You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Civil partners of four years Paul Higgins (left) and Richard Lucey, who have been in a relationship together for 19 years, prepare to cast their votes at their polling station in Cabra, Dublin for the referendum on gay marriage. PA WIRE

LIVE: Ireland is the talk of the world as voters decide on same-sex marriage

We’ll be talking all things referendum here today.

IT’S A HISTORIC day for Ireland as we become the first country to ask the electorate whether to allow same-sex marriage. 

Have something to say about today’s referendums? Whatever way you are voting, have your say in the comments section, on Twitter @thejournal_ie or by mail tips@thejournal.ie. Feel free to send us any pics too (but just remember, no selfies in the polling booth). 

Good morning! Referendum day is finally here. After weeks of debating, Ireland goes to the polls today.

We’ll be talking all things referendum here throughout the day. It’s Sinéad O’Carroll here for the first shift. Want to join the chat? Email me at sinead@thejournal.ie or tweet @sineadocarroll.

With 66,000 new voters on the register, there are many people out there who have never voted. We’ve put together a handy guide of what you need to know before heading to your polling station today.

Seriously, we know it’s hard, but resist that urge to take a selfie!

PastedImage-9903

If you’ve logged into Facebook this morning, you’ve no doubt seen people ‘checking in’ as voting in Referendum 2015.

There are English and Irish language options given to users at the top of their feed. Our Political Editor Hugh O’Connell has got his vote in early.

PastedImage-90427

Have you voted yet?

Some quick information: polling stations remain open until 10pm. Bring some ID, leave the badge behind and just mark your ballot paper with one X.

Need more info? Here’s our guide to voting.

We’ve heard a lot about emigrants coming home to vote today – and the queues in Dublin Airport last night seemed to prove it.

The #hometovote hashtag is making some people emotional today.

Olivia McEvoy was at St Gabriel’s National School in Dublin at 6.45am this morning. This was the scene.

She said the station master had not seen a queue in 30 years.

Remember you will be voting on two referendums today.

The ‘other’ one is about the age of eligibility to be a candidate in a presidential election. Find out more about it here.

PastedImage-98752

Election warehouse manager Michael Leona Mark Stedman / Photocall Ireland Mark Stedman / Photocall Ireland / Photocall Ireland

This was the scene at Dublin’s election warehouse in Cookstown last night. That’s the facility’s manager Michael Leonard there, getting the 627 ballot boxes prepared for Dublin West, Dublin North, Dublin Midwest, Dublin Southwest, Dublin South and Dun Laoghaire.

Cliódhna Russell taking over here from Sinead O’Carroll, keeping you up to date with all the voting news.

If you’ve got any great photos or something to say about the referendum let me know at cliodhna@thejournal.ie or tweet @CliodhnaRussell

The head of the Referendum Commission Judge Kevin Cross told us yesterday that if you don’t vote, you’re letting others make your decision:

Video TheJournal.ie / YouTube

Remember the ballot papers for the two referendums are different colours.

Just think white for wedding cake (marriage ref) and green for the park (presidential age).

Aaron Cowming sent us in this video of himself just after voting:

This voting malarkey can get confusing:

90381302 Sasko Lazarov / Photocall Ireland Sasko Lazarov / Photocall Ireland / Photocall Ireland

Colin Farrell’s brother Eamon (on the right) with his husband Steven Mannion casting their ballot papers into ballot boxes while voting in the Marriage Referendum at the Star of the sea Sandymount polling station in Dublin this morning.

Hello everyone, Cianan Brennan here taking over from Cliodhna. Stay tuned to keep up to date with all that’s happening as voting continues across the country.

If you spot anything great to do with the referendum and the day that’s in it drop me a line at cianan@thejournal.ie, or tweet me @ciananbrennan

Uh oh… hopefully this is the exception rather than the rule today.

Remember, you have until 10pm tonight to vote.

Don’t forget there’s a second referendum on today, you get to choose whether or not future Irish presidents can be under the age of 35 #arasref

Further proof that the world’s eyes are trained on Ireland today, the marriage referendum is currently the top story on Time Magazine’s website:

time Time Time

And yet more proof… #VoteYes is currently the top trend on Twitter worldwide.

trends

Parking trouble in Howth, and queues out the door in Athlone, but not all polling booths are full to capacity this morning…

That’s what’s on the table here John.

We asked you how you were planning to vote for this morning’s poll.  If TheJournal.ie’s readers are anything to go by things are looking good for the Yes side…

poll

David Norris is interviewed in Spain’s biggest newspaper El Pais today. Can’t imagine what about. Does anyone speak Spanish?

norris El Pais El Pais

Ireland has voting fever now that D-Day (R-Day?) has arrived, but has coverage prior to the referendum in the national media been entirely impartial?

Research by media group Newsaccess Media Intelligence suggests that the volume of Yes articles in the Irish media in the month of May have outstripped their No counterparts by a factor of three to one.

424 Yes articles were carried by ten national print titles, with 135 No pieces and a further 214 deemed Neutral.

“Unlike broadcast media, which must provide balanced coverage of referenda, the print media are not subject to such strictures and this research confirms the broad and widespread support in the Irish print media for a Yes vote”, said Laurie Mannix, managing director of MKC Communications who commissioned the research.

Ireland isn’t the only country where same-sex marriage is a big issue.

Slovenia, the United States and Mexico are all set to review their own laws in the coming months.

Today Quartz has taken a look at how things stand around the world in relation to marriage laws.

quartz

Here is a colour-coded map of how things stand internationally:

same sex marriage around the world TheJournal.ie TheJournal.ie

Hello! With just under ten hours of voting to go in today’s referendums, this is Michael Sheils McNamee taking over the liveblog. Anything to add to the conversation, email me at michaelsm@thejournal.ie or tweet to @michaelonassis.

With polling figures in last week’s Sunday papers a bit all over the place – support for the referendum ranging from 53% to 69% – people are not taking anything for granted.

last weeks polls

However, you might be a bit more inclined to listen to the bookies’ predictions.

Paddy Power currently have a Yes result in the same-sex marriage referendum at 1/33 on. A No vote is listed at 9/1.

The turf accountant has said it predicts that over €300,000 will be taken on referendum bets across the Irish bookmaking industry.

In a statement yesterday, they said that, “from a business point of view, bookies will be hoping for the referendum to pass, as a win for the ‘No’ campaign would leave the industry in the red for a chunky six figure sum.”

We’ve mentioned this already, but the two ballot papers are different colours. Make sure to double check them on the way in.

As Cliódhna Russell helpfully put it earlier this morning:

Just think white for wedding cake (marriage ref) and green for the park (presidential age).

With a glut of people returning to Ireland to cast their votes in the same-sex marriage and presidential age referendums, the #HomeToVote hashtag has been tweeted more than 24,000 times in the past 24 hours.

People are currently tweeting the hashtag at a rate of around 100 times a minute.

home to vote Home to Vote Home to Vote

A number of high-profile people have already been out today casting their votes.

John Lyons, Labour TD for Dublin North-West, who is openly gay, was out voting at the Holy Spirit National School in Ballymun this morning with his mother, Josie Lyons.

john lyons voting 1 John Lyons with his mother Josie. Mark Stedman / Photocall Mark Stedman / Photocall / Photocall

Also out voting this morning was Archbishop of Dublin Diarmuid Martin, pictured here at O’Connell School on the North Circular Road.

diarmuid marting voting Sam Boal / Photocall Ireland Sam Boal / Photocall Ireland / Photocall Ireland

Someone’s mother with strong feelings on progressiveness in Ireland over on the Oh My God What A Complete Aisling Facebook page.

Some people are flying home from overseas to cast their vote in today’s referendum. Others are waiting patiently for cattle to leave the road clear.

Do you know what you’re doing tomorrow for the vote being counted?

Dublin Fianna Fáil councillor Paul McAuliffe has called on Minister for the Office of Public Works Simon Harris to open the gates of Dublin Castle, where the vote will be counted, as the results come in tomorrow afternoon.

“One of the most striking things about this campaign has been the huge number of people with no affiliation to any political party that have got involved in a political debate for the first time.  It is only right that they are given a place to gather and hear the results as they come in,” he said.

shutterstock_110432267 Dublin Castle Shutterstock / Matej Hudovernik Shutterstock / Matej Hudovernik / Matej Hudovernik

From activity at polling stations around the country this morning, it looks like turnout is going to be pretty high.

In 1937, Ireland saw its record high turnout in the referendum on the draft Constitution, when it hit 75.8%.

In 1979 the referendums on university representation in the Seanad and adoption rights saw the State’s lowest ever referendum turnout of 28.6%.

Will any records be falling today?

Find yourself confused staring at the ballot paper this morning?

If only there was some clever way of redesigning them to make them clearer…

ballot paper Unfortunately, this is NOT the ballot paper you'll be using today Each and Other Each and Other

The Dublin-based UX agency Each and Other has done up an alternative to today’s ballot paper, pointing out that it facilitates, “one of the most important interactions between government and its citizens. It’s the interface through which citizens decide the type of society they want to live in.”

The Tánaiste was out casting her vote in St Joseph’s National School in Cabra, Dublin a bit earlier this morning.

Here she is taking a selfie outside the polling station.

These Carmelite sisters were out earlier this morning casting their votes in Malahide, Co Dublin.

Ireland Gay Marriage AP Photo / Peter Morrison AP Photo / Peter Morrison / Peter Morrison

Hello there! This is Christina Finn taking over the liveblog. Want to get in touch and join the conversation today, email me at christinafinn@thejournal.ie or tweet to @christinafinn8

If you haven’t got out to vote yet today, here’s what you will be greeted with at the polling stations.

Just remember: White Paper – Marriage Equality. Green Paper – Presidential Age.

Pictured are ballots for the Referendums Mark Stedman Mark Stedman

Reports from around the country indicate that turnout is steady today. Do you know what referendum had the highest turnout by voters? It wasn’t recently.

Find out here.

ref

When Tánaiste Joan Burton came into to TheJournal.ie offices to talk about the referendum earlier this week, she encouraged voters to take a selfie OUTSIDE the polling station after they’ve voted:

Video: Aoife Barry / TheJournal.ie

The Labour leader did her own this morning:

Voting in the Referendums on Marriage Eq Sasko Lazarov / Photocall Ireland Sasko Lazarov / Photocall Ireland / Photocall Ireland

While we couldn’t get access to that particularly amazing selfie, we did get this nice snap from outside her polling station at St Joseph’s School in Cabra:

IMG_5650

Today people are also remembering Declan Flynn, the 31-year-old who was killed by a gang of four in Fairveiw Park in 1982.

His death sparked a large scale demonstration, which is considered by some as the first large-scale demonstration in Dublin for gay rights.

You can read more about the march that paved the way for the Dublin Pride parade here:

reff

For those on the hunt for some tunes as they head out to have their say this afternoon – or just wind up for the commute home – Filtr Ireland has put together this Spotify playlist.

Spotify Spotify Spotify

While it’s clearly pitched at Yes voters, there’s something there for all fans of musical kitsch. Village People? Done. ABBA? Sorted.

Abba Animated GIF Giphy Giphy

Highland Radio’s Barry Whyte has this update on turnout from the far north of the island:

Only a quarter of all voters casting their ballots so far, but with over six hours still to go until polls close there’s plenty of time left for people to make their way to the booths.

The referendum response from the Irish abroad has been, in a word, epic.

The hashtag HomeToVote has been trending all over the world as those either living or on holiday overseas flood back into the country to cast their ballots, including from as far afield as Bangkok and Mozambique.

You can read Aoife Barry’s article here on how we have been getting all misty-eyed about those returning voters.

Vote

It’s Michelle Hennessy here now, taking over the reins of the liveblog. If you have something to say, feel free to send me an email to michelle@thejournal.ie or you can tweet at @michellehtweet.

Minister of State Aodhán Ó Ríordáin says a colleague of his was spat at while campaigning today:

Leo had a bit of an audience when he went to vote in Castleknock, Dublin…

Sam Boal / Photocall Ireland Sam Boal / Photocall Ireland / Photocall Ireland

It’s Christina Finn here back on the liveblog. Feel free to get in touch by email to christinafinn@thejournal.ie or tweet me @christinafinn8

If you think you are too busy to get out and vote this evening, check out this couple on their special day.

Vincent Fox and Anne Cole got married today, but they were sure to get their vote in at St James Primary School in Dublin 8. Fair play. Enjoy the rest of your day, folks.

Pictured are Vincent Fox and Anne Cole graphy: Sasko Lazarov / Photocall Ireland graphy: Sasko Lazarov / Photocall Ireland / Photocall Ireland

Dad jokes are sometimes just the best, as Darren Duffy’s father proves right here.

reff DailyEdge DailyEdge

This will give you a laugh on the commute home.

Valerie Loftus / Vine

You’re probably on your way home from work, shattered from the week.

You might feel like giving voting a miss.

