You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Ali Unal/AP

Irish citizens in Turkey told to 'exercise high degree of caution' after coup attempt

The Department of Foreign Affairs said there has been serious disruption to public transport and air travel.

THE DEPARTMENT OF Foreign Affairs is advising Irish citizens in Turkey and those intending to travel there to exercise a high degree of caution following last night’s attempted military coup.

Some 265 people were killed in clashes between soldiers and civilians who took to the streets to show their support for President Recap Tayyip Erdogan. The fighting was concentrated in Istanbul and Ankara and did not impact on the usual tourist holiday destinations.

However the department said the situation in these cities remains tense and there is a heightened security presence on the streets.

There have been incidents of violence, and Irish citizens should be extremely vigilant and stay informed of local developments and security advice.

“There has been serious disruption to public transport, including international and domestic air travel,” the department added. “Passengers are likely to experience disruption and delays and are advised to stay in touch with their carrier airlines or tour operators.”

The Irish Travel Agents Association said it was also monitoring the situation and striving to keep customers informed and facilitate anyone who needs to change travel plans.

Read: Turkey coup: 265 killed in clashes, almost 3,000 soldiers detained>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

24 Comments
    Mute Falstaff Oldcourt
    Favourite Falstaff Oldcourt
    Oct 10th 2013, 11:42 PM

I cut turf for the first time this year on a unused family bog. Cost me €400 for 8 hoppers and I reckon I now have enough fuel for two years ! Because I have a stove and back boiler I have saved just over €2k by not needing to buy coal and possibly another €2k in home heating oil (based on two years)
    And yet the government want to force these costs onto turf cutters? Typical. How can they compensate for that amount of costs?

Mute jack arse
    Favourite jack arse
    Oct 10th 2013, 11:47 PM

They won’t,they need to bow down to there paymasters,America,China huge polluters but were only a little spec on the map and we will do what the eu. Say

Mute Peter Ryan
    Favourite Peter Ryan
    Oct 10th 2013, 11:59 PM

Agree, no matter what we do in Ireland to cut air pollutants , it wont make 1 difference, when China is going for broke.

Cut your turf as us Irish have done for thousands of years. I love nature and wildlife but native traditions need to be taken into account.

Mute Charles O'Dowd
    Favourite Charles O'Dowd
    Oct 11th 2013, 12:13 AM

€50 a hopper?! I hope they were big ass hoppers dude

Mute Dusty O'Brien
    Favourite Dusty O'Brien
    Oct 11th 2013, 12:40 AM

Their, we’re and speck actually.
    Thanks.

Mute John Quill
    Favourite John Quill
    Oct 11th 2013, 1:20 AM

Listen, the govt will find you out if you’re doing anything to save money and screw you somehow. Of course turf cutting is harmless but how else are they going to tax you?

Mute Paul Mc
    Favourite Paul Mc
    Oct 11th 2013, 1:41 AM

Must be the the first time I agree with jack arse but if the chinese and the indians are still digging up coal whats wrong with a bit of turf?

Mute mattoid
    Favourite mattoid
    Oct 11th 2013, 7:00 AM

The turf cutting ban has nothing to do with fossil fuels / global warming – its about preservation of an endangered habitat.

Mute mattoid
    Favourite mattoid
    Oct 11th 2013, 7:03 AM

@Peter
    If cutting was being done “as it has for thousands of years” there wouldn’t be a problem, but wholesale mechanised destruction has only been happening for a couple of generations.

Mute Giraffe
    Favourite Giraffe
    Oct 11th 2013, 9:29 AM

@ Peter Ryan… How is cutting turf with a hopper a native tradition?

