You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Julien Behal/PA Wire

In numbers: The Leaving Certificate results

Which subject had the highest failure rate? Which one had the most amount of As?

Updated 10.55 pm

TODAY IS A big day for tens of thousands of students receiving their Leaving Certificate results after sitting the examinations in June.

A total of 56,990 students will be picking up their results, the vast majority of whom (54,025) sat either the traditional examination or the Leaving Cert Vocational Programme. The remaining 2,965 students followed the Leaving Cert Applied Programme.

The results will be released by the State Examinations Commission this morning and will be available from the students’ school or else the place where they sat the exams, as well as from the SEC’s website from noon.

We’ve had a dig through some of the numbers to pick out some of the most interesting statistics.

56,990 - The number of people who sat the Leaving Cert and received their results this year.

2.4% - The percentage increase in the number of people sitting the Leaving Cert this year compared to last year.

35,121 - The number of students who sat the Leaving Cert Higher Level English exam – the most of any other subject.

82.5% - The percentage of students who sat the Russian exam who got an A, making it the subject with the highest percentage of As.

33.3% - The percentage of students who failed the Ordinary Level paper in Physics and Chemistry, making it the subject with the highest failure rate.

13,515 - The number of students who sat the Leaving Cert in Dublin which, unsurprisingly, had the highest number of any county.

428 - The number of students who sat the Leaving Cert in Leitrim – the lowest number of any county.

49 - The number of students who sat the exam in Libya this year, where it has been offered at one school for the past seventeen years.

1,470 - The number of students who sat an exam in an EU language which was not on the curriculum. This is a slight increase (+15) on last year.

750 - The number of students who sat the Polish exam this year, the highest number of any EU language which is not on the main curriculum.

25 - The total number of students who sat the exams in either Modern Greek, Danish, Finnish, Swedish or Estonian.

23 - The number of students who sat the Croatian exam this year, the first time it was offered as a non-curricular EU language.

1,768 - The number of students who repeated the Leaving Cert this year.

21 - The number of days that students have to appeal any results to the State Examinations Commission.

Best of luck to everyone who got results today from all of us here at TheJournal.ie. We’re rooting for you. 

Need some help? A helpline run by the National Parents’ Council will be operating all day today. Tel: 1800 265 165. 

First published 06.15 am

Open thread: What advice would you give yourself on Leaving Cert results day? > 

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

16 Comments
    Mute Bernie O Connor
    Favourite Bernie O Connor
    Oct 27th 2013, 10:55 AM

Can the providers please update their coverage first… I have no coverage most of the time at home and at work, ridiculous at this day and age paying for a service that is not even functioning!!!

Mute Karol Doran
    Favourite Karol Doran
    Oct 27th 2013, 10:59 AM

Change your provider

Mute Bernie O Connor
    Oct 27th 2013, 11:09 AM

Same problem, We have been with Vodafone, Meteor and 3 at this stage and the same shite coverage.. Next option at this stage is to move house!!!

Mute Alan Lawlor
    Favourite Alan Lawlor
    Oct 27th 2013, 11:57 AM

In all fairness, Bernie, you live nearly in the middle of the Atlantic Ocean (west, west, wesht Kerry).
    Your expectations of good coverage are a little high?
    Do you want your own mobile tower for you and your neighbor (singular) all to yourself? ;-)

Mute Bernie O Connor
    Oct 27th 2013, 12:04 PM

And is it too much to expect to get the same services that the rest of the country get even if I do live next to the Atlantic ocean, the country is not that big for God’s sake… Does that mean that San Francisco or anywhere on the far western seaboard in the USA should’nt expect to get decent coverage or services ‘cos they live nearly in the middle if the Pacific ocean’!!! Get real in this day and age and in this era of so called technology!!!

Mute James Comerford
    Favourite James Comerford
    Oct 27th 2013, 12:49 PM

Sorry bernie but there is a thing called supply and demand. If you have phone line there is options to increase your mobile signal locally. You might look into that option.

Mute Justin Gillespie
    Favourite Justin Gillespie
    Oct 27th 2013, 1:03 PM

Not just a rural problem, I was in Ballyboden last week & had to go outside to get a mobile signal.

Mute Joey JoeJoe Shabadoo
    Favourite Joey JoeJoe Shabadoo
    Oct 27th 2013, 1:04 PM

Doesnt work like that bernie.

If it was financialy viable to erect a cell in your area they would.

Though if they did folk out ‘wesht’ would no doubt protest about the waves frying ur brain or something.

