You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.
ALL OF IRELAND was on red alert today, as the Beast from the East and Storm Emma ripped through the country.
From now until 6pm tomorrow the government has advised that everyone who possibly can needs to take shelter until the worst has passed.
The big news of the evening was that Met Éireann’s Evelyn Cusack had predicted up to a metre of snowfall in eastern areas in the next 24 hours. Yes, a METRE.
Here are a few other things you need to know:
Public transport has come to a standstill – we won’t see another Luas, Dublin Bus, Irish Rail train in operation until Saturday. Bus Éireann may operate some services outside Leinster and Munster tomorrow but that has yet to be definitively decided upon – the company will have a fresh update tomorrow morning.
People are being urged to stay indoors from 4pm onwards till 6pm tomorrow.
Shops around the country are shut, and there are no more flights from Dublin Airport.
Their Baldonnel staff have moved 40 staff from Peamount Hospital to Finnstown Hotel for the night, staff who will be badly needed in work tomorrow.
“Special thanks to Steve and all the team who helped us,” says Suzanne Corcoran of Peamount.
Well done those men:
Suzanne Corcoran
1 Mar 2018
9:56PM
Housing Minister Eoghan Murphy has just been on RTÉ’s Prime Time.
The news is that there’s no new news. The minister says that the current weather curfews are being ‘reviewed constantly’ and that’s about it.
1 Mar 2018
9:53PM
Greyhound racing folk must be made of strong stuff – the Irish Greyhound Board has only just now announced that Saturday’s racing is off. Its statement:
“The Irish Greyhound Board wishes to advise that, having assessed the conditions at all tracks and taken account of the latest weather advisories, greyhound racing will not proceed on Saturday 3 March 2018.
This decision has been taken in the interests of greyhound welfare and the practical difficulties that will be experienced by owners, breeders, trainers and patrons in safely accessing greyhound stadia from all parts of the country.
The following are the proposed alternative arrangements:
Shelbourne Park, Dublin:
Semis final of Ladbrokes Easter Cup is rescheduled to Tuesday 6th March. Final will go ahead on Saturday 10th March at Shelbourne Park.
Curraheen Park, Cork:
The Greyhound & Petworld Supersprint is rescheduled to Saturday 10th March
Kilcohan Park, Waterford:
The Yahoo Kennels Marathon is rescheduled to Saturday 10th March.
Limerick:
Race card rescheduled to Saturday 10th March
Mullingar:
Race card rescheduled to Saturday 10th March. Decision regarding Sunday’s meeting (SIS) will be made.
Tralee:
Race card rescheduled to Saturday 10th March.
Galway:
The IGB has also been advised of the following:
Thurles:
The Sales event at Thurles planned for 6th March has been rescheduled to Saturday 10th March ( trials at 9 a.m. with auction commencing at 11 a.m.)
Blizzard conditions will extend through Leinster, Munster & Connacht overnight in strong and gusty northeasterly winds; the heaviest snowfall will be along eastern & southern counties. Snow through Ulster will be mainly from showers. Lowest temperatures will be around 0 to -4°C pic.twitter.com/F7sVMYUORF
The volunteers at My Lovely Horse Rescue have been busy amid the severe snowy weather.
The equine welfare group responds to reports of stray and neglected horses, donkeys and ponies across Dublin and further afield.
It also runs a farm in Co Kildare, where injured and neglected animals are nursed back to health.
We were told this Shetland pony was wandering roads in Inchicore/Jamestown Rd/Grand Canal area for the last few days - he’s now safe & at our rescue centre. If this is your pony, please contact Kilmainham Garda station with proof of ownership, horse licence, horse passport etc. pic.twitter.com/UNiajklUJm
— My Lovely Horse Rescue (@MyLovelyHorseR) March 1, 2018
We also dropped hay to these horses at Labre Pk adjacent to Grand Canal. One mare heavy in foal. There was already some haylage near the wall (covered in snow) but they weren’t eating it. Seemed to be happy to see hay. Under that snowfall is lots of rubbish/plastic/hazards pic.twitter.com/LUmAxbzLN4
— My Lovely Horse Rescue (@MyLovelyHorseR) March 1, 2018
Glasnevin, north Dublin, currently looks like a scene from one of those movies or tv shows where there’s been an apocalypse and there are next to no survivors.
You know the sort. Will Smith is always making them:
Could this 12ft tall snowman be the biggest snowman in Ireland? You know where to send your entries folks.
