You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

The artist behind THAT marriage equality mural is back with another powerful piece

Joe Caslin tells us about the latest work from his Our Nation’s Sons project.

ARTIST JOE CASLIN, whose same-sex marriage mural turned heads when it was installed on Dublin’s George’s St earlier this year, is back with another powerful artwork.

For the next few weeks, people in Tullamore can see his latest large-scale street art piece displayed on the town hall.

Caslin works as an art teacher locally, and 11 students in total from Tullamore College,
Sacred Heart Tullamore and Coláiste Colm Tullamore worked with him on installing the project. One of the students is the boy whose portrait is featured in the artwork.

Photo 16-09-2015 18 58 55 (1) Paul Moore Paul Moore

Our Nation’s Sons

It’s part of Caslin’s ongoing series Our Nation’s Sons, which tackles the subjects of mental health, depression, suicide, and the role of men in Irish society. This latest piece was commissioned by Offaly Arts and Foundation 15, and happily coincided with Culture Night, for which Caslin was an ambassador.

Junction 15 is an arts festival that uses vacant spaces around the town, so Caslin’s work – which often uses older or vacant buildings – fits in well with the theme. 

Caslin has been living in Tullamore for the past seven years, and when TheJournal.ie spoke to him he even bumped into locals who told him they’d seen the painting. His work, with its large scale paper prints, is instantly recognisable. 

“Doing something in the town I’ve been living in… it’s not daunting, but I wanted to come back and do something that was dignified and something that is pretty good,” said Caslin.

Photo 16-09-2015 19 05 50 Paul Moore Paul Moore

He was delighted to have the students on board. “The kids gave up a lot of their own time,” he said, describing them as “ambassadors” in getting the story out there.

He sees it as powerful that the students get to work on such a project.

Kids, if they are given the right opportunity, they can make something poignant and beautiful in the town. They are the champions in the conversation.

Caslin said the “the whole town has rallied around” the project, with the result that some people have been sharing their own stories that touch on topics explored in Our Nation’s Sons.

It’s really amazing, the stories coming out there all being provoked by the art being installed. In a way that’s the exact purpose of the drawing.

Why this art?

The artwork is meant to draw questions – who is the boy in the image? Is he famous? If not, is he just a ‘normal kid’?

“Why should a normal kid go on the wall?,” said Caslin. “Who could that kid represent, could it be my brother… whoever could that be? Then it becomes more important, they get to tell their part of the story in the drawing, it becomes more of an interesting thing.”

Photo 16-09-2015 19 06 51 (1) Paul Moore Paul Moore

It’s important to him that the boy featured is from the town, and Caslin doesn’t try to have ultimate ownership over the work.

It’s a story about the students putting up the work. It’s not really mine in a way, it’s theirs. I’m the vehicle or the conduit, and it’s their story. They are the ones that are vitally important in this.

Caslin’s profile rocketed after his same-sex marriage mural in Dublin drew praise from some quarters, and ire from others.

He’s been working on Our Nation’s Sons for five years, and said that it wasn’t a huge leap from that to promoting marriage equality. When he looked at the issue, he saw a “whole section of society made small – they’re not really given a space in the community”.

When the referendum passed, said Caslin, it sent a new message: “OK, we respect you, you have a position in our society.”

Moving forward

Caslin’s next project looks at the 1916 Rising, not just concentrating on the past, but looking at its relationship to the Ireland of today.

He believes in motivating young people, and surrounding them with positivity. Being a teacher is essential from a money point of view – funding for social projects isn’t easy to get, he said – but also because he clearly enjoys the job.

“I love teaching; I get to go in and spend my time with people that I really look up to, and there’s so many kids I work with every day that I admire. It’s a great place to be, you learn so much from them.”

Read: “It’s not just a single sex referendum”: The inside story of the Galway castle mural>

Read: Warning letter sent calling for removal of giant same-sex marriage mural>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

110 Comments
    Mute Glenard
    Favourite Glenard
    Jun 29th 2015, 7:10 PM

Tap Solny is going to go fking mental over this.

Mute Thomas Mac
    Favourite Thomas Mac
    Jun 29th 2015, 7:11 PM

The poor lad has long gone past that stage

Mute Supernova
    Favourite Supernova
    Jun 29th 2015, 7:12 PM

And Baz, mk, diarmuid, js back, yfg, etc

See 24 more replies ▾
    Mute The Todd
    Favourite The Todd
    Jun 29th 2015, 7:13 PM

And pat Lyons of course, can’t forget him…

Mute Supernova
    Favourite Supernova
    Jun 29th 2015, 7:15 PM

There’s to many of them going around to remember Todd

Mute The Todd
    Favourite The Todd
    Jun 29th 2015, 7:16 PM

Times like these I miss Top Cat, or young Aidan leader of YFG

Mute Supernova
    Favourite Supernova
    Jun 29th 2015, 7:21 PM

Nostalgic times haha

Mute OggieThe4th
    Favourite OggieThe4th
    Jun 29th 2015, 7:26 PM

Nice to have the wonderful Kevin Dobson back

Mute Shinnér Ó Bót
    Favourite Shinnér Ó Bót
    Jun 29th 2015, 7:31 PM

A great day for us Comrades #tiocfaidhárlá2016

Mute David Doyle
    Favourite David Doyle
    Jun 29th 2015, 7:46 PM

Scant consolation for Sinn Fein as they sink in the polls, I would have thought.

Mute Supernova
    Favourite Supernova
    Jun 29th 2015, 7:50 PM

You’re mad for the polls David. Expect a much different poll result come the GE though… After all its not just 1,000 random people who vote

Mute OggieThe4th
    Favourite OggieThe4th
    Jun 29th 2015, 7:52 PM

I hope you gave me a green thumb for calling you wonderful,David ;)

Mute The Todd
    Favourite The Todd
    Jun 29th 2015, 7:58 PM

Going on elections this year across the water, polls are scant consolation for anyone, remember?

Mute Diarmuid
    Favourite Diarmuid
    Jun 29th 2015, 8:02 PM

Great to see the shinnerbots respecting democracy and the institutions of this state. It’s still new to them.