Mute Alan Lawlor
    Favourite Alan Lawlor
    Oct 27th 2013, 4:58 PM

When the far west is a city the size of san fran, then you can expect good coverage. My point is not how near you are to the sea, it is that you are in a remote region with very sparse population.
    I imagine it is a lovely place to live, but living in an isolated area will have its drawbacks. You cannot expect to have it both ways – delivering services at the same level of a city is very costly.

Mute Sean Claffey
    Favourite Sean Claffey
    Oct 27th 2013, 5:38 PM

Bernie, you are asking for the same treatment as the rest of the country… Well how about when we in Dublin each get our own phone mast then you can have one too? I’m probably right in guessing that there are less people using your mast than there are using the one nearest my home.

Mute b flynn
    Favourite b flynn
    Oct 27th 2013, 7:00 PM

I live in Dublin 15…..no coverage in house, neighbours report same problem

Mute Enola Straight
    Favourite Enola Straight
    Oct 28th 2013, 9:06 AM

Joey’s right. Some idiot would be about protesting about radio waves. Idiots.

Mute Coláistí Chorca Dhuibhne
    Favourite Coláistí Chorca Dhuibhne
    Nov 1st 2013, 12:19 AM

Look I and all of my counterparts pay just as much taxes as you people in Dublin, but yet we do not get the same services, come on let’s be honest about this… I also pay “USC” tax, Prop Tax, Car Tax(for shite roads) at least you have good roads.. all I am saying at this day and age is it not too much to expect to at least have good coverage all over the Country for mobile phones…oh yea on the 5th Oct 2013 there was NO coverage where I live all because we had a “Féile Bia” and that attracted at least 7000 ppl into the penininsula.. And you tell me about Demand and Supply!! I know that is for one day but I can assure you it happens a way more than that on a normal day!!! Why do they take our money if they cannot deliver the service???

Mute Sean Claffey
    Favourite Sean Claffey
    Nov 3rd 2013, 11:01 AM

Why do you give them money if they don’t deliver a service?

Mute Billbond4
    Favourite Billbond4
    Oct 27th 2013, 10:39 AM

Another silly thing Apple do to control their products

Mute David Evans
    Favourite David Evans
    Oct 27th 2013, 8:08 PM

You’re an idiot.

Mute Enda Corry
    Favourite Enda Corry
    Oct 27th 2013, 10:41 AM

Even my samsung S3 has 4G capability!! Apple will always be playing catch up

Mute Karol Doran
    Favourite Karol Doran
    Oct 27th 2013, 10:46 AM

Yes but do you have 4G running on it? No, you don’t. That’s the point.

Mute Johnny Magory
    Favourite Johnny Magory
    Oct 27th 2013, 11:05 AM

The iPhone 5, 5C and 5S all have 4G capability

Mute Daniel Murray
    Favourite Daniel Murray
    Oct 27th 2013, 11:07 AM

@enda Are you sure? Do you have the Lte version?

@karol How do you know he doesn’t? There’s nothing stopping him, 4g SIM on a 4g network and he’s away.

Mute Seamus Smith
    Favourite Seamus Smith
    Oct 27th 2013, 11:57 AM

Ha ha…. but do you live in a 4g area…. bet you didn’t think of that one… :-/ android all the way…

Mute Jack Dooner
    Favourite Jack Dooner
    Oct 27th 2013, 10:41 AM

You can live without 4G. The 3G speeds in certain parts of Dublin City are more than enough for general users. I’m sure that the “verification” by Apple is to ensure a top user experience. Can’t complain with that.

Mute Paul Nolan
    Favourite Paul Nolan
    Oct 27th 2013, 10:46 AM

… Apple fan boy

Mute Karol Doran
    Favourite Karol Doran
    Oct 27th 2013, 10:47 AM

Android fan boy

See 31 more replies ▾
    Mute Paul Nolan
    Favourite Paul Nolan
    Oct 27th 2013, 10:54 AM

Steve jobs would hate apple if he was born again today, a huge company that controls everything the users can do, try download U torrent on iTunes store. You can’t, while its on the play store for all the rest of us and we can download all the free albums and movies we want for free. I read his autobiography he invented apple for to take down the big corporate company that saves all your information and look at what they have become.

Mute Karol Doran
    Favourite Karol Doran
    Oct 27th 2013, 11:03 AM

I have no interest on watching films on my phone. And I have a fantastic app called Anyplay that streams every single album there ever was for free to my phone. So I don’t need utorrent at all. Enjoy downloading a nice aul virus your dirt phone. I’ll enjoy a secure, beautiful, perfect piece of technology.

