You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Pictures: Canadian ambassador tackles protester at 1916 ceremony

Kevin Vickers made headlines across the globe in 2014 when he intervened during a terror attack at the Canadian parliament.

26/5/2016 Protestor disrupts ceremony. Pictured is Sam Boal Sam Boal

CANADIAN AMBASSADOR KEVIN Vickers won praise from other attendees this afternoon, after he tackled a protester who began shouting at a ceremony to commemorate British soldiers who died during the Easter Rising.

Security had been tight in the area ahead of this afternoon’s event, which was invite-only. Politicians, the British ambassador and other invited guests gathered at Grangegorman Military Cemetery from shortly before noon, ahead of a ceremony that included readings of historical accounts, music and prayer.

However, shortly after the event had begun, a man started shouting loudly.

“He was shouting that it was a disgrace and things like that,” one attendee told TheJournal.ie. 

Fair play to him, the first person up was the Canadian ambassador – he pretty much bear-hugged him and brought him off to one side before the Special Branch swept in.

Formerly the Sergeant-at-Arms at Canada’s parliament building, Vickers was named ambassador to Ireland in January of last year.

In October 2014, he intervened to stop a terrorist attack in the Canadian parliament – shooting dead a gunman who stormed the building.

26/5/2016 Protestor disrupts ceremony. Pictured is Sam Boal Sam Boal

Gardaí confirmed a man in his mid-40s had been arrested by gardaí from Cabra over a public order offence at the cemetery at 12.10pm today. He’s being detained at Blanchardstown garda station.

“The guards moved in immediately after it happened,” the attendee who spoke to us said.

It didn’t take away from the ceremony at all.

Solemn occasion 

Official State events have been held this year to mark all deaths that occurred during the fighting in Easter week 1916.

For instance, wreaths were laid at six iconic sites associated with the Rising on Easter Monday last.

That followed Easter Sunday’s main military parade on Dublin’s O’Connell Street, and the previous day’s Garden of Remembrance ceremony “to remember and honour those who gave their lives in the cause of Irish Freedom”.

Charlie Flanagan, the foreign affairs minister, laid a wreath at today’s ceremony. Dominick Chilcott, the British ambassador, also laid a wreath on behalf of the British Government.

Politicians from other parties also attended – however Sinn Féin declined an invitation, saying it wouldn’t be “appropriate” to do so.

Read: ‘Not appropriate’: Sinn Féin rejects invitation to commemorate British 1916 deaths

Read: ‘There’s no glory in taking a man’s life’: Canadian ambassador to Ireland on stopping a terrorist attack

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

312 Comments
    Mute Norvik_1602
    Favourite Norvik_1602
    Jul 1st 2018, 7:18 AM

So some people mocked something they opposed. And this is news how exactly?

Mute Charlie Hunter
    Favourite Charlie Hunter
    Jul 1st 2018, 9:09 AM

@Norvik_1602:
    Irish feminists like reading this sort of stuff. Don’t ask me why…but they do.

Mute Chucky Arlaw
    Favourite Chucky Arlaw
    Jul 1st 2018, 10:01 AM

@Norvik_1602: you 100% would have loved those drawings if you’d been around back then

Jul 1st 2018, 10:24 AM

@Norvik_1602: it’s part of the Irish female history and how we got the vote. It’s gas that all the usual mocking that goes around women who just want equal rights were around then as they are now. Had they been in existence now they would have been called feminazies, etc to make them sound like Nazis therefore demean their plight. Who knew some men were so fragile even back then? Very interesting.

Mute Battaz
    Favourite Battaz
    Jul 1st 2018, 11:12 AM

@Conor Paddington: They fought for middle class women only.
    They had contempt for the lower orders.
    The precise criticism levelled today.

Mute Fiona Fitzgerald
    Favourite Fiona Fitzgerald
    Jul 1st 2018, 10:16 PM

“Markievicz died at the age of 59 on 15 July 1927, of complications related to appendicitis. She had given away the last of her wealth, and died in a public ward “among the poor where she wanted to be”.

