You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Shutterstock

More than 300 prisoners are still slopping out

A further 261 are held in solitary confinement, some for 23 hours a day.

SOME 334 PRISONERS in Ireland are still slopping out, although the process has ended in most institutions.

The vast majority of these prisoners – 226 – are in Cork prison, while 59 and 49 are in Portlaoise and Limerick prisons respectively.

This marks a drop of  67 per cent since late 2010 when 1,003 prisoners were slopping out.

The process ended in Mountjoy Prison in Dublin last year. Construction on a new prison in Cork, which began in January, is expected to be completed by July 2015.

Some 1,637 prisoners nationally must use the toilet in the presence of others.

These statistics were among a number shared with the Dáil by Justice Minister Frances Fitzgerald recently

She said that last year saw the first “significant decrease” in prison numbers since 2007. There were 15,735 committals to prison in 2013, representing a drop of 7.6 per cent on the 2012 figure.

The average number of prisoners in custody rose from 3,321 in 2007 to 4,318 in 2012, an increase of over 30 per cent.

The total number of committals to prison also rose sharply during the same period, from 11,934 in 2007 to 17,026 in 2012 – an increase of over 43 per cent.

As of the 1 April, there were 4,103 prisoners in custody in Irish prisons.

There are currently 97 20-year-olds in prison, 69 19-year-olds, 50 18-year-olds and nine 17-year-olds.

Solitary confinement

261 prisoners are being held on a restricted regime, with 134 in solitary confinement for 21 hours every day and 43 alone for 23 hours per day.

The overall figure has increased from 228 since January. In the previous nine months, it had dropped by 76 per cent.

Fitzgerald said that a prisoner’s regime might be restricted at their own request or because they are vulnerable or “reasonably likely to cause significant harm” to other prisoners.

She said the fact that some prisoners are immediately separated from the general population or from specific prisoners identified as presenting a threat “clearly demonstrates the commitment of the Irish Prison Service to ensure their safety and security”.

The status of each prisoner on restricted regime within the prison system is regularly reviewed. If possible, prisoners can be transferred to other institutions where a restricted regime would not be necessary.

In July 2013, the Director General of the IPS established a group to look at potential mesaures to reduce the number of prisoners currently held on restricted regimes with a view to ensuring that all receive a minimum of three hours a day ‘out of cell time’ to engage in exercise or activity.

Since then the number of prisoners in solitary confinement has decreased from 339 to 261.

Of those currently on a restricted regime, 228 are for protection reasons (of which 226 are there at their own request). Some 13 are in their cell for 21 hours a day and 43 are housed for 23 hours per day.

Cell capacity

Some 2,044 prisoners have a single cell while 1,528 and 414 are in double and triple cells respectively, and 117 are in cells with four or more prisoners.

Fitzgerald said the IPS is not in a position to provide single cell accommodation to all prisoners “without releasing sizeable numbers of prisoners considered to represent a threat to public safety”.

She noted that the current redevelopment of all wings in Mountjoy Prison will see each cell being returned to single occupancy status. Some 543 prisoners in Mountjoy, 92 per cent, are in single cells at present.

“It should be borne in mind that in certain cases prisoners are housed together for reasons other than lack of capacity,” Fitzgerald remarked.

Family members and friends often elect or are assigned a shared cell. Shared cell accommodation can be very beneficial from a management point of view particularly for those who are vulnerable and at risk of self-harm. There will always be a need for certain prisoners to be accommodated together.

Related: Use of 23-hour solitary confinement has dropped by 76% in nine months

Read: End of an era: slopping out to officially end in Mountjoy this month

Read: Hundreds detained in Irish prisons each year over immigration issues

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

95 Comments
    Mute Kevin Rooney
    Favourite Kevin Rooney
    Jul 11th 2017, 4:45 PM

Danny Healy Rae is a chancer of the highest order. Just looking after vested interests.

Mute Mark DeFriest
    Favourite Mark DeFriest
    Jul 11th 2017, 4:48 PM

@Kevin Rooney:
    He was right about climate change though.
    Total myth.

