You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

As it happened: Tens of thousands turn out in Dublin to demand 'Right2Water'

Tens of thousands of people took part in the latest mass protest against water charges — but there were some violent scenes too, and ‘breakaway’ protesters caused havoc for commuters.

Tens of thousands of people have been taking part in the latest mass demonstration against water charges, organised by Right2Water and community groups.

The main protest began at Merrion Square, just outside Government Buildings, at 1pm — with people travelling from the four corners of the country (and even Detroit) to take part. 

Estimates of numbers have varied widely — with one Minister putting the figure as low as 20 thousand, Gardaí putting it at between 30 and 35 thousand, and some organisers claiming up to 100 thousand turned out. 

Elsewhere in the city, breakaway protest groups caused traffic chaos by blocking O’Connell Bridge -– and a Garda was taken to hospital after being injured in a confrontation on Kildare Street. 

Here’s how it all played out… 

Barriers were erected in Merrion Square and on Kildare and Molesworth Streets early this morning.

IMG_5544

IMG_5548

IMG_5546

People have begun to arrive from all over the country. Our reporter Daragh Brophy spoke to some of the protesters earlier.

Gardaí have started to arrive too…

The Detroit Water Brigade will be taking part in today’s protest. Members of the group have been making the most of their time in Dublin, visiting Trinity College and other locations across the capital.

det3-2-500x500

Image: Detroit Water Brigade/Facebook

Earlier today, Kelly told reporters that water charges are “completely necessary”.

He said he didn’t “envisage” anything changing in terms of the revised water payment package he introduced last month.

water charge details

Last night, former junior minister Fergus O’Dowd, one of the people involved in setting up Irish Water, said he was worried that the utility would be privatised.

He said he remains “deeply concerned at other agendas, they may be European… I don’t know where they are coming from…” and said we have “real reason to be concerned”.

Kelly’s response today?

I don’t really know what Fergus O’Dowd is talking about, to be frank. I haven’t a clue.

I mean ‘dark forces’? That goes to a space where I’m not really sure where he’s going to be honest.

Some of the protesters are in a festive mood…

Some ministers have made an appearance too, sort of.

From our political editor Hugh O’Connell:

There’s a large Garda presence gathering at the bottom of Kildare Street including the Public Order Unit with barking dogs amid suggestions that protesters on Nassau Street may attempt to breach the barriers.

oconnellhugh / Vine

A few TDs have ventured out to see what it’s all about. We saw Leo Varadkar come up Kildare Street for an interview with RTÉ and we also bumped into John Halligan who was heading in the same direction. Fine Gael backbenchers Derek Keating and Jim Daly also ventured outside the main Leinster House entrance to have a look.

Health Minister Leo Varadkar has just been on RTÉ’s News at One saying “it really bothers me that people are protesting over €3 a week” when there are “much bigger problems in Irish society” citing the Áras Attracta revelations and people waiting on hospital trollies. He prefaced his comments by acknowledging they may not be politically correct.

His remarks didn’t go down well with his fellow interview panellists.

Fianna Fáil’s Barry Cowen said setting up Irish Water was a mistake, adding that the company’s “conservation ethos” has been completely lost.

Sinn Féin MEP Lynn Boylan accused the Government of arrogance, while Independent TD John Halligan said today’s march is about more than just water charges.

The Government are still just not getting this … It’s about six years of austerity.

Pat Doherty, Sinn Féin MP for West Tyrone, has addressed the solidarity rally outside the Irish Embassy in London.

Planning on using public transport today? Dublin Bus is experiencing serious delays to its service, due to the protest.

Question: Is there time for a Beastie Boys interlude?

Answer: There’s always time for a Beastie Boys interlude.

Adams tells the crowd today’s march is about “the empowerment of people”.

Stuck in traffic? We’ve some bad news…

Are things getting unruly?

Protesters give the Government the red card.

Right2Water protest - Dublin Niall Carson / PA Images Niall Carson / PA Images / PA Images

Resistance is spreading…

It’s hard to put a figure on how many demonstrators have shown up, with a wide range of estimates being thrown around.

There is some great headwear going on.

IMAG1365

Image: Sara Murphy

Gardaí have confirmed that between 30,000-35,000 protesters showed up today.

Hi… Daragh Brophy here taking over liveblog duties from Orla (awesome job Ryan, take the rest of the day off etc. etc.)

Anyway… I’m just back from Merrion Square, where I’ve been Tweeting like a trojan for the last few hours (get them here).

Crowds were really beginning to thin as I left the main protest area around 20 minutes ago — but there are still many thousands packed in to the streets immediately surrounding Government Buildings.

Mr Dublin himself, Damien Dempsey, has been rocking the crowds in the last few minutes…

Bit of a traffic and travel update, if you’re heading home from — or through the city — this evening…

Merrion Street, Nassau Street towards Merrion Square, Kildare Street and a number of other streets around the city centre remain closed.

If posible you’re better off avoiding the entire city centre area this evening.

Dawson Street is moving again after chock-a-block traffic earlier… But once you get to the bottom of it, you’re not left with many options.

“Think today of all the 3rd level students that are doing 1st semester exams. If we weren’t, the streets would be even fuller.” — From student Neil in Cork, via email.

For the record, this Tweet from earlier is NOT from today’s protest…

Some organisers disputing crowd size…

Brendan Ogle, from Right2Water and the Unite union, estimated numbers earlier at between 70 to 80 thousand.

Gardaí have told us numbers are more like 30 to 35 thousand.

Someone just sent us this image via email, with the line…

“Rte van tagged. Maybe in response to reports of only 30,000 attending March when over 100,000 counted by streets filled around merrion square and Nassau st.”

This just in…

This guy’s perched on top of the traffic lights at the bottom of Kildare Street. Or at least he was, until recently (we’re not saying he fell or anything — but he’s probably climbed down by now).

Vanessa Swaine Vanessa Swaine

More in from the Gardaí on that injured officer.

A spokesman confirmed the incident happened on Kildare street, and the Garda received facial injuries.

The extent of those injuries isn’t known as yet.

He’s being treated in hospital.

Gardaí have confirmed a person is being treated in hospital after a collision at the scene of a protest near Liberty Hall this evening.

A small group of water charge protesters had been attempting to block traffic outside the landmark union building earlier, after breaking away from the main demonstration at Merrion Square.

The person has been taken to hospital for assessment, a Garda spokesperson said.

Dublin Fire Brigade also confirmed they attended the scene, but had no further details.

This Tweet was also sent from the scene…

TheJournal.ie has been unable to confirm the full details of what’s described in the Tweet.

The Garda spokesperson said the car hadn’t mounted the pavement. He said details of what had happened were still coming in from the scene.

Scenes from Merrion Square earlier today, from Press Association photographer Niall Carson…

Niall Carson Niall Carson

Our own Nicky Ryan is down at the Dublin quays. Here’s the latest…

Nicky Ryan / Vine

TheJournal.ie‘s Christina Finn just sent us these from the Nassau St/Kildare St area in the last few minutes.

A Garda was injured outside the Dáil earlier today, and the riot squad deployed, amid a tense stand-off with demonstrators. (More on that here).

Looks like there’s been some property damage in the area too…

The main traffic and travel points… 

• People are being advised to avoid the quays entirely, after groups of protesters blocked O’Connell Bridge. 
  • There are major diversions to bus routes as result. (Check for more at DublinBus.ie.)
  • The Luas Red Line isn’t running between Smithfield and Connolly/The Point. 
  • Dart and Irish Rail trains are running as normal — but are busier than usual as a result of protest crowds. 
  • There are still road closures and diversions in place around Kildare Street, Merrion Square and the surrounding areas. 

Oh… And Panti’s not happy.

Well THAT was all we needed…

Now someone’s driven their car onto the Luas Green Line.

From the Luas website:

“Please also note that services on the Green Line (St. Stephen’s Green to Brides Glen) are only running at the moment from Brides Glen to Beechwood

“There is no service between Beechwood and St Stephens Green

“A motorist has accidentally driven onto the track at Charlemont, the tow truck is on route but traffic is very heavy due to the protest in the City. We are doing our utmost to restore a full line as soon as possible.

Jeff Rockett Jeff Rockett

Right…

Away from the traffic situation, Brendan Ogle of Right2Water has just been on RTÉ’s Six One.

He’s sticking to that 100 thousand figure for turnout, given by organisers earlier.

“About a quarter past two today we had a situation where our biggest concern was safety from crushing.

“We have people coming to this demonstration — a site that the Gardaí told us held 60 thousand — who were turned back for safety reasons. We were told that.”

Brendan Ogle

Earlier, Fine Gael Minister Simon Coveney put the number at “somewhere between 20 and 30 thousand — according the Gardaí”.

“I think there’s an obligation to try and be accurate.”

The Garda Press Office estimated the crowd at between 30 and 35 thousand, stressing they were confident to stand over that number.
TheJournal.ie was down at Merrion Square at around 2.15 — and this is how the crowd looked on the south side of the square, about 100 metres back from the main stage.

There were reports, however, that the far side of the square was far busier… And in fairness, the crowds were a lot heavier just 15 minutes before the above shot was taken.

This argument’s set to run and run I imagine.

The following press release from Right2Water just landed in our inbox… 

An estimated 100,000 people from all over Ireland attended the National Assembly organised by Right2Water today (10 December 2014).

The Right2Water campaign is a broad alliance comprising trade unions, political parties, independent TDs, and a range of community groups and activists.  It has one core premise – that water is a human right – and one core demand: the abolition of domestic water charges.

In a statement, the campaign today said:

“Today saw 100,000 people from all over the country gather on a bitterly cold day in Merrion Square to reinforce that demand.  Since October 11, hundreds of thousands of people have taken to the streets and squares of our towns and cities to demand the abolition of domestic water charges, and the campaign will continue until that objective is achieved.

“The kind of peaceful people power we witnessed today in Merrion Square has already extracted significant concessions from the Government.  We urge all those who oppose these domestic water charges to resist any attempt by isolated groups to undermine that principle of peaceful and unified protest”, the statement concluded.

Michael Hinsdale Michael Hinsdale

And some startling photos of O’Connell Street, from Photocall Ireland’s Eamon Farrell:

Eamonn Farrell / Photocall Ireland Eamonn Farrell / Photocall Ireland / Photocall Ireland

That’s about it from us — keep an eye on the main site for more reaction and further developments this evening.

Some good news from the folks at Luas before we go…

Traffic-wise, there are still major delays around Dublin this evening.

But the crowds blocking traffic around O’Connell Bridge appear to be thinning.

Our reporter Nicky Ryan (who seems to be refusing to go home) says the scene at the bottom of Kildare Street appears to be much quieter now.

Nicky Ryan / Vine

That was the 10 December water protest…

See you all again in January. Apparently…

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

460 Comments
    Mute Charles J. Ahern
    Favourite Charles J. Ahern
    Dec 10th 2014, 12:40 PM

It’s not about “paying twice” it’s about having to fund a super quango and the cronyism that surrounds the set up of this massively flawed company. Its also about a government and political system that is completely out of touch with the general public.

Mute Mark Paterson
    Favourite Mark Paterson
    Dec 10th 2014, 1:19 PM

It’s both Charles but paying twice (well actually 3 times) is the biggest bug bearer of all

Mute Mark Malone
    Favourite Mark Malone
    Dec 10th 2014, 1:43 PM

Alan “I don’t do figures” Kelly.

That’s what has the country in the state it’s in.

Maybe if you did some figures you would see where the money is being wasted.

See 45 more replies ▾
    Mute Cathal Healy
    Favourite Cathal Healy
    Dec 10th 2014, 1:45 PM

I thought it was about privatization? Or bonus culture, or was it because water is a “human right”?

Sure isn’t the current system grand, it’s not as if being able drink water from your tap is important or anything.. Lets go back to the old system that sees hundreds of thousands of households already ( and genuinely ) paying twice for water that’s unsafe to drink!

Mute Shane Carroll
    Favourite Shane Carroll
    Dec 10th 2014, 1:59 PM

Cathal Healy, Why do we need to set up a new water company to borrow money to do the work thats required? Why cant the state just borrow the money and add it to our debt. We will be paying for it either way with the exception that the Irish water option will/is costing us 100′s of millions more!!!

I cant see how Irish Water are going to be more efficient than the council in supplying our water seeing as all the council staff are now working under Irish Water which is also being run by a former Dublin City Council manager!!

I don’t know if you’ve been following all the happenings with Irish Water but you wouldn’t have to dig too deep to uncover all the mishaps, dishonesty, lies, scaremongering and cronyism relating to Irish Water and our government. Its not a utility that i would choose to sign up to.It has not started out well and i have no confidence in Irish Water to manage and maintain our supply.

I am also losing confidence in our government to listen to the people of this country. They have treated us with contempt and disregard and have shown themselves to be completely disconnected from the issues affecting low and middle income earners in Ireland. It is obvious that they are making it up as they go along and every answer they come up with creates another question.

I have never seen such protests in Ireland in my lifetime, this is the straw that broke the camels back.

Mute David Burke
    Favourite David Burke
    Dec 10th 2014, 2:01 PM

Because borrowing on the state account means 900 million in cuts?

We need the most expansive fiscal policy we can afford. If keeping Irish water off balance sheet allows us to do it then it’s a good thing.

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Dec 10th 2014, 2:25 PM

I thought this march was for solidarity for the Irish people who were subjected to Human Rights abuses in County Mayo – It being Human Rights day and all ….

Mute Prov. Shinnerbot
    Favourite Prov. Shinnerbot
    Dec 10th 2014, 2:36 PM

It’s a great day for Sinn Féin.

Mute Search Eagle
    Favourite Search Eagle
    Dec 10th 2014, 2:37 PM

It is truly frightening just how feeble the arguments of many of the protesters are.

Mute Real Democrat
    Favourite Real Democrat
    Dec 10th 2014, 2:42 PM

The crowd would have been much larger had the protest not been hijacked by SF!

Mute Cathal Healy
    Favourite Cathal Healy
    Dec 10th 2014, 2:42 PM

It’s off balance sheet so that it can be done. We currently don’t have the capacity to borrow for this investment.

Regards will it do a better job? Could it do any worse. I understand that most people don’t really get how poor our infrastructure is, but to put it in perspective, there are people in Ireland who haven’t been able drink their tap water for years. YEARS Shane. Why? Because no politician has ever been elected to Dail on the promise of fixing this infrastructure, and no voter has ever chosen a politician because he was campaigning for same when others were promising tax cuts. It is the electorate who have allowed this infrastructure fall into ruin by never making it an election issue. Irish Water takes politicians and politics out of the equation, that is why I believe it will succeed in fixing the infrastructure.

It’s implementation has been sloppy and quite possibly corrupt. I disagree with how charging is structured (I favour a per person allowance system) and there have been a number of utter blunders by both politicians and Irish water with regard to charging for their service but if in ten years, boil notices are a thing of the past, then I will judge Irish Water to have been a success. If that isn’t the case then I will admit it has failed in every possible way. I have no allegiance to Irish Water, except the hope that it will mean everyone in this country has access to the resource of clean water.

If we abandon Irish Water and roll back to the old system, how many protests do you expect will take place about the inequity of Group Water Schemes (which has existed for decades!) and the fact that for large parts of the country, tap water is unsafe to drink? I’ll tell you. None. Just like last time. The usual agitators will move onto the next great cause of the “proletariat”. I have no time for that crowd because nobody has ever taken to the streets of Dublin, campaigning for the people of Roscommon to have their right to clean water respected.

me fein.

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Dec 10th 2014, 2:51 PM

Search – here’s a really powerful argument for you – “It’s the Law!”
    Article 9.4 – a legally binding European wide agreement – Enda is making Bertie look like a patriot and in so doing finishing the Fine Gael brand forever – a shame for all the good people in Fine Gael – but if you choose to follow a snake that is the price you pay …very impressed with Fergus O’Dowd – it seems Ming woke him up with the bottle of P…..

Mute William Boyd
    Favourite William Boyd
    Dec 10th 2014, 3:06 PM

I might agree with you just a little if this was ever about clean water and conservation Cathal, it was all about screwing the people, only the extremely naive could argue to the contrary.

Anyway most of the problems in Roscommon have been sorted as far as I’m aware?, and for the most part our water infrastructure is pretty good and fairly extensive per head of population, and our water is for the most part very drinkable, any problems that needed attention could’ve been sorted 5 times over with the billion and some odd it was going to cost to put IW together and install over a million meters.

Mute William Boyd
    Favourite William Boyd
    Dec 10th 2014, 3:13 PM

And just to let you know we as a country have access to 5 times more fresh water than your average European, hence our EU exemption from water charges that Bertie got put in place, the word conservation was just a red herring to justify the exorbitant original IW tariffs, and just to remind some again that IW had a clause built in that they would charge you more for using less, how anyone can still justify the creation and the future existence of this rip off venture is beyond me, particularly with any amount of austerity measures still in place?.

