You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

"F***** from a great height": Liam Neeson's not the first Irish celebrity to weigh in on water charges

Everyone from Damien Dempsey to the Rubberbandits has been getting involved.

SEEN THE FRONT-PAGE of the Irish Sun this morning?

For some reason, Liam Neeson has chosen this week to get involved in the Irish Water row.

According to the paper, the Taken star has ditched plans to move home from New York because of the new charging regime.

“We’ve been F***** from a great height by these bankers and it’s the final straw,” Neeson told the paper.

“I just think — come on, don’t F****** insult the Irish people any more.

I really hope the Government is doing something about it now and listening to the people and finding a solution. They f****** better listen to the opposition.

The actor, apparently, had been thinking of relocating away from the US now that his two sons are in college. The latest controversy, however, turns him “completely off”.

jackmorrissy / YouTube

Of course, Neeson’s not the first well-known Irish person to voice an opinion on the contentious issue over the last few months.

A variety of actors, comedians and musicians (some of whom you might expect to hear from — others, perhaps not) have been weighing in…

Including…

Glen Hansard

The Frames’ frontman addressed a crowd of thousands at the last mass protest against the charges, earlier this month.

“I’m not political, but the Irish nation has now been forced to be (political) and to come out on the streets,” he said, according to the Irish Times.

It feels like there are more and more screws being put on the people, to pay taxes for this, that and the other… I think there is a general sense of anger, a seething dissatisfaction and I’m just like anyone else.

Damien Dempsey

The Donaghmede man joined Hansard on stage at the Right2Water event, telling the crowd…

You can see the rebellion in people’s eyes – you can see the spirit coming back into the Irish people.

iDirectMovies / YouTube

Sinead O’Connor 

Never a woman to hold back on giving her opinion (remember when she likened U2′s iTunes album release to an act of terrorism?) Sinead has had more than a thing or two to say about the new charging regime.

The singer’s been increasingly vocal on political issues in recent months — and even joined Sinn Féín a few weeks ago.

In a blog post on 2 December, she warned protesters against bringing children into environments where there was a possibility of violence.

She also hit out at organisers of the 10 December Right2Water protest — for not assigning a special area for children at the Merrion Square event.

More recently, she’s unveiled a new version of the National Anthem…

Sonya Mulligan / YouTube

Martin Moloney (of the Hardy Bucks) 

Niall Carson Niall Carson

“My grandparents built the roads in England and the railways, and why we cannot build our own country in this day and age astounds me,” the TV star told protesters at the 10 December rally.

The Rubberbandits

Blindboy Boatclub and Mr Chrome pledged their support for an anti-charges protest in Limerick last month via Facebook.

“‘I don’t care what happens because I have a job and money in my pocket’ is one of the reasons the recession hit Ireland as bad as it did,” they said.

Barbecues, Range Rovers and decking are a great distraction from injustice.

Rubberbandits. Photocall Ireland Rubberbandits. Photocall Ireland

The celebrity with most to say on Irish Water, of course, isn’t even Irish…

Russell Brand / YouTube

Read: Protester removed from 1916 event after she called Enda Kenny the C-word

More: This Irish college has been getting fierce hassle because of Irish Water

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

157 Comments
    Mute Mark Malone
    Favourite Mark Malone
    Dec 26th 2014, 11:50 AM

Liam, put on your Michael Collins uniform and march on the Dail – They’d sh*t themselves,

Mute Bridget
    Favourite Bridget
    Dec 26th 2014, 12:21 PM

That I’d love to see.

Mute analyser
    Favourite analyser
    Dec 26th 2014, 12:51 PM

Liam Neeson you are no Michael Collins!!!!!

See 20 more replies ▾
    Mute Sean Macc
    Favourite Sean Macc
    Dec 26th 2014, 12:58 PM

The most recent march with a meagre 30,000 people showing up shows the people accept these water charges.

Mute Teresa Kelly
    Favourite Teresa Kelly
    Dec 26th 2014, 1:39 PM

C’mon man, it was a Wednesday 2 weeks before Christmas. Just because people need to work doesn’t mean they’re going to accept the charges.

Mute Were Jammin
    Favourite Were Jammin
    Dec 26th 2014, 1:57 PM

30,000? LOL!

The were 20,000 at the Savita vigil, and that took up just over one side of Merrion Square. The Wednesday march took up 3 sides plus there were over 10,000 more on Nassau street round to College Green who couldn’t got onto the square so they turned back and marched to the GPO.

Mute David Murphey
    Favourite David Murphey
    Dec 26th 2014, 2:14 PM

30,000? LOL!

There was at least a million.

Mute AARO-SAURUS
    Favourite AARO-SAURUS
    Dec 26th 2014, 4:28 PM

Certainty no Micheal Collins. Yeno, because he’s Liam Neeson.

Mute Stiofán Na Mara
    Favourite Stiofán Na Mara
    Dec 26th 2014, 5:53 PM

Sean Macc, Were you out of the country when the protest happened? Well in excess of 100,000 people there. Some estimates at over 130,000? 30k is total rubbish.

Mute TomTraubert
    Favourite TomTraubert
    Dec 26th 2014, 7:36 PM

Haha the “it was a Wednesday” comment.

Weeks before when quizzed about the day everyone said it wouldn’t matter because it was such a vital issue people would turn up in their droves.

Then Kelly makes his announcement.

Then people turn up. Not more than 30k.

Now that’s because it was a Wednesday.

Sorry, not buying it.

People have accepted it.

The hardline don’t ever want to pay for anything crew haven’t but that number is falling. Quickly.

Mute TomTraubert
    Favourite TomTraubert
    Dec 26th 2014, 7:37 PM

Jammin.

