You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Leo compares Enda to Michael Collins and smaller parties to a Monty Python sketch

No word on whether silly walks will be introduced at Leinster House.

LEO VARADKAR PULLED no punches when speaking at Fine Gael’s Dublin West selection convention last night.

The health minister took aim at several political opponents – including independents, Sinn Féin and smaller parties.

International Silly Walk Day - Czech Republic Fans of Monty Python pictured on International Silly Walk Day in Brno, Czech Republic. PA Images PA Images

Varadkar said “the ‘all you can eat’ buffet of independents and small parties” agree on nothing.

Those from the left, those from the right, and those who want to represent everyone but end up representing no-one. Ex-Fianna Fail, Ex-Fine Gael, Ex-Labour and Ex-PD. They agree on nothing as a bloc. The ULA, the United Left, the Triple A, PBPA – it’s reminiscent of a Monty Python sketch.

He described Sinn Fein as “a party than cannot be trusted – not just because it will not trust us with the truth about the past, but also because of its rank hypocrisy opposing in the South what it defends in coalition in the North”.

“As historians can attest, Sinn Féin as a political party had nothing to do with 1916, and we need to make sure that they have nothing to do with government in the Republic of Ireland in 2016 either.”

26/3/2015 Future of Health Care Assistants in Ireland Leo Varadkar (File photo) Photocall Ireland Photocall Ireland

Varadkar said these groups and individuals “can influence governments, make them unstable, and even hold them to ransom”, but added: “They can never lead the country in a particular direction, in the way that we can.”

Only a Fine Gael-led government can protect and sustain the recovery. Only a Fine Gael-led government can offer stability. Only a Fine Gael-led government can ensure that the sacrifices we have made as a people were not in vain.

“Employment is rising again. There are 90,000 more people at work since unemployment peaked in 2012 and we are delivering on our promise to create 100,000 jobs. But our work isn’t finished yet.”

The health minister said if Fine Gael is returned to power, the theme of its second term should be ‘restore’, stating: “We will restore a higher standard of living for all of our citizens.”

Taoiseach Responds To Media Question Reg Enda Kenny (File photo) Eamonn Farrell / Photocall Ireland Eamonn Farrell / Photocall Ireland / Photocall Ireland

During his speech, Varadkar also spoke about Michael Collins, saying: “Fine Gael continues to encapsulate [his] idealism and realism.”

Repairing the damage of the last government required a heavy dose of realism. But the next government needs that mix of idealism and realism embodied by Collins a hundred years ago, and today by our Taoiseach Enda Kenny.

“Now that the recovery is underway, we can afford to take stock and look at the sort of society we want to shape. That’s why I think our focus should be on creating a stable and prosperous economy, but also a more secure, more gentle and kinder society.”

Varadkar was selected to run for the party at the convention last night, as was Senator Catherine Noone.

Leo understands the distress that hospital overcrowding causes you

‘Vote for Alan Kelly or you’ll get a wedgie’ – Paul Murphy won’t let Simpsons reference go…

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

View 110 comments
110 Comments
    Mute Pat Mustard
    Favourite Pat Mustard
    Apr 14th 2015, 7:05 AM

Sinn Fein had nothing to do with the Easter Rising as neither did FF or FG. Aren’t FG the party that claims Michael Collins as one of their own yet he died over a decade before they were founded. We can all play that stupid historical game Leo.

Mute Paul Carey
    Favourite Paul Carey
    Apr 14th 2015, 7:29 AM

SF are afraid of Garda checks of its members for obvious reasons and the AAA want to nationalise Dell and Dunnes. They are actually worse than any Monty Python sketch.

Mute Pat Mustard
    Favourite Pat Mustard
    Apr 14th 2015, 7:38 AM

What has your rabble got to do with what I said?

Mute Fintan Stack
    Favourite Fintan Stack
    Apr 14th 2015, 7:41 AM

Not more drivel from this flute!

Mute Paul Carey
    Favourite Paul Carey
    Apr 14th 2015, 8:16 AM

The truth hurts Fintan, eh?? Laughable

Mute Richard Cynical
    Favourite Richard Cynical
    Apr 14th 2015, 8:18 AM

An insult to Michael Collins

Mute Silent majority
    Favourite Silent majority
    Apr 14th 2015, 8:27 AM

Can we please not re-write history in this comments section.

De Valera, Collins, Griffith and Cosgrave all played roles in the Rising.
    Griffith was the founder of “Sinn Féin” and all the of the above were members at the time.