Mute Frederick Constant
    Favourite Frederick Constant
    Dec 10th 2014, 3:14 PM

Has the government collapsed yet? Because some of the numpties on here earlier were prophesying that we’d be without a government come this afternoon. *puts face in palm*

Mute Search Eagle
    Favourite Search Eagle
    Dec 10th 2014, 3:14 PM

Excellent and succinct analysis, Cathal. Got the crux of the issue.

The reality is that our water network is falling apart. The local councils and successive governments have failed. As you correctly stated, Irish governments don’t get voted in to fix infrastructure, unless they can cut a ribbon which is why we have one of the worst public transport systems in Europe, and a crumbling water network. In fact the capital budget was absolutely savaged so the government could avoid making tough spending decisions with current expenditure.

It is only with private investment that the water system can salvaged. Much like with broadband, it is the private sector racing ahead building cables while all the government had the imagination to do was throw money at a mobile phone network and pretend it’s broadband. I am not wholly happy with how Irish Water has been implemented – I regard it as a step in the right direction -, but ultimately I would like a tender for a private operator to run our water system, with the state retaining ultimate ownership. We don’t want another CIE on our hands!

@Dermot
    “Search – here’s a really powerful argument for you – “It’s the Law!”
    Article 9.4 ”

People keep mentioning this bloody Article 9.4 without actually understanding it, so let’s take a look at and see what it actually says:

“Member States shall not be in breach of this Directive if they decide in accordance with established practices not to apply the provisions of paragraph 1, second sentence, and for that purpose the relevant provisions of paragraph 2, for a given water-use activity, where this does not compromise the purposes and the achievement of the objectives of this Directive.”

Nowhere, NOWHERE, in that article does it state that Ireland is obliged *not* to bring in water charges. It says that a member state is exempt from bringing in domestic water charging – “the provisions” – provided it meets the conditions set by the directive – “does not compromise… the objectives of this Direction”. Let’s take a look at those conditions:

“1. Member States shall take account of the principle of recovery of the costs of water services, including environmental and resource costs, having regard to the economic analysis conducted according to Annex III, and in accordance in particular with the polluter pays principle.”

Member States shall ensure by 2010

- that water-pricing policies provide adequate incentives for users to use water resources efficiently, and thereby contribute to the environmental objectives of this Directive,”

Clearly, this is not the case. We have a leaky mess of a water system and a pricing structure that clearly does not incentivise efficient usage. In fact that’s not the only provision we’re in breach of, we’re also in breach of the provisions outlined in paragraph 2.

Anti-water charge keep quoting 9.4 as if it’s the smoking gun. In reality, it works completely against your cause and betrays a lack of insight into the legislation. If you’re going to reference legislation make sure you bother to read it and understand what it actually means before embarrassing yourself.

Mute Joanie Hutchinson
    Favourite Joanie Hutchinson
    Dec 10th 2014, 3:19 PM

It’s about paying twice too as well as everything you mentioned and so much more!

Mute galway2007
    Favourite galway2007
    Dec 10th 2014, 3:26 PM

Now you cant even protest in front of the dail
    The dictator must be removed now from running this country

Mute Declan Gartlan
    Favourite Declan Gartlan
    Dec 10th 2014, 3:32 PM

David wasting your time trying to explain that here it’s to sensible for the journal and the anti everything brigade

Mute D H
    Favourite D H
    Dec 10th 2014, 3:39 PM

David the cost of setting up IW plus the cost of the consultants plus the 120m earmarked for IW lately plus the 400m that wasnt spent out of the 1.6b that was budgeted for the water system last yr adds up to close to 1 billion. If this money was spent upgrading the system instead of wasted on this quango we would be 1b closer to a functioning water system. All the arguments for IW were all bs. It wasnt about conservation, it wasnt even about upgrading the system because if it was we could have upgraded the system with what we spent on IW without borrowing any extra than we already are. And everywhere the imf sticks its nose in it recommends privatisation of public utilities, and you can be sure that it is the ultimate aim of this govt. I’ve said it before that before this govt or any future govt be allowed take more money off the taxpayer a completely independant audit should take place to see where are taxes are being wasted. This craic of making up charges to screw the public everytime the govt wastes our money has to stop.

Mute Richard Cynical
    Favourite Richard Cynical
    Dec 10th 2014, 3:41 PM

35000 is a serious understatement I was there and easily 70000 while I was there and more arriving by the second it will be over a 100000 by the time it’s finished. Great turn out! Hell no we won’t pay!!!!

Mute Cathal Healy
    Favourite Cathal Healy
    Dec 10th 2014, 3:48 PM

I’m in Leitrim right now. I invite you to drink what’s coming out of the tap.

I agree about conservation. A stronger charging structure would have been allowance based where it would be free to the customer up to a certain allowance. But as you point out, we don’t really need conservation because we have loads of water. Our shortages are being caused by leaks. That is where my hopes with Irish Water lie. Fix the leaks and provide clean water. It’d also be nice if conservation was encouraged through the charging structure but it isn’t as important.

Given Irish Water has already undertook several capital projects to upgrade our infrastructure, I think fixing the leaks and providing clean water is an important element of why Irish Water was created.

You fail to address the issue of Group Water Schemes. If we roll back, they will continue to exist and that IS paying twice.

Mute ciaran mccall
    Favourite ciaran mccall
    Dec 10th 2014, 4:10 PM

well said Shane Carroll, was at the demo and query the 35k number either way a brilliant showing from all parts of the country
    its really is a case of tick tock now as there is no denying people want a change not yet another apology from a bared faced liar

Mute Wholeduck
    Favourite Wholeduck
    Dec 10th 2014, 4:27 PM

A fairly meagre turnout after all the drum beating.

Maybe now the likes of Coppinger, Murphy, SF and the rest of the Trotskyites will stop purporting to speak for the ‘people of Ireland’.

They do not speak for me. Nor do they even speak for a few of the Irish citizens who stayed at home in their droves.

Mute thereal.thing
    Favourite thereal.thing
    Dec 10th 2014, 4:31 PM

well the government hasn’t crumbled, what now :D

Mute Chris Kirk
    Favourite Chris Kirk
    Dec 10th 2014, 5:01 PM

From the pictures above it looks like the politicians are laughing all the way to the bank. A poor showing from SF when they have to import protesters from Northern Ireland. They will be the first to complain when Frazer and his mob arrive into Dublin next year……double standards!

Mute finebetty
    Favourite finebetty
    Dec 10th 2014, 5:09 PM

Well said. I have been horrified about how Irish Water has been set up and do understand how watching the story unfold was like a big kick in the teeth…. but have to agree with a lot of what you are saying. Had a cup of tea in Roscommon, it was the foulest thing I have ever tasted, even if boiling makes it safe, it is undrinkable. There are people, lots of people, using this protest as a stepping stone to tackling bigger issues so hopefully that motivation will not wither and die after today but I’ve had so many frustrating, hit your head against a brick wall conversations with people who really are only concentrating on the water charges, who never get beyond the “we are paying for it already, free water is a human right” (kind of contradictory but that doesnt seem to matter) argument and genuinely think that everything should stay as it is and all will be fine. Modernisation? No answer. If this had been done at the height of the celtic tiger no one would have batted an eyelid. We cheerfully and proudly even allowed Tescos to rip us off then.

Mute JohnM
    Favourite JohnM
    Dec 10th 2014, 5:10 PM

He has “med” his decision and the water charges must be “ped”

Mute Beano
    Favourite Beano
    Dec 10th 2014, 5:11 PM

Mary Lou: a dedicated fighter for working class people (except of course when it comes to speaking out against sexual abusers in her own party)

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Dec 10th 2014, 5:15 PM

Search – have you ever heard of the spirit of the Law – it was out in spades today on two legs – “The Ultimate Judge is the Man on the Street !”
    Furthermore what about Fine Gael campaigning directly to allow Irish soldiers join the European Defence Army which is direct breach of the Irish Constitution – no referendum mentioned or sought – looks like the whole lot of them will loose their pensions for a breach of that and Article 9.3 of the Irish Constitution…
    Every day that this government stays in power is a vote lost to Fine Gael and Labour – the people aren’t going anywhere and the young that are coming through every day to vote will not vote for this government ever again ….

Mute Ciaran Ó Fallúin
    Favourite Ciaran Ó Fallúin
    Dec 10th 2014, 5:34 PM

Folks, there’s a huge number of comments on this article – a lot of which are populist shouting in search of green thumbs.

Cathal and Search Eagle above have both argued well about where they feel attention is needed and you owe it to yourself to have a read.

For me, having witnessed the incredible levels of cronyism and inefficiency which dominated localised water schemes for decades – I welcomed the arrival of IW. The implementation has been pretty dire to date, but the reasoning behind why it has been created and how it should lead to improved services are hugely important to our future.

If people want to complain about something, let it be the USC, which hammers paychecks far harder than IW ever could. Or is this an issue about broadening tax bases…

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Dec 10th 2014, 5:42 PM

the fightback begins with Iirsh Water Ciaran and stays going until the Irish have their own land back from the E.U. and their prelates in Dail Eireann …

Mute Prov. Shinnerbot
    Dec 10th 2014, 5:44 PM

Glen Hansard’s “Falling Slowly” has nothing to do with public support for water protests.

Mute William Boyd
    Favourite William Boyd
    Dec 10th 2014, 6:59 PM

So why then did they not set up IW within the current Public Service and relocate local authority employees while funneling most of the money wasted in setting up the money grabbing quango to sort out any problems within the current system?, and why waste zillions installing meters when we’ve more than enough water to go around?.

Simple really it was never about anything other than screwing more money out of an already desperate populace while filling the pockets of their cronies, and anyone who believes that IW was never going to be privatized are deluded beyond any help!.

Mute maura
    Favourite maura
    Dec 10th 2014, 7:02 PM

Wholeduck I agree they do NOT speak for me

Mute Real Democrat
    Favourite Real Democrat
    Dec 10th 2014, 7:17 PM

Just watched Brendan Ogle on RTE news, seriously is this the best that the right2water people can throw up? His interview was junior infants stuff, pure drivel with no substance.
    This is the same man who did’t give a hoot about the public when he deprived thousands of workers railway travel to & from work when he was leader of the railway unions. He then later held the public to ransom when he was leader of the ESB unions! Today we pay nearly the highest rates for railway travel & electricity in Europe. He now wants to protect the public from water charges! This is Me Fein & it’s worst & just another example of some people jumping on the populist bandwagon! I’m against water charges but I would not protest today as the whole thing has been lost to people with different agendas .

Mute buzzbaron
    Favourite buzzbaron
    Dec 10th 2014, 7:34 PM

Good turnout today, felt proud to be Irish! Shame a few yobs had to ruin wreck the buzz at the end. Jan 31st is too far away for another one. We should be aiming for a big one before the end of the year. Saturday the 27th is what I’m thinking if they don’t get the point from today.

Mute Grim Reaper
    Favourite Grim Reaper
    Dec 10th 2014, 7:56 PM

@ Frederick incontinence. Pi#s off.

Mute Jason H. Barnes
    Favourite Jason H. Barnes
    Dec 10th 2014, 8:25 PM

Hear hear! The people who have ‘red thumbed’ this particular comment are morons. You are absolutely correct that protests such as this should be directed to complain about something like the USC. And you are also completely correct to ask if the core of this is the broadening of the tax base.

Mute Francie Coffey
    Favourite Francie Coffey
    Dec 10th 2014, 9:01 PM

search eagle
    ” It is truly frightening just how feeble the arguments of many of the protesters are.”….??
    - the media interviewed dozens of protesters, but picked out only the silliest for transmission,
    - they did the same the last time.
    - shameless government propaganda machine.
    - don’t be so gullible…

Mute Steo Dowd
    Favourite Steo Dowd
    Dec 10th 2014, 9:57 PM

How can you support sum thing even you say is corrupt?if it’s wrong it’s wrong. So why support cronyism corruption? Makes no sense to me .i want to see good water infrastructure but irish water will not deliver that.its just a quango.

Mute Steo Dowd
    Favourite Steo Dowd
    Dec 10th 2014, 10:04 PM

So irish water cronyism is different?

Mute Ivor McNamara
    Favourite Ivor McNamara
    Dec 11th 2014, 12:21 AM

yes the infrastructure is failing apart but why is this only coming to light now? Was it not falling aprt in the 90′s?

The message to the government is we will not be unfairly taxed anymore especially when some of the money is going to the most hated quango in history and some of the money is going to the Troika. Can’t u see how wrong that is?. The protests will stop when the taxes are fair. No double tax, and every cent goes towards water..Ur as bad as the government. We know the problems, the message is we are not BAILING mistake laden governments out again and again. This may and probably will lead to water problems in the future and that is enormously sad, but it wont be the peoples fault. Therefore your anger is misplaced. The government are going to have to come up with new ways to fix this mess or they will be annihilated at the next election (lets be honest they will anyway).. Your problem is that u are tied into the system. For your own personal reasons u don’t want change. Therefore u focus on the lazy spongers and good knows what else as your argument. U must know from social media ur are in the minority. Why? because most honest hard working people want change. The old way of politics is not working, except for the elite..The honest man and woman has had enough of the lies, enough of the corruption. u keep focusing on the spongers. The rest of us will fight for a better Ireland and a better future for our children.

Mute Ivor McNamara
    Favourite Ivor McNamara
    Dec 11th 2014, 12:30 AM

Ciaran if the USC is scrapped then all this goes away…Get them meters in lively! This is more than about water which is lost on Cathal and search Eagle. Irish water is he straw that broke the camels back..This is 6 years of lies, corruption and unjust taxation. As someone said above if Irish water was done right, the people were educated on why it as needed in the late 90′s no one would have batted a eyelid. Again another point lost on Cathal and search moron

Mute Cathy Hunt-Tyrrell
    Favourite Cathy Hunt-Tyrrell
    Dec 11th 2014, 2:10 AM

It WAS larger than that ridiculous figure I’ve heard quoted, just the usual abacus problem with RTE & the Guards. It was HUGE – way over 60k. I’d say over 80k. Government can’t recover from this level of unpopularity. They’re incompetent, incapable, corrupt and worst of all, obnoxious sleeveens.

They’ve made the cardinal error of trying to rule by force and coercion, Irish people are riled up and being locked out of Kildare St, unable to protest at Govt Buildings? That will only make the backlash worse. Whether we get FG out now, or in a few months, they are out – GONE, forever.

The sneaky Garda lies & violence to the dispersing, smaller crowds, the bootboy antics to Residents protesting, it won’t be forgotten. This Irish Water protest has shown up the contempt and fascism in the Guards and how they’ve lost the run of themselves with FG in power.

Kenny OUT.

Mute Andrew Broderick
    Favourite Andrew Broderick
    Dec 11th 2014, 2:12 AM

David, it does not make sense to continue borrowing as there are interest payments to be met, the arrangement is a bit like the parents running out of money because they can’t afford the payments so get their eighteen year old student son to get a credit card.

The borrowing is only part of the issue, look at the waste for example retired County Managers employed as consultants at €100,000 per year.

Waste, incompetence and jobs for the boys is why we don’t have a good water infrastructure, the model for Irish Water is an exact replacement for what went on in the past.

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Dec 11th 2014, 3:33 AM

Hey Search – you didn’t read this – the very first thing in the Riverbasins directive – water is not a commercial asset but heritage …yowza !
    It’s down at the bottom – I just put a little space in it for your benefit…

of 23 October 2000
    establishing a framework for Community action in the field of water policy
    THE EUROPEAN PARLIAMENT AND THE COUNCIL OF THE
    EUROPEAN UNION,
    Having regard to the Treaty establishing the European
    Community, and in particular Article 175(1) thereof,
    Having regard to the proposal from the Commission (1),
    Having regard to the opinion of the Economic and Social
    Committee (2),
    Having regard to the opinion of the Committee of the
    Regions (3),
    Acting in accordance with the procedure laid down in Article
    251 of the Treaty (4), and in the light of the joint text
    approved by the Conciliation Committee on 18 July 2000,

Whereas:
    (1) Water is not a commercial product like any other but,
    rather, a heritage which must be protected, defended
    and treated as such.

Mute Search Eagle
    Favourite Search Eagle
    Dec 11th 2014, 10:18 AM

Hi Dermot, how does that contradict what the Article 9 legislation states? First of all it doesn’t say “commerical asset”, it says “is not a commercial product like any other”, and secondly it doesn’t contradict in any way the provisions in Article 9. Indeed, the justification for the pricing structure is to protect and defend the “heritage” under the “polluter pays” principle. Again, stop picking out random bits of legislation and sticking them in my face like you’ve found the smoking gun.