Check out some of these youngsters, who are little young for voting, but who really wanted to give a helping hand.

unnamed Linda Jennings Linda Jennings

Voting in the Referendums on Marriage Eq graph: Sasko Lazarov / Photocall Ireland graph: Sasko Lazarov / Photocall Ireland / Photocall Ireland

It only takes a few minutes. Here’s a handy guide before you head in:

No selfies or badges: What you need to know before you vote today

guide-4

“The world is watching what Ireland is doing.”

TheJournal.ie’s Political Editor was speaking on CTV News Channel, Canada’s 24-hour news network today. Watch the report here.

CTV CTVNewsChannel CTVNewsChannel

Channel 4 News also wanted to know the low-down about what was going on over here.

Derek Mooney / YouTube

TheJournal.ie reporter Dan Mac Guill points out that Ireland’s same-sex marriage referendum is trending pretty much everywhere on Twitter.

Busy night for the website of the Referendum Returning Officer for referendums in Ireland. Oh dear.

CTV referendum.ie referendum.ie

Voter turnout in some areas is suggested to be comparable with general election turnout, with many people saying it is the first time they have ever had to queue in line to vote.

By 5pm, some areas were hitting over 40%. Here’s how turnout was for some other referendums over the years.

How’s the turnout at your local polling station? Get in touch in the comments section, on Twitter @thejournal_ie or by mail tips@thejournal.ie.

Meanwhile, actor Zach Braff is making his view known…

It’s now Nicky Ryan here, the latest in the carousel of liveblog contributors.

The rush is on now at polling stations across the country as people finish work and cast their vote.

P.s. You might have noticed the website has been acting a bit funny, but it should all be okay soon. Something fell over.

We’ll have all the latest on turnout from across the country soon on TheJournal.ie, so stay tuned, and join us tomorrow for results and reaction. Goodnight!

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

317 Comments
    Mute stephen
    Favourite stephen
    May 22nd 2015, 8:02 AM

Just finished night shift, now on me way to do,something nice for my fellow man and vote Yes to same sex marriage.

Mute Anthony Lang
    Favourite Anthony Lang
    May 22nd 2015, 8:06 AM

Stephen, nicely put. I have voted yes. Please post later when you have voted, if you get a chance.

Mute Gill B
    Favourite Gill B
    May 22nd 2015, 8:15 AM

Dropping the kids to school back to the estate to meet the other residents & neighbors to walk the polling station together at 9.20am.

Big Fat Yes from over 20 of us !!!

See 47 more replies ▾
    Mute stephen
    Favourite stephen
    May 22nd 2015, 8:35 AM

Job done, have to say when I put my X in the Yes box, I knew in my heart I’d done the right thing.

Mute vv7k7Z3c
    Favourite vv7k7Z3c
    May 22nd 2015, 8:41 AM

I love that idea of a mini-march to the polling station! Did you get any pics?

Mute Sandra Sinnott
    Favourite Sandra Sinnott
    May 22nd 2015, 8:42 AM

I voted yes on my way to work this morning :-)

Mute Ann Enright
    Favourite Ann Enright
    May 22nd 2015, 8:49 AM

Just had the pleasure of voting Yes

Mute Free Gallant
    Favourite Free Gallant
    May 22nd 2015, 9:50 AM

When are the results expected?

Mute Markonline
    Favourite Markonline
    May 22nd 2015, 9:56 AM

Finally, Only one more day to have to put up with all this nonsense. Blind pawns in a governments reelection campaign.

Mute Kieran Mc Kevitt
    Favourite Kieran Mc Kevitt
    May 22nd 2015, 10:14 AM

Results should be available around 4pm tomorrow. If it is a large turnout the counting may take longer. If it is close there will be recounts which could mean the results going into next week.
    That also doesn’t include the court challenge that maybe launched

Mute Jake Race
    Favourite Jake Race
    May 22nd 2015, 10:37 AM

Why do we need a referendum? I already voted in the journal poll.

Mute Onepz
    Favourite Onepz
    May 22nd 2015, 10:47 AM

Just voted No and knew that it was the right thing to do. Tomorrow gay people will still have Civil Partnership which is practically the exact same thing while the family unit is protected for bringing up children in the best possible way.

Mute Brian Madden
    Favourite Brian Madden
    May 22nd 2015, 10:51 AM

Onepz, tomorrow we will have same sex marriage and the sky won’t fall in!

Mute Onepz
    Favourite Onepz
    May 22nd 2015, 10:56 AM

It won’t fall in either way. But let’s hope we dont have any more Asher’s bakery sagas of deliberately targeting and dragging a Christian family through the courts costing them ten of thousands of pounds just to make a point.

Mute Richarddoherty
    Favourite Richarddoherty
    May 22nd 2015, 11:02 AM

No ones blind to government incompetent record in 4 years under their dictatorship referendum is backed by all partys

Mute Dell
    Favourite Dell
    May 22nd 2015, 11:09 AM

Indeed, and hopefully there won’t be a need for RTE to pay out €85,000 of TV licence money on the grounds of defamation against the iona institute because of a guest on a talkshow

Mute Onepz
    Favourite Onepz
    May 22nd 2015, 11:20 AM

You mean for slandering journalists and calling them homophobic live on air for holding the opposing view to this referendum? RTE’s legal advice was to settle, that any defamation case would be lost in front of a jury.

Colm O’Gorman said on Prime Time the other night that the no side are not homophobic so one wonders what all the melodramatic outrage was about two years ago.

Mute Dell
    Favourite Dell
    May 22nd 2015, 11:23 AM

Well we will never know whether they are or not because it never got to go to court and apparently an apology just wasn’t enough.

Mute Jake Race
    Favourite Jake Race
    May 22nd 2015, 11:23 AM

“no side are not homophobic”

Those that are not homophobic are dumb as dog shite, like you.

Mute Onepz
    Favourite Onepz
    May 22nd 2015, 11:29 AM

@ Jake Race “Those that are not homophobic are dumb as dog shite, like you”,
    tearing down posters, throwing an egg at a 10 year and putting her into anaphylactic shock, calling the No side Nazis as Maureen Gaffney did.

What wonderful tolerant people liberals are.

Mute winding_down
    Favourite winding_down
    May 22nd 2015, 11:31 AM

@Onepz:

Hopefully you’ll go back to using just the one account on Journal after today!

Happily all your Journal aliases could just vote the once!

Mute Fintan Stack
    Favourite Fintan Stack
    May 22nd 2015, 11:32 AM

I just hope we have the same amount and more flocking home come general election time!

Mute Mac Ready
    Favourite Mac Ready
    May 22nd 2015, 11:34 AM

Oh look! typical yes supporter attack the. Debate!

Mute Busted Britches
    Favourite Busted Britches
    May 22nd 2015, 11:37 AM

Gil B – because ppl have been bullied into publicly agreeing with the Yes side, the probability of all 20 of your friends voting “yes” is extremely low.
    The privacy of the ballot box affords freedom from PC correctness.

Mute Micheal Sheehy
    Favourite Micheal Sheehy
    May 22nd 2015, 11:43 AM

That’s really nice. Thanks Stephen

Mute Micheal Sheehy
    Favourite Micheal Sheehy
    May 22nd 2015, 11:45 AM

Really laughed out loud to this one . Thanks #voteyes

Mute Jake Race
    Favourite Jake Race
    May 22nd 2015, 11:49 AM

@Onepz

Why is it that marriage is ok for you and me but not gay folks? Simple question.

Mute Jake Race
    Favourite Jake Race
    May 22nd 2015, 12:13 PM

I honestly can’t imagine what kind of d1ckhead you’d have to be to take time out of your day to try to stop other people from being able to marry.

Mute Jake Race
    Favourite Jake Race
    May 22nd 2015, 12:42 PM

The strategy of the No side spelled out:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xwdba9C2G14&app=desktop

Mute Mark Nolan
    Favourite Mark Nolan
    May 22nd 2015, 12:57 PM

Jake Race, the typical yes sider, nothing but abuse to anyone on the no side.

Mute John Fiddler
    Favourite John Fiddler
    May 22nd 2015, 1:00 PM

They don’t have gay marriage in the North, that cake tragedy that upsets you so much is not related to marriage equality.

Mute Tom Sullivan
    Favourite Tom Sullivan
    May 22nd 2015, 1:07 PM

Yes, its a textbook example of “the intolerance of tolerance”.

Mute Jake Race
    Favourite Jake Race
    May 22nd 2015, 1:56 PM

Mark Nolan, typical No sider. Can’t defend his bigoted views with logic and reason so he resorts to projecting a sanctimonious persecution complex.

Mute Tom Sullivan
    Favourite Tom Sullivan
    May 22nd 2015, 1:59 PM

Oh the irony, Jake. Your comments here have been little more than petty, puerile insults and you have the gall to criticise how others are commenting?

Mute Jake Race
    Favourite Jake Race
    May 22nd 2015, 2:02 PM

Yeah, I do. You know why? Cos I’m not the one who took time out of his day to try to stop other people, who are not me, from marrying.

Mute Sheik Yahbouti
    Favourite Sheik Yahbouti
    May 22nd 2015, 2:26 PM

Instead of the four or five? Whew, that WOULD be a relief.

Mute John Lonergan
    Favourite John Lonergan
    May 22nd 2015, 2:39 PM

@ Jake Race. Forgive me for saying this, and I’m not intolerant of your views or opinions, it’s just that your comments do show give the impression that you have a whole lot going on between your ears.

Mute Demise Grad
    Favourite Demise Grad
    May 22nd 2015, 3:30 PM

They broke the law, as determined by the judge, being a Christian does not render you exempt. It’s not one rule for most and another for Christians.

Mute The Dude
    Favourite The Dude
    May 22nd 2015, 3:38 PM

@Anthony Lang – My no vote has cancelled out your yes. I felt you had to be punished for the extraordinary volume of comments you had on every single gay article on this site.

Mute Jake Race
    Favourite Jake Race
    May 22nd 2015, 3:43 PM

Did all of the nutters vote no?

Mute The Dude
    Favourite The Dude
    May 22nd 2015, 3:58 PM

@Jake – No, just all the bigots and homophobes.

Mute cold war kid
    Favourite cold war kid
    May 22nd 2015, 4:15 PM

Sinead are you going to post non- government TDs voting. Lots of parties canvassed for a yes vote not just FG & LAB

Mute Mark Nolan
    Favourite Mark Nolan
    May 22nd 2015, 4:44 PM

Now Jake find me one example where I said I’m voting no? & thanks for proving my point calling me a bigot, keep digging that hole….

Mute Anthony Lang
    Favourite Anthony Lang
    May 22nd 2015, 5:24 PM

Dude, thanks for proving yourself to be as moronic as your comments. if that was the basis of your No vote, even though you had expressed and intention to vote no before I ever posted, it must be the silliest and most trivial reason ever for voting in a particular way.

As it happens, the yes outcome is assured if current trends continue and your No vote is no loss at all.

Mute Rambotious
    Favourite Rambotious
    May 22nd 2015, 5:45 PM

Jake you are one vile creature. Your posts are disgusting and I’m pretty sure you got plenty of red thumbs from people that voted yes in here. Now go and crawl back into your hole!

Mute Paraic Ryan
    Favourite Paraic Ryan
    May 22nd 2015, 5:49 PM

I voted YES in Tipperary the most Catholic county in Ireland earlier! Couldn’t be happier in knowing I did the right thing. Here’s to hoping the yes side come out on top and we send a strong message across the world.

#IVoted #VoteYes #MarRef

Mute thejynxeffect
    Favourite thejynxeffect
    May 22nd 2015, 6:03 PM

Jake

You’re a moron

Mute Ryan Anth
    Favourite Ryan Anth
    May 22nd 2015, 6:43 PM

No voters – I’m going to do exactly what I did with Ebola – you’re not getting off the hook, when I call something correct I love to rub the nose of the people who called it wrong in the mud if in calling it wrong they got irrationally hysterical, you’re not getting off the hook. Every time SSM is mentioned were going to bring up all your dire predictions and note how none of them are coming through

Just like today your camp (Even same people in many cases) are laughed at in CSPE classes and college lecture theatres for saying divorce would mean middle age men leaving the wife and kids for the 21yo babysitter so the next generation will be laughing at your predictions of doom here. You are going to be on the wrong side of history forever more, no matter which way it goes today, I’d hate to have my name attached to a loosing battle with common sense

Mute The Dude
    Favourite The Dude
    May 23rd 2015, 3:59 AM

@Lang – Are you familiar with the term – tongue in cheek.

Mute The Dude
    Favourite The Dude
    May 23rd 2015, 4:01 AM

@Ryan – please grow up !

Mute Donal Scollan
    Favourite Donal Scollan
    May 22nd 2015, 8:06 AM

I’m actually getting today, everyone in this country should get the same opportunity as we have. I shouldn’t even have to vote on something that’s none of my business.

Mute Anthony Lang
    Favourite Anthony Lang
    May 22nd 2015, 8:09 AM

Donal, nicely inclusive and decent.

