You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.
JEAN NIDETCH (91), a woman whose own weight battles led her to found the global corporate juggernaut Weight Watchers, has died.
Born in Brooklyn, New York, in October 1923, Nidetch tried and failed throughout her early life to slim down.
Years of binge-eating and fad diets left her weighing more than 200 pounds (90 kilos) before her 40th birthday.
Creating a system
Nidetch came up with a system in which she periodically met with a group of her friends who were also interested in losing weight, charting their progress and offering encouragement at their regular check-ins.
The approach worked like a charm for Nidetch, who ended up shedding 72 pounds (33 kilos).
She founded Weight Watchers in 1963, which focused on losing weight sensibly and gradually, with the support of others also trying to do the same — a system which quickly gained popularity throughout the United States and beyond.
AP / Press Association Images
AP / Press Association Images / Press Association Images
Today, the company she founded in her New York home is the world’s most successful commercial provider of weight management services, with an expansive network of company and franchise-owned operations and products, and millions of dedicated adherents around the globe.
“Jean was an inspiration and an innovator who leaves behind a legacy and program that has positively impacted the health and well-being of millions of people around the world,” said Jim Chambers, the company’s current president and CEO.
It is our honour and responsibility to carry on her legacy to help more people to transform their lives.
The company said Nidetch died at her home in Parkland, Florida, and is survived by a son, David Nidetch and three grandchildren.
Its very simple, the more these guys strike, the less people bother to travel with them and the more money Aer Lingus loses. This transforms into more job losses, so essentially the staff are now ensuring that they all completely lose thier jobs. Sack them all and offer the jobs to people who are unemployed and looking for work. Problem solved.
The staff are now ensuring they all completely lose their jobs ? The more morons think like that the happier the likes of Michael o Leary will be treating staff ( humans, people ) the same way they’d treat a stapler or a pen. Why don’t people actually strive to have better working conditions instead of wanting to drag all workers down to the level they obviously have to endure.
Why not go for a 5:2 roster so with some guarantee of weekends off? Why would the public support a cause not prepared to work a 5 day week? I say that as a customer. One who now needs to reconsider to rebook to FR. Maybe there is a case but Impact haven’t landed any blows yet. Of course the public has no input but they are the customers.
Also I thought pilots has bought a 10 to 15% holding in AL? Why would they support such losses so?
Two more days will practically wipe out this year’s profit. When you reach that point it’s win at all costs with a guarantee it won’t happen again.
Business Question: I presume that part of an Aer Lingus employee’s contract and T&C’s upon commencing employment with the airline is that they will be in a Trade Union etc etc. Can Senior Management at Aer Lingus just pull the plug on these perks / remove association with Trade Unions (I’m guessing not…) or do all current Employee’s contracts state ‘this & that’ about Union membership…. It would be great if Senior Management could but ….. Thanks
How is it a moronic comment? Staff strike, services stop, customers angry and instead book with another airline. Aer Lingus lose so much business they will be forced to put up prices, more people then switch to a different airline and Aer Lingus goes bust. Then all their jobs are gone. Its a simple process and what will happen. If you dont like your handy job where you get a decent wage and perks as well as seeing different parts of the world then get a new one. Im sure when these people appiled for the job knew it wasnt a 9 to 5. Orange trolly dollys is all they are and now the public hate them.
Aer lingus cabin crew are greedy ,selfish and couldn’t give a toss about families who have scrimped and saved every penny to go on a holiday . They want the same roster as pilots ?? But just one thing…there not pilots…being a pilot is a tad more stressful than serving tea !!!
Look over there at the cabin crew. They’re not pilots. (Just a little spelling lesson for you, as you obviously missed that class whilst doing foundation level English).
Pg
I agree , years ago I worked as a temporary baggage handler at Dublin Airport.
I enjoyed the job ,and applied for a full time position, I asked what the chances were to a permanent handler , his response was ( while smiling ) ‘Not a chance “Pal”‘ , I said ‘why not ‘ he said ‘ your not- yer not “in-there” , ya know! Yer not one of the gang, no temporary fellas ever get hired, ya have ta be in the “know” ya know whar I mean’?