@Ivor
    “yes the infrastructure is failing apart but why is this only coming to light now? Was it not falling aprt in the 90′s?”

Well I’ve been highlighting our crumbling infrastructure and lobbying successive governments for ages now. It’s only “coming to light now” if you haven’t been paying attention. Irish governments don’t care about infrastructure because it’s not a vote winner. The Irish electorate needs to make it a vote winner.

“and some of the money is going to the Troika. Can’t u see how wrong that is?.”

I don’t really see what’s “wrong” with it. We borrowed money from the IMF and other European countries, and now we’re paying it back. If we didn’t want to be encumbered with these payments, we should not have borrowed the money.

“The protests will stop when the taxes are fair. ”

What does “fair” mean?

“No double tax, and every cent goes towards water.”

Every cent of what? How is it a “double tax”? In case you’ve forgotten, we have a 6 billion euro hole in our finances.

“We know the problems, the message is we are not BAILING mistake laden governments out again and again. This may and probably will lead to water problems in the future and that is enormously sad, but it wont be the peoples fault.”

Maybe people should actually take some responsibility rather than always looking to blame Someone Else.

“The government are going to have to come up with new ways to fix this mess”

Can you suggest a way the government can “fix the mess” without levying new taxes, cutting any services or borrowing any money then?

“Your problem is that u are tied into the system. For your own personal reasons u don’t want change.”

Of all the assumptions you make about me, this is probably the only one that genuinely irritates me. I do want “change”, and I’m one of the few people on here who can actually articulate coherently what “change” actually means. To paraphrase myself, I would like to see Irish Water continue, so that it can leverage funds from the private sector, but eventually I would like to see the water supply tendered out to a private company on a fixed-term contract basis, with regular competitions. The state retains ownership of the resource, but the private sector operates it, instead of a semi-state stuffed with unions demanding bonuses.

“Therefore u focus on the lazy spongers and good knows what else as your argument.”

Where have I focussed on the “lazy spongers”? Have you actually read any of my posts?

“because most honest hard working people want change. The old way of politics is not working, except for the elite..The honest man and woman has had enough of the lies, enough of the corruption.”

What “change” though? People have always demanded “change”. What is this new way of politics that you actually want to see? Throughout this post you have attacked the government for not providing you what you want, fair enough, but then simultaneously have absolved yourself of the responsibility to articulate exactly what it is “we” need to see done.

“.This is 6 years of lies, corruption and unjust taxation.”

Explain how the government should’ve dealt with the 20 billion euro black hole in the finances when it was shut off from market access.

Mute Paddy Mac
    Favourite Paddy Mac
    Dec 10th 2014, 12:34 PM

Here’s hopin this finally gets the point across and it passes off without incident.

Mute Jason Bourne
    Favourite Jason Bourne
    Dec 10th 2014, 12:36 PM

As we the Irish have learned, hoping rarely gets us anywhere.

Mute I LOVE MY COUNTY
    Favourite I LOVE MY COUNTY
    Dec 10th 2014, 12:49 PM

Negative statements won’t get you much further….
    “Without hope, there is nothing”

See 32 more replies ▾
    Mute Peter McGlynn
    Favourite Peter McGlynn
    Dec 10th 2014, 1:05 PM

50k would be some amount of people midweek and during one of the coldest days I year!

Mute Marcus O'Connor
    Favourite Marcus O'Connor
    Dec 10th 2014, 1:16 PM

Hate to say it but “without incident” won’t get any message across. I don’t support or condone any violence but 50,000 people turning up and expressing their right to peaceful protest won’t do anything, 1,000 people tearing up the city and setting the place on fire would get world headlines and send shockwaves through the government and the EU and, most importantly, the markets.

Like it or not Greece got a massive haircut on its debt (still a basket case country but the point stands) not because of the monthly general strikes and millions of people turning out but because massive violence and flames in a “civilized” European city caused havoc on the markets, drove bond yields throught the roof and got everyone talking of an EU/Euro collapse. This was from a couple of thousand anarchists causing bedlum.

Mute stephen lane
    Favourite stephen lane
    Dec 10th 2014, 1:17 PM

I’m on the ground here. Massive influx of city centre office workers after 1pm has brought crowd to about 100k I reckon.

Mute Stephanie Ní Challanáin
    Favourite Stephanie Ní Challanáin
    Dec 10th 2014, 1:35 PM

we came out of college at 12 and there was a group marching right past to the dail so we just joined in there !! handy timing :)

Mute Thierry Rat
    Favourite Thierry Rat
    Dec 10th 2014, 1:47 PM

Action does

Mute O'Reilly
    Favourite O'Reilly
    Dec 10th 2014, 2:03 PM

Marcus, you’re a f#@*ing tool.

Mute James Mark Donnelly
    Favourite James Mark Donnelly
    Dec 10th 2014, 2:07 PM

Marcus O’Connor: I don’t agree with the whole burning our own city thing, but I DO believe there is a genuine question to be asked in relation to where we go when the powers that be continue to ignore us. If they treat our protests with ignorance and contempt, what do we do?

Mute stephen kavanagh
    Favourite stephen kavanagh
    Dec 10th 2014, 2:07 PM

Agree Marcus, we have been supine for way too long

Mute Derek Boyle
    Favourite Derek Boyle
    Dec 10th 2014, 2:13 PM

Sadly Marcus is right in one way, peaceful protest at leinster house means nothing, ofc violent protests mean nothing either. Want the Government to take notice..march out onto the m50 bridge at 7am and march into the port tunnel at the same time each weekday morning and watch the city come to a standstill, money talks and hitting big business with traffic disruptions will put pressure on the government to resolve the situation.

Mute Gagsy 99
    Favourite Gagsy 99
    Dec 10th 2014, 2:22 PM

@ Stephen lane – 100K? Less of the propaganda, there must be at least 2 million out there.

Mute Sarah Sue
    Favourite Sarah Sue
    Dec 10th 2014, 2:27 PM

Marcus you idiot if the ‘tearing up the city’ involved damaging any of your own property you’d probably be the very one cribbing that the state did nothing to protect you. Idiot. “Tearing up the City” involves damaging property of already hard up people we dont need small minded goons like you at our protests.

Mute Marcus O'Connor
    Dec 10th 2014, 2:28 PM

@ O’Reilly

Ehh cheers for the input sunshine. I said I don’t agree with violence, gave a reasoned opinion as to why peaceful protests unfortunately don’t have the same effect as violent ones and threw it out there in a public forum.

If that was reason enough to call me a “f#@*ing tool” I’d say you must be mighty craic at the family Christmas table when little Mary explains why she thinks donating to charity is better than buying her a Frozen Elsa doll but that unfortunately that isn’t likely to happen in our current society. (At least that’s a well thought out ad hominem attack, put in a bit of effort will you.)

Mute Marcus O'Connor
    Dec 10th 2014, 2:33 PM

@Sarah Sue

Hey, thanks for the new moniker! By the way I hear that reading is fun, maybe you could have a go at my post again there, it might be enlightening and indeed make you happy that there is one less idiot or “small minded goon” in the country than you thought there was a few minutes ago.

Mute David Burke
    Favourite David Burke
    Dec 10th 2014, 2:34 PM

Blocking all of Dublin bus may have been a mistake..

Mute William Boyd
    Favourite William Boyd
    Dec 10th 2014, 2:40 PM

Markus I got your point those abusing you never thought your post out before pouncing on you, violent protests do work whether you agree with them or not?.

Mute whynotme
    Favourite whynotme
    Dec 10th 2014, 2:44 PM

I know how it feels to be bullied ,Marcus #yousaidnothingwrong

Mute Joanie Hutchinson
    Favourite Joanie Hutchinson
    Dec 10th 2014, 3:24 PM

Go on strike!

Mute Prov. Shinnerbot
    Dec 10th 2014, 3:35 PM

More Garda spin… there are at least 500k people here today.

Mute Michael O'Reilly
    Favourite Michael O'Reilly
    Dec 10th 2014, 3:40 PM

If peaceful protests like today don’t work then you wait for the election in two years time and you try to vote in a party that’s more appealing to you. Those that advocate violence to coerce the Govt. into changing their plans do absolutely nothing for your campaign.

Mute Ben Dover
    Favourite Ben Dover
    Dec 10th 2014, 3:45 PM

That’s the number that I counted,too .

Mute thereal.thing
    Favourite thereal.thing
    Dec 10th 2014, 4:33 PM

so what exactly have the protests achieved?

Mute Paul Carey
    Favourite Paul Carey
    Dec 10th 2014, 5:16 PM

4.5 million not marching. Listen to the majority.

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Dec 10th 2014, 5:43 PM

you’re right Paul – Fine Gael did not get an overall majority to implement water charges

Mute Fintan Stack
    Favourite Fintan Stack
    Dec 10th 2014, 6:36 PM

If RTEs estimate was accurate, my goodness 35k is a lot of people to come out and make the effort to let the government know we’ve had enough. We’ve had previous governments and TDs resign for less. However, having being in attendance, the crowd was at least 80000, based on crowds in croke park at full capacity and a concert at Slane castle.

Mute An Ciarraioch
    Favourite An Ciarraioch
    Dec 10th 2014, 7:21 PM

Prov. Shinnerbot – Enda’s very own Puppy FG Troll !!!!!

Mute William Boyd
    Favourite William Boyd
    Dec 10th 2014, 7:21 PM

Well boo hoo Paul, lets bring all the infants and school children to the protest march and lets bring all the elderly and infirm to the protest march, and lets bring all the people who had to work today to the protest march and lets bring all the sick on their hospital beds to the protest march, what a powder puff retort, surely you can come up with something better than that?.

This government are extremely worried believe me, they’ve become more desperate by the day, plenty more of these protest marches on the way in the new year, but it seems their downright arrogance and stubbornness have blinded them to the reality that they’re fighting a losing battle, I can hazard a guess that even if they insist on the creation of IW at least half the households won’t pay which makes it impossible to maintain, they can see the trees but can’t see the forest beyond, sometimes you just have to cut your losses, but maybe they realise they’re most likely doomed at the next GE anyway that they might as well fight one more corner for their European puppet masters because they know their European masters are not going to advise these punch drunk idiots to throw in the towel!.

Mute Adam Lynch
    Favourite Adam Lynch
    Dec 10th 2014, 7:38 PM

@thereal.thing – “So exactly what have the protests achieved?” For one, Massive back peddling by the government on PPS requirement, capped rates, a bunch of other ‘sweeteners’ to get us plebs to buy into the whole concept. I think that’s one direct achievement. But perhaps the greatest achievement is the people finally holding these overpaid muppets accountable and putting the their policies under proper public scrutiny.

Mute Were Jammin
    Favourite Were Jammin
    Dec 10th 2014, 8:04 PM

@ Fintan: You’re pretty much spot on. I got estimates from two Gardai I know well, one on Merrion Square around 3pm, one on Nassau street on my way home, One said over 70-80,000 (@ 3pm) the other said over 75,000 (figure after most of the protestors had left.

Mute Real Democrat
    Favourite Real Democrat
    Dec 10th 2014, 8:23 PM

Ha ha Jammin ! You & your buddy’s from the populist party were talking in the 100′s of thousands only the other day ( one even suggested if it was just 50000 or less it would be A defeat) I’m against water charges but the campaign has been hijacked by people from the SF populist party a lot of people did not bother coming out because of this. It’s all downhill from here for you….

Mute Ben Dover
    Favourite Ben Dover
    Dec 10th 2014, 9:07 PM

Stop talking through your cake O ,Real Democrat ..

Mute Ciaran McCann
    Favourite Ciaran McCann
    Dec 11th 2014, 12:17 AM

Paul Carney- What’s the population of Ireland?? You seem to think more people didn’t march than exist in this country!!

Mute Dave McAuliffe
    Favourite Dave McAuliffe
    Dec 11th 2014, 10:32 AM

Population of Ireland 4.595 million

Mute Big Crazy Al
    Favourite Big Crazy Al
    Dec 10th 2014, 12:33 PM

I think it will be more than 70000. A lot more. No estimations please. How about some hard numbers. No way we won’t pay.

Mute Elias Khoury
    Favourite Elias Khoury
    Dec 10th 2014, 12:50 PM

And how exactly are you going to get “hard numbers” rather than estimates? Big Crazy Al gonna count them one by one?!

Mute Big Crazy Al
    Favourite Big Crazy Al
    Dec 10th 2014, 12:57 PM

The point i was making was that there is going to be a lot more there than 70000. The last time there was a March the attendance figures reported were much lower than the number that were matching. And yes accurate estimates are possible. Yes they can be counted. Won’t reply to any more of your comments. No way we won’t pay.

See 54 more replies ▾
    Mute thetruth
    Favourite thetruth
    Dec 10th 2014, 1:05 PM

35k alone in merrion square and thats rte’s estimate

Mute stephen lane
    Favourite stephen lane
    Dec 10th 2014, 1:13 PM

On the ground here in Dublin. There has been a 1pm surge of numbers. Crowd spilling back to Davenport and traffic suddenly cant access.

Mute George Wylie
    Favourite George Wylie
    Dec 10th 2014, 1:17 PM

I’m still at the end on grafton St behind 1000′s of people

Mute Sam McAllister
    Favourite Sam McAllister
    Dec 10th 2014, 1:37 PM

“No way we wont pay”
    Good, so you’ll pay then?

Mute TonyFlynn
    Favourite TonyFlynn

I love the comment above about the 1pm surge in numbers. It’s people who work in town getting going for lunch and getting caught up in this nonsense.

Mute Lashes
    Favourite Lashes
    Dec 10th 2014, 1:49 PM

In Dublin today, relatively small protest to be fair . It’s nearly all dubs and a few people taking a break from their shopping .

Mute Lashes
    Favourite Lashes
    Dec 10th 2014, 2:00 PM

@ George grafton street is always busy in mid December

Mute thetruth
    Favourite thetruth
    Dec 10th 2014, 2:00 PM

Howya richie rogers tony flynn

Mute David Burke
    Favourite David Burke

The irony of giving a complete guess and then complaining about estimations.

From what I saw around the 20,000 mark, could be a bit higher maybe.

Mute TonyFlynn
    Favourite TonyFlynn
    Dec 10th 2014, 2:06 PM

@thetruth – As I stated on another story I only have one account.

Mute Cuppantae
    Favourite Cuppantae
    Dec 10th 2014, 2:09 PM

Just had a look on a Webcam on Kildare St. There must be three million people there….Where’s Wally?

Mute Becky Mary
    Favourite Becky Mary
    Dec 10th 2014, 2:11 PM

More people where coming from Louth Meath and North Dublin and the trains won’t stop at o’connell station people are stuck on trains even buses.

Mute Neal Ireland Hello
    Favourite Neal Ireland Hello

There is no train station at O’Connell Street.

Mute David Burke
    Favourite David Burke

Government propaganda removing train stations now.

Mute Becky Mary
    Favourite Becky Mary
    Dec 10th 2014, 2:52 PM

You all know what station I mean and no need for rudeness.

Mute Caroline Otoole
    Favourite Caroline Otoole
    Dec 10th 2014, 3:09 PM

You need to have a look at the pics coming from the offices overlooking the protests. There was a convoy from Waterford.

Mute Thomas Aquinas
    Favourite Thomas Aquinas
    Dec 10th 2014, 3:50 PM

Have to say I was surprised how few people were there. Hard to know in fairness but with the excuses of not about the numbers and students having exams and so on the organisers have to be disappointed.

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Dec 10th 2014, 4:11 PM

Thomas if you took the time to listen to the organisers you’d realise they were quite happy with the turnout.

Mute Dayvid McWalliams
    Favourite Dayvid McWalliams
    Dec 10th 2014, 4:23 PM

Do none of these people have jobs no?

Mute thereal.thing
    Favourite thereal.thing
    Dec 10th 2014, 4:39 PM

if the objective was to achieve nothing then the whole event was an entire success, well done to all concerned, the bit of fresh air will do you all the world of good :D

Mute Paul Carey
    Favourite Paul Carey
    Dec 10th 2014, 5:13 PM

4.5 million people decided not to protest. Listen to the silent majority.
    #whatrevolution?

Mute Paul Carey
    Favourite Paul Carey
    Dec 10th 2014, 5:18 PM

Norman, when is the revolution happening? Has it been postponed to another day?

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Dec 10th 2014, 5:25 PM

Paul not everyone needs to march non payment is more effective, recent Times poll only 48% willing to pay.
    Btw what revolution I never said there would be one.You making up things again Paul?naughty boy.

Mute Paul Carey
    Favourite Paul Carey
    Dec 10th 2014, 5:33 PM

Apologies Norman if you did not say that.

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Dec 10th 2014, 5:47 PM

Paul no ‘if’but sure if telling lies makes you happy fire ahead,you seem to an interest in doing so.