This big fella was constructed earlier today in Rathfarnham, Co Dublin.
Jack Benedi McLoughlin
1 Mar 2018
8:10PM
Hi everyone, Cianan Brennan back on liveblog duties again for a bit. Things are looking distinctly wintry outside my window as I type… Blustery and blizzardy to beat the band…
There are power outages already in some pockets of the country – keep up to date on where they are on the ESB’s Powercheck. We’re also monitoring the power outs as they happen in this piece here:
Dublin Fire Brigade are among the emergency crews that could be out on our roads tonight, and helped clear dangerous cables that had fallen on the Lusk Road.
Residents on made them tea afterwards for their work <3
Maria Sunderland and Elaine O'Connor
Just stunning.
The ‘Perpetual Motion’ sculpture at the Naas roundabout.
1 Mar 2018
7:32PM
A cautionary tale.
Not that you should be out on the roads, but when the Status Red weather warning eventually lifts (latest time on this is 6pm), make sure to take care in the snow.
1 Mar 2018
7:21PM
Met Éireann have just given an update for tomorrow’s weather warning:
Status Red Snow-ice Warning for Connacht, Cavan, Monaghan and Donegal
Sub-zero temperatures and icy conditions continuing tonight in strong easterly winds with heavy snow showers and high accumulations in some areas.
Issued: Thursday 01 March 2018 7.01pm
Valid: Thursday 01 March 2018 7pm to Friday 02 March 2018 6am
Status Red Snow-ice Warning for Munster and Leinster
Blizzard conditions tonight and during Friday in Leinster and Munster. Southern and eastern coastal counties expected to receive exceptionally high accumulations.
Issued: Thursday 01 March 2018 6.59pm
Valid: Thursday 01 March 2018 7pm to Friday 02 March 2018 6pm
Sarah Kate McWilliams was up the Sally Gap in the Wicklow Mountains earlier today. Not to be recommended, but still, at least the vehicle looks fit for purpose.
The bike of the cyclist they met up there, not so much.
1 Mar 2018
6:58PM
Hold on to your hats folks, particularly those in the east of the country. Met Éireann’s Evelyn Cusack has just said that up to a metre of snow could fall in eastern areas of the country over the next 24 hours.
Bit of a late one to the table this, but hairdressers Peter Mark have just announced that their various outlets will be shut tomorrow (this is the kind of thing to give brides-to-be heart failure isn’t it):
“In the interests of the safety of our clients and our teams, all Peter Mark salons will be closed tomorrow 2 March due to the adverse weather conditions,” the company says.
We will continue to monitor the situation and provide a further update on whether our salons will open on Saturday 3 March . We apologise for any inconvenience caused. Further updates will be posted to our Facebook page.
Áine and husband in their own winter wonderland in 2010 Áine Maher
Áine Maher
Now, for those of you due to get married this weekend, who are no doubt understandably fearful that Emma and the Beast are going to cause ructions, Áine Maher has a heartening story for you:
“Our wedding day 18 December 2010, the most memorable magical day of our lives,” she begins.
“It was one of the biggest snow blizzards in 100 years. We where completely snowed in and it was the most frightening time as we thought our day wasn’t going to happen. Yes I had to do my own tan & nails as everything was cancelled”.
My husband is from Co Clare so all his family – parents, sisters, grandparents and family circle had to travel in one of the worst blizzards imaginable. Our groomsmen and bridesmaids had to travel to Belfast. We had friends travelling from all over the country and the world.
Yes we lost some along the way but we kept a positive attitude towards our big day so it could happen. My dad worked long and hard to that end, out digging the snow for three long days. We all came together and made it happen. It was amazing – in the end our photos turned out like a winter wonderland. So magical.
“Our wedding reception was held at Slieve Donard in Co Down – another big drive from Belfast.”
“I just want other couples to know that it’ll happen so long as you make your special day about each other the rest will fall into place, weather and all. Everyone will help you along the way. We had no worries in the end – our family and friends were amazing. I will keep the mishaps of the day out of this!”
It all went perfectly – or at least that’s what our families said until it all came out after wedding!
Firstly, Shelly Stokes of Castle Durrow in Co Laois writes to say:
“We are in Laois and have plenty of snow.”
The storm hasn’t reached us yet but we are prepared for it! We have two weddings this weekend, on Friday and Saturday, and have gotten ready and prepped.