Mute Peter Cavey
    Favourite Peter Cavey
    Jul 11th 2017, 4:54 PM

@Kevin Rooney: what a clown that guy is. Anti global warming and pro drink driving. Shame on the prime if Kerry for voting this dope into office.

Mute Larissa Caroline Nikolaus
    Favourite Larissa Caroline Nikolaus
    Jul 11th 2017, 5:04 PM

@Mark DeFriest: Tesco is doing a deal on tinfoil, you need a new hat

Mute Shawn Rahoon
    Favourite Shawn Rahoon
    Jul 11th 2017, 5:33 PM

@Peter Cavey: Pro drink driving is not pro drunk driving. He didn’t say 3 glasses of Guinness over a certain period of time. If you are drunk after having a pint after an hour then just give up drinking.

Jul 11th 2017, 5:55 PM

@Shawn Rahoon: Don’t drink alcohol and drive, it’s not rocket science, even a small amount of alcohol already impairs your reaction time.

Mute John Scott
    Favourite John Scott
    Jul 11th 2017, 5:58 PM

@Peter Cavey: there is a lot more dopes around when you see who gets elected around the country.

Mute Ken Hayden
    Favourite Ken Hayden
    Jul 11th 2017, 6:12 PM

@Larissa Caroline Nikolaus: Your reference to rocket science means nothing to Danny Healy Rae , he has rocket surgeons giving him advice .

Mute Donal Martin
    Favourite Donal Martin
    Jul 11th 2017, 6:26 PM

@Kevin Rooney: he is a thick

Mute Billy McNamara
    Favourite Billy McNamara
    Jul 11th 2017, 8:30 PM

@Peter Cavey: And while shame is mentioned,Total Shame on the people of NORTH TIPP for voting that scoundrel Lowrey in.And I mean North Tipp,because no one in South Tipp would vote for this “Profoundly Corr*pt Cr**i**L.

Mute Ger Healy
    Favourite Ger Healy
    Jul 12th 2017, 9:53 AM

@Larissa Caroline Nikolaus: If we were to name everything which can impair driving, a lot of people would be off the road.

Mute Dermot Lane
    Favourite Dermot Lane
    Jul 12th 2017, 10:09 AM

@Mark DeFriest: right about climate change? He said only God himself controls the weather. Do you believe that Mark?

Mute Mark DeFriest
    Favourite Mark DeFriest
    Jul 12th 2017, 11:09 AM

@Dermot Lane
    No one has been able to disprove his arguments though.

Mute Gavin Merrigan
    Favourite Gavin Merrigan
    Jul 11th 2017, 4:51 PM

Is he the reason there’s Kerry man jokes ?

Mute John Shea Hen
    Favourite John Shea Hen
    Jul 11th 2017, 6:11 PM

@Gavin Merrigan: Nope. We are all as thick as shít.

Mute Anthony Byrne
    Favourite Anthony Byrne
    Jul 11th 2017, 4:46 PM

He lives in a world of his own.

Mute John B
    Favourite John B
    Jul 11th 2017, 6:34 PM

@Anthony Byrne: yes, it’s called Kerry.

Mute Alois Irlmaier
    Favourite Alois Irlmaier
    Jul 12th 2017, 12:12 AM
    Jul 11th 2017, 4:47 PM

If he had a big feed would he get on the plane.

Mute Christy Nolan
    Favourite Christy Nolan
    Jul 11th 2017, 5:17 PM

@John:
    Pay by weight, like the proposed bin charges.

Mute Gareth Cooney
    Favourite Gareth Cooney
    Jul 11th 2017, 4:53 PM

He’s right there’s no such a thing as drunk driving, God is in control of the car…….

Mute Mark DeFriest
    Favourite Mark DeFriest

Hahaha. Laughed out loud at that Gareth.