There’s plenty of photos showing only 2 sides with people in it. And they were hardly rammed tight either.

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Dec 26th 2014, 8:00 PM

The ultimate question is has the State become the enemy of the Nation ?

Mute An Ciarraioch
    Favourite An Ciarraioch
    Dec 26th 2014, 8:13 PM

Tom – Presumably you know , by virtue of the fact that you were there ?
    Well a good friend of mine , a Garda Sergeant friend, on duty on the day there , told me that his Superintendent had admitted to him that “more then a Hundred Thousand were there , between The Merrion Square and O’Connell Bridge areas.
    He was more then surprised when Government and RTE guesstimatation later put it at 30-35,000 in attendance.

He is apolitical, but he felt personally, that there was clear Political interference in massaging the figures concerned!

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Dec 26th 2014, 8:36 PM

Everyone knows that around 100,000 turned up and that’s 100,000 people that are very upset that they couldn’t walk down as far as the Dail – They’re beginning to wonder why they pay such big taxes for the most expensive politicians in the world and yet can’t get down to see the place and they owning it …

Mute thereal.thing
    Favourite thereal.thing
    Dec 26th 2014, 8:45 PM

could have counted the protestors on one hand :D

idiots one and all

Mute YogiBear
    Favourite YogiBear
    Dec 26th 2014, 9:03 PM

The real thing.

I wonder would anyone miss a YFG bot like yourself if you weren’t around?
    You seem kind of sad, petty and looking to irritate people. Perhaps in the new year join a few classes or see a professional that can unravel your little person syndrome.

Mute YogiBear
    Favourite YogiBear
    Dec 26th 2014, 10:01 PM

Dominic slightly over the top but I see your point. Well spotted and clever how you noticed how Enda wraps his hand around his Leo when they are together in public :)

Mute Kate Ellen Egan
    Favourite Kate Ellen Egan
    Dec 26th 2014, 11:55 PM

Michael Collins wouldn’t have the editor of the Indo telling him what to do Mark

Mute Elias Khoury
    Favourite Elias Khoury
    Dec 27th 2014, 9:28 AM

1.5 million, minimum.

Mute Sean Mac Diarmada
    Favourite Sean Mac Diarmada
    Dec 27th 2014, 11:20 AM

None of my family are paying and none of them were at this midweek protest for work reasons.

Mute TomTraubert
    Favourite TomTraubert
    Dec 27th 2014, 1:27 PM

Kerry man, I know someone who flies the copters that estimate the size of crowds. I’d believe him first tbh

Mute TomTraubert
    Favourite TomTraubert
    Dec 27th 2014, 1:28 PM

Sean that’s OK. I’m paying for ye. Sleep well on that.

Mute Siobhan Notpayingthewatercharges Walsh
    Favourite Siobhan Notpayingthewatercharges Walsh
    Dec 28th 2014, 12:37 PM

Thats a lie there was at least 150,000 and I mean at least that’s the figure that Denis O Brien and Rte want you to think turned up.. People do not accept these charges the war will truly begin when the bills start coming in the door and it will bring this government down mark my words…

Mute Lastpost
    Favourite Lastpost
    Dec 26th 2014, 11:47 AM

Now he’s a man that would get my vote

Mute Protect Demoracy!
    Favourite Protect Demoracy!
    Dec 26th 2014, 12:20 PM

……yet he pays all these charges in the U.S & Northern Ireland (where he comes from)

Joe
    Mute Joe
    Favourite Joe
    Dec 26th 2014, 12:22 PM

He should stick to acting B movies

Mute Hevin Bear Kiggins
    Favourite Hevin Bear Kiggins
    Dec 26th 2014, 12:29 PM

Actually it’s the charges that are stopping him moving back here incase you didn’t read the article

Reg
    Mute Reg
    Favourite Reg
    Dec 26th 2014, 12:34 PM

They are in his arse stopping him moving back here. He’ll be paying many multiples in the US in property tax and water charges he’d have to pay here!

Mute Peter McGlynn
    Favourite Peter McGlynn
    Dec 26th 2014, 1:10 PM

What he’s voicing is the piss taking irish government – I mean trying to make out this is about conserving water when it’s about double taxing and privatisation.
    Pay your money to a global South water charity not to this charade.

Mute Original Cynic
    Favourite Original Cynic
    Dec 26th 2014, 2:00 PM

Bet DO’B pays all his taxes and water charges too – in Portugal!

Mute Alien8
    Favourite Alien8
    Dec 26th 2014, 2:08 PM

F3ck that… He bolted to Malta as soon as he evaded/avoided paying taxes for Esat, and realised he could be liable in Portugal too.

Mute An Ciarraioch
    Favourite An Ciarraioch
    Dec 26th 2014, 11:52 AM

Meanwhile, this deluded Government are under the impression that having got The Water Bill past An Dail & Senate , that it’s going to be plain sailing?
    Well the plain Citizens of Ireland have news for Alan Kelly , Joan & Enda et al , you ain’t seen nothing yet !

Your Fascist ambitions to bleed us dry , will not succeed .
    We just cannot wait for The General Election.

Mute analyser
    Favourite analyser
    Dec 26th 2014, 11:59 AM

Don’t worry middle Ireland when it comes to the actual general election will put SF and the Trotskyists in their place. SF and the Trots just want anarchy. They hope they can climb to power on the wreckage. NO THANKS!

Mute Ten Major
    Favourite Ten Major
    Dec 26th 2014, 1:32 PM

@Charles McDonald, No, our answer to Korea’s Workers Party is our Workers Party. And where did their spawn end up? The Labour Party via DL and The Sindo via RTE where there are still a few.