Mute Paul Nolan
    Favourite Paul Nolan
    Oct 27th 2013, 11:09 AM

The way you are talking about your phone is pretty creepy man.

Mute Emmet Walsh
    Favourite Emmet Walsh
    Oct 27th 2013, 11:22 AM

Karol, tell me more about this anyplay app.

Mute Daniel Wilson
    Favourite Daniel Wilson
    Oct 27th 2013, 11:26 AM

Karl that’s cos your tiny iPhone screen is too small right?

Dave
    Mute Dave
    Favourite Dave
    Oct 27th 2013, 11:29 AM

I think you’ll find it was Wozniak that want everything for free with apple. (Open source. Not sure if that’s the right term.) Jobs didn’t. He wanted to control everything. What happens when artists stop making music because they are no longer making any money because you and all your android mates are downloading it for free

Mute Paul Nolan
    Favourite Paul Nolan
    Oct 27th 2013, 11:37 AM

Yeah I’m here downloading kanye west and the likes new albums I don’t think they have enough money maybe we should start up a fund and do a whip around the poor lad is broke. Anyway I’ll keep going with my free ebooks, music and movies that I can all put through my tv(not just watching on my phone). And you keep buying apples “new” phones and being limited.

Mute Karol Doran
    Favourite Karol Doran
    Oct 27th 2013, 11:39 AM

Daniel, having a slightly bigger screen wouldn’t make a blind bit of difference to me. I don’t even watch films on my Ipad. I like a big tv screen for that.

Emmet,

The app no longer exists. I assume because it’s like a free version of spotify and was taken down. It still works fine though as long as you have it. Sorry to disappoint you but it is by far the best app I have ever had.

Mute Paul Nolan
    Favourite Paul Nolan
    Oct 27th 2013, 11:45 AM

It can no longer be downloaded…and you are defending apple for being amazing and they take away a great app…FACEPALM.

Mute Karol Doran
    Favourite Karol Doran
    Oct 27th 2013, 11:49 AM

It’s not on android either. FACEPALM..

Mute Johnny Reynolds
    Favourite Johnny Reynolds
    Oct 27th 2013, 11:51 AM

Could ye all stop wrecking heads please, ye sound like yer 8.

Mute Paul Nolan
    Favourite Paul Nolan
    Oct 27th 2013, 11:52 AM

Thought we have been through this already… Don’t need the app can download all the music I want straight to my phone no need to stream.

Mute Nelly
    Favourite Nelly
    Oct 27th 2013, 11:55 AM

@jack not everyone that has a smartphone lives in dublin.

Mute Karol Doran
    Favourite Karol Doran
    Oct 27th 2013, 11:58 AM

Sorry Johnny,

Forgive me,

I’m 9 by the way

Mute Go Tobann
    Favourite Go Tobann
    Oct 27th 2013, 12:01 PM

Yes but leave the cretins alone to buy the ios kit whilst we reap the rewards of uncontrolled media content. They aren’t computer literate. They have iTunes we have wrzko.

Mute Karol Doran
    Favourite Karol Doran
    Oct 27th 2013, 12:11 PM

Good lad Elvis.

Mute Nelly
    Favourite Nelly
    Oct 27th 2013, 12:14 PM

Hey popey ye got out of jail yesterday.remember my prediction I made during the summer?are you worried yet?

Mute Karol Doran
    Favourite Karol Doran
    Oct 27th 2013, 12:18 PM

It may surprise you elephant but I don’t remember your prediction. Probably because I couldn’t give a bollix. What happened to your picture

Mute Paddy O'Reilly
    Favourite Paddy O'Reilly
    Oct 27th 2013, 12:23 PM

I’m sure Apple couldn’t give fiddlers about the user experience “verification”, a nice thick brown envelope stuffed with cash is what they are really after.

Mute Nelly
    Favourite Nelly
    Oct 27th 2013, 12:26 PM

I’m undergoing a makeover at the moment.does mid table team jog your memory?

