You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Here's the real story behind those Labour ads you might have seen lately

Just how ordinary are the ordinary people featured in the 30-second videos you might have seen in your feed?

OVER THE PAST few weeks you may have seen a number of Labour-sponsored videos on your Facebook feed.

The three 30-second videos are an unusual departure for an Irish political party in that they do not feature any politicians.

Instead we see ’ordinary people’ talking about how things are getting better for them.

There’s a young woman getting ready for work on what looks like the first day of a new job:

Labour / YouTube

There’s a young family talking about plans they have to improve their home:

Labour / YouTube

And there’s a coffee shop owner talking about how business has been picking up over the last 18 months:

Labour / YouTube

The videos are the brainchild of Bloom Advertising, which has done its fair share of work for Labour in recent years.

The ad agency was behind that infamous ‘Every Little Hurts’ newspaper spot during the 2011 general election.

Many Labour TDs have since acknowledged the ad has proved hugely damaging in recent years as the party ended up implementing many of the measures it warned Fine Gael would do if allowed the govern alone.

fgeverylittlehelps

The ‘Better for… ‘ videos are part of a number of campaigns Labour is planning in the run-up to the general election as it attempts to show voters how it has contributed to the delivery of the economic recovery.

“Voters aren’t connecting the recovery with what the government is doing and those that are are connecting it more with Fine Gael and not Labour,” said a senior party source.

The ads are an attempt to “humanise” the recovery and show how ordinary people are benefiting, the source said.

But how ordinary are they? 

Though they are not actors, the participants are in almost all cases friends or acquaintances of the principals at the production company, Marmalade Films.

The participants were also paid for their involvement. Marmalade even advertised for one of the spots on its Facebook page:

marmaladepaidgig (1)

Labour said it met these costs and that the exact amount paid to those involved was “a matter between ourselves and the individuals”.

Marmalade Films’ creative director Daniel Hegarty said it is “standard practice” to pay people for taking part in documentary work. He added:

We often use our own networks, ask friends of friends, and that’s what we did in this case.

Colin Harmon, owner of the 3FE café on Lower Grand Canal St in Dublin, told us he took part in the “Better for Business” ad to help out his friends at Marmalade Films.

They wanted someone to do an ad in a small business in Dublin, and were running up against a tight deadline, so they asked me.

labourcolinharmon

Harmon, a former Irish barista champion, says he has voted for Labour in the past, and is a “big fan of some of their people,” but feels similarly about Fine Gael and Fianna Fáil.

For his time, Harmon says he was paid “a few hundred quid” by the production company.

Siobhan and Colin, the couple in the “Better for Families” video did not respond to TheJournal.ie‘s requests for a comment.

labourad2

However, our research shows they too are long-standing acquaintances of the principles at Marmalade Films.

Gemma Crowe, who appears in the “Better for Jobs” ad, declined to talk to TheJournal.ie about her participation.

gemmacrowelabour

The ads have been targeted at particular demographics on Facebook over the last few weeks with the party primarily aiming them at families with children and younger, cosmopolitan voters.

The senior party source added: “That’s the reason why we didn’t want to have politicians in them because politicians telling people the recovery is great is actually going to have the opposite effect and turn them off.”

Labour declined to comment on how much in total it spent on the campaign, including production and distribution on Facebook.

- additional reporting from Dan MacGuill 

Read: Labour TD: That Tesco ad has haunted us>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

62 Comments
    Mute Martin Brennan
    Favourite Martin Brennan
    Dec 18th 2018, 5:36 PM

It’s frightening that guys like him are given the reigns of power

Mute dB O'Neill
    Favourite dB O'Neill
    Dec 18th 2018, 8:15 PM

@Martin Brennan: all based on the broken promise of reopening Stepaside Garda station.

Mute Daniel Wilson
    Favourite Daniel Wilson
    Dec 18th 2018, 10:48 PM

@Martin Brennan: what is the problem with the proposals?

Mute Bat Daly
    Favourite Bat Daly
    Dec 19th 2018, 11:32 AM

@Daniel Wilson: You obviously dont have a licence to lose or you cant/dont drive very often or else you would know how stupid your comment is.

