating
    Favourite Tom Keating
    Mar 5th 2013, 8:26 PM

You raise a very good point there John. We should own and benefit from our natural resources.

Mute Nuffsaid Thatsall
    Mar 5th 2013, 8:33 PM

So John what constituency ballot paper should we expect to see you on come next election!?!

Mute Jason
    Favourite Jason
    Mar 6th 2013, 12:11 AM

I wonder how many anarchists take the social welfare offered by a system they don’t believe in.

Mute Petr Tarasov
    Favourite Petr Tarasov
    Mar 5th 2013, 7:31 PM

Fair play to Paul Murphy for using his platform as an MEP to highlight this.

Mute Rory Conway
    Favourite Rory Conway
    Mar 5th 2013, 7:32 PM

I do not know what warrants a UN report. The rest of the world must be very safe. Should it be appropriate that , under their terms of reference , to have such powers , I trust the report will confine itself to it’s own reference of “peaceful”protesters.

Mute Sean Beag
    Favourite Sean Beag
    Mar 5th 2013, 7:36 PM

It’s not like there’s mass murder in Syria and massive amounts of human rights abuses on a grand scale in Asia and Africa. That’s nothing compared to Mayo. Did you not read it? A protestor was physically moved off a public road. It turns the stomach.

Mute Anne De Croix
    Favourite Anne De Croix
    Mar 5th 2013, 10:39 PM

Rory and Sean you can carry on playing on your playstation consoles and never have to worry about a thing- sure it’ll be grand, isn’t that the mantra.
    Like I grew up in Belfast and our mantra there was “We live near Belfast but we aren’t affected by the troubles.”

Sure that was bollocks as well.

Isn’t it great that the world is so just and fair and that we don’t have to worry about a thing!

Mute Joan Ruud Donnellan-Wijnen
    Favourite Joan Ruud Donnellan-Wijnen
    Mar 5th 2013, 11:24 PM

@ Anne.. Well put… Can’t you tell Rory & Sean never have, or will, stand up for anything in their tatty little lives… no.. They’ll just knock the ones that do give a shit as to what goes on on their doorstep and are willing to do something about it … Trolls!

Mute Julie
    Favourite Julie
    Mar 5th 2013, 7:41 PM

We used to have it that our oil: we owned 50% of all oil found. Tax was at 50% and royalties at 8 %.

Now we are giving away our oil: we own none of it, we get no royalties, they don’t have to keep the oil in Ireland or sell it back to us and they are taxed this is the best bit : 25% min and 42% max AND ALL COST CAN BE WRITTEN OFF AGAINST TAX BILL.

Look at what Norway do !

Mute Sean Beag
    Favourite Sean Beag
    Mar 5th 2013, 7:44 PM

Yeah but we didn’t know where the natural resources were. You have to offer a good deal to get the first companies to explore. 42% of profits from Shell is better that 50% of profits from nobody.

Mute Julie
    Favourite Julie
    Mar 5th 2013, 7:49 PM

Favourable terms yes I know the first is unrealistic was set back in the 80s changed under FF but what your missing is WE GAVE OT AWAY FOR NOTHING, when all costs can be written off against you tax bill then you pay a tiny percentage if tax. Mismanagement under FF this should have been done when our country was booming. But I quote “Ireland has the most favourable terms in the world for oil companies” former CEO of statoil Ireland. Oil is a resource that every company wants we have billions worth if it, I’m sure even if the rates were changed to have some benefit to us that wouldn’t have stopped them.

Mute John Burke
    Favourite John Burke
    Mar 5th 2013, 7:51 PM

Are you a bit silly or what?

Mute Julie
    Favourite Julie
    Mar 5th 2013, 7:54 PM

Is that for me John?

Mute John Burke
    Favourite John Burke
    Mar 5th 2013, 7:56 PM

No, Sean. Your making sense he just follows the herd or maybe he watched Williams “investigation” on corrib.

