You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Emergency Leitrim Council meeting calls a halt to mining firm drilling in Belcoo

Communities claim that the drilling in Fermanagh is the first stage in the fracking process.

unnamed (5) Demonstrators who gathered outside the offices of Leitrim County Council in Carrick-on-Shannon yesterday. James Molloy James Molloy

LEITRIM COUNTY COUNCIL unanimously passed a motion in an emergency meeting last night calling for a stop to drilling work by mining firm Tamboran Resources in Belcoo, County Fermanagh.

Communities claim that the drilling is the first stage in the fracking process.

Councillors voted unanimously to ask the Taoiseach and the Minister for Energy and Natural Resources Alex White to intervene with British prime minister David Cameron and Northern First Minister Peter Robinson to immediately call for an end to all drilling works by Tamboran Resources.

unnamed (4) Love Leitrim group at the peaceful presence outside Leitrim county council buildings. Love Leitrim Love Leitrim

The councillors also want White to meet with them on the matter stating that it was a matter of urgency.

It is believed that campaigners have been protesting at the drilling site for a number of days. The company has erected a high security apparatus, which councillors, who have visited the site said are very “imposing”.

The meeting ended with councillors further pledging that they would show solidarity to protesters holding vigil by arranging to visit and attending meetings organised by the community there.

Read: “We are not going to win overnight.” – Anti-fracking activists as company prepares to start drilling?

Column: Will fracking be added to our energy mix? Ireland has questions to answer first>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

52 Comments
    Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Aug 1st 2014, 10:50 AM

No fracking in Ireland ..I think it may be time to investigate the companies and the shareholders who think they can do this ..If a politicians name turns up then we will have to do something about it !

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Aug 1st 2014, 10:59 AM

Oh and anti – fracking group … I wouldn’t be too impressed with your secretary either – the foreign wan !

Mute Keaneland
    Favourite Keaneland
    Aug 1st 2014, 12:33 PM

I’m telling yea, ever since sinn feint got into office there has been an awful lot of dodgy deals being made.;-)

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Aug 1st 2014, 1:00 PM

The shinners voted not to allow its politicians vote with their conscience – there will be a split in Sinn Fein soon – Old Northern Ireland Sinn Fein and the new Irish Republican Sinn Fein !

Mute Justin Cosgrove
    Favourite Justin Cosgrove
    Aug 1st 2014, 11:28 AM

Let them Frack away all over England but keep them off this island.

The pollution doesn’t recognise international borders and if we want to keep our major industry agriculture as a world leader then we need to protect against these activities.

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Aug 1st 2014, 11:55 AM

Thank God we are an Independent Republic and can vote to get rid of the people who would do this to Lovely Leitrim , the home of the Iron Mountians ; the home of the Tuath deDannan ,
    It’s like our neutrality – no-one can take it away from us !

Mute Damo
    Favourite Damo
    Aug 1st 2014, 11:39 AM

Love Fracking Leitrim Banners!!!

Mute Ablitive
    Favourite Ablitive
    Aug 1st 2014, 11:20 AM

David Dee sums up fracking and water metering and it is all connected…

Also with Nestles Chairman stating: “access to water is not a public right.” Nor is it a human right. So if privatization is the answer…

http://s16.postimg.org/ful0wqc1x/Watermeters.jpg

Mute Jean Martin
    Favourite Jean Martin
    Aug 1st 2014, 7:31 PM

Nestle’ is a ionist corporation and should be boycotted over the massacres in GAZA.

Mute G. Ring
    Favourite G. Ring
    Aug 1st 2014, 5:01 PM

It beggars belief that national governments are allowing this industry to get its drill bits in the ground, an industry which has no track record of safety and which, by its very nature, causes serious damage to sustainable, indigineous economies such as agriculture and tourim.

