You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

John Halligan Sam Boal/Photocall Ireland

TD warned: 'Your days are numbered, check under your car'

Waterford deputy John Halligan has received a death threat in the wake of his criticism of the actions of some pro-life campaigners in the Dáil this week.

WATERFORD TD JOHN Halligan has revealed that an email containing a death threat was sent to his office this morning in the wake of his comments about the increasingly heated abortion debate earlier this week.

Halligan said that one of the staff in his office opened the email addressed to him this morning. He described its content as “very sexually orientated” and “abusive” and said the email was signed by a man but he did not identify him.

“The main threat was that ‘your days are numbered, check under your car,’” he told TheJournal.ie this afternoon saying the correspondence is “absolutely linked” to his comments in the Dáil about the abortion debate. The email has been reported to the gardaí.

Speaking during Leaders’ Questions yesterday, Halligan told Tánaiste Eamon Gilmore that TDs are being subjected to a series of threats from people opposed to the abortion legislation.

“Some [TDs] have been ambushed outside of their house, they have been spat at, they have been threatened that their house will be burned down and one has even been threatened with having her throat cut,” he said yesterday.

Speaking today, Halligan said that he would not be intimidated by the threats and would not be “checking under my car every day” but said that the contents of the email had been very upsetting for staff in his office.

“I was upset for the girls in the office having to read the terrible sexual content in it,” he said. “My main issue is that if he was let away with this and he has some personal differences with someone else, can he make this threat again to someone else?”

Fundamentalists

Halligan said it was not the first time he had been threatened and intimidated by what he said were pro-life campaigners.

“They came to my door in the middle of the night and pushed leaflets through the letterbox and they corralled me while I was out walking with my partner on a beach in Tramore,” he said.

“They wouldn’t listen to what I had to say. One said I’d be better off digging a hole and jumping into it.

“There is a minority of them. I think they’re a sizable minority that are carrying on like this but my argument in the Dáíl was that the Catholic Church are not standing up and condemning this.”

Halligan, who is in favour of expanding the abortion law to make terminations available to women who are raped or whose foetuses have fatal abnormalities, said that many within the pro-life movement are reasonable, but some are not.

“Pro life people are reasonable but there are others who are completely unreasonable. We talk about fundamentalists in the Muslim world, well these are just a pack of fundamentalists, we have it here in Ireland.

“Nobody should be corralled into a position that they don’t want to be in, no one should be threatened,” he added.

He also challenged senator Rónán Mullen to produce evidence of specific threats sent to him about his stance on abortion following the pro-life campaigner’s comments this week that every politician was receiving “nasty messages”.

Rónán Mullen: Taoiseach playing the victim over nasty abortion messages

Taoiseach: I’m being branded a murderer and getting letters written in blood

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

147 Comments
    Mute Dónal Ó Catháin
    Favourite Dónal Ó Catháin
    Jun 14th 2013, 7:39 PM

That is hypocritical is it not? Being Pro-Life and all that

Mute Mark Sweetman
    Favourite Mark Sweetman
    Jun 14th 2013, 8:20 PM

very much inverted commas “pro-life”. Bunch of cowards anyway. Won’t even let the public know who they are.

Mute Stephen Mc Elligott
    Favourite Stephen Mc Elligott
    Jun 14th 2013, 8:43 PM

Fine Gael Senator Fidelma Healy Eames reported that she receivd the same type of threats from pro choicers. But you won’t hear THAT covered by the journal. http://www.fidelmahealyeames.ie

Fact is both sides are at it, just happens that the media prefer to be biased to the pro abortionist debate as always in an attempt to make the pro life campaigners look like loonies. However I would urge those who claim to be pro life and make these threats to take the cue of the 40,000 who peacefully held a vigil recently in protest to the governments legislation for abortion in Merrion square.

See 61 more replies ▾
    Mute John Everyman
    Favourite John Everyman
    Jun 14th 2013, 8:47 PM

“pro abortionist”

And that in a nutshell is why nobody takes you seriously Stephen.

Mute Rob Hunt
    Favourite Rob Hunt
    Jun 14th 2013, 8:53 PM

Stephen: so that’s your excuse? It’s all tit for tat? This is absolutely disgusting behaviour no matter which side it comes from. I’m pro-choice and I would condemn anyone with the same beliefs as me who acted this way or sent such vile threats. The fact that you’re justifying it by saying that someone on your side experienced the same thing speaks volumes.

If Fidelma Healy Eames has recieved such threats she should submit the relevant info to the gardaí if she hasn’t already done so. I would imagine that almost anyone on either side of this debate has received threats from extreme elements and it’s never acceptable, but why aren’t you being a good Christian and condemning death threats?

Mute Stephen Mc Elligott
    Jun 14th 2013, 8:58 PM

I obviously do condemn the threats which is why I urged those who do make these threats to take the cue of the 40,000 who peacefully protetested in Dublin recently. I am not trying to justify any bad behaviour but shedding light on the obvious media bias by highlighting the fact that they only seem interested in covering stories about Tds being threatened by alleged pro lifers. It’s unfair and unprofessional journalism.

Mute John Everyman
    Favourite John Everyman
    Jun 14th 2013, 9:03 PM

If you feel there is a journalistic bias on this site, there are plenty more news and current affirs websites on the net.

