You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Eamonn Farrell

What next for Leo? No mutterings of heaves, but will Varadkar be able for the opposition benches?

Big players in Fine Gael are backing Leo Varadkar after a bad election for the party.

FINE GAEL TROOPS have been rallying against any suggestion that Leo Varadkar should step aside as Fine Gael leader.

The sitting Taoiseach predicted last week, before the election, that his party would walk away with the most seats. 

Instead, the earthquake election result saw the party take just 35 seats. 

Despite Varadkar stating last week that he didn’t believe his party was heading for a car-crash election result, Fine Gael’s obvious disappointment with that number means the inevitable question about his leadership has arisen. 

The Sinn Féin surge decimated the numbers for Fine Gael, but the big players in the party have brushed away any suggestion that Varadkar should not stay at the helm of the party. 

Simon Coveney has said there is “no question” over Varadkar’s leadership, despite some already asking what might have been for the party had the Cork man taken over as leader after Enda Kenny. 

Paschal Donohoe also declared his support for Varadkar after he was elected in Dublin Central, insisting he would continue as leader of his party.

Richard Bruton said at the Dublin count centre on Monday that he does not accept the assertion that Varadkar should not be leader, stating that he has been “an extraordinary Taoiseach” who drove social change in the country. 

Whether Varadkar wants to remain as leader or not, the matter isn’t up to him.

Under party rules, he must put himself up for re-election to be the leader of Fine Gael. 

If after a General Election, the party is not forming or joining in the formation of a government, under the rules, the leader must put himself or herself forward under a motion of confidence. 

The rules set out that this must happen within two months after the election process concludes. However, there are questions internally about how this rule plays out if government formation talks go past the two-month mark.

The vote of confidence by the parliamentary party members, when it does occur, will be carried out by secret ballot. 

If Varadkar fails to secure a majority then he must resign.

Donohoe said recently that it is his “strong view” that when Varadkar puts himself forward for re-election, he will continue as party leader. If Fine Gael doesn’t enter into government in some capacity, Varadkar will perhaps find himself filling Micheál Martin’s old seat on the opposition benches. 

Support could be behind the Fine Gael leader simply because of the devastation the party has already experienced in recent days. Any further change might be a risky business for the party, that will hope to rebuild in the years ahead in opposition, which is what some new TDs such as Neale Richmond have predicted. 

Questions around whether Varadkar is in the politics game for the long-run have arisen before. A number of years ago, he said he would be out of politics by the time he was 51 – a statement, he said, he regretted making. 

But those words have never really gone away.

When asked a couple of days before polling day if he had plans to take a top job in Europe after this election, Varadkar told TheJournal.ie that if Fine Gael finds itself in opposition, he will seek to continue to lead the party.

“I will continue to represent the good people of Dublin 15 and Dublin 7 who have trusted me with their vote.

“I have not ever been offered any of these wonderful jobs in Europe that people speculate about, I don’t think any of them are available until 2024 anyway,” he said. 

There has been speculation in political circles that Varadkar will have no interest in sitting in the opposition benches, with suggestions that he would be interested in taking up a role in Europe, perhaps around Brexit.  

Last year, Varadkar said he was “flattered” to be linked to the role of the new president of the European Commission but said at the time that he planned to stay put in Ireland as Taoiseach.

It’s not unusual for speculation to arise about a party’s leadership after an election – especially one where Fine Gael has seen its seats decimated. Enda Kenny faced off questions continuously about when he would head off into the sunset, with eventually some TDs openly asking the question of him. 

There were probably more than a few Fine Gael TDs who were pushing for Kenny to hop on his bike (as an avid cyclist often seen tackling the Ring of Kerry) – one of those being Varadkar, who was anxious to take over as leader.

While Leo doesn’t find himself in the same circumstances as his predecessor, there might be a secret few who are interested in the job. Coveney has been mentioned as possibly the man to steady the ship and rebuild. While Varadkar had the vote of the parliamentary party, Coveney had the support of the grassroots.

Then there is Simon Harris, the former health minister, that many peg as the possible next leader of Fine Gael. Or Paschal Donohoe, though he has stated publicly that he isn’t interested. 

The big question is that if Fine Gael finds itself in opposition, will Varadkar be happy to sit on those benches, staring down either Mary Lou McDonald or Micheál Martin.

Over the next few weeks, we’ll find out. 

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

52 Comments
    Mute Pád
    Favourite Pád
    Feb 12th 2020, 6:21 AM

Well he wasn’t able for the Taoiseach position, so I doubt he’ll be any use in opposition.
    For a 41 year old he’s completely out of touch with the people.
    He and his party were too concerned about Brexit to notice what was going on in his own backyard.
    Also backing those two muppets Harris and Murphy what was he thinking!

