You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

WestPharma

Good news for Waterford as 150 brand new jobs announced

The Taoiseach says the jobs are a “massive boost for Waterford and the entire south east”.

AROUND 150 NEW jobs have been announced at a new pharmaceutical factory in Waterford.

Taoiseach Enda Kenny and Minister for Jobs Richard Bruton attended the jobs announcement this morning at West Pharmaceutical, a company which works on ways to administer injectable drugs.

The factory will produce packaging components for insulin injector cartridges.

Another 100 construction jobs are likely to be created during construction of the plant, which is set to begin early next year.

The jobs are good news for the county which has been badly hit with a higher-than-average unemployment rate.

Enda Kenny said the jobs were a “massive boost for Waterford and the entire south east”.

Donald Morel Junior, the CEO of the company, said that Waterford was an “ideal setting” for the plant because of its “business-friendly environment and the growing health science industry in the area.”

West Pharmaceutical already employs more than 230 people at a subsidiary in Mulhuddart in Dublin.

Read: Five years on – Waterford Crystal workers speak of struggle to secure pensions >

Read: ‘Great sadness’ as Waterford’s Red Kettle Theatre Company closes >

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

15 Comments
    Mute Peter Cavey
    Favourite Peter Cavey
    Oct 23rd 2019, 8:34 AM

So they tell us the issue is fixed and we are on a boil water notice. So, for how long have we been drinking contaminated water?

Mute William O' Connor
    Favourite William O' Connor
    Oct 23rd 2019, 9:40 AM

@Peter Cavey: I’ve been wondering that too… we’ve had a few stomach issues which we had put down to a bug.. maybe the bug was in the water for the past week!

Mute Carpentoza
    Favourite Carpentoza
    Oct 23rd 2019, 11:00 AM

@Peter Cavey: criptospiridium infection diagnosed in last couple of weeks in a child in Lucan apparently. As far as I know they have to be notified to HSE and if there’s a pattern this escalates the issue.

Mute Hazel MacManus Eades
    Favourite Hazel MacManus Eades
    Oct 23rd 2019, 12:24 PM

@Peter Cavey: Funny you should say that, I was very ill for almost a week & had my suspicions it was due to our tap water as it was the only thing I could isolate as being the source. Would be interested to see if there were many more?

Mute MitchConnor
    Favourite MitchConnor
    Oct 23rd 2019, 3:01 PM

@Peter Cavey: Sorry customer that’s only for paying customers to know.

Mute Shakka1244
    Favourite Shakka1244
    Oct 23rd 2019, 8:28 AM

So IW’s excuse for 600,000 people being put on a boil notice is “a small mechanical failure in part of the plant”.
    Either lies or incompetence.

Mute David Corrigan
    Favourite David Corrigan
    Oct 23rd 2019, 8:38 AM

@Shakka1244: I can never understand why such events are not alarmed.

Mute Tim Pot
    Favourite Tim Pot
    Oct 23rd 2019, 8:45 AM

@Shakka1244:

I fail to see how a mechanical failure would not be a plausable excuse for a malfunction of a water treatment plant…

See 17 more replies ▾
    Mute G Row
    Favourite G Row
    Oct 23rd 2019, 9:06 AM

@Tim Pot: You fail to see how anything could possibly be wrong when Irish Water are involved regardless of the problem.
    Are you employed by this by the back door billing company?
    If you are not then you are some dope constantly informing us of their greatness.

Mute Tim Pot
    Favourite Tim Pot
    Oct 23rd 2019, 9:16 AM

@G Row:

Not defending anyone here, just pointing out that a mechanical failure in a plant would be a plausable reason for a failure. Mr. shakka above seems to think otherwise.

Mute G Row
    Favourite G Row
    Oct 23rd 2019, 9:27 AM

@Tim Pot: Go on say something bad about them, bet you can’t bring yourself to do it?
    Would you be fired?

Mute Conoroconnor
    Favourite Conoroconnor

@David Corrigan: it must have been flagged in some way, that’s how they know about it.

Mute Tommy Roche
    Favourite Tommy Roche
    Oct 23rd 2019, 9:49 AM

@G Row: Give it a rest. He basically said the it’s plausible that a mechanical malfunction can occur in a mechanical system. And he is correct. Your bias against Irish Water is so great that it is affecting your ability to think logically.