Mute Christina Oman Lunardi
    Favourite Christina Oman Lunardi
    May 22nd 2015, 8:55 AM

Donal, the fact that we have to vote to change the constitution is a good thing. No government can change it without a vote from the people. Now, let’s just hope that enough of us are smart enough to have the same sentiment as you! Vote Yes folks!

Mute Craig McHugh™
    Favourite Craig McHugh™
    May 22nd 2015, 9:59 AM

Totally agree, but make sure you get out the vote! What a way to remember your big day that you were on the right side of history!

Mute potty o shea
    Favourite potty o shea
    May 22nd 2015, 1:14 PM

Just be careful you dont spoil your votes.

The papers are complicated enough, if you dont know Irish, if you are a foreign natonal that now can vote in Ireland or if your mental agility is not as good as it used to be.

I would advise read the papers and then read them again and remember its an X

Mute Karol Doran
    Favourite Karol Doran
    May 22nd 2015, 1:58 PM

Potty,

I don’t know Irish, but I got on grand because I just read the English part.

Mute John Lonergan
    Favourite John Lonergan
    May 22nd 2015, 2:30 PM

@ Christina, so, if I vote no, does that mean I’m not smart?

Mute John Lonergan
    Favourite John Lonergan
    May 22nd 2015, 2:32 PM

@ Donal. It’s totally your business, we are essentially voting on whether or not we will re-define marriage. So vote yes or no, because it is your business.

Mute Fintan Stack
    Favourite Fintan Stack
    May 22nd 2015, 3:21 PM

I think the yes side should have listened to the concerns of the no side and addressed them openly, instead of attacking with “no voters” are ignorant. Vote No, nothing changes, vote Yes, we get equality in a form, but what else happens with voting yes? I was going to vote yes, but I don’t know the FULL effect of voting yes, so maybe it’s best to leave things as they are for now and when we know the bigger picture we revisit it. It all seems very rushed and this government aren’t very good with detail or small print or general honest disclosure.

Mute The Dude
    Favourite The Dude
    May 22nd 2015, 3:34 PM

@Fintan – very sensible comment. Well done!

Mute thejynxeffect
    Favourite thejynxeffect
    May 22nd 2015, 4:38 PM

Good man Fintan

Mute Conor
    Favourite Conor
    May 22nd 2015, 4:39 PM

The full effect of voting yes is that gay people can get civilly married.

The adoption authorities will still as before place a child in a home that’s most suited to their needs.

Voting yes will also not effect the rules regarding surrogacy.

Mute David McDermott
    Favourite David McDermott
    May 22nd 2015, 6:34 PM

John marriage is not defined by the constitution so therefore no redefinition. Only extension of eligibility criteria.

Mute Were Jammin
    Favourite Were Jammin
    May 22nd 2015, 7:14 PM

@ PP: Couldn’t get a % but turn out high across west of Dublin.

Mute Ryan Anth
    Favourite Ryan Anth
    May 22nd 2015, 7:23 PM

Fintan the Yes campaign were very honest. No blanketed the entire debate with lies after lies after lies, they purposefully preyed on peoples ignorance of surrogacy and adoption and tried to appeal to their irrational neurosis rather than their brains, that is the lowest form of politics and history will record them as being quite nasty.
    Even if they win today they still loose, we’ll just have another vote within a decade and it will pass then. There are no valid reasons to vote no, all the ”concerns” the no camp have brought up have nothing to do with the referendum.

Mute Conor Buggy
    Favourite Conor Buggy
    May 22nd 2015, 8:25 AM

After two weeks of canvassing in D15 I can honestly say my faith in humanity has been restored. Some lovely people on the doors and some not so lovely, but the majority of No voters I met were very polite and nice. Usually one door per evening would be vile but on the whole it was a very positive experience.

Could be the most important work I ever do so the mental exhaustion was worth it.

Just voted :) Yes and Yes from me!

Mute Anthony Lang
    Favourite Anthony Lang
    May 22nd 2015, 9:00 AM

Conor, it was people like you who mobilised the rest of us. Respect and thanks!

Mute Busted Britches

Conor I have been canvassing “No” for weeks and I never met such crass, pig-ignorant and aggressive people in my life. Especially the ones who didn’t read my literature but just attacked me instantly for having an opposing view

See 28 more replies ▾
    Mute Rob Cahill
    Favourite Rob Cahill
    May 22nd 2015, 12:13 PM

You know what they say. If you smell shit everywhere you go it’s most likely coming from you.

Mute Jake Race
    Favourite Jake Race
    May 22nd 2015, 12:18 PM

@Busted Britches

You have a view that is not worthy of anyone’s respect. Fuk you.

Mute Busted Britches
    May 22nd 2015, 12:36 PM

Jake Race – I’m not feeling the love. What’s wrong? Has your boyfriend been getting your Y-fronts in a twist?
    Seriously, though, Jake. Am I supposed to respond with a “fuk you too” comment and then you think of a worse insult and etc etc?
    Just give it your best shot now. Take the wedgie out of your bum, take a deep breath and get it over with. Don’t use “homophobe” – Anthony Lang has used up all the allocations of that word. Don’t call me a “bigot” either – the “Yes” campaign have used up that word and if you call me that, it’ll just be an indication that you’re getting my character mixed up with your own character traits. “Fuk” is kind of worn out now, too.
    What insults do you use when you’re having a bitchfight with your boyfriend? Try use them on me and I’ll be able to tell you how hurt I am.
    Ha ha Jake. Just joking Jakey. Its a joke Jake. A jolly joke Jake. Jikes!

Mute Jake Race
    Favourite Jake Race
    May 22nd 2015, 12:40 PM

Nice, opening with a hompophobic joke. You’re not a bigot at all.

“Am I supposed to respond with a “fuk you too” ”

Could not care less how you respond because your opinion is not worth crap. I would not piss on you if you were on fire.

Mute Busted Britches
    May 22nd 2015, 12:49 PM

Jake – ” I would not piss on you if you were on fire.”
    Apparently pissing on someone is one of the sexual proclivities of perverts.
    See Donald Farfrae’s full-length article in the comments below

Mute Mark Nolan
    Favourite Mark Nolan
    May 22nd 2015, 12:59 PM

Your opinion isn’t worth crap either Jake

Mute Dell
    Favourite Dell
    May 22nd 2015, 1:03 PM

I think busted, like everyone else, should be allowed voice his opinion especially as I always read them as if they are being spoken like an overzealous TV type preacher.. I get lots of amusement out of this. Also I think he and Donald are doing immeasurable damage to the no campaign, on behalf of all of us voting yes, thank you.

Mute Tom Sullivan
    Favourite Tom Sullivan
    May 22nd 2015, 1:09 PM

Spoken like a true poltically-correct fascist, Jake. Every viewpoint is worthy of respect, whether or not you agree with it. Unless, of course, you want to live in a dull monoculture where only those viewpoints that have been pre-approved by the PC police can be held.

Mute Jake Race
    Favourite Jake Race
    May 22nd 2015, 1:16 PM

“I think busted, like everyone else, should be allowed voice his opinion”

Despite the sanctimonious outcry and persecution complex, nobody has actually done anything to stop them saying anything or voting.

Mute Dell
    Favourite Dell
    May 22nd 2015, 1:21 PM

Ah sure I know jake but I felt we should encourage his contribution to the yes side

Mute Jake Race
    Favourite Jake Race
    May 22nd 2015, 1:25 PM

“Every viewpoint is worthy of respect”

Really? Do we need to respect the views of racists and neo-nazis?

Mute Tom Sullivan
    Favourite Tom Sullivan
    May 22nd 2015, 2:05 PM

Jake,
    I know it sounds old-fashioned and is probably not acceptable to the Cultural Marxist brigade, but as a classic libertarian I believe passionately that everyone has a right to make their views known without fear of being shut down or sanctioned in any way. Unless, of course, they are calling for real harm to be done or loss to be caused to another party (hurt feelings or trashed wedding plans don’t count as “real harm”). That applies whether or not I agree with them or believe their viewpoint is ill-informed, wrong or just plain nuts. That’s called tolerance. Real tolerance, not the hive-mind “tolerance” that is so often promoted by the belligerent totalitarian left.

Mute Jake Race
    Favourite Jake Race
    May 22nd 2015, 2:09 PM

I’m not a cultural marxist and agree with everything you just said.

But me expressing my opinion is not the same as shutting someone down. I have no power to prevent anyone here from talking.

You are actually the only one here arguing that someone should not express their opinion. You are arguing that I should not express my opinion.

I have simply argued that anyone who falls for the No-side Wookie defence tactics is an idiot. Anyone who didn’t fall for that and voted No is a bigot. I have not suggested that they shouldn’t speak or vote however they choose.

Mute Ryan Anth
    Favourite Ryan Anth
    May 22nd 2015, 2:12 PM

It’s actually easy to forget that even though the No camp are 5050 online with Yes in the real world on the doors they are a small minority.

Makes you less worried

Mute Busted Britches
    May 22nd 2015, 2:12 PM

Hi Jake. pathological behaviour or feelings happen regularly in those who display them, and are strong, unreasonable, and impossible to control: that’s why you equate racism and neo-nazism with polite, albeit passionate, objection to the intent of the referendum.
    Quite often pathological behaviour is associated with a lower I.Q., although I’m not sure if that’s so in your case. You would appear to be able to type and spell correctly and your grammar is ok. You almost certainly have rage issues. You’d be quite a study in classical Freudian anger analysis versus old-fashioned boorishness.

Mute Jake Race
    Favourite Jake Race
    May 22nd 2015, 2:16 PM

I did not at any point equate racism and neo-nazism with anything like that. Please get work on your reading comprehension.

Mute Busted Britches
    May 22nd 2015, 2:26 PM

Jake – you responded to Dell’s comment about me as follows:
    “Every viewpoint is worthy of respect”
    Really? Do we need to respect the views of racists and neo-nazis?”

So tell me again, what was it you didn’t equate racism and nazism with?

Mute Jake Race
    Favourite Jake Race
    May 22nd 2015, 2:29 PM

@Busted Britches

No, it was in response to Tom Sullivan who said “Every viewpoint is worthy of respect, whether or not you agree with it.”

Mute Busted Britches
    May 22nd 2015, 2:35 PM

So you did, Jake
    You were still displaying pathological behaviour, though.
    Why the rage against people who disagree with you?

Mute Jake Race
    Favourite Jake Race
    May 22nd 2015, 2:50 PM

Wrong question.

Why rage against people who believe an entire section of our society should be treated as second class citizens on the basis of their sexual orientation?

Ask the right question and the answer becomes clear.

Mute Busted Britches
    May 22nd 2015, 2:58 PM

Thats obfuscation and deflecton Jake
    It certainly does not explain or justify your rage

Mute Jake Race
    Favourite Jake Race
    May 22nd 2015, 3:01 PM

That you can’t comprehend why anyone would aggressively speak out against the counter-movement of civil rights advocacy then you are too stupid to debate.

Mute Jake Race
    Favourite Jake Race
    May 22nd 2015, 3:11 PM

“As hatred is defined as intense dislike, what is wrong with inciting intense dislike of a religion, if the activities or teachings of that religion are so outrageous, irrational or abusive of human rights that they deserve to be intensely disliked?” – Rowan Atkinson

Mute Shane Boyle-Simms
    Favourite Shane Boyle-Simms
    May 22nd 2015, 3:43 PM

Jake I applaud you for stating the obvious and not pussyfooting around the no voters and their attempts at silencing us at every turn. We are sick of it and will not be silenced any more – put away all the PC politeness – “I’m entiltled to my opinion blah blah blah” Here’s to the end of bigots and homophobes hiding behind “opinions”

Mute Jake Race
    Favourite Jake Race
    May 22nd 2015, 3:47 PM

Hear hear!

Mute Sheik Yahbouti
    Favourite Sheik Yahbouti
    May 22nd 2015, 4:06 PM

“Classic libertarian”? Conspiracy nut, more like. Anyone who disagrees with you is suddenly formed into ‘a brigade’. Why not a battalion or a whole army?

Mute Anthony Lang
    Favourite Anthony Lang
    May 22nd 2015, 5:30 PM

The limit of liberal tolerance of the Yes side should be the illiberal intolerance and attempted repression by the NO side.

Jake and Shane, respect to you both for naming the evil.

Silence in the face of evil is acquiescence and tacit approval.

Britches got busted.

Mute Ryan Anth
    Favourite Ryan Anth
    May 22nd 2015, 6:46 PM

This was the last one you get lads btw…this is it. Your last chance to invade the private lives of other citizens, from now on it’s all laws laws laws that you can do nothing about. Organized religion is in decline, people are becoming more liberal, people are learning not to be ashamed at having a sex life, people are having more diverse groups of friends, all your hate and bigotry are crumbling before a wave of progress. Soon you’ll be melllllllllllltttttttttttttttttiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiing meeeeeeeeeeeeelllllllllllllllllting like the witch in Oz

Mute Dominic Holloway
    Favourite Dominic Holloway
    May 22nd 2015, 8:10 AM

I feel sick. PLEASE VOTE YES.

