You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

James Reilly loses Dáil seat, says he will now consider his future in politics

The Fine Gael deputy leader looked unlikely from early on to take a seat in north Co Dublin.

CHILDREN’S MINISTER DR James Reilly has lost his seat in Dublin Fingal, after being defeated by Sinn Féin in the battle for the fifth Dáil place.

Speaking after the result this afternoon, he said it had been a tough day for a lot of his colleagues in Fine Gael and Labour.

In comments to TheJournal.ie and other media outlets, as workers were dismantling the count centre around him, the Fine Gael deputy leader said he would be considering his future role in the party and in politics.

As to whether his career as a public representative was over, he said he was a big believer in “never saying never”.

Daragh Brophy / YouTube

Reilly said he felt Fine Gael and Labour had left the country in a better place economically.

He added that he accepted the result from the Fingal voters, remarking:

The thing with democracy, we take it for granted sometimes and we need to nurture it.
He said there was “a big job ahead” to be done by whatever government comes in. And on the question of whether we would see some kind of grand coalition between his party and Fianna Fáil he said he had no idea, observing:
There are those who would be very concerned about that. There’d be those who’d be very concerned about any other combination. But in the interests of the country people are going to have to roll up their sleeves and come to an arrangement because another election is not something I think that people want or the country can afford.

When asked by RTÉ whether his defeat and Alan Shatter’s loss in Dublin Rathdown were bad news for Enda Kenny’s leadership, he said the incumbent Taoiseach had to focus on leading the country forward instead of on Fine Gael’s losses.
https://vine.co/v/i6lnMD0P3I3

So what happened?

From early yesterday, it was apparent the Fine Gael deputy leader would be in a battle to take the last Dáil place in the five-seater.

In later counts, his Sinn Féin rival for that seat, Louise O’Reilly, pulled further ahead.

Reilly ended up with 6,215 and Louise O’Reilly 8,771 by the time the results of the 10th count were in. At that stage, the Fine Gael deputy leader’s party colleague Alan Farrell, Labour’s Brendan Ryan and SF’s O’Reilly were all deemed elected.

Fianna Fáil senator Darragh O’Brien topped the poll yesterday, and Socialist-turned-independent Clare Daly took the second seat at around 10pm last night.

O’Brien’s FF running mate Lorraine Clifford-Lee had looked to be in the mix for that fifth seat last night, but was eliminated one round before Reilly this afternoon.

Speaking to RTÉ Reilly said people might have thought he’d be safe because of his profile, but that it was clear Fine Gael hadn’t made an “emotional connection” with people on what the “recovery meant” for them.

That message didn’t get across. The future for this country is bright if a bit uncertain at the moment. I hope that everyone pulls together.

Farrell paid tribute to Reilly following his colleague’s elimination. Asked what he thought went wrong for the former health minister, he said he though Reilly had been a “lightning rod for an awful lot of discontent in regards to the Department of Health”.

“The ministry clearly hurt him. It caused him to question his role in politics as we all know and I can empathise with that I can understand.

It’s a thankless job. It’s a job that he wanted and sadly he simply just didn’t get the budget for it and the rest is history.

Sinn Féin’s big three

SF heavy-hitters Martin McGuinness and Mary Lou McDonald showed up in the count centre in Swords just before midday to lend their support to their candidate.

McGuinness said the win was another triumph for “strong republican women” in Irish politics. McDonald also paid tribute to the work O’Reilly had been doing in the sprawling north county constituency.

Later on, Gerry Adams turned up too – paying a whistle-stop visit to the north Dublin constituency on his way to the RDS. An upbeat Adams said the win was “absolutely brilliant”.

“She did sort of keep us hanging in for a wee while … but that’s women for you.”

Daragh Brophy / YouTube

He said there had been a great team effort in the area, and thanked the voters of Dublin Fingal for showing faith in the party’s candidate.

For her part, the newly-elected TD said she had been feeling confident all weekend.

We knew the support was there. It’s not a protest vote, it’s not a negative vote, it’s a very very positive thing and today you can see our party… transfer friendly, we were very transfer friendly.

Updated at 4.20pm

THE WINNERS: Here are all the TDs who have been elected so far>

Environment Minister Alan Kelly has kept his seat>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

78 Comments
    Mute Fi Wyse
    Favourite Fi Wyse
    Feb 24th 2022, 6:28 PM

I think this is probably one of the most horrifying things I’ve ever read in my 40 years on this planet.