Mute Clare Leon
    Favourite Clare Leon
    Jul 11th 2017, 5:44 PM

While road deaths decrease year by year, the suicide rate increases. So if Shane Ross is serious about saving six lives a year, maybe he should listen to Jackie Healy Rae’s arguments. There are NO TAXIS in rural Ireland, nor any other means of public transport. People prefer to sit alone at home rather than risk a pint or two at the pub with friends. Isolation is a major contributory factor to depression. It’s not hard to hang yourself in the barn in a moment of despair if no-one is around to talk you out of it.

Jul 11th 2017, 6:02 PM

@Clare Leon: like mentioned by another commenter already, if people are that lonely and pining for the pub, why don’t they drink nonalcoholic beverages while enjoying each others company?

Mute Peter donnelly
    Favourite Peter donnelly
    Jul 11th 2017, 8:39 PM

@Larissa Caroline Nikolaus: have you ever tasted non alcohol beer, it should be banned….

Mute Michael Heery
    Favourite Michael Heery
    Jul 12th 2017, 2:07 AM

@Larissa Caroline Nikolaus: cappuchino is over 3 euros., i go pubs , i think they hate serving coffee…

Mute James Mc Loughlin
    Favourite James Mc Loughlin
    Jul 11th 2017, 4:53 PM

Dose he own a pub

Mute Mark DeFriest
    Favourite Mark DeFriest
    Jul 11th 2017, 4:56 PM

@James Mc Loughlin:
    Is the alcohol lobby the most influential in Dail Eireann?
    Answer to both questions:
    Yes.

Mute andrew
    Favourite andrew
    Jul 11th 2017, 5:08 PM

@James Mc Loughlin: I am sure the Healy Rae’s have a bar

Mute Molly1952
    Favourite Molly1952
    Jul 11th 2017, 5:31 PM

If the rural dwellers in Kerry or elsewhere in rural Ireland are so lonely and isolated is there any reaon why they can’t drive to the pub, play cards, watch TV with the other men/women, exchange the local news,and drink a couple of pints of shandy or Cidona?? And then drive safely home? Given the choice of no alcohol or no social interaction I know what I’d pick if I was lonely.

Jul 11th 2017, 5:43 PM

@Molly1952: I’d move…..

Mute Sorcha Hendry
    Favourite Sorcha Hendry
    Jul 11th 2017, 5:03 PM

Well if he wants to be in a plane crash or car crash then good for him but he has to realise most people don’t.

Mute Nick Allen
    Favourite Nick Allen

He makes Trump sound like is is talking sense

Mute Mark DeFriest
    Favourite Mark DeFriest

He’s right too.
    Whenever I go drinking in the sticks where there’s no gardai to bother yeh and after a few scoops I drive home at 20 kilometres an hour with my hazard lights on. Never had a tip in me life.

Mute Pat Irish
    Favourite Pat Irish
    Jul 11th 2017, 9:58 PM

@Mark DeFriest: That you know of…

Mute Paul Matthews
    Favourite Paul Matthews
    Jul 11th 2017, 5:12 PM

Typical of a publican politician. He should provide transport for his customers.

Mute Eddie Byrne
    Favourite Eddie Byrne
    Jul 11th 2017, 5:14 PM

Sharp as a Marble is our Danny Healy Rae

Mute Fank Pulman
    Favourite Fank Pulman
    Jul 11th 2017, 5:25 PM

@Eddie Byrne: No – the sharpest TD is the Boxer from Athlone, who can’t read or write¡ But says he’s the smartest man alive! There’s NO doubt – we can pick them!!! And then we blame everyone else – Trump, Brexit, UK, EU, NI, UN etc.

Mute Mark Dunne
    Favourite Mark Dunne
    Jul 11th 2017, 5:15 PM

How did the electorate in Kerry see fit to put this individual in The Dail to represent them? He is the epitome of a thick mountain mans

Mute Kal Ipers
    Favourite Kal Ipers

Will somebody just force him to do take the virtual driving set-up and show him.

Mute Gerry Ryan deG
    Favourite Gerry Ryan deG
    Jul 11th 2017, 5:22 PM

The commentary on here is so biased against one man and his home in rural Ireland that nobody is addressing the issue.
    The data that’s being used to bolster the argument is out of date and flawed.
    It’s from 5 years ago and increased Garda detection rate is from less tests than were reported before so the percentage is up.
    Could we have a proper study and then have a discussion.