Mute Crocodylus Pontifex
    Favourite Crocodylus Pontifex
    Dec 18th 2018, 5:25 PM

He really is a simple individual

Mute Niall Sheridan
    Favourite Niall Sheridan
    Dec 18th 2018, 5:24 PM

No vote here!

Mute Niall McNamara
    Favourite Niall McNamara
    Dec 18th 2018, 6:56 PM

We’ve had strikes at dublin bus, iarnrod eireann and bus eireann. Ross no where to seen. Huge traffic problems in all our major cities due to lack of forward planning and investment in public transport infrastructure. Ross nowhere to be seen. Massive deterioration in our roads in rural ireland. Ross definately nowhere to be seen. He obsesses with penalty points as its easy to tackle and will have no impact on his mates in d4 anyway. Without a doubt the worst transport minister we’ve ever had and we’ve had some absolute tulips!

Mute conriel
    Favourite conriel
    Dec 18th 2018, 8:24 PM

Niall McNamara:
    I Fully agree with your comments

Mute Disabled Junkie
    Favourite Disabled Junkie
    Dec 19th 2018, 2:58 PM

@Niall McNamara: And chronic over crowding on the luas every day. Where was he? Tapping on with a big smile at 11 am.

Mute Donal Carey
    Favourite Donal Carey
    Dec 18th 2018, 6:08 PM

A dopey Independent with a bit of power is a dangerous thing

Mute Mark Malone
    Favourite Mark Malone
    Dec 18th 2018, 5:31 PM

Thank God he didn’t lose the run of himself when he got the auld bit of power.

Mute Gerard Heery
    Favourite Gerard Heery
    Dec 18th 2018, 5:35 PM

Money spinner

Mute Cal-Dog
    Favourite Cal-Dog
    Dec 18th 2018, 5:36 PM

I betcha ross hasnt a car and uses bus and dart to get around….from leafy south county dublin

Mute shellakybooky
    Favourite shellakybooky
    Dec 18th 2018, 7:13 PM

@Cal-Dog: gobsh!te probably has his own driver

Mute Patrick Mulligan
    Favourite Patrick Mulligan
    Dec 18th 2018, 6:02 PM

Ah Mr Ross who I had to get out of my car and tell him he was too far from the traffic lights for the sensors to work while huge tailback behind him, he would have noticed if he wasn’t the glued to his phone for 10 mins surely points for that

Mute Billy Walsh
    Favourite Billy Walsh
    Dec 18th 2018, 6:18 PM

More of the same bulls%!t. Speed limits are wrong. Fine big roads with 60k limits on then. Small back roads with 100k limit. And where do the speed checks be conducted? Limits need to be changed and the dangerous roads need to the tackled!

Mute John Cotter
    Favourite John Cotter
    Dec 18th 2018, 9:38 PM

@Billy Walsh: Speed limits are crazy…….. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Cndq4yuHP1c

Mute Martin Sinnott
    Favourite Martin Sinnott
    Dec 18th 2018, 5:56 PM

He won’t be going for re-election so he doesn’t have to worry what people think

Mute Darren Davis
    Favourite Darren Davis

@Martin Sinnott: really? I didn’t know that. It kind of spoils the next election for me because I was hoping to see him lose his seat. A loudmouth in opposition but like a load of the independents just a clown in government

Mute brian
    Favourite brian
    Dec 18th 2018, 6:34 PM

He doesn’t really seem to have a grasp on reality when it comes to life in Ireland,
    But fair play to him he does terrific work sorting out the problems of places like North Korea and The Middle East.

Mute JesusMoreBullshit
    Favourite JesusMoreBullshit
    Dec 18th 2018, 6:26 PM

If this was about preventative measures to prevent speeding and deaths there would be signs saying enforcement in place today and notified over the airwaves like most modern countries. In Ireland it is entrapment hiding and in places where it is like shooting fish in a barrel . There is no consideration of road conditions, weather it is just a number equals fine and points . I have never been caught speeding but I do speed frequently when safe to do so .

Mute Mike Keane
    Favourite Mike Keane
    Dec 18th 2018, 7:10 PM

There should be no penalty for the first 10km over! Has the minister ever been behind the wheel?