Mute Sean Beag
    Favourite Sean Beag
    Mar 5th 2013, 8:08 PM

You’ve yet to make a single non-insult contribution John. You’re hardly one to be mocking intellect now are you.

Anyway Julie you say it’s for nothing but it isn’t. It’s the same terms as any other company operating in any industry at the very least. Let’s not forget the massive employment it brought and other benefits to the local economy, unfortunately a large amount of which has been absorbed by the cost of policing the “local” wildlife. And not all costs can be written off against profits. I’m not sure you know how accounting works but perhaps you should consult someone to explain what you are claiming to you.

Mute John Burke
    Favourite John Burke
    Mar 5th 2013, 8:14 PM

Same deal other countries get? Good grief……

Mute Julie
    Favourite Julie
    Mar 5th 2013, 8:19 PM

What other industries?
    See I have consulted an accountant and called to my local TD, I have a lecturer well friend now because I am finished college but just like he went through SF budget with me, I asked him to explain to me about oil. He did and I know it is not all cost but still we are getting a small percentage of tax for our own natural resources. The oil companies want the oil because they stand to make huge profits on it. We could have got more favourable rates and still generated the employment and all the rest for the local economy. Can you tell me what Norway does with their oil, actually the people of Norway own nearly a quarter of our oil.

Mute Sean Beag
    Favourite Sean Beag
    Mar 5th 2013, 8:23 PM

Every company can write off certain costs associated with running the business. It’s how you come up with the profit figure. And why are you comparing us to Norway? What have we got in common with Norway when it comes to natural gas or oil?

Also you aren’t supposed to take a Sinn Fein budget seriously.

Mute Julie
    Favourite Julie
    Mar 5th 2013, 8:32 PM

Maybe you don’t take there budget seriously but I had to because it was the only budget that wasn’t going to send my family into poverty. Yes I looked through it with the accountant.

The government set these ridiculous rates. Again rolling over because they are spineless. Even if you take off writing off the costs, we still have the most favourable rates in the WORLD that was said by the CEO of statoil Ireland and I’m sure he knows a lot more than you or me. I think we deserve more from OUR natural resources you don’t or you think we couldn’t I don’t know. It was an interesting discussion.

I look at Norway as just the ideal use of a countries natural resources. The people get the benefit.

Mute Little Jim
    Favourite Little Jim
    Mar 5th 2013, 8:37 PM

Sean, thanks for wasting my time with your makey uppy contributions.
    This comment serves no purpose other than to waste some of your time in revenge.

Mute Keith McNair
    Favourite Keith McNair
    Mar 5th 2013, 11:32 PM

And why do you say “from nobody”?

Mute Paul
    Favourite Paul
    Mar 5th 2013, 7:37 PM

Gardai, great bunch of lad!

Mute АЛЕКСАНДРЪ ХАИШ
    Favourite АЛЕКСАНДРЪ ХАИШ
    Mar 5th 2013, 7:54 PM

Not at all!!!!!!!!

Mute Nuffsaid Thatsall
    Mar 5th 2013, 8:31 PM

Still better than the Politboro / KGB eh Comrade!?!

Mute Petr Tarasov
    Favourite Petr Tarasov
    Mar 5th 2013, 9:16 PM

АЛЕКСАНДРЪ ХАИШ isn’t a comrade or any kind of socialist; he’s an apologist for tyranny.

Mute Stephen Church
    Favourite Stephen Church

Will some judge not just come down hard on these criminal hippies, cut off their dole and arrest them for ruining the lives of the gardai, shell security and staff just trying to give ireland and the world progress in this time

Mute Lorraine Keane
    Favourite Lorraine Keane
    Mar 5th 2013, 8:22 PM

Couldn’t have said it better!

Mute Andrew Flood
    Favourite Andrew Flood
    Mar 5th 2013, 9:53 PM

Already happened many, many times. Lots of Sell to Sea campaigners have now spent time in jail, some for minor road traffic offences that normally carry light fines. Several have permeant injuries they will carry for the rest of their lives. But sure there will always be the Stephens at home in the warmth lacking of any sort of courage or conviction and with that sort of unpleasant need to demand the punishment of those who lack their fear and servility.