Mute David Doyle
    Favourite David Doyle
    Jun 29th 2015, 8:02 PM

The Todd- Would that be the election across the water where the incumbent centre right party in Government thrashed the opposition? That election?

Mute The Todd
    Favourite The Todd
    Jun 29th 2015, 8:07 PM

Ye it would be, the same one that showed your beloved polls aren’t worth a monkies. What’s your point?

Mute Richard Cheney
    Favourite Richard Cheney
    Jun 29th 2015, 8:14 PM

The Todd, Top Cat is still firmly with us, it’s E O’Leary, real name Enoch Burke, different pseudonym, same obsession with gay people!

Mute The Todd
    Favourite The Todd
    Jun 29th 2015, 8:17 PM

Thank Allah for that, I thought he was away, him and his sexy passive aggressive tone

Mute Peter Grimes
    Favourite Peter Grimes
    Jun 29th 2015, 9:04 PM

F,,k FG Tap Tony

Mute Peter Grimes
    Favourite Peter Grimes
    Jun 29th 2015, 9:40 PM

The FG Monkey has spoken.

Mute Peter Grimes
    Favourite Peter Grimes
    Jun 29th 2015, 10:28 PM

I see Hugh got his twopence worth in, on the Independence Day on RTE 1 this evening, was he there as a journalist for the Journal, or a spokesman for FG???

Mute Caoimhin O Hailpin
    Favourite Caoimhin O Hailpin
    Jun 29th 2015, 10:28 PM

lSinn Fein at 21% is a crisis…Labour at 6 and the Greens at 1 is what ?

Mute Supernova
    Favourite Supernova
    Jun 29th 2015, 10:54 PM

I know Peter was watching myself, he’s some man for stating the obvious as well

Mute little jim
    Favourite little jim
    Jun 29th 2015, 11:52 PM

Can you still call your child Enoch? Thought that was banned. Totally off topic there. carry on.

Mute David Doyle
    Favourite David Doyle
    Jun 30th 2015, 5:25 AM

Caoimhin- SF were actually at 18%…..but really it’s the downward momentum that I was highlighting. And that was before developments in Greece highlighted the craziness of what passes for SF’s economic “policies”.

Mute seamus mcdermott
    Favourite seamus mcdermott
    Jun 30th 2015, 6:40 AM

I like to think of it this way–when you’re on top, there’s nowhere to go but down.

Mute Caoimhin O Hailpin
    Jun 30th 2015, 9:31 PM

NO David Doyle in the SINDO poll they were at 21% , have you not got it upon your wall there ? 21% is more than double the vote Sinn Fein got in the last General Election

Mute The Todd
    Favourite The Todd

Congrats to her, from what I hear she’s an excellent and dedicated councillor. Best of luck to her

Mute Shinnér Ó Bót
    Favourite Shinnér Ó Bót
    Jun 29th 2015, 7:33 PM

Funny, I’ve heard the same thing.

Mute Peter McGlynn
    Favourite Peter McGlynn
    Jun 29th 2015, 9:17 PM

By all accounts she is.

Mute Sean MacC
    Favourite Sean MacC
    Jun 29th 2015, 9:30 PM

Well done to Dublin following in the footsteps of Derry, Belfast and Cork.

Mute david garland
    Favourite david garland
    Jun 29th 2015, 7:43 PM

On the serious side you have to laugh at FF.. Their afraid SF will hijack the 1916 commeration so they can justify the PIRA campaign.. For starters their former leader was caught gun running for the provos… I think Irish people are more worried with FF trying to hijack the next election and try and make out they didn’t steer the Country into the rocks and then made off in the lifeboats with their golden handshakes and pensions…

Mute John Lennox
    Favourite John Lennox
    Jun 29th 2015, 9:17 PM

Jim o’Callaghan is more than a bit of an eejit.

That could qualify as letting FF off the hook on this which I’m ever loath to do but a lot of people in Dublin FF are openly dismissive of him.

Mute Maireben
    Favourite Maireben
    Jun 30th 2015, 8:44 AM

Jim O’Callaghan has a brass neck. Barrister /Legal Advisor to #irishwater #siteserv #fiannafail Bertie Ahern Denis O’Bribe and sister to Miriam ‘Sincerely’ O’Callaghan. Back to the old way? NEVER! Congratulation to the very hard working Criona Ni Dhalaigh ……. she will make an excellent Lord Mayor to follow in the footsteps of another excellent Lord Mayor Christy Burke. Stuff the begrudgers! There are good people in every Politicial Party and Criona ni Dhalaigh is one of them

Mute Sean Brody
    Favourite Sean Brody
    Jun 29th 2015, 7:08 PM

Sinn Fein just won King Billy’s Gold Chain

Mute Sean Brody
    Favourite Sean Brody

OH and a Royal Coach

Mute Shinnér Ó Bót
    Favourite Shinnér Ó Bót
    Jun 29th 2015, 7:35 PM

Not the first Sinn Féin lord, chortle.

Mute Juan Franc
    Favourite Juan Franc

Delighted for Criona and Sinn Fein.

Mute david dickson
    Favourite david dickson

Roll on 2016.

Mute The Todd
    Favourite The Todd
    Jun 29th 2015, 8:00 PM

I would’ve loved Hugh to write this article, or Orla for that matter #ira

Mute Diarmuid
    Favourite Diarmuid
    Jun 30th 2015, 1:22 AM

So you gents now troll the Journal’s staff, not just its commenters who aren’t rabid SF trolls?

Nice lads. You must be proud.

Mute The Todd
    Favourite The Todd
    Jun 30th 2015, 1:26 AM

Luckily we live in a free country, one in which I’m quite entitled to give my opinion on someone’s journalism, which although should be objective, sometimes seems to carry a lot of bias. You keep clutching at them straws there…

Mute Diarmuid
    Favourite Diarmuid
    Jun 30th 2015, 1:35 AM

Perhaps you should migrate to another publication where you would agree with everything, like An Phoblacht.

Mute The Todd
    Favourite The Todd
    Jun 30th 2015, 1:42 AM

Why would I go to what is most certainly a paper from a certain perspective. I tend to look at different sources, rather than having a closed mind. You should try it sometime

Mute Denise Friary
    Favourite Denise Friary

We the people of Dublin should vote for the mayor like London and New York.