Mute Karol Doran
    Favourite Karol Doran
    Oct 27th 2013, 12:32 PM

No, it doesn’t. 6 points is nothing nelly the elephant. Nothing I tell you

Mute Nelly
    Favourite Nelly
    Oct 27th 2013, 12:34 PM

Ha!ye couldn’t even score in the champions league during the week.why did the players congratulate Rooney for hittin the post before the og?things are bad when the pat him on the back for hitting the post

Mute Karol Doran
    Favourite Karol Doran
    Oct 27th 2013, 12:39 PM

Ha ha you’re insane. Who else would they congratulate. He murdered the team turned them inside out and hit the post with a beautiful effort. Lethal player

Mute Nelly
    Favourite Nelly
    Oct 27th 2013, 12:51 PM

He didnt score though.will they congratulate him for turning up next?clutching at straws

Mute Karol Doran
    Favourite Karol Doran
    Oct 27th 2013, 1:15 PM

The last person the touch the ball before the og always gets congratulated. #stoptalkingshite

JDee
    Mute JDee
    Favourite JDee
    Oct 27th 2013, 1:32 PM

Apple fan boy? It’s Samsung fan boys and iPhone w@nkers!

Mute Richard Fennelly
    Favourite Richard Fennelly
    Oct 27th 2013, 1:57 PM

Yes Karl but u can plug your android into your big screen I have my I pad my I phone 4 but my s3 plugs into my TV no Netflix r anything needed

Mute Larry O'Connor
    Favourite Larry O'Connor
    Oct 27th 2013, 9:42 PM

Now now Daniel Wilson, don’t be slagging Karol’s tiny screen, it’s perfectly well designed to fit in his handbag.

Mute Enola Straight
    Favourite Enola Straight
    Oct 28th 2013, 9:03 AM

So you condone theft then Paul? Or did I misinterpret you??

MPA
    Mute MPA
    Favourite MPA
    Oct 28th 2013, 7:41 PM

Yes they do……

Both Apple AND Samsung insist on certifying their devices for use on LTE/4G networks. The tests focus on generous continuous coverage, data speeds and handoff to seamless legacy technologies.

I’m surprised with Meteor/Eircom already launched that certification is still going on – might say something about the speed the rollout of their 4G.

Mute Dave Wallace
    Favourite Dave Wallace
    Nov 22nd 2013, 4:02 PM

You clearly have no clue about the role Steve Jobs played in making apple the closed proprietary ecosystem it is today.

Mute Kieran Mulvihill
    Favourite Kieran Mulvihill
    Oct 27th 2013, 10:43 AM

This country has the worse Internet infrastructure I’ve ever witnessed! They have high speed broadband on top of Everest, in the outback in Oz, in tiny huts in Africa and were only a fraction in size and we can’t cover the area! We’re a laughing stock! Dial up all over again!

Mute Karol Doran
    Favourite Karol Doran
    Oct 27th 2013, 10:48 AM

I have never heard such complete bullshit.

Mute Little Jim
    Favourite Little Jim

You need to move to a hut in the outback of Everest Karol.
    You’ll hear it all from there.

See 20 more replies ▾
    Mute Daniel Murray
    Favourite Daniel Murray

Ireland is in the top 85% globally with our broadband.. you haven’t clue!

Mute John F
    Favourite John F
    Oct 27th 2013, 11:05 AM

The only internet connection achievable on top Everest would be -
    Satellite
    Poor bandwidth, poor latency
    The only internet connection available in somewhere remote like the Oz outback would be again (Satellite)
    What exactly do you know about Internet infrastructure in Africa? Internet connectivity, from my experience, is moderate to poor even in the largest cities (Nairobi, Lagos, Johannesburg) I think you’re talking out of your ass!
    We have excellent Data Communications infrastructure in this country why do you think we have huge IT net companies like Google, Facebook and Twitter establishing their European bases here, do you think their data centers are connected over dial up?
    The problems in Ireland are the bureaucracy and bullsh*t in bringing the service to ordinary customer, largely impeded by Eircoms monopoly over the years and poor planning.

Mute Johnny Magory
    Favourite Johnny Magory
    Oct 27th 2013, 11:07 AM

Jaysus you’re full of $hite

Mute Bilbo Baggins
    Favourite Bilbo Baggins
    Oct 27th 2013, 11:24 AM

The smell a ya

Mute Dave King
    Favourite Dave King
    Oct 27th 2013, 11:38 AM

Everest base camp and Ethiopia both have an internet service running 3g… I can’t attest to the other locations but it wouldnt surprise me. So it’s really not complete bullshizz, unlike your comment.

