You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

A scene from last December's protest in Dublin Eamonn Farrell/Photocall Ireland

Organisers of the next Irish Water 'day of action' ready for 100,000 turn-out

Details of the fourth major ‘Right2Water’ protest have been confirmed this afternoon.

Updated at 10pm

ORGANISERS WITH THE ‘Right2Water’ anti-charges umbrella group say they’ll be able to cater for an attendance of up to 100,000 at the next planned ‘day of action’ on Saturday week.

The demo, set to get under way from 1pm on 21 March, will be the fourth major national protest against the charging regime.

At a press conference in Dublin city centre this afternoon, Brendan Ogle of the Unite trade union said he expected the event would be shorter than the last major protest outside the Dáíl in December.

Speeches at the main focal point – the Parnell Square end of O’Connell Street – will last around an hour, he said.

The entire O’Connell Street area – from top to bottom – caters for around 100,000 people, Ogle said. Regarding expected turn-out for this month’s demonstration…

I don’t know. I certainly know that from up and down Ireland – I was up in Letterkenny last night and they could tell me that there are 16 buses coming from Donegal

“So we believe, from the social media, which is how we try to gauge these things, that there is no major downturn in the anger in this campaign, so we think there will be tens of thousands of people.

“Whether that means there will be 20, 30, 40 thousand or whether it means it will be beyond that – we don’t know. But there will be a protest of tens of thousands of people.”

There will be three assembly points for the demonstration, Des Fagan of the CPSU said.

It’s planned marchers will assemble at Merrion Square, Connolly Station and Heuston Station, before converging on O’Connell Street for the main proceedings.

Major traffic diversions will be in place in Dublin city centre next Saturday as a result. The main protest is expected to wrap-up by around 3pm.

New party? 

The five trade unions associated with Right2Water are planning a two day conference at the start of May, which they say will “discuss a set of core principles which will underpin a platform for renewal in advance of the next general election”.

Politicians, academics and NGOs are being invited to contribute, the unions say.

Asked whether a new political party could emerge from the movement, Ogle and Mandate General Secretary John Douglas played down the suggestion.

“We are the umbrella group for a myriad of local community groups, political parties and non-political parties and people who aspire to create political parties,” Douglas said.

“In terms of the Right2Water group itself. We won’t be forming, ourselves, a political party – but there may well be groups affiliated to the Right2Water campaign who will choose that path.

“Local community groups may well come forth from the politicisation and the mobilisation of people around the country.”

Meanwhile, marchers at Saturday week’s rally will be joined on the day by anti-racism marchers taking part in the ‘M21′ march to mark UN Anti-Racism Day, organisers confirmed this afternoon.

Read: Four ‘Dublin Says No’ anti-water charges protesters released from prison

Read: The story of ‘NO’ … 15 moments that have defined the Irish Water protest movement

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

246 Comments
    Mute stephen kavanagh
    Favourite stephen kavanagh
    Mar 13th 2015, 3:52 PM

Great, let’s get out in force and show the powers that be that, despite their attempts to stigmatise protesting, we are not going to be tarred with the same brush as a few ignoramuses and have a perfect right to fill the streets

Mute johngahan
    Favourite johngahan
    Mar 13th 2015, 4:46 PM

Would it be ok if I also bring some placards protesting about systematic sex abuse coverups in SF/IRA or is this a ‘one message’ protest?

Mute stephen kavanagh
    Mar 13th 2015, 4:50 PM

You do whatever turns you on. The rest of us will be protesting against water charges

See 24 more replies ▾
    Mute johngahan
    Favourite johngahan
    Mar 13th 2015, 4:52 PM

Sounds good. Once it is strictly anti water charging and or anti IW the quango I’m there.

Just not going if any political parties are turning up trying to own it or brand it as theirs.

Mute David Murphey
    Favourite David Murphey
    Mar 13th 2015, 4:55 PM

“Just not going if any political parties are turning up trying to own it or brand it as theirs.”

You know the Shinners will try to hijack the protest. Hence, I won’t be there.

Mute stephen kavanagh
    Mar 13th 2015, 4:58 PM

Yes I can assure you John, the vast majority of us will be protesting as beleagured citizens and couldn’t care less about politicial point-scoring

Mute Jordan O'Byrne
    Favourite Jordan O'Byrne
    Mar 13th 2015, 4:59 PM

No we won’t. I’ll be there but I’ll be protesting against austerity. The water charges are a drop in the ocean compared to everything else. Or do you want to say “everyone else except the 2 of ye, and everyone else who isn’t as well”. Or should we go over the temerity of water charges.
    1. How many of the 34oecd countries don’t have water rates? Here’s a clue, it’s greater than 0 and less than 2. But water is a right according to protestors, a right given up by every other developed free thinking country in the world? Think again.
    2. We pay for it already. No. We used to pay for it. Now we don’t. Or rather if you looked at the figures from the vat and tax, we’re only paying for 15% of what we should be paying. I could break those down but anyone who needs that explained wouldn’t get it anyway. (All figures freely available to anyone who cares about facts and knows maths)
    And yet I’m still marching against what led to this.
    But not the water charges.

Mute Were Jammin
    Favourite Were Jammin
    Mar 13th 2015, 5:01 PM

@ David Murphey : “You know the Shinners will try to hijack the protest. Hence, I won’t be there.”

You wouldn’t be there anyway ‘david’

http://www.thejournal.ie/profile/281040/the-irish-water-controversy-3163800/

“David Murphey
    Nov 26 1:20 PM # 563 32
    The Irish Water controversy is over. Finished. Move on.”

Mute David Murphey
    Favourite David Murphey
    Mar 13th 2015, 5:15 PM

WJ, you’re right, I wouldn’t be there anyway.

Mute andrew dunne
    Favourite andrew dunne
    Mar 13th 2015, 5:17 PM

Of course there’s going to be political parties there trying to claim it as there own,when has there been protests without that happening,that’s the nature of the game,you protest as an individual away from the flags and banners and nobody will suspect a thing.

Mute ÉireWarning
    Favourite ÉireWarning

govt. won’t take you seriously until you take them

Mute northkoreangeneral
    Favourite northkoreangeneral
    Mar 13th 2015, 5:19 PM

Your Blueshirt mates are invited to attend the march as long as they scrap the unjust Water Charges….

Mute northkoreangeneral
    Mar 13th 2015, 5:22 PM

Blueshirts

Mute northkoreangeneral
    Mar 13th 2015, 5:25 PM

Down with the Blueshirts

Mute Pádraig Ó Braonáin
    Favourite Pádraig Ó Braonáin
    Mar 13th 2015, 5:27 PM

Good one Were Jammin – well spotted – ya caught the liar out, what a fake he is.

Mute ÉireWarning
    Favourite ÉireWarning
    Mar 13th 2015, 5:37 PM

North

blueshirts sought to defend this country from the likes of the EU and to make a country FOR the Irish people not against them. The current FG are no blueshirts, they are EU shirts which means neo-marxists, which means some sort of quasi capitalists

Mute ciaran
    Favourite ciaran
    Mar 13th 2015, 5:51 PM

support the cause if not the speakers, bring the kid’s and march, teach them how peaceful happy protest can change the spoofers minds.