Mute Shane McGivern
    Favourite Shane McGivern
    Jun 14th 2013, 9:12 PM

I really wish the journal had an ignore user button. Stephen the 1930′s called looking for thier backward views back…

Mute Rita Melendez Wardick
    Favourite Rita Melendez Wardick
    Jun 14th 2013, 9:14 PM
    Jun 14th 2013, 9:17 PM

Everyone knows what side all the head-bangers are on!

Jun 14th 2013, 9:21 PM

@ Jamie…yeah, we sure do!…

Mute Stephen Mc Elligott
    Jun 14th 2013, 9:27 PM

And most if not all them make deliberate mistakes like the Journal John. I don’t avoid people because of their mistakes John. I do what any concerned reader would do and that is call them up for their misbehaviour. I don’t just bury my head in the sand and walk away when I see an injustice. I speak out against it. It already looks like the journal already agree with me and invite people to send them a comment to correct their articles with the use of a little send tip button at the end of each article they create. However, having had my comments removed by a journalist on this site on a pro life and abortion discussion ( which was clean cut and did not contradict their policy) in the past, I think sending such tips is rather useless, much better to get into the public and comment here instead methinks.

Mute John Everyman
    Favourite John Everyman
    Jun 14th 2013, 9:31 PM

“I don’t just bury my head in the sand and walk away when I see an injustice. I speak out against it”

Can I ask then Stephen why you have never spoken out against the injustice that sees thousands of Irish women are forced to go abroad to access abortion services.

Mute Stephen Mc Elligott
    Jun 14th 2013, 9:40 PM

John your obvious attempt to lure me into a lengthy and windy pro life vs pro abortiomist discussion is painfully obvious. Lets stop the distractions please. The focus is on the injustice done here in this article above and many like it. Either you admit the journal are being biased in nature or you carry on deflecting the issue raised in my comments, in which case I am under no obligation to reply as it loses focus on the main points I make on this article and the journals obvious agenda.

Mute Ciaran Dillon
    Favourite Ciaran Dillon
    Jun 14th 2013, 9:43 PM

Stephen you can use the 40,000 figure as many times as you want, it doesn’t make it so. Far less attended that rally. When one considers the amount of kids showing up at these rallies the actual number of those that chose to be there falls even further. I’ve yet to meet a kid throwing a tantrum because mammy and daddy wouldn’t bring him to the ‘pro-life’ rally that all his friends were going to.

Mute John Everyman
    Favourite John Everyman
    Jun 14th 2013, 9:52 PM

I make no attempt to lure you into anything. What I asked, and what I ask again is who you, as a man who claims to stand against injustice, never spoke out against the injustice of this state forcing our sisters, daughters and mothers to travel abroad to access abortion services.

Jun 14th 2013, 9:55 PM

@ Stephen….40,000 a conservative estimate…guess you had to be there!

Mute Ciaran Dillon
    Favourite Ciaran Dillon
    Jun 14th 2013, 9:58 PM

Ha. Just cause you are a conservative doesn’t mean your estimates are…

Mute John Everyman
    Favourite John Everyman
    Jun 14th 2013, 9:59 PM

Newsflash folks. Even if the number was place 40k, that in this country of over 4 million does not a majority make.

Mute Ciaran Dillon
    Favourite Ciaran Dillon
    Jun 14th 2013, 10:01 PM

You are of course correct John.

Jun 14th 2013, 10:01 PM

Like I said…guess u had to be there!…

Mute Daniel Dunne
    Favourite Daniel Dunne
    Jun 14th 2013, 10:02 PM

JOHN EVERYMAN: “Can I ask then Stephen why you have never spoken out against the [b]injustice[/b] that sees thousands of Irish women are [b]forced[/b] to go abroad to access abortion services.”

The [b] injustice [/b] is against human life…
    No woman is [b] forced [/b] to travel to the UK…

Pro-life people condemn the actions against John Halligan.
    Pro-life people disapprove of intentional destruction of human life in the womb.

Jun 14th 2013, 10:03 PM

Lol…

Lol…Ciaran!

Mute Ciaran Dillon
    Favourite Ciaran Dillon
    Jun 14th 2013, 10:04 PM

What are you talking about Rita? Even your headline speaker didn’t feel the need to be there…

Jun 14th 2013, 10:06 PM

Like I said Ciaran…guess u had to be there….go figure!…

Mute Stephen Mc Elligott
    Jun 14th 2013, 10:07 PM

I am not a conservative. I am a Christian. And Christians happen to be the most liberal people I know, for there is liberty and freedom in Jesus Christ. It is not the illusory liberalism of the world who tells us that we are free to do whatever we want, but the authentic liberalism, a liberalism that tells us freedom is not found in doing whatever we like ……but to do what we ought to and what is right.

Mute John Everyman
    Favourite John Everyman
    Jun 14th 2013, 10:10 PM

@ Daniel.

When a woman cannot access medical services in her own country she is forced to travel abroad.

Additionally, when a woman is denied medical services in her own country, that is an injustice.

This isn’t rocket science.

Mute Ciaran Dillon
    Favourite Ciaran Dillon
    Jun 14th 2013, 10:11 PM

Feel free to explain that comment with the use of examples Stephen.