Mute Paul Carey
    Favourite Paul Carey
    Dec 10th 2014, 5:53 PM

Oh Norman how ungracious of you.
    Are you a bit upset today? Upset that the protest was a damp squid or upset that the shinners did not get their way. Well boohoo.

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Dec 10th 2014, 6:42 PM

Paul I’m not one bit upset,I find non payment will be more effective than any amount of marching.But if you still wish to throw around lies be my guest.

Mute Paul Carey
    Favourite Paul Carey
    Dec 10th 2014, 6:47 PM

60% have registered already. So you lose that one also.

Mute Super Ted
    Favourite Super Ted

I was at the protest from 12.30 until 5.00 and I would estimate that at least 80,000 people turned up. It’s very hard to ascertain the true figure because people were coming and going throughout the day. If you were to take a snapshot at any given time then there would have been around 30,000 but the overall figure was much higher than is being reported in the media.

Mute Paul Carey
    Favourite Paul Carey
    Dec 10th 2014, 6:54 PM

Whatever way these figures are presented, the protest will change nothing. It simply was big enough. 10 times this amount turn out for the st Patricks day parade.

Mute Paul Carey
    Favourite Paul Carey
    Dec 10th 2014, 7:00 PM

* was not big enough

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Dec 10th 2014, 7:08 PM

Paul oh dear registering is not the same as paying silly boy,people that are not customers of IW ie Well owners must register as well nearly 300k of them.
    As I said a poll published in the Times only 48% willing to pay.

Mute Damian Moran
    Favourite Damian Moran
    Dec 10th 2014, 7:11 PM

FG & Labour going to loose a lot of seats.

Mute An Ciarraioch
    Favourite An Ciarraioch
    Dec 10th 2014, 7:15 PM

Neal – Don’t be such a smart ass – you know well that this lady is referring to Amiens St. , that we all know is the nearest Station to O’Connell St. !!!

In any case , most probably , the turnout was considerably larger then the last Dublin March and they clearly wouldn’t have fitted into Croke Park ?

Mute Paul Carey
    Favourite Paul Carey
    Dec 10th 2014, 7:55 PM

Norman I won’t come down to your level by name calling. That is always a clear sign a person is losing an argument.
    The same was said about the bin charges and property tax. Today these are being paid.
    Today’s protest will not make an ounce of difference.

Mute Were Jammin
    Favourite Were Jammin
    Dec 10th 2014, 8:06 PM

The property tax is being paid because they got revenue to collect. They cannot do that with IW, as you know.

300,000 of those who have registered with Irish Water have done so to inform them that they supply their own water i.e. they will not be receiving or paying a bill.

Mute Paul Carey
    Favourite Paul Carey
    Dec 10th 2014, 8:14 PM

Were jamming you must admit this was not a great day for Sinn Fein. It did not live up to the hype. They may have to wait a bit longer for the election.

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Dec 10th 2014, 8:17 PM

Paul if you regard being called a ‘silly boy’ as name calling you must be incredibly sensitive,however it doesn’t change the fact your figures are bs.

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Dec 10th 2014, 8:19 PM

Btw i don’t consider myself arguing with you,I’ve just pointed out the flaws in your comments as I did last night.Remember when you couldn’t back up your comments you ran away.

Mute Paul Carey
    Favourite Paul Carey
    Dec 10th 2014, 8:34 PM

The problem with shinners is that you all twist duck and dive. Most people could not be bothered arguing with you guys because you are oblivious to the truth and facts. You are a perfect example.
    Now I won’t respond to you any more as I have better things to do.

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Dec 10th 2014, 8:45 PM

Paul cheers buddy,saves me having to keep correcting your lies,it was getting tiresome.Nite nite.lol.

Mute Were Jammin
    Favourite Were Jammin
    Dec 10th 2014, 8:46 PM

@ ‘paul “Were jamming you must admit this was not a great day for Sinn Fein.”

50-60,000 people on merrion square cheering for Adams and Mary Lous speeches?

Think they’ll take that as a great day.

Mute Ben Dover
    Favourite Ben Dover
    Dec 10th 2014, 9:09 PM

What a brilliant turnout for a Wednesday ..#gettheshillsontodampenpeoplesspirits

Mute Anna Govern
    Favourite Anna Govern
    Dec 10th 2014, 10:14 PM

U must b blind and deaf??

Mute Claire O' Connor
    Favourite Claire O' Connor
    Dec 10th 2014, 11:28 PM

Bet u said the same about not paying your household charge LOL!!

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Dec 10th 2014, 11:57 PM

Claire do try to keep up Revenue collected that,they can’t collect on behalf of a semi state or private company.Its illegal under both Irish and EU law.
    Hope that helps.

Mute Pádraic Ó Braonáin
    Favourite Pádraic Ó Braonáin
    Dec 11th 2014, 12:20 AM

I walked the entire demonstration counting blocks of 100s – fairly accurately – I figured the size of a block of 100 by taking a photo from above and counting heads and judging what size of space that takes up. I then walked along the entire length and back again to the stage and beyond. I counted 115, 000 easily – it might even have been more because I left out areas where the crowd was thin and not packed as I could not use the block area counting system The demo was easily 115, 000 or more.

Mute Pádraic Ó Braonáin
    Dec 11th 2014, 12:46 AM

Running away again Paul – it was so nice seeing Norman Hunter handing you yer ass on a plate over an over again. Please come back Paul, no need to hide, I think Norman is finished with you.

Mute Brian McCarthy
    Favourite Brian McCarthy
    Dec 11th 2014, 1:04 AM

Don’t mind RTE ‘ s estimate. They haven’t been giving the right to water protesters fair coverage from the start. I was there today and everyone said there was way more than that in Merrion Square.

Mute Del Haven
    Favourite Del Haven
    Dec 11th 2014, 6:55 AM

@Paul, a damp squid?

Mute Ho Lee Fuk
    Favourite Ho Lee Fuk
    Dec 11th 2014, 6:59 AM

Mr.Carey,

I was expecting every hospital in the country to release every new b

Mute Ho Lee Fuk
    Favourite Ho Lee Fuk
    Dec 11th 2014, 7:07 AM

*newborn baby and sick person to go marching today. Every child to be given the day off school ?

Stop with your spin as it is pathetic ..Laughable even .

Mute Monika Smulska
    Favourite Monika Smulska
    Dec 11th 2014, 8:17 AM

Paul U wish:)

Mute Monika Smulska
    Favourite Monika Smulska
    Dec 11th 2014, 8:19 AM

Paul U clearly don’t see that people don’t have money anymore to pay another charges! So this protests will make difference….use UR brain….U talking about digits etc but U don’t understand that there is no money to pay

Mute Niall H
    Favourite Niall H
    Dec 10th 2014, 12:46 PM

I hope I’m wrong but choosing Wednesday is a massive fcuk up on the right2water organisers. Most people at the protest I went to a month ago were middle class workers who are squeezed and can’t afford to take days off in the run up to xmas. The point would be just as clear if we protested on the weekend. As I said I hope I’m wrong but that’s what is preventing me and at least 10 more people I know from travelling to dublin today.

Mute David Grey
    Favourite David Grey

I couldn’t agree more-I went to the local protests and couldn’t afford to take a day off without pay!
    A Saturday protest would have made more sense and people would have combined some Xmas shopping in the trip!!

Mute Angry Squirrel
    Favourite Angry Squirrel
    Dec 10th 2014, 1:03 PM

Totally agree I have to work is be there otherwise

See 13 more replies ▾
    Mute John Ó'Ríordán
    Favourite John Ó'Ríordán
    Dec 10th 2014, 1:16 PM

Exactly. I’m sitting here in work right now reading this. We are busy leading up to the end of the year and I’ve no holidays left anyway.

Mute stephen lane
    Favourite stephen lane
    Dec 10th 2014, 1:18 PM

I shouldnt panic. Im merrion square and crowd is massive

Mute Karen Hallissey
    Favourite Karen Hallissey
    Dec 10th 2014, 1:36 PM

there are a lot of people that work weekends so this is giving a chance to join a protest

Mute Pauliebhoy
    Favourite Pauliebhoy
    Dec 10th 2014, 1:36 PM

Human Rights Day is today, that’s why

Mute Niall Noonan
    Favourite Niall Noonan

I’m just back in work from it and there are easily 100,000 at it and that’s exluding the throngs that are still streaming up the streets towards Merrion Square. Huge turnout, possibly the biggest water protest yet

Mute Niall H
    Favourite Niall H
    Dec 10th 2014, 1:50 PM

Human rights day is still a working day I’m afraid

Mute David Burke
    Favourite David Burke
    Dec 10th 2014, 1:57 PM

Maybe I missed a bit of the crowd but I passed what I though was it and it couldn’t have been more than 20,000.

Mute Tim Kearney
    Favourite Tim Kearney

@ David Burke. .. the clown is unable to count. ..

Mute James Mark Donnelly

Don’t worry guys, you just make sure you don’t pay when this government ignore us again.

Mute talkingsense
    Favourite talkingsense
    Dec 10th 2014, 2:06 PM

Not many came down o connell st either. Saw a few chancers with kerry flags collecting money as well! Maybe they need it to pay their water bills.

Mute Boo!-Fight the Board
    Favourite Boo!-Fight the Board
    Dec 10th 2014, 2:16 PM

Its v hard to count, but judging by d3nsity at stadiums, theres no moree than 30k. Im here observing.

30k is still alot mind.

Mute Sinéad Coyne
    Favourite Sinéad Coyne
    Dec 10th 2014, 3:49 PM

I was in the same boat Niall. I was at the protest in Galway a few weeks ago and I was all set to go to Dublin when I thought that the march would be on 6th December, but it is a busy time at work and I couldn’t really take the day off.

Mute Damian Moylan
    Favourite Damian Moylan
    Dec 10th 2014, 8:13 PM

Niall, you are correct. Took all the pressure off the govt really having it today. Would have been tons more on a saturday. Self defeating really.

Mute Leslie Skinner
    Favourite Leslie Skinner

WE ARE NOT PAYING TWICE

Mute Scottyyyyyy
    Favourite Scottyyyyyy

Stop shouting Leslie!

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Dec 10th 2014, 12:51 PM

Shout louder Leslie !

Mute Atticus the Accuser
    Favourite Atticus the Accuser

Rte are reporting more than 2 less than 10! #journalisticintegrity

Mute Dylan Drein
    Favourite Dylan Drein

I understand the reasoning behind picking Wednesday as its a day the Dáil are sitting but they’re not gonna get anywhere near the Dáil anyway, Gardai and metal barricades will ensure that. I think they should have picked a Saturday and they’d probably see double the numbers they see today. I’d love to go in but I’m in college for things I can’t miss, there are massive numbers of others in the same boat or working or whatever else. It’s not possible for everyone to just drop tools and take the day off as simply as people make it seem. If there’s anything below 70,000 today it’ll be seen as a failure, Gov and co will say it’s a result of people accepting their new measures when in actuality it’s just poorly thought out planning.

Mute www90
    Favourite www90
    Dec 10th 2014, 12:58 PM

College my arse cud skip yr two classes joker

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Dec 10th 2014, 12:59 PM

It’s international human rights day,that is why today was picked.

See 20 more replies ▾
    Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Dec 10th 2014, 1:01 PM

The only result that government can claim as success is over 90% of payment in April,a recent poll in the Times put the figure of 48% as willing to pay.
    No company that has only 48% of its invoices paid can survive.

Mute David Burke
    Favourite David Burke
    Dec 10th 2014, 1:56 PM

It’s looking like the 20,000 mark at the moment.

Mute Brian Madden
    Favourite Brian Madden
    Dec 10th 2014, 2:15 PM

@david, not only do you talk out of your arse, you appear to be picking figures out of there too! Cop on

Mute William Boyd
    Favourite William Boyd

Regardless of what the crowd is today these protests are not going to go away, I can envisage another huge protest been organised on a w/end sometime after the festive period, and then another and another until these arrogant tossers eventually admit defeat.

Mute David Burke
    Favourite David Burke
    Dec 10th 2014, 2:29 PM

It looked like 20,000 if I was to take a guess…..

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Dec 10th 2014, 2:30 PM

Sure wasn’t it David that made a total fool of himself with the statistics on here a few weeks ago …
    David lives in his own little world I think … going to be the new J.R. maybe …ha,ha,ha,ha,

Mute Search Eagle
    Favourite Search Eagle
    Dec 10th 2014, 2:45 PM

“It’s international human rights day,that is why today was picked.”

Not paying for water isn’t a human right.

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan

Double negative is appositive Search – we all know that – Simple Maths ….
    Not paying for something twice is a human right ….
    Time to do up the C.V. Search …leave out the bit where you were working for the Government – say you were on Jobbridge or something it will make you look more employable !

Mute Gagsy 99
    Favourite Gagsy 99
    Dec 10th 2014, 3:49 PM

@Dermot – applying your maths should translate the line to “Paying for water is a human right”.

And dismissing anyone with an opposing view as being an FG/Govt shill suggests a lack of conviction in your own arguments. It sounds really good though which is the main thing (a bit like your “paying twice” fallacy).

Mute thereal.thing
    Favourite thereal.thing
    Dec 10th 2014, 4:42 PM

numbers are tragic

Mute Dylan Drein
    Favourite Dylan Drein
    Dec 10th 2014, 5:01 PM

No, I can’t. I’ve end of semester exams coming up as well as final projects to be done. Like I said it’s not as easy as just dropping tools and marching on Dublin, today was not a day that suited everyone who wanted to be there. Saturday would have been.

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Dec 10th 2014, 5:24 PM

consult article 11 of the Irish Constitution Gaggsy and when you have I will accept your apology – and correct for pointing out that Search’s double negative is a lie !

Mute Gagsy 99
    Favourite Gagsy 99
    Dec 10th 2014, 5:34 PM

Huh?

Article 11

“All revenues of the State from whatever source arising shall, subject to such exception as may be provided by law, form one fund, and shall be appropriated for the purposes and in the manner and subject to the charges and liabilities determined and imposed by law.”

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Dec 10th 2014, 5:39 PM

no off-balance there son now is there ?

Mute Gagsy 99
    Favourite Gagsy 99
    Dec 10th 2014, 6:00 PM

No indeed, you’re right there, I cant deny that.
    Not a mention of off-balance.

There are no oranges or camels there either.

(Am I playing this right?)

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Dec 10th 2014, 6:44 PM

Gaggsy – your game’s days are numbered …….

Mute Lorem Ipsum
    Favourite Lorem Ipsum
    Dec 10th 2014, 9:05 PM

Dermot loves doing this; he plucks bits out of the constitution then pretends they mean what he wants them to mean. Dermot, unless you’re a diffuse entity occupying the bodies of a majority of Supreme Court judges, that’s not how it works

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Dec 10th 2014, 10:06 PM

Lorem deal with the substantive – all taxes and charges collected by Government must form a single fund and be managed by the Government – of no less than 7 elected members of the Oireachteas and no more than 15 ….
    The E.M.C. is illegal in construction and in modus operandi ….. and so is Irish Water because it’s proposed to borrow in the State’s name and yet not be managed by the Government !
    I am not worried though the march today proves that the tide has turned and the Government are dust !
    A shame really because there are some really good people in Fine Gael – but sure that’s the price of blind loyalty !

Mute Lorem Ipsum
    Favourite Lorem Ipsum
    Dec 10th 2014, 11:28 PM

I’m not going to bother explaining it to you except to point you to this bit:

“subject to such exemption as may be provided by law”

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Dec 11th 2014, 2:21 AM

and Article 15.4 states that all legislation must adhere to the constitution and further the McKenna and McCrystal rulings mean that Labour could not vote for the Establishment of Irish Water having campaigned not to introduce them ..
    you didn’t know about 15.4 did you Lorem , nor did you know that the supreme court is obliged to follow best international practice which democratically when it comes to natural resources is Mexico ….
    You seem to lack the depth of required knowledge for this argument , but still your little contribution was an excellent insight – thank you !

Mute Brendan Furlong
    Favourite Brendan Furlong
    Dec 10th 2014, 12:45 PM

Stuck in killester dart station…train full of people going in to protest, points failure….Conspiracy or what

Mute thereal.thing
    Favourite thereal.thing
    Dec 10th 2014, 12:58 PM

everyone is out to get ye, i heard enda kenny ordered rain too… cheeky bugger!!!

Mute thereal.thing
    Favourite thereal.thing

Who will be the first hero on a microphone to say ‘we are the people’ …. while millions don’t and won’t take any part :D

Mute David Hanlon
    Favourite David Hanlon
    Dec 10th 2014, 12:52 PM

Aww look a brand new Twitter account specially for today. You really didn’t need to go to so much effort in FG headquarters

Mute thereal.thing
    Favourite thereal.thing
    Dec 10th 2014, 12:54 PM

I’ll let you have a wee chat with yourself there… :D

Mute David Hanlon
    Favourite David Hanlon
    Dec 10th 2014, 12:56 PM

Is that a case of great minds think alike jammin? Or FG fools seldom differ?