They generally treated temporary employees like a second class serf , not the management- but by the “privileged” permanent union members, I over heard them scoffing critically about the temporary seasonal workers, and on another occasion heard one of them say … ‘ phuck’n deadly isn’t it, ….#%^+= grand fer thrown a few bags on to a plane, then another throws in ‘ an free holidays too’.
this was a long time ago, I wonder if anything has changed.
I travel every second week for work, I have 3 flight booked into Europe so far. I got screwed last Friday coming back from San Fran , took me all sorts to get home, next trip is 18th June. I couldn’t believe it was another strike day!
As a loyal,aerlingus traveller I am sick of it. Yes good working conditions, but strike? WTF .
Get back to the table!
Next week I am changing all my trips to avoid aer lingus , we have many choices as business travellers and this time I for one A&E going to use them!
EI is a private company. It’s no longer in the power of the minister to do anything about it. It was privatised. A minority state shareholding is just that – a minority stake. He has no power to do anything much. Maybe we should have thought about that when we privatised what could considered a vital part of our transport infrastructure.
I would say with the treat of more industrial action that the talks will ramp up and an agreement will be in place a day or two before any more strikes, each side has far to much to lose at this stage, both sides are just playing hard ball at the moment,
Cabin crew always thought themselves a tad special, I think they are doing themselves no favours by this course of action. The company should be more robust in their dealings with the union, its unskilled work and they should be thankful for their jobs when others are loosing theirs.
I disagree that it’s unskilled work. For the most past, the passengers on a flight only sees a cabin crew member offering food/drinks etc. What they don’t see is the regular training involved and required by the regulatory authority (I.A.A). Training that is carried out on a repeated basis throughout the crew member’s working life. So just imagine for a moment you are on a flight and a fire breaks out, because some gombeen decided to have a cigarette in the toilet area, put the not fully extinguished cigarette into the bin, where it set fire to the disposed tissues. Who do YOU think is going to attempt to put out the fire? Is it YOU? Are you trained regarding the position of the fire extinguishers on board an aircraft, are you trained in how to approach a suspected fire in an enclosed area? When you do open the toilet door and smoke starts billowing out, how are YOU planning to breath, if indeed you are the one putting yourself forward to fight the fire…. (Smoke does make breathing rather difficult, just in case you weren’t aware). What about if the battery in your laptop/iPad/iPhone or mother mobile device catches fire… Who is going to attend to that, you now have a highly reactionary fire in a metal tube containing several hundred people flying at 38,000 feet, are YOU going to be the one to extinguish it…. do you even know how to extinguish a fire caused by a lithium battery…. Don’t be depending on the cabin crew, sure they will be far too busy serving tea and coffee….. (After all, it’s unskilled work according to your good self). Figured it out yet… Let’s throw this one at you…. You are half way across the Atlantic en-route to the USA, your elderly relative who is accompanying you on the flight, suffers a heart attack or cardiac arrest……. Who’s going to ensure your relative survives..? (remember you are out over the Atlantic ocean, hours from land and any chance of reaching a hospital. Have you been trained in the use of a defibrillator…. Again, according to your wise words, the cabin crew will at this stage probably just be serving the main meal to the hungry passengers, so again, they will be far too busy to deal with medical cases, and after all they are “Apparently” unskilled workers. They are medically qualified in first aid, fire fighters, they will ensure you evacuate safely in an emergency. Unskilled work… Indeed. Educate yourself a little, it’s as far from unskilled work as you are at knowing how to spell..
I’d correct you’re own spelling first ,but perhaps you’re grammatical composition needs an even closer examination before you press send. I never mentioned serving tea by the way !
“you’re”….. Really? Please tell us you’re mis-spelling that intentionally. Pay attention now…. “You’re driving to your house”. There is a difference you know, or do you?
