You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.
An account is an optional way to support the work we do. Find out more.
As it happened
As it happened: Áras race enters endgame as all six candidates take part in RTÉ Prime Time debate
David McCullagh was on hosting duties in Montrose.
8.59pm, 23 Oct 2018
LAST UPDATE|23 Oct 2018
IN 72 HOURS time, the voting will be all over in the presidential election.
It means that time is running out for the candidates to make their case and tonight’s RTÉ Prime Time debate was the best chance they’re going to get to influence the outcome.
All six took part and this is how it went down.
23 Oct 2018
9:03PM
Evening all, Rónán Duffy here. I’ll be liveblogging tonight’s debate and I’m looking forward to a bit of humdinger.
To be frank, it has to be for any of the incumbent’s five rivals to have a chance in this thing.
But if shouty debates aren’t your thing, we’ve also got you covered this evening. In podcast form.
TheJournal.ie’s Sinead O’Carroll sat down with each of the six hopefuls during the course of the campaign to get a sense of who they are and what they want to achieve as president.
For the record, and for those of you who have decided to ignore the race until this final week, the six candidates are: President Michael D Higgins, Senator Joan Freeman, Liadh Ní Riada MEP, Gavin Duffy, Sean Gallagher and Peter Casey.
Those final three were all Dragons on the RTÉ version of Dragons Den.
What’s going to be interesting to see tonight is exactly how much Higgins’ challengers go after him directly.
They all say they’re in the race to win it and if that’s true they’re going to need to take a bite out of the huge lead he has.
In addition, it will also be interesting to see if Higgins does swing back at his opponents.
In his interview on TheJournal.ie’s The Candidate podcast, Higgins criticised the focus on presidential spending and noted that he’s declined to ask those who have been criticising his spending who they’d disinvite from the Áras.
Higgins probably knows he doesn’t need to get into a shouting match with his opponents, but will he be able to resist throwing the odd barb himself?
23 Oct 2018
9:43PM
Okay, get yourself some tea and biscuits. We’re seconds away from the off now.
23 Oct 2018
9:50PM
McCullagh goes to Higgins first.
He’s asking about the controversy over the use of the government jet to go to Belfast.
Higgins said there is “always logistical and security” reasons why decisions are taken but the decision to fly was not his.
He says he would have preferred to travel by car.
23 Oct 2018
9:52PM
Gallagher describes it as “a pattern to hide behind security concerns”.
He mentions homelessness and other issues, says to Higgins that he “knows in his heart” that flying to Belfast was the wrong decision.
23 Oct 2018
9:54PM
Peter Casey looks to Higgins.
Calls him “a liar” for saying he would serve one term and continuing.
McCullagh says he won’t let people call each other liars.
Casey changes his tack, saying Higgins has been “economical with the truth”.
23 Oct 2018
9:58PM
Higgins is asked by McCullagh if he’s “happy” to have flown in the government jet “as a lifelong socialist”.
Higgins says he is “not happy with any extravagance”.
He is asked directly how many times has he used the government jet this year.
Higgins doesn’t answer for a few seconds before saying he has used it twice.
23 Oct 2018
10:03PM
We’re onto Casey’s comments on Travellers.
McCullagh puts it to him that surely they fit the bill of racism.
Casey quotes the Proclamation, as he has done several times, saying he “cherishes all of the children equally”. Adds that he doesn’t think Travellers deserve “special” status.
“I absolutely rejected the concept that I am racist,” he says.
23 Oct 2018
10:04PM
Casey denies that his comments on Travellers were “an attack”.
Duffy says that Travellers have been recognised as a separate ethnicity by the Dáil and that the president should not be contradicting the Dáil.
“Politicians make mistakes,” Casey responds.
23 Oct 2018
10:11PM
Casey says that Travellers get numerous benefits because of their ethnicity, including “houses and fields”.
Liadh Ní Riada says that he can’t say this as it is not the case.
23 Oct 2018
10:15PM
Ní Riada is now being asked about comments she made two years ago when she expressed a reluctance to give her daughter the HPV vaccine.
The candidate says that the comments were made because she felt she had “a lack of information” about the vaccine. She says she was never opposed to the HPV vaccine and is not now.
She says that the HSE has now “stepped up to provide the scientific information we need” about the vaccine.
Repeats that she was “naive” to make the comments she did.
Gallagher is asked about why he did not express his views on the various referendums and social issues since he came as a runner up in the presidential election in 2011.