There is also no adequate EU regulatory framework for high volume horizontal hydraulic fracking (HVHF).
    A European Commission study published in September 2012 identified significant gaps in at least eight key EU environmental directives and categorised many aspects of this industry as high risk. Yet, under pressure from industry and national governments, the Commission gave the green light to fracking in January by issuing non-binding guidelines. In doing so, it ignored the advice of its own legal service! Very disappointing. Now we can only hope our governments will take into account the peer-reviewed scientific evidence which continues to mount. And the growing number of fracking related accidents. And the increasing number of communities across the US, Canada and Australia enacting bans and moratoria on fracking. How much more evidence of the harm do we need?

Our governments are armed with all the facts and the evidence to ban this industry outright, as France and Bulgaria and have done. It is high time the UK and Irish governments stepped up to the plate. There is no social consent for fracking anywhere on these islands.

Mute John Moylan
    Favourite John Moylan
    Aug 1st 2014, 9:02 PM

So Leitrim Co Co voted on something happening in another jurisdiction ?

Mute Tom White
    Favourite Tom White
    Aug 2nd 2014, 3:49 PM

Yes which they are allowed to do under EU trans-boundary Environmental laws and concerns.

Mute Michael Reilly
    Favourite Michael Reilly
    Aug 1st 2014, 12:20 PM

Dermot Ryan – are you elected to represent the people of Leitrim and why are you making sinister.threats against politicians – “If a politicians name turns up then we will have to do something about it”. What is your politics?

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan

Michael -
    Article 9
    3. Fidelity to the nation and loyalty to the State are fundamental political duties of all citizens.
    That should explain all !
    I did not threaten politicians but if they have hidden interests …then they can be removed from office – is it a crime to remove a crooked politician – Ray Burke was jailed , Ivor Callaly was jailed – why do you perceive a threat – are you a politician Michael – just asking the same question you asked me !
    I vote Independent ; because it is the only proof that the politician I vote for is able to think for themselves and are therefore blessed with the intelligence it takes to make informed decisions for the benefit of the country – again I will refer you to the article above !

Mute M Bowe
    Favourite M Bowe
    Aug 1st 2014, 12:35 PM

What is sinister of asking if a politician might have a financial interest in this fracking. And if such a situation exists, has this interest been declared and the people can then decide on what to do about it. Nothing sinister at all about it.

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Aug 1st 2014, 1:23 PM

Mr./Ms. Bowe pass no remarks of the attempts to be-smudge me I’m used of it , but thanks for the outside rational perspective …..
    You are in my good books !

Mute Peter McKevitt
    Favourite Peter McKevitt
    Aug 1st 2014, 12:35 PM

We need a fracking free for all. Its done wonders for the US economy.

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Aug 1st 2014, 12:38 PM

there are loads of flights out of Ireland every day if you wish to join the wonderful American economy … don’t join their army though …it’s almost as dangerous to your health as Fracking in my opinion .

Mute cooperguy
    Favourite cooperguy
    Aug 1st 2014, 12:54 PM

Must be pretty safe so…

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Aug 1st 2014, 12:57 PM

Cooper ….l.o.l. ……

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Aug 1st 2014, 1:21 PM

America want to sell shale gas in Europe that’s why the Ukraine is up in arms …vladamir sells to china and Barak sells to Europe ….. you should know this !

Mute Mindfulirish
    Favourite Mindfulirish
    Aug 1st 2014, 11:03 AM

The Brown Envelopes are not big enough in Leitrim? Give it time — there will be cracking in Leitrim.

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Aug 1st 2014, 11:05 AM

That’s not how it’s going to work out at all Mind ..it’s going to become a completely different beast to the Capitalist nightmare !

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Aug 1st 2014, 11:17 AM

The red-thumbs ; foreign vested interests and their paid spies are out early this morning ..I hope our Gardaí are tracking these !

Mute stoned.walled
    Favourite stoned.walled
    Aug 1st 2014, 11:21 AM

Gave you a thumbs up until I saw your comment above about red thumbs, then changed them to red thumbs

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Aug 1st 2014, 11:27 AM

Excellent …….I have balanced your mind !

Mute Joe Harbison
    Favourite Joe Harbison
    Aug 1st 2014, 11:59 AM

Last year Dublin was allocated €5.06 per person via the local Government fund. People in Leitrim received €260.47. I’m totally in favour of Leitrim residents right to choose to ignore natural resources under their feet, but if they do they should not seek to receive subsidies from the rest of us to pay for their roads, public lighting etc etc.