My poor brides are of course nervous that their guests may not be able to make it, but we are sure that whoever will be here shall have a fab time!
“One thing is for sure, the wedding pictures will be incredible!”
We’d struggle to argue with that sentiment Shelly, judging by your photos.
Shelly Stokes
1 Mar 2018
6:25PM
Cork County Council have released their latest storm update:
“Cork County Councils 24 hour emergency line on 021 4800048 remains in operation. However due to severe weather conditions & resulting large volume of calls it may take some time to get through to an operator. Cork County Council would ask callers to remain on the line or try again to have their call answered.
All Council offices and amenities, including libraries, will remain closed Thursday 1 March and Friday 2 March.
Roads have been continuously treated overnight and this morning in accordance with the Council’s Winter Service Plan. 26 vehicles were in use and 400 tonnes of salt was applied in the last 24 hours. There are no road treatments currently taking place by Cork County Council road crews due to the extreme conditions. Road clearance and treatment operations will resume tomorrow Friday as soon as it safe to do so.
If travel is absolutely necessary, all road users are asked to exercise extreme caution on roads and to never assume that a route has been treated. Similarly pedestrians are asked to take extra care using footpaths.
Due to high tides and possible early thaw there is a significant risk of flooding in the low lying areas of Bantry, Clonakilty, Midleton and Youghal on tomorrow Friday March 2nd in the morning (approximately 6am), the evening (approximately 6pm) and Saturday morning (approximately 6am).
Customers experiencing water outages should contact Irish Water on 1850278278 or consult the Irish Water website for the most up to date information.
The Council’s Housing Department will respond to the impact that the severe weather may have on any person sleeping rough in the county. Cork County Council has also put a 24 hour maintenance policy into effect for council tenants. If a Council tenant experiences any difficulty they are advised to contact 021 4800048.
Updates will be provided on Cork County Council’s social media channels and website.”
This amazing shot of Dun Laoghaire’s Forty Foot from earlier today was sent in by Eoin Flood. Beautiful and terrifying in one go.
Eoin Flood
Eoin Flood
1 Mar 2018
6:03PM
Remember guys, if you’ve any photos or videos from today, a story to tell or something you feel people should know, just drop me a line on cianan@thejournal.ie, or on Twitter @ciananbrennan
1 Mar 2018
5:55PM
We have an updated statement in from the HSE:
“The HSE would stress that at a local and national level our services are being impacted due to the severity of the weather conditions. For this reason the HSE is asking members of the public to consider the following:
Due to the deteriorating weather conditions, our National Ambulance Service is prioritising emergency calls. We are asking people to consider if they have an absolute emergency situation before calling for an ambulance. If you do need to call an ambulance please know or have your Eircode to hand.
The HSE has cancelled all outpatient appointments and non-urgent surgeries planned for Thursday 1 March and Friday 2 March. There is no need for patients to contact their hospital. Hospitals will be in touch over the coming weeks to reschedule their appointments. Patients who are scheduled for urgent surgery over these two days will be contacted by their hospital.
Where it is safe to do so, we are asking people to consider checking in on elderly or vulnerable members of the community, and to make sure they have supplies of food, fuel, water and medicines.
Our advice to older people is to stay indoors and to keep at least one room heated to 18 degrees. Wear multiple layers of clothes, have plenty of blankets and socks to keep you warm. Make sure you eat well and keep active and be mindful of risk of slips, trips and falls. If you have a personal alarm, make sure you wear it at all times. For more information on falls prevention please click here.
The GP Out of Hours service is operational but will face challenges in going to see people in their own homes. We are asking people to bear this in mind if they need to call a GP to their home. There will be delays due to the severe weather conditions.
We are advising the public to access our communications channels to get the most up to date information – www.hse.ie/weatherwarning and @HSELive #weatherwarning on Twitter for all the latest regarding HSE services.
Our health service functions because of our highly trained, dedicated, professional staff. The commitment and dedication of our health service staff to maintaining health services during the current severe weather episode is greatly acknowledged and appreciated. It is at times like this that the true value of public service comes to the fore and the work of so many unsung heroes across the entire health service becomes even more evident.”
Lori Marie Fox has been in touch to remind us to not forget our feathered friends in the cold weather.
She’s been leading by example and has created a scenario akin to Alfred Hitchcock’s The Birds in her back garden.
Lori Marie Fox
One at a time lads, there’s plenty for all.