Mute Jason
    Favourite Jason
    Mar 6th 2013, 12:23 AM

How do you know that Stephen doesn’t believe in anything or that he doesn’t stand up for those beliefs. Is it because he doesn’t agree with your point if view? That’s fairly arrogant. I wouldn’t be up obstructing legal activity either. Whether you like it or not the courts have ruled it legal and no reasonable person has a problem with legitimate protest. The problem is the mob that attach themselves like limpets to a legitimate cause and then act as agent provocateurs in the midst of the genuine protesters, create conflict, obstruction, violence and damage and then revel in the controversy the have created. It has been happening at every scenario where there are good crowds of protestors. There’s no hero among the limpet mob like the hero that creates a situation that makes their opposition look bad. This “rape tape” scenario was a classic example. They edited the tape. They cut very important sections out which changed the complete context of what happened. Classic tactics employed to frustrate the legitimate enforcement of court orders.

Mute Pádraig O'hEidhin
    Mar 5th 2013, 8:13 PM

dirty hippies

Mute Petr Tarasov
    Favourite Petr Tarasov
    Mar 5th 2013, 8:23 PM

Dirty fascist.

Mute Chuck Farrelly
    Favourite Chuck Farrelly

Not liking hippies = being a fascist?

Mute Petr Tarasov
    Favourite Petr Tarasov
    Mar 5th 2013, 9:09 PM

Every fascist formation in history made reference to the cleanliness/hygiene of those they demonised – be it Romani, Jews, whoever.

Mute Chuck Farrelly
    Favourite Chuck Farrelly
    Mar 5th 2013, 9:24 PM

Like when you called him a dirty fascist just now?

Mute Petr Tarasov
    Favourite Petr Tarasov
    Mar 5th 2013, 9:33 PM

Those who smear dissents can expect to be hit back. Live with it.

Mute Chuck Farrelly
    Favourite Chuck Farrelly
    Mar 5th 2013, 10:06 PM

“It’s different when I do it”

Mute Jimmy
    Favourite Jimmy
    Mar 5th 2013, 10:55 PM

Few flagons in the Spanish Arch Petr later? Bring the bongos, we can smear ourselves in Indian oil…just like old times….

Mute Petr Tarasov
    Favourite Petr Tarasov
    Mar 6th 2013, 12:01 AM

That’s some kinky sh!t, Jimbo. I’ll leave you to it if you don’t mind. I’ll be in Áras na nGael!

Mute Jason
    Favourite Jason
    Mar 6th 2013, 12:25 AM

Love it :)

Mute Jason
    Favourite Jason
    Mar 6th 2013, 12:26 AM

Love it :) chuck… It’s different when I do it.

Mute Pádraig O'hEidhin
    Mar 6th 2013, 5:56 PM

i heard they dont wash under their foreskins

Mute Brian Flynn
    Favourite Brian Flynn
    Mar 5th 2013, 8:02 PM

Jesus wept ….please stop calling Paul Murphy an MEP. Its a breach of the Trade Descriptions Act.He is unelected and has absolutely no mandate whatsoever. In fact we got a good sight of how he views democracy in Tallaght a few weeks ago.

Mute Petr Tarasov
    Favourite Petr Tarasov
    Mar 5th 2013, 8:12 PM

I think people call him an MEP because he’s an MEP.

Mute Brian Flynn
    Favourite Brian Flynn
    Mar 5th 2013, 8:27 PM

What election did he win???

Mute Leonard Washington
    Favourite Leonard Washington
    Mar 5th 2013, 8:30 PM

Same way European commissioners are unelected? Same way Monti is the unelected prime minister of Italy?
    Endas trolls out in force tonight.

Mute Nuffsaid Thatsall
    Mar 5th 2013, 8:36 PM

Joe Higgins’ underling! Only where he is cus Joe stroked a ticket to the Dail party in a bitter “Anyone but Fianna Fáil” last General Election and Junior got handed the MEP gig! Like previously said…He holds no mandate!