He responds by bringing up Tweetgate, says that RTÉ has “learnt lessons” by what happened and argues that he “did not have a mandate” to get involved in political issues since 2011.
23 Oct 2018
10:22PM
There’s a bit of as argument between fellow Dragons Gavin Duffy and Sean Gallagher.
Duffy said that Gallagher has been claiming to be promoting social entrepreneurship when in fact he is “a commercial landlord”.
Gallagher acknowledges that he “provides space” for businesses and says that people from the private sector should not be precluded from running.
Freeman gets involved as well, she says that Gallagher is not “giving away space for free”.
23 Oct 2018
10:24PM
Gallagher mentions Michael D Higgins “not turning up” for the first debate and says that he was “sitting at home drinking coffee”.
Higgins says that he was not drinking coffee, instead saying he had responsibilities as president.
It’s the first time Higgins had spoken in some time.
Higgins goes on to defend his media schedule during the campaign. He says that he has been dealing with “innuendo” during the campaign and is unhappy with it.
Gallagher asks him to turn up to the final debate tomorrow on Virgin Media One.
He declines.
23 Oct 2018
10:27PM
Duffy denies his business is spin. Says public relations is not listed on his website.
23 Oct 2018
10:29PM
Casey is now bringing up Tweetgate. Says that Gallagher effectively “sued the Irish taxpayer” and claims that “RTÉ did nothing wrong”.
Gallagher says they shouldn’t be having a rerun of the 2011 campaign. A couple nod in agreement.
Higgins is still on the podium. But he’s not saying much.
23 Oct 2018
10:54PM
He’s now being asked about his previous seven years.
He says that he has not been “responding to change” but has been involved in initiating it.
23 Oct 2018
10:56PM
“A president can initiate a discussion on why a deeply unequal society can repeat itself,” Higgins says.
23 Oct 2018
10:59PM
Ní Riada is now being asked about her comments on saying she would challenge the government while in office. McCullagh asks “is that wise?”.
Ní Riada says that addressing the Oireachtas is an important right the president has.
Higgins cuts across her (notably one of the first times he’s done so) and says he addressed the European Commission on the issue of austerity.
The pair have a little argument as gaeilge. They are the only two fluent Irish speakers in the race.
23 Oct 2018
11:01PM
Freeman wants to get involved.
She looks at the three Dragons and says she “doesn’t quite know” what they have promised to do to address issues like addiction and homelessness.
23 Oct 2018
11:03PM
Gallagher, who has spoken about the problems with his sight, says that if he’s elected Ireland “will become a role model” in how it treats disability.
23 Oct 2018
11:07PM
Casey is asked about his personal taxes.
He says that he has a US Green Card and because of that has to pay a percentage of his worldwide taxes in the US. He says it’s 46% but that he’s attempting to change that to pay personal taxes here.
He says his Irish companies pay taxes here.
Gallagher says he pays taxes here but won’t go into details about how much.
Duffy says he’s “never had an offshore account” and that he has a “single business”.
He says that his taxes are “tight”, unlike the other Dragons.
Gallagher takes issue with this but Duffy clarified that he meant that he has a single business.
23 Oct 2018
11:10PM
Ní Riada says that she pays €40,000 in tax and gets €60,000 in take home pay from her wage as an MEP.
McCullagh says that she told Hot Press that she took home “the average industrial wage”.
Ní Riada says that she gets a “good wage” but that it’s an “average wage”.
Freeman is asked about the funding of her campaign and whether it was a misjudgement to take a loan from an old friend whose company was accused of running a ponzi scheme.
She says that asking the question was a misjudgement as it was a personal loan, not a loan from his company.
Says to McCullagh that if she got a loan from him it would not be a loan from RTÉ.
23 Oct 2018
11:24PM
Higgins is now being asked about expenses.
McCullagh asks why further details can be released after the election but not now.
Higgins says that any change that’s made must be “done properly” and that any change would affected presidents that come thereafter.
23 Oct 2018
11:26PM
Gallagher says that “the shock and disgrace” of the election has been the unvouched €317,000 fund that’s available to the Áras each year.
Casey says he will release all his campaign funding tomorrow.
Freeman says that it’s “very strange” that all three Dragons have been put standing beside each other in the debate and that they “seem like best friends tonight”.
McCullagh says that the order the candidates were put in was arranged after lots were drawn.