Mute Theresa Daly
    Favourite Theresa Daly
    Mar 13th 2015, 5:52 PM

John, why are u incognito.

Mute justanothertaxpayer
    Favourite justanothertaxpayer
    Mar 13th 2015, 6:18 PM

I”l be there – but I will be protesting because nobody is taking my protestations seriously. It’s just not on, and I intend to do something about it.

Mute Bobby Phelan
    Favourite Bobby Phelan
    Mar 13th 2015, 6:45 PM

This is why i will be there._.https://youtu.be/27UL3tZW1bk its all because of banks

Mute Sean Mac Diarmada
    Favourite Sean Mac Diarmada
    Mar 13th 2015, 9:02 PM

The shinners are bigger opportunists and liars than any of the other discredited parties.
    God help us if Jerry Adams is our only hope.!

Mute Deco James Connolly
    Favourite Deco James Connolly
    Mar 13th 2015, 10:21 PM

You’ve become increasingly irrelevant .

Mute Deco James Connolly
    Mar 13th 2015, 10:24 PM

You won’t be there because you are to busy producing nothing but glib irrelevant shite on the Journal .

Mute Deco James Connolly
    Mar 13th 2015, 10:26 PM

No you’ll be working at being a paid bot.

Mute Duncan
    Favourite Duncan
    Mar 13th 2015, 11:14 PM

Jordan did you notice that nobody responded to your comment. That’s because you’re absolutely right in everything you said and the idiots ranting about the bloody water charges know it. I love that when someone comes out with a clearly logical and intelligent the “hard done by” crowd just go blank.

Mute Greg Seymour
    Favourite Greg Seymour
    Mar 14th 2015, 2:09 AM

While your at it john don’t forget to also put on them about our Government coverups and turning a blind eye to the abuse that the church did and also covered up!!!!

Mute Eoin Sher
    Favourite Eoin Sher
    Mar 14th 2015, 9:13 PM

eirewarning- are you completely nuts?

“they are EU shirts which means neo-marxists, which means some sort of quasi capitalists. ”

Not many people can cram that much crazy contradictory bullshit into one short sentence – congratulations

Mute Were Jammin
    Favourite Were Jammin
    Mar 13th 2015, 3:50 PM

Can’t wait for the March. At every single one so far I’ve some brilliant people, and in the case of the big ones in Dublin, brilliant people from the length and breadth of our country. All of whom are sick and tired of this governments threats, cronyism and insistence that we pay for the sins of the elite.

Bring your noise, bring your anger, in fact bring everyone you can to the next phase of the burial of Irish Water.

Saturday March 21st, all roads lead to Dublin (Meeting points in Dublin are Merrion Square, Connolly Station and Heuston Station at 1pm.)

LETS GO!

Mute Sheik Yahbouti
    Favourite Sheik Yahbouti
    Mar 13th 2015, 3:59 PM

I’ll be there, with as many as I can bring with me. BRING IT!!

Eric
    Mute Eric
    Favourite Eric
    Mar 13th 2015, 3:59 PM

Concessions were made. The majority of people have been appeased. Time to move on.

See 20 more replies ▾
    Mute Were Jammin
    Favourite Were Jammin
    Mar 13th 2015, 4:03 PM

Oh, I so love all of these new twitter accounts claiming to speak on behalf of ‘the majority of people’.

Only 33-40% intending to pay their water bill, according to various polls. Seems the majority have not been appeased.

Eric
    Mute Eric
    Favourite Eric
    Mar 13th 2015, 4:04 PM

What’s the bets that there wont be a 100k turnout?

Mute Were Jammin
    Favourite Were Jammin
    Mar 13th 2015, 4:11 PM

There doesn’t need to be 100K. Just a big enough turnout to put the spin and spoofing by government to bed that the movement is in decline.

(BTW hope the change in green/red thumb ratios on the most popular posts in the last few mins hasn’t gone unnoticed by readers. Hi Fraperoom minions, bit slow off the mark on this article, no?)

Mute Dziadek Uncaged
    Favourite Dziadek Uncaged
    Mar 13th 2015, 4:11 PM

So afraid that turn out will be low that they’ve had to ask another demonstration up join them to bolster the numbers.

‘Were jamming’ a mouth piece for Sinn Fein, who uses a fake name, fake profile and hides behind rethoric and bull bemoaning others using the same tactic. Very Sinn Fein. Fool.

Mute Were Jammin
    Favourite Were Jammin
    Mar 13th 2015, 4:13 PM

Are you really calling someone else out for using a fake name and profie ‘dziadek uncaged’, previously ‘exit stage left’?

Eric
    Mute Eric
    Favourite Eric

Jammin – The movement is in decline. If it wasn’t in decline, there would easily be 100k, but there wont be, so….

Mute Dziadek Uncaged
    Mar 13th 2015, 4:16 PM

Calling you out ‘we’re jamming’ You call anyone who doesn’t after with you and your party of paedophile protectors a troll or a shill yet you hide behind a monkey (a snake would be more becoming of you). You use an anonymous account and you don’t have the courage to show your name. Don’t be name calling of you can’t take it yourself. Hypocrite.

Mute Dziadek Uncaged
    Mar 13th 2015, 4:18 PM

Of you’re so confident ‘were jamming’ why do you need another organisations help to raise your numbers?

Mute Sheik Yahbouti
    Favourite Sheik Yahbouti
    Mar 13th 2015, 4:21 PM

Ah, Eric, How sad/ Can’t do anything to stop the protest, but will spend a week nit picking about the turnout in advance. If you’re not interest what’s it to you?

Mute Protect Democracy!
    Favourite Protect Democracy!
    Mar 13th 2015, 4:22 PM

Jammin that was a big turnout in the North today against austerity – wait a minute SF is in government there no??? Right but they done a populist u turn once again ( just until the protest is over!) SF showing Enda how to backtrack?

Mute Were Jammin
    Favourite Were Jammin
    Mar 13th 2015, 4:24 PM

Dziadek, do you think its appropriate to follow posters from thejournals comments section over to their twitter accounts and post insults and defamatory comments about them?

https://twitter.com/JohnJambonEnnis/status/551752875706425344

https://twitter.com/wesole123/status/551374582423506946

Mute niallo81
    Favourite niallo81
    Mar 13th 2015, 4:28 PM

Again what part of Jammin’s post did he highlight SF. Same retort from anyone that is tired of the current government, its leader, policies and Irish water.

Mute Liam Slattery
    Favourite Liam Slattery
    Mar 13th 2015, 4:31 PM

Well we will see how many turn out on the 21st. And when that 100k turn up u can jump back into the hole u climed out of. Enda’s flunky

Mute Pearse Mc Mullen
    Favourite Pearse Mc Mullen
    Mar 13th 2015, 4:35 PM

you really are two cheeks of the same Aras hole Dziadek/exit
    the amount of scutter that spews forth from your keyboard leads me to believe that you must be a paid FG shill,
    Absolutely unbelievable amount of scutter, i reckon you need 10 toilets and 2 IW bills just to keep your face clean

Mute thejynxeffect
    Favourite thejynxeffect
    Mar 13th 2015, 4:39 PM

Shut yer face Eric!

Mute Deco James Connolly
    Mar 13th 2015, 4:41 PM

Cholly you are becoming a tad obvious.