Mute James Mark Donnelly
    Favourite James Mark Donnelly
    Dec 26th 2014, 1:58 PM

@analyser: I share your disdain for Sinn Fein etc. I would love to see the government simply have the backbone to bin this water farce and not have to face the prospect of a SF government. Unfortunately, it looks like they don’t have a backbone, or our interests at heart. They have been arrogant, patronising and dishonest. They will be most to blame for a SF government. They still have the opportunity to grow a set, and I live in hope that they do

Mute Leo Conway
    Favourite Leo Conway
    Dec 26th 2014, 1:59 PM

Analyser should know he comes from middle earth the troll!

Mute YogiBear
    Favourite YogiBear
    Dec 26th 2014, 4:03 PM

Anal-yser

I don’t think you understand the Left. You are likening left leaning parties to far left communism. It’s about as crazy as saying that slightly right leaning parties are like Nazi’s.

Btw Fine Gael/ Labour rdoe the backside of the wreck that was our country.Under Fine Gael the Left wasn’t given a chance. Its time for the Left to be given a chance even if it is for one term to reform our country from the bottom up.

Mute Anne De Croix
    Favourite Anne De Croix
    Dec 26th 2014, 5:28 PM

@ analyser…….

‘just want anarchy’

Actually I don’t believe they want ‘anarchy’ but that’s not the point- you use the word like a loaded gun as a sweeping generalisation, for what? For violence, looting, chaos, as a word to frighten people with, a threat?

‘Anarchy’ isn’t just one thing- you completely oversimplify an entire subject and in doing that undermine language, wisdom and philosophy by your idiotic power-game use of the word. Some systems of anarchy are very sophisticated- for example anarchic syndicalism- and also very ecologically sustainable unlike the current (also fairly anarchic) system of extreme corporatism.

So there!

Mute thereal.thing
    Favourite thereal.thing
    Dec 26th 2014, 8:46 PM

ah carrai my yogurt shinnerbot

Mute YogiBear
    Favourite YogiBear
    Dec 26th 2014, 8:51 PM

Are you a YFG-bot?

Plenty of them around lately. Christmas came and its like one big wet dream has went off with Fine Gael spinning their bile on the net…

Sorry I forgot we are supposed to smile and thank our dearest supreme leader Enda for how divided he made this country. Thank you Enda….Thank you….

Mute Kevin McCarthy
    Favourite Kevin McCarthy

Everyone knows we are being rode. Ah but the banks are grand.

Mute Notnews Justspin
    Favourite Notnews Justspin
    Dec 26th 2014, 2:23 PM

It’s living the Fine Gael Dream, Or the ordinary Joes Nightmare as i see it.

Mute Derek mc keever
    Favourite Derek mc keever
    Dec 26th 2014, 12:35 PM

Send the fcuking bills out January Irish water and get it over with lets see if you have all the willing paying customers your telling us all about

Mute Declan Byrne
    Favourite Declan Byrne
    Dec 26th 2014, 11:45 AM

Irish government listen that is fairy tale stuff .

Mute Boganity
    Favourite Boganity
    Dec 26th 2014, 12:57 PM

Having had no issue with himself paying metered water charges in the USA for the past 20 years, and in the UK before that, he’s suddenly got an issue with it in Ireland. I hate it when so called Celebs try to ingratiate themselves with us common folk by trying to give us a nice warm feeling by p*ssing in our pockets like this.

Mute YogiBear
    Favourite YogiBear
    Dec 26th 2014, 4:08 PM

In America people pay once for water charges….via pay per use. In Ireland we pay 1.2 billion in various taxes for years now and we are expected to pay per use on top of that, with no extra services for the 1.2 billion saving per year the government will now have?

Bonkers Boganity. Bonkers. I would have no problem paying for water if sustainable jobs were created or affordable healthcare was subsidized for the 1.2 billion. However as it stands you and the people of your ilk and this government can all flip off to America and Britain and pay for the water there.

Mute Audra B Morrison
    Favourite Audra B Morrison
    Dec 26th 2014, 4:19 PM

And, in the US, water is a public utility subject to regulation. A certain amount of revenue must be reinvested in the infrastructure, and most water utilities are owned by municipalities.

Mute YogiBear
    Favourite YogiBear
    Dec 26th 2014, 6:42 PM

But sure look at the state of Boganity. He looks like he was kicked out of a Hell’s Angels crystal meth party that went wrong and a savage fight broke out. Fine one to be lecturing us on things like water…

Mute TomTraubert
    Favourite TomTraubert
    Dec 26th 2014, 7:31 PM

No Yogi, the intention is not to be paying twice. That’s all a load of bull.

Now, when the don’t want to pay faction don’t pay, Joe taxpayer will have time make up the shortfall. So, the non payers will eventually make this bs statement of double payment actually come true.

Mute YogiBear
    Favourite YogiBear
    Dec 26th 2014, 9:00 PM

Hold on a second I know very wealthy people that are not paying this on principle alone, so I wonder about the whole low pay don’t want to pay rubbish that low lifers like yourself are putting out into the public domain. Okay so say I don’t want to pay for the water charges. That doesn’t mean I don’t want to pay the other 1.2 billion that gets allocated to water in the collective tax base. It just means that I don’t want to pay this other charge when there are other ways to cover the cost of setting Irish water up. It doesn’t mean I suddenly am going to stop paying taxes. Maybe principles are an alien concept to you Tom?

I never asked the government to throw the guts of a billion euro into a new utility company, yet it is my money like yours that is being wasted and not a single pipe in the country is being fixed. Sure weren’t they even advised by Bord Gáis a few months ago not to throw hundreds of millions into installing meters?

Why pay so much for consultancy if you are not going to listen to them?

