You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Wartime rations forced women and families to buy horsemeat in the 1940s. AP/Press Association Images

Just one prosecution being sought over horsemeat scandal

Minister Simon Coveney says he is not going to court unless he knows he can win.

MINISTER SIMON COVENEY has confirmed that Irish authorities are currently just pursuing one prosecution in relation to the horsemeat scandal.

The suspect company is accused of putting false labels on products.

Speaking to Morning Ireland, the Minister said legal advice has been sought about how to secure the conviction.

“I’ve made it very clear that I want to secure prosecutions but I’m not going to court unless I know I can win,” he continued. “It takes time to put a case together to make sure you win. I can assure you it is not because of a lack of effort. If we can secure a prosecution, we will do that.”

His comments come following the publication of a UK House of Commons report which criticised British and Irish authorities for the “slow pace of investigations” and for failing to acknowledge the extent of the illegal and fraudulent activities by companies.

It said the evidence received from retailers and food processors suggested a “complex, highly organised network of companies trading in and mislabelling frozen and processed meat or meat products in a way that fails to meet specifications and that is fraudulent and illegal”.

The Environment, Food and Rural Affairs Committee asked for assurance that prosecutions will be mounted where there is evidence of fraud or other illegal activity.

The criticisms were dismissed by Coveney who said Ireland acted “quickly, swiftly and with absolute priority” when light was first shed on the contamination controversy. He described his Department’s report into the events as tough and hard-hitting.

Read: Equine database set up following horsemeat scandal

More: ABP sells Silvercrest plant mired in horsemeat controversy

Related: Ikea may still sell horsemeat tainted meatballs

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

28 Comments
    Mute Martin Jones
    Favourite Martin Jones
    Jul 12th 2013, 8:23 PM

Lazy over unionised shower of wasters. Fire them all and get rid of siptu

Mute Paul Lanigan
    Favourite Paul Lanigan
    Jul 12th 2013, 8:30 PM

Well said Martin

Mute Ballsnall
    Favourite Ballsnall
    Jul 12th 2013, 8:33 PM

You would halve unemployment in this country if there were no unions .fact.

See 22 more replies ▾
    Mute John Fagan
    Favourite John Fagan
    Jul 12th 2013, 8:45 PM

Why don’t you read about conditions before the unions were created. There was mass poverty and unemployment and bosses became rich on the backs of the workers. There is no doubt there is a lot of corruption within the union setup but society still needs the unions. It if wasn’t for people power then we would still be living in slums with no chance of escape. Wise up people. Bosses only pay what they have to, not what they want to.

Mute Enola Straight
    Favourite Enola Straight
    Jul 12th 2013, 8:48 PM

You would half unemployment – with people working for a pittance.

Mute Enola Straight
    Favourite Enola Straight
    Jul 12th 2013, 8:49 PM

Well said John.

Mute Scrap Croke Park1
    Favourite Scrap Croke Park1
    Jul 12th 2013, 8:50 PM

True. But the pendulum has swung too far the other way now. These lads get 2.5 times pay for Sundays. Mgmt want this reduced to 2x times. Sunday is just another day. Should be normal time and just hire more drivers

Mute Sean Yeates
    Favourite Sean Yeates
    Jul 12th 2013, 9:00 PM

Unfortunately this union have not to squeaky clean a balance sheet of quangos and perks

Mute Paul Geraghty
    Favourite Paul Geraghty
    Jul 12th 2013, 9:06 PM

Sunday is not just another day it is a traditional day of rest. Life is not about working. Those forced to work Sunday should be compensated accordingly

Mute Paul Geraghty
    Favourite Paul Geraghty
    Jul 12th 2013, 9:07 PM

Half unemployment and quarter wages and conditions

Mute Scrap Croke Park1
    Favourite Scrap Croke Park1
    Jul 12th 2013, 9:16 PM

Sunday is a normal working day in a secular society which we are supposed to be. Put your bible back on the shelf

Mute john g mcgrath
    Favourite john g mcgrath
    Jul 12th 2013, 9:19 PM

If I was a Muslim bus driver would I get double time for Friday !!!

