You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

'Mayo Boy, Vietnam Hero': The fascinating story of Patrick Gallagher

The Ballyhaunis man kept his service with the US Marines a secret until he won a top honour.

KATHY RAFTERY FIRST heard about Patrick ‘Bob’ Gallagher when looking at an old childhood photo of her mother.

It was an Irish Press image of a group of schoolchildren taken in 1956.

Her mother explained who everyone in the photo was. When she got to Patrick she said, ‘That boy died in the Vietnam War.’

Intrigued about a Mayo man fighting in one of the most high-profile wars of the 20th century, Kathy started to research his story.

pat Patrick 'Bob' Gallagher Martin Durkan Martin Durkan

Patrick was born in Co Mayo in 1944. He grew up near Ballyhaunis, before emigrating to Long Island in the US in the early 1960s.

He joined the US Marine Corps and was stationed in Vietnam during some of the most intense fighting of a controversial war that waged for almost 20 years.

Two of his sisters also lived in New York and were aware he was serving in Vietnam, but he swore them to secrecy as he didn’t want his family in Ireland to worry about his safety.

Kathy notes that all the letters he sent home went through a military training camp in California so had an American stamp, meaning his family never suspected he was living elsewhere.

Grenades 

A fateful event in Vietnam forced his hand, making telling his parents inevitable – before they found out from someone else.

Patrick was hailed a hero after saving his comrades from incoming grenades, throwing himself on one of them to save his fellow marines in 1966.

patrick Martin Durkan Martin Durkan

A military citation states: “Without hesitation, in a valiant act of self-sacrifice, Lance Corporal Gallagher threw himself upon the deadly grenade in order to absorb the explosion and save the lives of his comrades.

Through his extraordinary heroism and inspiring valor in the face of almost certain death, he saved his comrades from probable injury and possible loss of life. His daring actions were in keeping with the highest traditions of the Marine Corps and the United States Naval Service.

Luckily, the grenade had a delayed fuse which allowed him to roll over and throw it away before it exploded.

Patrick was awarded a Navy Cross, the second highest honour in the US military, for his actions.

He sent a letter home explaining he was serving in Vietnam. Soon afterwards a journalist from RTÉ arrived to interview the parents of the Mayo man hailed a war hero.

The news was a surprise, to say the least.

Fred Bohenek, Frank Morelli & documentary maker Kathy Raftery Kathy with Fred Bohenek (left) and Frank Morelli, two of the Marines who were with Patrick near Da Nang when he died, just weeks after he received his medal. c / o Kathy Raftery c / o Kathy Raftery / o Kathy Raftery

During the course of researching and recording the documentary, Kathy spoke to some of Patrick’s relatives and men who served with him in Vietnam.

His fellow soldiers said Patrick was proud of receiving the Navy Cross but “didn’t want a big fuss made of it” and “just wanted to move on” from a “traumatic” experience in which he could have died.

They remembered him as “very positive and very thorough … a nice guy”.

“When I starting researching it I didn’t realise what a big story it was,” Kathy notes, adding: “It has been an honour to speak to these marines.”

She says they were very sad about recalling Patrick’s death, but happy to help ensure his story was remembered.

Ambush

Patrick was killed in an ambush by Viet Cong soldiers on 30 March 1967, shortly before he was due to leave the country.

Kathy says the attack happened “out of nowhere” on a routine patrol.

download Patrick's story was remembered at Dublin Airport last year. Martin Durkan Martin Durkan

Millions of people – both soldiers and civilians – died in the almost two-decade war. The Vietnam Veterans Memorial in Washington DC bears the names of almost 58,000 members of the US armed forces, including Patrick.

He was one of thousands of Irish people to have served with US Armed Forces in the Vietnam War. About 30 of them were killed in action.

There is an online petition calling for the US Navy to honor Patrick by naming a ship after him. It has over 5,700 signatures to date.

Mayo Boy, Vietnam Hero will be broadcast as RTÉ Radio’s Documentary on One at 2pm today, and repeated at 7pm tomorrow. You can also listen to it online after it has been aired. 

Read: There’s a campaign to have a US military ship named after an Irishman from Ballyhaunis

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

93 Comments
    Mute Ian Breathnach
    Favourite Ian Breathnach
    Jul 6th 2017, 6:46 PM

If there’s no suggestion that the new incinerator has anything to do with the infestation of flies why mention it…….

