You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Jack and Tatiana with their mother and the only surviving daughter of US President John F Kennedy, Caroline Kennedy, at the launch of the JFK Homecomming Exhibition this week. www.JFK50Ireland.com

Thousands join Kennedy's relations in New Ross for JFK 50 celebrations

The only surviving daughter of US President John F Kennedy, Caroline, and his grandchildren will be in New Ross today for the celebrations.

FIFTY YEARS AGO on 26 June, 1963, US President John F. Kennedy arrived in Ireland for a four-day visit.

In Dublin alone, half of the city’s population came out to greet him. Over 100,000 people made their way to Cork, Limerick and Galway to catch a glimpse of the US President, while in Wexford, the town’s 12,000 strong population swelled to 30,000 on 27 June, the day he visited the Kennedy family’s ancestral home in Dunganstown.

Today, thousands are set to descend on New Ross in Co Wexford to join Kennedy’s relations to mark the anniversary of his visit.

The ‘Emigrant Flame’, the only ever light taken from JFK’s grave, will be carried along the newly developed boardwalk in a relay involving members of Special Olympics Ireland, the United States Peace Corps, members of the Wexford community and New Ross Town Council.

Jack and Tatiana with their mother and the only surviving daughter of US President John F Kennedy, Caroline Kennedy, at the launch of the JFK Homecomming Exhibition this week. (Pic: Sam Boal/Photocall Ireland)

The flame will then be handed to the Taoiseach Enda Kenny, Caroline Kennedy daughter of President Kennedy and Ambassador Jean Kennedy Smith who will light the Emigrant Flame monument.

There will also be loads of music, entertainment and literature on the quayside in New Ross, the ancestral hometown of John F. Kennedy, and a flypast by the Irish Air Corps.

“It is fitting that in the year of The Gathering, when we celebrate Irish connections, that this symbol [the 'Emigrant Flame'] of one of its most famous sons has arrived to remind us of the still-potent bonds that exist between Ireland and the US,” said Shaun Quinn, CEO of Fáilte Ireland.

JFK having a nice cup of tea during his last visit to Ireland in 1963. (Pic: www.JFK50Ireland.com)

Pics: Only ever flame taken from JFK’s grave lands in Ireland for JFK 50>

Read: We found the boy smiling up at JFK during his visit to Ireland in 1963>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

23 Comments
    Mute JakkiB
    Favourite JakkiB
    Jun 22nd 2013, 12:55 PM

Awww lads come on!! His visit was in the day when Irish people only ever dreamed of going to America, It was seen as another world, Kennedy was a really true inspiration for all those that emigrated, They proved anything was possible…
    Dont let my Da hear you question the visit as it was and is the highlight of his life!! Sad but true lads…. ;)

Mute John Barnes
    Favourite John Barnes
    Jun 22nd 2013, 12:28 PM

Can someone please explain to me why his visit was such a big deal? I just don’t see the significance of this, will we be celebrating clintons or Obamas visit in 2062?

Mute Tom Thumb
    Favourite Tom Thumb
    Jun 22nd 2013, 12:35 PM

Agreed. Can’t figure it out, either.

Mute Colin Tyrrell
    Favourite Colin Tyrrell
    Jun 22nd 2013, 12:53 PM

He was the first incumbent President of the US to visit Ireland, as far as I know.
    At the time, he was treated like a superstar. Celebrity status was reserved for only a few I suppose, and he had it in spades.
    Irish people could relate to him, due to his religion & heritage.
    I think you need to look at in terms of the time in history. He was a WW2 veteran, Catholic, ‘Irish’, good looking (apparently!!), and as famous as you got.
    Ireland was starved of things to get excited about.
    My Mam was actually born right next to the homestead. She claims to have climbed in to his helicopter when he landed there.

Mute Aodhan O Cuana
    Favourite Aodhan O Cuana
    Jun 22nd 2013, 2:21 PM

Oh dear John; you seriously can’t see how this visits, apart from the pope’s visits, was not a significant moment in Irish Hx? Irish Times supplement was very good at putting it in certain context for Ireland as an emerging state. It also had am incredible connection with the Diaspora. Unlike our current isolationist Government’s thinking on how to engage with the Diaspora, charity at arms length, Kennedy (an Anglophile) revisited his roots, which were significant in terms of discrimination and second class citizenship; emigrants faced in the new world. In 2013 the Obama’s visit will also be remembered for probably one of the worst speeches from Mrs Obama and her ‘its good to be home’, as for misreading her opportunity to stick it to Irish Government policy related to asylum seekers and their treatment.

Maybe you should look at a bit harder and stop with the jaded; what’s this all about!!

Mute Joan Featherstone
    Favourite Joan Featherstone
    Jun 22nd 2013, 5:58 PM

John agree its a load of shite….fifty feckin years, forget it!!!! I’m sick of listening to this rubbish on TV, in papers!