Mute Sean Brody
    Favourite Sean Brody

London has a mayor and and a lord Mayor

Mute Supernova
    Favourite Supernova
    Jun 29th 2015, 7:14 PM

Nothing but confidence about her being mayor

Mute In The Name Of....
    Favourite In The Name Of....
    Jun 29th 2015, 7:24 PM

Cos mayor of Dublin is such a powerful institution with huge executive privileges. Isn’t there 4 mayors? Or one to rule them all?

Mute The Todd
    Favourite The Todd
    Jun 29th 2015, 7:27 PM

Maybe he’s saying he’s confident in all although she plays a minor role. Maybe it’s because she is playing a minor role that supernova is confident. Who’s to know. Either way, chill dude. Humble pie for tea maybe?

Mute Supernova
    Favourite Supernova

It doesn’t matter if her position isn’t all that meaningful, however important her roll is.. I have confidence in her doing her job well :)

Mute Michael Farrelly
    Favourite Michael Farrelly
    Jun 29th 2015, 8:55 PM

Really Supernova. Would her being in sinn Fein have anything to do with that ?

Mute Supernova
    Favourite Supernova
    Jun 29th 2015, 9:02 PM

It’s not just that. she’s well respected, and from what what I’ve heard she’s an astounding councilor. And anyway I’m a blueshirt die hard young fine Gael man.. Haven’t you noticed?

Mute Michael Farrelly
    Jun 29th 2015, 11:05 PM

Iv’e said before to you that I’m not a blueshirt or any other shirt. What saddens me is the blind party loyalty that goes on here and elsewhere. It’s party above all else with you all

Mute Michael Farrelly
    Jun 29th 2015, 11:07 PM

and I’m not young either :P

Mute Supernova
    Favourite Supernova
    Jun 30th 2015, 2:26 AM

Talking through your arse again Michael yeah. Broaden your horizon when it comes to politics mate

Mute phil
    Favourite phil
    Jun 29th 2015, 7:41 PM

So by your logic since SF won the most seats on the council, a directly elected SF mayor more than likely would have won that election too. I would say if that did happen you would still be on here giving out. Its great that SF wi hold this post for the commeration. The events of Easter week where ment to free all this island. Only one party since partition have done anything to try and help the Irishmen and Women from been shot off the streets up North.

Mute Old Gordon
    Favourite Old Gordon
    Jun 29th 2015, 7:47 PM

If it was done by PR, Sinn Féin would never hold a directly elected Dublin Mayor position. They might poll well on the first count, but that’s about it.

Mute OneTrueVoice
    Favourite OneTrueVoice

great news for democracy

Mute Sean Brody
    Favourite Sean Brody
    Jun 29th 2015, 7:23 PM

The lord mayor has little or no power

Mute Susan Doherty
    Favourite Susan Doherty
    Jun 29th 2015, 7:43 PM

The other parties are just afraid that sinn fein will show them up they will do the men and women of 1916 proud

Mute jane
    Favourite jane
    Jun 29th 2015, 10:00 PM

Do you think they’d be proud to have the SF leader campaigning to have Det. Gerry McCabes killers released early? Give me a break.

Mute Susan Doherty
    Favourite Susan Doherty
    Jun 29th 2015, 10:18 PM

Jane so you think that our 1916 leaders would be proud of ff, fg , or labour after what they’ve done get a grip.

See 45 more replies ▾
    Mute jane
    Favourite jane
    Jun 29th 2015, 10:30 PM

No I didn’t say that Susan. But you did say SF would do them proud.

Mute Susan Doherty
    Favourite Susan Doherty
    Jun 29th 2015, 10:37 PM

Yeah and they will no more to say.

Mute jane
    Favourite jane
    Jun 29th 2015, 10:43 PM

By supporting thieves and murderers? Well I believe those men and women died so the like of Gerry McCabe could go to work serving his country and protecting its citizens. They don’t deserve to be in anyway connected to a shower who would support the people who gunned him down and seriously injured his partner.

Mute Caoimhin O Hailpin
    Jun 29th 2015, 10:53 PM

“seriously injured his partner ” Jane what are you on about, i know you do not like the fact that there now is a Sinn Fein mayor of Derry, Belfast , Cork and Dublin but steady on a bit, or do you just think domes

Poor Jane, if that is your name bringing domestic violence into making your argument now how noble and concerned you are showing yourself to be

Mute Susan Doherty
    Favourite Susan Doherty
    Jun 29th 2015, 10:58 PM

Jane have you nothing else to do with your time well I do good night.

Mute justanothertaxpayer
    Favourite justanothertaxpayer
    Jun 29th 2015, 11:14 PM

@Caoimhin – so are you stating that you support the murder of Jerry McCabe? I couldn’t care less about the English titles your party covet, but I will never reconcile with the classic atonement of your ironically anti-british brigade.

Mute jane
    Favourite jane
    Jun 29th 2015, 11:23 PM

Detective Ben O’Sullivan, Gerry McCabes partner was also shot and seriously injured by those thugs your party tried to have released from jail. You seem to find this amusing. You make me sick.

Mute justanothertaxpayer
    Jun 30th 2015, 12:08 AM

@Caoimhin – you count murder as “domestic violence”??
    Really?

Mute Susan Doherty
    Favourite Susan Doherty
    Jun 30th 2015, 12:11 AM

This boy/girl dosnt get the message bog off.

Mute Tír Eoghain Gael
    Favourite Tír Eoghain Gael
    Jun 30th 2015, 12:34 AM

Jane, if you don’t mind me asking, did you for for the Good Friday Agreement?

Mute Tír Eoghain Gael
    Jun 30th 2015, 12:36 AM

*did you vote for the Good Friday Agreement?

Mute justanothertaxpayer
    Jun 30th 2015, 12:38 AM

Hey @Tir – same question.
    Do you count murder as “domestic violence”??

Mute jane
    Favourite jane
    Jun 30th 2015, 12:48 AM

Yes I did. These thugs were convicted after that agreement was signed and the government of the day that negotiated the agreement said it didn’t cover them. They shot a man in cold blood who was doing his job. These weren’t lads out defending Ireland from the English or anyone else, they were thieves robbing a bank.