Mute Anthony Lang
    Favourite Anthony Lang
    May 22nd 2015, 8:14 AM

Dominic, despite the lies, deceit and distractions of the NO side, it’s looking very positive for a Yes outcome.

Great turnout already this morning. Only Yes canvassers out in our area.

I’ve already voted yes and yes voters are open and proud to vote yes.

It’s a horrible feeling to have the fate of same sex marriage in the hands of other people but people have a way of coming good.

Good news tomorrow!

Mute Gabbi Johnson
    Favourite Gabbi Johnson
    May 22nd 2015, 8:19 AM

@anthony are you the President of the Yes side?

Mute William Boyd
    Favourite William Boyd
    May 22nd 2015, 8:35 AM

Agree Anthony I think its going to be landslide for the Yes side, the gay community and their many straight friends will be out in their droves.

Mute Anthony Lang
    Favourite Anthony Lang
    May 22nd 2015, 9:03 AM

Every junction and spot around our area has wonderfully positive yes canvassers enthusiastically engaging with pedestrians. Great and positive vibe!

Looking good, folks. Gay and straight, all on the same side and wanting a yes outcome!

Mute Tordelback
    Favourite Tordelback
    May 22nd 2015, 10:29 AM

Heading back from work at 7 last night, every second person on O’Connell St seemed to be wearing a Yes badge, and a lovely sing-song was in full swing outside the GPO. Brought a tear to the eye to see what living in a Republic can really mean. Let’s make sure this good feeling translates into an actual result, eh? Get out there and vote, please.

Mute Elle McTee
    Favourite Elle McTee
    May 22nd 2015, 1:51 PM

Me too Dominic,

I’ve an anxiety knot in my stomach. A very intelligent, informed friend of mine just said he voted no because he didn’t think gays should be able to adopt!!

I explained the facts he shrugged and said, ‘oh i should have voted yes so’

I near screamed with rage

Mute Sheik Yahbouti
    Favourite Sheik Yahbouti
    May 22nd 2015, 2:31 PM

Tordel – let’s not get carried away. Whilst I am glad that the yes vote is going well – I still await the Republic and it doesn’t appear to be all that much nearer.

Mute Powerful Sayings
    Favourite Powerful Sayings
    May 22nd 2015, 2:10 PM

I heard a few people are writing things about equality on their ballot papers. Like yes to equality!!! Don’t do that it spoils the vote ffs.

Mute Ryan Anth
    Favourite Ryan Anth
    May 22nd 2015, 6:39 PM

It won’t, it’s not the smartest thing to do but it won’t. They’ll be tossed aside and then if it’s close they will include them reading the ‘intent’ of the voters so if they marked ‘equality’ but wrote an X in the Yes box they will mark it a yes, if they said it without the X it’s spoilt.

Unlike the US in 2000 we use our common sense and just try to establish the intent of the voter.

Mute Ryan Anth
    Favourite Ryan Anth
    May 22nd 2015, 7:17 PM

Maybe I’m crazy, but I like things to be accurate and factual especially where elections and votes are concerned. There are ways of checking if someone is correct based on more than the number of thumbs beside their name, you can for example check the govts own published information which says a ballot is only spoiled if:

1. It does not have a stamp
    2. Does not indicate a clear choice
    3. Anything is on the ballot that Identifies the voter (name, pps or address or whatever)

In an election if they put an X beside just one name that is often counted as a first preference but if there was a win by a narrow margin it could be challenged.

Common sense is used, there is no rule that says any squiggle outside the two boxes and they have to discard the ballot, it’s just a risk, depending what is written

Mute Alan J. McKenna
    Favourite Alan J. McKenna
    May 22nd 2015, 8:14 AM

I voted Yes at 7am today. My father, sister and I giving Yes a 3-0 lead in our station. Hopefully it finishes as it started.

Mute Colette Carroll
    Favourite Colette Carroll
    May 22nd 2015, 9:15 AM

Voted this morning at 07.10 a.m. on the way to work. One of the ladies at the centre commented “it looks like we’re going to be busy today”. It’s so very important to vote, folks, so please go and do it.

Mute billy
    Favourite billy
    May 22nd 2015, 8:18 AM

Dog walked & all voted out, so….. The next President could be a 21 year old married gay person, if & only if, you all vote like me & let the begrudgers begrudge elsewhere. ( I was once a begrudger, I think )….!

Mute Paul Higgins
    Favourite Paul Higgins
    May 22nd 2015, 9:56 AM

Upon voting this morning in Fahy polling station, County Galway, the individual who inspected my wifes polling card offered her the following words of advice…”May God direct you”!

…I shit you not!

“Under electoral law you may not wear any badges or emblems in, or around your polling station. Please remove them before you arrive at your polling station. If you are wearing a Yes Equality t-shirt, please cover it up before you arrive at your polling station.”

So, we the public have been told what not to do, but apparently it’s OK for the officiating polling attendant to verbally display her ‘badge/emblem’ to promote her opinion.

An utter disgrace!

Mute Barry Flanagan
    Favourite Barry Flanagan
    May 22nd 2015, 10:04 AM

Paul, you HAVE TO report that.

The church has called for a NO vote – that is a blatant and disgraceful attempt to interfere in the process.

Mute Brendan Lantry
    Favourite Brendan Lantry
    May 22nd 2015, 10:15 AM

Was this reported?

Mute Barry Flanagan
    Favourite Barry Flanagan
    May 22nd 2015, 10:29 AM

Paul – there will be a Returning Officer at every polling station.

Please report this.

No one – whether on Yes or No side, should attempt to influence a voter inside a station.

Mute Paul Higgins
    Favourite Paul Higgins

My wife contacted Galway County Council earlier so hopefully they will get that individual removed…

Mute Elle McTee
    Favourite Elle McTee
    May 22nd 2015, 1:45 PM

That is unreal! not in the least bit surprising mind

Please follow this up with Galway Coco Paul.

Mute Ryan Anth
    Favourite Ryan Anth
    May 22nd 2015, 2:14 PM

True Omar but in reality it’s what they call a ”dog whistle” in politics, designed for only some people to hear, to give doubters or waverers a shove in the right direction who have religious beliefs.

It’s used when you can’t OVERTLY say something but you still wanna get the message across.

Incidentally, her encouraging you to vote Yes would have been just as disgraceful, much as I believe this is a civil rights thing not just your average political thing we can’t have the people literally handling the ballots having their objectivity questioned or the legitimacy of the result is in question…look at the 2000 US election

Mute thejynxeffect
    Favourite thejynxeffect
    May 22nd 2015, 6:13 PM

Paul

Oh my god are you ok??? That must have been extremely traumatic for you. Imagine someone mentioning God at a polling booth! You should definitely report that!!! If you’re lucky she’ll lose her job then you wouldn’t have to worry your politically correct head about it. My brother and I walked to our local polling station and TWICE I was told by people outside to vote Yes and then they cheered like a big bunch of do what the sign says morons. The same fools who probably voted for Lisbon. You people have no idea how drastically this will change our society. Surrogacy isn’t the issue this time, but it will be soon.

Mute Ryan Anth
    Favourite Ryan Anth
    May 22nd 2015, 6:48 PM

It’s a clear dog whistle Jynx, how would you feel if she said “equality for all!” as she handed them out? That’s not telling you how to vote is it?

Your predictions of doom are such waffle, 6 months of debate and to this day none of you can name a specific negative consequence that will unfold with a Yes vote

Mute steve white
    Favourite steve white
    May 22nd 2015, 7:54 PM

reports of polling worker removed in galway https://twitter.com/WellNowUniverse/status/601819876165025795 same person?

Mute Jeanniejampots
    Favourite Jeanniejampots
    May 22nd 2015, 9:28 AM

I always vote but it’s honestly the first time I am excited to vote. My friends and family members are NOT second class citizens. Yes!

Mute Spencer Millard
    Favourite Spencer Millard
    May 22nd 2015, 9:48 AM

The very best of luck today Ireland. I only wish I could vote YES alongside all you right-minded thinkers out there.

Mute Spencer Millard
    May 22nd 2015, 11:07 AM

Thanks for the red thumbs dick heads. Come on Ireland! This Englishman loves you all, even the medievalists for the pure entertainment value :-)

Mute Mark Nolan
    Favourite Mark Nolan
    May 22nd 2015, 1:01 PM

Another typical yes sider, someone doesn’t agree, get abusive! Thanks for constantly proving my point, more the day goes on more happy I am not voting at all

Mute Tom Sullivan
    Favourite Tom Sullivan
    May 22nd 2015, 1:11 PM

Oh dear, Spencer, people here have viewpoints that differ from yours. And you resort to pejorative in response. I’m not sure you are mature enough to vote on an issue as important as this.

Mute Spencer Millard
    May 22nd 2015, 1:23 PM

I know, aren’t I awful? Not as awful as the average ignorant No voter mind, but I do try.

I’m not gay, but the thought of utter stupidity ruining the love between two adults makes me queasy.

I look forward to seeing you muppets consigned to history along with the other backward savages that continue to litter out lovely little planet :-)

Mute Spencer Millard
    May 22nd 2015, 1:28 PM

And I’m sorry for the pejorative, but anyone who disagrees with the drive for equality that is being voted upon in Ireland today is an utter moron. There is no polite way to be about it. You may as well call yourselves ISIS and start throwing people off of rooftops – that is the level you are at.

Mute Mark Nolan
    Favourite Mark Nolan
    May 22nd 2015, 4:55 PM

As I’ve asked the other Yes people who constantly prove my point, show me evidence where I said I was voting no? I’ve made it clear I’ve no intention to vote, & it’s the attitude of the Yes crowd that made me chose not too. I guess not voting makes me a bigot, may God have mercy on my soul….

Mute Carmina Kearney
    Favourite Carmina Kearney
    May 22nd 2015, 5:08 PM

Ah you have to give the trolls something to do. ;) Ignore them, they don’t go away but don’t give them any attention.

Mute Spencer Millard
    May 22nd 2015, 5:58 PM

Don’t be such a baby, Mark.

And if you didn’t vote today, even for the Backwards Brigade, you should be ashamed of yourself. This is one of the most important referendums this country has been granted. I would love to have had the opportunity, but the British government made their decision on my behalf. I agreed with their decision, but that’s not the point.

Still, it is your right to waste your vote too.

Mute John Fogarty
    Favourite John Fogarty
    May 22nd 2015, 6:44 PM

mark i have to agree with you it was the attitude of the yes people that made me make it my business to vote no.they were outright agressive so a big no from me and if it is passed well at least in years to come i can look back proudly and say at least i voted no and did not bow down to sheer agression and anger and insults said to people who even suggested the fact they were goin to vote no.

Mute Spencer Millard
    May 24th 2015, 11:35 AM

Another imbecile. A protest vote is what you expect from an obstreperous adolescent, not a grown man who should have the wit and compassion to take advantage of the opportunity to treat all consenting Irish adults equally.

Anyway, today is Sunday and you lost. Well done Ireland, I’m really pleased for you all.

Mute Kilroy Internazionale
    Favourite Kilroy Internazionale
    May 22nd 2015, 8:43 AM

voted YES.

Mute David Hanlon
    Favourite David Hanlon
    May 22nd 2015, 9:40 AM

Just voted a big fat yes, never felt so proud to vote. Attendants in the polling station told me they hadn’t seen such a turnout in years, makes me hopeful for a resounding Yes victory tomorrow.

Mute Orlaith
    Favourite Orlaith
    May 22nd 2015, 8:28 AM

#YUSSSSS

Mute Thomas Murphy
    Favourite Thomas Murphy
    May 22nd 2015, 8:40 AM

Heading off shortly to vote no.

Mute ah_enda
    Favourite ah_enda
    May 22nd 2015, 8:44 AM

Good for you Tom..

Mute Mark Nolan
    Favourite Mark Nolan
    May 22nd 2015, 8:51 AM

Everyone else telling the world they voted yes, Tom is entitled to tell us he voted no

Mute Anthony Lang
    Favourite Anthony Lang
    May 22nd 2015, 9:07 AM

Tom , at least you are voting although I suspect that your vote is for nothing if Paddy Power is right!

Mute John Payne
    Favourite John Payne
    May 22nd 2015, 9:14 AM

Anthony, why do you feel the need to finish your comment in such a childish way? Accept his choice of vote and leave it at that. I’ve read most of your comments on the subject, respect your choice but absolutely detest how you denigrate ‘no’ voters.

Mute Anthony Lang
    Favourite Anthony Lang
    May 22nd 2015, 9:17 AM

People are entitled to know about the prospects of their vote. Many NO voters will vote NO anyway but it looks like the NO vote will not carry the day.

Mute John Payne
    Favourite John Payne
    May 22nd 2015, 9:26 AM

Are you in charge of counting polling results?
    What weight does your view on the results carry? None I suspect, meaning that it was just another snipe at a no voter.

Mute Anthony Lang
    Favourite Anthony Lang
    May 22nd 2015, 9:31 AM

It’s not my view, it is Paddy Power’s view. Paddy Power may be wrong but I hope that it is right.