Mute OggieThe4th
    Favourite OggieThe4th
    Mar 13th 2015, 4:50 PM

They’re very poor at hiding their false identities ♠♣♦♥

Mute Sheik Yahbouti
    Favourite Sheik Yahbouti
    Mar 13th 2015, 5:52 PM

Same old abusive weshole (amongst other names) kinda makes me feel queasy.

Mute justanothertaxpayer
    Mar 13th 2015, 6:27 PM

I suppose if you need a date that badly ‘Jammin, and you don’t mind hemp then its not a bad plan. Enjoy.

Mute Sean Mac Diarmada
    Mar 13th 2015, 9:22 PM

In iceland the people did not go back home.
    they remained outside their Parliament until the government resigned.
    would that the irish people could do the same.
    The Icelandic people did not shoulder the yoke of bankers and bondholders debts.!
    read how the people took control of their own affairs from the weasel politicians.
    http://www.theguardian.com/world/2013/oct/06/iceland-financial-recovery-banking-collapse

Mute Shakka1244
    Favourite Shakka1244
    Mar 13th 2015, 4:23 PM

I’m not a “sponger” or a “layabout” or a “shinner” or a “looney lefty” but I will be there.

I detest this Government and previous Governments in fact the entire self-serving political system.

It’s time the people of Ireland takes it’s country back.

I can’t wait.

Mute justanothertaxpayer
    Mar 13th 2015, 6:22 PM

Smashing – who will we give it to? Or will it run itself?
    Come back when you have a plan

Mute Mike hunt
    Favourite Mike hunt
    Mar 13th 2015, 7:00 PM

J. do you have work at being a condescending assh*le or is a natural ability you have?

Mute justanothertaxpayer
    Mar 13th 2015, 9:13 PM

I dunno Mike – I will start getting worried if my opening response to things I don’t agree with is to be personally insulting. If that happens, I guess I just won’t be a nice person and pretty much should wonder whether the world needs me… in the meantime I take solace from the fact that I have an opinion, ask questions, have my own theories and am not a simpleton.

Mute Pearse Mc Mullen
    Mar 13th 2015, 4:27 PM

Irish Water were served with a high court summons this afternoon at talbot street, after speaking to someone in the offices via intercom, the door was locked,but had to be opened to let someone in – that is when the summons was served, between this and Siteserv/Gmcsierra being investigated, it seems that interesting times lie ahead.
    Roll on the 21st, I can`t wait to get the party started :-)!
    I can`t wait to see that oboxious chitbag tierney thrown out on his ear from what will hopefully be his last ever job of wasting Taxpayers money.

Mute Sean Mac Diarmada
    Mar 13th 2015, 8:54 PM

Either Tierney and his whole political crew of supporters in government go, next May 12 months-at the latest- or this country is totally doomed.
    5 years down the line-this is the NEW REALITY:

http://i62.tinypic.com/2ymeliu.jpg

Mute Ivon Itchie Saq
    Favourite Ivon Itchie Saq
    Mar 13th 2015, 3:46 PM

Hope it’s a nice day

Mute Protect Democracy!

Dream on, the water protests have been hijacked by the looney lefties, & the populist party,ordinary people have lost interest.

Mute Fran Rooney
    Favourite Fran Rooney
    Mar 13th 2015, 3:51 PM

Protect Democracy!
    How do you know Ordinary people have lost interest?
    Every single person marching will be an ordinary person!

See 15 more replies ▾
    Mute Ten Major
    Favourite Ten Major

This website seems to be hijacked by looney righties.

Mute Thomas Maher
    Favourite Thomas Maher
    Mar 13th 2015, 3:57 PM

Protect have you ever looked up them meaning of the word populist. I suggest you pick up a copy of the Oxford English dictionary.
    Afterwards you might want to change your name to again.

why?
    Mute why?
    Favourite why?

“Protect Democracy!” – but not the right to protest.

sounds about right.

Mute Tim Kearney
    Favourite Tim Kearney

Dick

Mute OggieThe4th
    Favourite OggieThe4th
    Mar 13th 2015, 4:46 PM

Protect Democracy – I just love that name ♥

Mute Deco James Connolly

You couldn’t be more wrong , if you are what is representative of fg lab followers you’re in a bad way ,bitter , frightened , hateful , resentful scared of losing your access to power , scared of losing your ability to grind down the taxpayer so you can abuse the tax system to feather your own nest with crony political strokes.
    Change is coming you venal turd get used to it.

Mute Protect Democracy!
    Mar 13th 2015, 5:00 PM

Fran you sound desperate – I mean the the working & paying classes you know the ones who pay for everything!

Mute Andrew
    Favourite Andrew
    Mar 13th 2015, 5:08 PM

Everyone will have their civil rights crushed by the protesters who have no interest in civil rights.

Mute Mike hunt
    Favourite Mike hunt
    Mar 13th 2015, 5:23 PM

Andrew do you know what ‘hyperbole ‘ means?

Mute Thomas Mac
    Favourite Thomas Mac
    Mar 13th 2015, 7:05 PM

“ordinary people have lost interest.” Explain please ?

Mute Thomas Mac
    Favourite Thomas Mac
    Mar 13th 2015, 7:07 PM

*Explain,please .

Mute Christy Nolan
    Favourite Christy Nolan
    Mar 13th 2015, 7:32 PM

I voted for the government last time out and yet I will be on the protest. The “ordinary” people have had enough. The Right2water campaign is neither far left nor far right. Both sets of extremists are trying to hijack the people’s protest.
    The DOB/Siteserve/IW/”Conservation Grant” farce has shown this government to be totally incompetent and riddled with cronyism.

Mute Fran Rooney
    Favourite Fran Rooney
    Mar 13th 2015, 7:33 PM

@Protect Democracy
    You sound like a complete tit!

Mute Sean Mac Diarmada
    Mar 13th 2015, 9:17 PM

If Adolf Hitler himself hijacked the anti water meter campaign-and nobody else stood up for the people-many of us who care, would happily don Swastikas and SS uniforms to eliminate the Tierneys and the Kennys from Irish politics.
    Let it be remembered that their uniformed lackeys wore on the caps of oppression first.!
    http://i59.tinypic.com/2hrzrlu.jpg

Mute Tallaght two
    Favourite Tallaght two
    Mar 13th 2015, 10:31 PM

But it doesn’t look like that cap fits Sean.

#fail

why?
    Mute why?
    Favourite why?
    Mar 13th 2015, 4:36 PM

If IrishWater remains in existence, the greatest trick ever pulled by this Govt will have been to equate Republican/SF sentiment and support with the hatred of IW.

It’s possible to dislike both. Don’t fall for it, folks. and to those here pushing that angle, you’re doing yourselves and your children’s children a great disservice.

Mute justanothertaxpayer
    Mar 13th 2015, 6:25 PM

This is one of the finest posts on the Journal ever – very well played!
    Some won’t be able to see what you did there, but it was fab.

A Green thumb machine – practically perpetual motion. +1 from me.

Mute Seamus Og
    Favourite Seamus Og
    Mar 13th 2015, 4:33 PM

As a former Fg voter I will be attending the rally for the first time with 2 of my friends who are also members of the party and attending for the first time.