Mute John F
    Favourite John F
    Oct 27th 2013, 11:55 AM

@Dave King. 3g service is a merely a delivery medium, it does not guarantee x bandwidth at x latency! Even in Ireland 3g connectivity can range from 7Mb/s in Dublin to 50kb/s in Leitrim. Most African cities have 3g (Check out mtn.com) but a 3g network is only as good as the data network that supports it.
    We actually have excellent backbone data infrastructure in this country (Check out http://www.e-net.ie/), the problems are allowing the consumer access to the network and at competitive price!

Mute Larry Bird
    Favourite Larry Bird

I think you’ll find that you’re the laughing stock with limited comments such as those

Mute Larry Bird
    Favourite Larry Bird

@Kieran

Mute Luke Kerr
    Favourite Luke Kerr
    Oct 27th 2013, 12:19 PM

Top 85% globally? That doesn’t sound like a very good stat. That means we could be in the bottom 15%.

Mute Karol Doran
    Favourite Karol Doran
    Oct 27th 2013, 12:22 PM

Luke,

Being in the top 85% means we are in the top 85%.

Being in the bottom 15% means we would be in the bottom 15%.

Please tell me you’re not that dumb. Please.

Mute Justin Gillespie
    Oct 27th 2013, 1:08 PM

Why would anyone provide 3g for the top of everest or a mud hut in Africa?

Mute Kieran Mulvihill
    Oct 27th 2013, 1:32 PM

For all the people who who think we’ve a great Internet system you obviously haven’t stepped outside a major town

Mute Kieran Mulvihill
    Oct 27th 2013, 1:33 PM

Clown

Mute Kieran Mulvihill
    Oct 27th 2013, 1:33 PM

Clown!

Mute Kieran Mulvihill
    Oct 27th 2013, 1:34 PM

@ larry you are deluded my poor chap

Mute John F
    Favourite John F
    Oct 27th 2013, 1:49 PM

@Kieran. I imagine you know very little about the internet, Data Networks or very much about anything for that matter. WTF is an ‘Internet System’?

Mute Kieran Mulvihill
    Oct 27th 2013, 2:28 PM

@john f: I know enough that if you’re in a rural area in this country you’re Internet/broadband/mobile network is pretty much non-existent! The geography of our broadband infrastructure is so lob sided that it suits only a certain few! If you can prove that to be incorrect then you’re the first and only person to do so! Fair play to ya!

Mute Kieran Mulvihill
    Oct 27th 2013, 2:34 PM

Have a look at irelandoffline.org and then come back Johnny

Mute Enola Straight
    Favourite Enola Straight
    Oct 28th 2013, 9:04 AM

Who cares? I have 120 Meg UPC! :D

Mute Go Tobann
    Favourite Go Tobann
    Nov 2nd 2013, 4:50 AM

Call UPC and they will give you a free upgrade to 150mb :)

Mute Dean Molyneaux
    Favourite Dean Molyneaux
    Oct 27th 2013, 11:04 AM

The sooner the better. All I’m hoping is that 3 IRL’s LTE signal is a lot better indoors than their 3G. Switching to ‘No Service’ or back to GPRS in central Dublin just isn’t good enough.

Mute Joey JoeJoe Shabadoo
    Favourite Joey JoeJoe Shabadoo
    Oct 27th 2013, 11:30 AM

If HSDPA was rolled out properly with sufficient network bandwidth behind it…. No one would care about 4G.

Mute Jazz O'Gorman
    Favourite Jazz O'Gorman
    Oct 27th 2013, 10:48 AM

Apple take the absolute and always believe they’re the cream of the crop, but that’s changing.

Mute Karol Doran
    Favourite Karol Doran
    Oct 27th 2013, 10:58 AM

It’s hilarious, every time an article about Apple comes out you have all the android trolls coming out from under their bridges trying to justify their hatred for the superior Apple products.

No one cares lads. Go back to your bridge believing your shitty little android phone is better. Ha ha.

Mute Mark Sweetman
    Favourite Mark Sweetman
    Oct 27th 2013, 11:01 AM

hypocritical much?

Mute Daniel Murray
    Favourite Daniel Murray
    Oct 27th 2013, 11:11 AM

Trolling? Coming from the man who at the minute who has 7 comments

See 14 more replies ▾
    Mute Laura Dillon
    Favourite Laura Dillon
    Oct 27th 2013, 11:16 AM

Each to their own Karol, you like apple as do many others, others like android, some like both. You’re entitled to your opinion, as is everyone else! Live and let live, each to their own. Just because people don’t agree with your opinion doesn’t give you the right to be a troll, or a hypocrite for that matter also.