Mute Thomas Murphy
    Favourite Thomas Murphy
    May 22nd 2015, 9:51 AM

That may be true Anthony. Do you think I should just not bother then? That’s no attitude to take in life. Stand for what you think is right, not what people tell you is right.

Mute Anthony Lang
    Favourite Anthony Lang
    May 22nd 2015, 10:07 AM

Thomas, I have stood up for what is right by already having voted yes.

A note voter can and should vote no even if the no vote is an exercise in negativity and futility.

Mute Thomas Murphy
    Favourite Thomas Murphy
    May 22nd 2015, 10:23 AM

Well then it seems that we have both wasted our time Anthony. As my vote, which I have just completed, has cancelled yours. Hopefully more will take my place.

Mute Anthony Lang
    Favourite Anthony Lang
    May 22nd 2015, 11:22 AM

Thomas, an expression of positivity and the embrace of inclusivity is never wasted. I will be one of the very many people who voted yes and collectively succeeded in reforming our constitution. I am but one insignificant contributor to what looks a truly great result.

Mute YippyDee
    Favourite YippyDee
    May 22nd 2015, 10:50 AM

Voted YES and kept my word to a person here on the Journal.
    I think her name is Aibhe? You probably don’t remember, a comment you
    made on another article. I was always going to vote yes, but on that day, you gave me
    more reasons to. Here’s hoping that you will be shedding those happy tears tomorrow girl, when the results come in :)

Mute Niamh Aonbheannach
    Favourite Niamh Aonbheannach
    May 22nd 2015, 12:54 PM

That is so nice! :) Hope she sees this.

Mute Hanneke Vermolen
    Favourite Hanneke Vermolen
    May 22nd 2015, 3:29 PM

I remember you saying it & good for you to come back & let her know. Here’s to Ailbhe being able to get married soon.

Mute Justine Quinn
    Favourite Justine Quinn
    May 22nd 2015, 11:09 AM

We are hoping to get married this Autumn, please take the time to vote before 10pm tonight!

Mute Richard Cheney
    Favourite Richard Cheney
    May 22nd 2015, 1:39 PM

You have my vote and that of my wife Justine,you will no longer be separate but the same tomorrow,best of luck with your wedding plans!

Mute UndercoverGarda
    Favourite UndercoverGarda
    May 22nd 2015, 8:53 AM

YES!

Mute Anthony Lang
    Favourite Anthony Lang
    May 22nd 2015, 9:11 AM

Today is looking like a great day.

Well done to the army of bright, young and enthusiastic yes canvassers at the various junctions. Respect to you all. You will increase the voting turnout and that can only be good.

Mute Donald Farfrae
    Favourite Donald Farfrae

One must remember to buy shares in that fine company making adult nappies.

Once state sponsored buggery becomes law, sales will go through the roof.

Mute Anthony Lang
    Favourite Anthony Lang
    May 22nd 2015, 9:25 AM

And for all those on the Yes side, see Donald Farfrae’s disgusting attitude as typical of the NO side. Voting yes is voting no to plain bigotry such a Donald Farfrae’s

Mute Donald Farfrae
    Favourite Donald Farfrae
    May 22nd 2015, 9:39 AM

Anthony Lang – how is giving investment advice “bigotry”.

You really must learn to be more constructive with your PC buzz words.

Mute Barry Flanagan
    Favourite Barry Flanagan
    May 22nd 2015, 10:01 AM

Your bigotry is all too common, Donald, but your ignorance is astonishing.

Homosexual acts were decriminalised in 1993.

Mute Donald Farfrae
    Favourite Donald Farfrae
    May 22nd 2015, 10:07 AM

Barry Flanagan –

Yes ..but long …long before 1993 , homosexual acts were positively rife – to the point where they dominated society. The distinction in the ancient world was not between man/woman – but between the penetrator and the penetrated. Women were a mere “option” – not important – the same gratification could easily be had with a catamite.

The Yes vote takes us back towards that kind of society.

Mute Rob Cahill
    Favourite Rob Cahill

Sounds like you think about this stuff way too much Donald.

Mute FightFireWithFire
    Favourite FightFireWithFire
    May 22nd 2015, 12:06 PM

@Donald

Jeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeesssssssssssuusssssssssssssssssss

Mute Tom Sullivan
    Favourite Tom Sullivan
    May 22nd 2015, 1:13 PM

I thought canvassing was off limits on the day of a plebiscite. If it is not, then it should be.

Mute UndercoverGarda
    Favourite UndercoverGarda
    May 22nd 2015, 1:13 PM

Donald, are you trying to tell us something about your own sexual inclinations? We’re here to listen, not judge.

Mute Sheik Yahbouti
    Favourite Sheik Yahbouti
    May 22nd 2015, 2:36 PM

Barry, it’s another fake account – with two tweets. A large number of these appeared all of a sudden!

Mute The Dude
    Favourite The Dude
    May 22nd 2015, 3:51 PM

@Lang – Give it a rest lang will ya!

Mute Anthony Lang
    Favourite Anthony Lang
    May 22nd 2015, 5:37 PM

The Dude, I have freedom of expression. You keep asking me to stop and I’ll keep going until the final result is in.

Not looking good for The Dude, not looking good at all.

The Dude may not be so cool tomorrow. Bye

Mute Irish Druid
    Favourite Irish Druid

I voted yes at 7.05 in wexford town on both

Mute Emer Caffrey
    Favourite Emer Caffrey
    May 22nd 2015, 8:53 AM

vincent’s tick & x are a bit misleading, if you’re voting ‘yes’ in the marriage referendum, put an x in the box

Mute Anthony Lang
    Favourite Anthony Lang
    May 22nd 2015, 9:09 AM

Emer, the “tick” instead of an “X” catches some out. Well done for drawing attention to this.

Mute Were Jammin
    Favourite Were Jammin
    May 22nd 2015, 9:57 AM

Not often you get the chance to make our state a more equal and fairer place for its citizens, so I’ve my voting card in my glovebox and am looking forward to voting a big ‘YES’ on my way home from work later.

Mute Carmina Kearney
    Favourite Carmina Kearney
    May 22nd 2015, 10:03 AM

My vote is done. People the white ballot paper is for the marriage referendum and the green is for the age of president. As the prominent language is Irish, and the English is very small, I find this worrying, could be confusing. Check and double check and check again for good measure, your putting the right vote on the right ballot paper…..

Mute Gary Pheasey
    Favourite Gary Pheasey
    May 22nd 2015, 6:34 PM

Thankfully the returning officer in our polling station was telling people which sheet was which as they handed them out. I really think some people will mix them up. I also think that the organisers could have made the voting sheets alot clearer.

Mute Mark Nolan
    Favourite Mark Nolan
    May 22nd 2015, 8:01 AM

#useyourvote no you’re ok thanks……

Mute Anthony Lang
    Favourite Anthony Lang
    May 22nd 2015, 8:08 AM

Mark Nolan, your time has passed. It’s time for a positive and inclusive outlook and not before time.

Mute Thomas Murphy
    Favourite Thomas Murphy
    May 22nd 2015, 8:44 AM

Positive and inclusive? does that nit include the no voters in your eyes. Why not just stop commenting Anthony?

Mute Anthony Lang
    Favourite Anthony Lang
    May 22nd 2015, 9:04 AM

It’s time to put paid to the lies and deceits of the NO side.

Mute Mark Nolan
    Favourite Mark Nolan
    May 22nd 2015, 9:08 AM

It’s time to put paid to the demands of the yes side & vote what ever way we want

Mute Anthony Lang
    Favourite Anthony Lang
    May 22nd 2015, 9:12 AM

mark, it’s just time to vote and to vote well.

Mute Onepz
    Favourite Onepz
    May 22nd 2015, 10:44 AM

vote

Mute helixjo1
    Favourite helixjo1
    May 22nd 2015, 10:54 AM

@Thomas yes positive and inclusive does include no voters.

You are welcome to come join us in the 21st century.

Mute Anthony Lang
    Favourite Anthony Lang

Today is a wonderful opportunity to do real good by taking the time and the trouble to vote yes.

Some of those looking in on Ireland are gay people who have had to emigrate from Ireland due to prejudice against them in Ireland, only because they were gay.

This is what I have received on Tuesday from a gay man in his late thirties who left Ireland, has not come back to Ireland and who is looking at this Referendum very closely from afar.

“Dear all,

I just wanted to impress on you how strongly I feel about the upcoming referendum on marriage equality. If this had been a thing when I was growing up I could have avoided a confused and distraught period of my life when I thought myself an abomination and doomed to hell.

I wondered if my life was worth living as a gay man.

Voting yes takes nothing away from straight people but gives an amazingly strong message of acceptance to gay people. Particularly to children and teenagers who are struggling with their identity.

Thanks x ”

Today, please thing about the real harm that a NO vote will do and the real good that a yes vote will do. Please.

We have a great opportunity today to do the right thing.

Mute Donald Farfrae
    Favourite Donald Farfrae
    May 22nd 2015, 8:55 AM

lets make Ireland the gayest country in europe.

lets tell our kids that fairy tales end with the prince marrying the prince.

lets make sure that anal sex is celebrated as a normal healthy practice and presented as such to children in primary schools.

Vote YES.

Mute Anthony Lang
    Favourite Anthony Lang
    May 22nd 2015, 9:15 AM

Donald Farfrae, always the bitter words. You and what you stand for are relics of a passing era. Bye.

Mute Guy Incognito
    Favourite Guy Incognito
    May 22nd 2015, 9:19 AM

I have no problem with any of the above tbh.

Mute John Payne
    Favourite John Payne
    May 22nd 2015, 9:20 AM

You’re a sick individual Donald. Not because of your ‘Yes’ vote, but because you want our kids to be taught the ‘Kama Sutra’ at school.

Kids are already taught about sexual reproduction and relationships. The last time I checked, you can’t reproduce via the anus so it’s just a form of sexual pleasure, hardly needed in the curriculum eh??? While I can imagine your excitement with today’s event, I hope that society doesn’t grant all of your wishes mentioned.

Mute Donald Farfrae
    Favourite Donald Farfrae
    May 22nd 2015, 9:21 AM

“relics of a passing era.”

Funny you should say that – Im not particularly old myself.

But I am aware that today’s teenagers use the word “gay” to indicate something less than proper.

Think on that perhaps?

Mute Donald Farfrae
    Favourite Donald Farfrae

John Payne – ” I hope that society doesn’t grant all of your wishes mentioned.”

Relax John – I was being ironic.

Wish I had adopted such an approach in my comments to date.

Irony appears to be much more effective.

It will be genuinely scary what changes will be made on the back of a yes vote.

Mute Anthony Lang
    Favourite Anthony Lang
    May 22nd 2015, 9:27 AM

Donald, you are young in years but obsolete in attitude.

Mute culloden84
    Favourite culloden84
    May 22nd 2015, 9:31 AM

Donald-You are sick individual.Seriously- would show primary kids a video of your sexual practices?.Get help-Fast.

Mute John Payne
    Favourite John Payne
    May 22nd 2015, 9:33 AM

@Donald, yep, irony now noticed. Apologies….

Mute Donald Farfrae
    Favourite Donald Farfrae
    May 22nd 2015, 9:36 AM

“Donald, you are young in years but obsolete in attitude.”

If you want to do “obsolete” – I would suggest one go back to the ancient world where homosexuality was the norm. The age of the catamite and the unrestrained male sex urge. The relegation of women etc.

Investigate what that led to, and why it had to be suppressed.

This is all one has to do in order to see through the childish emotions of the Yes side.

Beyond all the platitudes, there is a serious rationale behind marriage being between a man and a woman. Scratch the surface of that rationale and the only vote to cast is a “No” vote.

But it looks like things will have to get worse before they get better. I will concede to you that.

Mute John McHugh
    Favourite John McHugh
    May 22nd 2015, 9:37 AM

iirc sex education is something which happens in second level and this vote is about acknowledging all citizens as being equal in the eyes of the law.
    I’m straight and I voted yes for exactly that reason.
    I don’t want to force people to be someone they aren’t or feel stigmatized and isolated from society as a whole for falling in love.
    To infer that treating gay people with respect and dignity will convert someone who is straight is ridiculous.
    It’s not a choice for people.
    No matter what way this vote goes there will still be the same number of straight and gay people here afterwards.

Mute Tordelback
    Favourite Tordelback
    May 22nd 2015, 10:34 AM

My kids (6 and 9) were genuinely incredulous that you couldn’t marry who you wanted already, so the fairy tale ending is already equal-opportunities as far as they’re concerned. My youngest daughter gave her No-voting Nana an awful time on the subject: ‘you mean if I fall in love with a girl, you wouldn’t let me marry her? That’s disgraceful!’. Much backpedalling ensued. The age of the dinosaurs is officially over.