No matter what job you go into, there is always job specific training, whether its how to use the photocopier, till, manual handling, health and safety. This doesn’t mean its a skilled job.I think the skilled people are the ones flying the plane, especially after the thousands of hours training etc. And I find it difficult to believe that they give a fcuk about the itchy bitchy flight attendents ‘issues’ as there are plenty of people on our Island to replace cabin crew who simply do not like the work they signed up for. Also, constant training in a job is normal, doesn’t make it a skilled profession.
Medically qualified in first aid. As opposed to just being qualified. You seem to be using alot of filler words. Is this just more AL guff? I hope you realise that regular joes can get 1st aid training. In every large store in the country there are people trained in the use of defibrillators. Cabin crew have this terribly scewed view of themselves altogether it seems. Maybe if yee stepped off the pedestal, you might realise that while you work in the sky it doesn’t make you any more special than the workers anywhere else. As I have said before – plenty of people there to replace ye, crying out for jobs, while the unions protect the lazy who want more for less
Elizabeth,does that therefore invalidate there grievances due to their lack of ‘skill’.if so I think we should just rip up employment law and rewrite again so as to make it relevant to those who are ‘skilled’ and educated.
Having spoken to a number of pilots over the years I can honestly say most wouldn’t trade places with cabin crew even for a day.some pilots were in attendance on the day of the last stike in solidarity.they have also been in dispute with the airline due to similar erratic roasters so understand fully what cabin crew are going through because they see it on a day to day basis
Lack of skill doesn’t invalidate anyones grief or hardship. It was a response to OMG who doesn’t seem to consider that her/his ongoing training, specific to the job they do, is not a practise exclusive to cabin crews of any airline. This goes across the board in any occupation from agriculture, health and beauty, industrial medical, transport, technical and services industries. This OMG person also has left some distasteful comments regarding levels of English taken in secondary school, which doesn’t seem to be of any relevance, or help their cause, it just shows the rest of the people reading here the calibre of what we’ll be seeing more of in the coming weeks: self important whingers who are two feet above the rest of us. If everyone who is unhappy with their work conditions did what AL are doing the country would come to a standstill. Work is work, fun is fun.
Majority don’t help their cause. Maybe they’d have more sympathy if their approach was different. They are provoking anger with their strike actions. If I was part of the CC I’d be mortified that OMG was let loose on the internet representing their noble cause. I however am not representing any organisation, I’m not part of a strike process, nevermind a heavily publiscised one, so I’m only answering to myself, and I’m quite comfortable with my itchy bitchy comment.
You may also say that OMG is bot representing anyone – but they are. In an unofficial capacity they are on the internet trying to fight a corner by picking on people’s level of English (more than once) and ongoing training and their rosters. That leaves people with a taste of contempt towards them, and in the end they’ll have noone to blame but themselves
Do you know a majority of cabin crew personally to make such pajorative statements.
Strikes by there nature are provocative and especially if the general public are effected by it,which is understandable.but this action was not taken lightly and came after a prolonged period in which management at the airline refused to deal with issues that have arisen.
You say you are not representing anybody but you certainly seem to have taken on the mantel of spokesperson for the general public
You moronic idiots. Support your fellow workers and stop systematically stripping people’s rights as worker’s. Typically Irish, we need to take a leaf out of the French people’s book and support our unions.
I for one definitely don’t support them, they want to be treated the same as pilots and have the same time off for pushing a trolley and serving tea for a few hours it’s ridiculous, people working in cafés work a hell of a lot harder with less time off, pay and perks for the whole family on top of that
So what you are proposing is that we burn truckloads of sheep, riot, loot, blockade ports, fuel refineries and transport links so as to bring the nation to a halt. That will cost hundreds of millions and put thousands of jobs in jeopardy so that a few hundred can air their grievances. If they don’t like their conditions they know where the door is unless of course they are being forced to work.
Agree totally. Next time they walk out leave them out. Plenty of young people working as waitresses would be delighted to double their salary to ply their trade in the air
@Gerbreen I understand they have a limit aswell but the majority of AL flights are to Europe so around 5 hours on the plane give or take plus the cabin crews would be changed around for any of the long haul flights so it’s only the odd time that they’d have to work longer hours. At the end of the day if I was flying within Europe and there was no cabin crew personal I would be slightly hungry getting off that’s about it. They aren’t essential, if it was the nurses, doctors, guards or any other front line service personal striking to improve conditions I’d be behind them 100% but cabin crew have it easy when you look at the bigger picture and they want it even easier.
