You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

The detective garda was shot dead in his car in Adare, Co Limerick Youtube/RTÉ

20 years on: Family, friends and colleagues gather to remember Jerry McCabe

The detective garda was shot dead by the IRA on this day 20 years ago.

FAMILY AND COLLEAGUES of detective garda Jerry McCabe are gathering in Adare, Co Limerick to mark 20 years since his death at the hands of the IRA.

McCabe was killed when he was shot three times with an AK47 by a number of IRA members who were attempting to rob a post office in the town.

Another detective garda Ben O’Sullivan was injured in the hail of bullets.

This morning, 20 years on from that day, O’Sullivan joined Garda McCabe’s widow Anne McCabe as well as current and former gardaí at a memorial service at Adare Garda Station.

At a commemoration ceremony Ann McCabe, along with her daughter Stacey, laid flowers outside the station.

Members of the force performed a guard of honour and members of the Garda Band played a haunting rendition of the hymn, Abide With Me, which was sung at Det McCabe’s funeral mass.

Chief Superintendent David Sheahan, who laid a wreath, led senior members of the Limerick Garda Division, including Superintendent Derek Smart, Superintendent Tom O’Connor, and Superintendent Jim Ryan, in a minutes silence at 6.55am.

“For me, today is the same as 20 years ago on June 7th,” Ann McCabe said speaking afterwards.

Nothing ever changes, but you learn to live with it and get on with it.

Speaking publicly for the first time since that day, Ann O’Sullivan, wife of retired Detective Garda Ben O’Sullivan, said: “I found it very hard today.”

It brought back every hour of this time twenty years ago. It brought tears.

The killing of Garda McCabe provoked shock around the country 20 years ago, coming four months after the Provisional IRA called off its first ceasefire.

Ms O’Sullivan, who at the time worked as a nurse in the accident and emergency department at Limerick Regional Hospital, said:

I was off work that day and I got a phone call from a colleague of mine…she said I’ve bad news for you.I just got up from bed and went straight out to the hospital, and then I heard all the bad news, that Jerry had passed away and Ben was in Resus.

“You can imagine it was crazy… It was horrendous,” she added.

McCabe’s daughter Stacey, wept as she paid tribute to her late father.

“In the midst of sadness, we pray for thanksgiving for the inspiration and example we received in and through Dad,” she said.

We pray in thanksgiving for the love, light, and laughter he brought to our lives.

An emotional Ben O’Sullivan explained that he and Garda McCabe joined the detective branch on the same day and nearly always “worked as a team”.

“This morning’s ceremony has brought me to my knees really,” he said, adding that the shooting in 1996 was still “crystal clear in my head”.

You’re never expected to forget something like that. You’re not supposed to forget that. You’re supposed to take up the gauntlet and accept that it happened; you cannot turn the clock backwards.

He said he had “come to terms” with “the atrocity that took place this morning 20 years ago”, but “will never forget what happened”.

Four men were convicted of the manslaughter of McCabe, they are: Jeremiah Sheehy, Michael O’Neill, Kevin Walsh and Pearse McAuley.

All four were subsequently released after serving their sentence with McAuley last year jailed again for 12 years following a violent assault on his wife in which she was left with 13 stab wounds.

Speaking in the Dail in 2013, Sinn Féin leader Gerry Adams issued an apology on behalf of the republican movement for the death of Gerry McCabe and other Irish security forces who died during the Northern Ireland conflict.

- With reporting from David Raleigh. 

Read: Adams: ‘An awful lot of us might have to say we’re sorry for a whole lot of things’ >

Read: McGuinness says comments over garda killings were ‘absolutely wrong’ >

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

138 Comments
    Mute Dermot Fennelly
    Favourite Dermot Fennelly
    Jan 6th 2014, 8:23 PM

That’s some hole

Mute John O'Neill
    Favourite John O'Neill
    Jan 6th 2014, 11:45 PM

Kick in the hole for Tramore…

Mute GatheringYourMoney13
    Favourite GatheringYourMoney13
    Jan 7th 2014, 12:51 AM

Good old Irish built roads.
    A thin layer of tarmac laid on base of quicksand.