Post-Independence, De Valera, along with many others from SF left the Dáil, fought the anti-treaty side and went on to found Fianna Fáil in 1927.

W.T. Cosgrave was President of the Executive Council (1922-1932), effectively our first Taoiseach before the modern day role was founded. In 1933 Fine Gael was founded, a merger between Cosgrave’s Cumann na nGaedheal party and two others.

The Fianna Fáil and Fine Gael parties were not active during the rising, they were founded afterwards, however nearly all their founding members were.

Mute Diarmuid
    Favourite Diarmuid
    Apr 14th 2015, 8:38 AM

PIRA and (Provisional) SF long considered Collins a traitor, as he signed and advocated for the Treaty which included partition.

Collins was Pro-Treaty SF… a group which immediately rebranded as Cumann na nGaedheal, and which later formed the vast majority of Fine Gael.

Mute Danny McLaughlin
    Favourite Danny McLaughlin
    Apr 14th 2015, 8:44 AM

Griffith was excluded from all the plans during the lead up to the Rising and only found out about it after it had begun.

He was opposed to a military offensive and the leaders wanted him to remain as a politician in the eyes of the British government.

Mute Silent majority
    Apr 14th 2015, 8:49 AM

Exactly. With the Liam Neeson film, Ireland has developed an iconic vision of Collins. De Valera himself said that Ireland’s history would be written at his expense.

I’m curious to know the attitude among SF members today towards Collins and Griffith. Both voted in favour of partition, yet Griffith was the founder of Sinn Féin. The party celebrates 1905 as the founding date of the party, yet the party was inactive for most of the 1920-1970 period. In effect there are two versions of the party, one that fought for Irish freedom in the 1916-1921 period, and the modern day Sinn Féin, formed out of the Troubles. Is it fair to view both as being the same entity?

Mute Diarmuid
    Favourite Diarmuid
    Apr 14th 2015, 9:01 AM

@Silent, good points.

2015 SF is an minority fraction of a minority fraction of a minority fraction…

All they share with 1916 SF is a name.

False advertising.

Mute robby rottenest
    Favourite robby rottenest
    Apr 14th 2015, 9:06 AM

Now we’ve gotten over Leo’s big news – yawn, we can let him prove his worth with asinine comments such as these. I don’t care for politicians mostly, of any particular hue, but Michael Collins would be one of my heroes. He wasn’t a natural politician, but he was a brave and ruthless military leader. How dare he compare that effete, Mayo snob to one of Ireland’s great historical figures. As I said, Collins was no politician, Kenny is a slippery political eel through and through. Tosspot.

Mute Angry Squirrel
    Favourite Angry Squirrel
    Apr 14th 2015, 10:14 AM

Comparing Enda Kenny with Michael Collins?????. Ah Leo will Ya wake up they are total opposite Enda kenny = spineless Muppet and is no leader. Collins was a national hero no matter what side you were on he had more courage in his little finger than the Muppet that runs the show now.

Mute ƒR()§†H@X
    Favourite ƒR()§†H@X
    Apr 14th 2015, 7:04 AM

Poor Michael Collins would be spinning in his grave!

Mute ƒR()§†H@X
    Favourite ƒR()§†H@X
    Apr 14th 2015, 7:13 AM

Even those men who fought for your freedom. Ok. Enjoy that freedom anyway

Mute Sonic
    Favourite Sonic
    Apr 14th 2015, 7:17 AM

You know where you can go so…

See 16 more replies ▾
    Mute ISBA
    Favourite ISBA
    Apr 14th 2015, 7:21 AM

Enda Kenny like Michael Collins, hardly-Collins was surely not heavily involved in protecting swathes of White-Collar criminality, like Enda Kenny, that wrecked and continues to wreck the socio economic fabric of our country.
    Neither was Michael Collins working at the behest of foreign leaders. Unlike Kenny, Collins was a real leader.

Mute William Byrne
    Favourite William Byrne
    Apr 14th 2015, 7:22 AM

TROLL ALERT – Bogus account

Mute Paul
    Favourite Paul
    Apr 14th 2015, 7:25 AM

Leo really needs to brush up on his political history

Mute Joe
    Favourite Joe
    Apr 14th 2015, 7:28 AM

Leo right about SF, no direct involvement in 1916. Unfortunately he’s also correct about FG being the only real party capable of leading a government.

Mute patjoejoe123
    Favourite patjoejoe123
    Apr 14th 2015, 7:38 AM

Collin would be delighted to be compared to the great enda kenny. the history books are going to be very kind to our great leader :)

Mute Fintan Stack
    Favourite Fintan Stack
    Apr 14th 2015, 7:39 AM

Poor Leo, he’s not the sharpest tool in the shed.