@joe yeah they’re highly trained with 5 weeks of training in a classroom, if you think that’s highly trained you must think anybody who’s spent 6 months training is a genius and a master at their chosen profession cop on would you
Stephen,you really haven’t got a clue what you are talking about.please do some research and arm yourself with factual knowledge on exactly what a working week is like for cabin crew doing 50+ hours.
I hope for your sake you are in a front line position in your chosen career/profession because by your reasoning you are just as worthless as cabin crew
If these idiots strike again they’ll deserve the consequences! 90% of the public are against the strike! Moran bully unions using the bully tactics when there is a labour court out there to help sort things out.
I work shift work senior managers (flying the plane) work day shifts …why dont i just strike as well so i can have equal terms! Utter rubish
About time people are standing up for themselves( I will not be a sheep anymore) as a mother first then a cabin crew member, I should have a work life balance.
People need to get the facts right and stop as usual reading one sided media posts.
Won’t be a sheep? Your company has been fleecing the Irish people for years. But there is a choice now. AL not even the biggest airline in Dublin anymore.
Ask youself why.
If you want public support – tell us why. Back it up your facts. Your union obviously can’t.
@johnny reynolds the Crew are a million miles from waiter/waitressess, they are as I’ve stated elsewhere on this page highly trained in safety and to deal with medical emergencies. A waiter down the local pub/restaurant wouldn’t be proficient on these matters
it’s far from basic, it’s a lot more in depth than that bear in mind that they are sometimes upto 30mins or even an hour away from an airport if over the Atlantic. They are trained to liase with a doctor over the phone for example. Can they all these people around Ireland use a defibrilator for example?
Defibrilators located in public places can be used by anyone that can read or listen to instruction from the machine itself. They don’t require specialist training.
I’m lost, I thought she wanted more of a challenge why would she continue flying all the time if this was the case.doesnt make sense.
Did your wife ever work 50+ hours while flying or did her health problems cause her to leave before these new roasters came in.
Best of luck to cabin crew, all day want is good fair roster , and 3 years wait for it , in mean time the top management are paid far to much, not word said about this .
I always find the aer lingus staff look down their noses at you. Everything is an inconvience for them. Now they have shown what they really are. Fake tanned over paid has been trolley dollies.
Yes Donal i did, and over the past 9 years I don’t think I actually worked one full roster without multiple changes that would send anyone mad.
Maybe your unaware this dispute is going on three years and only come to a strike now. Not what cabin crew wanted at all.
Amanda try working for Dunnes, Tescos or any other shop that pays a lot less then Aer Lingus and you will find that the roster changes from week to week or even day to day. Many people working in restaurants and bars don’t know from one day to the next if they are working or for how long. Try sales reping on the road and get paid a standard salary while working 60+ hour weeks which I used to do. I didn’t know if I was going to be home every night or away all week. Try being self employed where your roster is thrown out the window because you are constantly working 24/7 as no-one else will pay into your pension, life insurance, health insurance or anything else.
No one is forcing you to work as far as I know, so if you are so pissed off with the conditions why not leave and get another job?
That’s the union line also Amanda albeit a bit more dramatic. Little factual evidence. That’s one of the reasons you have little public support I suspect.
Rosters change all the time, it’s the nature of the beast unfortunately, would have still taught people would be happy with a job that is fairly well paid, people talk about France and the unions, well France has lost a lot of their big business because of unions and strikes. I’m all for workers rights but to be fair your union stuck it’s two fingers up at the traveling public last week so why expect people to understand
I was on a series of flight over the past few days as a passenger, (with Aer Lingus), and not one passenger disputed the strike, in fact they were all in agreement with the crew on those flights and wished them good luck.