Mute Paul Jude Redmond
    Favourite Paul Jude Redmond
    Feb 24th 2022, 7:14 PM

@Fi Wyse: good job you weren’t around for the cold war

Mute William Tallon
    Favourite William Tallon
    Feb 24th 2022, 7:28 PM

@Fi Wyse: Yes, it is horrifying but there have been many equally horrifying conflicts during your 40 years and some with a massive death toll. A United Nations report projected that the death toll from Yemen’s ongoing war would reach 377,000 by the end of 2021. Its figure for the death toll in the Syrian civil war from 2014-to 2021 is 350,000. The list of such conflicts is extensive. Maybe you just haven’t read about them or perhaps they’ve been largely ignored by the mainstream media…

See 17 more replies ▾
    Mute JohnDoe
    Favourite JohnDoe
    Feb 24th 2022, 7:41 PM

@Fi Wyse: it’s not what you think ..if all also fails nukes are more millarty predicted then using chernobyl… only reason to taking area is that site allows movement of troops from Belarus..

Mute David Haye
    Favourite David Haye
    Feb 24th 2022, 7:44 PM

@Fi Wyse: you’re bound to remember the break up of Yugoslavia, that was a particularly nasty series of conflicts too and in the 1990′s when people thought the world was safe and secure.

Mute A Kelly
    Favourite A Kelly
    Feb 24th 2022, 7:58 PM

@Fi Wyse: lots of wars in the past but this is in Europe and so much closer to home. It’s also a conflict which could bring the Two Tribes to war! (US/NATO v Russia and maybe China)

Mute gordon o loughlin
    Favourite gordon o loughlin
    Feb 24th 2022, 8:06 PM

@Fi Wyse: I could not agree more. The damage this man has already done is horrifying. He’s a war monger

Mute Rostyballs78
    Favourite Rostyballs78
    Feb 24th 2022, 8:32 PM

@Fi Wyse: it certainly has the potential to be something absolutely horrific but in my own near 45 years of living I remember the Rwandan genocide of 1994 being particularly vile. The events in Srebrenica in 95 were another. There are plenty more but those two stick out for me.

Mute Ed
    Favourite Ed
    Feb 24th 2022, 8:45 PM

@William Tallon: all of those have been extensively covered, this is different as it involves military superpower potentially squaring off against another military superpower (by proxy at least)

Mute Fi Wyse
    Favourite Fi Wyse
    Feb 24th 2022, 8:55 PM

@William Tallon: I can see the tact that you’re applying here that I might be not in touch to the Worlds woes. However I feel it’s the nuclear element that is bothering me the most having watched that at Chernobyl series and also having discussions with my father about how scary it was for him as a child during the Cuban missile crisis and seeing his parents being worried about the situation. All of the events you’ve mentioned were truly horrific and there is images that will never leave any other Minds but this one strikes a personal cord with me.

Mute Fi Wyse
    Favourite Fi Wyse
    Feb 24th 2022, 8:57 PM

@David Haye: I was only 9 in 1990 so I was probably still more interested in Barbie when that was going on. However I have read about it over the years.

Mute Fi Wyse
    Favourite Fi Wyse
    Feb 24th 2022, 8:58 PM

@Rostyballs78: Rwanda was sickening and I think it was the first time I ever figured out what it was like to be privileged as a child looking at all of the lovely things I had knowing how lucky I was!

Mute William Tallon
    Favourite William Tallon
    Feb 24th 2022, 9:09 PM

@Ed: I disagree that they’ve been extensively covered. You will get the very occasional analysis piece but no ongoing media coverage. One military superpower squaring off against another by proxy was the norm for nearly 50 years during the Cold War so it’s hardly a new state of affairs. The Cuban missile crisis immediately springs to mind not to mention all those proxy conflicts that occurred in Africa and South-East Asia. I think the real reason the writer of the original comment finds it horrifying is that it’s happening in Europe and feels more real whereas those other conflicts are in far-away places you never read about or would ever visit. She’s obviously too young to remember the 140,000 who died in the horrific Yugoslav wars…

Mute William Tallon
    Favourite William Tallon
    Feb 24th 2022, 9:30 PM

@Fi Wyse: I was 10 years old during the Cuban Missile Crisis and remember the effect it had on people. Going to confession suddenly became very popular! I grew up during the Cold War when the threat of nuclear war was very real. People just accepted it though and lived their lives. That doesn’t mean they didn’t care or weren’t scared but I don’t think very many people believed it would happen except for Hollywood etc. because it made for great drama. It was something that was there every day but wasn’t at the forefront of most people’s minds. It still makes for great drama in the media where much of the coverage about potential nuclear war has been ridiculous. I doubt though if very many Western leaders believe the chances of nuclear conflict happening today are in any way realistic…