Mute justanothertaxpayer
    Jun 30th 2015, 12:58 AM

Wonder if Gerry was Taoiseach would he negotiate with terrorists?

Mute Cllr Malachy Quinn
    Favourite Cllr Malachy Quinn
    Jun 30th 2015, 1:10 AM

Congratulations to my colleague Criona Ni Dalaigh & Dublin SF.

Mute Cllr Malachy Quinn
    Favourite Cllr Malachy Quinn
    Jun 30th 2015, 1:13 AM

Det Sergeant Gerry McCabe was one of over 3500 victims of the conflict & all that it brought – no more a victim than my Uncle or anyone else who lost there lives. May they all rest in peace & let peace be the prize for decades of division.

Mute Diarmuid
    Favourite Diarmuid
    Jun 30th 2015, 1:28 AM

Why did Sinn Fein members and elected representatives support the murderer of Garda McCabe upon his release?

Does SF support all murderers of Gardaí?

Mute Diarmuid
    Favourite Diarmuid
    Jun 30th 2015, 1:32 AM

Oh, and can we use your “let peace be the prize” spiel the next time British/Loyalist collusion comes up?

Mute jane
    Favourite jane
    Jun 30th 2015, 7:17 AM

Malachi I don’t know the circumstance of your uncles death but I am sorry for your loss. Detective Gerry McCabe was shot dead in the street by thugs robbing a bank. He was not a victim of conflict, he was a victim of greed and lawlessness. Det Gerry McCabe is a hero in my eyes. He was out doing his job protecting society from those who don’t believe the law applies to them. He was the one serving his country with honour, don’t even dare to make out they killed him because of a struggle to free Ireland.

Mute Tír Eoghain Gael
    Jun 30th 2015, 10:20 AM

Jane:

Their release, despite what Ahern & Michael McDowell claimed, was demanded by the Good Friday Agreement. It doesn’t matter in the slightest that they were convicted after the Agreement was signed. People to this day are being convicted of offences carried out before the Agreement and, under the terms of the Agreement, must be released early. A quick google will give you a list of news reports as long as your arm of people in such circumstances.

The Irish Government claimed it was negotiated otherwise for the Castlereagh prisoners without once providing any hard written evidence to back up that assertion. There was no footnote about the Castlereagh Prisoners in the Agreement. You can’t pick and choose which eligible prisoners should be released. The Irish government’s refusal to release the prisoners was, quite simply, totally contrary to the agreed terms of the GFA. I’m not condoning what happened in the slightest, but just stating that you cannot pick and choose which parts of the Agreement (which you voted for) that you’d like to cherry pick out and not see implemented as the Agreement demands. That’s not how it works.

Odd that you claim Garda McCabe was your hero yet you can’t as much as spell his name correctly. FYI, it’s ‘Jerry’, not ‘Gerry’.

Mute jane
    Favourite jane
    Jun 30th 2015, 10:49 AM

Funny that the high court who went over the agreement in detail didn’t seem to agree with your interpretation.
    I said Det. McCabe was a hero not my hero. He was protecting money, all of our money from thieves. In any decent persons eyes he is a hero.

Mute Tom Kenny
    Favourite Tom Kenny
    Jun 30th 2015, 11:03 AM

Jane notice that little personal attack at the end by Tír Eoghain Gael.
    Typical SF, they always make an attempt to ridicule, smear or embarrass you, to shut you up.

Mute Tír Eoghain Gael
    Jun 30th 2015, 11:21 AM

“Funny that the high court who went over the agreement in detail didn’t seem to agree with your interpretation.”

It did. After it’s judgement was based on a factual error where it believed no precedence in the 26 counties for prisoners convicted following the signing of the Good Friday agreement being released early. However this was not the case. For example John Carolan from County Cavan was convicted in in 2000 (more than two years after the agreement was signed) of possession of firearms before the GFA (almost two years after the killing of Garda McCabe). He was sentenced to four years imprisonment and released seven weeks later under the terms of the Good Friday Agreement.
    Padraig Steenson was convicted by the Special Criminal Court in 2000 of having possession of semtex explosives, incendiary devices, bomb parts in 1997 (a year before the GFA). He was sentenced in 2000 to seven years imprisonment and released within two months under the terms of the Good Friday Agreement.
    The Court was invited to reverse it’s decision considering it’s verdict centered on an argument which turned out to be false and it refused to do so. The refusal to grant early release ran totally contrary to the plain black & white text of the Agreement for no other reason that it suited Ahern to use them as political leverage/pawns.

“Det Gerry McCabe is a hero in my eyes”. Doesn’t that mean he is your hero too? No? Fair enough.

Mute Tír Eoghain Gael
    Jun 30th 2015, 11:22 AM

Good man Tom. Nothing like engaging in a conversation with someone to try to “shut them up”. I’m a fair crafty one alright to manage that.

P.s. How do you smear someone who’s identity is hidden?

Mute jane
    Favourite jane
    Jun 30th 2015, 11:47 AM

They shot dead a Guard on duty. There was no precedence. I don’t know how anyone could think they should have been released early.

Mute Tír Eoghain Gael
    Jun 30th 2015, 11:55 AM

“They shot dead a Guard on duty. There was no precedence.”
    Not to sound cold but Jane, and I know the people of the 26 counties, given a chance regularly elevate Jean McConville and Jerry McCabe right to the top of a clearly defined hierarchy of victims (though I’d safely say most in the 26 counties would genuinely struggle to name two more victims of the 40 year conflict, and would certainly struggle to name two victims of the British state forces throughout), the reality you have to accept is that the GFA doesn’t differentiate between victims. It doesn’t outline a hierarchy of victims.

” I don’t know how anyone could think they should have been released early.”
    It’s not rocket science. They should have been released early because 83% of the people of Ireland (including yourself) voted for an Agreement which granted them the right to early release. Like I say, you cannot cherry pick out the part of the Agreement that you don’t like. If you voted for the Agreement, you voted for it in it’s entirety.

Mute jane
    Favourite jane
    Jun 30th 2015, 11:59 AM

He was a victim of thugs robbing a bank. Conflict my arse.

Mute Tír Eoghain Gael
    Jun 30th 2015, 12:07 PM

You can get emotional and angry about it all you want but it was still a paramilitary action carried out before the GFA and as such comes under the terms of early release as voted for by yourself and most of the people of Ireland. Like it or not, you voted for it.