Mute Peace for All
    Favourite Peace for All
    Jan 7th 2014, 1:41 AM

€250 million in Government funding sought by TD Michael Healy Rae to repair it.

Mute David O Connor
    Favourite David O Connor
    Jan 7th 2014, 1:54 AM

No way…hes photoshopped into it..perspective is all wrong…and there isnt any footprints on his way in…fake (i think).

Mute Jean Paul Valley
    Favourite Jean Paul Valley
    Jan 7th 2014, 2:25 AM

Holy Broken Road Batman!

Mute Daniel Wilson
    Favourite Daniel Wilson
    Jan 7th 2014, 8:26 AM

Yeah looks pretty shopped

Mute Paudie Carew
    Favourite Paudie Carew
    Jan 7th 2014, 11:03 AM

Don’t think it is as you can see light coming from the bottom, he prob went in from the bottom of the hole, beach side. There would be no footprints in that case.

Mute Shannon O'Mahony
    Favourite Shannon O'Mahony
    Jan 7th 2014, 1:43 PM

Its not shopped. Thats my home town.

Mute pZTahAXy
    Favourite pZTahAXy
    Jan 7th 2014, 5:49 PM

Yep. In comparison to the clear car parking lines. Unless it’s a magic hole. I’d be on for that.

Mute Philip Gleeson
    Favourite Philip Gleeson
    Jan 6th 2014, 8:25 PM

That’s nuts. We turned the car in that exact spot last night. I must have put on a few pounds over Christmas!

Mute Paul FitzGerald
    Favourite Paul FitzGerald
    Jan 6th 2014, 8:28 PM

Look at that skim layer of tarmac. Cowboy builders.

Mute Chris McShortall
    Favourite Chris McShortall
    Jan 7th 2014, 8:03 AM

Cowboys Ted! They’re a bunch of cowboys!

Mute Seamus Dooley
    Favourite Seamus Dooley
    Jan 6th 2014, 8:24 PM

They should call that one Kim Khardashian!

Mute Scottyyyyyy
    Favourite Scottyyyyyy
    Jan 6th 2014, 8:34 PM

That’s a horrible thing to say about the hole

Mute larry bird
    Favourite larry bird
    Jan 6th 2014, 8:52 PM

Terrible thing to say about a hole indeed

Mute Maggie
    Favourite Maggie
    Jan 6th 2014, 9:18 PM

She always gets her hole …

Mute larry bird
    Favourite larry bird
    Jan 6th 2014, 10:06 PM

Maggie act like a lady

Mute Sarah Quinn
    Favourite Sarah Quinn
    Jan 6th 2014, 11:58 PM

Good god are you stuck for words? You wouldn’t say that if you had the pleasure of her company tonight… She’s a very attractive woman regardless of size. And she’s after having a baby! My god, how shallow can you get…

Mute Mitch Connor
    Favourite Mitch Connor
    Jan 7th 2014, 12:10 AM

She’s a hobbit though.

Mute Sarah Quinn
    Favourite Sarah Quinn
    Jan 7th 2014, 12:24 AM

A hobbit? Hairy feet? Haha never heard that one before.

Mute THE VOICE
    Favourite THE VOICE
    Jan 6th 2014, 8:49 PM

Is there anything worse than when you get sand in your hole???…………

Mute Robert Allen
    Favourite Robert Allen
    Jan 6th 2014, 8:54 PM

It’s bye, bye if that collapses pal

Mute Vincent Bickerstaffe
    Favourite Vincent Bickerstaffe
    Jan 6th 2014, 9:06 PM

Should be upgraded to a class three like the holy stone

Mute Declan Murphy
    Favourite Declan Murphy
    Jan 6th 2014, 9:23 PM

it is not wise to stand in such a pit, as it may collapse and kill you. It is not safe.