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Aug 1st 2014, 12:10 PM

Last year thousands and thousands of Leitrim people worked in Dublin paid taxes and generated loads of money for the State …. they live in the hope of returning to their native county when they are finished in Dublin so I have no problem with your statistic…
    Leitrim is a very beautiful county … have you ever looked down on it from a mountain – no smog, no dirty factories just beautiful , hills, lakes and drumlins – and that should not and will not change , not while Ireland has its head above the ocean !

Mute Joe Harbison
    Favourite Joe Harbison
    Aug 1st 2014, 12:21 PM

I appreciate the quality of the environment in Leitrim, I have inlaws there. But the residents can’t have it every way. Expecting to have their lifestyles subsidised by the folks in grubby old unattractive, polluted, Dublin and Cork whilst sitting on hundreds of millions of euros worth of shale gas. They have a right to be NIMBYs but only if they don’t expect the rest of us to pay for their public services.

See 13 more replies ▾
    Mute M Bowe
    Favourite M Bowe
    Aug 1st 2014, 12:28 PM

A them and us argument with Dublin v Leitrim. Sweet jaysus man have you ever heard of a nation called Ireland and an Irish race.

Mute Joe Harbison
    Favourite Joe Harbison

Altruism works both ways. I’m happy to subsidise less densely populated parts of the country, but only so long as they’re happy to help themselves. You can’t expect your hard-up neighbours to pay for your lights when you have thousands of euros under the bed.

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Aug 1st 2014, 12:36 PM

Joe why don’t you turn off the lights in Dublin ; talk about a waste of energy and everyone has a light in their phone and the taxis are de-regulated …
    Public Lighting …. an ancient and backward concept …you can’t see Leitrim from space at night time !

Mute Joe Harbison
    Favourite Joe Harbison
    Aug 1st 2014, 12:41 PM

Dermot. As rational a response as I would have expected.

Mute M Bowe
    Favourite M Bowe
    Aug 1st 2014, 12:41 PM

If only it was as simple as lifting the bed. No one is sure of the long term effects on the land, water tables or health of people due to fracking.
    But sure never that. Just let someone grab that cash. It won’t be the people effected anyhow who benefit.

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Aug 1st 2014, 12:44 PM

Thanks Joe !

Mute Keaneland
    Favourite Keaneland
    Aug 1st 2014, 12:46 PM

Dear mr Harbison sir,
    Thank you boss for your subsidies. Please excuse my poor posture today boss, I had an awful night of it sleeping on my bed of dosh. Of course I’ll let the men with the dirty hoses into my house to flush out my dosh for you boss.

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Aug 1st 2014, 12:53 PM

Don’t tell ‘em ’bout da money under da bin Keane Boss !

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Aug 1st 2014, 12:56 PM

Look at Joe …
    He described people born and bred in Leitrim as “residents ” …. that’s the kind of thinking that saw the craic in Carrigallen Mart, (wasn’t it), a few weeks ago people !
    I’d say he studied economics with Moore McDowell , I could of course be completely wrong !

Mute Micí Mulcreevy
    Favourite Micí Mulcreevy
    Aug 1st 2014, 2:35 PM

Joe, Leirtrim has another natural resource which, unlike fracking, could make a significiant contribution to Ireland’s energy requirement on an indefinite basis; providing much-needed employment & reviving rural economies without damaging the environment in any way. This natural resource is wood biomass, which can be grown faster in Leitrim than just about anywhere within the temperate climate zone. From an economics perspective, the risk of fracking in Leitrim is groundwater pollution which, in turn, would compromise the county’s ability to develop a renewable energy resource benefiting future generations. Better to remove the risk & go straight to the sustainable solution. The best model for Leitrim to follow could be Gussing, Austria:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=H1WsbQQNsV0
    Therefore Joe, a better question to ask why does government ignore wood biomass as a means for producing electricity & heat?