Mute brendan H
    Favourite brendan H
    Dec 18th 2018, 10:59 PM

@Mike Keane: New Zealand have that and I think Germany where a letter is sent to you informing you that you were observed travelling at such a speed around 10km over the limit, then 15km is a fine then 20km over a bigger fine and points and so on, just common since road traffic laws.

Mute Cathal Flood
    Favourite Cathal Flood
    Dec 18th 2018, 7:14 PM

And the RSA will bring out some absolute bull statistic to legitimise this, like the one that 11 % of accidents involving someone over the limit takes place between 7 and 11 in the morning (16% of 24 hours but probably 25+ % of traffic), that actually makes it statistically safer at those times to drive, why has no one call out RSA on bull ??

Mute Mark Sheridan
    Favourite Mark Sheridan
    Dec 18th 2018, 5:35 PM

I’m in agreement with the principal of graduated penalties but these seem very stiff. But I also think the fines should be linked with your income. Someone on minimum wage could really struggling with an 80 euro fine so it’s like a double whammy. So who every gets caught should feel the same struggle nomatter what there income.

Mute Richard
    Favourite Richard
    Dec 18th 2018, 6:44 PM

@Mark Sheridan: the entire point of penalty points so… can’t just buy your way though speeding. IMHO, it’s ridiculous to even bring money into it.

Mute martin
    Favourite martin
    Dec 18th 2018, 9:28 PM

Never any stats on accidents due to poor road maintenance, road layouts, poor signage, etc .I will be getting a yellow vest if this gobsh.te tries to bring this any further, totally unrealistic margins considering a car can be 5 km per hour off and their test equipment will also have a margin of error.

Ed
    Mute Ed
    Favourite Ed
    Dec 18th 2018, 7:27 PM

He often spoke about a poor government when he sat opposite them. Boy how he changed his tune when he got on the gravy train.

Mute Allen Nicholson
    Favourite Allen Nicholson
    Dec 18th 2018, 6:30 PM
    Mute Markonline
    Favourite Markonline
    Dec 18th 2018, 7:16 PM

@Allen Nicholson: Very reasonable.

Reg
    Mute Reg
    Favourite Reg
    Dec 18th 2018, 5:26 PM

Graduated penalties for speeding are reasonable enough and common enough elsewhere.

Mute Patrick Nolan
    Favourite Patrick Nolan
    Dec 18th 2018, 5:43 PM

@Reg:
    agreed but not the version Ross came up with, under 10 kph over the limit should be up to the Garda involved, and the suggestion of points for not having your license on you was ridiculous

Mute Dot Com
    Favourite Dot Com
    Dec 18th 2018, 5:44 PM

@Reg: Now we know who votes for this ejit.

Mute The Risen
    Favourite The Risen

@Reg: Can you give an example of a government proposal that you DIDN’T cheerlead?

Mute Dominic Leleu
    Favourite Dominic Leleu
    Dec 18th 2018, 9:42 PM

He has to get fired. This is becoming unbearable. They are doing business here rather than prevention.

Mute FartyTowels
    Favourite FartyTowels
    Dec 18th 2018, 11:00 PM

I drive about 1000km a week as part of my job. No points. But being human I can make mistakes, given the amount of time on the road, the chances are higher. Point being vs the normal commuter I have a far greater chance of losing my licence / job because of Mr Ross’s proposal after 2 to three speeding fines. And the speed limits are not sensibly set in rural areas.

Mute LARRY SNEEG
    Favourite LARRY SNEEG
    Dec 18th 2018, 7:31 PM

Jesus, you can’t have a smoke, a drink, or drive fast in peace any more, because of this cycling buffoon

Mute Charles Coughlan
    Favourite Charles Coughlan
    Dec 18th 2018, 7:30 PM

And we thought Richy Ryan was a rollox, Shane Ross minister for fines.