Mute Diarmuid
    Favourite Diarmuid
    Mar 13th 2015, 6:44 PM

Nice try shinner troll…

Mute Lao Tzu
    Favourite Lao Tzu
    Mar 13th 2015, 6:58 PM

If in doubt, say it twice…

Mute B-Egan
    Favourite B-Egan
    Mar 13th 2015, 4:00 PM

People may protest for the cameras which is effective and valid but the teal protest will see the bill hit the fire and not a second thought given to it. Hold Firm EuroStar are watching.

Mute David Boxer
    Favourite David Boxer

I remember the usual trolls here before the first water march saying that the turnout will be 1000 people at best. How wrong they were and how wrong they will be after the next march when 100,000+ Irish citizens turn up to protest at this quango. I look forward to this march and really think it will be the biggest turnout to date.

Mute captain ireland
    Favourite captain ireland
    Mar 13th 2015, 3:49 PM

In RTE land that mean 10,000

Mike
    Mute Mike
    Favourite Mike
    Mar 13th 2015, 4:08 PM

Of course, government controlled.

Mute andrew dunne
    Favourite andrew dunne

The protesters have always been painted in a black light by the media,Paul Murphy is a tit,but they are hundreds of thousands of people who are not fully fledged communists but don’t want to see water privatized,lets face that’s what its all about,the puppet masters in wall street are on a mission to privatize the world.

Mute Sean Mac Diarmada
    Mar 13th 2015, 9:10 PM

Why is Ireland’s finest singer/composer BANNED from all government/Dennis O’Brien controlled media.
    This man will never be on any “Late Late Show”.?
    Wake up people.
    Reclaim your land.!
    https://youtu.be/9sAowRrD4hg

Mute gregory
    Favourite gregory
    Mar 14th 2015, 8:12 PM

I’m going to the protest 21.03.15. Why? because costs will increase rapidly in jan2019 at which point the approved €3.70 per m3 rate kicks in which will pead to approx. €166 per person per year {45m3 x 3.7} or €666 for family of 4.

Mute Stephen Fagan
    Favourite Stephen Fagan
    Mar 13th 2015, 4:26 PM

I’ll be out March 21st. Can’t wait for it. See you’s then.

Mute justanothertaxpayer
    Mar 13th 2015, 6:21 PM

A fine social life you have. Do you get out of the Shire much?

Mute Snowball
    Favourite Snowball
    Mar 13th 2015, 8:14 PM

I shall also be there. Traveling up from Clare with my mum n children aged 16 & 14. 3 generations saying enough is enough. No way we wont pay.

Mute Were Jammin
    Favourite Were Jammin
    Mar 13th 2015, 8:51 PM

Fair play to you all Snowball. Best wishes for a safe journey and we’ll see you on the 21st!

Mute Seán Ryan
    Favourite Seán Ryan

Rte say that only 7 people turned up for the March 21 protest, Oh wait, it hasn’t happened yet

Mute Sandra Adams
    Favourite Sandra Adams
    Mar 13th 2015, 6:03 PM

I’ll be there and I don’t care how many “Shinners” are there. Just because they’re there doesn’t mean I’m going to vote for them you know?

Mute Mark O'Hagan
    Favourite Mark O'Hagan
    Mar 13th 2015, 7:39 PM

Any relation Sandra? Do you think that having SF there won’t be used to tar all water protestors with the same brush?

Mute Pat Snack
    Favourite Pat Snack
    Mar 13th 2015, 3:48 PM

It’ll be nowhere near 100,000 people. I’d say 30,000 at best.

Mute Cian O Donoghue
    Favourite Cian O Donoghue
    Mar 13th 2015, 3:56 PM

Tops

Mute Sheik Yahbouti
    Favourite Sheik Yahbouti

Wishful thinking from Snack and Cian O’D, based on shag all.

Mute Dziadek Uncaged
    Mar 13th 2015, 4:12 PM

Based on Ireland playing rugby

why?
    Mute why?
    Favourite why?
    Mar 13th 2015, 4:33 PM

sure can’t we watch the match on our fancy phones whilst marching?

Mute Thomas Maher
    Favourite Thomas Maher
    Mar 13th 2015, 4:42 PM

Well Pat let’s do the maths. Donegal have 16 Buses most of these buses have about 52 seats thats 832 people. Now donegal is a low population county. But we will ignored that. And round that down to 800.

Now if the same come from every county.
    That’s 800 x 26 county’s = 20,800. At a conservative estimate. Only an idiot would think less. Its simple maths.
    I know a lot of the small pro water charges group have a problem with maths but maths dose not lie.

Mute Thomas Maher
    Favourite Thomas Maher
    Mar 13th 2015, 4:47 PM

My count dose not include people who will make their own way. ie Drive use bus eireann come with friends etc.

Mute Thomas Maher
    Favourite Thomas Maher
    Mar 13th 2015, 6:02 PM

Really wish the journal.ie allowed editing of comments.

I fully expect at a minimum about 65,000 and I know I’ll be there to support the protest with some friends.

Mute justanothertaxpayer
    Mar 13th 2015, 6:33 PM

You don’t like 30k Sheik? Pick a number then.
    Also – pick an arbitrator … can’t have you saying 100k now, but the guards say 4 on the day with you claiming political interference in your political rights to politically granted political human rights.
    No Paul Murphy btw.

Mute Christy Nolan
    Favourite Christy Nolan
    Mar 13th 2015, 8:02 PM

It was expected prior to the first R2W protest that only 10,000 would attend and yet 100,000 supported the peaceful protest march. Despite government and media attempts to label the 100,000 as far left loonies and Miss Pantie calling them a buncha of jerks, the protester numbers will swell. The “ordinary” decent Irish folk have at long last seen through all the bullsh##e.

Mute Cian O Donoghue
    Mar 13th 2015, 9:05 PM

Exactly.

Mute Cian O Donoghue
    Mar 13th 2015, 9:10 PM

And Sheik, why is it wishful thinking. Do you presume to know my opinion on the water March?

Mute justanothertaxpayer
    Mar 13th 2015, 9:14 PM

@Christy – so by your rationale, Sheik should estimate 10k, but consider it a reduced turnout if less than 100k turn out?

Mute Tallaght two
    Favourite Tallaght two
    Mar 13th 2015, 10:35 PM

Why allow editing of comments. Get it right first time!!

If they allowed edits then whole comments could be redone completely changing their meaning and making subsequent replies look disjointed or idiotic (although, in fairness, one could say that is the case now!!).

Mute Thomas Maher
    Favourite Thomas Maher
    Mar 14th 2015, 12:01 AM

just to make myself clear. I am compleatly against water charges for all the reasons we have all stated a thousand times. Its dubble tax. We already pay throught our income tax, vat and motor tax and as was reviled last month the property tax is also going to be used as well.

I was just trying to say ( IF ) only 16 full Buses from each of the 26 counties came to the protest it would be over 20,000 and that dose not include all that will make there own way. And in Irish terms 20,000 by itself is a very large protest.

As for the editing you are probably right. I just get so angry about the water charges i hit post before reading what i have wrote.

Mute Denis Maher
    Favourite Denis Maher
    Mar 13th 2015, 4:08 PM

Carbon rod, that is a total irrelevance you brought into the equasion, if that’s how you measure a peoples willingness to stand up for themselves, their future and the country’s natural resources then you have seriously misjudged the strength of opinion on this issue.this will not go away no matter what’s on the fu@kin telly that day or any other day for that matter. IW will be brought down.