Mute thereal.thing
    Favourite thereal.thing
    Dec 10th 2014, 1:01 PM

only you have the answer … for both of you :D

Mute Angry Squirrel
    Favourite Angry Squirrel
    Dec 10th 2014, 1:11 PM

Your a fool REAL

Mute Philip McKeon
    Favourite Philip McKeon
    Dec 10th 2014, 1:48 PM

It’s “you’re a foo “not “your a fool”, you fool.

Mute Philip McKeon
    Favourite Philip McKeon
    Dec 10th 2014, 1:50 PM

Dohh I left out the “L”….. I’m a fool

Mute Ronan Flanagan
    Favourite Ronan Flanagan
    Dec 10th 2014, 2:08 PM

Haha, well said, clowns

Mute Ronan Flanagan
    Favourite Ronan Flanagan
    Dec 10th 2014, 2:09 PM

Above a response to were jammin

Mute Thomas Mac
    Favourite Thomas Mac
    Dec 10th 2014, 2:18 PM

Ah good oul Kenneth !

Mute Thomas Maher
    Favourite Thomas Maher
    Dec 10th 2014, 3:56 PM

Thereal.thing I would like to thank you for reminding me how important it for everyone to protest today.

Mute Cèith O Sirideain
    Favourite Cèith O Sirideain
    Dec 10th 2014, 1:55 PM

It really bothers Leo Varadkar that people are protesting over €3 a week, when his party cannot guarantee that Irish water will not be privatized the the road. Will not have a referendum to secure that Irish water will not be sold off for a knock down price just like Bord Gais was earlier this year.
    This is what bothers the people off Ireland!

Mute William Boyd
    Favourite William Boyd

The arrogance of Varadkar’s statement doesn’t surprise me one iota, its in keeping with the whole sorry lot of them, its only €3 quid now (temporarily) after their massive climbdown in a desperate attempt to keep their sinking ship afloat, we’re not been fooled any longer and going fall for what is only a temporary measure before the rip off begins in earnest.

Mute Search Eagle
    Favourite Search Eagle
    Dec 10th 2014, 2:44 PM

Leo Varadkar is completely right and it’s always refreshing to hear a politician spell out the situation bluntly and without false platitudes. The reality is that €3 a week *is* affordable for the vast majority of people. There is nothing “arrogant” about that.

“when his party cannot guarantee that Irish water will not be privatized the the road. Will not have a referendum to secure that Irish water will not be sold off for a knock down price just like Bord Gais was earlier this year.”

You talk about water being privatised and then you bring up Bord Gais, which isn’t an acceptable of a resource being privatised, because the actual gas network is still owned by the state. In fact it was the domestic supply – Bord Gais Energy that was sold off. This is an important distinction. Further, I don’t really see how the liberalisation of the energy sector wasn’t of benefit. Instead of having a semi-state infested with unions as our sole choice, we now have multiple providers. But for some reason there are people want us to go back to a time when we only had Eircom, ESB and Bus Eireann as our choice.

See 13 more replies ▾
    Mute William Boyd
    Favourite William Boyd
    Dec 10th 2014, 2:58 PM

Search Eagle it was far from €3 a week back in October now was it?, a house full of teens could’ve sent your water bill through the roof.

Mute Gagsy 99
    Favourite Gagsy 99
    Dec 10th 2014, 3:02 PM

But then we’ll have Denis O’Brien going all ‘Colhaagen from Total Recall’ on our asses.

Mute Search Eagle
    Favourite Search Eagle
    Dec 10th 2014, 3:25 PM

It was reduced, and I don’t agree with the deductions, but it does somewhat diminish the affordability argument. If people are seriously going to argue that most people in the country can’t afford a €3 charge to pay for water, then really, where are we going?

The water is going to cost the same regardless. It’s going to come from someone at some point. I want to see it charged through utility bills. You can disagree with me, and that’s fine, but at least I’m being intellectually honest enough to accept that means paying a couple of hundred euro. People who oppose water charges – a legitimate point of view to hold – have an onus to tell us where the money is going to come from. Saying “we pay already” isn’t an argument, because the fact of the matter is, that with a 6 billion euro deficit, we ain’t already paying, unless your concept of “payment” is fundamentally flawed.

Mute Rob Cahill
    Favourite Rob Cahill
    Dec 10th 2014, 3:34 PM

“It’s going to come from someone at some point.”

They take more than half what I earn every month. Let them take it out of that.

Mute Gagsy 99
    Favourite Gagsy 99
    Dec 10th 2014, 3:55 PM

Jaysus Rob, you must be on a good number.

What they take from you and everyone this year will be about 8bn less than what they spend.

Mute justanothertaxpayer
    Favourite justanothertaxpayer
    Dec 10th 2014, 4:01 PM

@Rob – to get an effective tax rate of over 50% you have to earn approx 200k per year.

Mute Search Eagle
    Favourite Search Eagle
    Dec 10th 2014, 4:05 PM

“They take more than half what I earn every month. Let them take it out of that.”

Presumably then you’re on a good wage, in which case, the answer to the question that many would give is that people like you should be taxed even further for having the temerity to earn something good for yourself. Look at SF/AAA are proposing, crazy 48% income taxes combined with the already massive USC. The question for you then becomes: would you rather pay a fair utility bill for your own water, or would you rather pay 2-3 times more to cover the costs of other people’s water in the name of “fairness”?

Mute thereal.thing
    Favourite thereal.thing
    Dec 10th 2014, 4:36 PM

so the protestors had their day out, what now?

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Dec 10th 2014, 5:26 PM

that’s for them to know and for spies to find out …. if they’re able

Mute Lisa Clarke
    Favourite Lisa Clarke
    Dec 10th 2014, 5:43 PM

Here here, search eagle. I’m following your posts and I agree. Taxpayers can no longer keep footing the bills all the time. I’m a middle earner and very happy to contribute tax money for welfare for people who need it. But I’m at breaking point with Dublin rents on the rise as well as the added universal tax and the cuts to the benefits of PRSI. I really feel that nobody is representing the very people who middle earn and pay their taxes and have absolutely no benefits. I will be happy to pay a small fee for water if it means everyone else pays and we all have safe drinking water.

Mute Gill B
    Favourite Gill B

@search eagle

Seriously you want a reasonable debate?

80% Irish Sea Water signed over to EU allowing 7 big EU countries rape our waters over, over again (this was agreed after refusing Ireland entry EU 2 times).

Irish Lottery sold to Camelot

Irish Government agreed to Bail the Banks

Irish Government agree to pay unsecured bond holidays

Irish Government implements USC, Property Tax

Irish Government sells Bin Collection Service Greyground pays workers non living wage (which we tax payer than subside through FIS)

You seriously expect the Irish people to Trust our political leaders with not privatising Our Water?

You keep shouting money has to come from some where to up grade our water pipes.

Here’s a realistic point,

Stop paying unsecured bond holders,

Enda stops been payed more than Barack Obama & Merkel, all politician wages cut by 50%, representing a population 4.9million (not 2 billion).

Top Civil servants wage cut 50% no more bonuses (2million paid to them in the last yr)

Complete external review of all Government Quangos, cost effective services replace Quangos

The Billions waisted by this Government each year could very easily be redirected to upgrade water pipes.

But hey keep talking crap that we the people have to pay more, Propaganda at it’s finest.

I’m very proud to be Irish right now, people are awakening we are fighting the Neo Liberalism agenda

You Search Eagle are either , part of the propaganda vehicle or not awaken yet?

Mute Leo McMackin
    Favourite Leo McMackin
    Dec 10th 2014, 8:24 PM

This argument about not paying bondholders is becoming futile at best. It is being falsely spun as an infinitely deep pool of funds that will solve each and every one of our problems. SF / AAA and the rest of that ilk use it relentlessly as the basis for funding their fantastical tax abolitions. How deep do you think this pool is? And do you really think defaulting on our debt will come without consequence?

Cutting back Dáil salaries is also well and good but don’t pretend that it will recover more than a few million. Remember, you don’t want to pay for water. We’re talking billions.

Search has made some fine points. It is incredible how easily influenced the Journal’s comment base is. Every comment must now be populist and berating of the government. Anything else is met with diatribe and labelled ‘propaganda’. Paranoia is setting in with all those FG spies out in force.

Mute Search Eagle
    Favourite Search Eagle
    Dec 10th 2014, 8:34 PM

“You Search Eagle are either , part of the propaganda vehicle or not awaken yet?”

It is the consistent refrain of the arrogant, to consistently refer to people who disagree with their position as needing to “wake up”. But anyway…

“Seriously you want a reasonable debate?”

I’d love a reasonable debate, sadly when you open your post with the claim that the EU is “raping” our waters, we’re probably not off to the greatest start in that regard…

“80% Irish Sea Water signed over to EU allowing 7 big EU countries rape our waters over, over again .”

The surprising reality is that since joining EU, we actually extract a greater amount of fish from our own waters, more than double in fact. The other fact that’s not so surprising is that the same were imposed on Ireland as all members. The fishing is, well, quite literally a red herring of sorts! The CAP and structural funds we receive far far outweigh any benefit we would’ve extracted from fishing all our resources ourselves. Further, it was the EU that provided us with the funds to develop our fleet beyond the small, miserly collection we had in the 1970′s. If you look at the facts, they rather give lie to the idea that Europe stole from us a massive industry and huge potential resource. Even optimistically, you’re looking at no more than an extra ~100 million euro a year in tax revenue.

“(this was agreed after refusing Ireland entry EU 2 times)”

It’s an unrelated fact, but sure. The reasons for Ireland being refused entry are actually quite interesting. In the first instance, it was in large part due to legacy of Lemass and De Valera’s protectionist policies, which other member states found incompatible with the ideals of the union. In the second instance, it was more to do with Britain.

“You keep shouting money has to come from some where to up grade our water pipes.”

Yes, though not just fix our pipes, keep the country running.

“Stop paying unsecured bond holders,”

Not paying the remaining bondholders will save peanuts.

“Enda stops been payed more than Barack Obama & Merkel, all politician wages cut by 50%, representing a population 4.9million (not 2 billion).
    Top Civil servants wage cut 50% no more bonuses (2million paid to them in the last yr)”

Sure, cut their wages, cut them to 0 if you want, still basically nothing in the context of our deficit.

“Complete external review of all Government Quangos, cost effective services replace Quangos”

Yeah, see you’re gonna have to be WAAAAY more specific about that. For the record, I wouldn’t diagree. Let me give you a particular example of a government body I’d like to see replaced, in an area in which I’m knowledgeable: Córas Iarnród Éireann. The state-owned company which has been a disaster for our public transport for decades now.

I would like to see, over time, all bus and rail routes tendered out to private operators, with the NTA setting the fares and the failed CIE disbanded. Perhaps with Irish Rail retained only as a network/engineering company. It could yield significant savings, and open up the potential for services than run more similarly to the excellent Luas – a privately-operated tram network. Already we’ve seen a taste of that, with private operators have breathing new life into the long distance coach market – Aircoach and CityLink forcing the once unbreakable monopoly of Bus Éireann‎ to up their game.

That’s the kind of specific, actionable, thought-out reform that people need to bring to the table. Not just “more efficiency”. Of course when you say, “cost effective services” replacing quangos, I presume you mean more state-owned services, and judging by the tone of the rest of your post you’d regard this as pushing a “neo-liberal” agenda, rather than looking at the outcomes.

“The Billions waisted by this Government each year could very easily be redirected to upgrade water pipes.”

You have yet to identify “billions”. You’ve identified, at best, a very debatable couple hundred million. Also why should the money come from government, we now have a vehicle through which investment can be sought through the private sector. Why would you prefer the government unnecessarily redirect its own resources in this case?

Mute stephen kavanagh
    Dec 10th 2014, 12:43 PM

Such conservative estimates, wishful thinking by the government. I predict at least 100,000 and I am always right

Mute Elias Khoury
    Favourite Elias Khoury

Of course you are, Stephen. I predict 2.5 million, and I am never wrong

Mute stephen kavanagh
    Dec 10th 2014, 2:38 PM

I was right, easily 100,000 there at present

Mute Search Eagle
    Favourite Search Eagle
    Dec 10th 2014, 2:49 PM

I counted 400 billion.

Humans are notoriously bad at dealing with big (>1000) numbers!

Mute Ían Ó Ceallaigh
    Favourite Ían Ó Ceallaigh
    Dec 10th 2014, 1:27 PM

Disgusting that they can not protest/march to the centre of our democracy. Kildare street should be open

Mute Etheric Projection
    Favourite Etheric Projection
    Dec 10th 2014, 1:29 PM

Just there a few mins ago – crazy – only enoys people
    More – group was missing a leader …

Mute thereal.thing
    Favourite thereal.thing
    Dec 10th 2014, 12:35 PM

the campaign will have their figure set already. I’ve a tenner on 200000 :D

Mute thereal.thing
    Favourite thereal.thing

my friend just gave me 10-1 that paul murphy says ‘the whole of dublin’ i think thats a decent price?

Mute www90
    Favourite www90
    Dec 10th 2014, 1:00 PM

Wats wit protest today ??

Mute thetruth
    Favourite thetruth
    Dec 10th 2014, 1:06 PM

Thereal.thing. zero followers, zero following, zero tweets…do fg pay per fake twitter account? ? How much

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Dec 10th 2014, 1:11 PM

Theturth don’t waste your time the usual party hacks will be all over these articles with multiple accounts just ignore them.Btw
    Fergus O Dowd is doing more to recruit protesters than most others and he’s a FG TD ffs.

Mute thetruth
    Favourite thetruth
    Dec 10th 2014, 1:15 PM

O dowd is some boyo. Same with Creighton. Soon as they get fked off the gravy train, they open up and reveal all

Mute Philip McKeon
    Favourite Philip McKeon
    Dec 10th 2014, 1:46 PM

Www90 don’t worry it’s just a small group of free loaders bitching about something they hardly ever use.

Mute Dec B
    Favourite Dec B
    Dec 10th 2014, 3:36 PM

Curate those tweets! The 15:06 image of the “crowd” is from the Royal Wedding in 2011. Note the British flags…

Mute Brian Treacy
    Favourite Brian Treacy
    Dec 10th 2014, 12:54 PM

Paying a reasonable amount tied to use, don’t see anything wrong with that. As long as the money raised is used to improve the system and not compensate foreign investors for their bad investments. The same goes for taxes raised by the revenue. All tax revenue should be used for infrastructural improvements and normal macro trading payments. No more payments to bond holders. It’s never too late to tell them to take a hike.

Mute Ían Ó Ceallaigh
    Dec 10th 2014, 1:08 PM

The state has set up IW to provide it a dividend so a large portion of the collected charges will go to the government (paying back loans) instead of invested directly into the water network.

What this means is that the rates will never be reduced even if the Irish people start to conserve water through correct use, rain collection or other water saving measures. If we lower consumption the rates will increase to keep the level of revenue the same

Mute Gagsy 99
    Favourite Gagsy 99

Ian – what is your first statement based on? You seem to express it like its a fact.

Mute Ían Ó Ceallaigh
    Dec 10th 2014, 4:06 PM

Based on the fact that it is set up as a dividend provider and gov reps have admitted that it would be a revenue generator for the state.

Mute ©JP Foley
    Favourite ©JP Foley

One of your pics is just a Google stock image of a crowd. Definitely not the Irish water protest. It has Union Jacks in it. See the tweet screenshot from mcgconor in the story.

Mute Fremen14
    Favourite Fremen14
    Dec 10th 2014, 12:38 PM

Most reporters ask the gards what they estimate the numbers, I have seen crowds numbering over 3000 and gard says up to 1000

Mute thereal.thing
    Favourite thereal.thing

how did you count the ‘over 3000′- just interested in your methodology, or lets face it was it a guess just like the gardai you bemoan?

Mute Fremen14
    Favourite Fremen14
    Dec 10th 2014, 12:41 PM

I’d imagine best place to get numbers are from foreign media

Mute Fremen14
    Favourite Fremen14

Garda was walking the street, if you pick high point and count number in a block then count blocks will give you a better estimation than just saying ‘ah sure about a thousand,

Mute thereal.thing
    Favourite thereal.thing
    Dec 10th 2014, 12:46 PM

So you just guessed, thought so.

Mute Fiona Ryan
    Favourite Fiona Ryan

No it’s the best way, there is no way of getting an entirely accurate figure. I see how many rows there are, get an average number in each and then count the number of rows. Multiply at the end. I imagine the guards aren’t doing anything much different.