OMG looking at your twitter page I was just wondering whether
1 You are working as a cabin crew member
2 You were traveling on a heavily discounted standby flight that used to be a perk of the job (€150 return to the US i believe) before ye threw that away.
3 If “they were all in agreement” does that mean that the cabin crew went around to all the passengers and asked their opinion?
4 Did the cabin crew also ask the 40,000 or so passengers who’s flights were canceled as well and if so what was the customers reaction?
No I am not cabin crew with Aer Lingus, I was a fully paid up passenger. All I am stating is that all the passengers I saw interacting with the cabin crew were in favour of what the cabin crew were fighting for. When I stated that “They were all in agreement”, I didn’t mean to imply every passenger on board, just those that I saw talking to cabin crew. I would have thought that that would have being easily deduced from my statement, obviously not everybody has that ability to deduce the obvious. (Oh and just so you are aware, the words are spelled “Cancelled”, “Travelling”, “Whose” and “Customer’s”. You managed to spell my username correctly though, so I still have fate in the human race:) I know it was probably a little difficult for you but you did well, give yourself a pat on the back. (We’ll ignore your basic spelling mistakes in your reply to Amanda further up the page.. you do realise there are adult education classes available nowadays)?
OMG are you aware that there is a spell check option in posting on the Journal that allows for the use of either traveled (US) or travelled (UK) depending on your spell check options? I know that this is probably a revelation to you and that you must now be feeling like an idiot for sarcastically putting down people for their spelling when in fact their spelling was right all along based on their settings.
As for things being obvious, when you state “not one passenger disputed the strike, in fact they were all in agreement with the crew” it would lead any reasonable person ( in the absence of you stating how many people the crew were talking to) to assume that all 300 or so people on the plane were involved in this great show of solidarity! I do commend you on your lip reading skills though seeing as you got all of this information from people ” that I saw talking to cabin crew”. It must be hard reading the lips of other people through the back of their head or even at the other end of the plane but hey, it must be a great skill to have.
Jaysus Brian I’d say you checked that post several times before you put it up. Well said though. It should not be assumed that we have all had an equal education on this forum, but it should be expected that we all have the equal right to comment irrespective of the odd spelling faux pas.
So is your argument that just because the conditions in one industry are shite, they should be shite everywhere? Is that what you’re saying? That’s a silly argument
There is a big problem with the rosters people don’t strike for nothing. I support them & hope it is resolved soon. Ordinary workers deserve respect. I hope the management enjoy their bonuses supported by Ryanair & the government
Stick to your guns aer lingus workers, ignore all the idiotic comments on here, stand up for your terms and conditions, people who complain on here have no backbone and must let their bosses treat them like shite.
Was on an AL flight to Paris a couple of years ago. A young chap on his first ever flight panicked and started freaking out. The stewardesses moved the chap next to him, and one of them sat beside him for the whole flight, calming him down and reassuring him, thereby also relaxing all the passengers around him too. Brilliant work. The Ryanair standard response to the same situation is to have the passenger arrested for air rage.
I can categorically state that the following statement in the above article is completely untrue ” despite claims from Aer Lingus that it was willing to continue negotiations.” They wont listen to the alternative roster plans and refused to have a meeting to discuss why they are willing to remain with a less cost effective roster and refuse to a roster that would both save money and have a happy workforce.
“Completely untrue”…… Just like Declan Kearney stating last week that cabin crew were looking for an extra 32 days off per year whilst being fully paid for those days. Absolute nonsense, and his statement showed his true colours. I note on a short video report on RTE news today that he also states “We (the management) are at a loss to understand…….” That’s exactly what happens when managers acquire the position on no other basis other than they applied for the job, as is the case with the vast majority of so called “Managers” in Aer Lingus. This is proven time and again with the long running IR issues throughout the company. The managers have for the most part no management training, and are literally “Winging it”, (Pardon the pun). “……….at a loss to understand …”. That sure does sum up Aer Lingus management.
Either way … the union could produce stats rather than stories. They haven’t. Thet can’t.
Anyway I suppose I just to run the risk and make alternative arrangements at my own cost if my flights fall foul of the dispute. Let’s see. I won’t wish ye good luck.