Mute Joe Harbison
    Favourite Joe Harbison
    Aug 1st 2014, 2:47 PM

Dearmot. You’ve a great sense of privilege expecting the rest of the world to support you on your land. Clearly a member of the landed gentry!

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Aug 1st 2014, 4:35 PM

Joe …. I have constitutional property rights …. are you a simple little fish or just a sneer ?
    You see Joe , I can live without anyone else’s work, I don’t need paperwork , I don’t need civil servants I don’t need oil or gas I don’t need television I don’t need this computer …. but Joe and this is the point you may find out soon – you and I cannot live without food !
    That makes my work far more important than anything you can produce despite the fact that you have probably attended educational institutions that build a sense of competition and arrogance which in turn leads to an over-inflated sense of how valuable your time is vis vis my time ….
    Does that explain it to you ?

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Aug 1st 2014, 4:41 PM

In terms of support Joe …I know plenty of people who are supported in a free house with free everything who only vote once every 5 years and who gainfully employ themselves in the tax-free enterprise called crime ……
    But you wouldn’t have eejits to listen to your opinion if that wasn’t the case I suppose …that’s changing Joe and that’s changing Big-time ….
    Have you been to the Isle of Man lately Joe … there may be some wonderfully rich deposits of gas there …but I am sure you know….

Mute Jamie Murphy
    Favourite Jamie Murphy
    Aug 1st 2014, 9:57 PM

What has been really heartening about this for those of us who oppose Fracking is the cross party support that we have received. For those who were in Carrick yesterday there was a real diverse mix of people young and old, of different political persuasions united by opposition to Fracking.

In relation to the point made previously about Leitrim Councillors voting on some thing in relation to a different jurisdiction. Fracking and pollution of the water table does not recognise borders. More specifically we in Love Leitrim have had it confirmed by Petroleum Affairs Division that data gathered by Tamboran in Northern Ireland can be used in their Republic of Ireland work programme so people and elected representatives of the Leitrim and everywhere else have a justifiable right to be concerned as what happens in the north as it may directly impact upon them.

Mute Fognostical
    Favourite Fognostical
    Aug 1st 2014, 12:24 PM

An aerial view of a fracking operation.
    http://www.cuadrillaresources.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/02/aerial_large.jpg
    And
    The site in Elswick is Cuadrilla’s only permanent site and was hydraulically fractured in 1993.
    http://www.cuadrillaresources.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/02/Elswick-hero-image.jpg
    Located off the main road in to Elswick, the site is visually unobtrusive, with many people in the area unaware of its existence.

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Aug 1st 2014, 12:39 PM

I was never in Elswick, Co. Leitrim ….

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Aug 1st 2014, 12:43 PM

So you support Fracking and Israel’s war in Gaza fog ?

Mute Tom White
    Favourite Tom White
    Aug 2nd 2014, 3:47 PM

Of course Cuadrilla put this about Elswick into their advertising material and were then told to remove it by the advertising standards agency. http://www.asa.org.uk/Rulings/Adjudications/2013/4/Cuadrilla-Resources-Ltd/SHP_ADJ_203806.aspx#.U9z5knVdVoA

Mute Fognostical
    Favourite Fognostical
    Aug 1st 2014, 1:12 PM

All you need to know about fracking, a handy bit of information for ordinary people which the anti’s won’t like you seeing
    http://skeptoid.com/episodes/4275

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Aug 1st 2014, 1:15 PM

I thought you’d be busy supporting Israel Fog …
    Is Fracking another of your pets ?

Mute Eddie Mitchell
    Favourite Eddie Mitchell
    Aug 1st 2014, 4:32 PM
    Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Aug 1st 2014, 4:37 PM

Fog – define “ordinary people ” …are you “extraordinary” or what ?
    In case your extrordinariness prevent your ego from understanding ..that was a rhetorical question ..

Mute Susan Carton
    Favourite Susan Carton
    Aug 2nd 2014, 6:12 PM

Fognostical, that link is to a blog written in September 2011. I couldn’t find any more recent work by Brian Dunning – do you know if he has had anything to say on the mounting evidence of the health impacts of Fracking? He doesn’t really address it in that link.