Mute thetruth
    Favourite thetruth
    Dec 10th 2014, 1:08 PM

No. Your politburo station rte reckon 35k in merrion square alone

Mute Paudi Onail
    Favourite Paudi Onail
    Dec 10th 2014, 1:41 PM

kelly doesn’t ‘get into figures’, yea he ‘gets into bed’ with the agenda and then gives figures. he doesn’t get into figures hahahaha

Mute Thomas Mac
    Favourite Thomas Mac
    Dec 10th 2014, 2:17 PM

How does RTE get their viewing ratings ,therealthing ? Guess? Yup!

Mute Gagsy 99
    Favourite Gagsy 99

Could everybody just stay still for 10 minutes so I can count yis all?

Mute Neal Ireland Hello
    Dec 10th 2014, 2:31 PM

In fairness to the guards, they’re not paid to do a census.

Mute Paudi Onail
    Favourite Paudi Onail
    Dec 10th 2014, 6:28 PM

by recent events, believing rte and the garda for an honest decent answer is long gone. they blew it themselves.

Mute Fintan Stack
    Favourite Fintan Stack
    Dec 10th 2014, 7:44 PM

So Rte say 30k and the people who have endured enough say 100k, how about we meet in the middle and say 65k, still a massive turnout! There’s something wrong when some take to the streets to give us a voice.

Mute Etheric Projection
    Favourite Etheric Projection
    Dec 10th 2014, 1:19 PM

Guards blocked road to dail – blocking our right to protest! Disgrace!!!

Mute Paudi Onail
    Favourite Paudi Onail
    Dec 10th 2014, 1:43 PM

why are they blocking it? they shouldn’t be blocking a protest on a public street. they’re trying to stir s****

Mute Neal Ireland Hello

There are several hundred people with disabilities working in Kildare Street (government buildings, Agriculture a house and surrounding) . Have a little consideration for them please. You don’t need to be right on top of them hemming them in to make your point.

Mute Paudi Onail
    Favourite Paudi Onail

nah you’re excuse doesn’t cut it. they don’t work on the street, they work ‘inside’. oh, they may not be able to get in or out? don’t they have lunch served inside, all cushy. this is not all day, they will of course be able to get home at 6pm, unless they finish work at 2pm? sure threes people with disabilities working on o’connell street, or is just concern for these workers ‘inside’?

Mute Padhraicin NiChonorm
    Favourite Padhraicin NiChonorm
    Dec 10th 2014, 7:09 PM

They can’t get home at 6 as protesters have blocked OConnell bridge and blocked buses. Just met a wheelchair user who can’t get his bus.

Mute Stephen Browner
    Favourite Stephen Browner

People with disabilities work all over. It’s a pretty lame excuse.

Mute Were Jammin
    Favourite Were Jammin
    Dec 10th 2014, 8:09 PM

I got a bus home no problem. Had to walk up the Quays a bit, thats all.

Mute Lorem Ipsum
    Favourite Lorem Ipsum
    Dec 10th 2014, 9:15 PM

That’s a big help to the aforementioned wheelchair users, Were Jammin

Mute Were Jammin
    Favourite Were Jammin
    Dec 10th 2014, 10:05 PM

I see you’ve taken my post completely out of context, probably intentionally. I was referring to the availability of buses, I was not replying to the comment about the disabled person.

Mute Leigh Byrne
    Favourite Leigh Byrne
    Dec 10th 2014, 1:31 PM

Just logged into watch this on Aer TV as they are streaming it.
    It looks like a complete shinner event. Disgusting that they have latched onto this campaign.

Mute Neal Ireland Hello
    Dec 10th 2014, 2:33 PM

In fairness Sinn Fein have been very balanced and fair on this issue, with their policy that water should be metered up north but not in the south.

Mute Bob Mac
    Favourite Bob Mac
    Dec 10th 2014, 2:53 PM

Comrade Neal, you shouldn’t be bringing up inconsistencies in Sinn Fein policy around here, you’re not helping the cause!

Mute John Rabbett
    Favourite John Rabbett
    Dec 10th 2014, 3:00 PM

Ah now don’t forget until a few weeks back Gerry was going to pay water charges… Nice U turn when he realised the votes he could win by changing his mind

Mute Prov. Shinnerbot

Neal, Bob, thank you for your support. Gerry Adams has made it clear recently that he will not pay water charges on his holiday home or his friend’s gaf in Louth.

Mute Anna Govern
    Favourite Anna Govern
    Dec 10th 2014, 10:18 PM

No it so was not a shinner event it was a common people pissed off event with a fab carnival inclusive atsmophere I WAS THERE

Mute gumbridge
    Favourite gumbridge
    Dec 10th 2014, 12:42 PM

Garda method of crowd counting: count the number of legs and divide by two.

Mute Vic
    Favourite Vic
    Dec 10th 2014, 2:02 PM

They’ve blocked off the road to the Dail and won’t let protesters through.

Mute ⭐️⭐️Lauren⭐️⭐️
    Favourite ⭐️⭐️Lauren⭐️⭐️
    Dec 10th 2014, 2:08 PM

Just back into work after spending my lunch hour on the protest massive turn out… I dont think the fact that its mid week has effected numbers at all easily 100k people in the city! The atmosphere is incredible!

Mute Johnny Walnut
    Favourite Johnny Walnut
    Dec 10th 2014, 1:00 PM

Fair play to all that made it. Alan Kelly said only a short time ago that there will be NO more changes made to Irish Water so yous are basically wasting your time. Shout loud and peacefully and show him who’s the Boss.

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Dec 10th 2014, 1:07 PM

Johnny non payment is far more effective anyway.

Mute Munster2014
    Favourite Munster2014
    Dec 10th 2014, 1:52 PM

Alan Kelly can say what he wants – the fact remains that if this government are not going to listen to the people and disband Irish Water, the people will dismantle it themselves. Let’s see Irish Water survive when less than 50% of its “customers” pay the bills in April. Irish Water can go and f*** off in to oblivion and this arrogant shower of wan**rs parading as our government will be following them very soon after.

Mute Search Eagle
    Favourite Search Eagle
    Dec 10th 2014, 2:48 PM

If people don’t pay then the cost of water isn’t going to suddenly decrease, the money will be taken from elsewhere. The irony is it’ll probably be taxed out of the people who actually ARE going to pay their water charges!

Mute Turlough O' Connor
    Favourite Turlough O' Connor

All dart services stopped becos of probs with points… Everybody getting off and getting bus….

Mute thereal.thing
    Favourite thereal.thing

god help a bus if it gets a puncture the driver will be lynched :D

Mute Thierry Rat
    Favourite Thierry Rat
    Dec 10th 2014, 1:46 PM

Good to see rte have home and away on now

Mute Neal Ireland Hello

That’s because hard-pressed public service broadcasters can’t justify putting much of their funding into programming for 2pm on a weekday afternoon when most normal people are at work or busy doing something productive.

Mute Aaron O Connor
    Favourite Aaron O Connor
    Dec 10th 2014, 3:15 PM

I can’t believe people pay for that shite with adverts and all.

Mute Mad Mike
    Favourite Mad Mike
    Dec 10th 2014, 1:41 PM

I predicted half of the 100,000 expected turnout on here the other day.

Looks like 30,000.

Perhaps people no longer see the point in marching over just over 1 euro a day in water charges.

Mute Declan Gartlan
    Favourite Declan Gartlan
    Dec 10th 2014, 1:51 PM

Still no mention of 4,45 million people not marching or the 1 million plus who have signed up to irish water

Mute Niall Connery
    Favourite Niall Connery

30,000 out of 4.5 million. Isnt that less than 1%.

Mute Adrian Stanley
    Favourite Adrian Stanley
    Dec 10th 2014, 2:16 PM

For every person protesting today, there are at least 10 people who cannot make it. Fully behind the protest. WE WILL NOT PAY.

Mute Leigh Byrne
    Favourite Leigh Byrne
    Dec 10th 2014, 2:19 PM

And millions who don’t agree and will.

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Dec 10th 2014, 3:10 PM

Leigh 1.6 million liable to pay,according to the Times opinion poll only 48% willing pay even after new charging regime announced.

Mute Leigh Byrne
    Favourite Leigh Byrne

So majority in favour of paying.

Mute Rob Cahill
    Favourite Rob Cahill
    Dec 10th 2014, 3:31 PM

TIL 48% is a Majority. I have been living a lie!!

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Dec 10th 2014, 5:35 PM

Leigh when did 48% become a majority? Maths not your strong point?

Mute Dan
    Favourite Dan
    Dec 10th 2014, 5:11 PM

So what are the fu€kers that have blocked the bridges in town and prevented tax paying citizens from getting home to their families protesting?

Mute Lorem Ipsum
    Favourite Lorem Ipsum
    Dec 10th 2014, 9:11 PM

They don’t want to pay for water

Mute Dan
    Favourite Dan
    Dec 10th 2014, 9:30 PM

Well obviously getting in the way of people getting home will change that, silly me.

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Dec 10th 2014, 9:33 PM

Lorem are they exempt from paying all forms of tax?

Mute Lorem Ipsum
    Favourite Lorem Ipsum
    Dec 10th 2014, 11:26 PM

I was just answering the question. They want unlimited, treated water pipes into their homes for free

Mute The Mooooose
    Favourite The Mooooose

Garda injured. Can no longer be called a peaceful protest. End of. I dare someone to say, “It’s just one incident”, and keep a straight face. The ‘element’ is among you. Attack a police officer because a government is backing water charges. Just not smart. Goodbye moral high ground. I’m against charges but any act of violence ruins the message.

Mute Paudi Onail
    Favourite Paudi Onail
    Dec 10th 2014, 6:25 PM

not very smart to block kildare street and not very smart to use threatening dogs barking. a peaceful protest was expected but provoke by blocking people access to a public street and use dogs is asking for trouble, not to mention those barricades supplied by one of the chief cronies behind the agenda.

Mute Dara McGann
    Favourite Dara McGann
    Dec 10th 2014, 6:52 PM

Why don’t you build your own barricades then? Who else would you rather have supply them?
    Paul Murphy and Ruth Coppinger called for(the one hundred thousand)people to blockthe dail and not let anyone in or out..so as a response make sure that the protestors are led to the area that the organisers agreed on.What’s your issue?
    Are you seriously trying to tell me that all the people who attended today and are saying that there was 70-80-90+ thousand people there have more experience in estimating cried numbers than the people who do it for a living? Get a grip!!

Mute Lorem Ipsum
    Favourite Lorem Ipsum
    Dec 10th 2014, 9:19 PM

“I had to throw bottles at people. A dog barked.”

Mute Leigh Byrne
    Favourite Leigh Byrne
    Dec 10th 2014, 1:52 PM

Now its talk of comrades and they roll out Gerry Adams this is a national disgrace of an event.

Mute Conor Sweeney
    Favourite Conor Sweeney
    Dec 10th 2014, 3:18 PM

Just seen a clip of a protestor filming on his ipad..must be tough on that bread line.

Mute Paudi Onail
    Favourite Paudi Onail
    Dec 10th 2014, 6:29 PM

is that Joan? howya Joan, perhaps you may get on to yer pal Burton to lower the min wage so, can’t be having someone taking a day off work and buying iPads! shocking, we need to curb that.

Mute Leanne Lynch
    Favourite Leanne Lynch
    Dec 10th 2014, 2:26 PM

45mins waiting on a bus delayed due to this protest. Whatever about me, but elderly people too. That’s not the best way to get people on side.

Mute James Mark Donnelly

In years to come, when your children are drinking Irelands publicly owned water, you can tell them about the time you were mildly inconvenienced while the Irish people were trying to defend our water from private enterprise.

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan

Did you come on here and complain when taxi protests or bus protests delayed your bus before – just askin’ …that is if they did of course …

Mute Mike
    Favourite Mike

This protest was planned weeks in advance have you been living under a rock?

Mute whynotme
    Favourite whynotme
    Dec 10th 2014, 2:50 PM

You mentioned you were waiting for 45 minutes .So it is about you!

Mute Barbara McAfee
    Favourite Barbara McAfee

wow the me, me, me generation has spoken…you don’t disappoint

Mute David Burke
    Favourite David Burke

The only me me me generation is Irish pensioners.

Mute Mercurial Manchester
    Favourite Mercurial Manchester
    Dec 10th 2014, 3:53 PM

meh, more like ‘I’m yet another dolehead who expects others to pay for me’…..

Mute Dane Tyghe
    Favourite Dane Tyghe
    Dec 10th 2014, 4:24 PM

I see Mary Lou on the photo of this headline, and I heard Gerry Adams made a speech.

I wonder did any of them mention the Republic of Ireland, i doubt they even recognise this state since it’s commonly referred to as “the south” or “26 counties”

I can understand peoples anger and fair play to anyone who goes out to protest. However things are getting better and people will see that in January. To entrust the running of this country to the shinners or socialists would cause huge uncertainty and be incredibly dangerous.

Think about this folks. Who do you REALLY want running the country- Leo Varadker, Richard Bruton and Michael Noonan or the likes of Gerry Adams, Mary Lou and Paul Murphy. Think about it. It sends a chill down my spine.

Mute Joe Reynolds
    Favourite Joe Reynolds
    Dec 10th 2014, 4:35 PM

It sends a chill down your spine because you are either of the priveliged classes OR have yet to recover from your catholic brainwashing and it’s fear of ‘commies’. How do i know this? Because you make absolutely no points as to WHY they couldnt run the country.

Mute Search Eagle
    Favourite Search Eagle

The only evidence we need is the policies they’ve espoused. They would be ruinous.

Mute Padriag O'Traged
    Favourite Padriag O'Traged
    Dec 10th 2014, 7:09 PM

Ah now Joe, “privileged class”? What’s that then?

Mute Search Eagle
    Favourite Search Eagle
    Dec 10th 2014, 8:38 PM

People earning more than 34,000!

Mute Negativebird
    Favourite Negativebird
    Dec 10th 2014, 1:33 PM

Hopefully the event will be successful.Fair play to all involved.

Mute Mikey Browne
    Favourite Mikey Browne
    Dec 10th 2014, 1:54 PM

The barriers might be supplied by SiteServ as well. http://www.siteserv.ie/event-solutions/

Mute Mikey Browne
    Favourite Mikey Browne

Unfortunately I was right. See the logo on the metal barricades. http://www.siteserv.ie/state-visits-of-queen-elizabeth-ii-us-president-barack-obama-2011/

Mute Mike
    Favourite Mike
    Dec 10th 2014, 2:31 PM

Police with barking dogs, another wrong move by them.

Mute James Mark Donnelly

I’ve been getting reports of a very cynical ploy to divide the march. Gardai not allowing people march for a nice ambiguous ‘Public safety reason’. They’ll probably hope to provoke violence in the crowd and then spin that, if they don’t provoke the crowd, they’ll probably divide them so it looks like less people have shown up. They really are a horrid bunch that rule our nation!

Mute Paudi Onail
    Favourite Paudi Onail
    Dec 10th 2014, 6:26 PM

yep, wasn’t expecting them to blockade streets then you’ll hear them complain tomorrow about protesters blocking other streets.

Mute Enda
    Favourite Enda
    Dec 10th 2014, 2:18 PM

Great turnout lads. For those of you who made the journey from far afield enjoy the rest of your day in Dublin. It’s back to work for this crusty freeloader!

Mute Thierry Rat
    Favourite Thierry Rat
    Dec 10th 2014, 2:50 PM

30000 my hole, is there any honest media outlet

Mute thetruth
    Favourite thetruth
    Dec 10th 2014, 2:54 PM

Broadsheet maybe

Mute thereal.thing
    Favourite thereal.thing
    Dec 10th 2014, 4:29 PM

numbers are tragic no mater what way you look at it. the protestors are nothing but a tiny minority

Mute mcgoo
    Favourite mcgoo
    Dec 10th 2014, 5:50 PM

No commuter services in city centre due to fools blocking luas and bus lanes. Skum more like.

Mute Patrick Martin
    Favourite Patrick Martin
    Dec 10th 2014, 11:40 PM

Get a hold of yourself, shame on you. You should consider that these people stood in the cold for hours for you, for your children and for their children. How dare you call them slum. You are an id1ot

Mute Evan Dunne
    Favourite Evan Dunne
    Dec 10th 2014, 3:30 PM

The crowd was far bigger than 35,000 that’s for sure. At least double that figure.

Where is the 35,000 number coming from?

Mute thetruth
    Favourite thetruth
    Dec 10th 2014, 3:33 PM

Probably Denis o brien sponsored media. Sickening lack of integrity in journalism anymore

Mute C Fitz
    Favourite C Fitz
    Dec 10th 2014, 7:13 PM

Denis O Brien KLAXON

Mute William Burke
    Favourite William Burke
    Dec 10th 2014, 6:27 PM

This country is a joke. Nearly every country in Europe pays for Water. Even more than we are expected to pay. It takes water charges for people to protest, what about healthcare, jobs, the bail out and all the other problems. Also there is nothing in the constitution about a “Right 2 Water”. Did anyone ever consider how much it costs to run water treatment facility?