E
    Mute E
    Favourite E
    Dec 26th 2014, 9:25 PM

Watch PravdaRTE try to twist and bury this story.
    Jeez some of their staff might have to comeback from their 4 week paid Christmas holidays to see off this attack.

Mute Boganity
    Favourite Boganity
    Dec 26th 2014, 9:30 PM

Yogibear in your Christmas stocking I hope you got a copy of the book: “A Short History of Stupid (The decline of reason and why public debate makes us want to scream)” by Bernard Keane & Helen Razor.

Mute YogiBear
    Favourite YogiBear
    Dec 26th 2014, 10:00 PM

Boganity did you get a copy of

“Washing with Water for Dummies” in the auld soiled stocking yourself?

Mute Boganity
    Favourite Boganity
    Dec 26th 2014, 10:23 PM

Are you the author ?

Mute TomTraubert
    Favourite TomTraubert
    Dec 27th 2014, 12:51 PM

Yogi, while the essence of your point is great, it’s incorrect. That’s all I’m saying. And because of that you call me a low life? Stay classy.

Mute Were Jammin
    Favourite Were Jammin

Bet enda will be sorry he madehis mobile number public when Liam makes ‘that’ call….

Mute Peter Grimes
    Favourite Peter Grimes
    Dec 26th 2014, 12:00 PM

I hope Michael D is listening,come on Mick do your stuff.

Mute Mary O Sullivan
    Favourite Mary O Sullivan
    Dec 26th 2014, 12:05 PM

Is there any chance that Michael D Higgins can block it?

Mute Sheik Yahbouti
    Favourite Sheik Yahbouti
    Dec 26th 2014, 12:44 PM

No.

Mute David Thomas
    Favourite David Thomas
    Dec 26th 2014, 12:48 PM

Maybe. But will he? Probably not

Mute Chris Kirk
    Favourite Chris Kirk
    Dec 26th 2014, 1:02 PM

You won’t hear a peep out of Michael D, old enough and wise enough not to get involved in a row with the political leadership. Now wouldn’t some folks just love that to happen……

Mute peter
    Favourite peter
    Dec 26th 2014, 12:35 PM

We need a Michael Collins figure now who can rally the people and drive this water charges back and this government out!

Mute Chris Kirk
    Favourite Chris Kirk
    Dec 26th 2014, 1:09 PM

Michael Collins in real life was not the great man what the movies made him out to be. Remember that it was him that forced a civil war on the people of this country instead of trying to reach a settlement with Dev over how it should be governed.

Mute David HIggins
    Favourite David HIggins

Controversial Chris!! Some people might be of the opposite opinion.

Time to move on from civil war politics anyway.

Mute Chris Kirk
    Favourite Chris Kirk
    Dec 26th 2014, 2:08 PM

What is controversial is people of ‘celebrity ‘status meddling in things which do not affect them. Then the Murdoch press are well used to that…….

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Dec 26th 2014, 8:43 PM

But sure what is Enda Kenny but a celebrity – we don’t know what he thinks , we don’t know what meetings he is having etc. …
    He’s a Fine Gael celebrity ….. the law of the land seems to make no difference to him – the fact that Ireland was under no obligation to introduce Water Charges – This is Fine Gael Fianna Fail and Troika law – nothing else.

E
    Mute E
    Favourite E
    Dec 26th 2014, 12:49 PM

Good onya Liam.
    Fair Fcuks to you!!
    Like Harris, O’Toole, Fassbender, Brosnan etc you weren’t afraid to travel to achieve success in your field.

Que Pat PennyBoy, Turdidy, Farcy, Doddo and NiBollock and PravdasRTE’s/ComuiniCrap’s Other Bought out Overpaid Yokel Lackeys to come out in support of Water Charges and Further Austerity.

Mute analyser
    Favourite analyser
    Dec 26th 2014, 11:55 AM

Neeson pays his water charges, property taxes, state taxes and federal taxes in the US. If he refuses to pay his water charges in America , then I may consider listening to him. He should stick to acting. I note that the Mirror In its quest for a headline , failed to ask him the hard questions!

Mute Neil Crowley
    Favourite Neil Crowley
    Dec 26th 2014, 12:10 PM

It’s just not that’s it’s a water charge, it’s the final straw. I have way more issue with USC that 4 years later is still there. We need a new party(s) and a new republic based on the vision of the Leaders of 1916.

Mute An Ciarraioch
    Favourite An Ciarraioch
    Dec 26th 2014, 12:17 PM

Analyser – You too pay for your water and sewage services already !
    Presumably you Tax your car , as well as purchasing products that are Vattable ?
    Of which 5% of your car tax & 2% of your VAT goes already to raise €1.2Billion – of which the current Government only utilise €850Million towards providing these Services .

Do you ever ask yourself the Question, as to why you wish to pay these Taxes a second time around ???

See 15 more replies ▾
    Mute analyser
    Favourite analyser
    Dec 26th 2014, 12:47 PM

Presumably you SF einers are unaware of the dire state of many of our sewage/water treatment plants? Many new plants must be built. Are you unaware that thousands of miles of new piping are required.? Presumably you are unaware of the poor quality drinking water in parts of the county? Presumably SFand the Trots don’t want to know about the the huge looming water crisis that will hit the Dublin area by 2019? €20 billion is required to upgrade the system over the next ten years. The alternative is to pay heavy fines to the EU. These are in the pipeline. Did it ever occur to you that the country is STILL BORROWING €9 billion to fund services, pensions et al (down from €18 billion in 2010? SF promises the sun , moon and stars yet in Northern Ireland implements a house tax averaging €1200 .

