You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Garda Press Office

Keane Mulready-Woods murder: Mayor of Drogheda to hold public rally in the town

Keane Mulready-Woods’ remains were found in two locations in Dublin this week.

LAST UPDATE | 16 Jan 2020

THE MAYOR OF Drogheda has said he will hold a rally in the town to allow people articulate how they feel about the ongoing feud and the killing of 17-year-old Keane Mulready-Woods.

Investigations are continuing into the killing and dismemberment of the teenager which is believed to be connected to the feud.  

Keane’s remains were first discovered in the Moatview area of Coolock in Dublin on Monday night, when gardaí found what appeared to be human limbs and parts of a torso in a hold-all bag.

His head was subsequently discovered in a burnt-out car at Trinity Terrace, near Croke Park, in the early hours of yesterday morning.

Gardaí are continuing to carry out forensic tests on a home in Rathmullen Park in Drogheda, which they believe might have been used to house the teenage victim.

Speaking on LMFM this afternoon, Drogheda Mayor Paul Bell said the community is in “despair” after the killing and that he wants people to come together. 

“I understand the fears of the community and what they are facing because this is not just the word of a public representative but someone living in these communities. There’s a sense of despair, I think there is a place now that people want to articulate how they feel,” Bell said.

As Mayor of Drogheda, on Saturday week I will be organising a gathering on West Street in Drogheda, working across party and non-party, all the different organisations within our town to make sure that our gathering, a protest, a rally, whatever we call it will be a success. And we’ll send the message from Drogheda of what we expect. 

“More details will be released in the coming hours about what is to take place, and I want to make clear, this is not a political venture, the mayor’s office is not a political position. As first citizen I’m obliged to listen to the citizens and try to articulate what they feel about this issue and also the ongoing issues over the last few years.” 

Bell also said that “a threshold has been crossed” and that politicians have “let us down” by not giving gardaí the appropriate legislation to work with. 

“At the end of the day, the legislation that we’re asking An Garda Síochána to defend us with, that we’re asking our communities to come together to protect themselves is not there,” he said. 

Taoiseach 

Taoiseach Leo Varadkar earlier described the murder of the 17-year-old whose body parts were found in separate locations in Dublin as “gruesome”, “grotesque” and “macabre”.

Speaking about the killing this morning, Varadkar called the incident “probably the most gruesome, grotesque murder” that he could think of.

“I think everyone’s really shocked by it; it’s really gruesome and the victim of a crime was a 17-year-old boy…” he said.

“To have it perpetrated against a 17-year-old is just particularly shocking to me.”

Varadkar also said that gardaí would have all the resources that they need to find the people who carried out the killing crime and to make sure that they are brought to justice. 

Minister for Justice Charlie Flanagan said he would work with local representatives to ensure that there is a strong criminal justice response to the crime, and that a decision to deploy an increased number of gardaí to the Drogheda area would remain under review.

“I’ve spoken to the Garda Commissioner this morning and a full garda investigation is underway,” he told Today With Sean O’Rourke on RTÉ Radio 1.

“And I’m satisfied that progess is being made and that those responsible will be brought to justice.”

Garda Commissioner Drew Harris has also visited Drogheda and Coolock garda stations and assured the investigation teams they would have the full support of force.

A family liaison officer also remains in close contact with Keane’s family.

Detectives are probing the theory that the teenager got too deeply involved in the ongoing feud in Drogheda and carried out attacks on the homes of gang rivals. 

The teenage victim had recently carried out attacks on the home of a relative close to a gang boss, making him an obvious target for the attack, detectives believe. 

Gardaí also believe there is “no coincidence” that parts of the teenager’s body were dumped in Coolock and in the north-east inner city of Dublin. 

Both areas are affiliated with the rival Drogheda gang, and gardaí believe that the dumping of body parts in these locations was done to “send a message”. 

Gardaí have made a number of appeals to the public to help them with their investigation.

They are seeking information from anyone who has knowledge of Keane’s movements from when he was last seen in the vicinity of Dominic’s Bridge, Drogheda at approximately 6pm on Sunday 12 January.