Mute David Fitzmaurice
    Favourite David Fitzmaurice
    Oct 11th 2013, 12:50 AM

Jimmy has forgotten where he has come from. Finuge (Listowel) and the surrounding areas are steeped in the traditions of turf cutting and we all remember days spent in the bog. Jimmy has forgotten those who have put him in the Dail for nearly 30 years. He has forgotten his responsibility to his neighbours and the people of North Kerry and to those who are dependent on saving turf. He disgusts me as he has proven that power corrupts the mind and has institutionalised his beliefs. When given an opportunity to help North Kerry he has run from the fight. Those qualities that made him a teak tough corner back have sadly been lacking in his joke of a political career. Keep rolling over Jimmy. Yours Sincerely, a fellow North Kerry man.

Mute Peter Ryan
    Favourite Peter Ryan
    Oct 11th 2013, 12:57 AM

At least he isnt doing a Healy-rae job. ie – feck the country, shure the lads in whest kerry think drink driving is grand.

Mute Billy Stevenson
    Favourite Billy Stevenson
    Oct 11th 2013, 5:06 AM

Why is he still a TD then? confused!

Mute richardmccarthy
    Favourite richardmccarthy
    Oct 11th 2013, 1:43 AM

Bord Na Mona has stated it had one of the best years ever,but the devistation that largescale commercial harvesting of peat that they have visited on the landscape has to be seen to be believed,as far the eye can see a complete barren wasteland with nowhere for the water runoff to go,politicians have allowed this never to be replaced resource to be exploited to the point of exaustion and yet the damage is there for all to see,at least our plundered fisheries can with proper management be restored in years to come,but our bogs take many thousands of years to regenerate,like the countrys debt,we just roll over and let the next generation worry about it.

Mute Charlie Murphy
    Favourite Charlie Murphy
    Oct 11th 2013, 7:26 AM

Spelling on here is just brutal e.g. ‘devistating’ and ‘exaustion’ in previous post. Difficult to take a point seriously when it reads like a six year old’s spelling mistakes

Mute richardmccarthy
    Favourite richardmccarthy
    Oct 11th 2013, 9:56 AM

Apologies there Michael,written in haste im afraid with a few on board,exhaustion and devastation,now thats better.

Mute Charlie Murphy
    Favourite Charlie Murphy
    Oct 11th 2013, 12:55 PM

I know the feeling

Mute Billy Stevenson
    Favourite Billy Stevenson
    Oct 11th 2013, 5:13 AM

Im all on preserving this beautiful country we have and helping to not pollute but everytime this issue comes i cant help thinking “in the grand scheme of things, let them cut their turf and do some REAL work on climate change”…this is a joke and a waste of tax payers money

Mute mattoid
    Favourite mattoid
    Oct 11th 2013, 7:06 AM

This isn’t to do with climate change

Mute Jay
    Favourite Jay
    Oct 10th 2013, 11:54 PM

Now that would be an ecumenical matter!

Mute Dusty O'Brien
    Favourite Dusty O'Brien
    Oct 11th 2013, 12:43 AM

“Government failed to detect 45% of big cutting activity this year” would have been a better headline.

Or … “Bog cutters, now with 45% more add sneakiness”

Mute Marilyn Maroney
    Favourite Marilyn Maroney
    Oct 11th 2013, 2:15 AM

Ah, don’t give a sod about the gov’t……where do you find these places to cut turf??

Mute Stephen Mc Donagh
    Favourite Stephen Mc Donagh
    Oct 11th 2013, 1:59 PM

Bogs, you idiot.

Mute Marilyn Maroney
    Favourite Marilyn Maroney
    Oct 11th 2013, 11:11 PM

Now, now tiger, Stephen no need for name calling….I happen to live in Chicago where we don’t have turf and certainly don’t gave bogs. Have never seen one in Ireland either,….pecker

Mute Falstaff Oldcourt
    Favourite Falstaff Oldcourt
    Oct 11th 2013, 8:46 AM

Can anyone explain whats the difference between a raised bog and an ordinary bog?
    Why is one protected and the other is not?
    Because either way it’s just turf that’s on it.

Mute mattoid
    Favourite mattoid
    Oct 11th 2013, 2:19 PM

Google is your friend…