Mute Hector Son
    Favourite Hector Son
    Feb 12th 2020, 7:46 AM

@Pád: and yet all three were reelected.

Mute Pád
    Favourite Pád
    Feb 12th 2020, 8:11 AM

@Hector Son: Yep you are correct of course! Just goes to show how blind some people are. Although it took 15 counts before Harris got back in!

Mute Thewestisbest
    Favourite Thewestisbest
    Feb 12th 2020, 8:44 AM

@Pád: Are you in favour of scrapping PR?

Mute paul gurney
    Favourite paul gurney
    Feb 12th 2020, 11:42 AM

@Pád: well said…is it not time we did away with the PR system …I mean in all fairness if it takes 15 counts to get voted in then you could safely say you weren’t really wanted in anyway..Only 2 countries in the world using this system for general elections…its a typical Irish not all’s lost system…sure don’t worry we’ll get you in somehow…RUBBISH.

Mute Gerrard
    Favourite Gerrard
    Feb 12th 2020, 6:56 AM

If there is another general election I would change my vote from Sinn Fein after the up the ra comment … leopard never changes its spots

Mute Bobby wilson
    Favourite Bobby wilson
    Feb 12th 2020, 7:22 AM

@Gerrard: why where you so shock over that did you think they are all different now and how are we going to convince the unionist population about been part of this new all IRELAND ..I want a United ireland more than I want SF.

Mute Danny E
    Favourite Danny E
    Feb 12th 2020, 7:42 AM

@Gerrard: haha did you not know what they were like. Ffs

Mute Pád
    Favourite Pád
    Feb 12th 2020, 8:12 AM

@Gerrard: Oh build a bridge and haul your ass over it!

Mute Gerrard
    Favourite Gerrard
    Feb 12th 2020, 8:34 AM

@Bobby wilson: no like 99% who voted for Sinn Fein it was a protest vote nobody even likes them it’s just a shake up once in a century vote … but they ruin it before they even start … so my protest vote lost to them already

Mute Gerrard
    Favourite Gerrard
    Feb 12th 2020, 8:34 AM

@Pád: ok yank

Mute Colette Kearns
    Favourite Colette Kearns
    Feb 12th 2020, 8:59 AM

@Gerrard: well you just keep focused on that! There’s been worse said by those previously in power. So while you’re crying into your cereal in the morning the rest of us are more concerned about the broken house system, the broken health system ect ect ect. You know the real issues!

Mute Bobby wilson
    Favourite Bobby wilson
    Feb 12th 2020, 9:27 AM

@Gerrard: I have voting for SF many many times in my constituency in North Belfast to keep out unionists from winning a Nationalist seat my first choice is the SDLP if even so I don’t agreed with many of there policies I will vote then when ever Nationalist seat is in danger to falling to loyalist/unionist …..

Mute Ruairi Colton
    Favourite Ruairi Colton
    Feb 12th 2020, 10:41 AM

@Gerrard: haha. What vote did you give them? No.15 was it. If there was another election sf would sweep into power.

Mute Margaret Kane
    Favourite Margaret Kane
    Feb 12th 2020, 12:58 PM

@Gerrard: ahhh you poor sod your easily upset

Mute Verandah
    Favourite Verandah
    Feb 12th 2020, 1:24 PM

@Gerrard: Sinn Fein have one agenda. The rest are just a means to a United Ireland. Change me b******s!!

Mute Gerrard
    Favourite Gerrard
    Feb 12th 2020, 4:01 PM

@Ruairi Colton: no 1 and so did the whole club I represent and we all said the same … did you ever hear the expression buyers remorse … Sinn Fein would never risk another vote

Mute Diogenes
    Favourite Diogenes
    Feb 12th 2020, 6:25 AM

Mary Lou for Taoiseach!

Mute Fred the Muss
    Favourite Fred the Muss
    Feb 12th 2020, 7:30 AM

@Diogenes: She won’t be Taoiseach as she’d have to get off the fence and make a decision and then own it.

Mute Diogenes
    Favourite Diogenes
    Feb 12th 2020, 12:07 PM

@Fred the Muss: Mary Lou will be Taoiseach, its only a matter of when.

Mute Dave Stewart
    Favourite Dave Stewart
    Feb 12th 2020, 6:36 AM

More suited to head up some foreign vulture-fund than a government IMO

Mute Hector Son
    Favourite Hector Son
    Feb 12th 2020, 7:50 AM

@Dave Stewart: yeah, this strong economy and full employment is overrated. SF wont be building ANY houses if/when they screw up the economy.