Mute DiarmuidMurphy
    Favourite DiarmuidMurphy
    Apr 14th 2015, 7:44 AM

Troll by any chance Prezemek??

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    Apr 14th 2015, 8:02 AM

But he is a tool.

Mute John Ward
    Favourite John Ward
    Apr 14th 2015, 8:12 AM

@Fintan Stack:
    No, Fintan, not the sharpest but give credit where it’s due – he’s still a tool!

Mute littleone
    Favourite littleone
    Apr 14th 2015, 8:13 AM

Patjoe thinks were in n Korea. Hailing the great leader. Pathetic.

Mute Silent majority
    Apr 14th 2015, 8:15 AM

Of all Taoiseagh, who can we best compare to Collins?

Haughey, Cowen, Bertie, Lynch and Bruton can be excluded from the start.
    Lemass had a good record on the economy, while Garret and Reynolds achieved a lot in the North.

For all Taoiseagh, it’s hard to point to any significant loss of sovereignty during our history since Independence. The comparison of Enda to Collins is incomprehensible for the fact that Collins led an army, however therefore no other Taoiseach can ever be compared to him from that perspective.

History has yet to be written on Ireland’s crisis, we’re still emerging from it, but the argument of re-gaining Ireland’s sovereignty from the Troika does have some small comparable points to the approach of the Anglo-Irish Treaty.

The point made by many posters here is that the leaving of the Troika is not full sovereignty, we are still bound by many EU fiscal rules. However likewise, the Anglo-Irish Treaty established partition and did not allow for the declaration of Ireland as a republic, something that Collins and Griffith (founder of Sinn Féin) supported emphatically, despite DeValera’s walk out of the Dáil.

Both negotiations had their downsides, and if TheJournal comments section was around in 1921, we’d probably label Collins and Griffith as traitors, but history has treated Collins well. Many said it wouldn’t but DeValera and his walk out was proven reckless. His economic war some years later was also a disaster. History has yet to be written, but I think it will treat Enda Kenny well.

Mute patjoejoe123
    Favourite patjoejoe123
    Apr 14th 2015, 8:45 AM

Thats Dr. Leo to you Fintan … safe to say thats a lot sharper than you :D

Mute Fintan Stack
    Favourite Fintan Stack
    Apr 14th 2015, 9:47 AM

If I’m another tool in that said shed, then it’s possible he is sharper than me, but also possible he’s not. Howver what remains is he’s not the sharpest tool in that shed. Accounting for he answers to enda kenny, we can assume enda must be sharper than Leo, and we all know we’re a lot sharper than enda, who isn’t, therefore I can conclude I am sharper than Leo. And if you like you can claim to be too.

Mute Deco James Connolly
    Favourite Deco James Connolly
    Apr 14th 2015, 10:22 AM

As you are an expert on Kenny’s career can you list off the pieces of legislation that he has created and of what benefit they have been to the Irish people,
    hes been in the Dail for 40 years so his record must be outstanding, also could you list the positions he has held in his long career that qualify him to be the leader of Ireland .
    Thanks in advance .
    Deco .

Mute Trevor Curley
    Favourite Trevor Curley
    Apr 14th 2015, 10:29 AM

History will not be kind to Spineless enda and his party of thugs

Mute D H
    Favourite D H
    Apr 14th 2015, 1:51 PM

Thats funny leo, funny in that Collins was a leader of men, whereas edna would be more comparable with something that has no backbone and slithers around in the grass

Mute David McShite
    Favourite David McShite
    Apr 14th 2015, 7:22 AM

Whilst I find Leo a likeable guy, he seems to have become a minister for everything (except his own ministerial brief)
    He has become the story too many times and serves to distract from real issues. He now compares Collins to Kenny, (nonsense) and overlooks more recent history where Leo himself was involved in a heave against Kenny. I always worry when Leo speaks and start looking around to see what he is trying to distract from.

Mute Silent majority
    Apr 14th 2015, 7:57 AM

In the UK you’ll find most ministers able to debate issues from all departments, not just their own. I would rather that all ministers were as capable as Leo, not that Leo slips back to the average.

Mute Conn Rogers
    Favourite Conn Rogers
    Apr 14th 2015, 11:22 AM

What has Leo done to demonstrate his capabilities? Genuine question. What has he achieved?