Mute Rob Hunt
    Favourite Rob Hunt
    Jun 14th 2013, 10:13 PM

Rita: I was there. I went as a photographer and ended up speaking to quite a few people there. A lot of those I spoke to were reasonable and made a number of points I agreed with, and likewise a lot of them were waving rosaries and wringing their hands worriedly. I also spoke to a woman whose parish priest had told the congregation that it was sinful of them not to attend and had arranged a bus for them all.

40K is a massive exaggeration, especially considering at least a busload of people were there as a result of religious blackmail.

@ Stephen….well said Stephen!…

Mute John Murray
    Favourite John Murray

@Stephen in Fidelmas ‘press release’ did she not say

“but I think on balance it may be better to alert the Gardaí. I also think that’s it a more prudent approach
    than drawing attention to the details of such threats in the media.”

So she’s doesn’t want media coverage and has informed the authorities i would assume from that. unless she’s talking through her hat that is.

Mute John Murray
    Favourite John Murray
    Jun 14th 2013, 10:22 PM

I would add that it isn’t news unless an official complaint has been made. Why would the journal re-release a press release that makes no actual definitive accusation. In fairness the language in her blog is fairly vague. It’s not bias – simply the journalists on here don’t have a story on FHE situation as yet.

Jun 14th 2013, 10:24 PM

@ Rob…I’m very surprised hearing that woman felt compelled, against her own free will, to be there. For an adult woman to attend something under what seems like duress is shocking. Surely, as an adult, she would have made up her own mind. to be honest i find that very hard to believe…lol..That hasn’t been my experience or the experience of many people I know. Also, I don’t think that the number 40,000, not that it matters too much, don’t want to make a big deal out of it, is widely exaggerated.

Jun 14th 2013, 10:26 PM

@ John…I guess the reason she came out with it was because of the statement Enda made in the Dail…just letting people know most TD’s are getting these type of email from both sides of the issue…seems like up to that point she kept quiet about them…

Mute Sheik Yahbouti
    Favourite Sheik Yahbouti
    Jun 14th 2013, 10:27 PM

Go away.

Mute Sheik Yahbouti
    Favourite Sheik Yahbouti
    Jun 14th 2013, 10:29 PM

Did you enjoy your trip?

Mute Stephen Mc Elligott
    Jun 14th 2013, 10:35 PM

No John, she never said she doesn’t want media coverage of such details but only that alerting the Gardai would be a more prudent approach but didn’t slam the idea of alerting the media at all because she didn’t literally say in that statement ” I don’t want media coverage” only that alerting the Gardai is of higher value. That’s the prudent approach she speaks of in her statement and that notification of such threats to the gardai than the media is of higher value to all concerned but that doesnt translate as: ” I don’t want media coverage of the threats.” I can see how at first glance one could arrive at such a conclusion you did and its am easy mistake to make at least when looking at the statement first time around. It would be great though if we could have Fidelma shed even further clarity on her words but there is no literal “I don’t want media coverage of my threats” there because quite frankly she has already notified the wider public through her statement as it is so even if she did say she didn’t want media coverage, it still wouldn’t make sense because she has already alerted the wider public anyway via her website.

Mute Sheik Yahbouti
    Favourite Sheik Yahbouti
    Jun 14th 2013, 10:36 PM

John, when had she done otherwise? Remember children being raped on Facebook? The truth is that this mob are panicking because their filthy, intimidation is being exposed yo the glare of publicity -, and it doesn’t look good. People are being unsporting enough to out them, and they are being seen for what they are.

Mute Tim Stephen Hendy
    Favourite Tim Stephen Hendy
    Jun 14th 2013, 10:45 PM

not really, ‘pro-life’ in context clearly doesn’t mean being in favour of life in general, all the time, just like ‘pro-choice’ folks aren’t in favour of a lot of choices I’d like to make. Still bl**dy dispicable though.

Mute John Murray
    Favourite John Murray
    Jun 14th 2013, 10:46 PM

@Rita I would be surprised if most TD’s weren’t getting inflamed e-mails from constituents & groups/individuals on both sides. What we have learned over the last decades is that this is a very divisive issue in our society. People have strong feelings. There are also folk on both sides that will scupper any honest debate by using extreme methods. What Deputy Halligan received was very wrong and by this account illegal and quite upsetting to himself and presumably his family. I would worry for the sanity of the person who sent this TBH and would not think they are directly involved in any organisation. they may be a member of some pro life org but not acting on its direct authority. I hope.

Mute John Everyman
    Favourite John Everyman
    Jun 14th 2013, 10:47 PM

Still waiting for you to answer my question Stephen.

Jun 14th 2013, 10:50 PM

@ John…well said John…sad that some people on both sides of the issue has to resort to these means…I agree totally!

Mute Rob Hunt
    Favourite Rob Hunt
    Jun 14th 2013, 10:51 PM

Yeah Rita, it’s funny what people under the spell of the church will do when a priest tells them to…

Mute Rob Hunt
    Favourite Rob Hunt
    Jun 14th 2013, 10:52 PM

Also you can find it hard to believe and ‘lol’ about it all you want, it doesn’t make it not so.