1 Mar 2018
5:34PM
Sean O’Neill of Transport Infrastructure Ireland (TII) has been talking to us. Sean grew up in Boston. He is familiar with blizzards. He does not recommend driving in them (having done so myself recently in Co Tipperary I can confirm that doing so is not fun).
“What happens sometimes is people have big 4x4s and think they are all that and a bag of chips,” Sean says.
“It’s a bit like an airplane when you don’t know where the horizon is, there’s a whiteout and you can’t see properly. So you have 4x4s driving off bridges and motorways and that’s a danger then for others who come to rescue them.”
Anyone who thinks they have a great vehicle, no matter how experienced a driver you are, even in a tank if you can’t see in front of you, you can go right off a road and you’re putting rescue people at risk, their lives.
With a snowstorm afoot, the goal naturally is to stay as warm as possible.
Niall O’Reilly, and companion, from the French Dining School have taken that idea to the nth degree in Co Wicklow, ahead of (hopefully) catching their ferry back to France tomorrow night.
We’re into the serious business of Storm Emma now, with hopefully everybody possible safe under a roof as the blizzard gets set to ramp up.
But we’ll start on a lighter note – Harry the dog having a whale of a time earlier in Castleknock:
1 Mar 2018
5:17PM
Hello everyone, as Sean mentioned Cianan Brennan here to keep you company on the liveblog for the next while.
I can confirm that I have not benefited in any way from the recent bread apocalypse, but that I wish I had.
1 Mar 2018
5:12PM
Thanks for joining me, but I’m about to hand you over to my esteemed colleague Cianan Brennan.
He assures me that he has not financially gained in any way from the recent bread splurge.
Hope you all stay safe, and be sure to keep sending in your snowy pictures to pictures@thejournal.ie.
1 Mar 2018
5:04PM
We’ve just got an updated statement in from Irish Rail.
It reconfirms that there’ll be no services tomorrow, and says that a decision on Saturday’s service will be made tomorrow.
It said: “The company thanks its employees across Infrastructure and Train Operations divisions who have ensured services continued to operate in extremely difficult conditions over the past 48 hours, in particular those employees who have worked in all weathers to clear lines and points of snow.
Their efforts have been immense, and we are grateful to customers for their messages of thanks to them, and for the patience from customers as services were unavoidably delayed due to weather conditions.
The Taoiseach has been busy this afternoon. Here he is popping into Holles Street to speak to staff.
I called into Holles St this afternoon to say thanks to the staff working today. No matter what the weather, there are babies to be delivered and new mums to care for. Thanks for all the hard work. pic.twitter.com/K51HsExv2j
We’ve just received an update from the Defence Forces.
Here’s what they said: “[We] have deployed 250 Army personnel and 85 vehicles in a range of tasks to support the local authorities in the past 36 hours with 130 personnel deployed today alone.
There are also an additional 250 Defence Forces personnel in support of our deployed personnel working in our barracks around the country today.
The majority of taskings are in support of the HSE ensuring that key staff can get to hospitals and to house bound patients. We have supported Temple St Children’s Hospital in Dublin getting key staff to work as well as hospitals in Louth, Wexford, Waterford, Cork and Kildare.
It said that, since 4pm, all non-essential work has stopped with its members available to respond to matters of life and death in the coming hours.
— Walking Tours Howth (@Freetourshowth) March 1, 2018
1 Mar 2018
4:43PM
Speaking on RTÉ, Paschal Sheehy just described the temperature in Cork as “bitingly cold”. We hear you.
Here’s what Cork City Council is saying: “With the approach of high tides, road closures have been put in place at the following locations:
Morrisons Island
Union Quay
“The Council is again advising the public to avoid unnecessary travel and to heed the warnings to remain indoors for the duration of the severe weather. The City Council will provide regular updates as the situation develops further.”
Some councils are providing updates on the current situation.
Here’s Dublin City Council’s:
“The City’s Winter Maintenance Plan continues to be implemented and road gritting crews will work, using snow ploughs and gritters, if conditions allow, to clear the roads of snow and salt the street network covering the national, regional and commuter routes.
Essential staff will also be working over the period in the area of housing and homeless services; emergency services including Dublin Fire Brigade and Ambulance Service and all roads and environmental operational services. See www.dublincitycouncil.ie for updates.