Mute Jason Doyle
    Favourite Jason Doyle

Everything you said there is true,
    But could they not of used all that money to setup Irish water and install the meters to repair the infrastructure and use some of the money they raise from usc.
    The usc was supposed to be a temporary tax to pay for local services, which you could include in the supply of water.
    We’re being screwed.

Mute An Ciarraioch
    Favourite An Ciarraioch
    Dec 26th 2014, 1:11 PM

Analyser – I see that you are prone to gross exaggeration?
    Suddenly it’s now €20Billion from €10Billion to fix the neglected system ?

No comment on the Tax being paid by us all already ?

No mention by you of the mismanaged distribution of the current Tax being collected ?

No mention from you , of there being no need for individual metering ?

You FG Trolls are like trained Bunny Rabbits – can you not think for yourselves – rather then quoting from the same Fascist Manual, on how to control us useless Citizens ?

Mute An Ciarraioch
    Favourite An Ciarraioch
    Dec 26th 2014, 1:16 PM

Analyser – Again the misinformation of FG Trolls – Domestic Water supply continues to be supplied out of general Taxation in The Six Counties .
    Do you and your FG / Lab. Government continue to know nothing about what goes on in this part of our Country ?

It’s even more shameful that you continue to try to sell this porkie pie – having been caught out in its regard so often to date ?

Mute David HIggins
    Favourite David HIggins
    Dec 26th 2014, 1:52 PM

An Ciarroch, I’m just wondering could you be specific on how SF would manage to reduce taxes like the water tax, while increasing spending at the same time?

I’m no economist, but from my understanding the government is borrowing to pay the day to day costs of the state.

Mute analyser
    Favourite analyser
    Dec 26th 2014, 2:10 PM

I note that you failed to refer to the average house tax of €1200 paid by the people of Northern Ireland where SF is in power. 35,000 water meters have been installed in the North. Metering is essential to identify leaks. €2 billion a year is the requirement to upgrade water/sewage plants, put down thousands of miles of new piping, to sort out pollution of our rivers and seas, to clean up drinking water and to prevent a huge crisis in the Dublin area. You call me an FG troll. Sure you are a SF supporter who almost lives on this site judging by the numbers of your posts. There is a hard core of Sinn Feiners and Trots who seek to take over the comment sections here and on other sites as well. You people fear real debate . By the way EU fines will soften the coughs very quickly if progress is not made on water/sewage. Wait until real water shortages hit Dublin if progress is not made! Thats my final post on the issue. There is more to life! Happy New Year to you!

Mute Ten Major
    Favourite Ten Major
    Dec 26th 2014, 2:41 PM

Why was this allow to happen? Was it by accident? Billions were spent on motorways & every vanity project you can think of but meanwhile the water & sewerage infrastructure was allowed to deteriorate to this extent. Are you telling us this was all by chance? None of the governments in the last 25 years saw this coming? Or would it be they thought that this would be a great big money spinner like Telecom?
    Privatisation is the real issue here. A referendum to keep it in the hands of the people would kill most of the protest over night but will they do it? Will they, feck!

Mute An Ciarraioch
    Favourite An Ciarraioch
    Dec 26th 2014, 3:09 PM

David – Why don’t you read my existing contributions?
    You and I , already pay for our water and sewage , through 2% of VAT & 5% of car taxes .
    Why doesn’t Government spend this existing fund to fix the leaks , instead of huge payoffs to Denis O’Brien’s Companies, as well as huge salaries for this overstaffed , overpaid Quango ?

D H
    Mute D H
    Favourite D H
    Dec 26th 2014, 4:02 PM

Analyser you can turn on a tap in most municipalities in the US and drinkable water comes out of it . You dont have to pay twice for it either.

Mute Sean Whelan
    Favourite Sean Whelan
    Dec 26th 2014, 7:34 PM

How can a meter at the house identify the location of a leak between the treatment plant and the house?

Mute David HIggins
    Favourite David HIggins
    Dec 26th 2014, 8:39 PM

I disagree with you about paying for water via tax. My parents paid their local water group for water, and pay for their own septic tank. I would say that many in Kerry are the same – paying for their water and sewerage themselves, while paying their taxes for the city folk.

Apart from that, you don’t address my question, how do you cut taxes, and increase spending? I would love it to be true, but I can’t work out the maths.

Mute An Ciarraioch
    Favourite An Ciarraioch
    Dec 26th 2014, 10:05 PM

So David Higgins – your Parents already pay it Twice and you wish that they should pay for it three times over ?

Once – Through VAT & Motor Taxes.
    Twice – Through Group Water Scheme.
    Thrice – Irish Water Quango.

You are very generous to your Parents ???

Mute TomTraubert
    Favourite TomTraubert
    Dec 27th 2014, 1:34 PM

Jason, no, that wouldn’t have helped long term. A company capable of borrowing without leaving the nation liable for the loan was needed (off balance – horrible term but it’s actually what happens) that’s why IW was set up. Local Authorities couldn’t do it.

Mute TomTraubert
    Favourite TomTraubert
    Dec 27th 2014, 1:38 PM

Leak is the wrong term. It should say unaccounted for water. Like those supplies that have unauthorised connections off them. Looking for three leak can be narrowed by meters, it certainly will help homeowners identify if the problem is on their end side of the stop cock.

Mute TomTraubert
    Favourite TomTraubert
    Dec 27th 2014, 1:41 PM

Jesus Christ Kerryman, when we start paying, the part of our taxes you’re on about won’t go towards water anymore. It’ll be freed up for other spending.

Mute B-Egan
    Favourite B-Egan
    Dec 26th 2014, 2:00 PM

The most treacherous are those who willingly accept treachery who endorse it through lazy silence.

Mute Sternn
    Favourite Sternn
    Dec 26th 2014, 1:31 PM

Liam needs to give Enda a phone call.