They are also seeking dashcam footage from anyone who may have been in the Moatview Drive area of Dublin 17 on Monday 13 January between 9pm and 10pm.

Investigators are further interested in the movements of a blue Volvo S40 which had false registration plates 141 MO 1925, which was abandoned and set on fire in the Trinity Terrace area of Dublin 3 on the morning of Wednesday 15 January at around 1.30am.

They are also interested in the whereabouts of a blue Volvo S40, with registration 161 D 48646, which was stolen from Sandymount in Dublin on 15 December 2019.

Anyone with information is asked to contact Drogheda Garda Station on 041 9874200, the Garda Confidential Line 1800 666 111, Crime Stoppers 1800 250 025 or any garda station.

With reporting from Garreth MacNamee and Rónán Duffy

In July 2018, a feud began between two gangs in Drogheda which has resulted in several shootings and deaths. Despite an increase in Garda resources, the violence has continued. This episode of The Explainer examines this issue:

The Explainer / SoundCloud

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

91 Comments
    Mute Paul O'Sullivan
    Favourite Paul O'Sullivan
    Jan 16th 2020, 10:59 AM

I truly think this is one of the most horrific crimes ever committed in the state. All murders are horrific, but even this has brought these so called gang feuds to a new low.

I truly hope they are caught and never are released from prison, people that a capable of crimes like this should never be in society.

Bew laws should be brought into tackle gang crimes, obviously a new prison should be built. But judges should hand out the 10 year sentence mandatory for certain amounts of possession and supply of drugs.
    Gun possession another 10 years mandatory
    Gang related murder minimum 30 year tariff on a life sentence (actually for all murder)
    The only way to do stop this is by taking them off the streets, break their gangs up and snuff the big guys out… the so called Kartels

Mute Mick.
    Favourite Mick.
    Jan 16th 2020, 11:42 AM

@Paul O’Sullivan: Unfortunately Paul the politicians are afraid of the Judiciary and thus refuse to force them to implement mandatory sentences. They also have a tendency to listen to academics on how to run our Prison System instead of those that actually work on the Frontline in them.
    Until the Politicians grow a pair and start listening to those that actually know what will and won’t work, things will stay the same.

Mute Peter Hughes
    Favourite Peter Hughes
    Jan 16th 2020, 12:16 PM

@Mick.: The prisons are full there is nowhere to put them all thats the problem.

See 20 more replies ▾
    Mute Mick.
    Favourite Mick.
    Jan 16th 2020, 12:53 PM

@Peter Hughes: They are full because they are under the current regime of softly softy, ineffective.
    There is no “Fear of Prison”. As it stands anyone convicted and sentenced automatically gets 1/4 cut off their sentence as remission. They don’t have to earn it by good behaviour. They are not required to work or attend school while in Prison, they receive a weekly gratuity from the State to spend as they see fit in the Prison Shop. They are not mandated to wear a Prison Uniform, they are given better care in Prison that many Pensioners are in care homes. They have medical staff on call 24/7/365, they have access to Psychology services, dental services, optical services all free, their diet is decided by Nutritionists, they have access to fully equipped gyms with qualifed Gym instructiors. They have education from basic literacy to University Doctorates if they so choose. They have libraries and computer workshops. They are out of cell in many cases 8 to 10 hours a day every day. And they have as much drugs as they could ever want.
    There needs to be a root and branch system change in the Prison Regime. Where Prison is a place to be feared. Where hard physical labour is mandatory 6 days a week, 8 Hours a day. Where any form of resistance and disent is utterly crushed immediately and harshly.
    Softly softly has been tried and has failed miserably. Time to try the opposite way.

Mute Shazam37
    Favourite Shazam37
    Jan 16th 2020, 1:23 PM

@Mick.: what absolute rubbish.

Mute Mick.
    Favourite Mick.
    Jan 16th 2020, 1:42 PM

@Shazam37: Do give us your expert opinion then. Tell what you know about the Prison Regime we currently use!

Mute Peter Hughes
    Favourite Peter Hughes
    Jan 16th 2020, 2:30 PM

@Shazam37: Its setup like that so the inmates won’t butcher the prison gaurds.