Mute Karol Doran
    Favourite Karol Doran
    Oct 27th 2013, 11:31 AM

;) all in good fun lads

Mute See My Vest
    Favourite See My Vest
    Oct 27th 2013, 11:36 AM

Karol care to put up a complete list of the iPhone 5s spec vs the Galaxy S4 spec to back up your argument? Bottom line is that with the rather marginal differences in the handsets it largely comes down to personal preference.

Mute Richard Fennelly
    Favourite Richard Fennelly
    Oct 27th 2013, 11:50 AM

@karl I have both u obviously don’t android is light years ahead of my I phone 4.

Mute Larry Bird
    Favourite Larry Bird
    Oct 27th 2013, 12:03 PM

@Laura, why not take the time to read your earlier comment Laura? And now you say each to their own.. God I can’t believe I’m allowing myself to get drawn into this, obviously bored

Mute Go Tobann
    Favourite Go Tobann
    Oct 27th 2013, 12:04 PM

Yawn

Mute Mac Ready
    Favourite Mac Ready
    Oct 27th 2013, 12:08 PM

@Karol spot on the Andriod trolls are on here in droves samsung love ripping off apple ideas watch the next S5 come out with a 64bit processor again playing catchup to apple!

Mute See My Vest
    Favourite See My Vest

@mac samsung ripping off Apple? How’s iOS7 working out for you? Looks more than a little like Android ice Cream Sandwich don’t you think? Also Samsung are not catching up to anyone. Any quick search for info will inform you the the tide has turned in favour of Samsung and Android.
    Apple without Steve Jobs is a company in freefall. Not a single innovative idea since Jobs passed.

Mute Justin Gillespie
    Oct 27th 2013, 1:14 PM

Android, IOS & Windows are all fine systems. Which one is best for you depends on your requirements.
    I have used both android & IOS but will be getting the new nokia 1520 whenever it is available.

Mute Michael Wall
    Favourite Michael Wall
    Oct 27th 2013, 1:24 PM

Richard,

You are comparing a current android phone to an iPhone 4, really? The 4 is nearly 4 years old, compare to the current crop of phones, in benchmarks the 5s is much faster, and as apps are released to make use of the 64bit chip will only get faster.

Mute Michael Wall
    Favourite Michael Wall
    Oct 27th 2013, 1:42 PM

Actually a spec sheet is a pointless comparison, android is inefficient compared to ios, it needs more ram and a higher clocked cpu to perform even close to ios, this is because it’s apps run in a vm.

bench marks (which samsung has been shown to cheat on) are a measure of performance, in many cases the 5s is twice as fast as the s4.

http://anandtech.com/show/7335/the-iphone-5s-review/5

In fact in many cases the older 5 beats the s4

Mute Mac Ready
    Favourite Mac Ready
    Oct 27th 2013, 2:18 PM

@smv I’m sorry show me a 64 bit OS and processor in a current gen Andriod phone?oh wait is that the sound of silence? Come back to me when Samsung come from behind Again!

Mute Laura Dillon
    Favourite Laura Dillon
    Oct 27th 2013, 5:43 PM

@larry, have I forced my opinion on anybody? Have I slandered apple? Have I slandered android? Like I said each to their own…..it’s no excuse for trolling or karols behaviour. You might be bored and obviously a bit tired because you most certainly did not read my comments. Maybe you should read them again yourself before suggesting I do so. I work in telecoms and provided accurate insight as to why this scenario arose with apple in Ireland. Not speculation, not my opinion, just the facts.

Mute Karol Doran
    Favourite Karol Doran
    Oct 27th 2013, 6:14 PM

My behavior? Have a day off Laura.

Mute Will Hourihan
    Favourite Will Hourihan
    Oct 27th 2013, 1:22 PM

I rarely see a 3G signal! Why run when our providers can’t even walk or even crawl? We pay for premium service and get a sub standard service and that goes across all telecommunications services in Ireland.

Giz
    Mute Giz
    Favourite Giz
    Oct 27th 2013, 3:16 PM

I reckon if you are paying for 3G and cannot get the coverage you shouldn’t have to pay the full price.
    Only in Internet speeds can you pay the same price as someone who is getting 4 or 5 times the value as you.

It would serve as an incentive to get all the lines upgraded that’s for sure..