Mute Ballybunion
    Favourite Ballybunion
    Jan 6th 2014, 8:39 PM

Lots of damage done here in Ballybunion, but don’t worry, it’ll be all fixed for the summer! Glad nothing happened to when he was in the hole-he’s the actor from the Kilmeaden ads so need to keep him alive.

Mute Ballybunion
    Favourite Ballybunion
    Jan 6th 2014, 8:42 PM

Meant to say “glad nothing happened to Richard!”

Mute Peter McGlynn
    Favourite Peter McGlynn
    Jan 6th 2014, 8:57 PM

Bundoran is alright jack.

Mute Aileen C
    Favourite Aileen C
    Jan 10th 2014, 12:33 AM

hope all is well. Love Ballyb, go there every summer :)

Mute Keetabix
    Favourite Keetabix
    Jan 6th 2014, 8:28 PM

Kerry county council have just put an order in for 1000 packets of jammy dodgers in preparation to fill that hole!oh and a pint of milk for the tea!!

Mute larry bird
    Favourite larry bird
    Jan 6th 2014, 8:53 PM

Lads shipment of Lyons tea on the way too

Mute David Harrington
    Favourite David Harrington
    Jan 6th 2014, 8:31 PM

Should have remembered to take the roads in and store them on the east side of the island like they normally do when the weather is bad.

Mute Leslie Alan Rock
    Favourite Leslie Alan Rock
    Jan 6th 2014, 9:10 PM

The amount of giving out (rightly so) about people going near the coast. Yet this lad jumps into a collapsed hole that could do so again

Mute Maggie
    Favourite Maggie
    Jan 6th 2014, 9:20 PM

People do anything for five secs of fame !

Mute Duagh GAA
    Favourite Duagh GAA
    Jan 6th 2014, 9:55 PM

You people need to live a little and stop being so safe and boring. Nothing happened and you have no idea how safe or unsafe it was. If people didn’t do risky things every now and then we’d never have left our caves. Try living on the edge just once in your lives and you might actually enjoy it!

Mute Maggie
    Favourite Maggie
    Jan 6th 2014, 10:03 PM

Try telling that to the peoplr rescuing fools taking photos of waves

Mute larry bird
    Favourite larry bird
    Jan 6th 2014, 10:06 PM

You moaning again

Mute Maggie
    Favourite Maggie
    Jan 6th 2014, 10:55 PM

U talking again …

Mute 6Degreesfans
    Favourite 6Degreesfans
    Jan 7th 2014, 12:05 AM

Maggie-the guy (Richard Wall) in the photo is a very talented actor who frequently appears on BBC and RTE TV shows and movies, so it makes your 5 seconds of fame comment seem redundant. If you followed his twitter then you’d see he surfs, snowboards, does cliff jumping etc so while he likes adventure sports which are risky, he’s far from wreckless and wouldn’t have risked his life or the life of anyone else. So lighten up and stop giving out on every story you see. Have a nice night.

Mute Maggie
    Favourite Maggie
    Jan 7th 2014, 12:26 AM

Right lets all jump into a hole coz someone on twitter did it .il comment on wat I want 6degrees so don’t patronise me ,

Mute Peter Ahern
    Favourite Peter Ahern

That must be photo shopped , if not you’d want to be off your chuck to get in to it !

Mute thomas the tank
    Favourite thomas the tank

Ten corporation workers all standing around breast feeding shovels for a week that’s the plan

Mute Conor Carroll
    Favourite Conor Carroll
    Jan 6th 2014, 8:29 PM

Ballybunion, lovely place, hole of a town

Mute Tramore Hole
    Favourite Tramore Hole
    Jan 6th 2014, 9:24 PM

Me own hole is far sexier than that one #Tramorehole

Mute Liz McCollum
    Favourite Liz McCollum
    Jan 6th 2014, 8:31 PM

A new tourist attraction right there.