Mute reg gordon
    Favourite reg gordon
    May 22nd 2015, 12:04 PM

Ok I will so

Mute Brid Tierney Saez-Benito
    Favourite Brid Tierney Saez-Benito
    May 22nd 2015, 2:10 PM

Felt so emotional for all my gay friends in Ireland today after voting – heres to the end of all the pain, hurt and living in a society where many have not accepted the ability of people to love regardless of gender. As my 101 year old grandmother recently said, what difference does it make if they are boys or girls as long as two people love each other? Heres hoping Yes all the way .

Mute Sean Barry
    Favourite Sean Barry
    May 22nd 2015, 9:21 AM

Just stopped on the way to work to vote, a big big fat no

Mute Alan J. McKenna
    Favourite Alan J. McKenna
    May 22nd 2015, 9:32 AM

Prepare for a big big fat disappointment.

Mute John Tierney
    Favourite John Tierney
    May 22nd 2015, 9:34 AM

Took pleasure in voting NO. Job done.

Mute Dave Murray
    Favourite Dave Murray
    May 22nd 2015, 9:41 AM

Good for you, I will take great pleasure in voting yes.

Mute Mark Nolan
    Favourite Mark Nolan
    May 22nd 2015, 10:40 AM

Easily amused aren’t you Dave

Mute Bulie Julie
    Favourite Bulie Julie
    May 22nd 2015, 2:50 PM

@ John I hope your life feels more complete now

Mute Better Call Callely
    Favourite Better Call Callely
    May 22nd 2015, 9:32 AM

I can’t vote. Sadly the government didn’t follow the recommendations to the constitution convention and hold a referendum to extend the franchise to non residents.

Mute Big Bear
    Favourite Big Bear
    May 22nd 2015, 12:03 PM

Just back from voting. Had to take one of the neighbours down in the wheelchair. Great to see everyone making the effort to vote. Hopefully it’s a winning yes vote they deserve it.

Mute Bernadette
    Favourite Bernadette

I’ve just voted. I must say, I found the ballot paper confusing. You had to search to see which Amendment each paper referred to. The Amendment wasn’t quoted in full as we had been led to believe it would be. Just two words “marriage equality” in brackets which required a good scan of the paper to find.

Mute John Sherwin
    Favourite John Sherwin
    May 22nd 2015, 1:33 PM

Agree with that, I pointed this out to the person who seemed unimpressed (maybe they were getting ready for a bristly electorate). I think there is a strong chance that some votes will be incorrect due to a mixup. I accept that they might not be able to quote the full text on the paper but they could have taken the reference to “Age act” and “Equality Act” and make them big, bold and at the top of each page.

Mute Cooking School
    Favourite Cooking School
    May 22nd 2015, 12:04 PM

Delighted to be able to vote Yes for Equality today and hoping for a big turnout of like minded people to support all our gay and lesbian friends and in particular to help stop bullying and discrimination and show all our young gay people they are fully supported and protected in our society and by the state.

Mute Tom Sullivan
    Favourite Tom Sullivan
    May 22nd 2015, 1:15 PM

So if it passes, all the glaring inequalities in our country will magically disappear? Like children going to school hungry? People who want to work having no opportunity to do so? Or is those inequalities just not as important as the right of same-sex couples to marry?

Mute Gagsy 99
    Favourite Gagsy 99
    May 22nd 2015, 5:25 PM

Relevance, Your Honour?

Mute dontletitslip
    Favourite dontletitslip
    May 22nd 2015, 9:30 AM

Anthony would nearly make you vote No!

Mute Anthony Lang
    Favourite Anthony Lang
    May 22nd 2015, 9:36 AM

Only if you are too ignorant to know what the two Referenda are actually about.

Mute Dell
    Favourite Dell
    May 22nd 2015, 9:39 AM

Just take deep breaths and think “bigger picture”, That’s what I do.

Mute dontletitslip
    Favourite dontletitslip
    May 22nd 2015, 9:44 AM

Or to use capitalization when not required. Considering there is a possibility that you can vote yes in one and no in the other then, we can take it your push for a yes in both.

Mute Anthony Lang
    Favourite Anthony Lang
    May 22nd 2015, 9:54 AM

The important Referendum is the Referendum on same sex civil marriage. It is likely to be passed and a Yes majority will deliver to the opportunity to same sex couples to marry.

This will also signify a societal and community acceptance that gay relationships are deserving of the same esteem as straight relationships.

In this way, there will be an acceptance of the fact that gay people and straight people are all people, worth of equal respect and of equal dignity.

This will be a significant step in the dismantling on homophobia is part of Irish society, recognising that homophobia is already a minority outlook, especially in the younger generations.

Mute dontletitslip
    Favourite dontletitslip
    May 22nd 2015, 10:39 AM

homophobia will still exist and those who vote no may take a stronger stance. Just by voting yes won’t go anywhere near dismantling it.

Mute Dell
    Favourite Dell
    May 22nd 2015, 10:59 AM

dontletitslip it may not make a difference straight away but eventually I think it will.

Mute Brian Madden
    Favourite Brian Madden
    May 22nd 2015, 11:01 AM

@dontletitslip. You are right, homophobia will not disappear overnight. This is a step in the right direction, 20,000 Irish kids called childline last year with sexuality issues, lgbt people are seven times more likely to commit suicide. A yes vote gives kids hope. I personally would like to live in am equal society. It’s your vote, your choice.

Mute Anthony Lang
    Favourite Anthony Lang
    May 22nd 2015, 11:30 AM

Brian, a step in the right direction and to a time when it will be totally socially unacceptable to express homophobic sentiments. We are changing, too slowly, but there are tipping points in human attitudes and this is why the NO campaigned so ferociously and dishonestly so as to stop the path of progress.

Today is about the achievement of full equality. It will be good for us all, gay and straight, united in equality and esteem.

To a good result and to an evening of national celebration tomorrow evening if the Referendum is passed.

Mute right wing
    Favourite right wing
    May 22nd 2015, 8:18 AM

Labour need this win badly

Mute Anthony Lang
    Favourite Anthony Lang

right wing, a yes vote will do Labour no good. A NO vote will do Labour no harm. Labour is irrelevant.

Mute Mickey Fennessy
    Favourite Mickey Fennessy
    May 22nd 2015, 9:33 AM

Right wing who is labour ?

Mute Alice Caffrey
    Favourite Alice Caffrey
    May 22nd 2015, 4:34 PM

My husband and I voted yes as will my five children. It won’t change anything in my life but hopefully it will for loving same sex couples who can stand up in front of their friends and family and say I do.
    I hope tolerance wins the day

Mute John Sherwin
    Favourite John Sherwin

The first thing I saw when voting in Cabra was a large copy of the Bible at the front of the first desk in the room. Apparently this is to swear on if the voter does not have ID. Personally I think this is pressure on undecided voters. Surely the Bible can be produced when needed rather than serving as an advertisement? (She did mention that aethiests could swear on a constitutional document instead, however that was not on display). If I cannot wear a badge into the polling station I don’t see why a reminder of the church perspective should be there all day to influence people.

Mute The Dude
    Favourite The Dude
    May 22nd 2015, 3:53 PM

@John – That must have been very traumatic for you John. I’m sure you’ll get over it.

Mute John Sherwin
    Favourite John Sherwin
    May 22nd 2015, 5:43 PM

No trauma Dude, an expected irritation, got over it and moving on into the future with my friends :)

Mute Cora Ba Bora
    Favourite Cora Ba Bora
    May 22nd 2015, 3:20 PM

Too young to vote but I hope that there are enough people out there willing to vote YES for me! #TáForGrá

Mute claire finnegan
    Favourite claire finnegan
    May 22nd 2015, 3:24 PM

I really hope it’s a yes vote but even if it’s not; I’m so proud of Ireland!! All over twitter and facebook we have seen people literally travelling the world to vote in this referendum!!! That’s amazing that people are willing to go to that effort to vote in this referendum <3 makes me feel all warm and fuzzy inside!!! #voteyes

Mute helixjo1
    Favourite helixjo1

For those claiming that the ‘Typical Yes Supporter’ has been attacking them personally ,and being abusive in general, I have just one point to make.

No pole has shown support for the Yes side to be less than 50%. I will be extremely generous to your point of view and assume that at the very least 40% of people are yes supporters.

The very fact that you assume there is ‘typical’ behaviour for such a large portion of the population is evident of you’re ability to bias yourself as much as, if not more than, those you claim are all calling you homophobes.

The majority are, so far, for a yes. I would postulate that the majority of those yes voters are nice enough people who have not attacked anyone for their views.

Mute Bulie Julie
    Favourite Bulie Julie
    May 22nd 2015, 2:39 PM

C’mon Ireland we can do it! Leave all those no voters behind in the last century!

Mute Ryan Kelly
    Favourite Ryan Kelly
    May 22nd 2015, 4:17 PM

Mam and Dad just voted Yes on both referenda! Good call!

Mute Darragh
    Favourite Darragh
    May 22nd 2015, 1:14 PM

I voted no for the craic

Mute Gagsy 99
    Favourite Gagsy 99
    May 22nd 2015, 5:23 PM

LOL

Mute Aoibhín
    Favourite Aoibhín
    May 22nd 2015, 12:59 PM

For the right reasons at least Ireland is on the front pages of the international media, the #hometovote group reminds us that we lost an amazing batch of people during the recession but their hearts still belong to this tiny island

Mute Gagsy 99
    Favourite Gagsy 99

I’m sure there are a few arseholes among them too.

Mute Michelle Courtney
    Favourite Michelle Courtney
    May 22nd 2015, 3:56 PM

I voted a big fat YES on my way to work this lunch time.
    I don’t feel it is right to discriminate against anyone because of their age, gender, sexuality, race etc. For me, everyone has a right to love. It is a wonderful thing and should it be celebrated, no matter who the people are.
    As for the No people going on about the fact that children deserve a mother and father, there are already gay couples who have children. This referendum won’t change that.
    Times have changed, and so has the family dynamics. It is no longer a mother and father and 2.4 children. There are separated parents, one parent families, step/half brothers and sisters. At the end of the day, as long as the child grows up in a safe and loving home, then that’s all that matters!

Mute Rob Rockett
    Favourite Rob Rockett
    May 22nd 2015, 11:20 AM

I wish I was at home to vote!

Mute Mark Nolan
    Favourite Mark Nolan
    May 22nd 2015, 1:03 PM

Why aren’t you? Forced to emigrate were you?

Mute Bulie Julie
    Favourite Bulie Julie
    May 22nd 2015, 4:15 PM

He was, the gays stole all the jobs!!!

Mute Donald Farfrae
    Favourite Donald Farfrae
    May 22nd 2015, 9:30 AM

Why is sex channeled into male/female marriage?
    Was the law saying gays could not marry just “bigoted” ?

Or was there more to it?

Human sexuality, especially male sexuality, is polymorphous, or utterly wild (far more so than animal sexuality). Men have had sex with women and with men; with little girls and young boys; with a single partner and in large groups; with total strangers and immediate family members; and with a variety of domesticated animals. They have achieved orgasm with inanimate objects such as leather, shoes, and other pieces of clothing, through urinating and defecating on each other (interested readers can see a photograph of the former at select art museums exhibiting the works of the photographer Robert Mapplethorpe); by dressing in women’s garments; by watching other human beings being tortured; by fondling children of either sex; by listening to a woman’s disembodied voice (e.g., “phone sex”); and, of course, by looking at pictures of bodies or parts of bodies. There is little, animate or inanimate, that has not excited some men to orgasm. Of course, not all of these practices have been condoned by societies — parent-child incest and seducing another’s man’s wife have rarely been countenanced — but many have, and all illustrate what the unchanneled, or in Freudian terms, the “un-sublimated,” sex drive can lead to.

When Judaism demanded that all sexual activity be channeled into marriage, it changed the world. The Torah’s prohibition of non-marital sex quite simply made the creation of Western civilization possible. Societies that did not place boundaries around sexuality were stymied in their development. The subsequent dominance of the Western world can largely be attributed to the sexual revolution initiated by Judaism and later carried forward by Christianity.

This revolution consisted of forcing the sexual genie into the marital bottle. It ensured that sex no longer dominated society, heightened male-female love and sexuality (and thereby almost alone created the possibility of love and eroticism within marriage), and began the arduous task of elevating the status of women.

It is probably impossible for us, who live thousands of years after Judaism began this process, to perceive the extent to which undisciplined sex can dominate man’s life and the life of society. Throughout the ancient world, and up to the recent past in many parts of the world, sexuality infused virtually all of society.”

Mute Anthony Lang
    Favourite Anthony Lang
    May 22nd 2015, 9:34 AM

Donald, and soon and so forth, forever and forever and such like….

I’d say that your comment convinced a huge amount of bigoted NO voters to vote NO.

Mute Donald Farfrae
    Favourite Donald Farfrae
    May 22nd 2015, 9:43 AM

A tame reply.

I expected you would be licking your lips at some of the content of my comment?

Just think – once a Yes passes – we are passed phase 1 towards complete sexual liberation.

You will literally be able to do “what you want” to “whomever you want”.