Mute jane
    Favourite jane
    Jun 30th 2015, 12:18 PM

Well then why weren’t they released? Seems strange to me. These thugs should never have seen the outside again. Killing a Guard on duty should mean life in prison, no excuses and no trying to use a peace process to worm your way out. It’s disgusting.

Mute Diarmuid
    Favourite Diarmuid
    Jun 30th 2015, 12:21 PM

TEG.. so you going to apply the same standards to Loyalist terrorism/collusion?

I think not.

Why does Sinn Féin support so many PIRA terrorists, like the murderer of Garda McCabe?

You like to tell everyone the PIRA and SF are not affiliated.

Mute Diarmuid
    Favourite Diarmuid
    Jun 30th 2015, 12:23 PM

It was not a sanctioned paramilitary/terrorist act, it was a brutal crime committed individually outside of paramilitary “orders”. The individual should still be in prison.

Whatever happened to that guy btw?

Mute jane
    Favourite jane
    Jun 30th 2015, 12:25 PM

He’s back where he belongs as far as I know. But good that he got out to assault someone else.

Mute Tír Eoghain Gael
    Jun 30th 2015, 12:33 PM

“Well then why weren’t they released?”
    Because the High Court made a decision based on misleading information, as I already outlined.

“These thugs should never have seen the outside again. Killing a Guard on duty should mean life in prison, no excuses and no trying to use a peace process to worm your way out. It’s disgusting.”
    Should’a, could’a, would’a. Changes nothing. Fact remains that you and the people of Ireland voted for the GFA. You can’t pick and choose what bits you can keep and what you can change.

Mute jane
    Favourite jane
    Jun 30th 2015, 12:55 PM

If they were covered under it they’d have been released. Simples.

Mute jane
    Favourite jane
    Jun 30th 2015, 12:58 PM

Simple

Mute Tír Eoghain Gael
    Jun 30th 2015, 1:03 PM

OK then bearing in mind that the High Court’s judgement was based on incorrect information, you will have no problem quoting the GFA’s section outlining why these prisoners were inelligable for early release. Stick it up here for us to read.

Mute jane
    Favourite jane
    Jun 30th 2015, 1:17 PM

I’m not a high court judge and as I said earlier they did go through it in detail so I’m going to go with them.
    This is all aside to the fact that an innocent man going about his days work was gunned down by thugs and SF campaigned for the killers release. Shame on them.

Mute Tír Eoghain Gael
    Jun 30th 2015, 1:27 PM

They campaigned for their release because, like it or not, you along with the overwhelming majority of the Irish people voted for their release. I’m not asking you for the High Courts ruling in detail since it transpired afterwards that it was a ruling based on incorrect information so it is of no consequence. You are claiming the GFA doesn’t cover their early release. I’m asking you to post up the line from the GFA to prove this claim. You argument would be watertight if you just put up the line from the Agreement to back it up so why don’t you?

Mute jane
    Favourite jane
    Jun 30th 2015, 1:42 PM

Again I’ll go with the high court. If they were wrong how come it wasn’t appealed?

Mute Tír Eoghain Gael
    Jun 30th 2015, 1:58 PM

Because they refused to allow an appeal without stating a reason so you can’t really “go with the High Court” since they have no judgement based on facts to “go with”. All that remains therefor is for you to simply quote what part of the GFA that marks them down as inelligible for early release. I’m waiting…

Mute jane
    Favourite jane
    Jun 30th 2015, 2:06 PM

According to you it wasn’t based on facts. As I have said over and over I haven’t studied the agreement but the high court judges did. You can keep asking I’ll keep giving the same answer.

Mute Caoimhin O Hailpin
    Jun 30th 2015, 9:40 PM

The same answer ” Jane” no answer

Mute jane
    Favourite jane
    Jun 30th 2015, 10:30 PM

It’s an answer Caoimhin, just one that doesn’t suit your agenda.

Mute Caoimhin O Hailpin
    Jun 30th 2015, 11:34 PM

You are consistently faiil to answer but sur quelle surprise as you stated yourself elsewhere you just hate Sinn Fein…TAL

Mute jane
    Favourite jane
    Jul 1st 2015, 12:25 AM

You feel the need to keep reminding me, I know I don’t like SF, I haven’t forgotten. You were fairly select yourself on the questions you answered last night so maybe sort yourself out before ranting about me. I answered the question repeatedly. If you can’t understand my answer well I can’t help that.

Mute Juan Franc
    Favourite Juan Franc

I don’t know why the bitter loyalist here is so upset,Easter 1916 and the Zulu wars are the only events in British milliitary history that the Orange order and uvf/uda don’t pound the roads all Summer long commentating.

Mute Big Yellow Crane
    Favourite Big Yellow Crane
    Jun 29th 2015, 8:09 PM

Commentating? That might be funner.

Mute fuve
    Favourite fuve
    Jun 29th 2015, 7:48 PM

What’s buggibg me is it seems to me the only people trying to wreck our commemoration is ff etc.. they are trying to put a negative tag on it by not supporting sf and their mayor and wishing her well and helping out. We are all Irish and SF have as much right as next to be in the position they are in.

Mute E. O'Leary
    Favourite E. O'Leary
    Jun 29th 2015, 7:12 PM

Christ almighty the lunatics are running the asylum.

Mute E. O'Leary
    Favourite E. O'Leary

The less those looneys have the better!

Mute The Todd
    Favourite The Todd
    Jun 29th 2015, 7:39 PM

You should be in an asylum. TAL

Mute Caoimhin O Hailpin
    Jun 29th 2015, 10:40 PM

Ya since 1923 u8nfortunately

Mute Caoimhin O Hailpin
    Jun 30th 2015, 12:36 AM

PP how many votes do you think you would get if you stood for election ?

Mute justanothertaxpayer
    Jun 30th 2015, 12:45 AM

depends… with or without the guns?

Mute Caoimhin O Hailpin
    Jun 30th 2015, 9:42 PM

PP and justanothertaxpayer ye speak for each other then ?