Mute Petr Tarasov
    Favourite Petr Tarasov
    Mar 5th 2013, 9:11 PM

Brian — I said he’s an MEP, I didn’t say he had won an election. This is an argument you cannot win. He is an MEP whether you like it or not.

Mute АЛЕКСАНДРЪ ХАИШ
    Favourite АЛЕКСАНДРЪ ХАИШ
    Mar 5th 2013, 7:43 PM

IRELAND IS A HUGE MESS!

Mute Pablo
    Favourite Pablo
    Mar 5th 2013, 8:01 PM

Russia’s not LMAO

Mute Martina Lavin
    Favourite Martina Lavin
    Mar 5th 2013, 8:07 PM

That turf in your profile pic Pablo? Lovely!

Mute Pablo
    Favourite Pablo

Actually a damp load that Martina, in 2010, still, good memories of being ate that day.. :-)

Mute Martina Lavin
    Favourite Martina Lavin
    Mar 5th 2013, 8:58 PM

Looks like it was the old fashioned way, Jasus! I love turf! Great drying past 2 weeks, soon time to fire up the hoppers! :)

Mute Éanna Canavan
    Favourite Éanna Canavan
    Mar 5th 2013, 11:02 PM

An Piopa is defiantly worth a watch, also worth checking out “Pipe Down” is on google video I think, the good thing about that one is that it interviews people from both sides (counselors and a shell employee) and you can make your own judgements after that. The reason why Norway is so significant with this project is because the have a claim to this gas line the same way we do….the only major difference is that they have a stake in it and as a result making billions off it. The way it would work here is that Shell would sell it back to us and the government gets to tax it. Not really much of a deal is it?

As was said here it was Ray Burke who brokered the deal itself which apparently was done behind closed doors back in the 80s. Why the man isn’t rotting in a jail for what he did I’ll never know. The so called “hippies” said that Shell came in and treated them like a third world country and bossed them around. The funny thing is thought that they were sort of right. Same thing happened with a similar gas project in Africa where Shell weren’t having their way with a group of local farmers so they hired a local militia and had them killed. This is not a conspiracy theory at all, it went to a human rights court in America and Shell had to make a settlement with the relatives. Feel free to look that one up.

The same relatives visited the Rossport 5 while they were in prison and showed their support for them.

With campaigns like this, there are always going to be the anarchist arseholes that protest for the sake of it, and cause trouble just for the sake of it….that just happens, there is not any other way to avoid it. But there are still plenty of locals that had good cause for concern as well as locals that were all for the project. Thats the sad thing really, a whole community was divided on the issue. There have also been a lot of alleged dirty tactics by Shell so its up to yourself who you want to believe in this one. I’m all for progress myself, but it should really be done while liaising with the locals instead of pushing them around. Phew!

Mute Dave Fingleton
    Favourite Dave Fingleton
    Mar 6th 2013, 9:11 AM

Eanna..good to hear someone speaking reasonably and sensibly. There seems to be a perception in this country that if you protest about anything, you’re instantly “anti-jobs, anti progress”..these are the slogans that are fired at reasonable people that object against vested interests to things such as building on flood plains, building on aquifers..etc, etc..Wait till you see the protest against this crazy scheme to build massive scale windfarms in the midlands..loads of speculator cash being poured into this plan to destroy 5 counties in Ireland with 185m high turbines to supply electricity to britain…because they couldn’t get planning permission for them over there..check it out..all the information’s online..http://www.lwig.net/…Guaranteed anyone who protests against this will be labelled a nimby…and they will do it without doing any research..

Mute Fran Whelan
    Favourite Fran Whelan
    Mar 5th 2013, 8:22 PM

Pablo if these protestors are winder uppers as you call them do you believe they should be assaulted. I watched Williams sensationalist documentary demonising those people. We still have a constitutional right to protest.

Mute Pablo
    Favourite Pablo
    Mar 5th 2013, 8:29 PM

They want to be assaulted, thats my point.