Mute James Doyle
    Favourite James Doyle
    Jul 1st 2018, 9:45 AM

Well, I’ll be. An article about men being upset over women getting votes and a couple of dudes, 100 years later, all over it telling us why it was a bad idea and that such feminism is harmful.

The irony is delicious.

Mute Joe Phillips
    Favourite Joe Phillips
    Jul 1st 2018, 10:30 AM

@James Doyle: *ironing

Mute Nydon
    Favourite Nydon
    Jul 1st 2018, 9:50 AM

They appear to have fought for basic rights (that many of the opposit sex took for granted) to be given to them by the state.
    For that they were lampooned and ridiculed by people who had vested interests in things staying the way they were and who were ably abetted by partisan agenda driven publications that saw their request for institutional equality as a distraction from their own main agenda and so portrayed it as something that right thinking women in general didn’t even want.
    Fair dues to them for persisting and winning out against the stacked odds.
    It’s probably an inspiration to those who currently find themselves in a similar position in Ireland today. Well worth seeing.

Mute Battaz
    Favourite Battaz
    Jul 1st 2018, 11:12 AM

@Nydon: They fought exclusively for middle class women’s rights.
    They had contempt for the lower orders.
    A sentiment echoed today.

Mute mary conneely
    Favourite mary conneely
    Jul 1st 2018, 11:50 AM

@Battaz: You know this how? Did you ever speak to someone with the lived experience? My grandmother lived with me until her death in 1982. She was hugely involved in all the political arenas from 1912 until my father was born in 1923. She campaigned for voting rights for all women and was disgusted that it was only given to married women or women who had property and were over the age of 30. This meant that she was unable to vote until the 1924 elections and she never missed voting in an election after that.

Mute Ricardo Shillyshally
    Favourite Ricardo Shillyshally
    Jul 1st 2018, 8:20 AM

Why is the word “suffragette” misspelled in the headline and most of the article?

Mute Conor Paddington
    Favourite Conor Paddington
    Jul 1st 2018, 10:07 AM

@Ricardo Shillyshally: they’re two somewhat distinct groups, though obviously closely related. The Suffragists were the first wave of activists and were typically more peaceful. The Suffragettes came later and were and were more aggressive/militant in their methods. Both words are correct.

Mute Norvik_1602
    Favourite Norvik_1602
    Jul 1st 2018, 7:20 AM

You could also do a piece on how female Irish Unionists who supported votes for women have been written out of our nationalists only please history books.
    Suffragettes actually put back and damaged the cause of votes for women. It came about despite them, not because of them.

Mute EillieEs
    Favourite EillieEs
    Jul 1st 2018, 8:07 AM

@Norvik_1602: well there’s a rewriting of history

Jul 1st 2018, 10:26 AM

@Norvik_1602: so wait! This wasn’t good enough to be news according to you yet you’ve commented twice and tried to change the narrative? Typical!

Mute Greedylocks
    Favourite Greedylocks
    Jul 1st 2018, 10:53 AM

@Norvik_1602: your correct. First world war need for industrial workers was the game changer. Woman proved themselves as equals

Mute Battaz
    Favourite Battaz
    Jul 1st 2018, 11:18 AM

@Deborah Behan: Tsk, Tsk, trying to silence male voices has gotta run contrary to your usual ‘diversity’ agenda.
    Stop being so closed off from the world.
    Censorship is disturbing.

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Jul 1st 2018, 11:42 AM

@Battaz: how is replying trying to silence someone or even censor them?

Mute Fiona Fitzgerald
    Favourite Fiona Fitzgerald
    Jul 1st 2018, 10:30 PM

Seriously? I don’t think that’s how it happened. Throughout history, most women have always worked. I had the impression that the Industrial revolution and various plagues and famines caused people to gravitate towards paid work instead. Later, the propaganda in English-speaking countries ran something like this: “The conscripted men are back in town, time to step down and give up your jobs to all the unemployed ex-soldiers.” Naturally no one wanted to resign and live on air. Then it became the law that married women at least had to resign and become dependants. Such a law was not made with the consent of working women, was it? No wonder they wanted a vote.