Mute Ogie Carbery
    Favourite Ogie Carbery
    Feb 24th 2022, 9:41 PM

@Fi Wyse: what about the invasion off Iraq and Afghanistan by America and England

Mute Fi Wyse
    Favourite Fi Wyse
    Feb 24th 2022, 9:50 PM

@William Tallon: I hope the chances are not realistic but that doesn’t stop the mind from wandering. I will be very grateful for having a warm bed to sleep in tonight that’s for sure.

Mute Fi Wyse
    Favourite Fi Wyse
    Feb 24th 2022, 9:52 PM

@Ogie Carbery: Yes terrible events. I’m not disagreeing with you.

Mute Tim Hayes
    Favourite Tim Hayes
    Feb 24th 2022, 10:34 PM

Here we go again

Mute FrustratedASDMum
    Favourite FrustratedASDMum
    Feb 24th 2022, 11:32 PM

@Rostyballs78: Srebrenica and Rwanda were the two that immediately came to my mind also. Absolutely horrific.

Mute Glenda Smith
    Favourite Glenda Smith
    Feb 24th 2022, 11:33 PM

@JohnDoe: Makes sense. I was wondering why they’d want to capture it.

Mute Finbar Delaney
    Favourite Finbar Delaney
    Feb 24th 2022, 6:31 PM

This is a tough one to call. I’m lost between the West staying out of this, and not escalating the whole thing into a potential global nuclear conflict, but at the same time, think we in the West need to stand up to Russia, and not leave Ukraine to be hung out to dry and pillaged. It’s a worrying time, no doubt about it.

Mute Finian Lynam
    Favourite Finian Lynam
    Feb 24th 2022, 6:46 PM

@Larry McGarry: Yet another bot

Mute Hugh Morris
    Favourite Hugh Morris
    Feb 24th 2022, 6:48 PM

@Finian Lynam: or are you choosing to blindly ignore the points he’s making?

See 20 more replies ▾
    Mute Larry McGarry
    Favourite Larry McGarry
    Feb 24th 2022, 6:49 PM

@Finian Lynam: bahahaha not so me old mucker. Just a human with a brain

Mute Sean Minihane
    Favourite Sean Minihane
    Feb 24th 2022, 6:52 PM

@Larry McGarry: you mean when Putin was telling the world last week that he had no intention of invading Ukraine.

Mute Baronvoncass
    Favourite Baronvoncass
    Feb 24th 2022, 6:53 PM

@Larry McGarry: that buys the rubbish put in spins in your direction….

Mute Robert Byrne
    Favourite Robert Byrne
    Feb 24th 2022, 6:53 PM

@Larry McGarry: yeah, who’s brain is that in your hands? May need to get one of your own

Mute Squarepeg01
    Favourite Squarepeg01
    Feb 24th 2022, 6:58 PM

@Larry McGarry: so Putin’s only interest is in safeguarding Donetsk and Lugansk? Why then did he recognise them as independent while saying on Monday that Ukraine itself was cobbled together by Lenin out of bits of Poland Hungary, and Russia and had no legitimacy to exist in its own right?

Mute Derek Murphy
    Favourite Derek Murphy
    Feb 24th 2022, 6:58 PM

@Hugh Morris @Larry McGarry : Dimitry, you’re having a conversation with yourself.

Mute Seoirse Ó Staighe
    Favourite Seoirse Ó Staighe
    Feb 24th 2022, 6:59 PM

@Finian Lynam: expect everyone who does not agree with you is to be considered a ‘bot’…

Mute Larry McGarry
    Favourite Larry McGarry
    Feb 24th 2022, 7:02 PM

@Sean Minihane: And then the Donbas asked Russia to recognise their independence (which they had looked for since 2014). Ukraine then upscaled their attacks on the Donbas region (which had actually been ongoing since 2014) Then Putin deciding to step in…

Mute Derek Murphy
    Favourite Derek Murphy
    Feb 24th 2022, 7:04 PM

@Larry McGarry: Source: Pravda

Mute Con Cussed
    Favourite Con Cussed
    Feb 24th 2022, 7:05 PM

@Larry McGarry: but no morals!