Mute John Burke
    Favourite John Burke
    Mar 5th 2013, 8:35 PM

I think they are very brave to be honest, I wouldn’t have the guts to go up against Garda, knowing they have the right to give me a kill fracture with a baton.

Mute John Burke
    Favourite John Burke
    Mar 5th 2013, 8:35 PM

Skull fracture nor a feckin kill fracture. FFS

Mute Pablo
    Favourite Pablo

Sorry, they want to be assaulted on their terms, while the camera is rolling ‘at the correct time’. Then turned off appropriately.

Mute Mick Jordan
    Favourite Mick Jordan

Yes you can protest. But you don’t have the right to block a public highway.

Mute Brian Houlihan
    Favourite Brian Houlihan

I’m sure the report will be ignored just like the UN reports on the conditions of our prisons etc.

Mute Mick Jordan
    Favourite Mick Jordan
    Mar 5th 2013, 9:00 PM

Do you have first hand knowledge of our prisons?

Mute Brian Houlihan
    Favourite Brian Houlihan
    Mar 5th 2013, 9:58 PM

No

Mute Terry McCarthy
    Favourite Terry McCarthy

The Garda are civil servants and do not have any special powers. They are policy enforcers, employed to enforce policy, statues and laws. They should be treated with the utmost respect as they have a difficult job. The Garda should also treat all citizens with the same respect even if a civil law as been broken i.e. traffic offence. However if an individual breaks a common law then and only then should the Garda use a firm hand. It really bothers me when a Garda speaks to a mature civilian as if they were a bold school child. Any Garda involved using a heavy hand incorrectly in the shell dispute against the protesters should be brought before the courts.

Mute Sean Beag
    Favourite Sean Beag
    Mar 5th 2013, 8:16 PM

So do you not believe in the Constitution which gives validity to statute?

Mute Tom Keating
    Favourite Tom Keating
    Mar 5th 2013, 8:34 PM

Your actually incorrect. The Garda is neither a law or policy enforcement body. They are there to keep the peace and are empowered by the state, correctly, to carry out that duty. We have a very good policing body, sure it’s not perfect, but it’s up there with the best and deal with all the sh1te side of our society.

Mute Eamonn Comerford
    Favourite Eamonn Comerford
    Mar 5th 2013, 9:32 PM

Here we go we don’t want she’ll, we don’t want salmon farms, we don’t want wind farms, oh we don’t want abortion, we want a hospital in every parish, etc etc etc.

Mute Andrew Flood
    Favourite Andrew Flood
    Mar 5th 2013, 9:55 PM

We dom’t want a corporation taking billions out of Ireland that is needed for health & education services. We don’t want a police force that acts as a private army to that coloration. We don’t want out politicians, cops & judges being handed off with peanut bribes. Sounds fair enough to me.

Mute Eamonn Comerford
    Favourite Eamonn Comerford
    Mar 5th 2013, 10:07 PM

In 40 years time you will still be talking s####, hugging trees, wearing saddles, etc etc

Mute Andrew Flood
    Favourite Andrew Flood
    Mar 5th 2013, 10:55 PM

I wouldn’t be seen dead in sandals – your stale cliches reveal your lack of knowledge and indeed thought

Mute Dave O'Hanlon
    Favourite Dave O'Hanlon
    Mar 5th 2013, 10:59 PM

We want resources to be removed correctly and at the correct price. All this is another Bertie legacy, that weasel was involved with Burke in creating the agreement in the 80s. A lot of this negativity towards the protests is down to Independent Media which speaks mainly for conservative Dublin and doesnt give a damn about any other part of the country, lets put a similar experimental pipeline at Dunlaoghaire and stretch it all across D4 (and Terenure). Paul Williams has also attacked them and also was a VIP guest of Shell for the famous Croke park Ireland -England match. People here seem to think that if this protest ends policing will suddenly improve across the country. People in this country are a joke.

Mute Anne De Croix
    Favourite Anne De Croix
    Mar 5th 2013, 11:00 PM

Eamonn, seriously, are you out of your mind?

