You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Shutterstock

Inside the murky world of Japan's child 'idol singers'

Concern has been raised about the age of the singers – some are as young as six.

IN A CRAMPED and dark venue in a sleazy Tokyo district, dozens of middle-aged men cheer at a performer on stage: The object of their adoration is a six-year-old girl.

Decked out in make-up with ribbons in her hair, Ai is dressed like an adult, but still looks very much a child.

She is a so-called “idol” singer — common in Japan, where rights groups have complained that society’s sometimes permissive view of the sexualisation of young girls puts minors at risk.

It was only in 2015 that possessing child pornography was criminalised and authorities are struggling to bring the country into line with other advanced nations on the issue.

In the crowd at an idols show, Soichiro Seki, 40, says he watches young girls on stage twice a week. He insists he goes just to encourage the performers and feels no shame.

But he did concede that other fans objectify them.

“(For them) coming to a concert like this and visiting a hostess club in Kabukicho are essentially the same thing,” he said, referring to Tokyo’s major red-light district.

Idol Tama Himeno, who has performed on stage since the age of 16, says the men attending her shows worship the performers and crave communication with young girls that they cannot get elsewhere.

Most fans are “pure,” insists Himeno, now 24, although she admits she was once offered 30,000 yen ($260) for her used tights.

“Men idolising young girls is relatively accepted in Japan,” said Himeno, citing the Tale of Genji, an 11th-century classic depicting a nobleman’s romantic relationships with women, as well as a small girl.

For Ai’s manager Hidenori Okuma, the men are attracted by the thought of contact with a “girl next door”.

“Meeting and chatting with high-school idols has become so popular,” said Okuma.

“It’s now less embarrassing to admit you like young girls. Now they (male fans) say they prefer primary school girls, without hesitation.”

A ‘bizarre sight’ 

Ai’s mother, Mami Yamazaki, says her daughter has wanted to be an “idol” singer since she watched an anime cartoon about young girls striving for stardom.

“On television, you see kids acting in dramas and commercials. In magazines, children are modelling clothes. What Ai is doing is not much different,” she says, despite the audience for idol shows being mainly adult males.

Yamazaki, 26, herself played in a band as a teenager and sees her daughter’s performances as a way into the popular and lucrative world of idols.

It can be a pathway to fame, as demonstrated by Japan’s AKB48 band, one of the most successful acts of all time, who started in a small stage in Tokyo’s Akihabara, with the youngest member aged 11.

But getting a foothold into the idol scene means the child has to interact with adult fans, taking photos together and autographing the backs of their t-shirts.

“It must be a bizarre sight” for foreigners, admits Himeno but she stresses any sexual advances are an absolute “no-no.”

‘Not normal’

Night view of Shinjuku district - Tokyo Tokyo DPA / PA Images DPA / PA Images / PA Images

Japan’s battle against paedophilia is well documented. The number of minors abused in child pornography has risen five-fold in the past decade, according to official figures.

Police have failed to stamp out so-called JK (Joshi Kosei, or high school girls) businesses, which offer men services such as going for a walk with a teenage girl so the customers have a chance to negotiate for sex.

Quasi-pornographic “chaku-ero”, or clothed eroticism — images of small children posing in tiny swimsuits — are easily found on the Internet, slipping through a legal loophole.

Lawyer Keiji Goto, who campaigns for minors’ rights, says the problem is a social one.

Many Japanese think that sexually objectifying young girls is not taboo but rather “just falls into a grey zone,” said Goto.

Japan is far from being the only place with a problem of sexualising children.

In America, concerns have been raised about the hyper-sexualisation of children appearing in beauty pageants, as well as on reality shows such as Toddlers and Tiaras.

And the French Parliament in 2014 adopted a ban on “mini miss” competitions for girls younger than 13, prompted by controversy over a 2010 Vogue magazine photo shoot featuring provocative images of a 10-year-old.

But in Japan, there has been little public debate of the issue.

Psychiatrist Hiroki Fukui, who also treats paedophiles, says the awareness in Japan that children need to be protected from potential sexual predators is “so low.”

He explained: “We need to realise this situation in Japan is not normal.”

Shihoko Fujiwara, the representative of an NGO that helps victims of human trafficking and sexual abuse, warned of a dangerous mindset.

“The girls will think to themselves the audience is crazy about them because they are small girls and because their value will reduce once they get to the age of 18.

“A society that allows children to have such a twisted self-identity can never protect them.”

Read: Japan: Soldier killed and skiers stranded after volcano eruption causes avalanche>

View 23 comments
23 Comments
    Mute Declan Edward
    Favourite Declan Edward
    Feb 11th 2019, 9:07 AM

More waffle

Mute Liam O’Conchubhair
    Favourite Liam O’Conchubhair
    Feb 11th 2019, 9:11 AM

@Declan Edward: how?

Mute Paul Furey
    Favourite Paul Furey
    Feb 11th 2019, 9:14 AM

@Liam O’Conchubhair: I doubt we’ll get a decent answer to support this edgy statement.