Mute Dave Stewart
    Favourite Dave Stewart
    Feb 12th 2020, 6:33 AM

From what I’ve seen so far the man couldn’t run bath never mind a country

Mute Willy Mc Entire
    Favourite Willy Mc Entire
    Feb 12th 2020, 7:21 AM

Respect the people as you expect to be respected.
    FFG didn’t .

Mute Mark Kelly
    Favourite Mark Kelly
    Feb 12th 2020, 7:32 AM

@Willy Mc Entire: We’ve full employment, the most progressive income tax system in Europe, and we’re a welfare state. What more do you want?

Mute Willy Mc Entire
    Favourite Willy Mc Entire
    Feb 12th 2020, 7:44 AM

@Mark Kelly: Blueshirts taking this way to badly :-)

Mute Brian Madden
    Favourite Brian Madden
    Feb 12th 2020, 7:59 AM

@Mark Kelly: we want a fairer society. We want old people to die with dignity and not on a hospital trolley in a corridor with a makeshift curtain around it. We want affordable childcare. We dont want to see old ladies eating their dinner off a window sill. Is that too much to ask from a wealthy country?

Mute Mark Kelly
    Favourite Mark Kelly
    Feb 12th 2020, 8:30 AM

@Brian Madden: We’re 200+ billion in debt from 2008. How is SF and their panel of old provos in the Ard Chomhairle the answer?

Mute Connoroconner
    Favourite Connoroconner
    Feb 12th 2020, 8:40 AM

@Willy Mc Entire: if FFG are a single entity as you keep saying or even a cartel and if that’s the way the general public viewed it, then FFG beat SF in the election. They have 73 seats between them compared to SFs 37? Just saying.

Mute Derek Lyster
    Favourite Derek Lyster
    Feb 12th 2020, 7:20 AM

Leo and his party are just so out of touch with most of the population that they were always going to get hammered at the poles. They just have no appeal for a certain generation. FF and Lab are in the same boat.

Mute lambda sensor
    Favourite lambda sensor
    Feb 12th 2020, 9:43 AM

@Derek Lyster: after 9 years in power it is often the case that the incumbent gets turfed out. Nothing surprising here except that FF didn’t make hay. A period of time on the opposition benches is exactly what FG need right now.

Mute Derek Lyster
    Favourite Derek Lyster
    Feb 12th 2020, 9:59 AM

@lambda sensor: the right person for the job is the right person for the job. Leo wasnt, too out of touch with the majority of the population.

Mute A
    Favourite A
    Feb 12th 2020, 6:34 AM

Basically what’s going to happen Is that Fg and FF will elect new party leaders and we will have another general election…

Mute SC
    Favourite SC
    Feb 12th 2020, 7:20 AM

@A: They must think we’re stupid. It’s not the branding or the faces; it’s the people behind it all who are the problem. FG are clearly doing deals with insurance companies and vulture funds. We need a government to stand up for us.

Mute Fred the Muss
    Favourite Fred the Muss
    Feb 12th 2020, 7:31 AM

@A: Coveney for FG but who would you put in for FF?

Mute nicknack
    Favourite nicknack
    Feb 12th 2020, 7:57 AM

@Fred the Muss: Coveney is a bilderberg boy who loves the vulture funds,him and Larry Goodman have very interesting ties.fine Gael need a clean break but is any of them clean

Mute Mark Kelly
    Favourite Mark Kelly
    Feb 12th 2020, 7:31 AM

Question for SF voters: the PSNI says the the IRA still retain oversight of Sinn Fein (https://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/news/northern-ireland/ira-army-council-retains-oversight-of-sinn-fein-say-police-38671774.html).

For most of us this isn’t news, but it seems to be for SF voters. SF are open about Mary Lou McDonald having to answer to the Ard Chomhairle, a panel which include old provos.

It’s quite bizarre we have a huge number of people in this country who deny the link between the IRA and SF – when we know Mary Lou McDonald literally succeeded a former IRA Chief of Staff (Gerry Adams) as leader only 2 years ago.

So I’m asking the non-conspiratorial SF voters here (there seems to be an enormous overlap between conspiracy theories and SF voters), how do you think there people are best placed to, say, fix our health system?

Serious answers only, and only from SF voters who accept the above. I don’t want to hear from any of the tinfoil hat SF voters who believe it’s all a smear job.