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Dec 10th 2014, 6:49 PM

William when was water free here?its paid out of general taxation amazed you didn’t know this.

Mute Derek
    Favourite Derek
    Dec 11th 2014, 12:19 AM

There’s too many inaccurate points and assertions to deal with there William, each one having been addressed, corrected, sources provided and verified repeatedly by reporters, TD’s, Senators, economists and from official government records.
    Most water not and was never free, Alan Kelly and other TD’s have stated and brought up repeatedly we already pay for water through indirect taxation and they have given figures for given years, for example E1.6 Billion was raised last year, E1.2 Billion of that went towards water related costs. This left E400 million in excess which went else where in the economy…sorry it went towards the 7 billion euro interest on bailout loans.

Now here comes the difficult part to understand for so many people: the Troika think its best the Government use the E1.2 billion euros (collected from 2% VAT and the few million from the 5% on car tax ) currently going towards providing water should instead go towards paying that darn interest and all other named activities which involve revenue ring-fenced for national services to now be used to pay for the bailout and loans racked up by incompetent politicians, bankers and quangos.

So now…they want us to “pay for water”. They say it’s not free and we are broke and that every other country pays for water. Do you see what they did here?
    Alan Kelly can sign before the first of Jan to renew Ireland exemption for introducing a metered water charge in Ireland due it pays me to say FF back in ’01 called the Irish Exemption from article 9.4,if I’m not mistaken due to Ireland having round 5 times more water than we actually require unlike Germany or other European countries. If he does not renew this, we are actually then legally obliged to charge for water and currently has no plans to do so.

Mute Eimear NiChormaic
    Favourite Eimear NiChormaic
    Dec 10th 2014, 3:35 PM

I was on this march today, there was A LOT more than 35K! Seriously, are you guys blind?

Mute Joe Reynolds
    Favourite Joe Reynolds
    Dec 10th 2014, 4:31 PM

blind? No. Corporate media? Yes!

Mute Bert McCann
    Favourite Bert McCann

I really commend the people who were able to march.
    I also think it is more than just water charges, this is the entire austerity agenda that people have simply had enough of.
    Finally the shackles are off, and the voices are being heard. Why didn’t this happen much earlier in this awful people robbery. It proves we don’t have to wait for an election for Kenny to “allow” the voters to speak.

Mute Sammy Sausages
    Favourite Sammy Sausages

.78 of one per cent of the population protesting. Seems like a bit of a damp squib to me but what would i know, I’m just a silly sausage.

Mute Dane Tyghe
    Favourite Dane Tyghe
    Dec 10th 2014, 4:00 PM

The fact is that the government listened. Made changes to make it more affordable and bring certainty.

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Dec 10th 2014, 6:52 PM

No Dane the fact is that the government climbdown wasn’t enough to prevent people coming out in their thousands – and that’s during the week and with the Gardaí having done their best to divide and conquer as it would seem from some posts here …
    Tell Enda that it was remiss of me not to welcome him to the long grass …pass on my welcome – he’s up to his neck in it now !

Mute Search Eagle
    Favourite Search Eagle
    Dec 10th 2014, 9:28 PM

There seems to be this rather rotten presumption, which is never questioned, that for some reason our police officers are acting as political agents for the government.

Personally, I do not doubt for a second that there is a significant percentage of guards who are as miffed with having to pay an additional charge as the protesters. However, in their capacity as police, their job is maintain order – if that requires dividing up protesters, then I see no logical reason to jump to the conclusion that it’s part of a divide-and-conquer strategy.

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Dec 11th 2014, 2:27 AM

“maintain orders” morelike Search …don’t worry about the Gardaí – they have to live in their communities….. they are under review in all of this as well !
    I blame the Politicians, Judicary and D.P.P. for any poor Gardaí decisions …

Mute Derek Dalton
    Favourite Derek Dalton
    Dec 10th 2014, 12:47 PM

LOL

Gardaí have started to arrive too…

did they all have the correct fare…..

Mute Paudi Onail
    Favourite Paudi Onail
    Dec 10th 2014, 1:40 PM

their interns might have trouble paying it :/

looking at the barricades, all fancy newly bought to protect the little men making all the trouble awww, some cowards them lot.

Mute C Fitz
    Favourite C Fitz
    Dec 10th 2014, 6:58 PM

How to win friends and influence the working people

Block traffic so they get home very late on a cold wintry night

Stunning

Mute John King
    Favourite John King
    Dec 10th 2014, 5:32 PM

Gerry Adams has some cheek ….. The utter brass neck of the man !

Mute Shane McNicholas
    Favourite Shane McNicholas
    Dec 10th 2014, 6:39 PM

Even if turnout is the 70k + that protesters advise. They are NOT speaking for me and the majority, or turnout would have been much higher. Also what gives them any right to blockade roads and delay the average person (who they claim to represent) from going about their daily business

Mute Nelly Bergman
    Favourite Nelly Bergman
    Dec 10th 2014, 7:24 PM

you seem to suggest you express the opinion of majority – may i ask you how you arrived to this conclusion?

Mute Were Jammin
    Favourite Were Jammin
    Dec 10th 2014, 7:58 PM

@ Shane. What a ridiculous assumption. The numbers were around the same as the Iraq war march and 7-10 times the size of the largest Gaza demo.

By your logic, the Irish people supported both the Iraq war and slaughter in Gaza, because there would have been a much higher turnout on those as well.

Mute Simon Barnes
    Favourite Simon Barnes
    Dec 10th 2014, 10:52 PM

shane.. what gives them the right to protest… I think you’ll find it’s the constitution.

Mute D is Illusioned
    Favourite D is Illusioned
    Dec 10th 2014, 2:20 PM

More like 1 hundred thousand plus.

Mute Ben Dover
    Favourite Ben Dover
    Dec 10th 2014, 3:31 PM

“We’ll be aiming to collect “over 90%” of Irish Water charges – John Tierney” #delusional

Mute Darren Callaghan
    Favourite Darren Callaghan
    Dec 10th 2014, 7:35 PM

Absolute great turnout today, days like this make me proud to be Irish just a pity we attracted a small group of idiots who decided to start blocking traffic and the trams, that just frustrates ordinary people who we are supposed to be standing up for, I was talking to my neighbour who is in her 70s and she was stuck on a bus for over 3 hours trying to get home absolutely bursting to go the toilet, bus was stuck at O Connell bridge for nearly 2 hours, I was protesting with a great bunch of my fellow countrymen who have just had enough, I myself am at the point of thinking about moneylenders just to get through Xmas, USC charge has me crippled on top of my PRSI / PAYE and then my cost of travelling to work has nearly doubled over last 5 year, I took a 20% drop in my wages 4 year ago and they want to drop it even more, everything is getting more expensive but my wages is getting smaller and smaller , I’m just at the point of being better off on jobseekers but I have worked since I’m 14 paying taxes and I’m getting desperate, something has to give or I’ll lose the will to fight anymore, we need to look after our own quick

Mute David Conroy
    Favourite David Conroy
    Dec 10th 2014, 2:35 PM

Today we will see exactly how many Politicians and failed Trade Unionists can fit on a Bandwagon !!
    As one Galway man said on RTE earlier
    “I am going to Dublin today to protest about everything !”
    Not long since Ogle was holding the country to ransom and now he is gone from Poacher to Gamekeeper !
    They are all the same !

Mute Declan Carr
    Favourite Declan Carr
    Dec 10th 2014, 3:23 PM

” Gardaí have confirmed that between 30,000-35,000 protesters showed up today” Which street was that on?

Mute David Burke
    Favourite David Burke
    Dec 10th 2014, 3:27 PM

Yeah it looked like a lot less than that.

Mute Coles
    Favourite Coles
    Dec 10th 2014, 7:55 PM

@David Burke (FG), All you posts in this comments section are trying to downplay the size of the protest. You are fixated with trying to say that 20’000 people turned out, when it is obvious to everyone that the true figure was a lot closer to 100’000.

Why is that?

Mute Catherine Sims
    Favourite Catherine Sims
    Dec 10th 2014, 3:00 PM

Well if there are 30 to 70 thousand people expected RTE will report that as five to ten thousand at most.

Mute Oisín Ó Dubhláin
    Favourite Oisín Ó Dubhláin
    Dec 10th 2014, 5:58 PM

The cracked window is O’briens on Nassau st. the window has been cracked all week

Mute 3monkey
    Favourite 3monkey
    Dec 10th 2014, 6:12 PM

WTF are they teaching in journalism these days.Check your facts first !

Mute 3monkey
    Favourite 3monkey
    Dec 10th 2014, 5:54 PM

The broken window in one of the tweets was there on Monday.I saw it personally

Mute Paul Lane
    Favourite Paul Lane
    Dec 10th 2014, 4:20 PM

I have just finished working at the protest. The attempted cover up by the government and a complete lack of cooperation by the police in a sinister attempt to make life very difficult for those trying to get access to tbe protest. They are attempting to stir the crowd into causing trouble so Kenny can claim that sinister elements at play. He is the only sinister element here. 70,000 at merrion square and up to another 40,000 in nassau street and thousands more going around lost. Dont mind the official reports because they are lying. A massive success and a kick in the nuts for Kenny and co. I have a pint now but it is cold out there so fair play to everyone 

Mute talkingsense
    Favourite talkingsense
    Dec 10th 2014, 4:25 PM

Ah grand, we’ll just take your word for it so

Mute Search Eagle
    Favourite Search Eagle
    Dec 10th 2014, 4:30 PM

I think a lot of people are upset that it’s become obvious that far less people turned up than they would’ve liked.

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Dec 10th 2014, 5:35 PM

are ye accusing the Journal of putting up a misleading picture , because there appears to be a great turnout !

Mute talkingsense
    Favourite talkingsense
    Dec 10th 2014, 6:28 PM

Dermot read the article, it clearly states its not a pic of the protest and as another commetor correctly pointed out its a pic of the royal wedding

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Dec 11th 2014, 2:33 AM

I did and I was referring to the one that shows the crowds converging from two streets – sure doesn’t it say the Gom one is a fake ..
    speaking of which – NOT ONE E.U. FLAG ON SHOW TODAY IN THE PROTEST !

Mute Denise Davis
    Favourite Denise Davis
    Dec 10th 2014, 3:27 PM

There is at least 60 thousand Tell the truth.

Mute Stephen O'Brien
    Favourite Stephen O'Brien
    Dec 10th 2014, 3:50 PM

I’m no good at judging the size of crowds Ted, but I’d say there’s about seventeen million of them out there

Mute Thomas Maher
    Favourite Thomas Maher

35,000? Really?
    Do the journal report what’s actually happening or just what the gardai and government press office tell them?

Mute Jonny Lennon
    Favourite Jonny Lennon
    Dec 10th 2014, 3:58 PM

Stop with this nonsense 35,000 at least double that if not more, the journal is fast becoming like RTE gutter mainstream media rubbish, tell the truth.

What a day, peaceful protesters from all walks of life against this shambles of a government who are in terminal decline.

Mute tractor1000
    Favourite tractor1000
    Dec 10th 2014, 6:51 PM

I counted them all it was a poor turn out!! At least the spongers and anti everything, promote violence brigade got out for a good walk!

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Dec 10th 2014, 7:19 PM

Did FG bus in a lot of the members to count the protest?

Mute Unreasonable Dazzer
    Favourite Unreasonable Dazzer
    Dec 10th 2014, 4:10 PM

there are a lot more than 35 thousand people. so many streets blocked.Media are lying about numbers but when no 1 pays for water IW are going to fail the EU stress test,you cant fool the people all the time.

Mute RonanM
    Favourite RonanM
    Dec 10th 2014, 4:18 PM

Since when do the EU stress test IW?

Mute Jack Delaney
    Favourite Jack Delaney
    Dec 10th 2014, 6:46 PM

Now thst the protest march is over and everyone is heading home, what exactly has been achieved here? The government are stiil in power. Water charges are in place and there will be no further concessions.
    The entire thing has been a waste of time.

Mute Were Jammin
    Favourite Were Jammin
    Dec 10th 2014, 8:12 PM

The government are SAYING there will be no further concessions, just like they said there would be none in th first place.

The biggest protest is still to come. The mass non-payment protest.

Mute talkingsense
    Favourite talkingsense
    Dec 10th 2014, 9:02 PM

“The biggest protest is still to come”

You said that about this one. Your just making excuses now that your numbers are dwindling.

Mute Pádraic Ó Braonáin
    Dec 11th 2014, 12:35 AM

That’s it Were Jammin – non payment is exactly what will sink em – and any stunts using landlords or sticking it on people’s homes – well that’s when the gloves will come off.

Mute Keith Harding
    Favourite Keith Harding

There’s way more than 35,000! At least 70,000

Mute thereal.thing
    Favourite thereal.thing
    Dec 10th 2014, 4:22 PM

less than 1% of the population, oh that is tragic :D

Mute Paudi Onail
    Favourite Paudi Onail
    Dec 10th 2014, 6:31 PM

ah look, we wee little IW/Government troll sent in to ‘try’

try harder you’ve lost. we won’t pay yer s****

Mute Coles
    Favourite Coles
    Dec 10th 2014, 8:00 PM

Another blueshirt account. Dozens of contributions to this comments section trying to downplay the protests.

Mute Watcher-on-the-Wall
    Favourite Watcher-on-the-Wall
    Dec 10th 2014, 10:03 PM

There were only 7 signatures on the 1916 Proclamation. In what way is the proportion of the population relevant?

Mute barry greene
    Favourite barry greene
    Dec 10th 2014, 6:37 PM

If it was 10.000 , 20.000 35.000 100.000 i don,t care. Thank you all !!. Well done.

Mute Mad Mike
    Favourite Mad Mike
    Dec 10th 2014, 5:23 PM

30,000?

So much for all the bravado.

See you in the 10th. Unless it’s cold and windy.

Mute Karen NíDhochartaigh
    Favourite Karen NíDhochartaigh
    Dec 10th 2014, 6:14 PM

I was there with my daughter today (she’s 6months old and I was carrying her close to me so we were both warm. It sadly looks like we left at the right time. Do people not realise that any “violence” will be what is reported not the fact 10s of thousands peacefully protested.

Mute peter
    Favourite peter

Music is too loud at merrion to be able to stay long, been to raves where the speakers aren’t as loud.

Mute thereal.thing
    Favourite thereal.thing
    Dec 10th 2014, 4:51 PM

whole thing has been a disaster

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Dec 11th 2014, 2:23 AM

trying to plant negativity there thereal – ha,ha,ha, ha,

Mute Michael Graham
    Favourite Michael Graham
    Dec 10th 2014, 5:53 PM

This debacle is a direct result of Fianna Fáil destroying the country and bringing the troika upon us yet they hardly ever mentioned The media must ask more questions of them

Mute David Burke
    Favourite David Burke

Incredible crowd at Irish water march. https://twitter.com/mcgconor/status/542695640388866048/photo/1

When you are going to make things up, try to make it a little credible. The hundreds of union jacks in the photo kinda give it away that they are taking the photos from a somewhere else.

I’m guessing 25,000 now.

Mute Aaron O Connor
    Favourite Aaron O Connor

Find the start and the end then work it out at 2 people per meter to give a low number.

Mute John Rabbett
    Favourite John Rabbett
    Dec 10th 2014, 4:17 PM

Ah now David, some people will only turn around now and say the Union Jacks were Photoshopped in…

Mute Jessica Doran
    Favourite Jessica Doran
    Dec 10th 2014, 5:28 PM

Em sorry but there were over 80,000 people out today at the protest

Mute Thomas Aquinas
    Favourite Thomas Aquinas
    Dec 10th 2014, 8:04 PM

dont think so jess

Mute Gearóid Ó Murchadha
    Favourite Gearóid Ó Murchadha
    Dec 10th 2014, 6:23 PM

Panti bliss? Some neck on him. Wonder how he’d like like it if people described a gay pride March as a bunch of jerks?

Mute Dave King
    Favourite Dave King

Thousands upon thousands of cold angry people is quite a sight…

Mute Séamus MacCraith
    Favourite Séamus MacCraith

35 k my arse. It was wayyyy more.

Mute 10times
    Favourite 10times
    Dec 10th 2014, 4:42 PM

At least 4 times more than that here. 15.000 people, FFS thejournal.ie are you been bought out now?

Civilized protest and peaceful, while our government are tucked up in their warm dail earning 2 or 3k euro a day and pushing their buddies into quangos.

Enough is enough. Stand up and be counted.

Mute Lee Richardson
    Favourite Lee Richardson
    Dec 10th 2014, 4:45 PM

Don’t believe the lies, there were more than 35k even though the guards did everything they could to prevent people from getting to the protest and have deliberately caused bottlenecks

Mute Paul Rocks
    Favourite Paul Rocks

30,000 my hoop, way way more.