Mute Paul Geraghty
    Favourite Paul Geraghty
    Jul 12th 2013, 9:23 PM

Me bible ha ha as I’m in to that nonsense. Sunday is a rest day not for religion but to relax on any way you please. Life has become too much about work bit that’s only cos we follow everything the yanks do which is pathetic. Saturday and Sunday are not normal working days, life is not about work. That’s why Saturday and Sunday are called the weekend, you can relax and be yourself and if you have to work during the weekend you should be compensated for it

Mute Pablo
    Favourite Pablo
    Jul 12th 2013, 9:40 PM

ScrapCroke- 30% shift allowance for Sunday in HP, Intel etc etc. ‘in the begining, there was man and woman’…

Mute Leigh Power
    Favourite Leigh Power
    Jul 12th 2013, 11:25 PM

If somebody works Sunday to Thursday with Friday and Saturday as days of rest, then why should they be given 2.5 pay?

Mute SMcB
    Favourite SMcB
    Jul 13th 2013, 1:32 AM

What’s a fair wage for a BUS driver Enola? A job that anyone can get if they take a Category D licence… One to which does not take 4 yrs to obtain… Perhaps like a college degree or the like?????

Mute Dave Storey
    Favourite Dave Storey
    Jul 13th 2013, 1:52 AM

A fair wage is what drivers get a the moment, ive said to friends of mine to apply last time Dublin Bus were hiring, the response was “fu*k that the hours are crazy” I get a text message at 1pm each day telling what time to be in the following day, try planing your life around that!

Mute SMcB
    Favourite SMcB
    Jul 13th 2013, 2:00 AM

Your driving a BUS Dave. A BUS. Do you honestly think you should be earning more than a graduate Nurse? You’re delusional if you think you do. Be glad you’re earning more than a Nurse if you are.

Mute Dave Storey
    Favourite Dave Storey
    Jul 13th 2013, 2:07 AM

I earn the average industrial wage, for very unaverage hours, and a lot of responsibility, so I think I deserve the money I get

Mute SMcB
    Favourite SMcB
    Jul 13th 2013, 2:28 AM

That’s great Dave. So basically you’ve just after saying you deserved to earn more than a Graduate Nurse who will have far more responsibility that you’ll ever have. Well done.

Mute Dave Storey
    Favourite Dave Storey
    Jul 13th 2013, 2:40 AM

What I said was I make average money for crazy hours, nurses and anyone else with a degree will progress and earn more than me after a few years. You sir are a fool. When the time comes ill be telling my kids to go to college and not follow in my footsteps, but I still stand over my claims that I deserve the money I get

Mute SMcB
    Favourite SMcB
    Jul 13th 2013, 2:59 AM

Dave, the only fool is you who believes that you are entitled to more money than a Grad Nurse. There are many career paths within Nursing. Not so much within Dublin Bus given that Bus Driving is a Semi Skilled job, at best.

Mute Paul Geraghty
    Favourite Paul Geraghty
    Jul 13th 2013, 11:50 AM

Dave you get deserve every penny you get. I wouldn’t take any heed of the Thatcherite’s that would privatise everything in the name of profit if they could. You never said you deserve more than a nurse you just said you deserve what you get and you do. Nurses deserve more but they deserve more than fat cat bankers on obscene money but no mention of that. Getting a text at 1 to tell you what time you are in the next day is a disgrace

Mute simonjblake
    Favourite simonjblake
    Jul 15th 2013, 11:27 PM

Try being unemployed you idle oaf.

Mute Lisa Shanley
    Favourite Lisa Shanley
    Jul 29th 2013, 8:44 PM

See I’ve never been in hospital, but I’ve gotten hundreds of buses. I know which has had more importance in my life. And seeing as nurses are forever disputing their pay and conditions (and I totally support them) I’m surprised at your lack of support to people just trying to keep what they already have

Mute Stephen
    Favourite Stephen
    Jul 12th 2013, 8:10 PM

Ah just let them wear their bloody shorts!