Mute Tap Solny
    Favourite Tap Solny
    Dec 26th 2014, 12:29 PM

He pays in excess of $1,000 per annum for water charges in New York. The hypocrisy of the super rich workers in the film industry can be breathtaking. He is also from Northern Ireland.

Mute CAPITAINE ADEBAYO
    Favourite CAPITAINE ADEBAYO
    Dec 26th 2014, 1:15 PM

Comparing tax systems in different countries is a poor argument. New Yorkers don’t pay 23% vat for a start.

(They pay around 8% btw)

Mute An Ciarraioch
    Favourite An Ciarraioch
    Dec 26th 2014, 1:23 PM

Tap Solny – My Wife being a proud Belfast person has her Irish Passport- just as the vast number of Irish people do in Ireland !
    Liam Neeson quite probably has retained his Irish Passport too .

You need to brush up on Irish Law and Citizens entitlements a chara ?

Mute Qwerty
    Favourite Qwerty
    Dec 26th 2014, 1:38 PM

Irish passport or not, they are jurisdictions of two different sovereign states.

Mute Neil Crowley
    Favourite Neil Crowley

I agree it’s not a god argument. They pay water charges in the UK yet get virtually free GP care, free school books , school meals etc…can’t even get proper dental check ups here anymore.

Mute David HIggins
    Favourite David HIggins
    Dec 26th 2014, 1:45 PM

I’m more in favour of healthcare being a universal right than free water for all.

Liam didn’t seem to have a problem with tens of millions going uninsured in the US, but feels he should comment on people paying for the water they use.

Mute Were Jammin
    Favourite Were Jammin
    Dec 26th 2014, 2:03 PM

David, stop regurgitating your partys spin. there is no ‘free water’ in Ireland. Everybody who buys anything with VAT as part of its price i.e. all of us, contribute to the cost of water.

Mute David HIggins
    Favourite David HIggins
    Dec 26th 2014, 8:33 PM

I’m not in any party, and I’m well aware that we all pay for water (not enough however – look at the quality/quantity issues).

I’ve never heard Liam address the deaths, or bankrupt homes causes by the US health system. I am unaware of anyone in ireland bankrupt by paying for water (via VAT, or any other tax). I am aware of boil notices for water because of lack of investment in water treatment.

Mute Paddy Cole
    Favourite Paddy Cole
    Dec 26th 2014, 11:53 AM

If the Govt didn’t reverse the water charges when a million people took to the streets over a few days from Oct – Dec they’re hardly going to listen to the Hollywood ramblings of the bloke that played Mick Collins.

Mute Donal O'Brien
    Favourite Donal O'Brien
    Dec 26th 2014, 1:16 PM

Considerably less than what you said protested. Many people have to provide their own water and septic tanks with no subsidy from the government. Privatisation is a total red herring as no sane private business would buy irish water, a company designed never to make any money. No punitive action allowed against people who don’t pay the water bill. The whole thing is a mess.

Mute YogiBear
    Favourite YogiBear
    Dec 26th 2014, 6:58 PM

Donal true many people have to drill and maintain their own wells around the country. The whole water system is as we speak fractured but this will not always be the case. Irish Water will use our taxes and money from the charges to bring up the quality of the water supply across the country, and then it will no doubt be sold or partially privatized in order for the state to recoup most of its investment in the company.

This is a real danger for us the consumer. I say consumer because water is now a product just like electricity, gas, oil etc and it is going to rise and rise and rise and rise as a new commodity. Our constitution just about protects people in terms of the provision of water…but this government is undermining the constitution and doing everything in its power to avoid triggering a referendum. Support them if you want but there is now 1.2billion of a hole in the tax we payed for water each year. We will get no extra services, no jobs no nothing and it is madness. We need jobs that bring people into the thresholds where tax is significant or we are sidestepping the whole idea of a recovery and pushing ourselves towards a fragile future, where people go from poor to working poor. Charges like this just add to it.

Mute amos brearly
    Favourite amos brearly
    Dec 26th 2014, 12:33 PM

His passport does not mean place of birth you fool

Mute Shane Kinsella
    Favourite Shane Kinsella
    Dec 26th 2014, 2:37 PM

He was born in Ireland , that makes him Irish .

Mute speak up
    Favourite speak up
    Dec 26th 2014, 4:54 PM

Due to thejournal’s filters, I have replaced a certain word with duck. Duck enda Kenny and duck the government and duck every c!@t who is vying to take over because they are liars just Like their predecessors in the duckin boys club we call the dail. Duck them all for making me feel like I have zero prospects in life in this country, duck them for makig me feel like I may have no choice but to abandon those I love to move and try make something of myself, duck them for thinking it’s ok to labour me with the debts of fat cats and gangsters who continue to grease their slimey pockets, duck them for ever trying to make me believe that any of this is my fault, duck them for claiming we once had good times because I was never privvy to them. Duck them for their lies, duck them for their greed, duck them for their stupidy, duck them for their lack of courage, duck them for having zero empathy, duck them for making us feel like crap, duck them for making a total mess of everything, duck them for ducking us.

Mute Castalla Villas
    Favourite Castalla Villas
    Dec 26th 2014, 12:14 PM

Honestly if he can’t afford the water bills he should ask for better term and conditions in his contracts.