Thanks to all the Civil Defence volunteers who were involved in getting key personnel to their work locations & delivering meals on wheels. pic.twitter.com/5hquLeOQTE
— Dublin City Council (@DubCityCouncil) March 1, 2018
Dublin Airport may be closed but here’s some good news from Daa: “If your flight is cancelled due to weather we won’t charge you for parking. If you’re stuck overseas we won’t charge you for the extra time.”
(Not a bad picture of Dublin Airport, either.)
If your flight is cancelled due to weather we won't charge you for parking. If you're stuck overseas we won't charge you for the extra time. Contact car parks on +35319440440 or parkingdublin@daa.ie. #BeastFromTheEast#StormEmma#Sneachtapic.twitter.com/pMHFHZr4cC
Given the warning in place till 3pm tomorrow, it is perhaps no surprise that Brown Thomas has just confirmed it has decided to close all its stores until Saturday at the earliest.
Bus Éireann has said it will not operate ANY services in Leinster or Munster tomorrow, nor will its Expressway intercity services operate anywhere.
However, given the reduced levels of warning in Connacht and parts of the west and north-west, it “may be able to operate some services in less affected areas tomorrow”.
It added:
We will review this situation in the morning and provide further information around midday with a view to a possible resumption of some services in the late afternoon or evening. We will provide a further update in relation to the operation of scheduled services from Saturday morning.
1 Mar 2018
4:22PM
The Department of Agriculture, Food and the Marine has issued an advisory for farmers in these conditions.
It said: “It is essential that farm safety is prioritised above all else.
In the case of sheep flocks it is essential that they are brought to a sheltered area in advance of the worst of this event. Where farmers are tending animals, they should ensure they carry a fully charged mobile phone and let people know where they are- checking in regularly.
“If tending animals in remote locations, a second person should accompany them. Take care around the farmyard ensuring concrete areas are gritted or salted. Falls are the biggest threat and take care to avoid.
Do not attempt to remove snow from roofs of farm buildings. To avoid damage to pumps, milking equipment etc, drain thoroughly. Water for livestock remains a significant problem on farms with pipes and ball-cocks for supply freezing, but continued access to water is important at this time when cows are calving and sheep lambing.
Cork City Council is staying on brand with its suggestion for what people staying indoors should do this evening.
1 Mar 2018
4:09PM
In a statement in the last few minutes, the ISPCC has said that it has opted “with regret” that Childline will close from now until it is safe to re-open.
It said: “The ISPCC has advised that any child or young person in danger, or in need of immediate help, in Ireland tonight should contact the emergency services at 999 or 112.”
“Please heed the warning,” is the message from Dublin Fire Brigade.
The National Emergency Coordination Centre have advised that all members of the public be indoors at this time. Please heed their warning. This is it people, get the box sets out and we'll all have stories tomorrow. In an emergency dial 999 or 112. #StormEmma#BeastFromTheEastpic.twitter.com/U3OewTi8jr
— Dublin Fire Brigade (@DubFireBrigade) March 1, 2018
Perhaps quite ominously, the snow has gotten considerably heavier here in Dublin in the past few minutes.
1 Mar 2018
3:58PM
Perhaps unsurprisingly, all national parks and nature reserves in the country are now closed until further notice.
The Department of Culture, Heritage and the Gaeltacht said: “Snow may mask normal trail markers and routes leading to more dangerous walking conditions with ice increasing the likelihood of slips, trips and falls.”
1 Mar 2018
3:56PM
It’s now five minutes to midnight (well 4pm really but you know what we mean).
Here’s Minister Eoghan Murphy reiterating the advice to stay inside from that time onwards.
It’s not just Ireland getting hit by this stormy weather.
The polar vortex has already struck hard in Europe, leaving more than 50 people dead – 21 of them are in Poland.
Briscous, near Bayonne, south-western France Bob Edme / PA Images
Bob Edme / PA Images / PA Images
1 Mar 2018
3:40PM
It’s nearly 20 minutes to 4 now, when people across the country are being urged to be indoors.
It’s been lashing snow here in Dublin for the past hour now but, even if it’s not snowing where you are right now, the red warning for the entire country means that people all over should stay in this evening.
We’ve got sent this by Andy Cross in Ballyteague, Co Kildare, who’s having trouble finding his car.
Andy Cross
Andy Cross
1 Mar 2018
3:28PM
O’Neill, who grew up in Boston, says that the conditions are a “terrible recipe” for driving on the roads.
He says that visibility will be unacceptably low.