Also businesses have had to close? Seriously, dramatic much?

Mute Bob Lynch
    Favourite Bob Lynch
    Jul 6th 2017, 7:05 PM

@Ian Breathnach: exactly! However The sewage treatment plant could be a possible source.

Mute Ian Breathnach
    Favourite Ian Breathnach
    Jul 6th 2017, 7:11 PM

@Bob Lynch: How dare you suggest that something well established in the area be the cause of this when clearly there is a controversial ‘monstrosity’ in Poolbeg that can be blamed.

Mute Shawn O'Ceallaghan
    Favourite Shawn O'Ceallaghan
    Jul 6th 2017, 7:16 PM

@Ian Breathnach:live in ringsend and no businesses have closed. Further no flies.

Mute Ronan McDermott
    Favourite Ronan McDermott
    Jul 6th 2017, 8:51 PM

Because that’s a conclusion a lot of readers would come to .

Mute Sueann Moore
    Favourite Sueann Moore
    Jul 6th 2017, 10:29 PM

@Ian Breathnach: You can’t serve food with so many flies, both were catering businesses that ad to close. I’ve gone through 3 cans of pest spray since Monday in our house , the sticky fly paper is covered with them and despite all the windows and doors being closed , more seem to be getting in.

Mute Shawn O'Ceallaghan
    Jul 6th 2017, 11:29 PM

@Sueann Moore: catering business in Ringsend? Theres 8 pubs, 1 spar, Lars shop. 1 butcher. Ladbrookes, tesco, pharmacy. 2 chinese take aways, a chipper, 2 barber, estate agent, hair dresser and a few places near the toll bridge. If there in your house its probably eggs hatching inside and living of fruit.

Mute Abe Brennan
    Favourite Abe Brennan
    Jul 6th 2017, 7:22 PM

How did the flies know there was a bathing ban on Sandymount Beach.

Mute the phantom
    Favourite the phantom
    Jul 6th 2017, 8:29 PM

Could it be all the dog poo the locals don’t bother cleaning up?

Mute Ron North
    Favourite Ron North
    Jul 6th 2017, 7:35 PM

I was wondering why there were so few flies around this year and now I know why. They’re all in Dublin.

Mute marcus connolly
    Favourite marcus connolly
    Jul 6th 2017, 6:44 PM

I’d love to be a fly on the wall at the next local residents meeting.
    Sorry just acting the maggot.

Mute Rónán O'Suilleabháin
    Favourite Rónán O'Suilleabháin
    Jul 6th 2017, 6:54 PM

@marcus connolly: buzz off with your puns

Mute Joseph Blocks
    Favourite Joseph Blocks
    Jul 6th 2017, 6:58 PM

@Rónán O’Suilleabháin: no flies on you!

Mute Shawn O'Ceallaghan
    Jul 6th 2017, 7:52 PM

@marcus connolly: live there and theres no issue
    Chris is talking shite

Mute Micheal S. O' Ceilleachair
    Favourite Micheal S. O' Ceilleachair
    Jul 7th 2017, 1:33 AM

@Joseph Blocks: could be the ointment!!!

Mute Dave Sherman
    Favourite Dave Sherman
    Jul 6th 2017, 7:09 PM

If had lots of flies in my house, the last person I would call would be the local counsellor.
    I would just buy fly killer. Lots of snowflakes out there.

Mute Sueann Moore
    Favourite Sueann Moore
    Jul 6th 2017, 10:42 PM

@Dave Sherman: Both Tescos ,both hardware shops and local shops all sold out in Ringsend & Sandymount all week. Finding the source of infestation is a rational step. Councillors have more access to info

Mute Kevin Higgins
    Favourite Kevin Higgins
    Jul 6th 2017, 10:51 PM

@Dave Sherman: why use fly killer? Why not use your bare hands ye snowflake. I do it with my eyes closed. On a serious note though stop using that phrase, i see it in just about every online “debate” and its tiresome.

Mute Graham Bolton
    Favourite Graham Bolton
    Jul 6th 2017, 7:01 PM

Bastarsd are everywhere

Mute Liam Dempsey
    Favourite Liam Dempsey
    Jul 7th 2017, 12:21 PM

@Graham Bolton: All flies are love babies,they don’t marry. They won’t let me use bast***s.