Mute Una Fairley Hanlon
    Favourite Una Fairley Hanlon
    Dec 26th 2014, 2:42 PM

Mark ,chris a few others here are obvious fg supporters and wouldnt know what patriotism was if it bit them in the arse at least there are some living abroad who remember their roots and are willing to use their influence to stand up for the Irish people ..Shame on our government that cant do that for its own people and shame onyou people who support that .It’s easy to spot the Fg supporters by their arrogance talking about people should be able to afford the charges but ignoring the fact that THEY SHOULD NOT

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    Dec 26th 2014, 5:59 PM

What is clear from the comments here is that FG and its trolls dont like anyone who speaks the truth about these water charges. Liam Neeson is a public figure who commands a high profile, people listen and take interest in what he has to say, especialy when it concerns his opinion of this country. The stick used to beat him with is that he is from Nth.Ireland and therefore has right to comment. At the same time another person from Nth Ireland was welcomed with open arms and got huge support from the FG trolls. Ms.Cahill ring a bell? They just dont like it when they are faced with the truth of this water rip off.

E
    Mute E
    Favourite E
    Dec 26th 2014, 9:03 PM

Spot on Dave.
    Hitler youth
    Ohh Sorry I mean’t to say FG Youth are out en mass mud slinging today.
    Like a bunch of peasant ants whose Queen has been threatened.

Mute amos brearly
    Favourite amos brearly
    Dec 26th 2014, 12:06 PM

Northern ireland national, keep your nose out, does not concern you.

Mute Shane Kinsella
    Favourite Shane Kinsella
    Dec 26th 2014, 12:16 PM

His Irish passport would suggest otherwise.

Mute Ten Major
    Favourite Ten Major
    Dec 26th 2014, 2:29 PM

amos brearly doesn’t sound Irish to me but Liam Neeson does & his mammy was from Waterford. Now why don’t you take yourself back to Emmerdale or Royston Vasey and keep out of Irish politics. This is a local forum for local people.

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Dec 26th 2014, 8:27 PM

He ran a pub in England did Amos ….
    What were it called again , now let me see….
    The Woolbag ? no , ’tweren’t….. the Woolbag ?………………………. The Woolpack !!!….. It were , that were it be called – The Woolpack – a fine English establishment it were too…

Mute Alan O'connor
    Favourite Alan O'connor
    Dec 26th 2014, 12:33 PM

Man not even from this jurisdiction (from one where there are water charges) living in one of the most expensive cities in the world (where he pays big water charges) is not coming back due to the fact that he’ll be charged a few euro a week, much less than he is charged in New York (or Ballymena), for water.

Don’t hurry back Liam. Our average national IQ couldn’t take the hit.

Mute Seán Ó Briain
    Favourite Seán Ó Briain
    Dec 26th 2014, 6:00 PM

“Man not even from this jurisdiction (from one where there are water charges)”

There’s no water charges in the north. Additionally – he’s an Irish citizen who holds an Irish passport who spent part of his life living in Dublin. But sure no, he’s not within his rights to offer his opinion in the current state of affairs in Ireland. That would be crazy.

“iving in one of the most expensive cities in the world (where he pays big water charges)”

He’s not charged twice for them.

“Don’t hurry back Liam. Our average national IQ couldn’t take the hit.”

He studied physics and computer science in University. Hardly a choice-topic for those below average IQ.

Mute YogiBear
    Favourite YogiBear
    Dec 26th 2014, 8:48 PM

Seán Alan probably won’t get back to you because Alan is a witless fool. He probably won’t reply to you either because you are making sense. He is a waste of a human being that Alan fellow/woman.

Mute Martin
    Favourite Martin
    Dec 26th 2014, 12:41 PM

We said we wouldn’t pay the household charge and we did, now we are saying we won’t pay the water charges and guess what….we will!

E
    Mute E
    Favourite E
    Dec 26th 2014, 12:52 PM

We didn’t pay the household charge, right up until the point where the government stole it from our income at source.
    Would that be classified as paying or being mugged?

Mute Mark Scott
    Favourite Mark Scott

Another dimwit removed from the reality of the situation, voicing support for populist opinion.

Mute Jonny Rigley
    Favourite Jonny Rigley
    Dec 26th 2014, 1:06 PM

Populist opinion = democracy ! !

E
    Mute E
    Favourite E
    Dec 26th 2014, 1:06 PM

I know
    When he moves to Mooney’s slot on RTE1 no doubt he’ll be further removed.

Mute Paul Lanigan
    Favourite Paul Lanigan
    Dec 26th 2014, 4:53 PM

Tell that to the Nazis

Mute Mark Scott
    Favourite Mark Scott
    Dec 26th 2014, 6:30 PM

Funny how the definition of democracy changes everytime someone finds something to disagree with.

Mute David Nolan
    Favourite David Nolan
    Dec 26th 2014, 8:03 PM

To all of the protesters who came out in favour of water charges, hope to see the banners at the next march.

Mute amos brearly
    Favourite amos brearly
    Dec 26th 2014, 2:02 PM

If gary glitter said he opposes the water charges shur we’d think he was a great lad altogether. Bloody hell.

E
    Mute E
    Favourite E
    Dec 26th 2014, 8:58 PM

“We’d think Garry Glitter was a great lad”?
    I’m afraid you’re on your own with that one Amos

Mute Windom Earle
    Favourite Windom Earle
    Dec 26th 2014, 8:23 PM

The rich again telling joe public how it is. Champagne for everyone lol .

Mute FlopFlipU
    Favourite FlopFlipU
    Dec 26th 2014, 11:50 AM

Is the c word clown

Mute Mark Murphy
    Favourite Mark Murphy
    Dec 26th 2014, 2:06 PM

Can’t you just imagine Enda and the gang quaking now that Liam has waded in. The likes of Liam Neeson should butt out instead of spouting from it !
    They must have been stuck to sell a few newspapers.

Mute thereal.thing
    Favourite thereal.thing
    Dec 26th 2014, 3:32 PM

Dear Liam

As a foreigner why are you so interested in irish matters?