Mute Pablo
    Favourite Pablo
    Jul 12th 2013, 9:09 PM

What if they have a massive tool?

Mute Paul Geraghty
    Favourite Paul Geraghty
    Jul 12th 2013, 9:03 PM

Fair play to them standing up to protect their working conditions. Not hey deserve the pay and conditions they receive now as a minimum. Years ago they had conductors on board now have to deal with the public and a lot of sc.. hurling abuse at them or acting in an anti social way on their buses. Hold your ground lads or they will keep coming back for more. Fair play

Mute 1 Human Being
    Favourite 1 Human Being
    Jul 12th 2013, 8:34 PM

Looks like everyone will have to miss the bus for a day or two. But what else can they do. Lie down and get walked on by upper management.

Mute David Hammond
    Favourite David Hammond
    Jul 12th 2013, 10:32 PM

A protest by public transport works has serious knock on affects for others businesses. Many of which are suffering enough already

Mute Marty bird
    Favourite Marty bird
    Jul 12th 2013, 8:37 PM

Well done bus drivers standing up to the management cut them first on big money,and to people that are moaning about how much they get they deserve it working shift work,Sundays,bank holidays,Stephens day,put up with abuse from passengers and it a job that anyone would do in the boom because they were to greedy,now they are crying about them so shut up

Mute Krystian Brzezowski
    Favourite Krystian Brzezowski
    Jul 12th 2013, 8:02 PM

What exactly is the object of such a strong action?

Jul 12th 2013, 8:10 PM

To resist being shafted by management. Simples.

Mute Paul Doyle
    Favourite Paul Doyle
    Jul 12th 2013, 8:20 PM

I know three bus drivers that are working there years. No recession for them lads. They are on 65-70k a year. I’m not slagging the job off but 65k a year for driving a bus is a bit over the top.
    Even they say it is easy money, one of them got promoted to inspector a few years ago and is on about 80k. He is always commenting on how easy he has it and how stupid the senior management are.
    If they outsourced the jobs they could buy the drivers for less than 40k a year and no pension entitlements.

See 15 more replies ▾
    Mute Tony Lawless
    Favourite Tony Lawless
    Jul 12th 2013, 8:23 PM

Yes, you are a bit simple

Mute SMcB
    Favourite SMcB
    Jul 12th 2013, 8:26 PM

65k to drive a bus is beyond ridiculous. Most Luas drivers are paid between 30-40k… And if you want to stretch that out further I can g’tee that there’s NO private bus operators paying anyone 65k to drive a bus. It’s time for the Government to grow a set of balls and privatise Dublin Bus.

Mute Chris
    Favourite Chris
    Jul 12th 2013, 8:27 PM

I see you’ll go far Mr. Doyle

Mute Adam Power
    Favourite Adam Power
    Jul 12th 2013, 8:28 PM

You said it buddy!

Mute Dave Storey
    Favourite Dave Storey
    Jul 12th 2013, 8:29 PM

NO drivers in Dublin Bus earn 65k, its more like 35k!

Mute Enola Straight
    Favourite Enola Straight

There’s that word again. Outsourcing – a capitalist’s wet dream. What if ALL jobs are outsourced. Have you even thought it true?

Mute Frank Jones
    Favourite Frank Jones

Yeah, let’s all work for minimum wage

Mute Enola Straight
    Favourite Enola Straight
    Jul 12th 2013, 8:47 PM

True=through

Mute surein edwards
    Favourite surein edwards
    Jul 12th 2013, 8:55 PM

That explains how the fella in clontarf depot can afford his corvette

Mute Pablo
    Favourite Pablo
    Jul 12th 2013, 9:09 PM

Cmon folks, privatise, it worked with the bins didn’t it? Didn’t it???

