You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Here's what happened when we interviewed this Labour TD entirely in emoji

John Lyons proves he’s down with the kids.

Screen Shot 2015-06-09 at 12.58.41

LABOUR TD JOHN Lyons has had a good few weeks.

He was front-and-centre of his party’s campaign for a Yes vote in the marriage referendum and earned huge praise for discussing how he and his family came to terms with his sexuality.

Pictured voting for the Referendums on M Lyons voting in the same-sex marriage referendum with his mother Mark Stedman Mark Stedman

But he’s also pretty down with the kids and isn’t afraid to lash out the emojis in correspondence with us or on the Twitter.

So, when we saw that Buzzfeed had done an interview with Scottish Labour leader hopeful Kezia Dugdale - where she was only allowed to answer with emojis - we thought we’d put Lyons to the test…

So, without further ado, here is Ireland’s first ever emoji-only political interview…

We started off with an easy one. It appears the good weather has the Dublin North-West deputy in good form… 

Lyons 1

Then we asked about that historic referendum result just over a fortnight ago. He’s still pretty happy about it…

Lyons 2

And he had a good time celebrating… 

Lyons 3

Time to get down to more serious matters…

Lyons 4

The message here seems to be that putting more money in people’s pockets, including public sector workers like guards and doctors, is top of the Labour agenda.

Then we asked the question that everyone in political circles is asking… 

Lyons 5

Lyons is clearly holding out for that spring election next year.

With some less than inspiring poll numbers, we asked how his own party will fare when the general election is called…

Lyons 6

The deputy admits it’s not going well, but with the improving economy those cloudy skies will become sunny and Labour will do just fine.

Time to talk personalities. Starting with his own party leader… 

Lyons 7

Then the leader of the country… 

Lyons 8

What about the leader of Fianna Fáil? 

Lyons 9A

Lyons 9b

And the leader of Sinn Féin?

Lyons 10

Some nice burns of the opposition there.

Time to wrap up, but before he goes, what plans has Lyons for the summer break? 

Lyons 11

France with the partner for sun, sea, drink and dancing. Sounds good to us.

Thanks to John Lyons for being a good sport… 

Lyons 12

Which politician would you like to see take the emoji interview challenge next? Let us know in the comments… 

Read: 13 heroes of the Yes campaign

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

37 Comments
    Mute james sullivan
    Favourite james sullivan
    Jun 9th 2015, 9:06 PM

Ah lads I can only hazard a guess you’re in a beer garden doing an article like that.

Mute Paddy Cole
    Favourite Paddy Cole
    Jun 9th 2015, 9:09 PM

Is there an emoji that represents absolutely meaningless?

Mute D H
    Favourite D H
    Jun 9th 2015, 9:47 PM

There should be an emoji for w@#k€r

Mute Redacticus
    Favourite Redacticus
    Jun 9th 2015, 10:21 PM

;÷€¤}¿\%₩}°>↑↓#

Mute Patrick O' Brien
    Favourite Patrick O' Brien
    Jun 9th 2015, 11:43 PM

THERE IS……………..D H………….LOL.

Mute J's Back
    Favourite J's Back
    Jun 9th 2015, 9:09 PM

So this is what journalism has been reduced to?

Mute Gar O'Mhaolmonaigh
    Favourite Gar O'Mhaolmonaigh
    Jun 10th 2015, 2:01 AM

Exactly. Are we meant to be amused? I’d expect d’indo or the heddild to do something like this, but thejournal.ie? Seriously, you’re better than this. More importantly, your damn audience is better than this

Mute Bobby Phelan
    Favourite Bobby Phelan
    Jun 9th 2015, 9:06 PM

Is that the guy that said if u pay peanuts u get monkeys.

Mute Paul Mc
    Favourite Paul Mc
    Jun 9th 2015, 9:11 PM

The same result a Labour politician who props up a government that continually takes money from the poorest of society to enrich the elites. The man has no shame.

Mute Bobby Phelan
    Favourite Bobby Phelan
    Jun 9th 2015, 9:35 PM
    Mute little jim
    Favourite little jim
    Jun 9th 2015, 9:22 PM

Haven’t a clue what’s going on, someone’s drunk.

