You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

South African president survives no-confidence motion

Criticism of Jacob Zuma from within his party has grown amid multiple corruption scandals.

Reuters 20170705 South Africa's President Jacob Zuma at an ANC meeting earlier this year. Siphiwe Sibeko / PA Images Siphiwe Sibeko / PA Images / PA Images

SOUTH AFRICAN PRESIDENT Jacob Zuma survived a parliamentary vote of no-confidence today, as members of the ruling African National Congress (ANC) stuck by their leader despite divisions and fierce criticism of his rule.

The no-confidence motion needed to secure 201 of the 400 votes in parliament to succeed, but fell short with 177 votes, national assembly Speaker Baleka Mbete announced this afternoon.

Criticism of Zuma from within the ANC has grown amid multiple corruption scandals and mounting economic woes, with the celebrated party of Nelson Mandela declining sharply at the polls.

ANC officials predicted that the president would survive the vote given the party’s large parliamentary majority.

Today, the parliamentary party celebrated victory over what it described as an attempted “soft coup”.

South Africa No Confidence Vote Protesters against President Jacob Zuma marching to parliament in Cape Town today. AP / PA Images AP / PA Images / PA Images

“It has been the publicly stated intention of the opposition… to collapse government, deter service delivery and sow seeds of chaos in society to ultimately grab power,” the party said in a statement.

Several opposition parties led thousands of anti-Zuma protesters outside the national assembly before the vote, while supporters of the president held a rival march.

Zuma, who has built up a network of loyalists in the ANC since coming to power in 2009, has survived several previous parliamentary votes.

© AFP 2017 

Read: Orangutan who learned to communicate in sign language dies aged 39>

Read: London police release footage of jogger pushing woman into path of bus>

View 19 comments
19 Comments
    Mute Sluazcanal
    Favourite Sluazcanal
    Oct 9th 2012, 3:12 PM

Best of luck trying to get anybody in Cavan to part with it.

Mute Ignoreland
    Favourite Ignoreland
    Oct 9th 2012, 5:45 PM

I think the gold deposits were actually found inside someone’s mattress.

Mute New totwit
    Favourite New totwit
    Oct 9th 2012, 3:15 PM

We’re rich lads! Rich beyond our wildest dreams. Lets build more houses.

Mute Steve Wright
    Favourite Steve Wright
    Oct 9th 2012, 3:26 PM

Can’t lose on Bricks & Mortar they say. Great plan, count me in!!

Mute BandaraBoy
    Favourite BandaraBoy
    Oct 9th 2012, 3:34 PM

Feck that Stevie!

I don’t trust the auld houses meself, I’m
    lumping everything into de auld bank shares, sure aib and boi are bullet proof

I’m just gonna sit back and watch the dosh rollllll in

Easy moneys I tell ya

Mute Les Rock
    Favourite Les Rock
    Oct 9th 2012, 3:44 PM

Screw the both ye guys..eircom shares where the monies at!

Mute Eileen Gabbett
    Favourite Eileen Gabbett
    Oct 9th 2012, 8:00 PM

I think I will take a risk .Mad I know but I will put my money into unsecured bonds ….easy come easy go and shur I might get something back .Wha ? What’s that you say ? Ah what you dont have you dont miss , its a long shot but hey We are in Ireland anything goes !!!

Mute Cornelius Crow
    Favourite Cornelius Crow
    Oct 9th 2012, 3:47 PM

from cavan myself, very exciting news, turned around to the wife a few minutes ago and said now that they found gold on our land what will we do with all these begging letters, she says sure feck it keep sending them.

Mute Michelle Kelly
    Favourite Michelle Kelly
    Oct 9th 2012, 3:11 PM

No doubt they will rape and pillage the countryside.

Mute BandaraBoy
    Favourite BandaraBoy
    Oct 9th 2012, 3:26 PM

Hopefully.

We’ll all be lovely and rich in Dublin though

:)

Mute Joe McDermott
    Favourite Joe McDermott
    Oct 9th 2012, 4:29 PM

24carot Cyaavan gold. Watch the sales of shovels sky rocket now.

Mute Dmc
    Favourite Dmc
    Oct 9th 2012, 5:10 PM

Just wait for the government to give away the rights to gold aswell. They’re quite good at signing away our natural resources

Mute Sinead Kiely
    Favourite Sinead Kiely
    Oct 10th 2012, 11:13 AM

So that’s where the the Cavan locals stashed their money! ;)

Mute Martin Sinnott
    Favourite Martin Sinnott

They will never get planning permission. The posters are packing there bags and are on there way to Cavan

Mute Martin Sinnott
    Favourite Martin Sinnott

Protestors

Mute Vinnie Bonar
    Favourite Vinnie Bonar
    Oct 9th 2012, 4:15 PM

It’ll create jobs and boost their local economy.

Mute finbar m
    Favourite finbar m
    Oct 9th 2012, 3:33 PM

My be it’s the quinns pot , lol they did not hid it well

Mute Eileen Gabbett
    Favourite Eileen Gabbett
    Oct 9th 2012, 8:07 PM

Lol !