Mute Rory Mullally
    Favourite Rory Mullally
    Jul 12th 2013, 9:16 PM

I come from a long line of family that work in Dublin bus both as drivers and inspectors your figures there are complete bull waffle if my da was earning 80k a year I don’t think we’d be in the rut we are now maybe your just too gullible and believe everything he says yeah it is an easy job but not that easy mate

Mute Dave Storey
    Favourite Dave Storey
    Jul 12th 2013, 9:17 PM

The fella with the corrvette in clontarf isnt a driver, and the car is 13 years old

Mute Frank Jones
    Favourite Frank Jones
    Jul 12th 2013, 9:50 PM

You are racist

Mute Frank Jones
    Favourite Frank Jones
    Jul 12th 2013, 9:51 PM

Sorry, that comment is to mr jingles, his comment should be removed by the journal and he should be barred

Mute richardmccarthy
    Favourite richardmccarthy
    Jul 12th 2013, 10:52 PM

The people who always end up being shafted are the paying customers who use the state monopoly.

Mute aido74
    Favourite aido74
    Jul 12th 2013, 8:12 PM

Good to see some people standing up against all these cuts.the people on the ground that is ,take the payouts from the exorbitant salaries of the management .its a pity the public will have to suffer with no buses or possibly no trains ,

Mute SMcB
    Favourite SMcB
    Jul 12th 2013, 8:27 PM

In your opinion, what’s a fair salary for a bus driver?

Mute Enola Straight
    Favourite Enola Straight
    Jul 12th 2013, 8:48 PM

In your opinion what’a a fair salary??

Mute aido74
    Favourite aido74
    Jul 13th 2013, 12:57 AM

I couldn’t put a figure on it ,because I’d have to see their rosters and what sort of shifts they do,the premium payments should go as train drivers don’t get these or any other allowances only flat rates.but as in Irish rail ,Dublin bus management are on huge salaries for running “not a great service”.my point was that it seems the ground workers take most if not all the hits not management,but that’s just my opinion

Mute Dave Storey
    Favourite Dave Storey
    Jul 13th 2013, 1:05 AM

Irish rail drivers make about 10k more a year then bus drivers, and in my opinion its an easier job

Mute SMcB
    Favourite SMcB
    Jul 13th 2013, 1:12 AM

Ah right… Lets start at the base salary for a Nurse (an educated job which requires 4yrs+ other training). Base salary is c30k. The only comparison one can make is that Nurses work on a shift work basis. Based on this fact, I would love to hear you what think a Bus Driver should be paid.

Mute SMcB
    Favourite SMcB
    Jul 13th 2013, 2:09 AM

They’re paid too much as well Dave (Irish Rail drivers).

Mute Dave Storey
    Favourite Dave Storey
    Jul 13th 2013, 2:28 AM

If u want a job in public transport go apply for one, but forget about working 9-5 monday to friday and expect to be abused, spat at, threatened with a syringe and pissed on from the upper deck. Still want my 35k job?

Mute SMcB
    Favourite SMcB
    Jul 13th 2013, 2:44 AM

A grad Nurse is paid c30k. Also comes in front of Joe / Josephine public and will encounter the same set of issues a BUS driver will face. I’d happily take your job Dave. Easy life as far as I’m concerned vs. a Nurse vs. a Private worker. If I’d known what I know now I’d have skipped 6 odd years in College to drive a BUS.

Mute Dave Storey
    Favourite Dave Storey
    Jul 13th 2013, 2:53 AM

Well off you go, Dublin Bus will be looking for new grivers soon enough

Mute Deco Dunne
    Favourite Deco Dunne
    Jul 12th 2013, 9:18 PM

Id love to know who these drivers are that are on 65/70k a year.. they’re obviously single no kids and living at home with mammy. No obligations so they can do as much overtime as possible, the ordinary married with kids drivers only earn between 35/40k a year at a push.

Mute Dave Storey
    Favourite Dave Storey
    Jul 12th 2013, 9:22 PM

In the boom time there was a very small group of drivers doing overtime anytime they could, some of them may have make 60k in about 2008. Overtime is mostly a thing of the past now in DB.

Mute simonjblake
    Favourite simonjblake
    Jul 15th 2013, 11:26 PM

Is that top Deco or bottom Deco?