So most people comments are your being paid crap and you have to work crap shifts for a company that’s makes a lot of profit, deal with it. Makes a lot sense when it’s not you dealing with it, fair play to then standing up for them selfs and trying to get what they are due. If people stood together instead of always backing the company we would all be paid much better.
I support the Cabin Crew 100%, but they are now being mislead by their union. Nowhere on the ballot paper did it mention 5+3. What the crew wanted was a fair roster with a few issues addressed which was split days off and a reduced limit on how much the company can change them on a daily basis. The company wouldn’t negotiate for 3 years which lead to frustration and escalation.
Mueller sent out an email to staff this evening in which he seemed to now want to work with staff to address these issues. When they addressed the unions demand for 5+3 would interfere with the current computer system for rosters which allows specific requests which average at around 60% he said the union changed course completely.
I completely supported the first strike which got the companys attention and made them wake up. But the union need to drop the 5+3 demand and instead work with the company to improve the current imbalanced system and to remedy the problems that exist namely the split days and the 4 hours a day the company can add as soon as staff check in.
In the email I do think Mueller was sincere and I hope the crew take notice and get their union to refocus what they are actually looking for.
let the company go bankrupt all contracts gone. Start from the beginning, they are still valuable they can sell it without the staff just pay em off. Start it all new, no perks just general stuff i guarantee they will be better than Ryan air because they have better routes and will start making money better than before but on a clean slate. Everyone will have to re apply if they want their jobs and then we will see what happens. the UNIONS and the company need to get it together they cant have everything their own way its a company and they have a responsibility to their shareholders and the general public of this island.
To all Aer lingus cabin crew – your company is on the brink of moving your jobs to America. Your union is powerless to stop this. You cannot hold the public ransom by striking. Your union could ask the labour court to address your working conditions. Times have changed in your industry. Being cabin crew staff across the world has changed. Your roster is no different to that of the drivers in Dublin bus and why should it be? If Aer Lingus move operations to the US, you will find it near impossible to find a similar job here. Future employers will refuse troublesome staff.
Thomas,aer lingus have no intentions of opening a base in America,this was tried a few years ago and failed.
The airline has certainly changed over the years and Aer Lingus cabin have more than changed with it,and under Green Fields cost saving measures cabin crew shouldered their responsibilitys for the survival of the airline.new roasters were introduced which over the years have become more and more erratic and physically unmanageable,the company has been aware of these issues for a number of years but chose to play brinkmanship on the issues.
The question has to be asked why management have left this situation develop.
As for the job being the same as a bus driver,cabin crew is a completely different job.
Trev, I’m simply pointing out that cabin crew rosters are not unusual. Yes driving a bus is not like what cabin crews do. However 100% of bus drivers do shift work. They have only 2 weekend off in a 6 week roster. 70% are spare drivers and work day to day not knowing their next days working hours will be until 3pm the day before. The only thing their sure of is that they must have 10hr rest before next shift. Your union are calling the companies bluff. Given the loss of millions of euros that strike causes It would be foolish to think Aer Lingus management will cave in when they know by moving to a US base they can save the airline and gain public support.
About three or four times a year, I travel to and from Dublin to visit with family and friends. About four years ago, I was on an AerLingus flight coming from Dublin. On this flight, there was aan who was given several “free” drinks from the flight attendant. While the meal was being served, he began to throw food (from his mouth) onto other passengers. When myself and other passengers brought this to the attention of the flight attendant, her sole response was as she gathered the empties: “Well, let’s get rid of the evidence.” By her actions, it was quite apparent that this passenger was an acquaintance of hers. I had written a letter to AerLingus telling them about what happened only to receive a form letter staring that they hope to see me on a future AerLingus flight. Needless to say, they won’t be! This once proud airline has lost a once loyal customer. This current job action as the summer travel season approaches needless to say more customers will be lost.
Congratulations to the Aer Lingus staff for standing up for your rights and refusing to be bullied by the massively paid Aer Lingus CEO and his henchmen.