We can turn the country into a giant gay bar – with EVERYONE invited – for the people will have spoken.

Fancy that !!

See 14 more replies ▾
    Mute Dave Murray
    Favourite Dave Murray
    May 22nd 2015, 9:45 AM

You seem a bit fascinated by sex Donald….get relief somewhere.

Mute Anthony Lang
    Favourite Anthony Lang
    May 22nd 2015, 9:47 AM

Donald, care to expand on that comment.

Mute Donald Farfrae
    Favourite Donald Farfrae
    May 22nd 2015, 9:49 AM

It was pretty expansive – ? the longest comment on this thread so far if im not mistaken.?

Mute Dell
    Favourite Dell
    May 22nd 2015, 9:51 AM

Donald it’s like you have decided “feck it, we’ve lost so I’m going to say every offensive thing I can think of because I don’t have to be nice anymore”, it’s actually quite amusing and if there were actually undecided people out there, you would be pushing them towards a yes.

Mute Donald Farfrae
    Favourite Donald Farfrae
    May 22nd 2015, 9:57 AM

Something being “offensive” does not stop it being true.

Mute Dell
    Favourite Dell

Doesn’t stop it being a lie either. I feel better now that we have clarified the meaning that little bit more.

Mute Anthony Lang
    Favourite Anthony Lang
    May 22nd 2015, 10:11 AM

Donald, may be if you go out and actually vote, you might be able to exorcise all that venom and bile.

Today is you last opportunity to express your homophobia, hate and malevolent prejudice.

Mute Donald Farfrae
    Favourite Donald Farfrae
    May 22nd 2015, 10:12 AM

That would make sense – IF you could tell me where I have lied?

But you have made no attempt to do so.

Mute Donald Farfrae
    Favourite Donald Farfrae
    May 22nd 2015, 10:21 AM

“Today is you last opportunity to express your homophobia, hate and malevolent prejudice.”

Perhaps not Anthony old boy?

The passing of a yes vote, will potentially do the exact thing that homosexuals do not want – ie….a spotlight shone on their “activities”.

The realities of homosexual relations have been conveniently absent in this debate, and indeed even I, would not wish to plumb these depths – i simply don’t have the stomach.

But they will have to be highlighted sometime.

Indeed, its possibe that Gay ‘marriage’ is an ‘own goal’ for gays and will almost certainly cause gay/straight relationships into reverse after many decades of improvement, acceptance, and integration.

Give someone enough rope….

Mute Rob Cahill
    Favourite Rob Cahill
    May 22nd 2015, 11:00 AM

“a spotlight shone on their “activities”.

We are not all that interested in what other people do behind closed doors. But there are websites you can check out seen as you are so fascinated with it all.

Mute Donald Farfrae
    Favourite Donald Farfrae
    May 22nd 2015, 11:42 AM

“We are not all that interested in what other people do behind closed doors. ”

Why do you insist homosexual sex is kept behind closed doors?

What kind of obsolete bigot are you!!?

Mute Rob Cahill
    Favourite Rob Cahill
    May 22nd 2015, 12:21 PM

Where did I insist that?? Which of the idiots is this anyway?? Joe, Aryan, Tom or Tony?. It seems like you are a mix of all of them.

Mute FightFireWithFire
    Favourite FightFireWithFire
    May 22nd 2015, 1:07 PM

@Donald

Yet again I say, Jeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeesuuuuuuuuussssssssssss

Mute Pádráig O'Gáirmléadháigh
    Favourite Pádráig O'Gáirmléadháigh
    May 23rd 2015, 1:19 PM

Donald Farfrae Your ignorance is astounding if you think Gay people “get up ” to anything breeders don’t do. World wide, poor straight people use anal sex as a free and convenient alternative to unaffordable contraception. Less than half of Gay people worldwide engage in anal sex! You however seem to be, like all deluded theists, obsessed with Gay sex in particular. Perhaps you should come out of the closet now that the people have indicated they have no problem with Gay people….

Mute seamus mckenzie
    Favourite seamus mckenzie
    May 22nd 2015, 1:50 PM

It will interesting to compare stats on voter turnout, compared say when an election comes round??

Mute Gagsy 99
    Favourite Gagsy 99
    May 22nd 2015, 5:22 PM

That’s your Sunday sorted so!

Mute helen kennerney
    Favourite helen kennerney
    May 22nd 2015, 3:11 PM

Fascinating watching,reading and listening to how the voting is going today from Ontario Canada. So different to election results as they happen in North American where results as posted by the minute soon after the polling stations open, other than hearing turnout is higher than the norm, nothing else.
    I sincerely hope it’s a big “YES”.

Mute culloden84
    Favourite culloden84
    May 22nd 2015, 11:47 AM

Donald- all humans need to belong to a group or society as a whole.All of our past Society/Culture/Tribes etc have/ had religious roots and meanings.This does not mean you have to be religious in order to been cultivated,but living in a country that is religious will have an affect on how you live and act .The core of our common culture today is religious based.In the past tribes etc flourished because they had gods/beliefs,they are many types religions of course.Hellenic,Judaic, and Christian culture and beliefs.So we have a pattern of beliefs in which society is founded on.So then- 1. The core of common culture is religion.2 The core of common society is community,(we cant survive on our own) What you are saying then is that Abortion,homosexuality is part of modern culture and cast it aside?.How do you change society then? As those things are part of modern culture today and confronting people with the” dangers within” wont change anything.So what will?Simply curious.

Mute Donald Farfrae
    Favourite Donald Farfrae
    May 22nd 2015, 11:59 AM

culloden84 –

To answer your quesiton on “confronting people with the” dangers within” – I have no idea.

I am simply someone with whom the penny has dropped.

I’ve recently come to cherish those value systems that stemmed from Christianity and can see clearly that one core religion will always be replaced by another, whenever there is a void.

I no longer call myself an atheist because the replacement for Christianity is far too frightening and the humanists simply pretend it isn’t happening.

Mute culloden84
    Favourite culloden84
    May 22nd 2015, 12:52 PM

I gathered as much,this is why I was asking.There is many out there with very fundamentalist view (cultish) and this is also opposing Christianity.This can be far more damaging than extreme liberalism .(Scott Hahn has very good books)And is read by ppl of all faiths.Just a thought-One religion is replaced by another because they have not recognised the truth.Its the truth that sets you free.(Jn 8:32)So then this is why fundamentalist Christianity does not work either,(I am speaking of the people not entirely honest in their approach to Christianity)As many people use Christianity as way to hit out at society,they are angry so go on picking fights and judging others. Avoid fundamentalism at any level.

Mute Sarah Mc
    Favourite Sarah Mc
    May 22nd 2015, 4:57 PM

Woke up to see thejournal.ie on the Canadian morning news. Amazing day for Ireland #voteyes

Mute Donald Farfrae
    Favourite Donald Farfrae
    May 22nd 2015, 11:46 AM

Odd isn’t it that even those who support “gay marriage” seem surprisingly shy of
    using the phrase. I notice it very quickly morphed into “equal marriage” during the SSM debate and it now appears to be the accepted phraseology.

And now I notice the badges being worn by its supporters of a yes vote read “I’m voting yes” not for gay marriage but for “equality.”

What are they ashamed of >?

Is it just a devious PR ploy where they hope that those who oppose gay marriage will think twice before voting against “equality”, rather like being against “motherhood and apple pie”?

A cheap stunt or a hint of desperation maybe.?

Or even perhaps more insidiously resorting to the “newspeak” of Orwell’s dystopian novel “1984″ to which the liberal left seem ever more drawn.

Mute Matt Knott
    Favourite Matt Knott
    May 22nd 2015, 12:36 PM

I’m not ashamed of anything.

Why are you obsessed with shame and sex acts? Seen your other posts here and it’s a strange mix of curiosity, complete disconnection with reality and having no clue about any of it.

Gay marriage is about equality. It’s morphed because LGBT people are included in this who don’t al identify as gay hence SSM then when you get down to it it’s just marriage so marriage equality. A logical progression which is for the good of all involved.

Mute Sheik Yahbouti
    Favourite Sheik Yahbouti
    May 22nd 2015, 2:45 PM

Matt, I reckon he is ‘Senator’ Ronan Mullen :-D. Democracy doesn’t always provide the desired result – I voted to get rid of him and the other shower of wasters. I was sadly disappointed.

Mute Donald Farfrae
    Favourite Donald Farfrae
    May 22nd 2015, 2:48 PM

“Gay Marriage is about equality”

But there can be no equality where people are different ..eg in the case of men and women.

Do you know why marriage has been limited (until now) to 2 people of the opposite sex?

The basic reason is that marriage is an intrinsically gendered institution which simply reflects the biological reality that males and females evolved dimorphically, so that the male would protect and provision the female and their offspring.

Without a weak female protected by a strong male and his male kin, and children requiring long periods of provisioning, it would not exist at all.

Many humans develop an incorrect sexual imprinting. When it’s gender, we call it homosexuality. When it doesn’t imprint on the correct secondary characteristics to indicate fertility, we call it paedophilia or gerontophilia. Wrong species, we call zoophilia. Some people are entirely asexual.

Because some people have a broken sexuality, it does not entitle them to institutional equality of this form.

Two people of the same sex literally cannot marry, even if they have a piece of paper from the state claiming they are married. It defies the basic logic of human sex, gender and biological function.

Mute Hanneke Vermolen
    Favourite Hanneke Vermolen
    May 22nd 2015, 3:31 PM

Because its a vote for marriage, gay people don’t gay park their cars. They don’t have gay lunch and hopefully after today they will be able to get married not gay married.

Mute Con ODomhnaill
    Favourite Con ODomhnaill
    May 22nd 2015, 10:31 AM

When you are casting your vote drop a little note in the ballot box saying “No Way We Won’t Pay” in protest at Fine Gael’s failure to give us a referendum on the future of Irish Water (giving us instead a pointless referendum on the age of the Presidency)

Mute Donald Farfrae
    Favourite Donald Farfrae
    May 22nd 2015, 10:01 AM

THE SECOND COMING

Turning and turning in the widening gyre
    The falcon cannot hear the falconer;
    Things fall apart; the centre cannot hold;
    Mere anarchy is loosed upon the world,
    The blood-dimmed tide is loosed, and everywhere
    The ceremony of innocence is drowned;
    The best lack all conviction, while the worst
    Are full of passionate intensity.

Mute William Boyd
    Favourite William Boyd
    May 22nd 2015, 10:10 AM

Donald you should seriously think of relocating to somewhere like Texas you would fit in with the locals like a snug glove.

Mute Donald Farfrae
    Favourite Donald Farfrae
    May 22nd 2015, 10:22 AM

Right on Will .

A great one liner .

Mute William Boyd
    Favourite William Boyd
    May 22nd 2015, 10:25 AM

or even convert to Islam and relocate to Iran where you can wallow in the public executions of gays. unfortunately you won’t be able to bring a six pack to the party.

Mute Donald Farfrae
    Favourite Donald Farfrae
    May 22nd 2015, 10:38 AM

“or even convert to Islam and relocate to Iran”

Perhaps I wont have to move – perhaps Islam will come here – ?

I’m not a Biblical literalist, but it’s interesting to see how the Bible repeatedly states that one of the punishments for disobeying God’s commandments is to be forced to live under alien rule.

You can kind of see why: if you don’t keep these basic principles of faith and family, if you celebrate things like homosexuality, you become weak, you become vulnerable, and you are ripe for takeover by more confident and assertive cultures.

Perhaps your bogey Iranians are closer than we think ?

Mute culloden84
    Favourite culloden84
    May 22nd 2015, 10:47 AM

Donald-is that something from the Revolution Theory-(Enlightenment etc)?If so,what Author?Just asking.

Mute Onepz
    Favourite Onepz
    May 22nd 2015, 10:54 AM

Wow

Mute Donald Farfrae
    Favourite Donald Farfrae
    May 22nd 2015, 11:07 AM

culloden84

“Donald-is that something from the Revolution Theory-(Enlightenment etc)?If so,what Author?Just asking.”

Its just my own clunky summary of WHY things like marriage are between man and woman….of WHY a focus on children and family are important (as opposed to ethereal notions such as “love”, “happiness” etc).

In Summary its a comment on why a society focusing on things like abortion/homosexuality/consumption etc are ultimately doomed – potentially in very short order if your enemies are close.

The Bible is one book of many (Torah, Koran etc) that urges certain social norms for the protection of the group as a whole.

Mute William Boyd
    Favourite William Boyd
    May 22nd 2015, 11:24 AM

@Donald,
    “You can kind of see why: if you don’t keep these basic principles of faith and family, if you celebrate things like homosexuality, you become weak, you become vulnerable, and you are ripe for takeover by more confident and assertive cultures.”

Who is celebrating homosexuality?, as a straight person I believe gay couples should have the same rights as straight couples.

If the referendum is passed its not going to turn the whole of Ireland pink.