Mute sean de paore
    Favourite sean de paore
    Jul 12th 2013, 8:40 PM

Reality check badly needed by these workers . Fare increase on top of fare increase to sustain these ludicrously high pay rates. Hopefully they’ll be faced down by the company. roster changes excetera are a fact of life for most people today

Mute big shmoke
    Favourite big shmoke
    Jul 12th 2013, 8:44 PM

I think you’ll find that it’s utterly useless & incompetent top heavy management who are behind fare increases & service cuts, drivers have no say in these processes. Most drivers would favour a reduced flat fare & rigorous policing of the free travel scheme & anti social behaviour. But that’s up to management & I’ve never known turkeys to vote for Xmas.

Mute Pablo
    Favourite Pablo
    Jul 12th 2013, 8:51 PM

True true big, that eventually all came out in the Bus Eireann dispute. It ended pretty quickly after management agreed to shoulder the burden.

Mute James Meehan
    Favourite James Meehan
    Jul 12th 2013, 10:57 PM

“big smoke”best comment yet ….jobs for the boys

Mute Deco Dunne
    Favourite Deco Dunne
    Jul 13th 2013, 10:04 PM

Ive been working for Dublin bus for nearly 7 years now and their has been a fare increase almost every year I’ve been there. I’ve had no pay increase in that time. So mate you haven’t a clue what you’re talking about.

Mute big shmoke
    Favourite big shmoke
    Jul 12th 2013, 8:38 PM

More nonsense from SIPTU, this is a PR exercise to reassure drivers because SIPTU left their members in limbo when the strike happened in Bus Éireann. They are obliged under the labour relations act to engage with management as are all trade unions. SIPTU are almost broke, it’s publicly available information. It’s about the money for them. Any future ballot will be influenced by the fact it has since transpired that managements contribution to the Bus Éireann recovery plan will only apply to future appointments, not the current crop. That’s for to be like a red rag to a bill!

Mute Begrudgy
    Favourite Begrudgy

If i was on their lovely salary a year with other perks of double pay on bank holidays and such i would probably fight to keep it as well. Dont think anyone is going to happily take a pay cut. Overpaid or not people are going to protect their wages.

Mute Dave Storey
    Favourite Dave Storey
    Jul 12th 2013, 8:52 PM

Drivers arent over paid, Im a Dublin bus driver, at the top of the salary scale, I take home €550 euro a week, for that money I work most weekends, sometimes I’m up at 4am, other days I get hone at 1am, spend 8 hours a day in Dublin traffic, etc etc!

Mute Enola Straight
    Favourite Enola Straight
    Jul 12th 2013, 8:54 PM

Dave, the management stooges on this thread will probably tell us it’s an urban myth. Keep the faith buddy.

Mute Sean Yeates
    Favourite Sean Yeates
    Jul 12th 2013, 9:03 PM

Join a union then

Mute Chris
    Favourite Chris
    Jul 12th 2013, 9:10 PM

Well said Enola

Mute SMcB
    Favourite SMcB
    Jul 13th 2013, 1:39 AM

The fact you earn more than I do Dave says it all. How long did it take to get your Category D licence?

Mute SMcB
    Favourite SMcB
    Jul 13th 2013, 1:41 AM

I doubt it took 4 yrs+… And by that account did you learn anything else bar be able to drive a bus?? Please.

Mute J. Dunn
    Favourite J. Dunn
    Jul 13th 2013, 2:58 AM

The only thing it says is that you made different choices in life and education. Maybe you should stop measuring.

Mute Dave Storey
    Favourite Dave Storey
    Jul 13th 2013, 3:16 AM

Id have some sort of respect for u if you even posted under your own name. Let me guess you went to college in celtic tiger times and life isnt as rosey as you expected it to be??

Mute Enola Straight
    Favourite Enola Straight
    Jul 13th 2013, 12:45 PM

SmcB – what do you work at? Put up or shut up. Some people decide to be nurses – others bus drivers. They knew the rates. End of story.

Mute Tom Kelleher
    Favourite Tom Kelleher
    Jul 12th 2013, 8:35 PM

Before u ask for other peoples opinion on Bus drivers pay…. what industry do u work in SMcB?