Mute Liam O’Conchubhair
    Favourite Liam O’Conchubhair
    Feb 11th 2019, 9:35 AM

@Paul Furey: true.

Mute Declan Edward
    Favourite Declan Edward
    Feb 11th 2019, 11:09 AM

@Liam O’Conchubhair: he’s a waffler. Simple as. Spent most of his life in the West of Ireland and speaks with a contrived accent, almost sees himself as a royal and expects that treatment, meanwhile the hoi polloi lap it up. Don’t understand it at all.

Mute SF Ankle Tapper
    Favourite SF Ankle Tapper
    Feb 11th 2019, 11:13 AM

@Declan Edward: accent is a total invention..

Mute Mary Cahill
    Favourite Mary Cahill
    Feb 11th 2019, 11:23 AM

@Declan Edward:
    Just because you don’t understand him I suggest you keep a good dictionary beside you when reading his speeches or read his book, Ideas Matter. Also you say “He spent most of his life in the West of Ireland”! What a despicable crime! We know who the waffler is.

Mute Declan Edward
    Favourite Declan Edward
    Feb 11th 2019, 12:48 PM

@Mary Cahill: haha where did I indicate that I didn’t know what he says?! If anything I’m over-educated, and most people that know me would agree!

Mute SF Ankle Tapper
    Favourite SF Ankle Tapper
    Feb 11th 2019, 1:38 PM

@Mary Cahill: read his book .l!!!have you heard his speeches??

Mute Mary Cahill
    Favourite Mary Cahill
    Feb 11th 2019, 1:41 PM

@Declan Edward:
    Your opening comment ‘more waffle’ shows that you don’t understand what he is say or you are not even listening. Anyone with the smallest amount of education would know that. Maybe people who are over-educated don’t!

Mute Darius Guppy
    Favourite Darius Guppy
    Feb 11th 2019, 4:12 PM

@Mary Cahill: his speeches are only made to look good by his poetry, because they are pure muck.

Mute Rebecca De Stanleigh
    Favourite Rebecca De Stanleigh
    Feb 11th 2019, 5:49 PM

@Declan Edward: You’re ‘over educated’?

Doubt it. Michael D spent time in college in the States and the UK. Did you? Have you spent time in war torn countries around the world in order to write about them? How in God’s name can you say he spent ‘most of his life in the West of Ireland’?!

My god lad. Stop embarrassing yourself.

Mute Cathal Murphy
    Favourite Cathal Murphy
    Feb 11th 2019, 6:50 PM

@Declan Edward: oh, ok, sorry, we didn’t realise. It’s ok, everyone, he’s over-educated.

Sorry Declan, we should have realised earlier. It’s just, it wasn’t obvious from your posts…

Mute Whingy McWhingy
    Favourite Whingy McWhingy
    Feb 11th 2019, 7:48 PM

@Declan Edward: over educated maybe, but not very intelligent !

Mute Mary Cahill
    Favourite Mary Cahill
    Feb 11th 2019, 8:42 PM

@Darius Guppy:
    Another person who can’t understand what Michael D is saying. Obviously over-educated.

Mute Donal Carey
    Favourite Donal Carey
    Feb 11th 2019, 9:41 AM

This is another complete waste of Government funds this man cries and preaches everyday about the injustices done to people all over the world while he lives in a mansion in the Phoenix Park and buys properties all over the west of Ireland. Another waste of a Million a year.

Mute BAAB
    Favourite BAAB
    Feb 11th 2019, 9:04 AM

Yet again is Mickey D gone over to eat the Queen out
    of house and home????.

Mute PATO DUNNE
    Favourite PATO DUNNE
    Feb 11th 2019, 9:06 AM

@BAAB: that just sounds so wrong on so many levels.

Feb 11th 2019, 9:19 AM

The gov are sending mickey d over to england because leos dogged stance and damaging public profile with the EU is putting a strain on Ireland’s relationship with the UK, and leos after forgetting that we still need to do a lot of business with the UK after brexit.

Mute T Beckett is back
    Favourite T Beckett is back
    Feb 11th 2019, 9:23 AM

@Adrian:

It’s not Leo’s stance, the British are trying to break the terms of their legal agreement with the EU.

It’s not our fault they can’t run their own country.

Mute Paul Furey
    Favourite Paul Furey
    Feb 11th 2019, 10:00 AM

@Adrian: How are we damaging anything with the UK? Do you think it’s because we haven’t set up a border for them on this island? While a third of all exports go to the UK it’s not as high a percentage as it always was. And it already dropped in 2018 due to Brexit. And if all things continue as they are with the UK led Brexit, there will be no or else heavily tarrifed trade anyway between us and them.

So hard luck with this Leo whinge.

Mute Darius Guppy
    Favourite Darius Guppy
    Feb 11th 2019, 4:14 PM

@T Beckett is back: there is no legal agreement with the EU, none. The WA was not agreed by the British Parliament and therefore there was no agreement. The EU and the Idrissa government were all too aware that there was no agreement until parliament voted it through.

