You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Shutterstock/Anna Jurkovska

25 legal abortions were carried out in Ireland in 2016

The Department of Health has released its figures of the number of terminations carried out in Ireland last year.

LAST YEAR, 25 legally-permitted abortions were carried out in Ireland, according to figures from the Department of Health.

The third annual report on the Protection of Life During Pregnancy Act 2013 has been handed to the Houses of the Oireachtas today as required under section 20 of the Act.

Of that total number, the procedures were carried out for a range of reasons:

• 8 procedures were due to a risk of physical illness
  • 1 was due to a risk from suicide
  • 16 were carried out because of emergencies arising from physical illnesses.

Estimates indicate, however, that around 3,500 Irish women travel to the UK every year to terminate their pregnancies – other estimates indicate it could be a third higher than that number.

According to the Department of Health, 26 terminations were carried out in 2015.

Read: Brid Smith: ‘I had an abortion… I’ve never felt ashamed about it’

Read: Citizens’ Assembly publishes additional recommendations on the Eighth Amendment

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

72 Comments
    Mute Tommy Browne
    Favourite Tommy Browne
    Jun 29th 2017, 2:08 PM

This has always been the case in Ireland.
    In the overwhelming majority of instances of women travelling abroad to procure an abortion there is no real threat of physical illness rather it is a matter of choice.

Mute Barry Somers
    Favourite Barry Somers
    Jun 29th 2017, 2:11 PM

@Tommy Browne: but sure we’ll ignore the effects on their mental health shall we?
    Sure its only mental health….it doesn’t seem to matter to many people in this country.

Forcing a women with a FFA (fatal fetal abnormality) to go to term is torture for any women that doesn’t want to go to term, but in this country unless she travels she’s forced to do just that. Completely ignoring the mental health of the women and any partner.

Mute Tommy Browne
    Favourite Tommy Browne
    Jun 29th 2017, 2:15 PM

@Barry Somers:
    Legal abortions have been carried out here when there’s a risk of suicide.

See 13 more replies ▾
    Mute Lisa Dorothy
    Favourite Lisa Dorothy
    Jun 29th 2017, 2:17 PM

@Tommy Browne: And why shouldn’t a woman have a choice?

Mute Francis Mc Carthy
    Favourite Francis Mc Carthy
    Jun 29th 2017, 2:21 PM

@Tommy Browne: A woman has been sectioned ,too ..

Mute John B
    Favourite John B
    Jun 29th 2017, 2:22 PM

@Tommy Browne: but that doesn’t take into consideration fatal fetal abnormality. Those women are forced to carry to term or go abroad.

Mute Tommy Browne
    Favourite Tommy Browne
    Jun 29th 2017, 2:28 PM

@Lisa Dorothy:
    Just making a clarification between the two groups lest people be deceived into thinking all women travelling abroad were being denied on health grounds.
    An ethical distinction.

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Jun 29th 2017, 2:46 PM

@Francis Mc Carthy: wasn’t that a child? Taken from her mother after they went to seek an abortion?

Mute Francis Mc Carthy
    Jun 29th 2017, 2:51 PM

@Dave O Keeffe: Correct! One of the worst things that can happen to a human being,is their liberty being taken away.Ask anyone that has ever been sectioned and they will tell you that ..

Mute Paul Fahey
    Favourite Paul Fahey
    Jun 29th 2017, 3:18 PM

@Lisa Dorothy: because Tommy says so, now please be a good woman and obey what your male master Tommy says is best for you.

Mute Tommy Browne
    Favourite Tommy Browne
    Jun 29th 2017, 3:22 PM

@Paul Fahey:
    I claim no legal jurisdiction over Lisa Dorothy or any other woman on this island (or planet).

Mute Paul Fahey
    Favourite Paul Fahey
    Jun 29th 2017, 3:52 PM

@Tommy Browne: but you do moral jurisdiction it seems.