You have provided an excellent quality of service over the years but the new management spurred on by the Fine Gael jackboot fascists ( and one dunces on here of course) would have you work for a loaf of bread a week and tell you that you are lucky to have a job !
Those of us who respect workers and abhor worker exploitation support you and wish you every success.
As a trained defibrillator user myself, I can confirm that such devices are so user friendly, to the extent that you basically follow instructions verbatim from a recorded message. Though of course, I can only imagine on how I’d react if and when called upon.
I suspect this ‘woe betide’ attitude of some air stewards is not going to wash PR wise. Striking is a nuclear option that should only be used in exceptional circumstances. A dispute over a roster does not qualify, in my opinion. There’s a great many on the live register who would gladly assume AL cabin crew terms without much deliberation…
Its amazing how many times have minsters come out criticise bankers..Anglos… developers. .business men who pay no tax in this country but give donations to their party.. but come out fairly fast when workers fighting for better conditions.. ps enjoy ur 3 month summer hols ..yours a tax paying worker supporting follow workers
The minister, as a representative of a
Major shareholder in the company, should call bulls**t on the staff and unions. The shares are a state asset and a bunch of glorified waitresses are costing the tax payer millions
The cabin crew should be glad that they have jobs. There are thousands of people unemployed who would be very happy to take over their roles under the new conditions that AL want to operate.
My understanding is that AL need to make these changes for the good of the company so let them get on with it and manage the change.
If the AL cabin crew don’t like the change resign and find another job!
Money Diaries: A laboratory specialist on €70K living in Dublin
42 mins ago
evening fix
Here's what happened today: Sunday
44 mins ago
social welfare changes
If you lose your job and have worked for 5 years you'll get up to €450 a week under new rules
22 hrs ago
Your Cookies. Your Choice.
Cookies help provide our news service while also enabling the advertising needed to fund this work.
We categorise cookies as Necessary, Performance (used to analyse the site performance) and Targeting (used to target advertising which helps us keep this service free).
We and our 161 partners store and access personal data, like browsing data or unique identifiers, on your device. Selecting Accept All enables tracking technologies to support the purposes shown under we and our partners process data to provide. If trackers are disabled, some content and ads you see may not be as relevant to you. You can resurface this menu to change your choices or withdraw consent at any time by clicking the Cookie Preferences link on the bottom of the webpage .Your choices will have effect within our Website. For more details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
We and our vendors process data for the following purposes:
Use precise geolocation data. Actively scan device characteristics for identification. Store and/or access information on a device. Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development.
Cookies Preference Centre
We process your data to deliver content or advertisements and measure the delivery of such content or advertisements to extract insights about our website. We share this information with our partners on the basis of consent. You may exercise your right to consent, based on a specific purpose below or at a partner level in the link under each purpose. Some vendors may process your data based on their legitimate interests, which does not require your consent. You cannot object to tracking technologies placed to ensure security, prevent fraud, fix errors, or deliver and present advertising and content, and precise geolocation data and active scanning of device characteristics for identification may be used to support this purpose. This exception does not apply to targeted advertising. These choices will be signaled to our vendors participating in the Transparency and Consent Framework.
Manage Consent Preferences
Necessary Cookies
Always Active
These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems. They are usually only set in response to actions made by you which amount to a request for services, such as setting your privacy preferences, logging in or filling in forms. You can set your browser to block or alert you about these cookies, but some parts of the site will not then work.
Targeting Cookies
These cookies may be set through our site by our advertising partners. They may be used by those companies to build a profile of your interests and show you relevant adverts on other sites. They do not store directly personal information, but are based on uniquely identifying your browser and internet device. If you do not allow these cookies, you will experience less targeted advertising.
Functional Cookies
These cookies enable the website to provide enhanced functionality and personalisation. They may be set by us or by third party providers whose services we have added to our pages. If you do not allow these cookies then these services may not function properly.
Performance Cookies
These cookies allow us to count visits and traffic sources so we can measure and improve the performance of our site. They help us to know which pages are the most and least popular and see how visitors move around the site. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous. If you do not allow these cookies we will not be able to monitor our performance.