Mute Peter donnelly
    Favourite Peter donnelly
    Jul 11th 2017, 8:47 PM

@Gerry Ryan deG: this is how they started on the cigarettes they are killing us etc now that they have most of us afraid to smoke they are starting on the pint what will it be next they have already started on sugar and any product containing day there isn’t much left well I suppose there is always air….

Mute Peter donnelly
    Favourite Peter donnelly
    Jul 11th 2017, 8:54 PM

@Peter donnelly: should read containing fat….

Mute Brian Lilly
    Favourite Brian Lilly
    Jul 11th 2017, 5:10 PM

This man is a proper numpty.

Mute Ken Hayden
    Favourite Ken Hayden
    Jul 11th 2017, 5:29 PM

@Brian Lilly: As a member of the Numpty community I’m offended by your comparison .

Mute P.J. Nolan
    Favourite P.J. Nolan
    Jul 11th 2017, 5:31 PM

Not for a second would I agree with what he saying.but anyone saying that Danny Healy Rae is a fool needs to check again. People like his brother, his father and the likes of Michael Lowery have been playing that card for decades, they will keep saying whatever ” annoys the liberals in Dublin” the most and they will keep been elected.

If you want to get rid of the Healy Raes etc, stop rising to the bait and ignore them.

Mute Ken Hayden
    Favourite Ken Hayden

He’s right though . I was in a pub in kerry once and got drunk , the barman asked me if I was driving , and I said yes , He then said , good , you’re in no condition to walk .

Mute Dave O'Hanlon
    Favourite Dave O'Hanlon
    Jul 11th 2017, 5:19 PM

@Ken Hayden: I’d swear I’d read that joke somewhere before

Mute Ken Hayden
    Favourite Ken Hayden
    Jul 11th 2017, 5:26 PM

@Dave O’Hanlon: That’s what happens after I’ve had a few drinks , and the traffic on the M50 is slow moving , so I’m bored as well : )

Mute Fank Pulman
    Favourite Fank Pulman
    Jul 11th 2017, 5:15 PM

An absolute clown – teetotal and giving advice on drinking. But then, we had priests giving sex education and marriage guidance – when they couldn’t keep their hands off their pupils¡ No country in the EU doesn’t ban drink drivers!

Mute John Walsh
    Favourite John Walsh
    Jul 11th 2017, 5:04 PM

One pint before a meal on a night out is grand.

Mute Colm Mcmahon
    Favourite Colm Mcmahon

What a dumb fool.I can’t believe the people in Kerry are still voting this clown into the Irish parliament.

Mute john g mcgrath
    Favourite john g mcgrath
    Jul 11th 2017, 5:24 PM

@Colm Mcmahon: that’s where the old Kerry man jokes came from ”’

Mute Dáithí Ó Raghallaigh
    Favourite Dáithí Ó Raghallaigh

We could arrange it or maybe Russian Roulette

Mute Darren Byrne
    Favourite Darren Byrne
    Jul 11th 2017, 5:09 PM

@Dáithí Ó Raghallaigh: Yes with a chimp as the pilot. Or better yet just let the chimp take his seat in the Dáil

Mute Darren Byrne
    Favourite Darren Byrne
    Jul 11th 2017, 5:09 PM

@Dáithí Ó Raghallaigh: Yes with a chimp as the pilot. Or better yet just let the chimp take his seat in the Dáil

Mute john g mcgrath
    Favourite john g mcgrath
    Jul 11th 2017, 5:25 PM

@Darren Byrne: there’s enough chimps there already!!