Mute Inanimate Carbon Rod
    Favourite Inanimate Carbon Rod
    Mar 13th 2015, 3:52 PM

Bad timng, Ireland V Scotland kicks off at 2.30pm

Mute Cian O Donoghue
    Mar 13th 2015, 3:57 PM

Yup. Ireland hopefully going for a grand slam is sure to effect numbers.

Mute Lao Tzu
    Favourite Lao Tzu
    Mar 13th 2015, 4:09 PM

Mr O’ Donoghue, don’t hex them! We have to beat Wales first, and Mr Gatland’s tail is up, he really wants to scupper this for Joe Schmidt :( At the very least it’ll be for the Championship, so it will still be an important match regarding the two successive titles, although because it’s an away game, I doubt it will affect the march that much.

Mute Isaac Smyth
    Favourite Isaac Smyth
    Mar 13th 2015, 4:12 PM

Rugby fans don’t tens to go to scanger festival’s.

why?
    Mute why?
    Favourite why?
    Mar 13th 2015, 4:32 PM

Let’s turn that around Isaac – “rugby fans tend to be wealthy and don’t give a shite about those who can’t afford as much imaginary taxes as they can”.

equally as ridiculous.

Mute ÉireWarning
    Favourite ÉireWarning
    Mar 13th 2015, 5:30 PM

Isaac,

no they’re too busy doing anglo-bank scammer festivals

Mute justanothertaxpayer
    Mar 13th 2015, 6:30 PM

@why? – actually you are probably right, but political correctness about class prevents it being said

Mute Micheal S. O' Ceilleachair
    Favourite Micheal S. O' Ceilleachair
    Mar 13th 2015, 4:10 PM

It is time to test whether constitutionally the methods being used by IW to force people into paying this unjust tax.
    People are being threatened into signing up. It is government sponsored scam and the sooner it is challenged in the Supreme Court the better. Perhaps an account should be set up for people to contribute into a fighting fund to forward this challenge.
    If this company wants to install meters and someone wishes to have one installed on their own property this company will not do so. The meters are useful but are just the public symbol of the presence of IW.
    The massive protests are useful and have been effective. Time now to be more subtle in tandem.

Mute Sean Mac Diarmada
    Mar 13th 2015, 9:06 PM

This government handed over over 10 billion Euros worth of infrastructure (our water infrastructure) to a PRIVATE company for NOTHING but a licence to extort.!

Mute Paul Lane
    Favourite Paul Lane
    Mar 13th 2015, 6:04 PM

Oh! I will be there, not that there is any need as the best protest is not to pay

Mute David Nolan
    Favourite David Nolan
    Mar 13th 2015, 4:29 PM

Cant wait.

Mute Denis Maher
    Favourite Denis Maher
    Mar 13th 2015, 4:10 PM

100% were jammin

Mute Tom Red
    Favourite Tom Red
    Mar 13th 2015, 3:48 PM

Pay the charge or don’t pay the charge……
    Sinn Fein are going to abolish it when they get into power after the next election….
    Sinn Fein have so many skeletons in their closet , they’re Ikeas biggest customers….

Mute Mad Mike
    Favourite Mad Mike

There will be 10,000 there but the “organisers” (and I use that word loosely, as they decry any responsibility for any lawlessness connected with the events) will claim 50,000.

Mute Were Jammin
    Favourite Were Jammin
    Mar 13th 2015, 4:05 PM

What lawlessness is this? Give me a good laugh…..

Mute Shakka1244
    Favourite Shakka1244
    Mar 13th 2015, 4:24 PM

Mad Mike – if I knew you personally, I would bet my house on there being way more than 10,000.

And then you would owe me a house.

Mute OggieThe4th
    Favourite OggieThe4th
    Mar 13th 2015, 4:44 PM

That’s mad Mike !

Mute Noel Mull
    Favourite Noel Mull
    Mar 13th 2015, 5:44 PM

If Mad Mike had two brains he would be twice as thick !

Mute justanothertaxpayer
    Mar 13th 2015, 6:35 PM

A fine grasp of physics Noel. The sad part is you don’t realise it and have just wasted your life instead.

Mute Noel Mull
    Favourite Noel Mull
    Mar 13th 2015, 7:03 PM

I wasted my life because I don’t have a degree in physics eh! That’s sad alright, do you know whats even sadder ? Some anonymous eejit on an internet news comments section telling me that physics is the meaning of life!

Mute justanothertaxpayer
    Mar 13th 2015, 9:15 PM

It’s a pity you find that sad too – I took no joy from it.

Mute Noel Mull
    Favourite Noel Mull
    Mar 13th 2015, 9:59 PM

Hey J

Don’t worry about it, life is a learning game with only one outcome, “Your here for a good time, not a long time” kinda thing. Funny enough it actually feels great to stand up to an unjust extra bank tax and a corrupt Government backing of such an entity – Irish Water – It will be dead in the water in a few months and will probably drag down a few ministers with it before the great wipeout of Labour and fine gael ministers under Kenny’s rule having to go into opposition for the foreseeable future.

Mute Noel Mull
    Favourite Noel Mull
    Mar 14th 2015, 12:19 AM

Guess you fugged off J

poor guy :(

Mute David Hanks
    Favourite David Hanks
    Mar 13th 2015, 3:46 PM

3, 2, 1 and go:

Mute Paul Fahey
    Favourite Paul Fahey

In fairness if 100,000 turn up it is going to be politically very difficult so close to an election. An already nervous Labour will be looking to retreat, fast.

Mute Cuppantae
    Favourite Cuppantae
    Mar 13th 2015, 7:01 PM

100…or 100,000….Big Difference…

Mute David Fitzpatrick
    Favourite David Fitzpatrick
    Mar 14th 2015, 11:10 AM

Fair Play To The Water Protestors (Myself included)
    You saved my family €500 this year and stopped FG/Lab in their tracks.

Mute Alan O'connor
    Favourite Alan O'connor

Speak for yourself. I’m not on my knees thanks. I am more than capable of looking after myself, unlike the Shinner/AAA/PBP supporters who want everything handed to them on a silver platter. I’d be ashamed to be insisting that my fellow citizens pay my way.

Shinners have far more pressing problems anyway.

100,000 in a country of four million is not
    much of a protest anyway. And if Ireland are going for the Grand Slam then we’ll see who really cares.

Mute Stephen Fagan
    Favourite Stephen Fagan
    Mar 13th 2015, 4:21 PM

Sure you’s have the right to get together and march FOR Irish Water.

Mute Mike hunt
    Favourite Mike hunt

O’Connor before the last right to water March you claimed the numbers had to be at least 100,000 to be effective, now you claim 100,000 is meaningless.I can’t believe an idiot like you have the responsibility in teaching our young.

Mute Sean Hyland
    Favourite Sean Hyland
    Mar 13th 2015, 3:49 PM

Will Bono be there?

Mute Fran Rooney
    Favourite Fran Rooney
    Mar 13th 2015, 3:53 PM

No he’s saving a rare breed of Japanese tree from destruction in a Beverly Hills suburb along with George Clooney.