Gay people have been born since time began they don’t choose to be born gay its genetic, many gay people have went to their graves while family and friends were blissfully unaware that they were gay because of the social stigma attached, thankfully Ireland is a much more open and accepting society these days, that social stigma has all but been removed and the passing of this referendum will be the icing on the cake for many.

Mute Donald Farfrae
    Favourite Donald Farfrae
    May 22nd 2015, 11:41 AM

” they don’t choose to be born gay its genetic”

This is of course a lie – (but people fall for it).

Why can science not identify homosexuality as a biological trait?

A man was recently arrested for having sex with a shetland pony – A gene for that?
    Sex with inanimate objects – a gene for that?
    Sex with children – a gene for that?

Do explain these things please?

Mute Busted Britches
    May 22nd 2015, 12:02 PM

William Boyd – there is no “Gay” gene, there is no “sado-masochism” gene, there is no “bi-sexual” gene, no”pedophile” gene.
    All those sexual practices and many, many more are choice, influenced by nurture, and not natural-born.
    Show me one link to one scientific peer-reviewed article that claims there is a gene a gay man has that I don’t have.
    One link.

Mute William Boyd
    Favourite William Boyd
    May 22nd 2015, 12:06 PM

Donald, I’d say there is a lot more paedophiles in society than people think, just that many of them don’t partake because they know to do so would be a criminal act, “self control”, but I’d say if you have a tendency to be sexually attracted to children than I’d say it was genetic just like homosexuality, call it a mutated gene if you like?, but I can’t believe people would decide to be different by a simple choice?.

As for having sex with a shetland pony etc, well maybe we can put that down to extreme perversion?, virtually every human being has a sexual perversion of some sort, some obviously more perverted than others, people have got bored of the missionary position over the centuries and have experimented, human nature I suppose?.

Mute William Boyd
    Favourite William Boyd
    May 22nd 2015, 12:09 PM

Busted Britches science can only do so much, the human brain is an extremely complex organ.

May 23rd 2015, 12:42 PM

So, tell us Donald, what age were you when you decided to be straight, or heterosexual….

May 23rd 2015, 12:58 PM

Donald Farfrae Ha, If ISIL makes it here you and your ilk will be first into the fire cages.

Mute Ciarán Masterson
    Favourite Ciarán Masterson
    May 22nd 2015, 3:39 PM

http://www.independent.ie/opinion/columnists/david-quinn/only-a-no-vote-can-keep-biological-parents-at-the-constitutions-centre-31243283.html

“….a secondary school in North Dublin held an LGBT week and pupils were forced to wear LGBT badges, write essays in favour of LGBT rights and do artwork in a similar vein. There was hardly a peep out of our media.

A 16-year-old girl who refused to wear one of the badges was told by her teacher that she was being “disrespectful” to LGBT people. (Would it be “disrespectful” to Catholics to refuse to wear a crucifix? Obviously not).

This girl was told by her teacher that she deserved detention.

Another girl (aged 14) was asked to do an art project on an LGBT theme. When she objected, the teacher said she would have to leave her convictions outside the classroom. The irony was lost on the teacher that she was the one forcing her convictions on the whole class regardless of parental wishes.

Parents representing 80 pupils have now written to the local Education and Training Board to complain.”

People should ask themselves this question: Was it OK for those teachers to force their beliefs down pupils’ throats?

Mute Shane Boyle-Simms
    May 22nd 2015, 3:52 PM

Would you feel the same about it if it was black history week??

Mute Ciarán Masterson
    May 22nd 2015, 4:03 PM

@Shane

No religion attacks the colour of people’s skin. LGBT events are about sex, not race.

Another difference is that the case that David Quinn mentioned is about teachers forcing their beliefs on pupils.

Gardaí, doctors and nurses are not allowed to express their beliefs in the course of their work because they have to be impartial. So why should teachers be allowed to do it? Teachers also have to be impartial.

Now, answer the question that I asked:

Was it OK for those teachers to force their beliefs down pupils’ throats?

Mute Ciarán Masterson
    May 22nd 2015, 4:04 PM

Children are entitled not to be exposed to sexual content.

Mute Shane Boyle-Simms
    May 22nd 2015, 4:26 PM

No religion does not attack the colour of peoples skin but it does attack sexual orientation is that acceptable?
    Please explain how LGBT events are about sex? Ones orientation is not about sex – you and I can be celibate and still be gay or straight. Is it ok for teachers to force their catholic beliefs down pupils throats? Should they not be impartial? These workshops are about educting pupils on how to respect diversity unfortunately what they are learning from this is that is ok to discriminate against gay people.
    How were children exposed to sexual content in this workshop?
    To answer your question their was no “forcing” of beliefs – it’s called teaching

Mute Ciarán Masterson
    May 22nd 2015, 4:51 PM

@Shane

So the Church regard homosexual intercourse as a sin. It regards sexual intercourse outside of Catholic marriage and lust for either sex as sins. In the eyes of the Church, we’re all sinners. Therefore, the Church does not single-out homosxuals.

Teachers in Catholic schools are simply doing their job by teaching the Church’s doctrine. Non-Christian pupils are allowed to opt out of that class. I know this because I remember that a non-Christian classmate in primary school was allowed to do other work during that class. Whether or not a child is brought up with a religion is the parents’ decision. Therefore, the teaching of the Church’s doctrine does not involve ramming anything down pupils’ throats.

LGBT issues, unlike traditional marriage, are associated with sex by most children because it is strange to them, unlike other religions or other colours of skin. Why not just let children have their innocence? After all, you wouldn’t say to primary schoolchildren that Santa Claus doesn’t exist – they figure it out by themselves as they get older.

Mute Shane Boyle-Simms
    May 22nd 2015, 5:08 PM

“LGBT issues, unlike traditional marriage, are associated with sex by most children” really? most children I know no nothing about sex and rightly so. The function of these workshops are to educate pupils so it isn’t strange to them. Do you think my nieces and nephew think about my relationship in a sexual way anymore than they would think about their own parents?
    This is the problem here – the constant sexualising of gay relationships by the church and the denial that they are equally as valid, healthy and normal as straight relationships.There is no removal of innocence in promoting that in schools to 16yrs old’s( by the way not kids as you have suggested) Why should they have to figure it out when they are older? that in it self is damaging to gay pupils, but of course nobody cares about them when they are screaming “what about the children??”

Mute Shane Boyle-Simms
    May 22nd 2015, 5:12 PM

Maybe you should go on one of these courses? You might educate yourself.

Mute Rob Cahill
    Favourite Rob Cahill
    May 22nd 2015, 5:14 PM

Yeah and they figure out the same about the Christian God and realise they wasted so many hours learning about it. Catholic Schools are funded by all tax payers. Not just the few Catholics left in Ireland. If people want to indoctrinate their children with superstitous nonsense then let them do it at home or in a church. School is too important to waste time on it.

Mute Ciarán Masterson

@Shane

The mention of an LGBT issue might still upset some children.

By the way, I know that not all homosexuals have sex, just like not all heterosexuals have sex.

Forcing children to wear LGBT badges is like forcing Jewish students to sit a State exam on a Saturday (the Sabbath in Judaism).

http://www.independent.ie/life/family/learning/jewish-students-quarantined-for-sabbath-sitting-26542191.html

Mute Ciarán Masterson
    May 22nd 2015, 5:27 PM

@Rob

What makes you think that there are few Catholics in Ireland? The numbers of people at Mass in my locality say otherwise.

Mute Ciarán Masterson
    May 22nd 2015, 5:29 PM

@Shane

Some people who were brought up by same-sex couples have no problem with it but others who were brought up in that way have been adversely affected by it and might not have suffered if they had been brought up by heterosexual parents.

http://www.washingtontimes.com/news/2015/mar/27/adult-children-of-gays-say-gay-marriage-isnt-good-/

Mute Ciarán Masterson
    May 22nd 2015, 5:45 PM

The days of members of the public being afraid of people who are in authority and abuse their authority are long gone.

Good luck to the parents of the 80 pupils in north Dublin.

Mute Irish Druid
    Favourite Irish Druid
    May 22nd 2015, 5:50 PM

Quinn has failed to show us where in the constitution the biological connection is mentioned. Because it isnt

Mute @mdmak33
    Favourite @mdmak33
    May 22nd 2015, 11:42 AM

Government manipulate referendum vote by delaying surrogacy legislation. Government need a yes result.

Mute Dec Rowe
    Favourite Dec Rowe
    May 22nd 2015, 5:51 PM

Proud to be alive to witness this!

Mute Sheik Yahbouti
    Favourite Sheik Yahbouti
    May 22nd 2015, 2:13 PM

Ah, yes, the whole world gives a teeny shite what we do in Ireland?!? Get a grip! Vote early and vote often :-D

Mute seamus mckenzie
    Favourite seamus mckenzie
    May 22nd 2015, 1:47 PM

It will be interesting to see the stats on voter turnout. Compared to turnout at an election.

Mute Dr. Eddie Murphy
    Favourite Dr. Eddie Murphy
    May 22nd 2015, 6:40 PM

I believe the compassionate, authentic and generous spirit of the Irish people will prevail …..

Mute Nicholas
    Favourite Nicholas
    May 22nd 2015, 3:59 PM

Just done my bit for decency………voted NO.

Mute Conor
    Favourite Conor
    May 22nd 2015, 6:38 PM

My whole family just voted yes including the two grandmothers!! Let’s get this passed. Funny how the religious comments are the most hateful, thought you people were supposed to love thy neighbor or whatever crap from that book you all follow, the one written 2000 years ago..

Mute Ían
    Favourite Ían
    May 22nd 2015, 3:31 PM

Heartening to see that Joan can indeed afford an iPhone

Mute Patrick James Walsh
    Favourite Patrick James Walsh
    May 22nd 2015, 2:49 PM

Memo to whoever is monitoring these comments, (and I know you can read them before they are posted) Your censorship of genuine free speech is shocking, disgraceful, call yourself a legitimate comment board?? You need to cop on to yourself Hugh O`connell, don`t be lecturing to others in society when you yourself don`t respect free speech.

Mute Fran McCarty
    Favourite Fran McCarty
    May 22nd 2015, 4:32 PM

There never will be a truly homosexual marriage. The homosexual marriages that are being forced on your country by the courts are pretend marriages. One person pretends to be the husband and the other person pretends to be the wife. The phrase homosexual marriage is actually an oxymoron. it is like saying there is a square circle or a round square. God has established the institution of marriage and no court has the authority to change this institution. The courts have as much power to change marriage as they have the power to declare that gravity no longer exist. the homosexual couples should be pray for because they are living in rebellion against God. They need to repent of their sins as all of us do and ask God for the strength to change. If the Bible is God’s Word it has been described accurately as the indestructible book., then there are absolutes and morality based on his nature and character. is rape and racism and murder are always wrong, then so is homosexuality. If homosexuality is not wrong, then there is no unchanging standard regarding the others either.

Mute Shane Boyle-Simms
    May 22nd 2015, 5:14 PM

LOL you lunatic – I don’t believe in your god so I’ll be fine thanks very much.
    Wow so much hate.

Mute Gagsy 99
    Favourite Gagsy 99
    May 22nd 2015, 5:16 PM

Or maybe God just doesn’t exist.

Or if he does exist then maybe he made all the gay people in his own image and likeness.

Or maybe we shouldn’t organize society on the basis of unprovable hypotheses about the provenance of existence.

Mute Ciarán Lee
    Favourite Ciarán Lee
    May 22nd 2015, 6:27 PM

@Fran McCarty “One person pretends to be the husband and the other person pretends to be the wife.”

I think you’ve missed the point entirely on being lesbian or gay….. also gender roles in under 16 words.

Mute Brian O' Connor
    Favourite Brian O' Connor
    May 22nd 2015, 6:47 PM

Voted yes on both referendums as I am against discrimination on the basis of sexual orientation and also against discrimination on the basis of age.

Mute Derek Mcdermott
    Favourite Derek Mcdermott
    May 22nd 2015, 6:48 PM

looking at the photo of the gay guys posting their votes i noticed one of them is wearing a wedding band..i hope hes not cheating on his wife

Mute Conor Morris
    Favourite Conor Morris
    May 22nd 2015, 4:29 PM

Joan Burton is a disgusting disgraceful individual. Look at her expensive mobile phone too.

Mute Jimmy Jim-Jim
    Favourite Jimmy Jim-Jim
    May 22nd 2015, 4:32 PM

Hopefully after today we don’t hear from Aodain O’Riordan again.

Mute Jeanette McDonald
    Favourite Jeanette McDonald
    May 22nd 2015, 7:54 PM

Just back from voting yes. We are a yes household so 2 yes from us!!

Mute Kieran Harvey
    Favourite Kieran Harvey
    May 22nd 2015, 7:20 PM

My key question is how many no voters will be issuing legal proceedings against the bishoptown bar for their deduction of one sausage for breakfast to No voters?! This is blatant discrimination!

No less daft than the “gay cake” farce of a judgment up in Belfast.

Mute katie
    Favourite katie
    May 22nd 2015, 6:29 PM

It looks like Leo is putting his vote in the shredder