Mute Dave Davis
    Favourite Dave Davis
    Oct 27th 2013, 11:30 AM

I thought only women used iphones

Cpm
    Mute Cpm
    Favourite Cpm

Even the hipsters are switching to Android

Mute Criminal
    Favourite Criminal
    Oct 27th 2013, 10:58 AM

Thats it Apple will launch 2 new models soon. Iphone 6 and iphone 6 s :)

And allllllllllll the stupid will line up again …

Mute Justin Gillespie
    Oct 27th 2013, 1:09 PM

Jesus but fanboys be they apple or android are boring!!!

Mute Laura Dillon
    Favourite Laura Dillon
    Oct 27th 2013, 10:52 AM

I know this one!…. apple wont test until 4g goes live, unlike other manufacturers who test while it’s in development and roll out software updates to support 4g at launch. Even the existing iphone5 is 4g compatible, not just the new 5s and 5c and none of them are LTE (4g) enabled yet. Be curious to see how long it takes them to roll out the 4g to their handsets, might be a nice xmas pressie for all the apple fan boys!! :-)

Mute Boris
    Favourite Boris
    Oct 27th 2013, 11:29 AM

This is funny, because 4G has been supported at launch in a number of other European countries. Last one I can think of is Bouygues Telecom which launched its 4G network in France at the end of September and got 4G support on the iPhone 5 the same day as long as people had updated to iOS7.

More likely explanation:
    - The Irish carriers have been pretty slow at carrying out the tests requested by Apple (which rightly or not would be more demanding than other manufacturers – I am getting information from my brother who did work on these things at Bouygues Telecom)
    - Apple is not making too many efforts either as Ireland is a small market with limited competition which is clearly not their top priority

Cpm
    Mute Cpm
    Favourite Cpm
    Oct 27th 2013, 11:59 AM

“Ireland is in the top 85% globally with our broadband.. you haven’t clue!”

Does that not mean we’re in the bottom 16%?

Mute Laura Dillon
    Favourite Laura Dillon
    Oct 27th 2013, 12:02 PM

Hi boris, your brother is right but its not solely up to the networks, the manufacturer has to develop and test their 4g software before rollout. Most do it when the infrastructure is in development, but you hit the nail on the head. “Little old ireland” syndrome. Apple wouldn’t complete this testing until it went live first to test real time parameters and stability. I work in telecoms also.

Mute elambra
    Favourite elambra
    Oct 27th 2013, 12:44 PM

Spot on Laura, do you want a job? pm me

JDee
    Mute JDee
    Favourite JDee
    Oct 27th 2013, 1:38 PM

Lads, seriously? They are both great phones and it really depends on personal preference. I don’t think anyone commenting under a Journal article about 4G is going to change anyone’s opinion on either phone.

Mute Bilbo Baggins
    Favourite Bilbo Baggins
    Oct 27th 2013, 3:33 PM

It certainly would I’d imagine, 4G will be a big benefit to many people, if it wasn’t they wouldn’t be spending 100′s of millions rolling it out. And if you want 4G you won’t be buying the new iPhone. But there is plenty of options available for 4g so I’d imagine anyone that wants it just won’t buy an IPhone. Unless extremely brand loyal.

Mute Bilbo Baggins
    Favourite Bilbo Baggins
    Oct 27th 2013, 3:36 PM

Sry read ur comment wrong, yeh commenting here is just a bit of a firefight for the fanboi’s to pass their Sunday.

Mute Francis Stokes
    Favourite Francis Stokes
    Oct 27th 2013, 12:58 PM

The technology is there. why do they not invest in it. Also in Hi fiber Broadband. Many places in Ireland have not got Broadband at all.

Mute Gavin Scott
    Favourite Gavin Scott
    Oct 27th 2013, 4:14 PM

Got to love the myrmidons who come on here, immediately re-iterating their love for all things Apple, or samsung…. A nation of narrow-minded walking cliches….

Mute Vincent McCarthy
    Favourite Vincent McCarthy
    Oct 27th 2013, 10:44 AM

4G…..mere peasants I call thee. LTE +A…… I’m sure Ireland will get it…. In about 10 years

Cpm
    Mute Cpm
    Favourite Cpm
    Oct 27th 2013, 12:01 PM

YouWinThePrize.jpg

Mute Monkey Boy
    Favourite Monkey Boy
    Oct 27th 2013, 10:56 AM

Did London not just get 4g a few months back ?? R am I mistaken. Anyway im waitn on the blame Enda people to come forth !