“I don’t care if you drive a 4×4 or a tank,” he said. “No visibility is no visibility.
You could drive off the road. Please, it may seem like a short journey, but it could change your life or other people’s lives… Hunker down, be safe, and relax… Chill out, no pun intended.
1 Mar 2018
3:26PM
Sean O’Neill from Transport Infrastructure Ireland is on the Ray D’Arcy Show now.
He’s urging people to stay indoors for the next 24-48 hours. Every effort will be made to keep the motorways open, he says.
“I know they’ve been hearing it ad nauseum, but please stay off the roads… this powdery snow gets in the air and reduces visibility. You may think you’re on the road but you could not be and hit a barrier.”
Here’s some more great pics, these ones from Tramore, Co Waterford, this morning.
Katherine Fewer
1 Mar 2018
3:09PM
Following on from the update on Cork and Dublin airports, Shannon has just confirmed that it will close from 6pm this evening, and re-open on Saturday morning.
1 Mar 2018
3:07PM
The snow that’s on its way could be “record breaking” according to RTÉ weather presenter Karina Buckley.
Speaking on Liveline in the past few minutes, she said that the previous record snowfall was 49cm in the 1960s.
It could reach 50cm tomorrow.
1 Mar 2018
3:05PM
Cork Airport and Dublin Airport are both closed now, with flights not due to resume until Saturday morning.
This piece from my colleague Órla Ryan explains what your rights are if your flight has been cancelled.
It’s still just under an hour and a half before the warning to stay indoors kicks in, and people are using this time as their last chance for a bit of fresh air until tomorrow.
Or you could use this time to walk your ferret, as this woman did yesterday.
The advice from all official channels really is to stay indoors from 4pm this afternoon.
Here’s a couple of gardaí visiting an elderly resident in Baltinglass, Co Wicklow a short time ago.
Whoops!
We couldn't find this Tweet
It’s a fantastic picture but I think we preferred their heartwarming tweet on the same topic yesterday:
Garda James McDonagh, Bray Garda Station checking in with elderly people in the area. Keep an eye on elderly and vulnerable people in your community. #WinterReadypic.twitter.com/6rw7rcQLD1
Inside but fancy seeing what it’s like in other parts of the country?
Carroll’s Irish Gifts would usually be full of tourists today, but as their live feed of Dublin’s O’Connell Street shows, there’s very few people out and about.
There’s no public transport on the roads until Saturday at the earliest.
Decisions will be made later on if services will be run on Irish Rail and Bus Éireann, while Dublin Bus has said it does expect services to run on Saturday.
A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article.
Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.
To embed this post, copy the code below on your site
107 Comments
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic.
Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy
here
before taking part.
Sorry but I have to say we have no snow in South wicklow and a mild wind blowing, This is insane the entire country shut down because of bad weather. Twice in six months the country has been shut down we really are living in a fascist state.
Leo has shut down the country for three days because in Dublin there is a little bit of snow.
@brian boru: fascist state? Lol you’re delusional. Is the UK fascist too? They shut most amneties down to protect their citizens. A day of business is not worth a single death.
@brian boru: Facist dictators are known throughout history more than anything for their overwhelming…public safety concerns? Mussolini in particular was very safe.
@brian boru: I reckon it cost €180 million to pay the public sector for their two days off. The weather was grand today & this evening it had a lovely winter feel.
There is a well regarded play by Samuel Beckett called Waiting for Godot. It has been described as a play where nothing happens, twice. That’s what it feels like here in Letterkenny. The countrywide red alert last night was essentially a signal for panic. We have all watched the movies. The suspense here all day as the town closed down through the fear generated by the relentless apocalyptic coverage was palpable. The waiting has been torture. Now we are near the end nothing much has happened. Surely there must be a better way of handling such events at a local level.
@wiggy: They can take the All Ireland medal hoard out of the specially constructed bunker so.. As long as Kilkenny survives feck the rest of the country…
@wiggy: Bolliks tis thawing out, in the South of Kilkenny we’re snowed in all day and most of last night round where I am, all neighbours checked in on so all good on that score.
Well here in Monaghan theres easily a foot of snow here. just back from kilkenny, roads were fine until here. We have no water, car got stuck coming up our road and we could only slide into the hedge to avoid serious damage, abandon and now we are goosed. We are also out of bread
@Cathy Carroll: that’s tough @Cathy Carroll. Maybe neighbours or family can help out. It’s (hopefully) only 24 hours. If you’ve got anything else in the house to drink now is the time to get it out!