Mute Conn Rogers
    Favourite Conn Rogers
    Apr 14th 2015, 11:49 AM

Silent Majority… please come back whenever you get a chance and answer the question. I’d hate to think you were just shouting buzz-words, having no intention of even trying to back them up because you know they mean nothing and are only intended to plant a seed in the heads of the naive that this guy is a “capable” minister. Far too much of that happening here.

Mute Cowenwatch
    Favourite Cowenwatch
    Apr 14th 2015, 1:18 PM

When Collins was assassinated down in Béal Ná Bláth he held, I think, 9 Ministerial briefs at the time. It’s a bit of a stretch alright but I’d nearly liken Collins to Leo the Lips, seeing as Leo’s the Minister for Everything But Health.

Plus, accusing Sinn Féin of dishonesty is a bit of a stretch on Leo’s part seeing as his own leader can’t go a wet week without being caught out lying himself, as well as Leo being in Government with members of Official IRA within Labour yet this issue is largely ignored. I’m not a Shinner, though I’m considering giving them my first preference next time, it’s just the hypocrisy I can’t stand.

Mute john Appleseed
    Favourite john Appleseed
    Apr 14th 2015, 7:11 AM

Sinn Fein had nothing to do with 1916. The audacity of them. Thank god you are there to call them out.

Meanwhile in 2015, my daughter is waiting a year to see a consultant and my grandmother with Alzheimer’s spent 3 days on a trolley in total distress.

Mute Kieran Tubs Tobin
    Favourite Kieran Tubs Tobin
    Apr 14th 2015, 7:27 AM

“Sacrifices we have made” like wtf is this guy saying “we”. Edna on €3,000 a week. Leo on about €2,000 a week plus expenses. man do they have any idea of what ppl are actually going through for the last 5 yrs on less then €30,000 a year. they’re so out of touch with the common man. maybe Leo should just go and politely f**k off.

Mute Martin Critten
    Favourite Martin Critten
    Apr 14th 2015, 12:07 PM

” Only a Fine Gael-led government can protect and sustain the recovery.” MORTGAGE CRISIS- YEAR 7″

“Only a Fine Gael-led government can offer stability.” MORTGAGE CRISIS- YEAR 7″

Only a Fine Gael-led government can ensure that the sacrifices we have made as a people were not in vain.

“MORTGAGE CRISIS- YEAR 7″ – the final sacrifices have yet to be made.

Mute Paul Mc
    Favourite Paul Mc
    Apr 14th 2015, 7:05 AM

More tripe from the Minister for health can he not just get on and do his job properly.

Mute Stiofan Breathnach
    Favourite Stiofan Breathnach
    Apr 14th 2015, 7:19 AM

So did Fine Gael have something to do with the Easter Rising?? Ohhhhh that’s right they didn’t even exist and hopefully after the next general election that will be the case again.

Mute Silent majority
    Apr 14th 2015, 9:02 AM

I’ll get all the red thumbs for this, but the only party that existed in 1916, and has remained in existence in the Republic since that time, is the Labour Party.

1 Red Thumb = 1 Red Labour Vote

Mute littleone
    Favourite littleone
    Apr 14th 2015, 7:40 AM

Meanwhile Leo in the real world. Children are waiting for over year for hospital appointments. Sick are lying on Trollies. Hospitals are closed or downgraded. Services closed.

Mute Joseph O'Regan
    Favourite Joseph O'Regan
    Apr 14th 2015, 1:20 PM

That is going to plan, they will privatize everything.

Mute lilolil
    Favourite lilolil
    Apr 14th 2015, 7:32 AM

What an insult to Michael Collins!! Leo, get down out of Enda’s rear end for god’s sake!!!

Mute Tommy Newman
    Favourite Tommy Newman
    Apr 14th 2015, 8:19 AM

Enda’s gay?
    Didn’t know that.
    F**k me!

Mute Captain kirk
    Favourite Captain kirk

I wonder could we get Liam Neeson to do Enda biopic too?

Mute Silent majority
    Apr 14th 2015, 8:59 AM

I think the role would have to go to Victor Garber, famous for his role as Thomas Andrews (architect of the Titanic) in James Cameron’s 1997 film about the ship.

http://2.bp.blogspot.com/-taATRSrJCM8/T04mxcODXZI/AAAAAAAACGI/-WDVzaNiaJM/s1600/Irlande+MES+referendum.jpg

Not only a spitting image, commenters here will be assured of his ability to act in a disaster film.

*badum tsssh*

Mute Noreen Lunney
    Favourite Noreen Lunney
    Apr 14th 2015, 11:09 AM

yes that guy is so like enda and both on a sinking ship wow.