Mute Darren Daly
    Favourite Darren Daly
    Oct 9th 2012, 3:43 PM

The’s gooold in them theya hills hi!

Mute Derek Durkin
    Favourite Derek Durkin
    Oct 9th 2012, 3:55 PM

Its funny how all these gold,oil and gas discoveries are happening when we are in our worst postion to bargain what we receive. Funny that its happening in Spain, Greece and Portugal as well. And to go a bit further sure the IMF have a great record of offering financial assistance to countries in the 3rd world just as they make resource discoveries. Some coincidences i say.

Mute Derek Durkin
    Favourite Derek Durkin
    Oct 9th 2012, 4:05 PM

If i had a blonde wig and some lipstick on ….. yeah maybe.

Mute MojoRise
    Favourite MojoRise
    Oct 9th 2012, 8:50 PM

And think about this one…. With the fine motorway network almost completed (with borrowed money…. and not paid for yet) they can come in and easily extract whatever it is they are after…. I believe it was a well taught out plan that the world elites created a plan to flood the PIGS countries with money, then shutting off all lending instantaneously, forcing massive cutbacks, resulting in free falling economies, with the result that they who control the money call all the shots….. Coincidence….. This was a massive setup….

Mute Ryan Allen
    Favourite Ryan Allen
    Oct 9th 2012, 9:11 PM

Where have these discoveries happened recently in Spain, Greece and Portugal? I Googled and couldn’t find anything recent. Have you any sources or are you making sh*t up?

Mute Derek Durkin
    Favourite Derek Durkin
    Oct 9th 2012, 11:09 PM

@Ryan U ain’t trying very hard. These stories have been in and out of the news regarding the Pigs for the past year. I checked google for oil and gas Greece, Portugal and Spain and on the first pages on each there was news items relating to such.

Mute Charlie Carlisle
    Favourite Charlie Carlisle
    Oct 10th 2012, 12:04 PM

Gold is always more worthwhile digging up when currency is low in value. The same happened in the 80s. When currency is worth a lot (up until crash of 08), gold has low value, so not economical to extract. Then, it was $300/oz. Now, closer to $1750…

Mute Micheal
    Favourite Micheal
    Oct 9th 2012, 3:16 PM

Always knew them Cavan bunch could be trusted with anything – wouldn’t spend a rich mans penny to save their lives!

Mute Paddy Rodgers
    Favourite Paddy Rodgers
    Oct 9th 2012, 8:19 PM

Eileen
    Perhaps you could inform us as to where we can purchase these so called unsecured Bonds.

Mute Eileen Gabbett
    Favourite Eileen Gabbett
    Oct 9th 2012, 9:10 PM

Paddy (Mark) Rodgers
    have you not learned how to reply to posts correctly yet ?
    Nothing to say to you .I would have thought you would know better after having your nasty comments to me ,removed from other threads …

Mute Damien Aulsberry
    Favourite Damien Aulsberry
    Oct 9th 2012, 9:24 PM

what if Paddy Rodgers is a pseudoynm for enda kenny. if you swap his name round it would be quite apt, is that you enda?

Mute Dale Maguire
    Favourite Dale Maguire
    Oct 9th 2012, 4:24 PM

Foreigners brought into mine it,and trucks to bring it out,no benefit to us.The government will find a way to make absolutely no use of it as always.Like giving a bag of jellies to a bunch of kids really.

Mute David Jordan
    Favourite David Jordan
    Oct 9th 2012, 5:57 PM

That’s unlikely, Irish Gold commands a much higher price because it’s Irish. Most gold mined will be used in jewellery and sold to tourists and abroad like Tara Crystal. Given the relatively small amount of gold mined it can be smelted in Ireland unlike ~100,000 tons of Lead & Zinc ore that’s exported to Finland(?) for smelting. It’s likely profits made will remain in Ireland, once Connroy Diamonds and Gold get enough capital to set up mining, milling and smelting here.

Mute Brian Mac An Rì
    Favourite Brian Mac An Rì
    Oct 9th 2012, 4:47 PM

Ah no they found my communion money!!

Mute Pani
    Favourite Pani
    Oct 9th 2012, 4:38 PM

Lost in Cavan at the weekend. one pot. High sentimental value to owner. Contact Larry D. Le Prechaun.

Mute Pani
    Favourite Pani
    Oct 9th 2012, 5:18 PM

Ignore dupe.

Mute Karen Croft McGarry
    Favourite Karen Croft McGarry
    Oct 9th 2012, 3:41 PM

Being South African born and bred, will. Cavan now be nicknamed Gold Reef County and Ireland finally finds their pot luck. Who knows maybe, diamonds are next and will be discovered by a Mr ” De Beer O’Loughlin”. The old saying

Mute Vincent
    Favourite Vincent
    Oct 9th 2012, 4:41 PM

How much will this mean for government. Hope there is a tax applicable to this licence! But I have a feeling it is same as the oil giveaway! Why not create a new natural resource extraction tax. New 2012 law…..new tax. Can then be applied to the other finds we have. I mean I as a paye worker have been subjected to new taxes brought into law. So why not a new natural resource extraction tax? Put an end to this future tribunal case of looking into Ireland’s resource giveaway!