Mute Fred Jonsen
    Favourite Fred Jonsen
    Jul 1st 2018, 11:55 AM

What the feminists love to leave out of the conversation is that most working class men didn’t have the vote either. Usually only property owners or higher professionals could vote. The process of universal suffrage was a gradual one (and it had to be gradual to match the slow educating of the wider population, remember most people couldn’t read or write), and it wasn’t some conspiracy against women.

Mute Daniel Donovan
    Favourite Daniel Donovan
    Jul 1st 2018, 12:10 PM

@Fred Jonsen: Well it was probably a conspiracy against women in the higher classes to be fair Fred.

Mute Fred Jonsen
    Favourite Fred Jonsen
    Jul 1st 2018, 12:17 PM

@Daniel Donovan:

Absolutely my heart bleeds for those upper class women but the point is the correct dimension to analyse voting history is class and education, not gender.

Mute Frank McGlynn
    Favourite Frank McGlynn
    Jul 1st 2018, 2:38 PM

@Fred Jonsen: Correct. The thousands of men who were killed and maimed fighting for their country’s freedom in the First World war did not have a vote as they did not own property. Many of them lived in army barracks. Women at that time may not have had the vote but they did not have the obligation to go to the trenches to sacrifice life and limb. Men, most of whom did not have the vote either, did that for them and indeed the suffragettes were at the forefront of the White Feather movement who publicly shamed pacifist men who refused to go to war. Equal rights without equal obligations – a core value of the feminist movement even to this day.

Mute 6ljJQRRU
    Favourite 6ljJQRRU
    Jul 1st 2018, 8:50 AM

Anyone else sick of hearing about this rubbish. The World Cup is on it’s all anyone cares about.

Mute Carol 'is this what bodily autonomy feels like?'C.
    Favourite Carol 'is this what bodily autonomy feels like?'C.
    Jul 1st 2018, 9:51 AM

@6ljJQRRU: Yes, we are sick of hearing about the World Cup…

Jul 1st 2018, 10:29 AM

@6ljJQRRU: F off and watch the World Cup then. No one has a gun to your head! Oh you’d prefer to moan on an article about women? As you were.

Mute Battaz
    Favourite Battaz
    Jul 1st 2018, 11:14 AM

Are you suggesting that women don’t, or shouldn’t have an interest in football?
    What a sexist perspective you hold.

Mute Teresa Scanlon
    Favourite Teresa Scanlon
    Jul 1st 2018, 10:09 AM

@JamesMcCarthy did nobody tell you that Ireland didn’t make it to the World Cup James

Mute Greg Blake
    Favourite Greg Blake
    Jul 1st 2018, 1:12 PM

@Teresa Scanlon: don’t you know the World Cup is an elaborate feminist plot to get the guys looking at the bouncy ball instead of up skirting.

Mute Nydon
    Favourite Nydon
    Jul 1st 2018, 11:56 AM

I’m sure many did and many didn’t. Identity politics is a layered matrix with horizontal socio-economic layers existing within every vertical identity. I suspect that just like today the lower layers were expected to remain in the background only to be called on if sheer numbers were required to bolster the aims of the vertical.
    My point is more to do with the determination of any group to remove an institutionalized inequality where laws bestow advantage on one group above another. Institutionalized inequality is still prevelent in Irish society today.

Mute Frank McGlynn
    Favourite Frank McGlynn
    Jul 1st 2018, 6:08 PM

The thousands of men who were killed and maimed fighting for their country’s freedom in the First World war did not have a vote as they did not own property. Many of them lived in army barracks. Women at that time may not have had the vote but they did not have the obligation to go to the trenches to sacrifice life and limb. Men, most of whom did not have the vote either, did that for them and indeed the suffragettes were at the forefront of the White Feather movement who publicly shamed pacifist men who refused to go to war. Equal rights without equal obligations – a core value of the feminist movement even to this day.

Mute John Berry
    Favourite John Berry
    Jul 1st 2018, 4:17 PM

The subjugation of Women…..still happening today, all over the World.

Mute Dermot keogh
    Favourite Dermot keogh
    Jul 1st 2018, 5:43 PM

Suffragists were decent legitimate campaigners for equality. Suffragettes were sexist, frustrated, terrorist trolls who who did a lot of damage to more than only the Suffragist’s campaign.