Mute John Murray
    Favourite John Murray
    Jun 14th 2013, 10:54 PM

@Stephen I fully understood her words but remain sceptical as the to the vaugeness. Did she report these e-mails to the Gardai or was it a case of a few irate but polite mails from constituents that she is blowing out of proportion. If I received an abusive threatening e-mail I don’t think I’d publish a soft press release and hope it got into the media. I’d be onto the Guards immediately. and any blog I followed with would be clear and concise as to what i had done to remedy an illegal act.

Jun 14th 2013, 10:54 PM

@ Rob…yeah me too..

Jun 14th 2013, 10:57 PM

@ Rob…still can’t believe it….lol…

Mute Robin Hilliard
    Favourite Robin Hilliard
    Jun 14th 2013, 11:02 PM

@Stephen – you mention 40,000? It was nothing like forty thousand. Actually, I was there and I saw about twelve million. No, make that one hundred and fifty-three billion. Actually, four hundred and ninety-five bazillion.

And a lot of them from the Wee North, hauled over the border in the buses I saw offloading them and protesting in front of the parliament of another country, while pretending to be from this country.

It has to be said that the sight of somebody else’s shills is rarely uplifting.

Mute Stephen Mc Elligott
    Jun 14th 2013, 11:04 PM

I myself had a pro abort person send me a private message mentioning the estate that I used to live in and saying that poor you that you had to grow up there. For someone you don’t know from another part of the country to seek to find out where you live and send you disgusting verbally abusive messages along with the knowledge they have of where you live is worrying. So I can understand johns worry about such threats and abuse but the journal and media in general has never highlighted the the abuse the other side has received and that’s the injustice I am speaking out against. The media must be balanced and fair. If there was no threats being made to pro life Tds and pro life organisations in general then I would say there is no bias, but there is such threats and they are not being equally covered by the journal. So the bias is obviously there.

Mute John Everyman
    Favourite John Everyman
    Jun 14th 2013, 11:07 PM

None of what you said is an answer to my question Stephen.

Mute Daniel Dunne
    Favourite Daniel Dunne
    Jun 14th 2013, 11:24 PM

I have to agree with you that freedom is being able to choose the right thing yo do, we just differ on what that is

Mute Brenda Maguire
    Favourite Brenda Maguire
    Jun 14th 2013, 11:34 PM

@Robin Hilliard, if abortion becomes more available in the Republic then northerners will have far easier access i.e. a trip over the border, compared to the current situation where they have to go across the water as well (Not much chance of liberalisation of the abortion regime there anytime soon given that the DUP are heavy with fundamentalist christians). I’m not supporting their point of view, merely stating that those from the North do have a genuine stake in the outcome and hence a right to be heard and protest.

Mute Tony Canning
    Favourite Tony Canning
    Jun 15th 2013, 2:15 AM

There is some of what’s said above that matters, and some that is just side show “you’re wrong, I’m right”.

The issue is abortion and all the surrounding heartache.

“pro-life” side seems to like foetuses like they are puppies and not like the idea that sometimes, while the body is able, the heart, mind, environemt, finances and an array of othere things aren’t right.

but I have to say, as a man, that I am sick of having people say “it’s a woman’s choice”. As if no man in the world ever stood by someone and ended up with a family that they have no regrets over. Yes, a man can walk away in a way a woman can’t – does that mean that a potential father has no part in any decision?

I do understand that it’s not the man who has to carry a pregnancy… but should a potential father be completely excluded from a decision? I’d argue that it should be weighted – to what degree I don’t know exactly, but the extreme end of the pro-choice side seem to think that split should be 100%/0%. If I were in the situation, I don’t think I’d care anything as low as 0%.

Mute Mary Kavanagh
    Favourite Mary Kavanagh
    Jun 15th 2013, 7:37 AM

Really, Stephen, the media don’t have to make any attempt to make the more extreme fringe of the “pro life” debate look like loonies. They’re managing that all by themselves.

Mute Tony Le Blanc
    Favourite Tony Le Blanc
    Jun 15th 2013, 10:54 AM

@ Stephen. So is that how you would describe your church? Liberal: Open to new behavior or opinions and willing to discard traditional values. I think not.

Mute Kevin Beakey
    Favourite Kevin Beakey
    Jun 15th 2013, 12:11 PM

Numbers a little exaggerated there. Official garda estimated the gathering of people at that meeting to be around 10-12 thousand…. A long way off 40,000 you claim…..

Mute John O'Neill
    Favourite John O'Neill
    Jun 15th 2013, 1:29 PM

If he did check under his car he’d probably find a calendar…

Mute Alwyn Lee
    Favourite Alwyn Lee
    Jun 15th 2013, 2:07 PM

Rita do you have any actual thoughts of your own on this or are you here just as a cheer leader?

Mute Alwyn Lee
    Favourite Alwyn Lee
    Jun 15th 2013, 2:10 PM

Thank you Rita for finally contributing constructively…….,and in favour of pro choice too!

Mute Alwyn Lee
    Favourite Alwyn Lee
    Jun 15th 2013, 2:10 PM

Thank you Rita for finally contributing constructively…….,and in favour of pro choice too!

Jun 15th 2013, 2:44 PM

Ah…aren’t u clever x 2….

Mute Meredith Lopez
    Favourite Meredith Lopez
    Jun 16th 2013, 12:26 AM

I wouldn’t believe anything this freeloader says. Healy Eames is only in politics for the free holidays and ” fact finding missions” to Africa and China.