Mute Declan McArdle
    Favourite Declan McArdle
    Jul 11th 2017, 5:07 PM

Well, this will be on Sky or CNN soon…

Mute Darren
    Favourite Darren

Complete and utter tit

Mute Peadar Ó Gréacháin
    Favourite Peadar Ó Gréacháin
    Jul 11th 2017, 5:23 PM

What was Kerry thinking……

Jul 11th 2017, 5:42 PM

@Peadar Ó Gréacháin: no comment

Mute winston smith
    Favourite winston smith
    Jul 11th 2017, 6:46 PM

Ireland’s enforcement of road safety is the biggest joke here. How many contributers have been breath tested or had their car given a once over for bald tyres or faulty lights in the last six months? Many have never been breath tested and the chances of being tested for other drugs is likely rare. Speed detection(entrapment) is even worse with most caught where the speed drops down suddenly and a van just happens to be parked. I would say stop creating more and more laws and enforce those on the books. Whay happens if when we have this legislation/law embedded in road deaths still increase? will we scrap it or start to ban smoking and driving because nicotine is a relaxant. Of course there have been some horrific road deaths contributed to abuse of alcohol and that will continue because the folk who take the big chances do not care about the law…many are banned a number of times and still drive and never tax or insure their cars…the legal system has a lot to answer including the droves of offenders who have their cases thrown out of court on technicalities.

Mute shaz
    Favourite shaz
    Jul 11th 2017, 5:10 PM

Is he for real???? 2/3 glasses of wine not fine for a driver never mind a pilot! I suggest Mr Healy Rae speaks to those effected by drunk drivers and hopefully sees the suffering caused maybe then he might come back to reality! Total moron. There’s things called taxis in rural areas too!

Mute Paul Jennings
    Favourite Paul Jennings
    Jul 11th 2017, 11:04 PM

@shaz: a few years ago, Mattie McGrath said, “Any man who can’t drive safely with a few pints in him shouldn’t even be drinkin.’ ” (or words to that effect.)

Mute shaz
    Favourite shaz
    Jul 12th 2017, 2:26 AM

@Paul Jennings: omg and people voted for these morons!!!!! I hope a drunk driver crosses their path, it would be interesting to see if their tune would change then!

Mute D'Murph
    Favourite D'Murph
    Jul 11th 2017, 6:53 PM

Understand what’s minister Ross is trying to do here. Any chance he would improve rural transportation now and provide an evening service to allow locals get home or even a publican incentive?

Mute Barry Somers
    Favourite Barry Somers
    Jul 11th 2017, 5:40 PM

If I drank three pints I’d be a danger to others on the road,
    If he supplys the car and allows me to drive it on a private road I’ll happily show him how unfit to drive I’d be after 3 pints.

Mute Shawn Rahoon
    Favourite Shawn Rahoon
    Jul 11th 2017, 6:43 PM

@Barry Somers: Healy Rea said two or three glasses not three pints. I drank around 4 pints at a wedding reception over a period of about 6 hours. I drove home as sober as before I started drinking and was of no danger to other road users.

Mute Darren Bates
    Favourite Darren Bates
    Jul 11th 2017, 4:45 PM

And you would die in a plane crash mate.

Mute Ken Hayden
    Favourite Ken Hayden
    Jul 11th 2017, 4:59 PM

@Darren Bates: He might have a point , the last couple of plane disasters have been the result of planes being shot down by missiles , they’re a lot harder to hit if the pilot is swerving all over the place : )

Mute Paul Shepherd
    Favourite Paul Shepherd
    Jul 11th 2017, 10:14 PM

@Darren Bates: great, we wouldn’t have to listen to any more nonsense from this ignoramus…..

Mute John Shea Hen
    Favourite John Shea Hen
    Jul 11th 2017, 6:13 PM

As a Kerryman let me be the first to say what an honour it is to be from the same County as this articulate, intelligent ma…..oh bollocks.

Mute Ken Hayden
    Favourite Ken Hayden
    Jul 11th 2017, 6:22 PM

@John Shea Hen: Fair play to him , he speaks his mind , he just doesn’t mind what he speaks though .

Mute Maurice Slater
    Favourite Maurice Slater
    Jul 11th 2017, 5:22 PM

Buddy Holly said something similar.