Why would you mock a respect for nature?
    That comes across as really really nethanderal.

and salmon farms are dangerous to wild salmon or don’t you know that? Does it not matter to you? So long as you get your salmon dinner or smoked salmon starter? Do you know that crabs feel pain? Can you imagine if aliens came to Earth how primitive we would look with our rows of crab-claws lined up in the supermarket fridges?
    We are so backwards it’s frightening.
    And we call it culture………..!

Mute Joan Ruud Donnellan-Wijnen
    Favourite Joan Ruud Donnellan-Wijnen
    Mar 5th 2013, 11:35 PM

@ Anne.. I wouldn’t even bother responding ..re-Eamonn… A dumb uneducated comment from him… Doesn’t that tell you …

Mute Andrew Flood
    Favourite Andrew Flood
    Mar 5th 2013, 9:57 PM

What a collection of craven forelock tuggers, hoping no doubt the big man might think favourably of your willingness to do his bidding unasked.

Mute Peter Richardson
    Favourite Peter Richardson
    Mar 5th 2013, 9:37 PM

We must always subscribe to and support orthodoxy. In this way the fair, just and enlightened policies of Fiana Fail, Fine Gael, Labiur, the former PDs, the Green Party are fully implemented. We are fortunate in Ireland that our political parties are infallible. We are fortunate that An Garda Siochana never ever break the law. We are fortunate that She’ll, the most environmentally conscious, law abiding and social justice seeking oil company has favoured and blessed Ireland with it benighted and generous attentions.

I urge all people always to obey our just and good laws, show obedience, show deference to An Garda Siochana at all times, we they would never use violence except under absolute necessity to save life, accept the current policies without demur or complaint and never ever to rock the boat.

As long as you do what you are told in Ireland, support lawful authority at all times, obey your betters, you will never have to rely on human tights.

Read Lorna Siggins book and look at the documentary, An Piopa, before you make up your minds? No need for that. You don’t need information or knowledge, no need to question anything, accept your lot and learn from the cows in the fields. Be bovine, servile, supine and subservient. You will be looked after. Trust the law, trust politicians and trust An Garda Siochana. You have nothing to fear if you obey.

As for the rape jokes by the Garda Siochana Sergeant and the others, sure wasn’t that just hilarious.

Mute Peter Richardson
    Favourite Peter Richardson
    Mar 5th 2013, 9:38 PM

Human tights may be more amusing but human rights is what I meant.

Mute Jason
    Favourite Jason
    Mar 6th 2013, 12:33 AM

? A lot of sarcasm there. A bit too much really. That tape was tampered with before it was handed in. The guard was repeating something that one of the protestors on the obstruction action was shouting but of course that bit was deleted.

Mute Chuck Farrelly
    Favourite Chuck Farrelly
    Mar 5th 2013, 9:04 PM

“A pattern of intimidation, harassment and surveillance by protestors opposed to the gas project”

Fixed it for you

Mute Tina Heverin
    Favourite Tina Heverin
    Mar 5th 2013, 11:32 PM

While there has been some peaceful protesting in the area, there has also been intimidating protesting too over the years, which hasn’t been reported in the media too much, maybe due to fear of more intimidation. In my opinion.

Mute John Burke
    Favourite John Burke
    Mar 5th 2013, 7:23 PM

Corrib not cotton

Mute Turlough Kelly
    Favourite Turlough Kelly
    Mar 6th 2013, 2:00 PM

You know, as depressing as this comment thread it is, it really comes as no surprise in a country which prides itself on its subservience. From dutifully turning a blind eye to the horrific misdeeds of the Catholic church for generations, to acting as Europe’s doormat in the Great Recession, we truly deserve everything we get.

Mute Shane Brady
    Favourite Shane Brady
    Mar 6th 2013, 10:04 AM

A sure hand over everything we have to wealthy bankers and multinationals and then give the Gardai medals for beating up and threatening to rape anyone who tries to protest about it.