Mute Fiona Creagh
    Favourite Fiona Creagh
    Jun 16th 2013, 3:47 PM

What I find funny is that the church has any say at all concidering they don’t consider a baby a life until after 21 weeks. FACT

Mute Adam Walsh
    Favourite Adam Walsh
    Jun 14th 2013, 7:34 PM

Regardless what party their in this behaviour is disgusting and vile

Mute family guy
    Favourite family guy
    Jun 14th 2013, 8:08 PM

Look am I the only person who thinks that if women want an abortion in this country let them have it. They will only go to UK anyway. Its their body let them do as they wish with it.

Mute Killian Lynch
    Favourite Killian Lynch
    Jun 14th 2013, 8:17 PM

Family guy, the issue is that not everyone believes that it is the woman’s body, that a zygote is a separate organism. The problem in this argument is that some pro-life and pro-choice people seem to be unable to understand the other side. Personally, I think educating yourself about the other side is a good thing, even if it is only to have a better argument against them. Hope I helped.

Mute Gavin Cooke
    Favourite Gavin Cooke
    Jun 14th 2013, 8:30 PM

No your not the only one family guy, I feel the same way,I wouldn’t be in favour of abortion,but everyone to their own

Mute family guy
    Favourite family guy
    Jun 14th 2013, 8:33 PM

Killian am sorry if im over simplifying it to much for you but am afraid our politicians are over complicting the issue and are still led by the church and over 50s major vote population. Neither have to raise these unwanted children. As I said let them have an abortion if they want.

Mute family guy
    Favourite family guy
    Jun 14th 2013, 8:38 PM

Gavin I dont like abortion either and my wife and I had a baby boy 3 months ago and are very happy. Unfortunately not everyone is in our position and for whatever reason they want an abortion. Each to their own. I just hate laws that restrict people freedom of choice.

Mute Joe Stodge
    Favourite Joe Stodge
    Jun 14th 2013, 9:12 PM

The prolifers are so prolife they are willing to kill for it.

Mute Annette Griffin
    Favourite Annette Griffin
    Jun 15th 2013, 12:17 AM

This is about allowing abortion in circumstances where the life of the mother is in danger, not about allowing women free choice as such. as far as i’m concerned it doesn’t fall under pro life or pro choice.

Mute A.G
    Favourite A.G
    Jun 16th 2013, 3:01 PM

No, you’re not! The control this country has over women and their bodies is ridiculous.

Mute Reg
    Favourite Reg
    Jun 14th 2013, 7:39 PM

If the email can be identified then they need to receive a visit from the police.

Mute Side View Bob
    Favourite Side View Bob
    Jun 14th 2013, 7:45 PM

you too

Mute Aoife Carey
    Favourite Aoife Carey

Everyone is entitled to their own opinion on abortion. Nobody should be subjected to threats and abuse because of their opinion.Hopefully the people who threaten and abuse people like this will be dealt with in court.

Mute Diarmaid Twomey
    Favourite Diarmaid Twomey
    Jun 14th 2013, 7:46 PM

I don’t even know where to start with this. Look I am pro choice and I would openly admit that there are certain elements within pro choice that I would condemn also, but it seems to be pro life threatening bloody murder etc the whole time (Irony at its best / worst). These people are reprehensible, sick, twisted animals.

Mute Warren Collier
    Favourite Warren Collier
    Jun 14th 2013, 7:44 PM

These people are nuts. Crazy religious nutjobs! All for pro life yet making threats to take one. Makes sense.

Mute Dan O'Connor
    Favourite Dan O'Connor
    Jun 14th 2013, 7:57 PM

Threatening to kill somebody and they are pro-life???

Mute Tony Canning
    Favourite Tony Canning
    Jun 15th 2013, 2:20 AM

Dan, if you find that ironic, youtube some bill hicks or george carlin on the topic. As usual, comedy paints the picture at extremes to tell us how reasonable/unreasonable we are…

Mute Adam Power
    Favourite Adam Power
    Jun 14th 2013, 7:40 PM

Sickening undemocratic behavior.

Mute Daniel Dunne
    Favourite Daniel Dunne
    Jun 14th 2013, 10:02 PM

Agreed.

Mute Robin Hilliard
    Favourite Robin Hilliard
    Jun 14th 2013, 11:11 PM

Let’s wait for the entire Hierarchy to condemn it.

Don’t hold your breath though.

Mute Shane King
    Favourite Shane King
    Jun 14th 2013, 8:11 PM

They are pro-life but they will kill you if you don’t believe what they do,a great bunch of lads really

Mute Shane McGivern
    Favourite Shane McGivern
    Jun 14th 2013, 8:00 PM

Halligan made an excellent speach in the dail yesterday, he asked Gilmore to condem the CC for thier gurillia warfare tactics against democracy, we need more people like this in politics and less far right extremists on sit-on-the-fencers.

Mute werejammin
    Favourite werejammin
    Jun 14th 2013, 8:03 PM

I heard John Halligan on the radio yesterday and he came across as approachable and willing to discuss all aspects of the issue with all sides. This just shows that the pro life fundamentalists don’t actually have a reasonable position to debate, only shock tactics and threats.