Mute David Corrigan
    Favourite David Corrigan
    Oct 23rd 2019, 9:58 AM

@Conoroconnor: More than likely it was spotted by someone wandering around the place. Every single piece of plant should be alarmed. With wifi, GSM or LoRaWAN being cheap and available, there should be no excuse for not having an alarm for each point of the system.

Mute G Row
    Favourite G Row
    Oct 23rd 2019, 10:02 AM

@Tommy Roche: I never said it wasn’t plausable. I said he fails to see how anything could possibly be wrong when Irish Water are involved regardless of the problem.
    Do you love them too if so I am sorry for offending your sensitivities.

Mute Paddy J
    Favourite Paddy J
    Oct 23rd 2019, 10:14 AM

@G Row: Pardon the pun now, if you are of a certain vintage, but what’s love got to do with it. Is it not a bit childish to ask someone to say something “bad”? There is no reason to believe that it wasn’t a mechanical failure. In the real world out in rural Ireland, mechanical failures happen on group water schemes and on private wells too.

Mute G Row
    Favourite G Row
    Oct 23rd 2019, 10:21 AM

@Paddy J: The real world out in rural Ireland, good one.

Mute emul8ter25
    Favourite emul8ter25
    Oct 23rd 2019, 10:49 AM

@G Row: when you behave like an irrational child, people will treat you like an irrational child.

Mute Nuala Mc Namara
    Favourite Nuala Mc Namara
    Oct 23rd 2019, 11:07 AM

@Tim Pot:
    1)Was this failure identified in EPAs Audit Report on Leixlip Water Treatment Plant based on an Audit in March this year and published in April this year?
    2)Audit Report noted Auditor’s Comments including their hope that:
    ‘ IW MUST ensure that lessons learned from this incident are acted on to prevent a recurrence and to ensure the ongoing safety and security of the water supplied by Leixlip Water Treatment Plant and to protect public health for the SIGNIFICANT population served by the plant.’
    3)Audit Report noted 5 Findings and gave 8 Recommendations to which IW was to issue EPA with a Report within a month as to how IW would proceed to adhere to Recommendations in Audit Report.
    So how did IW respond to these Audit Findings and Recommendations?

Mute Nuala Mc Namara
    Oct 23rd 2019, 11:10 AM

@Nuala Mc Namara: re 1) meant to say wasn’t not was!

Mute Tim Pot
    Favourite Tim Pot
    Oct 23rd 2019, 11:38 AM

@Nuala Mc Namara:

I have no idea on 1-4. I’m assuming this is contained on the epa website?

Obviously it would be for Fingal county council (the operators of the plant) to implement any reccomendations.

Mute Nuala Mc Namara
    Oct 23rd 2019, 12:07 PM

@Tim Pot: You know!
    IW is in charge of water services as you also know and the Findings,Comments& Recommendations were for the attention of IW .IW was to issue EPA with a Report in May as to how they will comply with the Recommendations in the Audit Report!

Mute G Row
    Favourite G Row
    Oct 23rd 2019, 12:51 PM

@emul8ter25: Terrible isn’t it. Tut tut…

Mute Shakka1244
    Favourite Shakka1244
    Oct 23rd 2019, 5:00 PM

@Tim Pot: How can a major infrastructural system that treats water for 600,000 people be at the mercy of a “a small mechanical failure in part of the plant”?
    If the entire treatment plant is so at risk to small mechanical failures then something is seriously amiss no?

Mute Tim Pot
    Favourite Tim Pot
    Oct 23rd 2019, 6:52 PM

@Shakka1244:

correct, thats why the hse was notified, the boil notice given and an audit by the epa on the plant taking place tomorrow.

Mute Gerard Heery
    Favourite Gerard Heery
    Oct 23rd 2019, 8:56 AM

They’re spin doctor called these homes and businesses costumers on the radio ? must of been a freidian slip and meant to consumers I don’t know any costumer’s of the PR quango

Mute talkingsense
    Favourite talkingsense
    Oct 23rd 2019, 9:00 AM

@Gerard Heery: I doubt they have any costumers, most likely they have customers

Mute G Row
    Favourite G Row
    Oct 23rd 2019, 9:07 AM

@talkingsense: Late for class?

Mute Tim Pot
    Favourite Tim Pot
    Oct 23rd 2019, 9:18 AM

@Gerard Heery:

First the audi’s now they are using costumers! corrupt!