Mute Tony Skillington
    Favourite Tony Skillington
    Apr 14th 2015, 1:38 PM

Any invertebrate would fill in for Enda on a biopic… Just stick a ginger wig on it.

Mute Seamus Og
    Favourite Seamus Og
    Apr 14th 2015, 7:14 AM

Does he really believe what he says? Absolute nonsense

Mute Niall H
    Favourite Niall H

If you look at varadkars speech and replace the words Fine Gael with ‘nazi party’ you find yourself reading what could easily be words straight from hitlers mouth.

Mute Top Cat
    Favourite Top Cat
    Apr 14th 2015, 7:24 AM

Godwin award.

Mute markyg
    Favourite markyg
    Apr 14th 2015, 7:07 AM

Irish pictorial weekly Leo

Mute Niall Sheridan
    Favourite Niall Sheridan
    Apr 14th 2015, 7:33 AM

If I was ever so stupid as to vote for this rent a mouth then having the temerity to compare Edna to Michael Collins…..words fail me! Collins was never a coward. Edna can’t even face a journalist like Vincent Browne or engage in debate with political leaders in case he makes a fool of himself!!

Mute Setrakian
    Favourite Setrakian

I’m delighted that the Easter break is over & our great leaders are out of hiding again. Leo off to a reasonable start talking out his backside & only a matter of days or even hours before a more senior gimp screws up. It’s the one thing I depend on Fg for – comedic value!

Mute John Ward
    Favourite John Ward
    Apr 14th 2015, 7:43 AM

Michael Collins?
    More like Pauline Collins!
    Leo needs a whack across the face with a wet fish on the bank of the canal!

Mute Michael Doyle
    Favourite Michael Doyle
    Apr 14th 2015, 8:53 AM

So now enda is a great leader. Around this time 5 years ago. Leo the lion was one of the chief architects of the ‘heave’ against kenny. Fg really are a funny old bunch. Maybe they could do with another Eoin o duffy

Mute Snorri Sturleson
    Favourite Snorri Sturleson
    Apr 14th 2015, 9:02 AM

Shatter sought that role alas he was cr@p on the casting couch….

Mute Stephen Duggan
    Favourite Stephen Duggan
    Apr 14th 2015, 7:13 AM

Will ya fcuk off !!!

Mute Peter O'Reilly
    Favourite Peter O'Reilly
    Apr 14th 2015, 8:25 AM

Is Leo planing a Beal Na Blaith, Enda Kenny is no Michael Collins

Apr 14th 2015, 7:49 AM

I actually vomited a bit when I read this. Kenny and co are really up their own backsides. I actually am very offended by this.

Mute Rodger 5
    Favourite Rodger 5
    Apr 14th 2015, 7:31 AM

Leo you and your country wrecking sidekicks can look forward to the bloated vile pensions while we look for change.

Mute Seamus Og
    Favourite Seamus Og
    Apr 14th 2015, 8:27 AM

Leo has gone well down in my estimation. What an insult to the irish nation to compare kenny with collins.

Mute Silent majority
    Apr 14th 2015, 10:34 AM

Collins won our sovereignty. It was lost by Fianna Fáil in 2010 and regained again since. For lack of any military actions, the comparison to Collins is of course infeasible, however the sovereignty argument cannot be completely rejected. History has yet to be written on Ireland’s economic crisis.

Monty Python comparison is spot on.

Mute James Reardon
    Favourite James Reardon
    Apr 14th 2015, 7:54 AM

Fcuk off and sort out our hospitals Leo will ya

Mute D is Illusioned
    Favourite D is Illusioned

Dick head

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    Apr 14th 2015, 7:48 AM

I see Leo managed to get Eric Idle to write his speech.

Mute Tommy Newman
    Favourite Tommy Newman
    Apr 14th 2015, 8:22 AM

Seriously.
    Leo Varadkar must be the greatest chancer ever to step foot in Dail Eireann.
    How the f**k is he getting away with it?

Answer:
    because he’s gay Tommy, he’s gay, a media luvvie. Miriam simply adores him.

Mute Willy
    Favourite Willy
    Apr 14th 2015, 8:29 AM

The same Leo was part of Richard Brutons hand to oust their great leader not so long ago. Hypocrisy aloud. A worm like him will lead FG eventually. No morals.

Mute Shane Cahill
    Favourite Shane Cahill
    Apr 14th 2015, 7:59 AM

Leo is right. Sinn Fein in 1916 really had nothing to do with the Easter Rising. His historians would confirm that for him. The Sinn Fein party of 1916 was actually quite a different party to the one it would be within even one short year. It was much more moderate for starters. It was Republicans seeking a vehicle to drive forward their cause that saw the changes in Sinn Fein over the coming years; changes that would see them become the political instrument of Irish Republicanism. This is the position that they have held ever since.

