You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

The remains of an 11-year-old boy abducted in 1989 have finally been found

Jacob Wetterling was with his brother and friend when taken by a masked gunman.

THE REMAINS OF Jacob Wetterling, an 11-year-old boy kidnapped from a rural Minnesota road nearly 27 years ago, have been identified.

The identification provides long-awaited answers to a mystery that has captivated residents and sparked changes in sex offender laws.

WCCO - CBS Minnesota / YouTube

A masked gunman abducted Jacob in October of 1989 near the boy’s home in St. Joseph, about 80 miles (128km) northwest of Minneapolis.

The Stearns County Sheriff’s Office confirmed in a statement yesterday that “Jacob Wetterling’s remains have been located” and that the Ramsey County medical examiner and a forensic odontologist had identified them.

Additional DNA testing will be conducted and investigators are continuing to evaluate new evidence in the case, the sheriff’s office said, adding that authorities expect to be able to provide more details early next week.

A law enforcement official told The Associated Press that a person of interest in Jacob’s abduction took authorities to a field in central Minnesota last week. The official, who spoke on condition of anonymity because of the ongoing case, said remains and other evidence were recovered and that the remains had been buried.

Old Abduction Minnesota Patty and Jerry Wetterling show a photo of their son Jacob Wetterling in 2009. AP / Press Association Images AP / Press Association Images / Press Association Images

Jacob’s mother, Patty Wetterling, sent a text message to KARE-TV earlier, saying that Jacob “has been found and our hearts are broken.”

Jacob was riding his bicycle with his brother and a friend on 22 October 1989, when a masked gunman abducted him. Authorities said the man held on to Jacob and told the other boys to run. Jacob hadn’t been seen since, despite extensive searches, tens of thousands of leads and offers of a monetary reward.

No one has been arrested or charged in his abduction, which led to changes in sex-offender registration laws.

But last year, authorities took another look at the case, and were led to Danny Heinrich, a man they called a “person of interest” in Jacob’s kidnapping.

Old Abduction Minnesota The child's body was found just miles from the home of 'person of interest' Daniel Heinrich. AP AP

Heinrich, 53, of Annandale, denied any involvement in the abduction, and was not charged with that crime.

But he has pleaded not guilty to 25 federal child pornography charges and is scheduled to go on trial on those counts in October.

The FBI has said previously that Heinrich matched the general description of a man who assaulted several boys in Paynesville from 1986 to 1988. Earlier this year, Heinrich’s DNA was found on the sweatshirt of a 12-year-old boy who was kidnapped from Cold Spring and sexually assaulted just nine months before Jacob’s abduction.

Heinrich was questioned by authorities shortly after Jacob’s disappearance, but he denied involvement.

Court documents say his shoes and car tires were “consistent” with tracks left near the site of Jacob’s abduction, but couldn’t be ruled an exact match.

Old Abduction Minnesota The area from which the 11-year-old was abducted. AP Images AP Images

Authorities also searched the home where Heinrich lived with his father at the time and found scanners, camouflage clothing and a picture of a boy wearing underwear.

Heinrich’s attorney did not respond to emailed requests for comment.

Jacob’s abduction shattered childhood innocence for many in rural Minnesota, changing the way parents let their kids roam. His smiling face was burned into Minnesota’s psyche, appearing on countless posters and billboards over the years. Each year, Minnesota residents were asked to keep their porch lights on for Jacob’s safe return.

Patty Wetterling always kept hope her son would be found alive. She became a national advocate for children, and with her husband, Jerry Wetterling, founded the Jacob Wetterling Resource Center, which works to help communities and families prevent child exploitation.

Jacob Wetterling Flowers placed on the driveway of Jacob Wetterling's parents. Kimm Anderson / St. Cloud Times via AP Kimm Anderson / St. Cloud Times via AP / St. Cloud Times via AP

In 1994, Congress passed a law named after Jacob Wetterling that requires states to establish sex offender registries.

Officials with the Jacob Wetterling Resource Center posted a statement on its website Saturday, saying they are in “deep grief.”

“We didn’t want Jacob’s story to end this way,” the statement said.

Our hearts are heavy, but we are being held up by all of the people who have been a part of making Jacob’s Hope a light that will never be extinguished. … Jacob, you are loved.

Read: ‘You may be unknowingly shielding a killer’: Fresh appeal in Raonaid Murray case >

Read: Human skull buried for up to 70 years found in back garden in South County Dublin >

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

19 Comments
    Mute Eoin Fleming
    Favourite Eoin Fleming
    Jul 7th 2015, 8:38 AM

Apologise and then spit in the victims families faces by asking for a retrial. Piece of shi!t.