Mute James Comerford
    Favourite James Comerford

Was in today, With Merrion Square South Full, Merrion Square West Full backed to Merrion Street Lower, Then Backed up on Clare Street up Leinster Street Junction with Kildare Street. Id estimate 70K is a fair figure for the attendance. There was groups from counties across the country South West North and East. Congratulations to all that gave up their days for something that is vitally important to every citizen. May this continue until the powers that be look at reality and not the deflective sound bites that come out of their mouths. Looking at you Varadkar, to think i actually used to respect you as a politician. You are so far removed from reality that its incredibly. Stop surrounding yourself with FG stooges and wake up to what life is truly like in this country for people out there.

Mute tractor1000
    Favourite tractor1000
    Dec 10th 2014, 6:25 PM

Official figures say turn out was below 30,000! Thats a pity … Majority of People must be willing to accept the charges!

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Dec 10th 2014, 8:39 PM

Official figures from whom?Garda don’t give official figures anymore or did the numbers come from party HQ?

Mute Ían Ó Ceallaigh
    Dec 10th 2014, 4:56 PM

35,000 by the Gardaí
    80,000 by Unite

I imagine that the number is somewhere in the middle.

Mute Were Jammin
    Favourite Were Jammin
    Dec 10th 2014, 8:14 PM

Nope. Official numbers from the Gardai is 35,000. Two Guards on the scene both put the numbers over 70,000.

Mute Nuala Reid
    Favourite Nuala Reid
    Dec 10th 2014, 4:58 PM

Surprise surprise the journal has followed rte and tv3 with trying to hide true figures of the amount of protesters! Expected more from the journal. If you are not going to report accurately then don’t bother reporting. Other websites example her.ie are reporting nearly 80000 which is nearer the mark.

Mute Gagsy 99
    Favourite Gagsy 99
    Dec 10th 2014, 5:38 PM

Yes – only really really high numbers can be correct.

Mute Natalie May
    Favourite Natalie May
    Dec 10th 2014, 5:09 PM

35000??? That’s hilarious. Try doubling that and you’d still come up short. The two sides of merrion square were packed and the crowds were still going all the way back down passed the side of trinity and up towards O Connell bridge!!!

Mute Watcher-on-the-Wall
    Favourite Watcher-on-the-Wall
    Dec 10th 2014, 10:32 PM

Wasn’t 35K trotted out recently as the minimum wage. Maybe it’s policy – “if they ask for a number, just say 35K”

Mute Kian David Griffin
    Favourite Kian David Griffin
    Dec 10th 2014, 4:21 PM

After years of getting hammered, finally we hit back…and we hit a lot harder! The government must learn that they represent the people, it is the people who run this country, it is the people who grind everyday to turn our economy around. Not belittling the work of the (few) honest politicians, but it is about time they were made to answer to us, not the other way around!

Mute thereal.thing
    Favourite thereal.thing

so the protest achieved something did it? I’m all ears?

Mute Kian David Griffin
    Favourite Kian David Griffin
    Dec 10th 2014, 4:50 PM

If it achieves nothing else it at least got people to stand up for themselves and show that we won’t bend over and take it like a prison shower. It could do nothing to change the water charges, but at least it will rattle a few cages, show the government that the people are angry.

Mute Jason H. Barnes
    Favourite Jason H. Barnes
    Dec 10th 2014, 8:50 PM

Lord, what a comment. It is the PEOPLE who created much of this mess by voting in the politicians. I mean, seriously, who in their right minds thinks some of our TDs (and they shall remain nameless) are going to represent their interests by going to the Dail to deliver sound economic policy documents or offer serious debate? That’s right, NO ONE, They are voting for politicians like that because they went to so and so’s funeral or they might be able to get the nephew into the guards. The PEOPLE get the politicians that they deserve through their voting. I know a guy who would still vote FF if Mickey Martin came into his house tomorrow and took a dump on his kitchen table, because his father and those before him voted for them. And, so ye reap what ye sow. Ye voted for a bunch of planks, they messed up the economy and now, to get it on something like an even keel, another bunch of planks are making a mess of introducing something which is fundamentally the CORRECT thing to do.

Mute Trevor Hayden
    Favourite Trevor Hayden
    Dec 10th 2014, 5:19 PM

35,000 and the rest journal, you are not going the same way as Rotten Turncoat Eireann are you?

Mute Lasair Aireáinnach
    Favourite Lasair Aireáinnach
    Dec 10th 2014, 7:28 PM

You have already paid for your water, your roads and your property. Further problems with costs are easily solved with the taxes paid if you had an intelligent efficient government, but you don’t. As your EU lackey politicians in the Dáil lick the boots of the EU masters they idolise, they are being directed to implement the policies that are creating the EU super-state. These are: Open borders, mass immigration, debt enslavement cash cow creation and a fiscal unity – a bizarre concoction of Soviet and United States of Europe, the new perverse intertwined blend of capitalism and marxism that means the end for the indigenous European peoples.

These charges are camouflaged penal taxes sold as “necessary” modifications for utilities, when in fact they are administration costs for the implementation of the multicult EU globalisation strategies as outlined and promoted by Peter Sutherland and supported by multicult advocates like Denis O’ Brien, these ultra-capitalist policies are as stated above: open borders, mass immigration, debt slavery and monetary union.

In this situation native European workers cannot compete with the constant influx of cheap labour, while wages are driven down. The middle class are further eviscerated and their ability to spread more wealth, creating employment, and a stop gap of sovereign nation’s wealth being skimmed off and transferred to the super rich is negated. Instead the true internationals will be the Sutherland school of super-rich whose profits are accumulated internationally and a slave force of very naive and very young who will globetrot wherever the few crumbs of jobs the corporations throw for them arise, rendering countries and cultures as nothing more than airport terminals or stock warehouses of transient populations – obliterating true diverse global ethnicities and supportive ancestral communities as well as different global cultures, whilst any country’s native workforce’s ability to compete in the jobs market is annihilated, the populace reduced to wage and debt slaves. You are paying for your and your ancestors own demise.

Mute Tap Solny
    Favourite Tap Solny
    Dec 10th 2014, 4:36 PM

15,000 is not a bad turn out. It could have been less – they were very lucky we had such good weather.

Mute mrbojangles
    Favourite mrbojangles
    Dec 10th 2014, 11:03 PM

Anyone actually really thumbing this troll for real??

Mute D is Illusioned
    Favourite D is Illusioned

Appropriate that bus full of Guards advertising The Fall passes us on march from Hueston. End of Ends and Joan.

Mute Richard Cynical
    Favourite Richard Cynical
    Dec 10th 2014, 3:59 PM

Easily over 100000 hard to imagine 35000 causing that much disruption

Mute talkingsense
    Favourite talkingsense
    Dec 10th 2014, 4:11 PM

35000 could easily cause that disruption. Look at the picture above of o connell bridge. Just a couple of hundred people blocking a major route through the city.

Mute C Fitz
    Favourite C Fitz
    Dec 10th 2014, 7:00 PM

That logic makes no sense

Mute David Nolan
    Favourite David Nolan
    Dec 10th 2014, 6:36 PM

I have the footage easy 80 k

Mute Larry Dunne
    Favourite Larry Dunne
    Dec 10th 2014, 6:31 PM

31-1-15

Power to the people

Mute Patrick mcgeady
    Favourite Patrick mcgeady
    Dec 10th 2014, 4:32 PM

According to the organizers the cards closed off streets so left two approaches to stage. They said that it would take. 60000 to fill those two streets. Then the guards stop thousands gettin to the square because it was full. Then they claim that only 20000 was there. So they turned them back to o connel street so now o Connell street has thousand there can RYE and the guards count. The problem is you can’t have it both ways.

Mute tom murphy
    Favourite tom murphy

At the protest 80,000+ 35,000 is a joke

Mute Austin Rock
    Favourite Austin Rock
    Dec 10th 2014, 4:13 PM

Well the guards have proven in the past that they simply can’t count. They usually state the number handed by the Government press officer or RTE. But they have said they are not estimating crowds today just preparing for war.

Mute RonanM
    Favourite RonanM
    Dec 10th 2014, 4:20 PM

Right2Water couldn’t tell a correct figure either.

Mute William Burke
    Favourite William Burke
    Dec 10th 2014, 5:42 PM

And it took Water Charges to get people to protest on a large scale? What about the Bailout, the state of the healthcare system etc. JOKE

Mute Keith Moran
    Favourite Keith Moran
    Dec 10th 2014, 4:35 PM

Someone needs to go back and do their sums again there was at LEAST 120000 there today

Mute Máirtín O Loingsigh
    Favourite Máirtín O Loingsigh
    Dec 10th 2014, 3:43 PM

It was more like 50,000 people not 35,000.

Mute Jen Gordon
    Favourite Jen Gordon
    Dec 10th 2014, 4:12 PM

Jesus it was brass monkeys down there still haven’t got the heat in my bones back !

Mute howzatme
    Favourite howzatme
    Dec 10th 2014, 2:38 PM

Anyone got pictures share it to the public

Mute Tom Doyle
    Favourite Tom Doyle
    Dec 10th 2014, 7:42 PM

Ah panti,
    Purveyor of human rights. Except when it comes to other people’s. The mask or masks have slipped. Pathetic excuse for a human being.

Mute Lorem Ipsum
    Favourite Lorem Ipsum
    Dec 10th 2014, 11:21 PM

Yeah, you’re either with us or you’re with the terrorists. Down with nuance

Mute ed w
    Favourite ed w
    Dec 10th 2014, 4:29 PM

Keep seeing comments that water in roscommon is fixed even heard irish water say this. How long have irish water been going and how long does it take to get this sort of infrastructure built (a lot longer I imagine ) . It’s the council’s that fixed the problem not irish water.

Mute Marko Burns
    Favourite Marko Burns
    Dec 10th 2014, 5:50 PM

A tip for next time – signs pointing the way for all those (mainly country folk) stuck on Nassau Street etc., who didn’t know where Merrion Square was…

Mute Bluemist
    Favourite Bluemist
    Dec 10th 2014, 8:39 PM

Saw Clare Daly on news how can someone who earns 100k a year dress so bad

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Dec 10th 2014, 8:46 PM

That you Gok Wan?

Mute Ben Dover
    Favourite Ben Dover
    Dec 10th 2014, 9:16 PM

Why ask such a dumb question? Oh wait !

Mute tractor1000
    Favourite tractor1000
    Dec 10th 2014, 7:40 PM

And you’d be likely to have more money if we introduced water meters to stop the chronic waste! We’re going to have to pay some way or another.

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Dec 10th 2014, 8:01 PM

We already do pay,through general taxation.

Mute Turlough O' Connor
    Favourite Turlough O' Connor

Anything but thereal.thing I guess

Mute Martin O Donnell
    Favourite Martin O Donnell
    Dec 10th 2014, 5:45 PM

Journal more like 300k of people todsy

Mute talkingsense
    Favourite talkingsense
    Dec 10th 2014, 8:58 PM

Funniest joke I’ve heard in ages

Mute JustMade Ireland
    Favourite JustMade Ireland
    Dec 10th 2014, 4:56 PM

Its a pity tho this was not done when they were signing it up in the 2000s & our wonderful media didn print huge front stortyies regarding it, & if combine all the little protests into one story, how much better things could be. However if we stick this out we will win!!

Mute Pól Mag Shamhrain
    Favourite Pól Mag Shamhrain
    Dec 10th 2014, 11:02 PM

“A couple of hundred jerks are now making life misery for ordinary workers trying to get home by blocking all busses, trams on O’Connell St.”

I love this comment by Enda’s new best friend Panti. Panti opened a new bar recently and the Taoiseach decided to go there but couldn’t take two seconds to stand at the vigil for Jonathan Corrie on his way?
    I would have been sympathetic to couples of the same sex that wish to get married and would have voted Yes no problem in the referendum next year. But your recent comments and connection to this government is damaging that vote into a protest vote against the establishment, And it is an absolute shame for decent ordinary men and women out there that are outside of the law. Shame on you Panti!

Mute Adrienne Lyons
    Favourite Adrienne Lyons
    Dec 10th 2014, 5:23 PM

Thanks Journal for updates

Mute Larissa Nikolaus
    Favourite Larissa Nikolaus
    Dec 10th 2014, 9:22 PM

They should’ve charged entrance fee to the protest and handed out tickets, then there’d be no discussion on how many people were there :P

Mute talkingsense
    Favourite talkingsense
    Dec 10th 2014, 10:25 PM

Sure they were collecting money at the spire

Mute Patrick Martin
    Favourite Patrick Martin
    Dec 10th 2014, 11:36 PM

19.30 hrs gardai manhandle and forcefully remove peaceful protestors on O’Connell bridge. Bet their forefathers are turning in their graves. Should be ashamed of there disrespectful behaviour

Mute Lorraine Sheridan
    Favourite Lorraine Sheridan
    Dec 10th 2014, 10:48 PM

Had students not been stuck doing exams you could easily add another 10,000 from UCD alone.

On another note though the traffic disruption caused chaos for those commuting to RDS exams.

Mute Brian Lynch
    Favourite Brian Lynch
    Dec 10th 2014, 9:38 PM

This was a defacto Sinn Fein rally because they are the only party, if elected, will repeal the water and property taxes.

The question is, are Sinn Fein’s policies an acceptable trade-off for scrapping water and property taxes?

Mute Roberto Mancini
    Favourite Roberto Mancini
    Dec 11th 2014, 12:08 AM

Where exactly were the violent scenes?

Mute Drew
    Favourite Drew
    Dec 10th 2014, 7:51 PM

Running the country will be so easy when they estimate the countries tax take up 3 fold…

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Dec 10th 2014, 8:03 PM

Drew what difference does it make to you since you neither live or pay tax here . According to you,you reside in Asia.

Mute Clare Rehill
    Favourite Clare Rehill
    Dec 11th 2014, 1:21 AM

We already pay 1.2 billion through general taxation and in the countryside several millions more through group water schemes! It’s the governments responsibility to make sure that money goes into the upkeep of the water system! Is it the fault of the citizen that this government and the last one, chose to clearly use that money for other things. I say clearly, because I think it’s plain for all to see that our water infrastructure has been neglected for years! The last two governments are guilty of mismanagement on an epic scale. No way, we already pay and in some cases twice, we ll not be paying again!!! #Right2Water

Mute Kevin Slater
    Favourite Kevin Slater
    Dec 11th 2014, 7:43 AM

We are being hoodwinked into fixing the ancient water pipes so the traitors in Leinster house can sell it to their mate Denis O’brien. We’re not stupid lads, and we WILL stop you. This is our country, you don’t own it, you run it for as long as we say. The people.

Mute Tony
    Favourite Tony
    Dec 10th 2014, 7:54 PM

Mute Catherine Mcverry
    Favourite Catherine Mcverry
    Dec 11th 2014, 11:28 PM

I was on Oct march- right from the start at Parnell Sq to Kildare St- due to other commitments had to abandon march then ( so did not see it snake all the way round to Stephens green and Aungier st- that march was 100,000.
    I was in Italy in Nov.
    I was briefly on march yesterday- again I was busy, so I only got off the bus on Dawson St at the exact moment the front of the march had reached the Dawson/ Nassau junction. This was at 12.00. I tried to walk back to Parnell Sq to judge the size of the march- however I had arranged to drive to NI to meet someone, so could not stay long- so I only went back as far as O’ Connell bridge- march did seem more than Oct ( Oct march took 1.20 mins to pass). So I then walked to Merrion Sq and waited awhile- but had to leave just after 1.00 – by 1.30 I was again walking back to Dawson/ Nassau junction- the march was still coming. When i asked people were there many behind them, they said yes, a lot. So, Oct march took 1.20 mins to pass- at 1.30 mins duration, the Dec march still had many more people to come, so I guess yesterdays’ s march easily had 100, 000 or more. I note certain people, often politicians or other official source are giving a figure of 30,000- they definitely need to go to Specsavers.
    BTW I think most people would be more in favour of marches as planned, rather than impromptu sit down protests.

Mute Liam Ó Ceallaigh
    Favourite Liam Ó Ceallaigh
    Dec 11th 2014, 3:17 PM

Kenny is a gutless traitor. He is not in charge of Ireland, he is just Germany’s branch manager for the Fatherland’s most Western colony. It’s time the Irish people turned up the flames and protested for real. When Dublin is burning and the streets feel the might of revolution Kenny will no longer be able to say to his German masters that he is in charge. The ways of the old are not working, it’s now the time of the young to take to the streets and take over Dublin and every other city. Give Kenny and his black and tans a Christmas to remember! Show them who runs Ireland. Let’s see the garda try throwing men around. The call for revolution is now!