Mute Tommy Browne
    Favourite Tommy Browne
    Jun 29th 2017, 4:14 PM

@Paul Fahey:
    I have a moral opinion…..if that’s what you mean.

Mute Sinead Fox
    Favourite Sinead Fox
    Jun 29th 2017, 4:16 PM

@Barry Somers: what about the mental health of those listening to the masses telling them it’s grand, their choice and dealing with the regret after? I’ve met several! I also know of the FFA cases told by the doctor to go have a termination and thankfully opted not to…… Although there may be a syndrome (far from a fatal fetal abnormality she was told he’d have!) he’s the happiest kid ever! How many are wrongly told to go to England!?

Mute Rob Cahill
    Favourite Rob Cahill
    Jun 29th 2017, 4:35 PM

@Sinead Fox: Stop listening to prolife propaganda and lies.

Mute Danny Rafferty
    Favourite Danny Rafferty
    Jun 29th 2017, 9:10 PM

@Tommy Browne: You have an opinion and you are welcome to it. Of course the women and girls who have to face real life issues and decisions are more than welcome to ignore you and your opinion. They can also ignore the law here if they can afford to travel.
    Do you defend such a worthless policy Tommy?

Mute John McGuirk
    Favourite John McGuirk
    Jun 29th 2017, 2:12 PM

For those keeping score, this is the third abortion story on the journal today, and I bet there’s at least one more still to be published.

Mute Francis Mc Carthy
    Jun 29th 2017, 2:14 PM

@John McGuirk: Wah wah wah..

@John McGuirk: but sure what would you winge about if the Journal didn’t upset you and force you to click onto articles?

Mute Paul Fahey
    Favourite Paul Fahey
    Jun 29th 2017, 3:53 PM

@John McGuirk: keeping score with what? The Liberal.ie run by your friend Leo?

Mute DaisyChainsaw
    Favourite DaisyChainsaw
    Jun 29th 2017, 6:07 PM

The Lie Barrel!

Mute Danny Rafferty
    Favourite Danny Rafferty
    Jun 29th 2017, 9:35 PM

@John McGuirk: Hey John, maybe of we don’t talk about it and pretend it’s not there it’ll just go away.

Mute Government Sachs
    Favourite Government Sachs
    Jun 29th 2017, 2:18 PM

3rd abortion article here today. I’m voting no in any upcoming referendum.

Mute Francis Mc Carthy
    Jun 29th 2017, 2:20 PM

@Government Sachs: Good for you.Anything else that you would like to share ?

Mute Abbi Cranky
    Favourite Abbi Cranky
    Jun 29th 2017, 2:24 PM

@Government Sachs: news outlet publishes multiple articles on current issue for government.

News outlet publishes articles on topical issue on day citizens’ assembly report is published.

News outlet publishes articles on one of biggest debates to grip nation & biggest questions for new Taoiseach

Yes. How unusual…

Mute Tricia Golden
    Favourite Tricia Golden
    Jun 29th 2017, 2:45 PM

@Government Sachs: Depending on the question I’ll probably be voting YES

#Repealthe8th

Mute Barry Somers
    Favourite Barry Somers
    Jun 29th 2017, 3:11 PM

@Government Sachs: so you’re voting no because the journal has published 3 stories today?

Seems an awful stupid reason to vote no ;)

Mute Jay Orange
    Favourite Jay Orange
    Jun 29th 2017, 3:30 PM

@Bar Bar Drinks: classy comment.

Mute Government Sachs
    Favourite Government Sachs
    Jun 29th 2017, 3:46 PM

@Bar Bar Drinks: they tried.

Mute DaisyChainsaw
    Favourite DaisyChainsaw
    Jun 29th 2017, 6:12 PM

@Barry Somers: Lolantis. Their logic does not resemble Earth logic.

Mute Danny Rafferty
    Favourite Danny Rafferty
    Jun 29th 2017, 9:36 PM

@Government Sachs: And you’ll probably be in the minority, but that’s democracy for you.

