You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

A 2003 image of Mars taken by the Hubble Space Telescope. AP Photo/NASA

Life on Mars? Not looking likely, says new NASA study

New findings from NASA’s Curiosity rover found only tiny amounts of methane gas in the atmosphere, making it unlikely that there was life on Mars.

HOPES OF FINDING life on Mars suffered a setback after new findings from NASA’s Curiosity rover detected only trace amounts of methane gas in the Red Planet’s atmosphere, a study said today.

In the past decade, scientists have reported large “plumes” of methane in the Martian atmosphere, findings that have remained controversial because they were made on the basis of observations from Earth or an orbiting satellite.

Researchers said in March 2003 that they had found a cloud near the Martian equator containing some 19,000 tons of methane.

However, analysis of data from Curiosity’s onboard instruments shows only trace amounts of methane in Mars’s atmosphere.

Scientists said Curiosity’s findings indicated that the maximum level of methane was 1.3 parts per billion by volume — about six times lower than previous estimates.

The low atmospheric methane level greatly reduces chances that Martian soil contains living microbes or organic fossil materials that would produce the gas, scientists said.

Curiosity’s mission

The findings also reduce the likelihood of significant levels of methane being produced geologically or from meteorites, according to California Institute of Technology researcher Christopher Webster, co-author of the study published in the journal Science.

Previously identified methane plumes may have been the result of misinterpretations of observations, including those made from Earth-based telescopes, according to the researchers.

Curiosity, which touched down on the Martian equator in August 2012, has already established that Mars may have been hospitable to microbial life in the distant past.

In recent weeks, the robot has begun trundling on an eight-kilometre journey toward Mount Sharp, the two-year mission’s main target for exploration.

The journey is expected to take several months, with Curiosity stopping along the way to analyse geological formations.

The foot of Mount Sharp is of particular interest because sedimentary layers may reveal when Mars was suitable for life, according to NASA.

- © AFP, 2013

Aging Mars rover makes new water discoveries >

Life on Mars: it was possible >

View 42 comments
42 Comments
    Mute Michael Russell
    Favourite Michael Russell
    Sep 19th 2013, 10:57 PM

Forgive my ignorance of science & biology , but genuine question: just because earth life forms produce methane…. Does it necessarily mean alien life forms do? Can we base the fundamentals of all possible life on what we have seen on earth? (Earth is a very small sample to use in the context of the universe!)

Mute Niall Sullivan
    Favourite Niall Sullivan
    Sep 19th 2013, 11:09 PM

I don’t care what they do or don’t find tbh. They continuously blow my mind in what they achieve. They make me feel proud of men.

Mute John Pepper
    Favourite John Pepper
    Sep 19th 2013, 11:36 PM

A tad sexist don’t you think?

Mute Niall Sullivan
    Favourite Niall Sullivan
    Sep 19th 2013, 11:57 PM

No. I don’t think it’s sexist really as I’ve had an interest in space exploration for 30 years and I know the stories and names of many people involved from reading about it for years and they’re all men.

I see your point though.

Mute Mary Kavanagh
    Favourite Mary Kavanagh
    Sep 20th 2013, 12:10 AM

All men? Niall? Here’s a link for you:
    http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_female_astronauts
    Valentina Tereschkova? (Apologies for the spelling!)
    And the last several times I saw a launch there were a number of women in the control room, none of whom were handing round coffee or acting as secretaries!

Mute Niall Sullivan
    Favourite Niall Sullivan
    Sep 20th 2013, 12:23 AM

I’m talking historically Mary. From landing on the moon to designing the rockets and shuttles – all the way back to the Wright sisters in fact :)

Mute Pádraig O'hEidhin
    Favourite Pádraig O'hEidhin
    Sep 20th 2013, 7:23 AM

Mary, a little lady like you would be best placed catering to your husbands needs, rather than commenting on mens issues like this.

Mute AggressiveSecularist
    Favourite AggressiveSecularist
    Sep 20th 2013, 9:08 AM

@Michael

No it doesn’t. However, life as it is on earth is the only kind we have to go on. If you want to search for another kind of life you’ll first have to come up with a hypothesis of what form it would take and then what indicators that life would produce. Have fun with that!

Mute John Pepper
    Favourite John Pepper
    Sep 20th 2013, 11:58 AM

No point arguing in troll’s Mary

Mute Mary Kavanagh
    Favourite Mary Kavanagh
    Sep 20th 2013, 12:00 PM

Wouldn’t waste my breath on ‘em.

Mute John Pepper
    Favourite John Pepper
    Sep 20th 2013, 12:16 PM

Lol historically speaking that is.

Sep 19th 2013, 10:28 PM

Good. Time to have a look at Europa and Titan!

Mute Graham Kavanagh
    Favourite Graham Kavanagh
    Sep 19th 2013, 10:53 PM

The Martians are underground here waiting. Do you guys not watch good quality cinema???