Mute Eoin Byrne
    Favourite Eoin Byrne
    Jul 7th 2015, 9:02 AM

Wouldn’t you appeal if you got a death sentence, regardless of circumstance? You cannot possibly expect someone as young as he is to just accept his fate and allow the state to kill him.

Mute MaryLou(ny)McDonald
    Favourite MaryLou(ny)McDonald
    Jul 7th 2015, 9:06 AM

He could just appeal the sentence and not the conviction. But as already stated he is a piece of s(um. Another ‘jihadi’ who wants western style justice when caught but wants Sharia law for others.

He’ll not be dead soon enough.

See 20 more replies ▾
    Mute jane
    Favourite jane
    Jul 7th 2015, 9:15 AM

Eoin what about the fate he inflicted on his victims? He knew what he was doing and he knew where he was doing it. America have the death sentence for lads like this, it’s not a secret.

Mute Eoin Fleming
    Favourite Eoin Fleming
    Jul 7th 2015, 9:31 AM

@jane I totally agree with you, but i was making reference to the apology he made to them during his trial.
    @Eoin If you go out and try and kill and injure as many people as you can, you know the outcome if you’re caught. Don’t apologise and then ask for a retrial. Take your punishment

Mute jane
    Favourite jane
    Jul 7th 2015, 9:34 AM

I meant my comment for Eoin Byrne. Just noticed 2 eoins.

Mute Eoin Fleming
    Favourite Eoin Fleming
    Jul 7th 2015, 9:39 AM

@ Jane There’s only one Eoin! ;)

Mute jane
    Favourite jane
    Jul 7th 2015, 9:46 AM

Haha that what your mammy told you?

Mute Eoin Fleming
    Favourite Eoin Fleming
    Jul 7th 2015, 9:47 AM

They don’t lie Jane!

Mute jane
    Favourite jane
    Jul 7th 2015, 9:51 AM

That’s very true.

Mute David Burns
    Favourite David Burns
    Jul 7th 2015, 10:27 AM

How many US soldiers face death penalty for war crimes committed.Waterbording, abu grain prison 500,000 deaths in Iraq as a result of war. Civilians were high percentage. Afghanistan 5000 a year average civilians killed. One Sargent killed 16 afghans but no death penalty here. it’s 1961 last time death penalty was given to us solider. This kid was wrong for what he did. But death penalty I don’t think so. US create kids like this they have no hope. poor and uneducated.

Mute Sandbag
    Favourite Sandbag
    Jul 7th 2015, 10:50 AM

Both of them had been in college, so they were hardly uneducated.

Mute David Burns
    Favourite David Burns
    Jul 7th 2015, 10:56 AM

Can any of you guys who gives a red thumb argue why it’s ok for US soldiers to kill civilians and not get death penalty and it’s ok to give death penalty to a Muslim. I think he should get life but not death penalty.

Mute Mick Jordan
    Favourite Mick Jordan
    Jul 7th 2015, 12:39 PM

David. Soldiers kill on behalf of the State they represent. And only if they deliberately set out with the sole intention of killing non combatants can they be held personally responsible.
    He and his brother did intend to murder innocents and were representing no state but a religion.

Mute David Burns
    Favourite David Burns
    Jul 7th 2015, 1:35 PM

Yes they do kill on behalf of state. There has been thousands of murders committed by Us soliders Their sentences range from none to 20 years no death penalty since 1961 A few years a go a Us Sargent murdered 16 afghans and got 20 years.

Mute David Burns
    Favourite David Burns
    Jul 7th 2015, 1:48 PM

The USA middle East policy is creating terrorism. Before 9/11 The USA sponsored bin laden to run a war for them. He turned on them. Since then a million or more have died mostly poor. All that million have family and friends that had no axe to grind before 9/11. Now the world is over run with fear of terrorism because of USA oil driven policy. If your going to kill this kid in name of justice. Then give Usa murdering soilder justice to. Personally I don’t think all this killing is working. USA is a revenge driven society and god for bid if you step on their toes.But when shoe is on the other foot they whinge like baby’s

Mute Mick Jordan
    Favourite Mick Jordan
    Jul 7th 2015, 1:56 PM

And David the Prosecutors in the case of the Sergeant did ask for the Death Penalty in the Courts Marshall but it was the Judge Advocate that ruled against it. Just as the Judge in this case could have ruled out the Death Penalty if he had so wished.

Mute Mick Jordan
    Favourite Mick Jordan
    Jul 7th 2015, 2:01 PM

And as for your claim the US sponsored Bin Laden to ” Run their war for them” we both know that is patently false. Remember the Wiki Leaks documents? They described Bin Laden and his followers as “minor bit players in the conflict” and of Bin Laden himself as “Someone of little importance. A Middle ranking money guy”. Not exactly a ringing endorsement of his Generalship as someone you claim was running the war.