Mute Chris Kavanagh
    Favourite Chris Kavanagh
    Jun 29th 2017, 2:16 PM

So we should care about somebody taking their own life but it’s OK to take the life of another.
    Top stuff.

Mute Francis Mc Carthy
    Jun 29th 2017, 2:19 PM

@Chris Kavanagh: Why should people only care when an embryo reaches the womb ?

Mute Chris Kavanagh
    Favourite Chris Kavanagh
    Jun 29th 2017, 2:21 PM

@Francis Mc Carthy: I didn’t say that though did I.

Mute Francis Mc Carthy
    Jun 29th 2017, 2:26 PM

@Chris Kavanagh: But the majority(65-70%) of “lives” never make it to the womb.So why only “care” when the woman wants to have it removed ?

Mute Chris Kavanagh
    Favourite Chris Kavanagh
    Jun 29th 2017, 2:40 PM

@Francis Mc Carthy: still struggling to see where you have come to this conclusion about my opinion.

Mute Rowe
    Favourite Rowe
    Jun 29th 2017, 3:44 PM

@Francis Mc Carthy:

Well well, I see your all over this article like the pro Death clown that you are. Feck the unborn is it Frank

Mute Francis Mc Carthy
    Jun 29th 2017, 4:30 PM

@Rowe: Have you been triggered hun ? Moi “pro Death”? Nah! I’m a father to five beautiful children.Did I ever tell you this ? Well,now you know.So that makes me very ‘pro life’,yes ? “Feck the unborn” <- How does one do that Rowe? Have you tried something in your little head while it was resting on it's pillow ? You're one sick puppy :-)

Mute Rowe
    Favourite Rowe
    Jun 29th 2017, 8:54 PM

@Francis Mc Carthy:

Haha, Frank, there’s not a hope in hell you have 5 kids, you’d never have the time to run your multi accounts for a start.

Mute Francis Mc Carthy
    Jun 29th 2017, 2:06 PM

But I thought that there is no safe,legal abortions in Ireland ?

Mute Barry Somers
    Favourite Barry Somers
    Jun 29th 2017, 2:09 PM

@Francis Mc Carthy: if the so called “pro-life” crowd got their way we wouldn’t even have these exceptional abortions, in that situation it would be just hard luck for the person on the verge of suicide.

Meanwhile we continue to export the issue to the UK instead of providing proper support and medical care for women in Ireland by giving them a choice.

Mute Francis Mc Carthy
    Jun 29th 2017, 2:23 PM

@Barry Somers: They said that the ‘flood gates would open’ if abortions for suicide came in…Well according to those numbers,just one woman had an abortion for that reason…Then again,why would anyone want to sit in front of two psychiatrists ?

Mute Tricia Golden
    Favourite Tricia Golden
    Jun 29th 2017, 2:44 PM

@Francis Mc Carthy: Especially when you could find yourself committed to a mental institution.

Mute Al O'Saurus
    Favourite Al O'Saurus

Good grief, TheJournal might as well be called the Abortion Network. Do you write about anything else?

Why don’t you dedicate one (just one) article to the negative effects of mass migration, which are starting to reveal themselves across Europe?

Mute Keith McDonagh
    Favourite Keith McDonagh
    Jun 29th 2017, 3:06 PM

@Al O’Saurus: Maybe when it’s finally made available here, they’ll stop with abortion articles. Maybe then we can all finally move on to the next big issue & get the sorted, whatever it might be.

Mute Jay Orange
    Favourite Jay Orange
    Jun 29th 2017, 3:28 PM

@Al O’Saurus: in fairness it’s not just abortion articles, there’s Trump ones and polls. Other than that though it’s pretty scarce stuff.

Mute Tommy Browne
    Favourite Tommy Browne
    Jun 29th 2017, 3:38 PM

@Al O’Saurus:
    Thought I saw an article about Donald Trump here recently. Could be mistaken though.