Mute Niall Sullivan
    Favourite Niall Sullivan
    Sep 19th 2013, 11:11 PM

Some great documentaries on YouTube bout that but you’ve probably seen them. On a proxy iPhone right now so I can’t link them. Mind blowing stuff.

Mute Chopstix
    Favourite Chopstix
    Sep 19th 2013, 11:15 PM

Some good documentaries about the structures and pyramids on mars in the area known as cydonia

Sep 19th 2013, 11:23 PM

And the face looking at you from Cydonia.

Mute Chopstix
    Favourite Chopstix
    Sep 19th 2013, 11:29 PM

Richard C Hoagland is the leading investigator on the face , pyramids mars in general dozens of interviews n lectures out there for those who find the topic interesting

Mute Brendan Harlowe
    Favourite Brendan Harlowe
    Sep 19th 2013, 11:57 PM

Yeah , the face disappeared on higher resolution images! Just a mountain after all!

Mute Chopstix
    Favourite Chopstix
    Sep 20th 2013, 12:12 AM

Killjoy ….

Mute Graham Kavanagh
    Favourite Graham Kavanagh
    Sep 20th 2013, 2:51 AM

Yeah they took the picture with the mons Olympus camera…

Sep 20th 2013, 9:11 AM

OMFG, we’ve regressed to the face on mars dumb-arsery.

Sep 20th 2013, 9:18 AM

you need to watch this…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8T_jwq9ph8k

Sep 20th 2013, 9:20 AM
    Mute Jack Mc Connoron
    Favourite Jack Mc Connoron
    Sep 19th 2013, 10:17 PM

Bet the martians are saying the exact same thing about earth!

Mute Ronan Stokes
    Favourite Ronan Stokes
    Sep 19th 2013, 10:23 PM

No, they are saying “that rover you bought on ebay is outside Ted”.

Sep 19th 2013, 11:03 PM

Yes but the real question is whether life existed on Mars in the past, not now. If it can be shown that life existed there a long time ago, it opens questions about the origin of life on this planet.

Mute Chopstix
    Favourite Chopstix
    Sep 19th 2013, 11:32 PM

I doubt the powers that be would tell us if they found proof of life

Sep 20th 2013, 12:23 AM

That’s the problem, they treat us like mushrooms.. keep us in the dark and feed us shite.

Mute Burch Barlow
    Favourite Burch Barlow
    Sep 20th 2013, 8:04 AM

And fluoride!!!!

Mute Jason Culligan
    Favourite Jason Culligan
    Sep 20th 2013, 10:34 AM

They’ve already come to the conclusion that it is possible Mars held life at one point. The problem is finding the concrete evidence is quite hard to achieve, especially when your only way of searching for the evidence is by firing probes in the direction of Mars and hoping they work if they get there.

Mute Barry Aston
    Favourite Barry Aston
    Sep 19th 2013, 10:15 PM

Really! Bollix.

Mute Sean Mac Gabhann
    Favourite Sean Mac Gabhann
    Sep 19th 2013, 10:51 PM

No point going back to paddy power then.

Mute Steve501
    Favourite Steve501
    Sep 19th 2013, 10:28 PM

Interesting. Ur I bet there is life in a galaxy far far away.

Mute Fergal Reid
    Favourite Fergal Reid
    Sep 19th 2013, 11:13 PM

With such a thin atmosphere, it’s no wonder that no methane was found. Any life that ever existed would’ve had to have come into being way back when Mars had an active core and magnetic field. Those days are long past, billions of years gone.

Titan’s our best bet in this solar system.

Mute Ronan Stokes
    Favourite Ronan Stokes
    Sep 19th 2013, 11:32 PM

Europa.

Mute Mark O Flaherty
    Favourite Mark O Flaherty
    Sep 20th 2013, 3:32 AM

Martians don’t fart…that’s what’s going on. A Dutch oven is impossible for them…..women of earth would love a Martian man

Mute John king
    Favourite John king
    Sep 19th 2013, 11:05 PM

Live on Mars already migrated long ago to a place we call China today ;-.) Not too long now and those aliens (we call them Chinese) soon will take over the world…

Mute Fergal Reid
    Favourite Fergal Reid
    Sep 19th 2013, 11:11 PM

What?

Mute Stephen McMahon
    Favourite Stephen McMahon
    Sep 19th 2013, 11:47 PM

That’s not true, the Chinese are a great bunch of lads!

Mute Jazz O'Gorman
    Favourite Jazz O'Gorman
    Sep 19th 2013, 10:17 PM

Obviously.

Mute Virginia Black
    Favourite Virginia Black
    Sep 20th 2013, 12:20 AM

This is interesting. It’ll be a while still before it reaches Mount Sharp to calculate when life may have been possible. I remember reading about early astronomers who thought they saw canals on Mars’ surface but they were actually just scratches on their lenses they were looking at.

Sep 19th 2013, 11:26 PM

Mars looks at unhappy, maybe doesn’t like his photo being taken without permission..