Mute The Equalizer
    Favourite The Equalizer
    Feb 12th 2020, 7:04 AM

Nice trip to Wuhan for Leo, Harris, Ross and burton

Mute Jason Ebbs
    Favourite Jason Ebbs
    Feb 12th 2020, 7:58 AM

Haven’t heard a peep out of him over the last few days…..it’s soo refreshing

Mute Fr. Fintan Stack
    Favourite Fr. Fintan Stack
    Feb 12th 2020, 7:04 AM

Is there anything to be said for another mass?

Mute Mary Hynes
    Favourite Mary Hynes
    Feb 12th 2020, 9:01 AM

Personally I think Leo did very well. I was always proud when he represented us abroad. Always so respectful to whoever he met. Simon Coveney, Helen McEnroe and himself played a blinder in Europe. He will have no problem in opposition if thats where he ends up Good luck Leo.

Mute Seanboy
    Favourite Seanboy
    Feb 12th 2020, 7:46 AM

He could always take down his posters I’m sick of looking at his smarmy face

Mute SC
    Favourite SC
    Feb 12th 2020, 7:18 AM

It’s not him; it’s the party’s ideology and who they really represent. He seems nice actually.

Mute Neuville-Kepler62F
    Favourite Neuville-Kepler62F
    Feb 12th 2020, 9:07 AM

Leo ..you’re a grand lad but you did FA ….

“All politics is local and there is nothing more local than a man’s wallet”
    “Its the Economy Stupid … the domestic home family economy .. stupid!”

People are not angry with FG / FF / Politicians … they are Furious!

The Banking crisis was fixed in a few days meetings … same should apply to the list …

2020 Election : Voters Program for Government :-

- 2 Tier Family Homes … Owners and Landlords v the “Locked Out” – Rack Rents, No Affordable homes and Evicted Homeless.
    - 2 Tier Car Tax … Post 2008 well off new car class Low Car Tax v pre 2008 excessive High Car Tax for older cars – irrespective of miles traveled . stupid Greens forcing us all into diesels …
    - 2 Tier Health … We have VHI so we skip the queue v rest of you take your ‘Place’ in the Queue and wait … and 11% of GDP put into health. (This one is obscene)
    - 2 Tier Insurance … €450 in Ireland car insurance v car insurance in France €185 … same company!!!(Judges should not be allowed to determine monetary awards. That is for the taxpayer via his TD to decide – on what society can afford. Judge should decide the degree of negligence or otherwise – that’s it …. no more daft Irish stuff)
    - 2 Tier VAT Tax … No Vat on Bank transactions v but VAT (€28,000) tax on new family homes .. amazing no street protests!.
    - 2 Tier LPT … a tax family homes ..none in Italy .. next tax food – you cant tax Life Essentials (shelter)… TDs just dont get it.
    - 2 Tier Pensions … 3 pensions (1 Private + 2 Welfare ‘PRSI’) v wait until you are 68 yrs for your only Welfare pension. Wrong answer FG.
    - 2 tier Education .. free primary/Free Secondary v Pay for 3rd Level??? Hello

plenty more … do a survey!

Complete lack of urgency, energy, competence by Political and Civil Service to remove the ridiculous barriers to fix above. No lack of urgency when it came to save the Bankers …

Decent people do not want to live in this most unfair horrible 2-Tier Irish society … they are not angry – they are furious.

A Second Troika may be necessary ……. to fix it …
    rotating Taoiseach (Troika Outside Appointment) every 3 yrs until ye cop on …

Mute Thewestisbest
    Favourite Thewestisbest
    Feb 12th 2020, 8:43 AM

He won’t be in opposition, he will be in government with Micheal & Eamon.

Mute commoner
    Favourite commoner
    Feb 12th 2020, 10:28 AM

76% reject SF

Mute Fr. Fintan Stack
    Favourite Fr. Fintan Stack
    Feb 12th 2020, 4:34 PM

@commoner: 80% rejected FG

Mute @mdmak33
    Favourite @mdmak33
    Feb 12th 2020, 10:06 AM

He is only passing the time on a salary of €96,000 until 2024,then he is off to the big EU job.

Mute Henry Toye
    Favourite Henry Toye
    Feb 12th 2020, 10:48 AM

Ha ha Leo. You’re a joke.

Mute Kieran Cronin
    Favourite Kieran Cronin
    Feb 12th 2020, 10:38 AM

himself or herself

Mute Gombeen Island
    Favourite Gombeen Island
    Feb 17th 2020, 10:23 PM

I’d say Simon Coveney is craving the Taoiseach role…