Can’t wait to see which member of the iona institute etc. will miraculously receive a death threat in the next 24 hours.

Mute Tony Daly
    Favourite Tony Daly
    Jun 14th 2013, 7:56 PM

I saw Youth Defence members get out of a van in Molesworth Street in Dublin in 1983 with Hurley sticks.

By their actions ye shall know them.

Mute John O Siochain
    Favourite John O Siochain
    Jun 14th 2013, 7:38 PM

Nice bunch of lads

Mute Gavin Cooke
    Favourite Gavin Cooke
    Jun 14th 2013, 7:53 PM

Is it not ironic for pro lifer nut jobs to make death threats ??

Mute Adrian Christopher Matthews
    Favourite Adrian Christopher Matthews
    Jun 14th 2013, 7:48 PM

I’ve a lot of respect for John Halligan, if there were more of him in the Dail then maybe this country would be a better place, but I’m disturbed that a elected official is on the receiving end of death threats. I mean, this is the sort of BS we’ve seen from distant republicans or radical Islamic Muslims.
    Let the people have their say, but once you bring the argument to a personal level; a potentially life threatening level, then these sort of people should be locked up in a dark dank hole, sealed with concrete and never allowed the breathe the free air ever again.

Mute Leslie Alan Rock
    Favourite Leslie Alan Rock

I notice a certain Mr Paddy Scully has got awol recently. Care to comment Paddy?

Mute Leslie Alan Rock
    Favourite Leslie Alan Rock
    Jun 14th 2013, 7:47 PM

And ps. If gilmore is so passionate, then find these people Tanaiste and lock them up.

Mute Aindriú de Domhain
    Favourite Aindriú de Domhain

Way out of line, and likely to be completely counter-productive, both in terms of convincing the TD, and doing damage to the image of the Pro-Life side. Sadly, there’s a rump in Ireland that will resort to these tactics over a lot of issues, not just abortion.

Dep Halligan seems to be getting a particular amount of serious abuse, has he been especially vocal in being pro-choice, or is it because he’s an independent?

Jun 14th 2013, 7:52 PM

I think it’s because he bloodied the churches nose to some regards in leaders questions.

Mute Aindriú de Domhain
    Jun 14th 2013, 8:15 PM

Fair enough, he was right to call on he Church to condemn these threats. I don’t believe the Church are behind this at all, but they’d be wise to strongly disassociate themselves from people who act like this.

If someone is, God forbid, hurt as a result of this behaviour, will the Church threaten to excommunicate the perpetrators?

Jun 14th 2013, 8:27 PM

I agree, but there are people who still take church doctrine to such an extreme level. One has to only look at the US and see the Wackos over there. No pun intended.
    will they Excommunicate. Well, they didn’t throw out child pedophiles so I’m not that optimistic.

Mute Alwyn Lee
    Favourite Alwyn Lee
    Jun 15th 2013, 2:35 PM

@Adrian… No they didn’t exccommunicate the paedophiles….. And I would be very interested to know how many priests availed of “abortion services” to hide their misdeeds…..because that has happened too! The “church” is nothing but a collection of hypocritical predators under the guise of followers of Christ. Irony indeed!

Mute Alwyn Lee
    Favourite Alwyn Lee
    Jun 15th 2013, 2:35 PM

@Adrian… No they didn’t exccommunicate the paedophiles….. And I would be very interested to know how many priests availed of “abortion services” to hide their misdeeds…..because that has happened too! The “church” is nothing but a collection of hypocritical predators under the guise of followers of Christ. Irony indeed!

Mute Adam Ó Braonáin
    Favourite Adam Ó Braonáin
    Jun 14th 2013, 8:07 PM

All our entitled to personal opinions and for the most part people keep their opinions to themselves unless asked. Where I have not found this to be true is with many deeply religious people who are compelled to force their ideals on the rest of us sinners. I often wonder how these people would feel if I were to call to their door spouting my atheist views. Fortunately for them my beliefs do not require me to force others to agree in order to make me feel justified.

Mute Tony Daly
    Favourite Tony Daly
    Jun 14th 2013, 7:53 PM

It is unsurprising that inflexible ideologues will spout these empty threats.

My late aunt was a pro choice supporter in 1983. The level of threat and abuse that she suffered was appalling. She was informed by her local Garda Station to take a holiday away until the Referendum was over.

In fairness pro choice TDs merely have to tolerate abuse and empty threats. They don’t have to have their lives forfeited in deference to Article 40.3.3 of the Constitution.

Mute Seán Ó Briain
    Favourite Seán Ó Briain
    Jun 14th 2013, 8:06 PM

Anonymous cowards. I’d be happy to help trace the origins of the e-mail and ensure the person responsible is locked up.

Mute Pauric O Laighin
    Favourite Pauric O Laighin
    Jun 14th 2013, 7:56 PM

It is unacceptable for a member of the public to threaten or harm a member of a party because of conflicting viewpoints and visa versa.

Mute Philip Farrelly
    Favourite Philip Farrelly
    Jun 14th 2013, 7:42 PM

Shocking carry on, they should threaten to kidnap his moustache , that d be a lot nicer

Mute Graham Kavanagh
    Favourite Graham Kavanagh

When the the mafia become so “pro-life”?…

Or when the the “pro-lifers” become so mafioso?