Store and/or access information on a device 110 partners can use this purpose
Cookies, device or similar online identifiers (e.g. login-based identifiers, randomly assigned identifiers, network based identifiers) together with other information (e.g. browser type and information, language, screen size, supported technologies etc.) can be stored or read on your device to recognise it each time it connects to an app or to a website, for one or several of the purposes presented here.
Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development 143 partners can use this purpose
Use limited data to select advertising 113 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times an ad is presented to you).
Create profiles for personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (such as forms you submit, content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (for example, information from your previous activity on this service and other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (that might include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present advertising that appears more relevant based on your possible interests by this and other entities.
Use profiles to select personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on your advertising profiles, which can reflect your activity on this service or other websites or apps (like the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects.
Create profiles to personalise content 39 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (for instance, forms you submit, non-advertising content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (such as your previous activity on this service or other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (which might for example include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present content that appears more relevant based on your possible interests, such as by adapting the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find content that matches your interests.
Use profiles to select personalised content 35 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on your content personalisation profiles, which can reflect your activity on this or other services (for instance, the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects. This can for example be used to adapt the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find (non-advertising) content that matches your interests.
Measure advertising performance 134 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which advertising is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine how well an advert has worked for you or other users and whether the goals of the advertising were reached. For instance, whether you saw an ad, whether you clicked on it, whether it led you to buy a product or visit a website, etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of advertising campaigns.
Measure content performance 61 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which content is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine whether the (non-advertising) content e.g. reached its intended audience and matched your interests. For instance, whether you read an article, watch a video, listen to a podcast or look at a product description, how long you spent on this service and the web pages you visit etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of (non-advertising) content that is shown to you.
Understand audiences through statistics or combinations of data from different sources 74 partners can use this purpose
Reports can be generated based on the combination of data sets (like user profiles, statistics, market research, analytics data) regarding your interactions and those of other users with advertising or (non-advertising) content to identify common characteristics (for instance, to determine which target audiences are more receptive to an ad campaign or to certain contents).
Develop and improve services 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service, such as your interaction with ads or content, can be very helpful to improve products and services and to build new products and services based on user interactions, the type of audience, etc. This specific purpose does not include the development or improvement of user profiles and identifiers.
Use limited data to select content 37 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type, or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times a video or an article is presented to you).
Use precise geolocation data 46 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, your precise location (within a radius of less than 500 metres) may be used in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Actively scan device characteristics for identification 27 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, certain characteristics specific to your device might be requested and used to distinguish it from other devices (such as the installed fonts or plugins, the resolution of your screen) in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Ensure security, prevent and detect fraud, and fix errors 92 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Your data can be used to monitor for and prevent unusual and possibly fraudulent activity (for example, regarding advertising, ad clicks by bots), and ensure systems and processes work properly and securely. It can also be used to correct any problems you, the publisher or the advertiser may encounter in the delivery of content and ads and in your interaction with them.
Deliver and present advertising and content 99 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Certain information (like an IP address or device capabilities) is used to ensure the technical compatibility of the content or advertising, and to facilitate the transmission of the content or ad to your device.
Match and combine data from other data sources 72 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Information about your activity on this service may be matched and combined with other information relating to you and originating from various sources (for instance your activity on a separate online service, your use of a loyalty card in-store, or your answers to a survey), in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Link different devices 53 partners can use this feature
Always Active
In support of the purposes explained in this notice, your device might be considered as likely linked to other devices that belong to you or your household (for instance because you are logged in to the same service on both your phone and your computer, or because you may use the same Internet connection on both devices).
Identify devices based on information transmitted automatically 88 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Your device might be distinguished from other devices based on information it automatically sends when accessing the Internet (for instance, the IP address of your Internet connection or the type of browser you are using) in support of the purposes exposed in this notice.
Save and communicate privacy choices 69 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
The choices you make regarding the purposes and entities listed in this notice are saved and made available to those entities in the form of digital signals (such as a string of characters). This is necessary in order to enable both this service and those entities to respect such choices.
have your say