Mute Chris Kavanagh
    Favourite Chris Kavanagh
    Jun 29th 2017, 3:18 PM

I’m all for the journal repeatedly printing abortion articles. It means we are still a country that says no to murder.
    Hopefully we see these articles for the remainder of our lives.

Side note, saw somebody above say ‘you should be aborted’
    Wonder how many of us wouldn’t be writing replies on here if their parents had the right to an abortion in the 80′s. Funny old game isn’t it.

Mute Abbi Cranky
    Favourite Abbi Cranky
    Jun 29th 2017, 4:14 PM

@Chris Kavanagh: and if I was aborted then it would be fine. I wouldn’t be here to be worried about it.
    I love my mother & I trust it was the right decision for her & my father to make.

I never understand this argument about how would I feel if I was aborted. I’d feel fine! I wouldn’t be here, and that would be just fine.

Mute Chris Kavanagh
    Favourite Chris Kavanagh
    Jun 29th 2017, 4:32 PM

@Abbi Cranky: didn’t ask how anybody feels about it. Also, if aborted, You couldn’t be fine with it..You would cease to exist.
    The love you feel for your mother is because you DO exist.

See 13 more replies ▾
    Mute Brian Lenehan
    Favourite Brian Lenehan
    Jun 29th 2017, 4:35 PM

@Abbi Cranky: nobody ever asks “how would you feel if you were aborted?” What a pointless question that would be.

Your failure to actually comprehend what he had said suggests that your bigotry is blinding you.

Mute Francis Mc Carthy
    Jun 29th 2017, 4:39 PM

“We’re a country that still says no to murder” <- What a load of anti choice written hogwash !

Murder is a legal term,yes ?

Abortion is a medical procedure ,yes ?

Are you saying that those professionals that carried out those 26 medical procedures,that they're all murderers ?

Mute Francis Mc Carthy
    Jun 29th 2017, 4:46 PM

@Chris Kavanagh: How many of us wouldn’t be writing replies on here if our parents didn’t make that journey to the UK and opted not to have that abortion and ended up living a miserable life,without having anymore children too ..Yawn..

Mute Francis Mc Carthy
    Jun 29th 2017, 4:51 PM

@Abbi Cranky: No woman should have access to a safe, legal abortion.They should all be forced to give birth,because men like Chris & Brian,they know what is best for her.And if they end up with a severe disability or even “god” forbid ,they died because of the pregnancy,then it was all worth it.The foetus survived .Phew!

Mute Mickey Fennessy
    Favourite Mickey Fennessy
    Jun 29th 2017, 4:59 PM

@Chris Kavanagh: try some wit r something u just sound ridiculous

Mute Chris Kavanagh
    Favourite Chris Kavanagh
    Jun 29th 2017, 5:01 PM

@Francis Mc Carthy: killing unborn babies is murder in my opinion. In many people’s opinions. In many countries. Which is clearly why there are these debates. You understand difference of opinions and the freedom to express them, yes?

Mute Mickey Fennessy
    Favourite Mickey Fennessy
    Jun 29th 2017, 5:01 PM

@Chris Kavanagh: u might want to read your own comments u sound beyond the ridiculous

Mute Chris Kavanagh
    Favourite Chris Kavanagh
    Jun 29th 2017, 5:10 PM

@Francis Mc Carthy: ‘men like chris’ can you elaborate on this?
    I must admit, I have no idea why I should have a discussion with you. Your Facebook is full of stupid memes about politics then you come on here acting high and mighty while putting people down. Gig is up pal, I see what you are about.

Mute Abbi Cranky
    Favourite Abbi Cranky
    Jun 29th 2017, 6:01 PM

@Chris Kavanagh: you asked how many of us wouldn’t be here, effectively trying to pull on the same emotional string as a basis for an argument.