Mute Eóin Brown (De Brún)
    Favourite Eóin Brown (De Brún)
    Jun 29th 2015, 8:04 PM

Well done Críona you will be a fantastic mayor as you have been a fantastic councillor :-)

Mute fuve
    Favourite fuve
    Jun 29th 2015, 7:38 PM

Best of luck Criona and SF. I would say dream come true for Gerry to be apart of all of Ireland and to be serving TD in his country especially with 2016 coming around.

Mute David Doyle
    Favourite David Doyle
    Jun 29th 2015, 8:27 PM

I’m sure he’ll enjoy watching a Fine Gael Taoiseach taking the salute from the armed forces outside the GPO, alright.

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Jun 29th 2015, 8:46 PM

In the unlikely event that he’s taoiseach, inda will be too busy making sure the queens cushion is nicely plumped up.

Mute Caoimhin O Hailpin
    Jun 29th 2015, 10:48 PM

The new Mayor of Dublin is a “she” not a “he” Mr Doyle

Mute Tom Kenny
    Favourite Tom Kenny
    Jun 30th 2015, 1:34 AM

Gerry is a TD ok but calling him serving is stretching it

Mute Tap Solny
    Favourite Tap Solny
    Jun 29th 2015, 7:18 PM

Embarrassing, disconcerting, shameful, incommodious, mortifying, unseemly, distressing, disturbing. I just cannot find the right word to fit this catastrophic event.

Mute Glenard
    Favourite Glenard

How about sick Patrick ?
    Does that one word sum you up at the minute?

Mute In The Name Of....

Meaningless.

See 20 more replies ▾
    Mute E. O'Leary
    Favourite E. O'Leary

It’s absolutely shocking! What if someone asks me who my Lord Mayor is? I can’t even pronounce her bloody name.

Mute Supernova
    Favourite Supernova
    Jun 29th 2015, 7:28 PM
    Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    Jun 29th 2015, 7:36 PM

Don’t worry E. O’Leary…as long as the Irish can pronounce it everything will be fine.

Mute In The Name Of....
    Jun 29th 2015, 7:38 PM

Al ca, so a SF mayor is only a mayor for Irish people, not all residents of the city? What about Gerry, the Brit?

Mute D'unredactable
    Favourite D'unredactable
    Jun 29th 2015, 7:40 PM

Stick it in a paaawwhhn!

Mute The Todd
    Favourite The Todd

Pedantic much there. In the name of… Maturity

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    Jun 29th 2015, 7:44 PM

Actually, In The Name Of…….I wouldn’t care if they had a Polish or a Nigerian name as long as they were good in the position as Lord Mayor but I wouldn’t be looking for trivial stuff like name pronunciation to try to knock them down before they even start.

Mute Shawn Rahoon
    Favourite Shawn Rahoon
    Jun 29th 2015, 7:59 PM

TAL Sopny. Although that’s two words:):):)

Mute richard fennessy
    Favourite richard fennessy
    Jun 29th 2015, 8:29 PM

Tap don’t be so hard on yourself

Mute Sliabh Na MBan
    Favourite Sliabh Na MBan
    Jun 29th 2015, 8:57 PM

And whose fault is that?

Mute Noreen Lunney
    Favourite Noreen Lunney
    Jun 29th 2015, 9:07 PM

catastrophic event i think you need to calm down have a wee cup of tea and collect yourself. don’t be drinking the bitter orange stuff we all know what that does to you.

Mute Caoimhin O Hailpin
    Jun 29th 2015, 10:43 PM

Democracy perhaps is the word that escapes you

Mute justanothertaxpayer
    Jun 29th 2015, 11:00 PM

No doubt it is democratic Caoimhin… it also epitomises everything wrong with politics in Ireland. Personal glory supersedes people needs.

Mute Caoimhin O Hailpin
    Jun 30th 2015, 12:37 AM

You appear to have difficulty with the concept of democracy

Mute justanothertaxpayer
    Jun 30th 2015, 12:47 AM

I have a problem with people being shot because they disagree with my political viewpoint.
    In the absence of that, I haver a problem with cowards that can’t state it.

Mute justanothertaxpayer
    Jun 30th 2015, 12:49 AM

Feel free to come clean here Caoimhin… We are all dying to know

Mute The Todd
    Favourite The Todd
    Jun 30th 2015, 12:57 AM

You’ve a problem with people being shot yet you’ve no problem with making what I hope was a joke in regards to increasing our suicide rates. Your moral compass seems to be a tad off, but then that’s not a shock to anyone

Mute Tom Kenny
    Favourite Tom Kenny
    Jun 30th 2015, 1:45 AM

What is a shock is to hear anyone from SF talk about a moral compass

Mute The Todd
    Favourite The Todd
    Jun 30th 2015, 1:49 AM

A party that wants to protect the most marginalised in this country? Madness alright. I was born in 1991, so unfortunately you can’t tar me which that brush that you’d like to…

Mute Caoimhin O Hailpin
    Jun 30th 2015, 9:53 PM

people with silly makey up names to enable themselves to throw dirt and calling for people who do not hide their identity to come clean hmmmm

Mute michaelhenry
    Favourite michaelhenry
    Jun 29th 2015, 8:25 PM

Well done Criona- good luck in the year ahead-

Well Done Sinn Fein- Mayor of Dublin cork Belfast Tyrone etc for the hundred anniversary commemorations next year-

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Jun 29th 2015, 8:19 PM

Heard O’Callaghan on George Hook earlier.

noun – verb – SF. Noun – verb – SF. Noun – verb – SF………

Cringeworthy stuff, even by the soldiers of dysenterys low standards

Mute John Lennox
    Favourite John Lennox
    Jun 29th 2015, 9:19 PM

It is the only chance he has to get a public profile and a bit of media attention.

Would not be surprised if he even voted for her himself.

Mute Mr Phil Officer
    Favourite Mr Phil Officer
    Jun 29th 2015, 9:29 PM

JOC thinks his stunt to hijack proceedings for publicity will give him a PR boost, a slimy sneaky political stunt that is all to typical of the FF party.

Mute Diarmuid
    Favourite Diarmuid
    Jun 30th 2015, 1:26 AM

In fairness, SF have lied to the Irish people for decades claiming to be the true descendants of 1916. Even though their claim is farcical.

No harm keeping their nonsense and revisionism in check.