Mute SMcB
    Favourite SMcB
    Jul 13th 2013, 1:36 AM

Tom, I spent 6yrs in College. Cert, Degree and a Masters. I can safely say I’m on nothing near what a BUS driver is on in Dublin Bus. How long does is take to get a Category D licence Tom? Answer me that.

Mute Alan Mulvey
    Favourite Alan Mulvey
    Jul 13th 2013, 5:23 AM

Why don’t u become a bus driver its its so easy and pays so much

Mute Jim Bliss
    Favourite Jim Bliss
    Jul 14th 2013, 12:03 PM

SMcB… if you think driving a bus is a better job than the one you’re doing now, it suggests you probably didn’t do enough research before you started your degree and Masters. Anyway, what’s stopping you retraining as a bus driver now?

I have a degree and a Master’s too. And I earn less than some of the amounts being quoted for bus drivers. But guess what? I don’t want to spend 8 hours a day sitting in traffic being abused by drunk passengers at night. I made my choices. So did you.

Mute simonjblake
    Favourite simonjblake
    Jul 15th 2013, 11:28 PM

@ Tom. He’s a nurse.

Mute Ann McCormack
    Favourite Ann McCormack
    Jul 13th 2013, 2:58 AM

As an Irish man driving a bus in new York city for the past twenty two years no matter what city you drive a bus in you earn every penny. Anyone can get a license to drive a bus but when it comes to actually driving the bus safely day and night, snow , ice, poor road conditions, nasty passengers who think the bus has wings and give the driver the nasty look when the board and get off with no thanks… if you never drove a bus then put a lid on it. go on Dublin bus drivers – hope you get all the money you deserve.

Mute simonjblake
    Favourite simonjblake
    Jul 15th 2013, 11:25 PM

Did you leave Ireland cos you were tired of people slagging you for having a girls name Ann?

Mute Sean Yeates
    Favourite Sean Yeates
    Jul 12th 2013, 8:58 PM

This mandate has to be sanctioned by irish congress of trade unions and yet again in a transport dispute this union ill informs its members has two ballots but fails to inform members of obligations under 1990 industrial relations act to have secret ballot results passed by congress.The other union involved in the company are engaging with company to try resolve issues with ballot for strike as a last resort

Mute Frank Jones
    Favourite Frank Jones
    Jul 12th 2013, 10:06 PM

Sean, that’s not the case, however you’re on the right line for an ‘all out’ strike but not in this case

Mute Paul Kearns
    Favourite Paul Kearns
    Jul 13th 2013, 8:51 AM

It is shocking to hear some people comments degrading the job of a bus driver , it’s not as easy as these people think driving around in all weather conditions dealing all the traffic around the city and dealing with all kinds situations like people with drink and drug problems and there comes the hours that they do , the hours are not like all shifts there 10 times worst and getting 1 weekend off in 5 weeks , so for 35k a year I think it’s way not enough in my opinion far play to them standing up to this government and the bankers because in real terms that’s y the whole of Ireland have to take cuts because of these baffoons.

Mute simonjblake
    Favourite simonjblake
    Jul 15th 2013, 11:24 PM

35k a year for driving a bus. Sounds correct.

Mute Dave Hammond
    Favourite Dave Hammond
    Jul 13th 2013, 12:00 PM

I’m not having a go at just the journal ….but the media in general need to do a better job reporting things like potential strikes , why can’t journalists do some more research and give the full facts of both sides of a dispute and then let people take a more informed view , from reading these reports you get no insight except that there’s a vote , a labour court recommendation and a potential strike looming as mgt want to impose cuts…i get that..and then lots of wild speculation about whats really earned and what cuts are being implemented.some straight q jest ions would help, , how much do we pay drivers , how many do overtime , at what cost , how does this compare to other european averages , what level of cuts are proposed , how much will this impact drivers , does it effect all drivers , there are just so many questions that should be easy enough to find out and report on …one paragraph “stories” look like reprinting a Siptu press release and not much else.

Mute Marty bird
    Favourite Marty bird
    Jul 12th 2013, 8:38 PM

*no one. *