Mute Caoimhe Clery
    Favourite Caoimhe Clery
    Jun 9th 2015, 9:22 PM

In fairness, it wasnt supposed to be a serious interview and he was just doing it for the laugh.

Mute Bill Jones
    Favourite Bill Jones
    Jun 9th 2015, 9:10 PM

Still more sense than Enda talks to be fair…

Jun 9th 2015, 9:12 PM

To be honest it just shows Labours possible result in the next election. Maybe reality is sinking into the turn coats.

Mute baz brock
    Favourite baz brock
    Jun 9th 2015, 10:01 PM

Another robbed straight off buzzfeeds homepage, how original

Mute release robert
    Favourite release robert
    Jun 9th 2015, 10:07 PM

Why can’t I post a comment on the Denis o’b article ? Seriously, I really want to !!

Mute Sam Robertson
    Favourite Sam Robertson
    Jun 9th 2015, 10:29 PM

What a Stupid Article. #30SecondsIwillNeverGetBack

Mute Sam Robertson
    Favourite Sam Robertson
    Jun 9th 2015, 10:30 PM

@Release Robert. Because the journal will get sued or bought and closed down. Fact

Mute von
    Favourite von
    Jun 10th 2015, 6:14 AM

@ release. Cause he has more money than you and he can gag people, the sooner he pays his dues in this Country, and gets lost back to Malta the better.

Mute justanothertaxpayer
    Favourite justanothertaxpayer
    Jun 10th 2015, 8:34 AM

Sam – will you please learn the definition of the word “fact”? Opinions and predictions are not facts despite how much you hold them dear.

Mute Ronan K. Smith
    Favourite Ronan K. Smith
    Jun 9th 2015, 10:00 PM

He got paid a tds salary to do that. The mind boggles

Mute Ben Fede
    Favourite Ben Fede
    Jun 9th 2015, 9:28 PM

It’s his birthday today. Happy birthday John!!

Mute Redacticus
    Favourite Redacticus

Won’t be many happy returns to the dáil for him if a scorned Shortall has her way in Dublin NW after she brought him along in ’11!

Mute Darren Norris
    Favourite Darren Norris
    Jun 9th 2015, 10:30 PM

Haooy birthday to a useless td

Mute Paul Geraghty
    Favourite Paul Geraghty
    Jun 9th 2015, 9:38 PM

What is emoji ?

Mute Paul Allen
    Favourite Paul Allen
    Jun 9th 2015, 10:41 PM

Didn’t read the article; why?, because who gives a fcuk about labour…

Mute @mdmak33
    Favourite @mdmak33

this man is a traitor ,hopefully destroyed in GE.they destroyed the labour party,and will pay for it by being humiliated in GE.

Mute The whistler
    Favourite The whistler
    Jun 10th 2015, 12:38 AM

I thought I couldn’t dislike this spineless yes man anymore and then the journal finds a new way for me to be embarrassed that my constituency elected this airhead

Nice one lads

Mute Kevin Burke
    Favourite Kevin Burke
    Jun 10th 2015, 12:03 AM

is that the guy that said “✌

Mute Dáire Seosamh O'Nuamáin
    Favourite Dáire Seosamh O'Nuamáin
    Jun 10th 2015, 4:24 AM

Is this what journalism has sunk to? What a complete waste of oxygen.

Mute release robert
    Favourite release robert
    Jun 9th 2015, 10:38 PM

@sam Robertson. OK, I thought all that court rubbish was sorted

Mute Sam Robertson
    Favourite Sam Robertson
    Jun 9th 2015, 10:44 PM

@Release Robert. It is but “Once Bitten, Twice Shy”. The media will be very careful about what they say or allowed to be said on their network or website about O’Brien for fear of getting sued for defamation. Fact. #Reality

Mute Del
    Favourite Del
    Jun 9th 2015, 11:57 PM

ah f8ck off will ye

Mute Gareth Whelan
    Favourite Gareth Whelan
    Jun 10th 2015, 9:53 AM

He already has a boyfriend?