23 Oct 2018
11:35PM
The candidates are being asked under what circumstances they would refuse to dissolve the Dáil.
Higgins says the president would have the ability to take time to make the decision.
A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article.
Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic.
Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy
here
before taking part.
Dublin should be on lock down as offaly, kildere and Laois… Oh sorry, sure that’s all politician would have to only work and stay home… How’s that Judge doing by the way?? Gone very quiet about him
@Jacks R. Back: and? The government just don’t want spikes. It’s the pure number their worried about not percentage of a geographic population. That’s why the percentage county table was removed from the App. Goes to prove that stats can be used to prove a required result. As they say there’s lies damned lies and then stats.
@paul mccoy: if you’re going to argue for a lockdown in Dublin, at least try to base it on scientific facts and figures rather than blatant redneck bias……..
@Eoin Hennigan: not in the least Eoin, a Dub bred and buttered. But small minded, insular, anti big city……redneck aptly describes that kind of thinking……
@michal heba: Judge got a free pass from O’Brien. Rory agreed. Sneaky Snake wanted him put down. I’m with Sneaky Snake on this one.
Otherwise all good on the Wagon.
@Eoin Hennigan: Kildare’s 14 day incidence currently stands at 81.8 cases per 100,000 population (was closer to 200 when locked down), Dublin is just over 50 and while still high stands at 5th in the country. Try a bit of the Google before accusing someone of lying!
@michal heba: really stupid statement numbers are per 100 thousand so Dublin is quite low yet considering population do you not understand how figures are done it’s only 6 months since virus started and the calculation of cases hasn’t changed since day 1 please give me patience
@paul mccoy: no, it’s not. It’s just the centre of the national economy. Where everything you need to enable the purchase of rural 5 bed bungalows on 0.5 acres for 200k occurs while the locals pay 2000 pm to rent shoeboxes. Give over with your whataboutery. It’s completely short sighted and a little hateful to boot.
@Nigel Barlow: But its the per 100k number that counts. Dublin is half that what Kildare was per 100k. Given that the population of Dublin is approx 1.3 million (or nearly 1/4 of the whole population of Ireland), the cases aren’t so bad. Should we then look to other counties that are half the rate of Kildare per 100k and shut them down too? People like you want to shut the whole country down and want to live in perpetual scaremongering.
@Alan Wright: Plus, the most amount of testing done to date will obviously turn out higher and higher positive rates. Before the highest amount of testing, have the numbers been always this high?
@Eoin Hennigan: For sure. Population density at its finest will always have Dublin with a proportional higher infection rate. Plus, do we have the: testing figures per county? I think with a higher percentage testing rate/capacity in the capital will inevitably show a higher positive percentage rate.
@Alan Wright: actually I want equality. I’m very much in the camp that believes concentrating on driving numbers down to near zero is a waste of time. What is the use of having very little covid but no economy. The deficit do far is €10b. Tax receipts were higher buoyed by corporation tax from the big multinationals. That will taper out each successive quarter and the government will be more reliant on Irish owned SMEs tax take. And guess what. Their myopic concentration on driving covid numbers down has ensured that the sme (and hospitality industry) has been ruined. So there’ll be an ever widening deficit, public pay will have to cut, pensions and welfare payments cut. The government need to make a ballsy call and allow more risk and allow the economy to operate.
@Alan Wright: On the way to Dublin as we speak, need to brush up on my bar counter dancing …. hands…. reaching out , touching me…..touching you……….Sweet Caroline……oh oh oh
@Nigel Barlow: Dublin population 1.45 million
Kildare population 222,000
Also it doesn’t help people from all over country are sent to Dublin to self isolate
And another little fact for you the majority of cases in Dublin are in areas that border Kildare, no coincidence as a lot of migrant workers from meat factories share tiny apartments in likes of lucan and tallaght they work shifts and as one leaves for work another comes home and uses the bed. This is going on for years now there was a group who worked for well known supermarket couple of years ago who had same arrangement the place was rented by a romainian who got rent allowance frome government as she was supposed to be working only 20 hours but there was 10 living in house all paying rent to her and quiet literally they all worked different shifts so one hopped out of bed and another got in so is it any wonder Dublin has high numbers
@Ken Healy: should gone to killarney so they are much better at dancing on phone box and cars and hear Galway is grand place for shinanigans every weekend but people sign agreement not to post on fb
@Alan Wright: we don’t care about Dublin as Dublin does about rest of the country so just close down and go feck yourself said
Don’t care about millions of eoro lost
Isn’t it time to make it compulsory to were face covering in all public buildings. This rule is in force for public transport, retail outlets, it should also be in force for all internal gatherings.