Mute Benny Dowling
    Favourite Benny Dowling
    Jul 11th 2017, 5:59 PM

This man is comedy gold. He is a throw back to a bygone era (neolithic period)

Mute Sean @114
    Favourite Sean @114
    Jul 11th 2017, 7:57 PM

He doesn’t drink yet declares himself to be an authority on the volume of alcohol consumption required to impair the senses of the average barfly to the extent where he or she is capable of killing somebody with a motorised vehicle. Apparently three glasses of beer, no alcoholic strength specified, is below the threshold and presumably the actual threshold, which he fails to mention, has been calculated after many years of observing paying clientele getting wasted in his family boozer over the past half a century and then hopping in the jammer to zig zag back to the farm. There is no conflict of interest here of course.

Mute Dante Marquinhos
    Favourite Dante Marquinhos
    Jul 11th 2017, 6:33 PM

“‘If a pilot had two or three glasses to drink I’d still get on the plane’”

Of course he would get on the plane. He thinks it’s god that holds the plane anyway.

Mute James Paterson
    Favourite James Paterson
    Jul 11th 2017, 4:58 PM

Hillbilly elected by hillbillies…

Mute Baron Von Beer
    Favourite Baron Von Beer
    Jul 11th 2017, 5:27 PM

Was the pilot ready to meet a load of virgin’s

Mute Paddy
    Favourite Paddy
    Jul 11th 2017, 4:48 PM

Better to remain silent and thought to be a fool than speak and remove all dought!

Mute Ken Hayden
    Favourite Ken Hayden
    Jul 11th 2017, 5:30 PM

@Dilly Dong: Doh !

Mute Denis McCarthy
    Favourite Denis McCarthy
    Jul 11th 2017, 6:50 PM

We get what we deserve. The electorate put him there, just as they did Ahern, Lowry, Burke, etc.

Mute Euro is Dead
    Favourite Euro is Dead
    Jul 12th 2017, 8:48 AM

Can someone not express an opinion without this kind of personal abuse. Bottom line is he is actually correct. There are few people who would pose serious risk by virtue of the fact that they had consumed a pint and a half. Also we do not have mandatory sentences for much more serious crimes such as assault burglary, or even manslaughter. I believe that everyone has a right to voice an opinion without being described as a muckspreader etc.

Mute marty
    Favourite marty

Scoops, Horsebox, Cabbagehead gombeen come to mine spoken in a Kerry accent when ever i hear of him of he’s family.

Just dont look and hopefully he’ll go away fall off the face of the earth at some stage…..earth is flat isnt it :P

Mute Catherine Mc
    Favourite Catherine Mc
    Jul 11th 2017, 7:45 PM

Gobshtie ! Apparently spelling it correctly is offensive…….

Mute Alois Irlmaier
    Favourite Alois Irlmaier
    Jul 12th 2017, 12:20 AM

@Catherine Mc: If he was a druggy, an addict or an alcoholic, would we call him the same???

Mute Paddy Downey
    Favourite Paddy Downey
    Jul 11th 2017, 7:38 PM

I can’t understand why polling for Independents was down 8% in last weekends survey. Just can’t get my head around it ….

Mute Rusty Nuts
    Favourite Rusty Nuts
    Jul 11th 2017, 8:26 PM

Complete gombeen

Mute Daithi Mac An TSionnaigh
    Favourite Daithi Mac An TSionnaigh
    Jul 11th 2017, 4:55 PM

How can we get rid of this muppet? Seriously he clearly has mental issues

Mute EvieXVI
    Favourite EvieXVI
    Jul 11th 2017, 9:42 PM

@Daithi Mac An TSionnaigh: any drunken pilots care to help us out here??

Mute Sean
    Favourite Sean
    Jul 11th 2017, 9:10 PM

I read in the Sunday Times last year that the Healy Raes came up to protest at an Allsop auction and ended up buying a few properties (a fact they later had to reveal as part of TD asset disclosures). Sums them up really. They are cleverer than those that vote for them.

Mute Matthew O'Kane
    Favourite Matthew O'Kane

the muck spreader from kerry everytime he opens his mouth sh@te comes out just like his brother well kerry like them so we gotta hear their b@ll#$k, fianna fail fine geal in all but name

Jul 11th 2017, 5:41 PM

If you put a plastic Jesus on your dashboard sure wont the lord himself guide your drunken hand?