Mute Heather White
    Favourite Heather White
    Jul 6th 2017, 7:23 PM

I think there has been an increase everywhere I’m not in Dublin and never had flies coming into house or being everywhere in garden had a few bumblebees but not flies black and green ones everywhere can’t eat outside, BBQ, or have pool out for kids over them

Mute sean
    Favourite sean
    Jul 6th 2017, 10:02 PM

@Heather White: that’s nature for ya

Mute alphanautica
    Favourite alphanautica
    Jul 6th 2017, 9:12 PM

Global warming: every 0.25 % increase in average temperature encourages 5x more fly larvae to hatch.

By 2020 the whole place will be covered in them unless we can recruit more bats, birds and frogs with long sticky tongues to inhabit our suburbs.

Mute Brendan Deegan
    Favourite Brendan Deegan
    Jul 6th 2017, 9:18 PM

Think the flies looking for the cheap tents in D4

Mute Noel Madden
    Favourite Noel Madden
    Jul 6th 2017, 7:28 PM

Where is Rinsgend???

Mute Rory J Leonard
    Favourite Rory J Leonard
    Jul 6th 2017, 7:43 PM

@Noel Madden:

It’s near where 3,000 homes are now planned for development…at The Irish Glass Blue Bottle site made infamous during Celtic Tiger era on amount borrowed for its acquisition!

Mute phil
    Favourite phil
    Jul 6th 2017, 8:08 PM

@Rory J Leonard: No there just normal flies, not. Blue bottles

Mute Kieran Hurley
    Favourite Kieran Hurley
    Jul 6th 2017, 8:57 PM

@Noel Madden: co perineum

Mute Ron North
    Favourite Ron North
    Jul 6th 2017, 11:20 PM

@phil: You win.

Mute Stephen Maher
    Favourite Stephen Maher
    Jul 6th 2017, 11:54 PM

Leo should declare a no Fly zone over ringsend.

Mute Perry2016
    Favourite Perry2016
    Jul 6th 2017, 7:24 PM

Definitely Aliens

Mute Martin Ryan
    Favourite Martin Ryan
    Jul 6th 2017, 6:25 PM

cavanta?

Mute Benny Dowling
    Favourite Benny Dowling
    Jul 6th 2017, 7:03 PM

It’s probably to do with the waste incinerator

Mute Shawn O'Ceallaghan
    Jul 6th 2017, 8:00 PM

@Benny Dowling: sure the heat, being beside the liffey or the sewage treatment plant have nothing to do with it.

Mute Veronica
    Favourite Veronica
    Jul 6th 2017, 7:39 PM

Something big is dead and the flies are coming from the corpse. Had about 500 flies in my parents house when there was a dead rat under the floor. So so many flies

Mute A H
    Favourite A H
    Jul 6th 2017, 7:58 PM

@Veronica: is it Kay-Tee from Fair Citeeee? Did they find hur yeh’?

Mute Rondon
    Favourite Rondon
    Jul 6th 2017, 8:45 PM

Those Flygrants might be just off the ferry, or a floater seeking a better way of life

Mute Dave Hogan
    Favourite Dave Hogan
    Jul 6th 2017, 7:42 PM

No rent crisis in ringsend.

Mute The Jacket
    Favourite The Jacket
    Jul 6th 2017, 7:39 PM

Dont live in ringsend so i couldnt give a flying fu(k. Thats it. I’ll grab my jacket!

Mute Gearoid MacDomhnaill
    Favourite Gearoid MacDomhnaill
    Jul 7th 2017, 10:25 AM

I live in Dublin 3. There was loads of flies in our apartment. One day my wife said in jest “there’s so many, we’ll have to start charging them rent” I laughed initially but then I thought why don’t I. I put it to them, however, at Dublins current rent prices the flies up and left so problem solved.

Mute Patrick j Brady
    Favourite Patrick j Brady
    Jul 6th 2017, 9:30 PM

It’s the incinerator….

Mute Keith Grant
    Favourite Keith Grant
    Jul 7th 2017, 2:35 PM

Very poor journalism, the paragraph about the incinerator makes absolutely sweet F A sense, you might as well say the Aviva stadium is relatively close

Mute Michael Burke
    Favourite Michael Burke
    Jul 7th 2017, 1:38 AM

It’s the dog shite on pathways!!

Mute Quentin Moriarty
    Favourite Quentin Moriarty
    Jul 6th 2017, 10:41 PM

Don’t ever kill a spider