Mute Paul Keenan
    Favourite Paul Keenan
    Jun 22nd 2013, 7:10 PM

He had direct Irish roots, he was the first Roman Catholic US president and the fact he was a World War II veteran didn’t do any harm.
    He was held in almost the same regard as the pope.
    If you look at old photos from the early 1960s how many kitchens had a picture of John F. Kennedy and another of Pope John XXIII?
    That, John, is why there is such a fuss!

Mute Declan Noonan
    Favourite Declan Noonan
    Jun 22nd 2013, 10:02 PM

He was not an incumbent president. He was only in for one term which of course he never got to finish.

Mute Declan Noonan
    Favourite Declan Noonan
    Jun 22nd 2013, 10:03 PM

Don’t forget the picture of Elvis as well!

Mute Colin Tyrrell
    Favourite Colin Tyrrell
    Jun 23rd 2013, 8:30 AM

You have me confused, Declan.
    If Kennedy wasn’t the incumbent in June 1963, who was?

Mute Linda O'Sullivan Daly
    Favourite Linda O'Sullivan Daly
    Jun 22nd 2013, 3:17 PM

Really now, who gives a hoot about JFK visiting 50 years ago! I’m sick to the back teeth from hearing about it. Between Michelle Obama and the 2 daughters in Wicklow and all this Kennedy coverage on tv and radio this week, anyone would think WE are Americans. Enough about it now.

Mute JakkiB
    Favourite JakkiB
    Jun 22nd 2013, 1:03 PM

Ohhhh just had a thought there…I’m going to have to take my Da here now hahaha :)

Mute deirdre
    Favourite deirdre
    Jun 22nd 2013, 1:13 PM

I would love to be there today. So sad that JFK Jnr isnt alive so we could welcome him too.

President John Fitzgerald Kennedy is a legend so i fail to see why we wouldnt celebrate the anniversary of such an historic visit to Ireland.

Mute Francis Stokes
    Favourite Francis Stokes
    Jun 22nd 2013, 4:11 PM

It was a different Ireland then. Yes of Course The Irish were delighted to welcome President Kennedy. He broke the Mold in many ways. The biggest achievement of his Presidency was to prevent a third world war. There was time during his term that the world was on the Brink of a nuclear war but he helped with his way of doing things to stop it. It went right down to the wire. As regards Ireland his forefathers came from Here. So it was a great honor to have one of our ow be President Of USA.It was a great boost to Ireland when he Visited. So therefore the celbrations that are taking place this weekend are very well justified.

Mute Kevin Cooney
    Favourite Kevin Cooney
    Jun 22nd 2013, 2:23 PM

Can someone find out how much this celebration is costing and who is footing the bill?

Mute Michael G O'Reilly
    Favourite Michael G O'Reilly
    Jun 22nd 2013, 4:44 PM

We are of course …the ordinary overtaxed working citizens !

Mute Declan Noonan
    Favourite Declan Noonan
    Jun 22nd 2013, 10:05 PM

Kevin, do you ever celebrate? What does that cost? Ever go to a fireworks display, concert etc etc.

Mute Kevin O'Sullivan
    Favourite Kevin O'Sullivan
    Jun 22nd 2013, 3:56 PM

Seeing as thousands are in attendance, a lot of people are more than happy to attend and enjoy the festivities and celebrate the visit. Thankfully we live in a world where not everybody agrees with each other.

Mute Robin Pickering
    Favourite Robin Pickering
    Jun 22nd 2013, 3:39 PM

What would be really significant would be gold plating the toilet he shite in. Or working out exactly where his feet touched the holy land (Wexford) and placing a little Stars and Stripes on each step. And an eternal flame up the Aras. And we could name all National Schools JFK National School.

Jees, talk about embarrassing.

Mute Michael
    Favourite Michael
    Jun 22nd 2013, 2:46 PM

I realize JFK was a big deal for Irish Americans and the Irish, but we must be the only country that celebrates our emigrants. Germany and the English had way more influence on America, yet you don’t see celebrate like we do. People who left this country for Greener pastures, i don’t see anything to celebrate!

Mute Aodhan O Cuana
    Favourite Aodhan O Cuana
    Jun 22nd 2013, 2:11 PM

Now, sort out the issue of Diaspora voting and we can feel a whole lot better about our relationship with the Global Irish community. On another note; Thurston Clarke’s ‘The Last Campaign’ about Robert Kennedy’s presidential campaign is heart breakingly good!

Mute guardian
    Favourite guardian
    Jun 22nd 2013, 6:47 PM

For in the final analysis, our most basic common link, is that we all inhabit this small planet, we all breathe the same air, we all cherish our children’s futures, and we are all mortal.

Mute sean de paore
    Favourite sean de paore
    Jun 22nd 2013, 6:25 PM

Despite the knockers, which we will always have in Ireland, the homecoming year is proving to be a great success to date. As to the original visit after De Valera visited the German Embassy to sympathise on Hitler’s death Ireland gave many years in International isolation. The Kennedy visit went a long way to getting us back on track