@Declan: but Google how well they work also just for some balance. There’s a reason why surgeons wear masks in surgery and it has nothing to do with Halloween I promise.
Dubliners should stop getting tested unless they develop serious symptoms, far too many asymptomatics and sore throats coming back positive. Fair Enough if they have chest problems etc, other than that is just giving NPHET excuses to threaten lockdowns.
@Colonel Buckshot: unless you are wearing an N95 or FFP2 grade mask or better you are codding yourself if you think it provides adequate protection. The other problem is that masks give people a false sense of security so they are more likely to ignore 2 metre social distancing. Then you add in the people constantly touching their masks and then touching high touch surfaces. You also have the people who use the same mask everyday for a month when they pop into the shop. Masks were mandated to reduce the spread of the virus but have had zero effect. The expert epidemiologist Carl Heneghan told the Dail Covid Committee that masks wouldn’t work in a community setting but they ploughed ahead and introduced them anyhow.
Nothing matters outside of County Jackeen, anywhere else in the country with those no.s and lockdown to be reviewed in three weeks, joke of a government.
@Fargo Boyle: Wouldn’t expect any LESS ? So you expected more ? Why did you expect more from a person you have termed “brainless” ? That doesn’t make sense
As an aside I note the government are now discussing getting rid of requirement to quarantine for 14 days. Now that has nothing to do with MEPs coming bsck home on essential business has it – or that EU are slightly miffed. We better remember our place – mere taxpayers bring told what to do and not do what our betters do.
@Nigel Barlow: there is nothing wrong with brining us in with the rest of the EU. Germany and Poland as well as Sweden have little or no restrictions on travel but have less rate of Covid than we do
@european liberal: Yes they do have lower rates than we do because they behave like adults during a pandemic and most can follow simple guidelines to really help curb the spread. We cannot be compared to our continental friends because here in Ireland, logic, reason and selflessness goes out the window for vast swathes of the population as they only think of themselves and fhck everyone else. Come Christmas, I expect covid 19 to be absolutely rampant and our health service crumbling under the strain. I hope its not, but I expect it will.
@european liberal: UK are lying even their top medical people have said this they are fudging the figures too suit.. Boris wants to look good check their testing rates.. way down on other countries, so no test nó prove
@GrumpyAulFella: the reason there were more deaths in Sweden than Ireland is because 5.5% of the population in Sweden is over 80 while in Ireland it is just over 3%. That also why Northern Italy was hit so hard – lots of over 80s. Meanwhile in Africa the average age is under 20 so Covid deaths remain low despite a poor health system and no social distancing
The more tests they carried out, the more people they’ll find.
It also looks like the hospitals now have a good grasp of how to treat patients with Covid19 and shouldn’t that be the way to look at it? Maybe the media could tell us more about it…
@Jonnie Marre: And what about the rest of the country? Same can be said about any county. Has every other county done 100% testing on its residents? Just an anti-dublin rhetoric, sad.
And yet, this afternoon, in the middle of Mercer St flats off Aungier St, there was a giant inflatable bouncy castle thronged with kids and an giant inflatable disco set up beside it. Like WTF?!