Mute Ken Hayden
    Favourite Ken Hayden
    Jul 11th 2017, 6:20 PM

@Gus Sheridan: Maybe we could get Ezekial to do a pick up and drop off Chariot service .

Mute Ron North
    Favourite Ron North
    Jul 11th 2017, 7:15 PM

@Gus Sheridan: That’s way below his pay grade, Padre Pio is the man in that department.

Mute Mary Elizabeth Whittle
    Favourite Mary Elizabeth Whittle

Going by those comments, I bet no-one in his family has died as a result of drink driving…. shame on him…

Mute Jed I. Knight
    Favourite Jed I. Knight

I hate to say it, but if a pilot had drink on him I’d let Danny Healy Rae get on that plane – but there’s no way I would. Idiot.

Mute Anne Honer
    Favourite Anne Honer
    Jul 11th 2017, 4:52 PM

Is there anything this idiot won’t say to encourage people drink and drive but to then say sure have a few you be grand flying that plane your not only risking your life but the hundreds of passengers who have decided to trust you not to take drugs or drink ffs he really is an idiot

Mute Niall Binéad
    Favourite Niall Binéad
    Jul 11th 2017, 5:16 PM

Healy Rae is a complete and utter Gobsh#te of the highest order! It baffles me as to who in their right mind could vote for such a Moron!

Mute Denise Daly
    Favourite Denise Daly
    Jul 11th 2017, 10:24 PM

What a complete imbecile and as someone said further down the comments, probably the reason kerryman jokes are still around.
    Drink driving culture is alive and largely given a blind eye in rural towns.
    My brother lives in Kerry and I have lived in both limerick and Galway and have seen it.
    Local gardai while off duty, have sat drinking until after 3am with locals and knew some of them would drive the couple of mile home.
    But Healy-Rae champions this as a right people should have!! Disgusting.

Mute Frankly Mydear
    Favourite Frankly Mydear
    Jul 11th 2017, 9:43 PM

Sure if ya left your car at home and walked home after a few scoops you could be knocked down
    and killed on a dark country road, be it Kerry or anywhere else.

Mute Patrick McCann
    Favourite Patrick McCann
    Jul 11th 2017, 9:03 PM

Don’t listen to this useless, disrespectful,has been, attention seeker. He fell and hit his head on something some time ago. Mad Kerry people, don’t vote for a gombeen like this again

Mute John Clarke
    Favourite John Clarke
    Jul 11th 2017, 4:46 PM

Why the f**k is this dude even getting any airtime? What an A grade sloppy dope.

Mute Thomas Rowe
    Favourite Thomas Rowe
    Jul 12th 2017, 6:03 AM

This guy is a complete idiot, let’s see when a drunk driver kills one of his family! Then we will see a turn around in his views. The worst part is that he is a so called pillar of Irish society! A trusted political face of Kerry???

Mute John Mc Nally
    Favourite John Mc Nally
    Jul 18th 2017, 10:49 PM

@Peter Cavey: Agreed. 100%. He is a Clown to himself and to the good people of Kerry

Mute William Kelly
    Favourite William Kelly
    Jul 12th 2017, 7:48 AM

Any Kamikazi pilots in Kerry, please step forward, your country needs you, now.

Mute Alois Irlmaier
    Favourite Alois Irlmaier
    Jul 12th 2017, 12:17 AM

‘If a pilot had two or three glasses to drink I’d still get on the plane’ and that could be milk, water or mineral? Did he mean beer, wine, spirits or porter?
    Could be worse I suppose?
    http://www.daytondailynews.com/news/national/more-airline-pilots-testing-positive-for-drug-use/EtEcb0AIqp9mR4SY8QuxLL/
    http://www.thedailybeast.com/busted-for-heroin-when-pilots-fly-high

Mute misterG
    Favourite misterG
    Jul 12th 2017, 12:45 AM

I think we all hope Danny gets on a plane with a pilot after a few drinks!