Mute Juan Franc
    Favourite Juan Franc
    Jun 29th 2015, 7:45 PM

Pahahahahahahahahahahahaha…………………we will have a right bit of craic with the Journals pet bitter loyalist for the rest of this year,next year and probably part of 2017

Mute Robert Emmet
    Favourite Robert Emmet
    Jun 29th 2015, 8:38 PM

Great news for Dublin. We should al be proud to have a member of a progressive party in the Mansion House.

The men and women who fought for our freedom in 1916 deserve to have a true republican as Mayor of Dublin standing outside the GPO representing all of us at centenary celebrations.

However, we will have nothing to celebrate if the Irish are stupid enough to elect a Fianna Fail and/or Fine Gael government. 1916 was a fight for equality. Sinn Fein can bring equality with prosperity for all. Respect our Mayor, respect our city, respect our republican tradition and respect our country and vote Sinn Féin.

Mute Pat Snack
    Favourite Pat Snack
    Jun 29th 2015, 7:22 PM

Well the current Sinn Fein weren’t around during 1916 so it’s good that they’re given a small role for the 100 year anniversary.

Mute OneTrueVoice
    Favourite OneTrueVoice
    Jun 29th 2015, 7:40 PM

they should really call themselves ‘Sinn Fein 2.0′ or ‘Sinn Fein Re-imagined’ if they were being honest about their founding in the 1970s, but taking on the name as a sort of homage to a party that existed 45 years before that.

Mute David Doyle
    Favourite David Doyle
    Jun 29th 2015, 8:26 PM

Maybe they could call themselves Syriza?

Mute Alan Ball
    Favourite Alan Ball
    Jun 29th 2015, 7:25 PM

One party hijacking a national celebration….that said… I expect them to screw it up,Jobs for the boys and all that…no pun intended.

Mute The Todd
    Favourite The Todd
    Jun 29th 2015, 7:29 PM

Hahaha it wasn’t the GE, pal

Mute fuve
    Favourite fuve

Alan you are very misguided. Do you know SF send out emails to their members( like if you were) for jobs that are available in their party? They don’t do jobs for the boys. That’s fg ff labs.

See 15 more replies ▾
    Mute Alan Ball
    Favourite Alan Ball
    Jun 29th 2015, 8:01 PM

@ fuve Anyone who criticises or disagrees with the SF brigade is misguided.The possibility of one of ye ever having an individual thought is almost zero.Ye jump .sit and roll over for your masters like the institutionalised persons ye are in general.Hiding behind stupid names and ridiculous avatars.I do not know why I bother…..carry on….I like a good laugh….Lord knows SF are not short of providing them…..

Mute jane
    Favourite jane
    Jun 29th 2015, 8:03 PM

Unless you’re a county councillor in east Cork of course. Then it’s jobs for the girls.

Mute The Todd
    Favourite The Todd
    Jun 29th 2015, 8:08 PM

Ye imagine someone getting the boot for stopping charities money. Suppose other parties would’ve overlooked that

Mute jane
    Favourite jane
    Jun 29th 2015, 8:12 PM

Well if that’s the reason Todd why are all the other SF members down there resigning in protest? Did they all get a piece of the cash?

Mute The Todd
    Favourite The Todd
    Jun 29th 2015, 8:15 PM

Nobody took cash. Don’t be overly quick to jump to conclusions. God knows if you did your research you could find out, rather than riding on the back of the odd journal article

Mute Powerabbey
    Favourite Powerabbey
    Jun 29th 2015, 8:18 PM

Not how it operates in Cork I understand!

Mute jane
    Favourite jane
    Jun 29th 2015, 8:20 PM

So what’s the problem then Todd?

Mute The Todd
    Favourite The Todd
    Jun 29th 2015, 8:23 PM

Google is your friend

Mute jane
    Favourite jane
    Jun 29th 2015, 8:26 PM

So why are they all resigning Todd? Why was Mullane suspended?

Mute The Todd
    Favourite The Todd
    Jun 29th 2015, 8:33 PM

I haven’t been talking to each individual but I presume it was in some sort of strange solidarity thing

Mute jane
    Favourite jane
    Jun 29th 2015, 8:41 PM

Very strange indeed.

Mute The Todd
    Favourite The Todd
    Jun 29th 2015, 8:44 PM

Ye I agree it is a slight bit weird, mind you the person at the centre of all this said the party couldn’t have handled it better and were very helpful and quick to act

Mute Caoimhin O Hailpin
    Jun 29th 2015, 10:39 PM

I would wager that there may be a slight difference in the number of members who the Journal.ie state have resigned and the number of actual written resignations, but sur Jane as you say yourself ” I just dont like Sinn Fein” so your concern is touching

Mute jane
    Favourite jane
    Jun 30th 2015, 12:10 AM

No Caoimhin I don’t like political parties who support the murderers of Detective McCabe. Your party leader actively campaigned for their release. Shame on him and shame on you.

Mute justanothertaxpayer
    Jun 30th 2015, 12:43 AM

@Caoimhin – Any chance you will comment on the murder of Detective McCabe? Just so we all know where you stand before voting for you.

Mute Mick Hannigan
    Favourite Mick Hannigan
    Jun 29th 2015, 9:02 PM

well done for SF,

Mute Robert Emmet
    Favourite Robert Emmet
    Jun 29th 2015, 8:40 PM

Great news for Dublin. We should all be proud to have a member of a progressive party in the Mansion House.

The men and women who fought for our freedom in 1916 deserve to have a true republican as Mayor of Dublin standing outside the GPO representing all of us at centenary celebrations.

However, we will have nothing to celebrate if the Irish are stupid enough to elect a Fianna Fail and/or Fine Gael government. 1916 was a fight for equality. Sinn Fein can bring equality with prosperity for all. Respect our Mayor, respect our city, respect our republican tradition and respect our country and vote Sinn Féin.

Mute Thomas Mac
    Favourite Thomas Mac
    Jun 29th 2015, 7:10 PM

This is popcorn time

Mute Tony Shaw
    Favourite Tony Shaw
    Jun 29th 2015, 7:58 PM

Another step down the slippy slope. Maragret Thatcher once said “The problem with socialism is that you eventually run out of other peoples money”. The Greeks are now discovering this. SF would have us in the same boat.