@OpenMinded: and if copper faces Jack’s opened tmw half the culchies of Ireland would be in there looking for the shift, Killarney carry on last week wasn’t Dubliners even though some tried to blame them but with accents straight from ythe farm it wasn’t Dubs
I must say this. Dublin may have the most cases per what ever compared to Kildare. Shut the fruit up. Densely populated. Cork Is the biggest county, cases are low. Dublin is densely populated and to be quite honest had a .02 positive % roughly. ROUGHLY. I actually don’t care anymore. My parents never did. I’ll do my bit to blend in with the sheep just in case. Everyone I talk to does not know what to believe anymore. There is no truth anymore. Suicide is up mental health is a worse problem. Cop the duck on people. Kim jong will be our president next
@Declan Martin Rigney: Cork city has not the population of Dublin city, and the majority of the county population live outside the city! Nicely spread out. The current numbers and past figures prove the cases with the virus increase in Dublin faster. I don’t really care what you think as long as you have your mask on and keep your hands clean, even if you are only doing it to blend in with us “sheep”
@Declan Martin Rigney: maths is not your strong point is it, Dublin population 1.45 million Cork population 520,000.. Doesn’t matter how big an area it is its only one third of population living in a much larger area so naturally less infections Dublin is becoming a concrete jungle were everyone wants to live plane loads of so called students who can’t actually afford rent squash into small apartments, migrants working on farms and factories are the same, Dublin born and bred people been pushed out because landlords are taking advantage of government turning blind eye to the tenament living conditions but why would they care half of them are tgw landlords, so that’s why it will be higher in Dublin seen a guy looking for a girl to share a double bed with another girl and a family in a 2 bedroom apartment (actually share the bed) and was looking for €695 a month not including the bills, so how there’s not a lot more is a miracle
Any wonder as I have seen ppl on public transport and in supermarkets with no face covering or some wear a mask as a chin strap and then ya have the ppl who like to stick there Hooter out I’d say they are the ppl who have ash trays on there push bikes
@Robbie Curran: yeah keep them out of the capital please. The concentration of cases in Dublin West on the Kildare border is no coincidence. Lillies breaking lockdown. Get the barbed wire up and keep them out.
@GrumpyAulFella: The only thing I’d miss from Dublin would be the Guinness! But then there is always Murpheys. Just not as readily available in Clare. As for education, like yourself, I’m a long time gone from the schoolbooks., and as for IKEA, I’d get to Belfast if I really needed it….probably cheaper too!
I’m from cork living in dublin lovely city fk masks fk the cultural retrospective comments and fk the politicians and fuk you . Wink wink JJJor.Stiring the pot every day. How ya like them apples …..
this was inevitable once the staycationers went back to Dublin . Staycation should been in your own county . Clare has been a nightmare for past few weeks with N.I cars and campers and Dublin visitors. Kilkee has also been over run with visitors from Limerick and surprise, surprise once the people return to their own counties and cities the numbers rise. It is not rocket science.
See what’s happening? City & country folk throwing shade at each other. We need proper journalists asking hard questions and refusing to accept platitudes (like on RTE). Autumn is here. People get colds.
'It is so un-Irish to give up hope': Protesters calling for sanctions on Israel march in Dublin
Updated
29 mins ago
Lebanon
Girl among dead as Israel launches strikes on Lebanon after cross-border rocket fire
Updated
41 mins ago
tiktok
Who is Garron Noone and why are politicians claiming he was 'silenced'?
23 hrs ago
Your Cookies. Your Choice.
Cookies help provide our news service while also enabling the advertising needed to fund this work.
We categorise cookies as Necessary, Performance (used to analyse the site performance) and Targeting (used to target advertising which helps us keep this service free).
We and our 160 partners store and access personal data, like browsing data or unique identifiers, on your device. Selecting Accept All enables tracking technologies to support the purposes shown under we and our partners process data to provide. If trackers are disabled, some content and ads you see may not be as relevant to you. You can resurface this menu to change your choices or withdraw consent at any time by clicking the Cookie Preferences link on the bottom of the webpage .Your choices will have effect within our Website. For more details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
We and our vendors process data for the following purposes:
Use precise geolocation data. Actively scan device characteristics for identification. Store and/or access information on a device. Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development.
Cookies Preference Centre
We process your data to deliver content or advertisements and measure the delivery of such content or advertisements to extract insights about our website. We share this information with our partners on the basis of consent. You may exercise your right to consent, based on a specific purpose below or at a partner level in the link under each purpose. Some vendors may process your data based on their legitimate interests, which does not require your consent. You cannot object to tracking technologies placed to ensure security, prevent fraud, fix errors, or deliver and present advertising and content, and precise geolocation data and active scanning of device characteristics for identification may be used to support this purpose. This exception does not apply to targeted advertising. These choices will be signaled to our vendors participating in the Transparency and Consent Framework.
Manage Consent Preferences
Necessary Cookies
Always Active
These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems. They are usually only set in response to actions made by you which amount to a request for services, such as setting your privacy preferences, logging in or filling in forms. You can set your browser to block or alert you about these cookies, but some parts of the site will not then work.
Targeting Cookies
These cookies may be set through our site by our advertising partners. They may be used by those companies to build a profile of your interests and show you relevant adverts on other sites. They do not store directly personal information, but are based on uniquely identifying your browser and internet device. If you do not allow these cookies, you will experience less targeted advertising.