Mute John Smith
    Favourite John Smith
    Jun 14th 2013, 8:16 PM

Wackos get over It i think full abortion should be granted and full rights for gay marriages religion should have no say what so ever in ireland where was the Catholic Church when million of us starved to death where was the church when for over 400 years we where murdered and are rights where taken from us over been catholic all they did was cover up rape of our children religion is a fairy tale story and in a 200 years no one will believe in Islam or Christianity it will be gone from our world like Thor Zeus and other make believe gods

Mute Seán O'Sullivan
    Favourite Seán O'Sullivan
    Jun 14th 2013, 8:29 PM

not so much pro life as anti choice methinks ,let everyone make their own decision, if you don’t want to have an abortion, don’t have one, none of your business what other people do

Mute Giz Pyro
    Favourite Giz Pyro

No one should receive death threats for having an opinion.

Threatening to kill someone simply because you disagree with them is the lowest of the low. Hopefully they weren’t the most savvy with a computer and they can be traced easily. This appalling behaviour cannot be tolerated from anyone.

Mute Tim O'Connell
    Favourite Tim O'Connell
    Jun 14th 2013, 8:14 PM

Pro Taliban ..I mean life!

Mute Phylly Lane
    Favourite Phylly Lane
    Jun 14th 2013, 8:45 PM

I am sick to death with all this vitriol being thrown at people from both sides of this debate. If you want or need an abortion have if you are against abortion don’t have 1. It really is that simple.

Mute Martina Jones
    Favourite Martina Jones
    Jun 15th 2013, 10:53 AM

Problem is Philly, we can’t in our own country, among family.

Mute Mike Clinton
    Favourite Mike Clinton
    Jun 14th 2013, 8:01 PM

They are just mouthpieces. If someone was really serious then the threat would have been carried out.
    It’s the ones that don’t make stupid threat’s that you want to take serious.

Mute Tony Daly
    Favourite Tony Daly
    Jun 14th 2013, 8:23 PM

@ Mike, exactly! Threats to life are nasty, extreme and show the mentality of these extremists but these are not literal threats. I would not like to receive such threats but I would not be inclined to treat them as literal statements of serious intent.

Mute Sheik Yahbouti
    Favourite Sheik Yahbouti
    Jun 14th 2013, 10:45 PM

Am I missing something? Surely death threats are criminal offences, whether serious or not.

Mute Oliver Golden
    Favourite Oliver Golden
    Jun 14th 2013, 11:15 PM

I’m pro life but those sick nuts do not speak for me it’s disgusting behaviour by a bunch of cowards

Mute Peace for All
    Favourite Peace for All
    Jun 14th 2013, 8:12 PM

Terrible thing to threaten anyone’s life. Whoever sends this stuff to people regardless of their views displays only a tendency towards mental illness on the sender. It does nothing for any cause.

Mute Thomas Blake
    Favourite Thomas Blake
    Jun 14th 2013, 8:19 PM

It’s good that it’s been reported to the gardaí. This type of behaviour is unacceptable. Hiding behind anonymity and a keyboard does not put you above the law.

Mute Steven Woodroffe
    Favourite Steven Woodroffe
    Jun 14th 2013, 9:16 PM

Each to there own. Not our choice but an individual choice.

Behaviours of small minded people is distasteful. These COULD be the same people who turned there heads away when certain abuses happened. Hmmmm

Jun 14th 2013, 9:19 PM

I would suggest we all, as a society, are guilty of that!

Mute richardmccarthy
    Favourite richardmccarthy
    Jun 14th 2013, 9:46 PM

Its well past time the pro and anti abortion arguement was finally put to sleep, legislation should be enacted for the x case judgement as a matter of urgency,the delay in enactment is just increasing bitterness and is having a very negative effect, similar to the previous abortion referendum campaign, and even now its still 21 years overdue.

Mute Laura McDermott
    Favourite Laura McDermott

This does not surprise me in the least.

Mute Tom Newnewman
    Favourite Tom Newnewman

Pro abortion troll provocateurs probably, how low can you go. ?

Mute Rommel Burke
    Favourite Rommel Burke
    Jun 14th 2013, 7:52 PM

Don’t know how low, but you’re certainly leading the way.

Mute werejammin
    Favourite werejammin
    Jun 14th 2013, 7:54 PM

Maybe ‘tom’ it was a pro-life religious nutjob who wanted people to think it was a pro choice person pretending to be a pro life nutjob.

See, we can all pull ridiculous, cliched, comments out of our bungholes if we try…

Mute Aindriú de Domhain

Why would anyone from the Pro-Choice side need to try and discredit the Pro-Life campaign? They’re perfectly capable of undermining themselves (see this and other similar stories) and the government are already moving on implementing the law, restrictive though it may be.

Mute John Murray
    Favourite John Murray
    Jun 14th 2013, 8:18 PM

Do you condemn this action Tom? Whoever sent the e-mail is clearly mentally unsettled. It could be someone latching on to pro-life side for attention.

Mute Tom Newnewman
    Favourite Tom Newnewman
    Jun 14th 2013, 8:32 PM

Definitely condemn actual threats of violence and these may or may not be what they are reported to be. If the email is as reported it is a criminal act and the authorities will investigate.