Mute Setrakian
    Favourite Setrakian
    Mar 13th 2015, 7:07 PM

The stink of fear from those Fg fans on this forum is quite something. There will be a huge number marching on the day & peacefully too. If the ordinary people of Ireland didn’t protest previously you pro fg austerity tax cowards would be paying even more than your leader currently demands. Not all lads – you’re welcome.

Mute Ten Major
    Favourite Ten Major

Will Willie Frazer’s Love Ulster be joining in too? Even they don’t pay water charges.

Mute Neuville-Kepler62F
    Favourite Neuville-Kepler62F
    Mar 13th 2015, 8:08 PM

Are the Irish a masochist race, “Whipped” by Gov for Home Tax, Obscene Car Tax, Double Water Tax, TV tax …

Astounding how the Irish tolerate the most obscene regressive Car Tax in the EU of €951 p.a. for a 10 yr old car while “the wealthy who can afford new cars” get the low car tax of €280 p.a and not a whimper … one would wonder why …… Irish must be a masochist race from its long history of abuse … still blindly accepting abuse from institutions (political parties in this case .. Fine Gael and Labour).

No Car Tax in France since 2001, yet you can be jailed in Ireland if you can’t afford this penal car tax or TV tax ….. and we thought the British abused us … Fine Gael and Labour just as bad!

Mute gregory
    Favourite gregory
    Mar 14th 2015, 8:17 PM

Car tax in Ireland is up to 8 times higher than the Uk. The poorer you are the more car tax you pay.

Mute Neuville-Kepler62F
    Favourite Neuville-Kepler62F
    Mar 14th 2015, 8:29 PM

The UK Parliament rejected the Car Tax Law in 2004 which was voted in by Irish TDs in 2008. UK have a democracy where elected reps vote in the interests of their citizens. Not so in Ireland.

Mute David Heffernan
    Favourite David Heffernan

Look, quite simply take your grievances to the ballot box.. Stop preventing people from getting to and from work/college

Mute Pearse Mc Mullen
    Mar 13th 2015, 4:42 PM

Sorry ~David, I didn`t know you had college in DCU on a Saturday, of is it for your YFG meeting?

Mute Mike hunt
    Favourite Mike hunt
    Mar 13th 2015, 4:43 PM

It’s a weekend day , no college and minium disruption to workers as most (not all) are off.

Mute David Heffernan

I usually have to catch a bus to the library on Saturdays Pearse.. Looks like i will have to find a different alternative. I have friends In RCSI who have college on Saturday.. I am all for the right to assembly and the right to protest.. just hope radical elements do not hijack the march yet again.I am refering to the people up around o connell bridge at the last march, blocking buses and throwing themselves in front of cars while shouting peaceful protest is not a sight which will do the water protest movement any good. I believe it would be far more democratic if people carried any grievances they have with the current government to the ballot box, plain and simple. As opposed going out marching and having their actions hijacked by a sinister few.

Mute Were Jammin
    Favourite Were Jammin
    Mar 13th 2015, 5:05 PM

If people had waited to carry their grievance to the ballot box david, the water bills would have already dropped through our letter boxes and would be far higher.

Mute Pearse Mc Mullen
    Mar 13th 2015, 5:16 PM

David, Protest marches are a form of public disruption, they are designed to cause disruption so that the media will get involved and bring it to the public attention of the masses.
    There will always be elements with an agenda to cause trouble of agitate state forces, that is natural with public protests in any country in the world.
    At least it is being held on a Saturday to Minimize disruption, thank your lucky stars you are not living on the continent, where public protests are turning entire city centers into no go areas – including stone throwing,burning of property and looting.
    If anything the Irish have been EXTREMELY docile in venting their anger at all the austerity being forced upon them by your senior party.
    just because you are happy with the status quo in this country due to your allegiance to your party, does not mean that the rest of us have to heed your advice and keep the roads clear so you can lead a happy cocooned life.
    I thought that you in your final year studying law would have a basic understanding of public protests and what they entail.
    looks like that college course might have been in vain, if this logic of yours is anything to go by.

Mute David Heffernan
    Mar 13th 2015, 5:35 PM

I see you have gone off on one.. I understand what the concept of a public protest entails. I was merely stating that I hope radical elements do not hijack the march. All that does is alienate the ordinary decent people who protest. I do not know what you are referring to about me having a cocooned life, I work a part time job alongside college and live off aldi beans and toast but sure look..

PS
    Nice dog in your profile picture

Mute Sheik Yahbouti
    Favourite Sheik Yahbouti
    Mar 13th 2015, 5:57 PM

Really, really pathetic heffernan.

Mute ÉireWarning
    Favourite ÉireWarning
    Mar 13th 2015, 5:53 PM

“Meanwhile, marchers at Saturday week’s rally will be joined on the day by anti-racism marchers taking part in the ‘M21′ march to mark UN Anti-Racism Day, organisers confirmed this afternoon.”

Ah right, handy way for the multicultural pushers to look like they have more support than they do. Nevermind the same UN and EU are the global organisations promoting austerity, the water charges and mass-immigration, introducing the piecemeal quantisation of all consumables vital to life like water, as well as tagging the people of Europe like cattle, to produce wealth for them by consuming and driving wages down by flooding Europe with imported cheap labour.

Protecting your people and their right to the resources of their country, just like with water, and your own ethnic people and their welfare, which is dependent on a secure territory are more important, is not hate of other people, such screams of racism are blackmail tactics, approved by the austerity-creators.

Mute Jimmy jones
    Favourite Jimmy jones
    Mar 13th 2015, 4:34 PM

I don’t see the point . If we don want to be drinking urine and faeces them someone has to pay. If water charges aren’t coming in then I am paying out of my taxes , plus I am paying for the guy down the road who never wired a day in his life.

If we have water charges then everyone pays.

Mute Jimmy jones
    Favourite Jimmy jones
    Mar 13th 2015, 4:35 PM

*Worked not wired

Mute Mike hunt
    Favourite Mike hunt
    Mar 13th 2015, 4:44 PM

Everyone already does pay through tax.Vat, motor tax and VRT.

Mute andrew dunne
    Favourite andrew dunne
    Mar 13th 2015, 5:08 PM

The problem Jim is once water is out of public ownership which is what this all about,they could be real consequences for our people,not right now,but if global warming becomes a major problem in the future could you imagine someone not been able to afford water in a major heatwave,this may sound silly now,but maybe not in twenty years.

Mute ÉireWarning
    Favourite ÉireWarning
    Mar 13th 2015, 5:59 PM

Once border control is out of public ownership, which it is now, we are already seeing the consequences, apply the same to anything to do with our sovereignty.

Our water, our country, our borders, our ethnic Irish people and our debt enslavement.

Water charges – approved by the austerity creators
    Debt enslavement – approved by the austerity creators
    open borders – approved by the austerity creators
    Irish genocide – approved by the austerity creators
    Blackmail word “racism” to stop defence of your sovereignty – approved by the austerity creators

Mute Sandra Adams
    Favourite Sandra Adams
    Mar 13th 2015, 7:58 PM

No Mark. No relation. I’ve never even met the man. As for tarring everyone with the same brush, I just don’t care tbh. We’re all there to fight the same cause. I know who I’m there for. Me!! So people can tar away far as I’m concerned. I know why I’m there and it’s got nothing to do with who I vote for.