Mute Gerard Heery
    Favourite Gerard Heery
    Oct 23rd 2019, 9:23 AM

@talkingsense: thanks for that lads bearla wasn’t me best subject

Mute Diarmuid Hunt
    Favourite Diarmuid Hunt
    Oct 23rd 2019, 6:22 PM

@Gerard Heery: Is dóiche nach bhfuil do chuid Gaeilge níos fearr. Béarla is ainm don teanga a bímid á chaint de ghnó. (Níl mo chuid Gaeilge foirfe ach an oiread.)

Mute Squiddley Diddley
    Favourite Squiddley Diddley
    Oct 23rd 2019, 9:45 AM

If Irish Water was privatised (as many believe was originally intended) we probably would never have heard about the malfunction. The same instincts for corporate self-defence that we have seen so often elsewhere would likely have applied.

Mute JusticeForJoe
    Favourite JusticeForJoe
    Oct 23rd 2019, 9:42 AM

Customers?

SC
    Mute SC
    Favourite SC
    Oct 23rd 2019, 3:16 PM

@JusticeForJoe: citizens!

Mute Gerry Howard
    Favourite Gerry Howard
    Oct 23rd 2019, 8:57 AM

Can someone please let the people in affected areas be given a phone number that can be reached. THE iRISH wATER wEBSITE has been down since 6.30 last night,FFS. People are going to become very ill, especially the elderly living alone.

Mute john doe
    Favourite john doe
    Oct 23rd 2019, 9:03 AM

@Gerry Howard: This company really appears to be struggling.
    They are spending just as much through exchequer funding as they had planned to under domestic charges, so charging is not the solution.
    Surely a plant feeding 600,000 people should have a back up to all equipment?!
    Serious questions to be answered by senior management in Irish Water.

Mute Tim Pot
    Favourite Tim Pot
    Oct 23rd 2019, 9:19 AM

@Gerry Howard:

Its working again no?

https://www.water.ie/news/boil-water-notice-issued-5/

Mute FrustratedASDMum
    Favourite FrustratedASDMum
    Oct 23rd 2019, 10:17 AM

@Gerry Howard: I rang the water yesterday evening and was told that IW staff also rely on the website so they couldn’t tell me my area was affected or not. Great service altogether.

Mute Jason
    Favourite Jason
    Oct 23rd 2019, 9:56 AM

I wonder would the 500 million spent on water meters or the 1 billion spent on setting up an entity named Irish Water have made a difference if it was spent on infrastructure and upgrading the water network.

This really is a damning indictment on Government for shocking decisions made and waste of public money!!

Mute Tim Pot
    Favourite Tim Pot
    Oct 23rd 2019, 10:37 AM

@Jason:
    173million to setup IW, not 1 billion. I think you are mostly correct on the cost of the meters, but I would add they are and have been used to fix leaks ect..

Mute Tish
    Favourite Tish
    Oct 23rd 2019, 9:45 AM

Why were we informed about this so late? We have already drank their contaminated water

Mute Willy Mc Bride
    Favourite Willy Mc Bride
    Oct 23rd 2019, 8:58 AM

Would be no more had the one cheek of FFG Mehole not lied and pleased other cheek leader Lieo…

Mute Stephen Grehan
    Favourite Stephen Grehan
    Oct 23rd 2019, 12:22 PM

@Willy Mc Bride: Willy hopefully the electorate will remember Mehole Martins pack of lies about getting rid of Irish Water when the next election happens. https://www.facebook.com/Right2WaterIreland/videos/2132873473608388/?v=2132873473608388

Mute G Row
    Favourite G Row

Tim will be along momentarily to answer all queries in relation to Irish Water.

Mute Tim Pot
    Favourite Tim Pot
    Oct 23rd 2019, 9:43 AM

@G Row:
    and if he is not available try the twitter feed:

https://twitter.com/IWCare

Mute G Row
    Favourite G Row
    Oct 23rd 2019, 10:03 AM

@Tim Pot: He’s always available.

Mute Rosie
    Favourite Rosie
    Oct 23rd 2019, 9:46 AM

One week ago I received a Text from Irish Water. It said that as I had paid my Bill before, i would receive a notice should E Coli or some other such mishap happen. I would be notified of any need to boil water.
    I thought this very odd as, as far as I am concerned, Irish Water don’t exist. I was frightened in to paying my Bills as they said those on welfare payments [am on contributory state pension ] would lose out etc., plus those renting so I stupidly let them frighten me.