Mute Mick.
    Favourite Mick.
    Jan 16th 2020, 2:37 PM

@Peter Hughes: Not at all. It’s set up by academics and do gooders who think that criminals can be “saved and redeemed” by being soft a touchy feely. The only thing these guys respect is Fear. You Fear those more powerful and dangerous that you and you exploite those weaker than you. They laugh and sneer at those who think they are doing good. And they exploite the system currently in use because they know it is weak. Make Prisons a place of mind bending self defecating fear, and they would respect it.

Mute ReadOnlyIrl
    Favourite ReadOnlyIrl
    Jan 16th 2020, 3:16 PM

@Mick.: The idea that harsh prisons deter criminals was debunked decades ago. It doesn’t do anything other than increase repeat offenders.

And even if it wasn’t it should be painfully clear that the threat of extreme violence is not deterring these guys, if they get caught by the rival gang they get executed, and that hasn’t stopped them doing anything. That should in of itself demonstrate to you that this medieval notion of crime and punishment doesn’t work as a deterrence.

Mute Mick.
    Favourite Mick.
    Jan 16th 2020, 3:56 PM

@ReadOnlyIrl: Debunked by whom, the very academics that are currently listened to? One only has to look at the Prison population say 50 years ago compared to today’s. Softly Softly has failed and has been a failure for decades. There are far more people in Prison now than there has ever been. And as for rehabilitation the very best results will show about 0.05% success rate. Failed on every level. But still they cling to it, because for them to admit it has failed means they have failed.

Mute ReadOnlyIrl
    Favourite ReadOnlyIrl
    Jan 16th 2020, 4:21 PM

@Mick.: Yes Mick, the people who actually study this scientifically. Not the people who go on what their gut tells them. That is in fact the point of science. Do you think Victorian Ireland when were were cutting off hands and hanging people for minor offenses were a crime free utopia?

Crime has been failing consistently across the western world as “softly softly” liberal academics have been shaping public policy. And in places that take a populist “tough on crime” approach just end up endless social problems and increase in crime rates.

It might make you personally feel better that criminals are suffering in prison but it does nothing to prevent crime.

Again these are people risking death to be in these gangs, not sure exactly what you want prisons to threaten to be worse than being shot and dismembered

Mute Mjhint
    Favourite Mjhint
    Jan 16th 2020, 4:26 PM

@Mick.: the evidence of harsh prisons and the death penalty being a deterrent was debunked decades ago and prison that are designed around prisoner rehabilitation and prisoner focused including serial offenders are a proven resource in countries in Scandinavia and Holland where the prison population is declining at an incredible rate. My advice is research this & leave your emotions out of the discussion. It’s solutions that are needed & not emotional baggage. Also stop buying drugs illegally including cannabis. We are in part responsible for these killing.

Mute Aaron Jones
    Favourite Aaron Jones
    Jan 16th 2020, 5:50 PM

@Mick.: apparently fat Freddy was crying like a kid when he got prison,he wanted to be moved here and there because the ones he knocked off over the years had family in there etc,and he’s apparently a high ranking cartel member

Mute Mick.
    Favourite Mick.
    Jan 16th 2020, 5:52 PM

@ReadOnlyIrl: And what of those that work on the Frontline in Prisons? They are the ones that know exactly what is required not some academic that has never set foot inside a Prison let alone wore the uniform and dealt with the convicts face to face on a daily basis. Those that have to deal with consequences of those decisions made by people who spend their lives in study. It’s Frontline Prison Staff that see and deal with a convicts when they are told NO but hear ” What do you mean no, I am entitled”. And it is this sense of entitlement that they have formented.

Mute Mick.
    Favourite Mick.
    Jan 16th 2020, 5:54 PM

@Aaron Jones: Horse shit. He was wandering around like a Lord making demands and getting them.