Mute Mark O'Hagan
    Favourite Mark O'Hagan
    Mar 13th 2015, 6:33 PM

Everyone quite happy to stand beside the SF banners at this protest?

Mute Sheik Yahbouti
    Favourite Sheik Yahbouti
    Mar 13th 2015, 10:35 PM

Nice try o’hagan, but no cigar. People will protest on their own behalf with like minded people. The fact that others may wish to tag along will not deter me. “Ooh what would the neighbours think?” That is part of the problem in this country. If you don’t agree with the protest stay away – leave others to exercise their rights in their own way. It would also be helpful if you and your pals would quit carping, buy I realise how difficult that might be!

Drew
    Mute Drew
    Favourite Drew
    Mar 13th 2015, 4:29 PM

Betting a few hundred show up…

Mute Shakka1244
    Favourite Shakka1244

And you would count them personally ?

Oh yeah I forgot – you reside in China.

Mute Mike hunt
    Favourite Mike hunt
    Mar 13th 2015, 4:45 PM

Drew the shite talker from China, howya bud story!

See 19 more replies ▾
    Mute OggieThe4th
    Favourite OggieThe4th
    Mar 13th 2015, 4:53 PM

Is Drew from China,lads ?

Mute Mike hunt
    Favourite Mike hunt
    Mar 13th 2015, 5:20 PM

Oggie, Drew claims to live and work in China.But to be fair he also has claimed to have had issues with Thames Water in London with regards his family home.Which leaves me at a loss as to why water charges in Ireland are a concern of his.
    Or he’s a liar trolling the journal with an agenda you decide.

Drew
    Mute Drew
    Favourite Drew
    Mar 13th 2015, 5:24 PM

Stormin Norman and his merry band of stalkers, and/or fake accounts…

I’m everywhere you wanna be baby…

Mute Mike hunt
    Favourite Mike hunt

Drew I have no interest in being up Enda’s hole, baby ; ).

Mute Mike hunt
    Favourite Mike hunt
    Mar 13th 2015, 5:37 PM

Drew who’s Norman? You do realise more than one person see’s the shite and lies you post.Paranoia is not healthy Drew seek help.

Drew
    Mute Drew
    Favourite Drew
    Mar 13th 2015, 5:44 PM

Not a problem… Whatever position you play, I’m not one to pass judgment. :)

Mute Thomas Mac
    Favourite Thomas Mac
    Mar 13th 2015, 6:55 PM

You’re feeling very paranoid there,Drew ..Who’s Norman ?

Mute Mike hunt
    Favourite Mike hunt
    Mar 13th 2015, 7:01 PM

Think its anyone who disagrees with Drew.

Mute Thomas Mac
    Favourite Thomas Mac
    Mar 13th 2015, 7:10 PM

He’s not at all well if he’s willing to bet that ‘a few hundred ‘will only show up .

Mute talkingsense(troll)
    Favourite talkingsense(troll)
    Mar 13th 2015, 7:11 PM

I would assume drew is referring to Norman hunter who is a regular anti iw commenter, who very recently, posted almost word for word the same remark about drew that mike has posted above. I think drew maybe right in his assumptions. Where is Norman anyway? Not like him to miss out on a story like this!

Mute Mike hunt
    Favourite Mike hunt
    Mar 13th 2015, 7:25 PM

T. so if someone posts a similar comment to another commentator, this must be by your logic one and the same person.

Mute talkingsense(troll)
    Mar 13th 2015, 7:29 PM

Not at all mike, sure most of this tread has the same opinion on iw. Its when you repeat word for word the same remark it gets a little suspicious

Mute Mike hunt
    Favourite Mike hunt
    Mar 13th 2015, 7:35 PM

T. If that’s the case bud you must be a very suspicious person, lots of posts on this site from various people incredibly similar to each other.
    But think what you want you’re just another anonymous tosser on the Journal.

Mute talkingsense(troll)
    Mar 13th 2015, 7:38 PM

Again, similar and identical are different things. Nice insult though, very normanesque!

Mute Mike hunt
    Favourite Mike hunt
    Mar 13th 2015, 7:56 PM

Wow this Norman guy must really p*ss you and the other tossers off if ye see him in every comment.Don’t play with yourself too much.Toodles ; ).

Mute talkingsense(troll)
    Mar 13th 2015, 7:59 PM

Not really, i kinda like Norman. But you changed my mind, you can’t be Norman because you’re a complete pr!ck

Mute Cowenwatch
    Favourite Cowenwatch
    Mar 13th 2015, 8:05 PM

I’m pretty sure it was Norman whose stated a few times he works shift so what’s the chances he’s working?

Mute talkingsense(troll)
    Mar 13th 2015, 8:08 PM

He could be! But I’ve come to the conclusion mike”brand new twitter account” hunt is not Norman. Norman is nowhere near as offensive as mike.

Mute Cowenwatch
    Favourite Cowenwatch
    Mar 13th 2015, 8:31 PM

Well, if they’re ever giving out trolling awards, David Higgins of YFG would definitely be up for the Most Consistent In Their Field award. Three different accounts (that I bothered to check anyway) on a story earlier today. Shocking yet sad too!

Mute Leigh Byrne
    Favourite Leigh Byrne
    Mar 13th 2015, 5:40 PM

Not these muppets on the streets again. Just what we need more tracksuit wearing wasters.

Mute Mike hunt
    Favourite Mike hunt
    Mar 13th 2015, 5:45 PM

If there was a choice between being a waster or a tosser. I know i’d prefer to be a waster.I see you decided differently.

Mute Leigh Byrne
    Favourite Leigh Byrne
    Mar 13th 2015, 5:51 PM

No Mike my good man simply blocking up Dublin City again is just bothersome for most people. Now you can potter down from your flat or whatever other hovel you come from and protest away. Don’t forget your runners with your shiny tracksuit.

See 13 more replies ▾
    Mute Mike hunt
    Favourite Mike hunt
    Mar 13th 2015, 7:03 PM

Leigh 4 bed bungalow in the countryside, too many s.cumbags like you in Dublin for my liking.

Mute Lao Tzu
    Favourite Lao Tzu
    Mar 13th 2015, 7:12 PM

Mr M. Hunt, having read your comments, it’s evident that you really get off on insulting and calling people names; is that the extent of your vocabulary and mind-set?

Mute Leigh Byrne
    Favourite Leigh Byrne
    Mar 13th 2015, 7:24 PM

It’s great the social is providing housing for you and your family. I hope you don’t have to go far to collect your dole.

Mute Mike hunt
    Favourite Mike hunt
    Mar 13th 2015, 7:26 PM

Leigh did all myself, stop assuming you just appear more stupid each time.

Mute Mike hunt
    Favourite Mike hunt
    Mar 13th 2015, 7:28 PM

Lao i’ve decided to address pro government supporters in the same manner they refer to those that disagree with them.Sucks doesn’t it.

Mute Lao Tzu
    Favourite Lao Tzu
    Mar 13th 2015, 7:35 PM

Wow, it must be very traumatic for you when you attempt to explore outside of that one-dimensional world you live in.

Mute Mike hunt
    Favourite Mike hunt
    Mar 13th 2015, 7:37 PM

Lao thanks for confirming why clowns like you should be addressed as I have said.