Mute John Murray
    Favourite John Murray
    Jun 14th 2013, 8:48 PM

If the e-mail is as reported then there is certainly a criminal case to answer & we won’t see the body of the e-mail as this would be classed as evidence. Wouldn’t take very long to find the source IP and who had access to it. It might be from a throwaway e-mail address and sent across public wifi but even then it wouldn’t take a genius to locate that person. I hope this is worked on quickly as this person might be a danger to others or indeed themselves.

Mute simonjblake
    Favourite simonjblake
    Jun 14th 2013, 9:21 PM

Great country Ireland.

Mute Pauline Fallon-Corcoran
    Favourite Pauline Fallon-Corcoran
    Jun 15th 2013, 10:11 AM

I say put it to a referendum again. Let the people speak. I for one would vote for as you can never judge a woman for doing it until you have lived her situation. Pregnancy is not all about happiness and excitement. There are many reasons why women can’t go through with it. Let a woman decide. 99% won’t enter the decision lightly. We have to trust them.

Mute Giz Pyro
    Favourite Giz Pyro
    Jun 15th 2013, 4:03 PM

We have had two referendums which attempted to further restrict access to abortion which were rejected by the people (12th and 25th amendments – which were about the suicide clause) alongside the 12th amendment we also voted on the 13th and 14th – which were passed, and granted the right to travel and information.

Mute Mary Kavanagh
    Favourite Mary Kavanagh
    Jun 15th 2013, 10:33 PM

Paulune, please take the needle off this particular record. Two referenda not enough for you? Plus a poll last weekend which showed a majority still in favour of the suicide question?

Mute Mary Kavanagh
    Favourite Mary Kavanagh
    Jun 15th 2013, 10:33 PM

*Pauline. Sorry for the typo.

Mute Pauline F-Corcoran
    Favourite Pauline F-Corcoran
    Jun 16th 2013, 10:02 AM

Mary I am entitled to my opinion. Ireland has changed, and so has the voter. Alot of who can vote now where too young or not born in the last referendum. And those polls really don’t represent a true reflection on what the people of Ireland want, these polls are hit and miss.
    Ireland is no longer ‘lets follow the catholic church and do what our local priest tells us to do’. People are forming their own opinion’s and should have the chance to air it politically, and yes remove the 8th ammendment.

Mute Sean Beag
    Favourite Sean Beag
    Jun 14th 2013, 9:40 PM

“I was upset for the girls in the office having to read the terrible sexual content in it”

Obviously they were not so upset that they couldn’t pass it around to each other for a read.

Mute Willie Bill Bryan
    Favourite Willie Bill Bryan
    Jun 15th 2013, 7:42 AM

Like all radicals in all religions freaks nut heads ! Nothing to do with your ordinary common garden catholic who believes in the right to life of both mother and the unborn and the democratic will of the people !

Mute Ronan Kennedy
    Favourite Ronan Kennedy
    Jun 15th 2013, 12:48 AM

I think its shocking someone should threaten a grown man about his support to murder unborn babies!!!

Jun 14th 2013, 9:01 PM
    Mute John Murray
    Favourite John Murray
    Jun 14th 2013, 9:31 PM

Sincerely hope she has informed the Gardai. She says it would be better to inform the gardai so I would have to take from that she has actually reported said abuse . One wonders what form the abuse came in but that’s a matter for the Gardai now

Mute Sheik Yahbouti
    Favourite Sheik Yahbouti
    Jun 14th 2013, 10:50 PM

John, there was no abuse and we all know it. They’re just trying to deflect attention from the actions of their pals.

Mute John Murray
    Favourite John Murray
    Jun 14th 2013, 11:02 PM

That was my point. I’m trying to call it. I will admit I was wrong when someone gets arrested. Was prob just an irate e-mail. If it was a death threat or anything sinister and dangerous it would be news by now. I have no respect for senator FHE. Seems to think she is above people but sorry off topic.

Mute Ronan Kennedy
    Favourite Ronan Kennedy
    Jun 15th 2013, 12:45 AM

I think everyone has the right to murder an unborn baby. It’s their choice and it makes us modern like other European countries. Also it makes suicidal women happy. Just ask doctors, they have half of Dublin spa d out on zimovanes so who are we to question their integrity???

Mute Tony Daly
    Favourite Tony Daly
    Jun 15th 2013, 1:45 AM

@ Ronan, odd and contradictory statements, lacking somewhat in coherence and rationality.

Mute Alwyn Lee
    Favourite Alwyn Lee
    Jun 15th 2013, 3:10 PM

Agreed….maybe he is one of the ” half of Dublin son’s out on Zimovane….. And Lord knows what else!

Mute Alwyn Lee
    Favourite Alwyn Lee
    Jun 15th 2013, 3:13 PM

* Correction…… Spa’d

Mute Alwyn Lee
    Favourite Alwyn Lee
    Jun 16th 2013, 9:46 AM

Sorry folks…. Not sure why all my comments are posting twice… :-(

Mute Alwyn Lee
    Favourite Alwyn Lee
    Jun 15th 2013, 3:11 PM

* spa’d

Mute Alwyn Lee
    Favourite Alwyn Lee
    Jun 15th 2013, 3:11 PM

* spa’d