Mute Mick.
    Favourite Mick.
    Jan 16th 2020, 6:05 PM

@Mjhint: As yes the “Scandinavia” argument. I was wondering when that would appear. One simple question to that. Do we live in a Scandinavian society? What works in a society different to ours doesn’t work here. Rehabilition is a failure. One only has to look the the vast majority of convicts in our Prisons. 100+ Convictions is more common than not, multiple times in Prison is the norm. So if rehabilitation is working why are our Prisons full of repeat offenders?
    Quite obviously it is a failed policy. The Square Peg won’t go into the Round Hole no matter how much you turn it. So it is time to admit and accept the policy has failed dismally.

Mute Aaron Jones
    Favourite Aaron Jones
    Jan 16th 2020, 6:47 PM

@Mick.: I would to know where you get your horse shit from?

Mute Aaron Jones
    Favourite Aaron Jones
    Jan 16th 2020, 6:48 PM

@Aaron Jones: love to know

Mute Mick.
    Favourite Mick.
    Jan 16th 2020, 6:53 PM

@Aaron Jones: First hand experience.

Mute Gerard Smith
    Favourite Gerard Smith
    Jan 16th 2020, 7:44 PM

@Paul O’Sullivan: the reality is that this won’t work either. USA has some of the harshest sentencing for the crimes you have described. Hasnt made a dent in criminal activity. For some the rewards are worth the risk. Simple as that. While the demand for narcotics is there then criminal activity will be too.

Mute Mjhint
    Favourite Mjhint
    Jan 16th 2020, 10:18 PM

@Mick.: we live in Europe we are European so tell me how you view Scandinavia as a remote exotic part of the world when you can fly there very quickly. Holland was also mentioned. I’m giving you evidence to show your views are wrong. It’s not a personal attack.

Mute Mick.
    Favourite Mick.
    Jan 16th 2020, 10:46 PM

@Mjhint: Never said it was remote or exotic just different. Just as for example Bulgararian Society or Italian society is different to ours. We have different sociatal norms and expectations. Take Switzerland, they expect their public transport to run to the exact second. In Spain it’s normal to break for several hours during the middle of the day. In Greece tax evasion is the national sport. All different societies to ours, all with different expectations and needs.

Mute Mjhint
    Favourite Mjhint
    Jan 17th 2020, 12:46 AM

@Mick.: poor examples again. Spain does not have a siesta period because of a different human behaviour it stems from farm workers working in the summertime during the warm months of the year. It’s a worker protection practice. Tax evasion in Greece? You think that’s just a Greek trait. What’s your view of the blatant non tax paying corps in Ireland who are protected by the law to tax evade. No Switzerland doesn’t have that type of train network. That’s Japan. You seem to be promoting stereotypes here. Get on a train in Switzerland. It’s better than Ireland but far from perfect.

Mute Vin
    Favourite Vin
    Jan 16th 2020, 10:49 AM

Hate to use the word ‘internment’ but I think the state has to go down this road or something similar. I know the Brits used it against the Provo’s and all that went on around that but something drastic needs to be employed now. Gather them all up. The Garda know who they are.

Mute Declan Leonard
    Favourite Declan Leonard
    Jan 16th 2020, 11:17 AM

@Vin: they have nowhere to put them

Mute Sean Kelly
    Favourite Sean Kelly
    Jan 16th 2020, 10:40 AM

The guards are well aware of who done this atrocious crime, it was much more than a sinister crime but meant to send out a message ” mess with us and this is what will happen ” .. the body parts were systematically placed in areas where the gang has rivals. As the quote from training day goes ” it’s not what you know it’s what you can prove ” .. rest in peace to this young man

Mute thomas patrick
    Favourite thomas patrick
    Jan 16th 2020, 12:07 PM

@Sean Kelly: half of whats app are aware too

Mute Mark Mccormack
    Favourite Mark Mccormack
    Jan 16th 2020, 11:02 AM

Horrendous crime. Carried out by drugs gang made up of overlords ,who use individuals of the same age and mind set of the victim( that have chosen drug dealing as a lifestyle choice) to carry out intimidation and open street drug dealing .Zero tolerance required regardless of what age they are and the hug a thug brigade approach doesn’t work.