Mute Larry McGarry
    Favourite Larry McGarry
    Feb 24th 2022, 7:08 PM

@Larry McGarry: Just look at all of the mentions of the East Ukrainian people on Sky, BBC, CNN, CNBC, RTE, EURONEWS, FRANCE24.
    Its disgusting how these people have not been mentioned even now, let alone the last 8 years

Mute Larry McGarry
    Favourite Larry McGarry
    Feb 24th 2022, 7:10 PM

@Finbar Delaney: Shame on all of you for being so sleepy for years.
    America = hopefully ok
    Russia =definitely bad
    On yer bike sheep

Mute Con Cussed
    Favourite Con Cussed
    Feb 24th 2022, 7:16 PM

@Larry McGarry: absolute BS but know that! he has the audacity to call it denazification! What he’s done has no moral ground and he talks about the Russian motherland, do you remember 1939 when another leader spoke about his motherland?

Mute Larry McGarry
    Favourite Larry McGarry
    Feb 24th 2022, 7:38 PM

@Con Cussed: I think Putin is talking about the support for Nazi collaborator Stepan Bandera whom the Ukrainian nationalists have a torch bearing march for every Jan 1st for (USA today). ‘worries most in Ukraine and abroad’ (Irish Times)

Mute Sean Minihane
    Favourite Sean Minihane
    Feb 24th 2022, 7:40 PM

@Larry McGarry: you should give up getting all your news from RT. Next you will be trying to tell us the Russians are just there as peacekeepers. Meanwhile the little despot is locking up hundreds of his own citizens for daring to disagree with him.

Mute alan scott
    Favourite alan scott
    Feb 24th 2022, 7:53 PM

@Larry McGarry: anyone that defends this mad man is every bit as bad as him.

Putin has openly threatened NATO that if they intervene he will cause a disaster that has never been seen before.

Europe has this rhetoric before from a mad man and it resulted in 60 million deaths.

It’s not up to Russia who gets to join NATO or what that country does.

NATO with all their firepower would wipe Russia of the map without nukes

We don’t allow authoritarians threaten the safety of Europe

We let one man do it before

We won’t allow it to happen a 2nd time

Mute Larry McGarry
    Favourite Larry McGarry
    Feb 24th 2022, 8:04 PM

@Sean Minihane: says the man obviously listening to a ‘anyone but Russia channel’, that’s nuts buddy!
    Thankfully i have the time to watch most of the major news channel’s.
    The reality is, you have to accept there’s 2 sides and go looking for both views. If you don’t well then…. Good luck
    Try find the other point of YOUR view

Mute Larry McGarry
    Favourite Larry McGarry
    Feb 24th 2022, 8:14 PM

@alan scott: The US has no problem asserting its dominance on other far away regions of the world.
    And European countries condone this to the highest order when it happens.
    But of course the US Says F&€k off

Mute Proinsias Ó Fearghail
    Favourite Proinsias Ó Fearghail
    Feb 24th 2022, 8:21 PM

@Larry McGarry: for God’s sake,you internet farmer, go away and tell Putin you’re convincing no-one.

Mute Roger Bond
    Favourite Roger Bond
    Feb 24th 2022, 8:32 PM

@Larry McGarry: Russia should have just said that the Ukraine had weapons of mass destruction and then the US and UK would accept this as a valid reason to invade an independent country.

Mute Finbar Delaney
    Favourite Finbar Delaney
    Feb 24th 2022, 6:26 PM

The Russians are using Chernobyl’s instability to blackmail the rest of us

Mute FiannaFáilness FineGaelness
    Favourite FiannaFáilness FineGaelness
    Feb 24th 2022, 6:29 PM

Jesus christ… Make it make sense.

Mute Larry McGarry
    Favourite Larry McGarry
    Feb 24th 2022, 6:48 PM

@Finbar Delaney: me Boll€&x Chernobyl would hit them even worse if the wind blew the wrong way. Don’t be a numpty

Mute Roy Dowling
    Favourite Roy Dowling

@Finbar Delaney: How and why? They have nukes which they can hit anywhere on earth within meters. A change of wind and Chernobyl will do just as much damage to them as any where else…

Mute The Red Devil
    Favourite The Red Devil
    Feb 24th 2022, 10:21 PM

@Larry McGarry: Chernobyl is strategic and is the main route to Kiev- holding it also means it can’t be used in anyway against them people really need to think it out

Mute Darby Brennan
    Favourite Darby Brennan
    Feb 24th 2022, 6:42 PM

Send in the west cork fishermen

Mute Joe_X
    Favourite Joe_X
    Feb 24th 2022, 7:03 PM

@Darby Brennan: yep, the only ones who can take on the Russian navy……. and win!