And whatever choice my mother ever wants to make is exactly that: her choice. It was her choice to bring me into the world & she’d have been equally entitled to not bring me into the world.

Mute Danny Rafferty
    Favourite Danny Rafferty
    Jun 29th 2017, 9:22 PM

@Chris Kavanagh: You are entitled to your opinion Chris, and those actually facing decisions are entitled to ignore you. Unless you believe your comments here are going to change the law I suggest you’re just another frusrated individual wasting your time. Perhaps your energies would be better spent lobbying poloticians, or refining your arguments in such a way as to actually convince someone to change their mind rather than throwing slanderous labels around.

Mute Danny Rafferty
    Favourite Danny Rafferty
    Jun 29th 2017, 9:29 PM

@Chris Kavanagh: I’ve just read some more of your comments Chris. You appear to be a deeply frustrated individual. Unfortunately posting on comments pages like this isn’t going to help. For the most part people on comments sites are not there for a real exchange of views. The game is exchanging insults from anonymous safety.

Mute Chris Kavanagh
    Favourite Chris Kavanagh
    Jun 29th 2017, 11:51 PM

@Danny Rafferty: wouldn’t say frustrated individual. Frustrated about this topic though. maybe my tone can be changed. Everything else is spot on.

Mute Chris Kavanagh
    Favourite Chris Kavanagh
    Jun 29th 2017, 11:52 PM

@Danny Rafferty: fair points.

Mute Aine O Connor
    Favourite Aine O Connor
    Jun 29th 2017, 3:19 PM

It has always been the case that when a woman’s life is in danger it is legal and ethical to terminate the pregnancy. This is not considered to be an abortion but a necessary procedure to save her life.I know because it happened to me . During these rare emergencies what is most important is the skill and expertise of the obstetrician and his team to make quick decisions as time is not on their side.

Mute Andi Black
    Favourite Andi Black
    Jun 29th 2017, 4:13 PM

Life saving procedures were carried out in Ireland 2016.

Mute DaisyChainsaw
    Favourite DaisyChainsaw
    Jun 29th 2017, 6:10 PM

Don’t you know that women and girls are suppose to sacrifice themselves on the altar of sacred motherhood. Women and girls cease to be people and their rights are reduced to that of a zygote once they’re pregnant.

Mute Aine O Connor
    Favourite Aine O Connor
    Jun 29th 2017, 6:41 PM

@DaisyChainsaw:
    The majority of mothers do not consider that having children is a burden , in fact the opposite is the case , their children bring them endless joy and happiness. In Ireland we have wonderful families who look out for each other in good times and bad.

Mute Jeremy DeChad
    Favourite Jeremy DeChad
    Jun 29th 2017, 8:05 PM

@Andi Black: if a woman is a at risk of suicide she should be committed not aborted!

Mute Danny Rafferty
    Favourite Danny Rafferty
    Jun 29th 2017, 9:33 PM

@Jeremy DeChad: So Jeremy, you have case knowledge of all past and future pregnancies involving suicidal women?
    You must be very pleased with yourself indeed.

Mute Jed I. Knight
    Favourite Jed I. Knight
    Jun 29th 2017, 4:49 PM

If an Irish patient has a hip replacement in a German hospital are they considered Irish or German?
    It’s the same with abortions, regardless of your opinion of the matter. Thousands of Irish women have them every year, but not in Ireland, the majority choose the UK. This is a fact, and your opinion will not change it.
    Thousands of Irish women have abortions each year, a small amount have them in Ireland.

Mute Janet Ní Shuilleabháin
    Favourite Janet Ní Shuilleabháin
    Jun 29th 2017, 4:55 PM

And all those proceedures would have been free under the Materntal health scheme.

Mute JMac
    Favourite JMac
    Jun 30th 2017, 2:53 AM

Pro-death groups always demonstrste their discomfort by resorting to rubbishing pro-life anti-death groups. Sad.