Mute Mick.
    Favourite Mick.
    Jan 16th 2020, 11:16 AM

@Mark Mccormack: Well said Mark. As we know our current Prison System is simply not a deterrent. Many of these young guys look at the current Prison regime as soft and a place to hang with their mates. There is no mandatory hard physical labour, there is virtually no punishment for criminal activities within the system.
    Our system should match if not exceed the Japanese Prison System.
    The softly softly approach has failed and been failing for decades. And we know that doing the same thing again and again and expecting a different outcome is a sign of insanity.

Mute eileen boles
    Favourite eileen boles
    Jan 16th 2020, 1:08 PM

@Mick.: I d live to b there when they’re “made” carry out this hard labour

Mute Mick.
    Favourite Mick.
    Jan 16th 2020, 1:44 PM

@eileen boles: Simple you refuse you get punished harshly. And I am not talking about taking away their X Box.

Mute jason traynor
    Favourite jason traynor
    Jan 16th 2020, 4:28 PM

Don’t go saying the ‘poor lad’ and how terrible this was.. do you even know what he done to an old lady? Her son owed money, she paid it after getting a loan and this little toe rag stalked her, broke her windows, and threw petrol bombs into her living room while she lived on her own after paying off the debt. He was in 2 gangs and also giving info to both sides. He chose this life and chose the life of a gouger now he’s dead and people want to feel sorry for him? Anybody feeling sorry for the lives he terrorised and caused harm to? This should be a warning to young people wanting this life or crime and gangs.

Mute LittleBee
    Favourite LittleBee
    Jan 16th 2020, 7:08 PM

@jason traynor: That all may be so , I’m absolutely not excusing anything he may have done. However you have to understand the grooming process to see the bigger picture. They are targeted and brought in given drugs clothes and the big man encouragement. They are looking for some sort of nurturing healthy or not. then end up in drug debts and have to do these terrible acts with very little choice. It is often a tactic of the dealers to have them working for both sides. I know someone who was caught up in drug debt for 10 years by two dealers, he would sell for one to pay off the other and so the cycle continued. The dealers were more then happy for this to continue. So yes this kid did some awful stuff, that ladys son was also caught up in drugs do you not hold him responsible ?

Mute brefanlfc
    Favourite brefanlfc
    Jan 17th 2020, 3:45 AM

@LittleBee: A professional criminal would have left the old lady alone after the debt was paid. A sociopath would continue to harass à defenceless vulnerable innocent because he could and because it made him feel good. The world is a better place without

Mute brefanlfc
    Favourite brefanlfc
    Jan 17th 2020, 3:46 AM

@LittleBee: A professional criminal would have left the old lady alone after the debt was paid. A sociopath would continue to harass à defenceless vulnerable innocent because he could and because it made him feel good. The world is a better place without him

Mute JustJack
    Favourite JustJack
    Jan 16th 2020, 11:24 AM

A homeless crisis; a trolley crisis; a charge what you want 5G crisis and build a hospital for the price of four. Now swathes of the place handed over to feuding drug cartels. Welcome to FFG land.

Mute MickN
    Favourite MickN
    Jan 16th 2020, 1:03 PM

@JustJack: FG voters dont care they just look after themselves… Same again…

Mute James Gannon
    Favourite James Gannon
    Jan 16th 2020, 10:53 AM

Regardless of this lads history, it’s important to remember he was a child. The savage monsters who have committed such an atrocity against this kid and his family need to be rooted out and put where they can never see or take part in civil society again. This is beyond evil.
    Rest in Peace kid.

Mute Stephen Brady
    Favourite Stephen Brady
    Jan 16th 2020, 10:58 AM

@James Gannon: whatever the answer is this isn’t it. Due process is there for a reason.

Mute James Gannon
    Favourite James Gannon
    Jan 16th 2020, 1:16 PM

@JDel: you have evidence of crimes that have been committed? Then you should pass that on to the Gardaí and not make unsubstantiated claims on a public forum. Show some sense of decorum.