Mute frank
    Favourite frank
    Oct 27th 2013, 9:22 PM

Ah ya can’t beat the auld Nokia :)

Mute Paul O' Donovan
    Favourite Paul O' Donovan
    Oct 27th 2013, 10:59 AM

Good to go on my BlackBerry z10

Mute Konrad Kaczor
    Favourite Konrad Kaczor
    Oct 27th 2013, 4:14 PM

4G in Ireland – Big marketing slogan and that’s all. Why?

3G is more than anough for anything you would normally do on smartphone or tablet (www, email, using various apps, skype, youtube, etc.) for 99% of people.

However if you really need 4G this most likely means you are transferring extraordinary amounts of data, much more than average person (perhaps HD streaming, uploading large numbers of high res photos on the go, etc.). I can only imagine that could be someone like journalist, photographer, some folk that report on live world events, etc.
    But then, there’s catch – largest data bundle on Meteor package is 6GB allowance per month.
    Considering your 4G works at rate of 20 Mbit/s (just average assumption) – then if you constantly download / upload some multimedia – your monthly allowance of data will be breached in less than 1 hour. Yes, in less than 60 minutes you could be out of your bundled data plan for full month.

This is real problem, not that Apple is checking something :)

Mute John F
    Favourite John F
    Oct 27th 2013, 12:52 PM

Ok. What about an update of Civil Unions to afford more rights to partners, similar to the rights one would have in a marriage?
    I’m not bigoted, a homophobe, or religious but I believe marriage should remain solely for male/female relationships, its a been a cornerstone to our society for thousands of years and I think it should remain that way and I would imagine many people (each with their own view) share my opinion.

Mute John F
    Favourite John F
    Oct 27th 2013, 12:58 PM

Oh lol, wrong thread.. fail fail, damn you hangover! :P

Mute David Grey
    Favourite David Grey
    Oct 27th 2013, 6:18 PM

When are phone manufacturers going to produce all their phones with dual sim capability & upgrade the ancient sim cards which only hold just over 200 numbers, drives me bonkers trying to back up all my numbers to the phone because the sim card has a crap memory!
    Samsung/HTC are more advanced & have better tech specs, cameras etc- but a fall from 2ft & they break to pieces- apple lower spec but tough & cheaper to repair screens etc (which are less likely to break anyhow), depends what your after- reliability or better tech specs- personal taste! !

Mute Thosj Carroll
    Favourite Thosj Carroll
    Oct 27th 2013, 5:04 PM

I was in Vietnam recently & the cost of unlimited broadband is just about €2.99 per month & Wi Fi is free in all hotels & restaurants. Clever people they are!

Mute Ciaran De Ceol
    Favourite Ciaran De Ceol
    Oct 27th 2013, 12:15 PM

Can anybody explain why the internet allowance cap is so small in Ireland? I was looking I to getting an iPhone when I return home from abroad as I’m using one now happily.
    With meteor it’s €60 for 6GB of data per month and €50 for 3GB!!

Mute Justin Gillespie
    Oct 27th 2013, 1:11 PM

A big chun of that is going to pay for the phone. E-mobile have a sim only plan with unlimited calls texts & data for about €30 a month

Mute Ciaran De Ceol
    Favourite Ciaran De Ceol
    Oct 27th 2013, 1:42 PM

No bad, I’ll look into so. And also first about getting my phone unlocked!

Giz
    Mute Giz
    Favourite Giz
    Oct 27th 2013, 3:12 PM

3s flexi packages give you 20gb.
    Even their €20 per month prepay gives you 15gb.
    They have newer unlimited packages for under €40 a month for everything, calls, texts and data.

I found their coverage better in some parts of Wicklow and Gorey than O2.
    It’s best, albeit a little patchy around Dublin (and to be fair – I don’t find it any more patchy than I found O2 around Dublin).

Our home broadband is pretty poor as we are some distance from the exchange, so I use my 3G for uploading as the speeds are better (which is probably more an indication of how poor our DSL connection is than anything else!!)

Mute John F
    Favourite John F
    Oct 27th 2013, 5:04 PM

@Giz.. Three give a high data allowance because the performance of their data service is so terrible you’d never be able to consume the 20GB, even if you left it downloading 24/7

Mute Criminal
    Favourite Criminal
    Oct 27th 2013, 11:01 AM

Apple is a hoe ….Peruod

Mute Karol Doran
    Favourite Karol Doran
    Oct 27th 2013, 11:08 AM

Are you on your peruod?

Mute frank
    Favourite frank
    Oct 28th 2013, 12:50 AM

Love my little Nokia ;)

Mute frank
    Favourite frank
    Oct 27th 2013, 10:24 PM

Love my little Nokia