Mute Barry Vickers
    Favourite Barry Vickers
    Jan 6th 2014, 9:14 PM

A holy hole!

Mute Paul Walshe
    Favourite Paul Walshe
    Jan 6th 2014, 8:37 PM

Idiot

Mute Donal Mullen
    Favourite Donal Mullen
    Jan 6th 2014, 8:23 PM

The road is like an apple pie…

Mute Jonathan Madden
    Favourite Jonathan Madden
    Jan 6th 2014, 9:48 PM

What a clown jumping into the hole do people have brains anymore

Mute brian magee
    Favourite brian magee
    Jan 6th 2014, 10:11 PM

he didn’t jump, he walked in to it from the opening behind him. read the article, and look at the picture

Mute Emilio
    Favourite Emilio
    Jan 7th 2014, 8:13 AM

Read the article, brian? Are you MAD? There are photos, that’s all I need to see!

Mute Wayne Scales
    Favourite Wayne Scales
    Jan 6th 2014, 8:45 PM

Dont forget your shovel if you want to go to work.

Mute Mad Taoiseach
    Favourite Mad Taoiseach
    Jan 6th 2014, 8:53 PM

He is in his hole.
    Punctuate accordingly

Mute martin o connor
    Favourite martin o connor
    Jan 7th 2014, 12:35 AM

Are the council looking into it yet?

Mute Marie Courtney
    Favourite Marie Courtney
    Feb 3rd 2014, 4:43 PM

Funny

Mute Karen
    Favourite Karen
    Jan 6th 2014, 9:28 PM

How is that not blocked off? Thats the road that all people holidaying use to walk to beach at night! I love Tramore!!! The people who live there and i mean original people are lovely :)

Mute Catherine Sims
    Favourite Catherine Sims
    Jan 6th 2014, 11:23 PM

The journals obsession with holes is becoming a worry. I believe they are trying to turn it into a regular feature. After seeing the producers of Time Team making a successful program for years now about various holes in the ground . (all of which they dug themselves btw) The journal are getting notions and trying to do similar. Their agenda is clear. I for one won’t be part of this farce. Goodnight to you Madam .

Mute Simon O'Donnell
    Favourite Simon O'Donnell
    Jan 7th 2014, 1:01 AM

They obviously got the Joyces to do that job. Couldn’t tarmac to save their lives, coked up to Dep. Huzzodongs will do twice the jab for half the price sur. No messing.

Mute Edel Mooney
    Favourite Edel Mooney
    Jan 6th 2014, 9:13 PM

As bill clinton might say
    “Its a hole in one”

Mute Conor
    Favourite Conor
    Jan 6th 2014, 9:17 PM

Brilliant!!!

Mute Scottyyyyyy
    Favourite Scottyyyyyy
    Jan 6th 2014, 9:30 PM

Not brilliant!!!

Mute Conor
    Favourite Conor
    Jan 6th 2014, 9:34 PM

hole in one? ah here

Mute Matt
    Favourite Matt
    Jan 6th 2014, 8:54 PM

That’s a big hole to fill.

Mute Jill :D
    Favourite Jill :D
    Jan 7th 2014, 12:01 AM

I keep expecting a giant hand to swoop in and pick him up!

Mute Eimear Okeeffe
    Favourite Eimear Okeeffe
    Jan 6th 2014, 9:39 PM

Is he in the hole of his health

Mute Conor
    Favourite Conor
    Jan 6th 2014, 9:16 PM

Thats a real hole

Mute Neil Dinnen
    Favourite Neil Dinnen
    Jan 6th 2014, 10:48 PM

Shit! That is a big hole.

Mute Ciaran Roche
    Favourite Ciaran Roche
    Jan 6th 2014, 9:45 PM

Fake photos!!