If there are legally binding agreements, why do the EU not force the British to honour them?

Mute Darius Guppy
    Favourite Darius Guppy
    Feb 11th 2019, 4:28 PM

@Darius Guppy: *Irish government (not Idrissa).

Mute John Flood
    Favourite John Flood
    Feb 11th 2019, 10:22 AM

Really, does he need to travel so much? And I doubt he brings in any dosh by visiting England…

Mute Whingy McWhingy
    Feb 11th 2019, 7:50 PM

@John Flood: you have a very limited understanding of how commerce works I would suggest

Mute Jessie Ginger
    Favourite Jessie Ginger
    Feb 12th 2019, 11:07 AM

@John Flood: Do you only ever put a monetary value on something?

Mute Josh Hanners
    Favourite Josh Hanners
    Feb 11th 2019, 1:52 PM

This “President of the People” voted in a tax amnesty forgiving tax evaders all monies due, at a time when PAYE workers were paying 65% tax on their earnings.
    He can waffle all he likes but it’s deeds that count, not words.

Mute Whingy McWhingy
    Feb 11th 2019, 7:51 PM

@Josh Hanners: shush now, if you stop talking people may forget how limited your comments are, shushhhhh

Mute Josh Hanners
    Favourite Josh Hanners
    Feb 11th 2019, 10:15 PM

@Whingy McWhingy: What a totally inane comment.

Mute thejamer
    Favourite thejamer
    Feb 11th 2019, 10:07 AM

He will go to England to meet with members of the royal family but couldn’t be bothered to attend the commemoration at Soloheadbeg.

Mute Mary Cahill
    Favourite Mary Cahill
    Feb 11th 2019, 11:26 AM

@thejamer:
    You obviously don’t understand why he refused to go to Soloheadbeg.

Mute Brian Moss
    Favourite Brian Moss
    Feb 11th 2019, 9:28 AM

Jasus Don’t let Phillip take him on a ‘little spot of driving’

Mute Coco86
    Favourite Coco86
    Feb 11th 2019, 8:54 PM

@Brian Moss: Imagine Michael D in the passenger seat with you.

Mute Gowon Geter
    Favourite Gowon Geter
    Feb 11th 2019, 4:23 PM

Waffle waffle and more waffle, would rather see some action from Mickey D than waffle.

Mute Mary Cahill
    Favourite Mary Cahill
    Feb 11th 2019, 8:44 PM

@Gowon Geter:
    You obviously don’t know the constitutional powers of an Irish president.

Mute T Beckett is back
    Favourite T Beckett is back
    Feb 11th 2019, 9:14 AM

Tell them to stay away from the border counties Mickey, or we bring back the Columns.

Mute Marcus Massey
    Favourite Marcus Massey
    Feb 11th 2019, 12:13 PM

Yvonne Mosquito????? Brilliant name!

Mute Josh Hanners
    Favourite Josh Hanners
    Feb 11th 2019, 3:13 PM

@Marcus Massey: Biting personality?

Mute Bryan Kelly
    Favourite Bryan Kelly
    Feb 11th 2019, 4:38 PM

There’s some more money could go to nurses, teachers, soldiers and Gards.

Feb 11th 2019, 4:21 PM

Good for him! How much is the hotel costing?

Mute Jimmy Journalnose
    Favourite Jimmy Journalnose
    Feb 11th 2019, 6:34 PM

Little Hobbit

Mute Whingy McWhingy
    Feb 11th 2019, 7:52 PM

@Jimmy Journalnose: did that take you long to think up?

Mute Mary Cahill
    Favourite Mary Cahill
    Feb 11th 2019, 8:46 PM

@Jimmy Journalnose: A really erudite comment.

Mute John Mc Donagh
    Favourite John Mc Donagh
    Feb 11th 2019, 6:47 PM

I don’t like the man much but I admire his decision to show empathy with the poor people who were savagely butchered in our name in one of the I.R.A’s many shameful atrocities..

Mute Teresa Ryan
    Favourite Teresa Ryan
    Feb 11th 2019, 10:55 PM

@John Mc Donagh: Has he ever attended the commemorations for the Dublin and Monaghan bombings. They too were savagely butchered by members of the crown forces. It was the worst atrocity of the Troubles.

But hey ho, they were only Irish people.

Mute John Mc Donagh
    Favourite John Mc Donagh
    Feb 11th 2019, 11:27 PM

@Teresa Ryan:——And so that atrocity by the Glenane gang of Loyalist murderers justifies all the similar butchery by the I.R.A???

Mute pat seery
    Favourite pat seery
    Feb 11th 2019, 6:55 PM

Winner did he go by boat

Mute Woods PJ
    Favourite Woods PJ
    Feb 12th 2019, 5:21 AM

Actually embarrassed & now turn sound to mute when i see this yoke on representing our country.Hobbit,Frodo alongside that accent omg cringe!