Mute Eddie Keoghan
    Favourite Eddie Keoghan
    Dec 18th 2018, 9:13 PM

Waster

Mute Derek
    Favourite Derek
    Dec 18th 2018, 8:30 PM

Just reading an article in the Independent there about GoSafe claims to catch one speeder per hour and average 72,000 hours annually operation, this was 2012 data so not sure how much it has changed but with an €80 fine, that’s over €112 million per year collected. How much of this goes back to the state and invested in improving road conditions and not wasted in extortionate advertising campaigns, and on pointless “studies”. The roads, tbf are being invested this year more than any I can recall in the last decade locally but still need much more improvements and maintenance. Drivers need to cop on and put their phones away, slow down in urban areas, indicate BEFORE turning/changing lanes and service their cars (headlights working and balanced and tires) and an increased Gardai presence.

Mute Mark Plunkett
    Favourite Mark Plunkett
    Dec 18th 2018, 9:49 PM

@Derek: well said,terrible state of vehicles and drivers on our roads today,enforcement would be a far better idea,with big fines.

Mute Pl Ster
    Favourite Pl Ster
    Dec 18th 2018, 8:09 PM

@Cal-Dog probaly a state car and a chauffeur .

Mute Shane O' Malley
    Favourite Shane O' Malley
    Dec 19th 2018, 1:59 AM

BYE BYE LORD ROSS

Mute John Flood
    Favourite John Flood
    Dec 18th 2018, 5:40 PM

Nothing new here, my move along…

Mute Oisín O'Connor
    Favourite Oisín O'Connor
    Dec 18th 2018, 7:23 PM

Why are the fines so low? If you can’t afford the fine, here’s a simple way to avoid it, don’t put people’s lives in danger by speeding. The problem is the fines don’t come close to the cost of enforcement. Still can’t help yourself to keep under the speed limit? Refinance the car. Why should us taxpayers foot the bill for the overhead costs of fining criminals? Stick a zero on the end of each fine.

ED
    Mute ED
    Favourite ED
    Dec 19th 2018, 7:16 AM

@Oisín O’Connor: I guess you don’t drive..

Mute Oisín O'Connor
    Favourite Oisín O'Connor
    Dec 19th 2018, 8:13 AM

@ED: bad guess.

Mute Bat Daly
    Favourite Bat Daly
    Dec 19th 2018, 11:39 AM

@Oisín O’Connor: I guess if there was fines for driving below the speed limit holding up traffic, you’re one one of the ones likely to rack up points fairly quickly.

Mute Oisín O'Connor
    Favourite Oisín O'Connor
    Dec 21st 2018, 8:25 PM

@Bat Daly: aren’t we meant to drive below the speed limit? Thought that was the whole point of the limit. I suppose “holding up traffic” is worthy of more of your attention than risking life and limb of everyone a driver comes across.

Mute Joan Cantillon
    Favourite Joan Cantillon
    Dec 18th 2018, 7:08 PM

This is nothing short of a Donkey, think his mouth is as big as One. He does not need a Car, or is he possibly driven everywhere. Sick of his Shit every day.

Mute Brian Flavin
    Favourite Brian Flavin
    Dec 18th 2018, 7:17 PM

Won’t vote Shane Ross out

Mute Marty
    Favourite Marty
    Dec 18th 2018, 9:52 PM

This man is an ape

Mute Mark Lamb
    Favourite Mark Lamb
    Dec 19th 2018, 5:23 AM

Shane Ross how much do you get paid a hour?

Mute James Donnery
    Favourite James Donnery
    Dec 19th 2018, 9:30 AM

Who voted this gob—– in

Mute Margaret Kane
    Favourite Margaret Kane
    Dec 18th 2018, 8:43 PM

He’s loseing the plot nothing but a arsehole

Mute Joe Clery
    Favourite Joe Clery
    Dec 18th 2018, 9:16 PM

The reason the have to be severe is that there is so little enforcement.. I reckon average speed in some of the 30kph zones

I am sure now that the increased fines and guaranteed convictions will incite the guards to actually go out and enforce these limits..

Particularly the 30kph ones, it is ridiculous that motorists speed in these short 30kph stretches from one junction to the next..

Mute John Cotter
    Favourite John Cotter
    Dec 18th 2018, 9:47 PM
    Mute Andrew Byrne
    Favourite Andrew Byrne
    Dec 20th 2018, 1:49 AM

Maybe he makes others look good

Mute Ian doyle
    Favourite Ian doyle
    Dec 19th 2018, 12:19 AM

And his English twang he thinks he’s hierarchy