Mute Conoroconnor
    Favourite Conoroconnor
    Oct 23rd 2019, 9:58 AM

@Rosie: irish water obviously do exist, the charges were abolished, not Irish Water.

Mute Rosie
    Favourite Rosie
    Oct 23rd 2019, 10:54 AM

@Conoroconnor: Thanks Conor, obviously but I did not like ‘because I was a customer of Irish Water, I would get a text’ does that mean those who did not [rightly] pay for water, don’t get a warning via text ? or leaflet etc.,

Mute Nuala Mc Namara
    Oct 23rd 2019, 11:22 AM

@Rosie: Considering that Exchequer funding pays for water services,that letter you got is particularly worrying!
    Water users used to have an Ombudsman re consumer affairs over water services before but that was abolished!

Mute Tim Pot
    Favourite Tim Pot
    Oct 23rd 2019, 3:15 PM

@Rosie:

Not part of this was it?

https://www.water.ie/support/vulnerable-customers/

Mute Tim Pot
    Favourite Tim Pot
    Oct 23rd 2019, 4:43 PM

@Rosie:

‘customer of irish water’ just means ‘you recieve water from Irish-Water’

Its not excluding anyone who did not pay ect.

Mute Niall Moonan
    Favourite Niall Moonan
    Oct 23rd 2019, 10:01 AM

Here in Co Louth we are on a boil water notice since July with little or no communication from irish water.

ed w
    Mute ed w
    Favourite ed w
    Oct 23rd 2019, 11:59 AM

@Niall Moonan: not Dublin = not important sorry

Mute Rosie
    Favourite Rosie

To have to boil water is pretty serious. How come a small malfunction would cause this. I personally don’t believe them. It is very suspicious and I think the problem is much worse. Why?
    Because from the start, Irish Water was a tax machine and not fit for purpose, with cock ups in apartment water meters and in my area ancient water pipes and we were told that lead would not get in to the water .

Mute michael gallagher
    Favourite michael gallagher
    Oct 23rd 2019, 1:26 PM

@Rosie: It can actually be a small malfunction, most plants use chlorine to disinfect the treated water. A pump failure or something as small as a blocked injection nozzle will mean the water is no longer being disinfected and therefore no longer safe to drink. A pump failure should be picked up fairly quickly but a blocked nozzle can be hard to pick up and would depend on the chlorine monitoring system being used if any. Both these problems can be rectified quickly,probably in less than an hour. The problem is though that any untreated water has to work its way through the system and this can take time.

Mute Rosie
    Favourite Rosie
    Oct 23rd 2019, 5:27 PM

@michael gallagher: thanks for that information. However, surely somebody oversees that as it is so very important, as in boil water notices for days and ensuing giardia and other infections in the elderly and those with compromised immune system like myself and many others.

Mute Richard Casey
    Favourite Richard Casey
    Oct 23rd 2019, 8:41 AM

I think the proverbial slap on the wrist is in order here.

Mute Richie Jordan
    Favourite Richie Jordan
    Oct 23rd 2019, 9:20 AM

Can’t believe they wait till the problem is fixed before telling us…..I’m only hoping it’s not a plant that uses Raw sewage.
    Smelly Water…….

Mute gofreak
    Favourite gofreak
    Oct 23rd 2019, 10:55 AM

When did the problem first come to light?

The fact it was already fixed when they issued the boil notice suggests there was some time between discovery, and issuing the notice.

Why? How long? One person I spoke to said it was detected at 11am yesterday. If true, that’s a 7 hour lag before it was announced to the public.

And how long prior to that was the defect active for?

Why are the media not asking these questions? I engaged with a County Councillor on Twitter last evening, and he seemed remarkably incurious about these questions. They seem to be THE questions Irish Water should be answering.

Mute Conoroconnor
    Favourite Conoroconnor
    Oct 23rd 2019, 10:11 AM

Guy on the Vox Pop on Newstalk this morning: ‘ I was at work last night and had to go out and buy bottled water to make a cup of tea’ Eh, no, not if you boil the water to make your tea you didn’t. In the same segment, another woman moaning, as she spent money on water for her dogs: sorry missus but dogs eat shite off the road and drink water out of drains! Doubt untreated tap water will do them any harm.

JC
    Mute JC
    Favourite JC
    Oct 23rd 2019, 9:33 AM

There are places missing on that map…Portmarnock for example, why isn’t that labelled?

