You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Shutterstock/Christopher Elwell

Learner drivers jailed for driving alone this year

Over 630 people have been fined so far in 2014.

TWO LEARNER DRIVERS were jailed this year for driving alone.

No L-plate holders were jailed for driving without a fully-licenced driver being present last year, but one person was imprisoned for this reason in 2012.

From January – October 2014, 632 learner drivers received fines for driving unaccompanied.

Some 660 and 674 drivers were fined for the same reason in 2013 and 2012 respectively.

Nobody received both a fine and imprisonment.

The figures were recently released by Justice Minister Frances Fitzgerald, in response to a parliamentary question asked by Fianna Fáil Deputy Timmy Dooley.

Fitzgerald said she has been informed by An Garda Síochána that ’Operation Learner Driver’ is conducted regularly with a particular focus on learner permit holders “with a view to ensuring compliance with the conditions of holding such a permit, as well as improved road safety generally”.

“I understand that this operation was conducted on a quarterly basis during 2014 and that targeted enforcement measures with respect to learner drivers will continue to be applied into the future,” the minister stated.

Here’s everything you can get penalty points for from today

11 driving sins that should automatically earn you a novice plate

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

74 Comments
    Mute Jack Cass
    Favourite Jack Cass
    Jan 6th 2015, 8:39 AM

The established parties have lied to me, threatened me and have not represented me, why would I vote for them again?

Mute fergalreid
    Favourite fergalreid
    Jan 6th 2015, 10:39 AM

Because we need a legislature that can legislate and a government that can govern?

Mute little jim
    Favourite little jim
    Jan 6th 2015, 10:51 AM

That doesn’t answer the question.

Mute Mary Kavanagh
    Favourite Mary Kavanagh
    Jan 6th 2015, 7:25 PM

Govern for the elite few, fergalreid, and the devil take the hindmost?

Mute One Human Being
    Favourite One Human Being
    Jan 6th 2015, 7:18 AM

I wouldn’t mind seeing what the alternatives can do before jumping all over them. The fact is the so called proven party whip system is working for the upper echelons of society but not for the whole of society. If independents do hold the balance in the next general election or can band together to form some sort of an alliance I would sooner vote for them than the alternative which is more of the same.

Mute littleone
    Favourite littleone
    Jan 6th 2015, 8:07 AM

I also will see what independents have to offer.at the moment you can’t judge them about there policies because there not in government. The only policies that matter at the moment is current governments policies and they are not working too well . State of health service being example.

Mute fergalreid
    Favourite fergalreid
    Jan 6th 2015, 7:39 AM

An “alliance of independents”? What benefits would that have over a political party? These lads never want to go into government. They just want to have the next government beholden to them. Some of the greatest cronyism and political skulduggery has historically been between a Taoiseach in need of a majority and independent TDs with a shopping list.

Mute rory conway
    Favourite rory conway
    Jan 6th 2015, 7:52 AM

Gregory , Healy Rae.

Mute Denis Reidy
    Favourite Denis Reidy
    Jan 6th 2015, 10:48 AM

Dont forget FG’s Micheal Lowry and Dennis O Brien.

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Jan 6th 2015, 1:57 PM

Yeah Dobby is the most powerful Independent in the Dail !

Mute O'Reilly
    Favourite O'Reilly
    Jan 6th 2015, 7:08 AM

We will have a dail full of splinter groups and loose relations. All pointing out whats wrong. And not one cohesive solution.
    The ULA lasted just 5 weeks in 2011, falling out over personalities….

Mute Yvonne Byrne
    Favourite Yvonne Byrne
    Jan 6th 2015, 10:13 AM

Your comment is a bit one sided how many TDs have Labour and Fine Gael lost since they came to power?
    This Govt has lied and lied and lied again to us. Why would we trust them again?
    Fianna Fail, Fine Gael and Labour with the help of the PDs & the Greens have between them destroyed our country. And this Govt are destroying our Society. Its time now for us to take our courage in our hands and try something new.

Mute Eoin Sher
    Favourite Eoin Sher
    Jan 6th 2015, 7:47 PM

5 weeks??

Jan 2010 – Feb 2013.

3 years.

Mute Gordon Hughes
    Favourite Gordon Hughes
    Jan 6th 2015, 8:47 AM

Old Party politics / whip system is dead in this country , it’s time to form a proper left led alternative govt which is looking to serve the people and not serve themselves , FF / FG / LAB / SF all have the own agendas and will offer the people the sun moon and stars to form the next govt , time to move away from this type of politics completely ,

I’m looking forward to see what these alliances and new groups have to offer , The Independents will have a big say in all of this . More power to the people and less to the self serving parties

Mute Jack Cass
    Favourite Jack Cass
    Jan 6th 2015, 9:00 AM

@Gordon: What are the odds there will be mass resignations from the Government backbenches between now and the General Election as the ones that voted for all the austerity try to change their spots and stand for election as an Independent.

Mute Gordon Hughes
    Favourite Gordon Hughes
    Jan 6th 2015, 12:00 PM

They’d be worse off ( if possible ) if they went down that road , there Gonna stick to there guns on this , It will also add to there already predicted downfall

Mute Marko Burns
    Favourite Marko Burns
    Jan 6th 2015, 1:45 PM

FF and FG are nothing more than civil war fan clubs. If they had any sense of democracy they would disband and we would get new parties clearly divided on ideological grounds.

Mute Dylan Prendergast
    Favourite Dylan Prendergast
    Jan 6th 2015, 11:59 AM

Don’t worry if you miss voting in the next election, you’ll get your chance to vote in another one a few months later.

Mute littleone
    Favourite littleone
    Jan 6th 2015, 2:27 PM

Well won’t be long till we find out now.

Mute amos brearly
    Favourite amos brearly
    Jan 6th 2015, 2:07 PM

Independents and ‘left parties’ would’nt last 5 months never mind 5 years.

Mute seanmccann
    Favourite seanmccann
    Jan 6th 2015, 5:38 PM

The Dail seems to be optics, most of the power is concentrated in the gang of four . Its like the punch and judy show. I wonder how much actual work gets done . I remember being in a pub after FF crashed out of the election last time and the Ard Feis was being held nearby. The party faithful highest priase for another party member was “hes/shes a great party man/woman “. All of the talk was how do we rebuild the party, and get back into power. The other event was an emmigration fare being help at the RDS the irony was lost on them. I imagine this was the same dicussion the FG had when they were defeated in goverment. We get the leaders we deserve. Perhaps its time we examined why the same people get relected with just a different badge each time. We are mired in the politics of identity not ideas.

Jan 6th 2015, 8:26 PM

Those in established parties are part of a gang, where snobbery and arrogance plays a part. Stupidity and following the leader blindly are part of that to and many in these parties follow what is expected of them because they know that if they kiss the right butts then they will go far. The yes people go far in parties but those who try and do what is right never gets anywhere in parties, so that is why there are independents because those in parties will never do anything because the 3 main parties all do the same thing when they get into government and they are happy with the mess. These parties fear change because they know that the system and party will look after them. The fact is a politician in a party seems to fear working for a living and therefore wants an easy life with plenty of money, to make sure he gets this he does what he is told especially when Merkel is about?

Mute Ciaran O'Mara
    Favourite Ciaran O'Mara
    Jan 6th 2015, 4:10 PM

Why can’t Finian McGrath not bring Lucinda together with Clare Daly and Joe Higgins for a real alternative?
    They could stand for integrity, change, a break with the past, honesty, and a new start.
    They wouldn’t need to agree on a new name just yet.

Then we would really be sucking diesel.