Mute Shane Hickey
    Favourite Shane Hickey
    Oct 9th 2012, 3:45 PM

is it Sean Quinn’s?

Mute Colm Ó Súiligh
    Favourite Colm Ó Súiligh
    Oct 9th 2012, 4:55 PM

Resources should be the communal property of everyone on this Island and should be used to better all of our people. It’s a pity that won’t happen. This shouldn’t be done by private mining companies. Same with oil, gas and everything else.

Mute David Jordan
    Favourite David Jordan
    Oct 9th 2012, 6:24 PM

Resources are already nominally owned by the state, thus are owned by the citizens of Ireland. Legally any “scheduled mineral” deeper than 6 inches underground (deeper than a plough, yes, that’s the definition) is state owned (there’s a few exceptions such as sand & gravel that escape mining rules; that’s how farmers opened sand pits in Kildare and filled them with rubbish without strict planning permission).

When a company applies for a mining licence, they lease the right to mine state owned minerals. The minerals extracted are taxed according to what they are or a duty is applied if exported.

For example, I’ve heard from miners at Avoca that Copper and Gold was mislabeled Pyrite and exported cheaply, escaping higher export duty. That said, Avoca was the world lowest grade copper/gold mine by the 1970-80s, a higher duty wild have closed the mine and resulted in job losses. Companies can’t get away with this now, I hope.

Mute Frank2521
    Favourite Frank2521
    Oct 9th 2012, 5:14 PM

I bet all rights are gone for the next 50 years for any resources found underground in Ireland. Which government sold them I would love to know.

Mute 1 Human Being
    Favourite 1 Human Being
    Oct 9th 2012, 4:19 PM

Dig it up because its shiney and its precious. Mmmmm lovely gold $1775 per oz nice one.

Mute Bang Bang
    Favourite Bang Bang
    Oct 9th 2012, 4:53 PM

Oh come back Biddy Reilly to Ballyjamesduff. Oh come home Biddy Reilly to me.

Mute Michelle McMahon
    Favourite Michelle McMahon
    Oct 9th 2012, 7:08 PM

We struck gold in Cavan! A winning mentality! Between fracking and gold mining the place will be filled with more holes.

Mute Shirley Boshell
    Favourite Shirley Boshell
    Oct 9th 2012, 10:20 PM

Well don’t broadcast it for feck sake. We will be having American peace keeping forces in to “save us” before we know it.

Mute Thomas Mc Grory
    Favourite Thomas Mc Grory
    Oct 9th 2012, 9:09 PM

Never thought I would say it but I’m away to Cavan!

Mute Oliver Wolahan
    Favourite Oliver Wolahan
    Oct 9th 2012, 9:15 PM

Mobile van, selling chips and burgers to the throngs of protesters and media personnel.
    That will be the first and only profitable “Gold Mine” if it gets the go-ahead.
    The whole idea has a suspect hint of tax payer funded “grab for cash” with no gold to show for it in the end.

Mute Paul
    Favourite Paul
    Oct 9th 2012, 5:01 PM

The gold bank of cavan

Mute 1Vicki Walsh
    Favourite 1Vicki Walsh
    Oct 9th 2012, 5:31 PM

Least something good is comin out of Cavan

Mute Ray Kinsella
    Favourite Ray Kinsella
    Oct 9th 2012, 11:28 PM

its not like you all dont have your pick of shite counties to slag off, l mean yuk (!) Meath or, gulp (!) Donegal, the horrible Dubs, the whole of Munster… so many awful, shite, shite counties, 31 in fact

Mute Ann Farrelly Kirrane
    Favourite Ann Farrelly Kirrane
    Oct 10th 2012, 8:20 AM

All the ‘Pig Slurry’ is paying off now…..other Counties take note :-))

Mute McNamees On TheGreen
    Favourite McNamees On TheGreen
    Oct 9th 2012, 11:00 PM

They should be told to f off ! Our gold is our culture and our culture is our gold. Our society will get little or nothing . A few jobs for a few years and then an empty mining town. The play Stones in their pockets springs to mind! The wool has been pulled over our eyes for too long! . ” What have they done to the earth?. What have they done to our fair sister?. Ravaged and plundered and raped her and bit her. Stabbed her with knives in the back of the dawn. Tied her with trenches and dragged her down. ” I’d never thought I’d be quoting JM in relation to my native county.

Mute Dave McFadden
    Favourite Dave McFadden
    Oct 9th 2012, 8:40 PM

Appropriate tune for the story :-)

http://youtu.be/Gls28jwKuSk?t=9s

Mute Eoin Darcy
    Favourite Eoin Darcy
    Oct 10th 2012, 3:46 AM

Basement business booming!