Mute Conoroconnor
    Favourite Conoroconnor
    Oct 23rd 2019, 9:59 AM

@JC: maybe they’re not affected?

Mute Mark Mccormack
    Favourite Mark Mccormack

Irish water the Boris Johnson of Irish companies.
    Useless and incompetent

Mute GrumpyAulFella
    Favourite GrumpyAulFella
    Oct 23rd 2019, 12:38 PM

Celtic Pure recalling their water again also. Only country in the world where it pisses rain all year round and the public’s only two sources of sanitised water, the council and shops, are trying to poison them.

Mute Liam Carlin
    Favourite Liam Carlin
    Oct 23rd 2019, 12:44 PM

@GrumpyAulFella: I really don’t think they’re “trying “ to poison anybody

Mute GrumpyAulFella
    Favourite GrumpyAulFella
    Oct 23rd 2019, 12:52 PM

@Liam Carlin: it was tongue in cheek chap. Water, water everywhere and not a drop to drink – in Fingal anyway.

Mute Alan Bury
    Favourite Alan Bury
    Oct 23rd 2019, 11:31 AM

Sure it’s grand Irish Water, don’t worry about it, sure what would you expect for free?!

Mute Liam Carlin
    Favourite Liam Carlin
    Oct 23rd 2019, 12:43 PM

@Alan Bury: have you considered the possibility that the fact that people are demanding water for free may be contributing to these sort of problems? Just a thought

Mute Donal Desmond
    Favourite Donal Desmond
    Oct 23rd 2019, 3:36 PM

@Liam Carlin: We have already paid for our water through taxation. The reason Irish water was set up was to eventually privatise it. The billions of taxpayers money given to this monster seems to have poured into the ground literally.

ed w
    Mute ed w
    Favourite ed w
    Oct 23rd 2019, 11:58 AM

they apologised that’s allright then

Mute Tim Pot
    Favourite Tim Pot
    Oct 23rd 2019, 10:37 AM

@Jason:

173million to setup IW, not 1 billion. I think you are mostly correct on the cost of the meters, but I would add they are and have been used to fix leaks ect.

Mute Ronan Moore
    Favourite Ronan Moore
    Oct 23rd 2019, 9:03 PM

At least ye have water in Dublin. In Athlone the water is turned off every night at 10 pm and back on again at 6am. Irish water day it is to conserve water and allow the reservoir to refill. Gas thing is they want to take water from the Shannon to supply Dublin yet they can’t get the water to the reservoir 2 miles away.

Mute Nicholas Byrne
    Favourite Nicholas Byrne
    Nov 4th 2019, 7:33 PM

There not only seems to be a cloudy water as reported in the article, but also a lot of cloud regarding factual information.
    Previous articles indicated that around last March the drinking water for said area was contaminated and there should have been a water boil notice issued but there was not, thus putting the health of 600,000 citizens at risk
    After the previous water boil notice one of the three amigos in Government, Minister Cuckoo Murphy while been interviewed on radio and referring to the contamination which occurred around March indicated that there was a small mechanical failure which set off an alarm signal in a panel which had first to be viewed by an employee before a general alarm was given and a shut down, and because of human delay, there was a delay in the employee seeing this alarm it resulted in the March incident.
    Well bearing in mind that the plant in question serves around 600,000 citizens, and in this day and age of technology if the situation was as Minister Cuckoo Murphy indicated, firstly it would be reasonable to expect taking into consideration the importance of this small mechanical failure, that there would be something like a dual or standby system, so that when the ”small” mechanical failure occurred / went down the other would kick in. Also in relation to relying on an individual person to observe the alarm and this delay been the reason for the March incident, surely in this day and age of technology, where alarms and systems, including mechanical, can be easily interlocked, and a failure in one part of system used as an inhibit in another part, coupled with alarms which can be automatically dialed out, for example to the EPA then there most certainly should not have been a March incident which unnecessarily put public health a risk. Also who is the manager of the plant surely a cause and effect assessment of the whole working system would have exposed the possibility of what happened last March occurring and therefore with this in mind modifications could be carried out, not just to minimize risk but to make it completely fail safe.
    I certainly hope it was not the case of Irish water not having the funds to make safety upgrades/modifications, bearing in mind the millions of wasted euros spent on useless individual domestic water meters. What exactly is going on in the Leixlip Plant, will we be told the whole truth? don’t think so.