Mute Lao Tzu
    Favourite Lao Tzu
    Mar 13th 2015, 7:43 PM

* see my previous comment :)

Mute Leigh Byrne
    Favourite Leigh Byrne
    Mar 13th 2015, 7:47 PM

Now Mike it’s great you consider your socially provided home your own it really is. I hope day time telly keeps you busy between the ads for first for lawyers and PPI insurance refunds I am sure your a great contributor to society. Now pop along and plan how much cider you can drink on the train to Dublin.

Mute Mike hunt
    Favourite Mike hunt
    Mar 13th 2015, 8:15 PM

Nah clown boy bought it my self, don’t like cider more a Peroni guy myself.
    It is funny how ever tosser like you can only fall back on the unemployed insult.My wage is in the high 5 figure bracket.Now i’m off out to enjoy myself as I told T. above don’t play with yourself too much.Toodles ; ).

Mute Leigh Byrne
    Favourite Leigh Byrne
    Mar 13th 2015, 9:18 PM

Enjoy the cider young man enjoy.

Mute Greg Seymour
    Favourite Greg Seymour
    Mar 14th 2015, 2:48 AM

I love the way the pro FG/Labour fu*k tarts try to make out we are all layabouts when the truth is quiet the opposite every one i know works and pays taxes and drives cars and own houses. Its our water not the governments to tax us yet again remember we have played between 1.2 and 1.7 bil since 98 for our water and the government flushed it down the loo well no more!!!!

Mute Greg Seymour
    Favourite Greg Seymour
    Mar 14th 2015, 2:52 AM

Paid

Coli
    Mute Coli
    Favourite Coli
    Mar 13th 2015, 6:27 PM

Which gobsh*te thought the day Ireland are playing for another grand slam(hopefully) is good for getting protesters on the street???

Mute Jack Bowden
    Favourite Jack Bowden
    Mar 13th 2015, 4:04 PM

Water charges will be scrapped after the next general election in one year.
    So what’s the point of protesting at this stage?

Mute Were Jammin
    Favourite Were Jammin
    Mar 13th 2015, 4:07 PM

Its about more than just water charges jack. Its about the spoofing, the cronyism, the threats, the blackmail, the arrogance, the belittling, the dividing and conquering of a people on their knees.

Mute Jack Bowden
    Favourite Jack Bowden

Wow, who’s being blackmailed?

I think the protesters probably don’t trust democracy and lots probably don’t vote. That’s why they don’t seem to be waiting for or even looking for an election.

Mute Barry Scott
    Favourite Barry Scott
    Mar 13th 2015, 4:43 PM

Spoofing, threats, blackmail, people on their knees. People will be out protesting about this and Sinn Fein will still show their face on the day? The irony.

Mute ÉireWarning
    Favourite ÉireWarning

To keep up the water pressure, take it off now and the usual election promises of scrapping it will be broken

Mute justanothertaxpayer
    Mar 13th 2015, 6:43 PM

@Barry – you beat me to it. Only there were a few things missing…
    the bombing of babies for being protestant … or catholic … actually just for being in a pram
    the stealing of horses
    hiding rapists
    protecting paedophiles
    stealing stationary
    positively partaking in two tier health services
    flying business when the poor emigrants you claim to care about are down in steerage
    cutting welfare (in 6 of the 26 countries they call Ireland)

Mute Jack Bowden
    Favourite Jack Bowden
    Mar 13th 2015, 6:46 PM

They should postpone this protest and have it next January, just before the election. Try to get the political parties to make promises then instead.
    If you close off the streets of Dublin too many times for protests people are going to turn against them.
    Maybe the protest organisers know what they’re doing.

Mute Sheik Yahbouti
    Favourite Sheik Yahbouti
    Mar 13th 2015, 11:27 PM

Rubbish bowden. How do you know whether protesters want an election or not? You are not one – your only interest is to come on here spouting your “resistance is futile ” nonsense. I have seen MANY posters on these threads calling for a general election. THE POINT IS this government doesn’t LISTEN.

Mute Jack Bowden
    Favourite Jack Bowden
    Mar 14th 2015, 12:20 AM

I was at the protest that was midweek. I think it was a Wednesday. There was just people saying “no way we won’t pay” and blocking roads and loads n loads of Gardai blocking access to anywhere near the Dáil. The protest moved to O’Connell bridge and fizzled out without incident at 6pm.
    It didn’t feel like people were demanding a change in government. It felt like people just wanted to gather together with like minded people to say that they weren’t going to pay.

Mute Padraig Fitzpatrick
    Favourite Padraig Fitzpatrick

100,000? Dream on.

Mute ÉireWarning
    Favourite ÉireWarning
    Mar 13th 2015, 7:05 PM

Of course now the pro government hacks on here will be saying the numbers for water are far less because it included numbers for the ANTI-RACISM MARCH.

Once again the scam anti-racism lobby working perfectly to the tune and unwitting puppets of the austerity-creators.

Mute Andrew Dagg
    Favourite Andrew Dagg
    Mar 13th 2015, 6:46 PM

I’ll be washing my hair that day…

Mute Thomas Mac
    Favourite Thomas Mac
    Mar 13th 2015, 6:58 PM

Is it a yearly tradition in your household?

Mute Bluemist
    Favourite Bluemist
    Mar 13th 2015, 4:58 PM

16 buses from donegal someone’s better tell them donegal are not playing in Croke park don’t forget. Ireland play Wales at 2.30

Mute Mike hunt
    Favourite Mike hunt
    Mar 13th 2015, 5:22 PM

You’re a special kind of stupid, aren’t you?

Mute Noel Mull
    Favourite Noel Mull
    Mar 13th 2015, 5:30 PM

Idiotic comment

Mute Pearse Mc Mullen
    Mar 13th 2015, 5:31 PM

Bluemist – you do realise that we play Wales tomorrow and Scotland next Saturday? I wouldn`t want you to be a week early for the march, sure we can`t do without you .

Mute Bluemist
    Favourite Bluemist

Looney left and now renua ha ha are the buses from donegal free

Mute Mike hunt
    Favourite Mike hunt
    Mar 13th 2015, 5:21 PM

What does ‘renua’ mean?

Mute brian magee
    Favourite brian magee
    Mar 14th 2015, 12:36 AM

I wish that people would protest about stuff that affects the middle class.

The USC is a much more unjust tax, but then again I don’t think that many of the protestors pay that.

Mute JJ Smith
    Favourite JJ Smith
    Mar 13th 2015, 10:56 PM

Ignore this stupid protest

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    Mar 14th 2015, 6:57 PM

OK…I’ll ignore your stupid protest…but what was it about?

Mute Niall Donnelly
    Favourite Niall Donnelly
    Mar 14th 2015, 7:21 AM

Is the six nations final that day?

Mute Conor Mac Nessa
    Favourite Conor Mac Nessa
    Mar 14th 2015, 6:28 AM
    Mute Robert Daly
    Favourite Robert Daly
    Mar 14th 2015, 7:56 PM

Hasn’t the Journal and the AAA/Anti-Water Charge brigade noticed yet that the decimal point keeps moving left in each subsequent turnout for their marches ??? 100,000 my arse !!!