While he is at it, Leo really ought to consult those same historians about Michael Collins. To try and link modern day Fine Gael with Collins is absolutely ludicrous, and shows literally no understanding or knowledge of Collins and his worldview.

Mute Silent majority
    Apr 14th 2015, 9:12 AM

Linking Fine Gael to Collins is no more ridiculous than linking Griffith to Sinn Féin.

Griffith and Collins negotiated the Anglo-Irish Treaty together. Both returned and argued for the treaty, and the partition which came with it. Both were dead before the end of the Civil War, meaning that any assignment of their legacies to modern day parties is as subjective as next.

Both Collins and Griffith would find faults with Fine Gael and Sinn Féin in their present day forms.

Mute Eoin Mulhern
    Favourite Eoin Mulhern
    Apr 14th 2015, 8:37 AM

”Sinn fein had nothing to do with the rising” last time i checked everyone blamed Sinn Fein for it due to people not knowing the IRB which lead to huge support for Sinn Fein and many from the Easter Rising joining them while FG and FF only came around after the Civil War. And I wounder what Leo would think off when he heard that Michael Collins planed to arm Republicans up North after the Civil War before being killed in Cork.

Apr 14th 2015, 8:43 AM

Comparing Kenny to Michael Collins is disgusting. Collins fought for Ireland but Kenny has sold this country to the German Fourth Reich! Absolute FG rubbish as usual.Be easier to get into heaven without being dead than Leo’s bunch of failures getting back in !

Mute Snorri Sturleson
    Favourite Snorri Sturleson
    Apr 14th 2015, 8:58 AM

Would that Varadkar had the same passion for the health service. Though of course that would mean doing his job something he has failed to do in any ministry to date. Edna as Michael Collins jasas wept!

Mute Donie Keyes
    Favourite Donie Keyes
    Apr 14th 2015, 8:46 AM

Careful now Leo. Just go and do your job and try and prove yourself, something you haven’t done so far. We have enough of opinions coming from the other Enda puppets.

Mute James Kelly
    Favourite James Kelly
    Apr 14th 2015, 8:55 AM

I fear the Minister has been “self-medicating” but urge him to consult a real doctor ASAP as these delusional outpourings are very concerning indeed. The delusions are compounded when one considers that he tries to compare his esteemed leader with a certain Michael Collins!!!!!
    This is mad hare territory from Alice in Wonderland . I understand the Minister recently declared he was batting for the “other side” but there really is no need to go around honing his homosexual skills by inserting his tongue soooo far up his Leader’s rectum !
    On a personal note, the Minister should do some grinds in Irish history especially if he is to avoid any potentially embarrassing moments come the 1916 Commemorations! Nuff said.

Mute J. Dunn
    Favourite J. Dunn
    Apr 14th 2015, 8:25 AM

Is so well versed at observing without interaction he should named GaliLEO.

Mute D is Illusioned
    Favourite D is Illusioned
    Apr 14th 2015, 7:48 AM

G U B U

Mute Trevor Curley
    Favourite Trevor Curley
    Apr 14th 2015, 10:27 AM

So leo is calling Micheal Collins a spineless coward. Great one leo insult a true patriot .

Mute Leitrim Lad
    Favourite Leitrim Lad
    Apr 14th 2015, 12:19 PM

The reason why Varadkar see’s Kenny like ‘Collins’ is simple, Varadkar, Kenny & Co all live on a different Irish planet than the rest of us…on the flip side I wander what Collins would make of them…? ? ?

I wander if Collins seen the state of the Irish nation today, I wander if he seen the opulence , greed and self interest of people like Varadkar and Kenny, I wander would he have made the sacrifices that he did, or better still would he turn his sights on the likes of Kenny and Vardakar as well ? Turn his sights again on leaders just like the British who were intent on inflicting pain and suffering on the ordinary Irish people in pursuit of their own power and glory.

I will be sick watching the likes of Vardaker , Kenny and Burton salute the hero’s of 1916 next year, sick watching them nearly choke on their own hypocrisy, sick watching them try to squeeze political gain and points out of it all, scoring cheap points on the backs of real Irish hero’s..I wander if those same individuals were alive today and conducted a similar campaign against injustice, would Kenny and the boys salute them now, by god they would not !..because how dare anyone, any party, any organisation or any individual condemn or oppose FG, Enda Kenny and his lap dog Labouy party in any way. How dare they even think of threatening the stalwart power base of entitlement FG, FF & Labour have carved up between them.