Mute David Burns
    Favourite David Burns
    Jul 7th 2015, 2:59 PM

point is he did not get death penalty and the kid did. Why can’t you understand this kids death will only add to USA problems. it will create more terrorism.

Mute David Burns
    Favourite David Burns
    Jul 7th 2015, 3:02 PM

point taken he was one of many state sponsored warlord. like there budy sadam

Mute Sandbag
    Favourite Sandbag
    Jul 7th 2015, 3:21 PM

He’s 21, not a ‘kid.’ He was fully aware of what he was doing & unrepentent, at least until he was found guilty.

Mute Mick Jordan
    Favourite Mick Jordan
    Jul 7th 2015, 4:05 PM

David. His Death will no more impact world politics than would some ISIS cannon fodder in Iraq. Islamic extremists are going to hate the West no matter what we do. Our entire way of life is an anethma to them.

Mute David Burns
    Favourite David Burns
    Jul 7th 2015, 5:09 PM

Your right it wont effect the bigger picture much put it will help to polarize things a little more. Daddy Bush went into the middle east and did what he had to do fair play. But baby bush went back in when rest of world said stay out but no puppy dog Blair and and baby bush went looking for more trouble based on lies. Fueling (excuse the pun) the extremists.If USA and the rest of the world spent as much money on help instead of bombs I don’t think their would be many I E D s waiting for them.But the guys making the bombs in the states are pulling the strings. When the black and tans were here they were not welcomed with open arms. They left we had a silly civil war and we came to our sinces. leave them alone to solve their own problems. No oil in Africa yanks wont do much helping out their. One of baby bush polices in Africa is letting USA drug companies do what they like. I agree to disagree but I think helping is better than shooting them dead.

Mute Mark Ryan
    Favourite Mark Ryan
    Jul 7th 2015, 8:44 AM

make him pay for it himself, he is going to drag the families through the pain again and cause great expense to the state while doing so. Mass Murderers shouldn’t have any rights

Mute jane
    Favourite jane
    Jul 7th 2015, 8:44 AM

He can demand away, doesn’t mean he should or will get it though.

Mute Jurgen Remak
    Favourite Jurgen Remak
    Jul 7th 2015, 8:48 AM

This is a routine move by defense lawyers. They will probably raise the fact the trial was not conducted outside Boston.
    Appeal away, this creep is going nowhere.

Mute Mick Jordan
    Favourite Mick Jordan
    Jul 7th 2015, 10:17 AM

And so it begins. Appeal after appeal. Happy to kill for Allah but not so happy to die for Allah.

Aug 24th 2015, 1:39 PM

Hope he meets his 70 virgins soon!

Mute catherine
    Favourite catherine
    Jul 7th 2015, 8:50 AM

This is just the first in a long line of legal blocks he will keep lodging in order to delay his excution. Each appeal and demand will be all legit. All to ensure his rights are being protected. In the meantime his victims and their families are denied justice.

Mute Andrew McCabe
    Favourite Andrew McCabe
    Jul 7th 2015, 9:16 AM

I hope he dies slowly and painfully!

Mute Conor
    Favourite Conor
    Jul 7th 2015, 10:18 AM

Well I think he should die, why do we – the civilised side of the world(I use the term loosely) always have to “do the right thing” try reform people show them kindness etc, those terrorists are maniacs… death sentence is perfect for them

Mute Brian Gormley
    Favourite Brian Gormley
    Jul 7th 2015, 9:28 AM

just set a date for his anti terrorism jab and move on

Mute Tap Solny
    Favourite Tap Solny
    Jul 7th 2015, 8:51 AM

This bombing took place in the past and the past is the past. It is time to move forward. These things happen in war. Perhaps this young man would like a future in politics. If he decides to choose such a path he will get plenty of support from you know who.

Mute Kevin Slater
    Favourite Kevin Slater
    Jul 7th 2015, 9:37 AM

Tw@t

Mute John Murphy
    Favourite John Murphy
    Jul 7th 2015, 9:50 AM

Tap,u are a knob.

john
    Mute john
    Favourite john
    Jul 7th 2015, 11:15 AM

I’m against the penalty but if it was me…and i was guilty i think i’d request it….death or life in a US prison….it’s a no-brainer!

Mute David Burns
    Favourite David Burns
    Jul 7th 2015, 1:52 PM

fair comment

Mute John Curry
    Favourite John Curry
    Jul 7th 2015, 2:27 PM

It would be very wrong to kill this poor kid with a lethal injection. ………………..way to quick.

Mute Eamonn
    Favourite Eamonn
    Jul 7th 2015, 9:16 PM

inject him, televise it and dump his carcass in a lime pit