Mute Lola
    Favourite Lola
    Feb 24th 2022, 6:54 PM

Now where did I put those iodine tablets…?

Mute Clem J Ó Díomasaigh
    Favourite Clem J Ó Díomasaigh
    Feb 25th 2022, 1:10 AM

@Lola: be sure to check the expiry date.

Mute Derek Murphy
    Favourite Derek Murphy
    Feb 24th 2022, 6:28 PM

Ah yes, launching an offensive in an active nuclear zone. Reckless.

Mute Rory Jennequin
    Favourite Rory Jennequin
    Feb 24th 2022, 6:30 PM

@Derek Murphy: uranium does not blow up if you fire a bullet or missile at it, calm down…

Feb 24th 2022, 6:32 PM

@Rory Jennequin: Destroying the structure encasing the plant/reactor would have seriously dire consequences.

Mute Derek Murphy
    Favourite Derek Murphy
    Feb 24th 2022, 6:38 PM

@Rory Jennequin: Interior Ministry adviser Anton Gerashchenko “Troops of the occupiers have entered the area of the Chernobyl power plant from Belarus…If the depot was destroyed by artillery strikes from the adversary, radioactive dust would cover Ukraine, Belarus and EU countries”

Mute Emer Daly
    Favourite Emer Daly
    Feb 24th 2022, 6:42 PM

@Derek Murphy: oh dear god

Mute Derek
    Favourite Derek

@Derek Murphy: worrying when the work to contain it with a new concrete dome has only finished in the last year.

Mute Rory Jennequin
    Favourite Rory Jennequin

@Derek Murphy: And if they used artillery fire it may be a risk. It would also be a risk if the wind blew the other way so that’s probably why it wasn’t used…

Mute Rory Jennequin
    Favourite Rory Jennequin
    Feb 24th 2022, 6:29 PM

Are they afraid that Russia is about to make it melt down again? It’s a strategic move on the way to Kiev, not an attempt to fire it up ffs!

Mute Dave Johnston
    Favourite Dave Johnston
    Feb 24th 2022, 6:40 PM

@Rory Jennequin: I think it’s fair to say that Putin is capable of anything at the present moment.

Mute Roy Dowling
    Favourite Roy Dowling
    Feb 24th 2022, 7:02 PM

@Dave Johnston: If that was the case why not use his nuclear arsenal that can strike anywhere on the planet within metres of its target. a change of wind and Chernobyl would do just as much damage to him as anyone else..

Mute Dave Johnston
    Favourite Dave Johnston
    Feb 24th 2022, 7:13 PM

@Roy Dowling: I have no idea. Give him a buzz there and ask him whats the plan.

Mute Rory Jennequin
    Favourite Rory Jennequin
    Feb 24th 2022, 7:15 PM

@Dave Johnston: That’s not how it works though. You don’t shoot a gun at a nuclear power plant and make it explode. You’re mistaking a radiation leak for a nuclear explosion.

Mute Dave Johnston
    Favourite Dave Johnston
    Feb 24th 2022, 7:19 PM

@Rory Jennequin: I never said that I understood the workings of a nuclear plant..I just said that Putin is capable of anything. Were talking about a man who has launched an unprovoked full scale attack on a neighbouring country just hours ago. He is an unhinged individual.

Mute Rory Jennequin
    Favourite Rory Jennequin
    Feb 24th 2022, 7:36 PM

@Dave Johnston: And coke is better than pepsi. If your comment had nothing to do with the taking over of the nuclear plant than why comment on it.

Mute Dave Johnston
    Favourite Dave Johnston
    Feb 24th 2022, 8:18 PM

@Rory Jennequin: it made more sense than q comment about your preference of soft drink.

Mute Míleata Watch Co
    Favourite Míleata Watch Co
    Feb 24th 2022, 6:41 PM

I wonder if he is using it as a safe den for his troops. The west or anyone else certainly isn’t going to launch any missiles at them there.

Mute Tom Cullen
    Favourite Tom Cullen
    Feb 24th 2022, 6:50 PM

@Míleata Watch Co: I think you’ve hit the nail on the head. Amass a serious amount of troops there only 100km from Kyiv. Makes them untouchable from both Ukrainian forces and any potential overseas intervention. Kyiv can never be retaken if it falls under Russian control, once troops and hardware are held up in Chernobyl.

