You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Church of St Peter and Paul in Kiltullagh where the paintings were stolen. Google Streetview

Priceless paintings stolen in broad daylight from Galway church

The paintings were by well-known Dublin artist, Evie Hone who was renowned painter work and stain-glass artist.

SIX OIL PAINTINGS of the stations of the cross were stolen in the middle of the day from a church in Co Galway yesterday.

The paintings were by well-known Dublin artist, Evie Hone who was renowned painter work and stain-glass artist.

Parish Priest at the Church of St Peter and Paul at Kiltullagh, Fr. Martin McNamara, told TheJournal.ie that the theft happened “sometime between 10am and 5.30pm, in broad daylight”.

“Six out of the 14 paintings were stolen – the 3rd, 4th, 5th, 10th, 11th and 12th,” he said. “The whole set are worth around €500,000″.

The paintings are quite large, around 4ft by 3ft and were in a timber frame and were hanging on both sides of the church for the last 67 years.

“The paintings were the only stations of the cross that Evie Hone ever painted,” explained Fr. McNamara. “They hung in the church since 1946 and were never touched until yesterday”.

Gardaí have technically examined the scene and investigations are in place.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

46 Comments
    Mute Uncle Mort
    Favourite Uncle Mort
    Jun 23rd 2013, 4:06 PM

Priceless paintings stolen in broad daylight from Galway church.

“The whole set are worth around €500,000″. Indeed.

Mute David Thompson
    Favourite David Thompson
    Jun 23rd 2013, 4:29 PM

the catlicks started the troubles in 1969, nothing to do with us loyal sons of ulster.

see ye in the greyhound at 6pm

Mute Daniel Dudek Corrigan
    Favourite Daniel Dudek Corrigan
    Jun 23rd 2013, 4:39 PM

€500,000 hanging on a wall of a church, while people are starving… nice

Mute sluazcanal
    Favourite sluazcanal
    Jun 23rd 2013, 4:44 PM

You can’t eat a painting.

Mute simonjblake
    Favourite simonjblake
    Jun 23rd 2013, 4:44 PM

@ Daniel. My thoughts exactly. My second question is did the church originally commission and pay for them?

Mute Mary Kavanagh
    Favourite Mary Kavanagh
    Jun 23rd 2013, 5:15 PM

But you can sell it (them) and give money for soup kitchens, etc. I thought that was the whole point of the original Christianity as described in Acts and the epistles. The moment Christianity was recognised as the official religion of the Roman Empire, it became all piwerful annd we know what power does to people and organisations…

Mute Gadfly
    Favourite Gadfly
    Jun 23rd 2013, 6:17 PM

A few more years and there will be a majority catlicks, poor David and you.loyal to a flag that doesnt want anything to do with you or your time trapped culture.

Mute Rita Teehan
    Favourite Rita Teehan
    Jun 23rd 2013, 9:00 PM

The stations of the cross would have been paid for by the people of the parish. They belong to Gods house.Glad to see you are so concerned about the poor ,put it into action and do something yourself.

Mute Michael G O'Reilly
    Favourite Michael G O'Reilly
    Jun 23rd 2013, 4:41 PM

All missing the point ! Theft is theft !!

Mute Tony Canning
    Favourite Tony Canning
    Jun 23rd 2013, 9:47 PM

Theft is indeed theft. And it should be punished – and hopefully will be.

If they are returned, I hope that they are sold though. Seems more than a little perverse to have half a million of paintings hanging around while congregations are asked to contribute to the church with virtue attached to giving. People struggling to pay their mortgage coming in to have a word and ask god for a bit of help to make things better for them and contributing to a place that hang half a million of paintings on the wall? No sense at all.

Mute Fergal Gaultier
    Favourite Fergal Gaultier
    Jun 24th 2013, 9:46 AM

@Tony Canning,

Why does that argument end? You could apply it to every church bench to carpark. The paintings are functional as stations. The average priest earns about 25k. A few modernist paints on a church wall doesn’t give a priest any personal wealth. Intact they are an asset to everyone.

Mute Tony Canning
    Favourite Tony Canning
    Jun 24th 2013, 2:07 PM

Intact they are an asset to everyone? I never said anything about them not being intact. They can still be available and the value become something that supports people who are instead putting their money into church contributions.

Mute Fergal Gaultier
    Jun 24th 2013, 7:28 PM

I meant *Infact they are an asset to everyone. If they were sold they would go to a private collection. Our museums are horribly cash starved and are probably not in a position to buy this kind of stuff.

Mute Lou Brennan
    Favourite Lou Brennan
    Jun 23rd 2013, 4:32 PM

Daylight robbery is something that goes on everyday in Ireland.