Functional Cookies
These cookies enable the website to provide enhanced functionality and personalisation. They may be set by us or by third party providers whose services we have added to our pages. If you do not allow these cookies then these services may not function properly.
Performance Cookies
These cookies allow us to count visits and traffic sources so we can measure and improve the performance of our site. They help us to know which pages are the most and least popular and see how visitors move around the site. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous. If you do not allow these cookies we will not be able to monitor our performance.
Store and/or access information on a device 110 partners can use this purpose
Cookies, device or similar online identifiers (e.g. login-based identifiers, randomly assigned identifiers, network based identifiers) together with other information (e.g. browser type and information, language, screen size, supported technologies etc.) can be stored or read on your device to recognise it each time it connects to an app or to a website, for one or several of the purposes presented here.
Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development 142 partners can use this purpose
Use limited data to select advertising 112 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times an ad is presented to you).
Create profiles for personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (such as forms you submit, content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (for example, information from your previous activity on this service and other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (that might include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present advertising that appears more relevant based on your possible interests by this and other entities.
Use profiles to select personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on your advertising profiles, which can reflect your activity on this service or other websites or apps (like the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects.
Create profiles to personalise content 38 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (for instance, forms you submit, non-advertising content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (such as your previous activity on this service or other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (which might for example include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present content that appears more relevant based on your possible interests, such as by adapting the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find content that matches your interests.
Use profiles to select personalised content 34 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on your content personalisation profiles, which can reflect your activity on this or other services (for instance, the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects. This can for example be used to adapt the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find (non-advertising) content that matches your interests.
Measure advertising performance 133 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which advertising is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine how well an advert has worked for you or other users and whether the goals of the advertising were reached. For instance, whether you saw an ad, whether you clicked on it, whether it led you to buy a product or visit a website, etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of advertising campaigns.
Measure content performance 59 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which content is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine whether the (non-advertising) content e.g. reached its intended audience and matched your interests. For instance, whether you read an article, watch a video, listen to a podcast or look at a product description, how long you spent on this service and the web pages you visit etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of (non-advertising) content that is shown to you.
Understand audiences through statistics or combinations of data from different sources 74 partners can use this purpose
Reports can be generated based on the combination of data sets (like user profiles, statistics, market research, analytics data) regarding your interactions and those of other users with advertising or (non-advertising) content to identify common characteristics (for instance, to determine which target audiences are more receptive to an ad campaign or to certain contents).
Develop and improve services 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service, such as your interaction with ads or content, can be very helpful to improve products and services and to build new products and services based on user interactions, the type of audience, etc. This specific purpose does not include the development or improvement of user profiles and identifiers.
Use limited data to select content 37 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type, or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times a video or an article is presented to you).
Use precise geolocation data 46 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, your precise location (within a radius of less than 500 metres) may be used in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Actively scan device characteristics for identification 27 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, certain characteristics specific to your device might be requested and used to distinguish it from other devices (such as the installed fonts or plugins, the resolution of your screen) in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Ensure security, prevent and detect fraud, and fix errors 92 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Your data can be used to monitor for and prevent unusual and possibly fraudulent activity (for example, regarding advertising, ad clicks by bots), and ensure systems and processes work properly and securely. It can also be used to correct any problems you, the publisher or the advertiser may encounter in the delivery of content and ads and in your interaction with them.
Deliver and present advertising and content 99 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Certain information (like an IP address or device capabilities) is used to ensure the technical compatibility of the content or advertising, and to facilitate the transmission of the content or ad to your device.
Match and combine data from other data sources 72 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Information about your activity on this service may be matched and combined with other information relating to you and originating from various sources (for instance your activity on a separate online service, your use of a loyalty card in-store, or your answers to a survey), in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Link different devices 53 partners can use this feature
Always Active
In support of the purposes explained in this notice, your device might be considered as likely linked to other devices that belong to you or your household (for instance because you are logged in to the same service on both your phone and your computer, or because you may use the same Internet connection on both devices).
Identify devices based on information transmitted automatically 88 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Your device might be distinguished from other devices based on information it automatically sends when accessing the Internet (for instance, the IP address of your Internet connection or the type of browser you are using) in support of the purposes exposed in this notice.
Save and communicate privacy choices 69 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
The choices you make regarding the purposes and entities listed in this notice are saved and made available to those entities in the form of digital signals (such as a string of characters). This is necessary in order to enable both this service and those entities to respect such choices.
have your say