The continual attacks on SF is fear and desperation, and even if one didnt support SF to begin with the hypocrisy generated by FG, FF and Labour towards them would push one into supporting SF simply as a reaction to the likes of Kenny, who have become that use to lying and deceiving the Irish people it is now secon nature to them.

As for this famous FG recovery…you are fooling no one.Travel out to Rural Ireland and show me it. It may be on spreadsheets, GDPs, House prices, Interest rates, Exports etc, but it is not visible in ordinary peoples pockets..and trust me it wont be either. Unemployment is masked by figures from TUS, JobBridge, Intreo Courses, CE schemes etc and doesn’t show the countless 1000s of farmers forced onto self employment and living on penny’s. Poverty, despair, crime, emigration, lack of service, unemployment, debt the list go’s on and on..and that list is apparent in nearly every ordinary working and unemployed household in Ireland. …Mind you, it’s not a list that seen in the likes of Kenny’s household, because lets not forget, he is real Irishman, on a power with Michael Collins according to varadkar, worth every penny of his 3K per week he tells us….

Leo Varadkar is insulting the Irish nation, it’s history, it’s sacrifice and it’s people by comparing Enda Kenny to Michael Collins….a better comparison would be to that of a blood sucking leech

Mute John Mac Evilly
    Favourite John Mac Evilly
    Apr 14th 2015, 11:44 AM

Mr. Kenny is a worried man if that photo is anything on which to judge. Fianna Fáil /Greens broke our economy. Fine Gael/Labour have broken our society. They were elected to represent the needs of the Irish People when negotiating with The Troika. They failed miserably in doing so. This government is responsible for Sinn Fein’s new found popularity. Not since 1918 have they been so popular. This Government was asleep at the wheel and was totally detached from The Irish People since they were elected, judgment day is now upon time and they are powerless to change the inevitable outcome of the next general election. God Save Ireland from this lot may be repeated in 2016.

Mute Cowenwatch
    Favourite Cowenwatch
    Apr 14th 2015, 1:40 PM

If what happened in 2011 repeats itself, Labour’s gone but FG will be worried they could also receive a punishment vote just as FF did back then. If the people do get out and vote like they did in 2011, I’d be worried if I were in FG. A smart move by SF would be to put Gerry out to pasture and let Mary-Lou lead the party. But then, a smart move by FG would be to get rid of that Mayo ejit too!

Mute Jim Bob
    Favourite Jim Bob
    Apr 14th 2015, 12:12 PM

Says the man who said the banks wouldn’t get another red cent .Delusional trough dweller is Leo .

Mute Jane Ryan
    Favourite Jane Ryan
    Apr 14th 2015, 12:28 PM

Dont worry leo ,you’ll be gone this time next year , if your good you’ll get the leading role on rtes fine gael house wifes new series alongside lisa murphy virgina macari

Mute Francie Coffey
    Favourite Francie Coffey
    Apr 14th 2015, 11:00 AM

Comparing Kenny to Collins was a huge mistake, – it only highlights the fact that Kenny is an untrustworthy coward.

Mute Pat Thornton
    Favourite Pat Thornton
    Apr 14th 2015, 9:33 AM

Leo should replace Louis!!

Mute Kenneth Graham Dissident
    Favourite Kenneth Graham Dissident
    Apr 14th 2015, 12:03 PM

Leo is a liar and part of the most incompetent corrupt government this country has ever had one step forward with these incompetent clowns will mean ten steps backwards

Mute Martin O Donnell
    Favourite Martin O Donnell
    Apr 14th 2015, 11:34 AM

Leo the fool SF can’t be trusted from the man who’s party has broken every promise and keeps screwing us for every penny and enda is nothing like Collins jeez this man is deluded

Mute Robert Lester
    Favourite Robert Lester
    Apr 14th 2015, 11:22 AM

Enda’s the greatest sell out this country has ever had while Micheal Collins lead the fight for independence. How are they the same???
    Stick to health care Leo and stop being the minister for government propaganda false truths and general waffle.

Mute Paddy Dunne
    Favourite Paddy Dunne
    Apr 14th 2015, 1:25 PM

Ha ha ha what a laugh Mick Collins this idiot,he won’t even do a debate one to one could imagine him terrorising the British establishment,Sounds like Leo was having a wet dream

Mute Dave Meagher
    Favourite Dave Meagher
    Apr 14th 2015, 11:20 AM

Both signed treaties that sold out Ireland , good comparison.