Mute Eoin O'Hagan
    Favourite Eoin O'Hagan
    Jan 6th 2014, 10:50 PM

Holey Moley 2.

Mute Foxys van
    Favourite Foxys van
    Jan 7th 2014, 7:56 AM

@ journal
    They are SINKHOLES not pot holes

Mute Adam Villafan Forde
    Favourite Adam Villafan Forde
    Jan 7th 2014, 12:24 AM

Jasus…. the hole on that!

Mute Irish Actors
    Favourite Irish Actors
    Jan 7th 2014, 7:12 PM

Morto for Eggfuel who just got owned and must feel like a complete idiot with his little conspiracy theories. There’s always one!

Mute vectorsector
    Favourite vectorsector
    Jan 6th 2014, 11:48 PM

Ask me hole

Mute Nick Taylor
    Favourite Nick Taylor
    Jan 7th 2014, 5:47 AM

Ballybunion council miss read the request of a glory hole from the locals…

Mute Patrick
    Favourite Patrick
    Jan 7th 2014, 11:18 AM

i would like to throw Bruton, Kenny , Gilmore ,Hogan , Varadakar, Howlin and big fat Rabitte in there and put a 20 cm cap of cement.

Mute Edel Mooney
    Favourite Edel Mooney
    Jan 6th 2014, 9:33 PM

Golfing parlance !

Mute Gary Curtis
    Favourite Gary Curtis
    Jan 7th 2014, 12:20 AM

holey moley!

Mute Michael Garett
    Favourite Michael Garett
    Jan 7th 2014, 2:41 AM

Photoshopped for definite. Or else he’s a midget.

Mute Claire Sweeny
    Favourite Claire Sweeny
    Jan 7th 2014, 8:10 AM

Nothing photoshopped about it. I think you need to learn the difference between small and far away……

Mute Aurfur
    Favourite Aurfur
    Jan 8th 2014, 7:20 AM

I personally wouldn’t go in any hole without first doing a gas test and checking that the oxygen level is ok.

Mute Eggfuel
    Favourite Eggfuel
    Jan 7th 2014, 6:18 AM

Really
    Is it a free for all on pics sent into the journal…
    Thought is was credible news site…
    Photo shopped work is now republished as fact….
    Irresponsible to say the least

Mute Claire Sweeny
    Favourite Claire Sweeny
    Jan 7th 2014, 8:08 AM

The people who say it’s photoshopped obviously don’t know anything about photoshopping. The article states that there is a hole at the bottom which allowed him to go in so it obviously wasn’t that difficult to get the photo. A lot easier than photoshopping it with zero errors from what I can see and I work with Photoshop for a living.

Mute Eggfuel
    Favourite Eggfuel
    Jan 7th 2014, 2:02 PM

That’s the point of photoshop… It’s meant to fool the eye… What planet are you on… Take the scale from the white line on the tar surface… Unless it’s 4ft wide it’s a sign there’s an error to the oi ture and if I read it correctly the chap said he didn’t climb through the hole but either way it’s scaled incorrectly… And if you work for photoshop you should know that it’s quite easy to scale objects without flaws as you call it…
    Really love the Irish logic…
    It’s incorrect..
    End of conversation

Mute Claire Sweeny
    Favourite Claire Sweeny
    Jan 7th 2014, 4:36 PM

There’s a video of it up on Facebook as well. What do you think they did there? Maybe it was cgi? Or maybe you’re just wrong? Now that’s the end of the conversation Eggfool!

Mute Eggfuel
    Favourite Eggfuel
    Jan 7th 2014, 4:43 PM

Can you provide the link please

Mute Eggfuel
    Favourite Eggfuel
    Jan 7th 2014, 5:37 PM

Looks like the only big hole around here is between your ears Hun.. End of conversation

Mute Peter Meagher
    Favourite Peter Meagher
    Jan 6th 2014, 11:42 PM

Hole-d on there a minute. One pic has a hole on the other side butt the next pic has none?