Mute Misty Pixie
    Favourite Misty Pixie
    Jun 23rd 2013, 10:41 PM

It was cloudy yesterday

Mute Pauric O Laighin
    Favourite Pauric O Laighin
    Jun 23rd 2013, 4:49 PM

It is sad that people do not show respect any more.

Mute Alan McNamara
    Favourite Alan McNamara
    Jun 23rd 2013, 4:25 PM

So they have priceless paintings, 6 of which are worth half a million and yet no CCTV.

Mute Alan McNamara
    Favourite Alan McNamara
    Jun 23rd 2013, 4:26 PM

Sorry whole set worth half a million, still should of had CCTV

Mute Paul Keenan
    Favourite Paul Keenan
    Jun 23rd 2013, 4:19 PM

I predict the two parts of this article seen will be the Catholic Church and €500,000.

Mute BadDrivingIreland
    Favourite BadDrivingIreland
    Jun 23rd 2013, 5:10 PM

Priceless but worth 500k. Ok.

Mute Barry Hughes
    Favourite Barry Hughes
    Jun 23rd 2013, 5:58 PM

Kiltullagh Garda station was closed down a few months ago. I guess that’s progress!

Mute Kardia Skepsi
    Favourite Kardia Skepsi
    Jun 23rd 2013, 5:36 PM

At first I was disgusted by this thievery. Who would rob a church I thought… But seriously? A single mundane church had paintings of such value? Would they not sell them to help those in need? I’m sure their Jesus would be ashamed at the pious hypocrisy, not the thievery.

Mute Jason Culligan
    Favourite Jason Culligan
    Jun 23rd 2013, 6:03 PM

I would’ve thought that the golden throne for the pope would have been the telling sign that they don’t give a damn about the poor.

Mute Taghash Fortwitte
    Favourite Taghash Fortwitte
    Jun 23rd 2013, 8:30 PM

Logic: Since you can’t eat a painting but could sell it in order to buy food for the hungry then those who have the money needed to purchase the painting should already be feeding the hungry…. now …stop talking $hi*e!!!

Mute Fergal Gaultier
    Jun 24th 2013, 9:34 AM

@Jason Culligan,

Pray tell what golden throne?

The church does plenty for poor, in any metric. That is the truth.

Mute Richard Fennelly
    Favourite Richard Fennelly
    Jun 23rd 2013, 4:55 PM

Oops pauric u have used your old patrick lyons avatar.u might need to study stephen mcgelliot he is way better then u.

Mute Paul Keenan
    Favourite Paul Keenan
    Jun 23rd 2013, 4:58 PM

Haha Agree!!

Mute Seamus Enright
    Favourite Seamus Enright
    Jun 23rd 2013, 4:30 PM

Arite lads who stole them

Mute Uncle Mort
    Favourite Uncle Mort
    Jun 23rd 2013, 4:34 PM

I wonder where was Alan Shatter at the time? naw, most likely suspect is Nooner, he has the contacts :-)

Mute Stephen Murphy
    Favourite Stephen Murphy
    Jun 23rd 2013, 4:06 PM

That’s priceless, pictures of religion considered valuable! Nothing is safe now, your dogs and paintings in a church?

Mute Paul Keenan
    Favourite Paul Keenan
    Jun 23rd 2013, 4:16 PM

I’ve read your comment a few times. I can’t get your point!

Mute Little Jim
    Favourite Little Jim
    Jun 23rd 2013, 4:26 PM

Nope.
    Me neither.

Mute David Conroy
    Favourite David Conroy
    Jun 23rd 2013, 7:47 PM

And your Journal.ie identity ;-)

Mute Stephen Murphy
    Favourite Stephen Murphy
    Jun 23rd 2013, 9:00 PM

How bad things are now, they’re robbing holy pictures from churches and dogs from people! Why weren’t these paintings, sold off to pay for the abuse victims or Laundry workers?

Mute Paul Keenan
    Favourite Paul Keenan
    Jun 23rd 2013, 9:35 PM

That is just so ridiculous it’s beyond belief. But it is in keeping with the classic “sell the treasure” argument.

Mute Stíofán Bearnán Mac Uileagóid
    Favourite Stíofán Bearnán Mac Uileagóid
    Jun 23rd 2013, 7:50 PM

I don’t see the point in stealing art. Sure who is going to buy a painting too hot to handle and sure what would they do with it? Eventually it will pop up somewhere, I just hope not just drowned in the nearest lake and destroyed. If the thieves are out there they should just give it up and and make a safe return of the paintings.

Mute David Thompson
    Favourite David Thompson
    Jun 23rd 2013, 5:29 PM

I thought the general was dead

Mute John Ward
    Favourite John Ward
    Jun 23rd 2013, 4:36 PM

Evie Hone.
    Was she related to Pog ma Hone?
    Priceless!