Regards

The Irish People

Mute speak up
    Favourite speak up
    Dec 26th 2014, 5:00 PM

People like u are why this country will forever remain in the dark ages with the government having a stranglehold on us. The more u focus on inter county, country or border rivalries the less focus u can give to actual shit that matters. And I say fair play to liam because, what he is really doing to drawing a great big spotlight onto what is happening here so that this government can be shamed on a global scale which is the ultimate fear of this government who give priorities to keeping up appearances internationally.

Mute thereal.thing
    Favourite thereal.thing
    Dec 26th 2014, 8:49 PM

he is british not irish so he is about as welcome as that other idiot russel brand

Mute thereal.thing
    Favourite thereal.thing
    Dec 26th 2014, 3:31 PM

poor liam looking for attention- bless

Mute wilfried keulemans
    Favourite wilfried keulemans
    Dec 26th 2014, 9:05 PM

Liam speaks the truth and it seems to upset the FG trols,happy days.

Mute amos brearly
    Favourite amos brearly
    Dec 26th 2014, 3:15 PM

Born in northern ireland not republic of ireland. 2 different countries or have u not figured out why there is a border. Bloody hell.

Mute Shane Kinsella
    Favourite Shane Kinsella
    Dec 26th 2014, 3:28 PM

He has a Irish passport, was born on the island of Ireland, was based in Dublin for most of his early acting career and worked for Guinness packing pallets.
    He’s hardly Indian now is he ?

Mute Shane Kinsella
    Favourite Shane Kinsella
    Dec 26th 2014, 3:31 PM

Do you consider our former president Mary McAleese to be a foreign national too ?

Mute amos brearly
    Favourite amos brearly
    Dec 26th 2014, 3:21 PM

Celebs trying to let on that they know what ordinary folk are going through. Nobs

Mute Paul Lanigan
    Favourite Paul Lanigan
    Dec 26th 2014, 4:52 PM

Drop the water charges. We need the money for iPhones, x-boxes, Sky movies, beer and skiing holidays.

Mute June Kennedy
    Favourite June Kennedy
    Dec 27th 2014, 2:51 AM

Since 1997 2% PAYE and 5% of road tax has been allocated for water charges. So every man woman and child is already paying for water. This is why Ireland was given an exemption by the EU. It is TROIKA why is demanding the charges….. to pay off bankers. Then they will privatise water …… giving more money to bankers. Time to wake up people, and see the big picture and not just the jigsaw piece the government has us concentrating on

Mute Windom Earle
    Favourite Windom Earle
    Dec 26th 2014, 8:20 PM

Pay up and look happy

Mute Andrew Dagg
    Favourite Andrew Dagg
    Dec 26th 2014, 6:15 PM

Liam Gob5hite Neeson. Maybe he’d like to run for sinn Féin/Ira in the next election. Yet another Evian drinking millionaire sticking his nose in.

E
    Mute E
    Favourite E
    Dec 26th 2014, 9:05 PM

Would that be IW’s finest,
    the one and only Strokeman O’Brian, the tax fugitive that you are talking about Andrew?

Mute amos brearly
    Favourite amos brearly
    Dec 26th 2014, 9:28 PM

The wheels have come off the protests, even the simpletons in jobstown have gone quiet.

Mute Bull Mick
    Favourite Bull Mick
    Dec 26th 2014, 12:05 PM

If they shoot me up who’d take my place?

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Dec 26th 2014, 8:22 PM

Quaaaaarrrrrrsssssssss !

Mute amos brearly
    Favourite amos brearly
    Dec 26th 2014, 8:38 PM

People will happily pay the charges, even the protests are losing momentum.

Mute wilfried keulemans
    Favourite wilfried keulemans
    Dec 26th 2014, 9:10 PM

you great fun amos,thank god nobody takes you serious,now of to bed with you.

Mute Una Fairley Hanlon
    Favourite Una Fairley Hanlon
    Dec 27th 2014, 3:55 AM

Wish people traitor’s like Amos and Andrew would f-off to spain with their xboxes bought by the sweat of the Irish …and I would welcome Irish people living abroad like Liam …in case you hadnt noticed you ignorent pigs their are two identities living up the north of IRELAND !!! And the likes of Russle would be welcome here anytime because by vertue of the fact that he is standing up for the Irish he’s more Irish than anyone in FG or Labour ,the can all go and f@#k off to spain and pick their noses for all I care…hate traitor.

Mute amos brearly
    Favourite amos brearly
    Dec 26th 2014, 8:51 PM

Just coz he worked in guinness brewery or played the part of collins does not make him from the rep of ireland. He should shut up. Ffs

Mute amos brearly
    Favourite amos brearly
    Dec 26th 2014, 9:04 PM

If i picked oranges in seville does that make me spanish?

E
    Mute E
    Favourite E
    Dec 26th 2014, 9:09 PM

I heard that you picked your ar$e amos.

Mute amos brearly
    Favourite amos brearly
    Dec 26th 2014, 8:54 PM

I hate celebrities and champagne socialists who pretend they’re on our side. Pr!cks

Mute amos brearly
    Favourite amos brearly
    Dec 26th 2014, 9:47 PM

If (big if) sinn fein get into government will they charge us for currying yogurt?

Mute Sean Mac Diarmada
    Favourite Sean Mac Diarmada
    Dec 27th 2014, 11:18 AM

Make 2015 the year our own finest songwriter/artist-currently ignored by mainstream media- becomes renowned for his beautiful music and lyrics:
    http://youtu.be/pqs7UQxkGbM
    If you like it, please share.!

Mute Justin Dawson
    Favourite Justin Dawson
    Dec 27th 2014, 11:16 PM

Liam Neeson has spoken and we all should listen. Our little country has enough problems without him coming with his ego.