Mute Supernova
    Favourite Supernova
    Jun 29th 2015, 8:11 PM

Quote Hitler while your at it Tony

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    Jun 29th 2015, 8:14 PM

Really Tony………Socialists and other peoples money? …..the capitalists are having a fine time plugging the holes in their poor financial decisions with other peoples money. At least be balanced with your thinking.

Mute Noreen Lunney
    Favourite Noreen Lunney
    Jun 29th 2015, 8:56 PM

maggie thatcher the embodiment of humanity. when trying to insult people don’t use quotes from a woman who would of give oliver cromwell a run for his money.

Mute Paul Wallace
    Favourite Paul Wallace
    Jun 29th 2015, 9:03 PM

@tony I think you’ve been PWNED

Mute Cormac Dublin
    Favourite Cormac Dublin

This is a complete mockery of #Democracy time we demand a #DirectlyElectedMayorForDublinNow
    #LordMayorDublin
    http://t.co/5bDZKAQwwg

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    Jun 29th 2015, 7:39 PM

So….things didn’t go you way?

Mute The Todd
    Favourite The Todd

No doubt this will be the call ringing around all the parties now

Mute Mr Phil Officer
    Favourite Mr Phil Officer
    Jun 29th 2015, 8:38 PM

Haha the sour losers, they sound like the Brazil manager who called the cup worthless straight after they got knocked out, and as for that despicable little runt Mannix and his disgraceful comments afterwards, he is a sore loser as well.

Mute justanothertaxpayer
    Jun 29th 2015, 10:55 PM

I love the idea of a mayor to represent the people, personify the pride of Dublin – stand as a beacon of light against our miserable history of conflict and backward thinking. Someone that abhors murder and criminality. Unfortunately, we didn’t get that. We have what’s it’s face

Mute The Todd
    Favourite The Todd
    Jun 29th 2015, 11:12 PM

It’s comments like that which make you look ridiculous

Mute justanothertaxpayer
    Jun 30th 2015, 1:00 AM

Don’t listen to him Cormac. You made a reasonable point.

Mute IrishGravyTrain
    Favourite IrishGravyTrain

Can we not just fast forward to 2017. My head hurts. Not looking forward to Easter 2016 and all the Political Parties trying to outdo each other for importance before the General Election. Already ruined.

Mute OneTrueVoice
    Favourite OneTrueVoice
    Jun 29th 2015, 7:52 PM

Easter Rising In The Polls.

I heard Gerry is going to shave his beard off so you can more easily recognise him in photos from 1916.

Mute Terry Fagan
    Favourite Terry Fagan
    Jun 29th 2015, 11:19 PM

Poor “RICH” Fianna Fáil Councillor Jim O’Callaghan is very upset over Sinn Féin’s Criona Ni Dhalaigh getting the Lord Mayor of Dublin. I’m sure his good friend Denis O’Brien can get him a gold chain to go around his tick neck. Congratulations to Lord Mayor Criona Ni Dhalaigh and to Sinn Féin.

Mute Chris O'Ceallaigh
    Favourite Chris O'Ceallaigh
    Jun 29th 2015, 11:34 PM

Happy days

Mute Joey Gee
    Favourite Joey Gee

A deal is a deal.

Mute Herewegoagain
    Favourite Herewegoagain
    Jun 29th 2015, 9:01 PM

Who the hell is she?? Never heard of her.

Mute Supernova
    Favourite Supernova
    Jun 29th 2015, 9:07 PM

Are you Nicky graham from big brother?

Mute Edward Smith
    Favourite Edward Smith
    Jun 29th 2015, 11:59 PM

No better woman:-)

Mute Paul Wallace
    Favourite Paul Wallace
    Jun 29th 2015, 9:00 PM

Does this mean SF will hijack the 1916 thing next year ?

Mute Supernova
    Favourite Supernova
    Jun 29th 2015, 9:06 PM

No just commemorate properly, what fg and ff would fail to do

Mute jane
    Favourite jane
    Jun 29th 2015, 10:18 PM

I hope not Paul. I genuinely hope that this will be a celebration for the country.

Mute justanothertaxpayer
    Jun 29th 2015, 10:50 PM

it’s all about the terrorists…
    it’s not fair to call it murder you know.

Mute Jerry Adams
    Favourite Jerry Adams
    Jun 29th 2015, 7:46 PM

gerry for

Mute Big Yellow Crane
    Favourite Big Yellow Crane
    Jun 29th 2015, 8:13 PM

Others nil?

Mute justanothertaxpayer
    Jun 29th 2015, 10:49 PM

ah well – I suppose it was too much to hope for that we wouldn’t have a terrorist sympathiser at the forefront for the commemoration. With any luck, Tunisia may be forgotten by the time this comes around.

Mute Ger Buckley
    Favourite Ger Buckley
    Jun 30th 2015, 12:27 AM

off to get my coat. goodnight dublin sleep well

Mute Mindfulirish
    Favourite Mindfulirish
    Jun 29th 2015, 11:03 PM

We will be force fed Irish, and it may even be better as their English speaking is embarressing it is so bad. Going out to a world audience it is cringe worthy.

Mute Supernova
    Favourite Supernova
    Jun 29th 2015, 11:17 PM

Laughable! You do realize there are countries inspired by the events of 1916. So the idea of the celebrations going out to a world audience “cringe worthy” is just your deluded opinion.

Mute justanothertaxpayer
    Jun 30th 2015, 1:04 AM

you realise that the people that participate in 1916 were ordered to stand down and as a result, actually were traitors? Perhaps you should read up on your history…

Mute sean de paore
    Favourite sean de paore
    Jun 30th 2015, 6:27 AM

Very little to celebrate from 1916. A couple of hundred”Fenians” acting against democrats of the time.
    By the way, best of luck to the new Dublin mayor. FF are as likely to be against her gender than her political badge.

Mute Ken Pepper
    Favourite Ken Pepper
    Jun 30th 2015, 2:54 AM

*something about water charges*

Mute Jeff Byrne
    Favourite Jeff Byrne
    Oct 19th 2015, 7:11 PM

That Mannix Flynn fella wanna hang up his boots, he’s a jailbird