Mute Brian O'Faolain
    Favourite Brian O'Faolain
    Apr 14th 2015, 6:21 PM

Collins didnt sell out ireland, he saved it. And he did not give up the good fight either. He was buying time. The IRA couldnt survive the immediate and terrible war threatened by the british. No one knew this better than collins. Civilian causulties would have been immense aswell. If the treaty had have been enforced to the letter, under the boundary commission at least 2 counties could have come south, instead under cosgrave we actually lost parts of the republic to the north. A 4 county northern ireland would not have been economically viable as a stand alone state.

He also continued to arm northern nationalists and even sent hitmen to london to take out field marshall henry wilson who was the hardline security expert advising the northern state on how to deal with the nationalists. I have no doubt in my mind that if he had lived, it would be a different republic to the one we live in now. So much was squandered in the twenties by cumann na gaedhal. Collins’ work was abandoned. That fine gael think they can lay claim to probably the greatest revolutionary this country has probably ever known is laughable. Now, if he had have been compared to Eoin O’Duffy, that would have been a bit closer to the mark. Though by all accounts O’Duffy had a set of balls, so maybe not.

Mute LesBehan
    Favourite LesBehan
    Apr 14th 2015, 9:45 AM
    Mute Noreen Lunney
    Favourite Noreen Lunney
    Apr 14th 2015, 12:59 PM

thanks for the video leo really is a treacherous bas@89d kenny should steer well clear of cork especially if leo suggests it. comparing kenny to collins is very insulting to collins or any man who lay down his life so his country men could be free. kenny i want to say he is a snake but thats not fair on snakes.

Apr 14th 2015, 4:21 PM

Leo compares Enda to Michael Collins, is he for real… Enda has reinforced the loss of Irish sovereignty and has eroded Irish democracy…
    What planet are the both on???

Mute Martello Mulligan
    Favourite Martello Mulligan
    Apr 14th 2015, 8:41 AM

My my! Joe, Paul, and Ruthless compared to actors in a Monty Python sketch. That must hurt our socialist heroes who find more to celebrate in the Russian revolution than in the Easter Rising.

Mute Brian O'Faolain
    Favourite Brian O'Faolain
    Apr 14th 2015, 5:24 PM

The f**ckin cheek of him to compare a national hero who fought to free this country from oppression, no matter the cost, and paid the ultimate sacrifice to unite the two sides to that bumbling idiot who cant answer a straight question and who has as much respect for dead patriots as he does for water protesters. Not to mention he sold this country down the river to keep the germans happy. Makes me sick to the stomach. One a legend and the other a traitor. F**k you leo, you don’t deserve to mentions Collins name let alone compare him to that gombeen fool.

Mute Jane Ryan
    Favourite Jane Ryan
    Apr 14th 2015, 8:23 PM

And this meat head is a doctor ,

Mute Patrick Mcauliffe
    Favourite Patrick Mcauliffe
    Apr 14th 2015, 4:35 PM

Collins used guns Adams used guns Kenny used a pen, wake up

Apr 14th 2015, 4:39 PM

The pen is mightier than the sword, Stalin used a pen to sign death warrants for millions of people…

Mute Leitrim Lad
    Favourite Leitrim Lad
    Apr 14th 2015, 6:10 PM

No, Kenny used us all ! ..Now get real Patrick, if you see Kenny as anything more than the self righteous, arrogant, self interested , power grabbing cunning and conniving piece of work that he is then you need you head examined.

Mute patjoejoe123
    Favourite patjoejoe123
    Apr 14th 2015, 8:40 AM

thats a bit insulting to monty python as those lads were/are intelligent unlike our looney left

Mute Patrick Mcauliffe
    Favourite Patrick Mcauliffe
    Apr 14th 2015, 3:01 PM

Leo needs to get real! Collins murdered their is someone else that would be closer to him. The hypocrisy

Mute Dáibhí Pádraig Buitléar
    Favourite Dáibhí Pádraig Buitléar
    Apr 15th 2015, 10:06 AM

Comparing enda Kenny to Michael Collins is like comparing Satan to the arch angel Michael! The big fella was a true hero Kenny is an eejit of the highest degree more worried about pleasing the bleedin English n EU than taking care of the ppl of Ireland

Apr 14th 2015, 4:36 PM

http://www.ecfr.eu/page/-/ECFR70_POLITICAL_UNION_BRIEF_AW.pdf
    http://www.towardsfederaleurope.eu/federal-political-union/

A Political Union is possible under Kenny, so what would Michael Collins say to that then?