Mute ApexSnow
    Favourite ApexSnow
    Jan 17th 2020, 1:03 AM

@James Gannon: Ye thick

Mute brefanlfc
    Favourite brefanlfc
    Jan 17th 2020, 4:07 AM

@James Gannon: It’s important to remember Boys A & B were children. As was Ana Kriegel. Remember that, and the names of Robert Thompson and Jon Venables – especially Venables, who reoffended first chance he got – next time you spout nonsense about the universal innocence of children. Evil doesn’t GAF about how old you are.

Mute Gigi
    Favourite Gigi
    Jan 16th 2020, 2:26 PM

Karma!

Mute Marie McG
    Favourite Marie McG
    Jan 16th 2020, 2:33 PM

@Gigi: You must have zero empathy. Heartless.

Mute JDel
    Favourite JDel
    Jan 16th 2020, 2:41 PM

@Marie McG: why should we have sympathy for someone who firebombs people’s houses? his family are involved in criminality. the “kid”‘s christening godfather was Owen Maguire, google him. none of these people deserve sympathy. sooner they’re all wiped out, the better.

Mute Marie McG
    Favourite Marie McG
    Jan 16th 2020, 5:15 PM

@JDel: I take my words back. Upon further reading I have realised this Keane fella was a horrible thug. He threatened a mother for money owed by her sons. She eventually gave Keane the money yet he abducted her cat and murdered it.

Mute Colleen
    Favourite Colleen
    Jan 16th 2020, 10:17 AM

RIP.

Mute Conchobar
    Favourite Conchobar
    Jan 16th 2020, 11:11 AM

A massive change in drug policy is needed

Mute Niall Dunne
    Favourite Niall Dunne
    Jan 16th 2020, 1:08 PM

How much of this is releated to Austerity? As wages have been lowered and lowered kids see the only people in their communities with money as the gangs instead of teachers and nurses who they see struggle.

Mute Earth Traveller
    Favourite Earth Traveller
    Jan 16th 2020, 4:39 PM

@Niall Dunne: “How much of this is releated to Austerity?” Very little, probably. A large part of the demand for drugs is driven by the Centic Tiger 2.0.

Mute Jim Higgins
    Favourite Jim Higgins
    Jan 16th 2020, 2:20 PM

Anybody who has ever bought, sold or used cocaine is culpable in this death and many more. If there is no demand, there will be no market and no suppliers. Those who think that a little usage is harmless are deluding themselves.

So-called ‘casual users’ should face the risk of prison.

Mute Marie McG
    Favourite Marie McG
    Jan 16th 2020, 2:30 PM

@Jim Higgins: Ah yes. Lock up anyone who has used drugs. The war on drugs will then be won. You’re deluded.

Mute Patrick Mulligan
    Favourite Patrick Mulligan
    Jan 16th 2020, 2:43 PM

@Jim Higgins: @Sean Kelly Then they will just start doing some other illigal activity that gangs can fight over.

Mute Daithi De Roiste
    Favourite Daithi De Roiste
    Jan 16th 2020, 10:28 AM

Slim chance but i hope they catch them

Mute Martin Smith
    Favourite Martin Smith
    Jan 16th 2020, 4:59 PM

At least his family had a body to bury unlike the families of Willie Maughan 35 and his girlfriend Anastasija Varslavane 21 missing from Meath since April 2015 believed by his family to have been murdered. dont see any of the media overkill and weeping and gnashing of teeth over this young missing couple…most readers will go who you talking about we’ll google the names read the story and tell me that this crime of a double murder is any less evil than a wannabe hard man who lived by sword and died by it.at least the guards warned him this couple got no warning and families have no closure no bodies to mourn no graves to visit so spare me the i am going to organise a protest by Drogheda Lord Mayor and snowflake wringing of hands for a thug.

Mute Maggie May
    Favourite Maggie May
    Jan 16th 2020, 4:08 PM

Capital punishment needs to be seriously considered…in cases like this..

Mute Tjamr
    Favourite Tjamr
    Jan 16th 2020, 5:15 PM

Absolutely no sympathy for him. He was a violent criminal, the kind of person who would kill you in the blink of an eye

Mute james s
    Favourite james s
    Jan 16th 2020, 12:01 PM

100 years ago these kids would have been sent off to fight in the “ Great War” by governments. Little has changed still being used as Canon fodder.