Mute Tracey Keating Coughlan
    Favourite Tracey Keating Coughlan
    Feb 24th 2022, 6:30 PM

He just got himself a huge weapon now! Oh god this is absolutely dire. So so scary for Ukraine and the world

Feb 24th 2022, 6:39 PM

@Tracey Keating Coughlan: He already has actual nuclear weapons.

Mute Joe_X
    Favourite Joe_X
    Feb 24th 2022, 6:55 PM

@FiannaFáilness FineGaelness: yes but are you old enough to remember when Chernobyl originally melted down. The radioactive cloud that went across europe? You see, he has the real nukes, but the only one who can launch them, are the Russians themselves. However should anything happen to the containment system of the core in Chernobyl, by accident or by design, he can claim the Russians did nothing and it was due to a counterattack from The Ukraine/NATO/EU…*insert enemy force here* and deny fault.

Mute Roy Dowling
    Favourite Roy Dowling
    Feb 24th 2022, 7:03 PM

@Joe_X: the radioactive cloud also went over Russia, strange you happened to forget that part.

Mute Joe_X
    Favourite Joe_X

@Roy Dowling: and what is eastern Russia part of? Spain? Antarctica?

Mute Joe_X
    Favourite Joe_X

@Joe_X: sorry, meant Western Russia

Mute Jim
    Favourite Jim
    Feb 24th 2022, 6:57 PM

As said by a Ukrainian national living in the UK, “this is not 1938…this is 1939″. A terrifying thought to say the least.

Mute Niall
    Favourite Niall
    Feb 24th 2022, 6:47 PM

Sanctions will do nothing. The world needs to respond with military force

Mute Johnny Mads
    Favourite Johnny Mads
    Feb 24th 2022, 11:32 PM

@Niall: Yes, let’s trigger a nuclear war. That’ll work out well.

Mute Sam Murray
    Favourite Sam Murray
    Feb 24th 2022, 6:26 PM

Oh that’s absolutely fantastic news

Mute Laura Mulcahy
    Favourite Laura Mulcahy
    Feb 24th 2022, 6:33 PM

Jfc

Mute Mark Costello
    Favourite Mark Costello
    Feb 24th 2022, 7:49 PM

It’s taken 40 years to bring Chernobyl to where it is now , bad day for mankind ….

Mute John Martin
    Favourite John Martin
    Feb 24th 2022, 6:54 PM

I’ll be in the red parrot if anybody’s looking for me

Mute Paul Furey
    Favourite Paul Furey

What is he up to? Why take it? I doubt he wants to clear up an old Soviet mess.

Mute Tom Purcell
    Favourite Tom Purcell
    Feb 25th 2022, 7:54 AM

@Paul Furey: I suspect it is the region rather than the power station that’s the objective. It was a relatively sparesly populated area, close to Belarus, he now has a much more secure supply line – secured by the risk of damage to the station.

Mute Karl Phillips
    Favourite Karl Phillips
    Feb 24th 2022, 7:06 PM

Let them in and like Afghanistan a Stinger a day made the Russians go away.They start to lose a helicopter a day then the price becomes to high.

Mute Linda Kantike
    Favourite Linda Kantike

if this is destroyed, by weather conditions for Friday, and wind the harmful ashes/bits would head direction to Belarus.

Mute Paul Donegan
    Favourite Paul Donegan

Disaster!

Mute Geoff Dolan
    Favourite Geoff Dolan
    Feb 24th 2022, 9:20 PM

It is very possible Putin is betting on his troops soaking up radiation and suddenly devolping super powers like Spider Man in the movies

Mute Geoff Dolan
    Favourite Geoff Dolan
    Feb 24th 2022, 9:17 PM

Let’s hope Chernobyl’s new overseers soak in what that site has to offer in the way of radiation

Mute Larry McGarry
    Favourite Larry McGarry
    Feb 24th 2022, 6:34 PM

Yay: they’ll all get Radiation poisoning and be brown bread.
    Or
    Yay: they might help to clean all that cr*p up

Mute Dave
    Favourite Dave
    Feb 24th 2022, 7:22 PM

@Larry McGarry: you touch yourself when thinking of Vladimir don’t ya…

Mute Larry McGarry
    Favourite Larry McGarry

@Dave: That’s weak Dave

Mute Deirdre O'Byrne
    Favourite Deirdre O'Byrne
    Feb 24th 2022, 8:31 PM

I hope they don’t go swimming. Dear God let them not go swimming! Don’t do it Dmitry!