Mute School4work
    Favourite School4work
    Jan 16th 2020, 5:50 PM

Look at the clothes list he was wearing, look at the bling, look at the pose with the dog.

Just look!

Mute Angry_Man41
    Favourite Angry_Man41
    Jan 16th 2020, 6:42 PM

Notwithstanding the utter barbarism of what was done to this lad, he received a suspended sentence recently for terrorising a family. Had he been given 2 years inside , he just might have been turned . You have to ask what sort of an upbringing turns an Irish lad of 17 that bad?
    As for the vermin that carries this out, while of life tariffs should be applied . By their barbarity they have removed themselves from civilised society . No nonsense about rehabilitation etc

Mute Davy Sanders
    Favourite Davy Sanders
    Jan 16th 2020, 12:10 PM

No matter what you call the people that dismembered the body; no matter what crimes any of these people, including the victim, committed; one thing is for sure the people that cut another person’s head off will pay later in life with those images etched into their mind… Imagine a life of that scene in your head. I feel sorry for them in a way…

Mute Tim O'Brien
    Favourite Tim O'Brien
    Jan 16th 2020, 12:57 PM

@Davy Sanders: they won’t have a later life, they will be dead one way or another within the next few years.

Mute Ciaran Coye
    Favourite Ciaran Coye
    Jan 16th 2020, 11:44 PM

@Davy Sanders: If they are capable of committing this, they’d probably enjoy that image etched in they’re memory.

Mute Sunny Lax
    Favourite Sunny Lax
    Jan 16th 2020, 5:00 PM

lets pray 4 the next 1 soon…..

Mute WESTY
    Favourite WESTY
    Jan 16th 2020, 10:56 AM

This is mad this lads head was decapitated from his body, ducking hell.

Mute brefanlfc
    Favourite brefanlfc
    Jan 17th 2020, 3:59 AM

@WESTY: Mad, Ted.

Mute Luke13
    Favourite Luke13
    Jan 16th 2020, 6:14 PM

Poor “child”…Most likely, would not end up anything great in our society

Mute brefanlfc
    Favourite brefanlfc
    Jan 17th 2020, 3:49 AM

@Luke13: Imagine him being around for another 60 years. No thank you.

Mute Denis Casey
    Favourite Denis Casey
    Jan 16th 2020, 4:43 PM

Greater Garda visibility is not enough on its own.
    What appears to be absent is solid and timely intelligence.
    Dail Eireann without question allocate approriate resources of the highest order.
    This is not an issue for FF FG SF GP LP it is a scream that the Dail speak loudly and clearly that this debased barbaric behaviour will not be tolerated .
    I grieve for the boys family and for what this young lad could have been.

Mute Marie Broomfield
    Favourite Marie Broomfield
    Jan 16th 2020, 8:58 PM

why are comments allowed on this murder story?

Mute Tracey Montgomery
    Favourite Tracey Montgomery
    Jan 16th 2020, 8:18 PM

Absolutely horrendous barbaric act. To think some people on here are actually saying this young lad “deserved” what happened to him !?!? What’s wrong with you people???

Mute Luke13
    Favourite Luke13
    Jan 16th 2020, 9:02 PM

@Tracey Montgomery:

Instead of hitting the books, and living a teenage lifestyle, he choose himself the adult gangsta life…What did he expect? A Noble Peace prize?

Mute brefanlfc
    Favourite brefanlfc
    Jan 17th 2020, 3:58 AM

@Tracey Montgomery: He deserved to be permanently removed from human society. As for his age, Boys A & B were younger than him & from a totally different economic & social background. Youth doesn’t preclude being evil. That said, those that not only killed but then chopped him up probably need to take a good long hard look at themselves…

Mute Tracey Montgomery
    Favourite Tracey Montgomery
    Jan 16th 2020, 8:22 PM

Absolutely barbaric evil act. He was a child. To think that some people on here think he “deserved” this!!! What’s wrong with you people?!?!