Moderate breeze and no snow in East Cork. I thought South Coast was supposed to be among first and worst affected. Looks like snow is much farther east than forecast.
Journal…. Not quite sure why you’d advertise and promote the cruel ‘Sport’ of greyhound racing. Perhaps conduct some research into this abuse before writing up such a glowing report on the people involved. The majority of people at this stage know what’s involved in greyhound racing. None of it involves animal welfare.
think how much the insurance are saving due to the government calling a red weather alert
telling people to stay in ? You think any of them called government offices over the past few days ?? or it’s just lucky for them it’s red alert
@Declan Byrne: ok well to specify where I am in south Dublin it snowed all day and has been snowing all evening as well. At least 20 cm on the roof of my car. Snow drifting into deeper depths than that.
I was drinking wine most of the night and I eventually decided to make a pizza. I put whatever I had in the fridge on it and seasoned it with chilli powder. I called it “a beast from the yeast”. Still few slices left if anyone wants some.
Walked 3 kilometres home at midnight in a town in the mid-west. Temperature nice, lovely dry snow, nice walk. Winter wonderland feel. What is this code red warning?
@Locojoe: Just drove a short distance from a friend’s house to my place in Dublin 5, and if it wasn’t for the fact I was in the Jeep I wouldn’t have been going anywhere. Two cars abandoned as they pulled off the Oscar Traynor Road into estates and the level of the snow above their front bumpers was a minimum 35 centimeters. Both cars just left as they were. Can’t distinguish between road surface and path or even raised levels of green areas, and a lot of garden walls almost invisible. Spot on with the warnings in this part of the country anyway. Although I completely agree with the frustrations of those in relatively unaffected areas where the red warning meant that most services shut down.
Bray wanders prong yang division imposing martial law on anyone inciting decent on our glorious leader varadker Can’t wait for the election to get this soft C-/:K out stop trying to scare people.
@David Smith: your Bray Wanderers football media heads going to put out any reasonable sound bites so to repend? Laughing stock I say. The shame of Bray
@Mr_Tuxedo: I’d imagine so. Too dangerous to travel. Listen to safety warnings and keep phones charged. Depending on your employer, you may have to do time in lieu.
Jaysus lads you want to get a grip. More than 40 cms of snow here. Battered for 3 days by snow storms, the Beast from the East came South. Snow still on footpaths but cleared from the roads. Staff in at 7am here without fail, public transport still runs, shops well stocked with everything. Temps from minus 9 down to minus 20 in places. Delivery vans just left here loaded with cakes and goodies. Schools are closed. But schools here are in two shifts. Two schools in the one building. Some kids are at from 7am finish early then another school starts and finishes late.
Government formation negotiations in race to finish line as talks continue today
12 mins ago
Last Round on Michael
Ryanair is begging airport bars to cut patrons off after two drinks
21 mins ago
Cavan
Woman killed in Cavan home named locally, as gardaí launch murder investigation
Updated
3 hrs ago
Your Cookies. Your Choice.
Cookies help provide our news service while also enabling the advertising needed to fund this work.
We categorise cookies as Necessary, Performance (used to analyse the site performance) and Targeting (used to target advertising which helps us keep this service free).
We and our 138 partners store and access personal data, like browsing data or unique identifiers, on your device. Selecting Accept All enables tracking technologies to support the purposes shown under we and our partners process data to provide. If trackers are disabled, some content and ads you see may not be as relevant to you. You can resurface this menu to change your choices or withdraw consent at any time by clicking the Cookie Preferences link on the bottom of the webpage .Your choices will have effect within our Website. For more details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
We and our vendors process data for the following purposes:
Use precise geolocation data. Actively scan device characteristics for identification. Store and/or access information on a device. Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development.
Cookies Preference Centre
We process your data to deliver content or advertisements and measure the delivery of such content or advertisements to extract insights about our website. We share this information with our partners on the basis of consent. You may exercise your right to consent, based on a specific purpose below or at a partner level in the link under each purpose. Some vendors may process your data based on their legitimate interests, which does not require your consent. You cannot object to tracking technologies placed to ensure security, prevent fraud, fix errors, or deliver and present advertising and content, and precise geolocation data and active scanning of device characteristics for identification may be used to support this purpose. This exception does not apply to targeted advertising. These choices will be signaled to our vendors participating in the Transparency and Consent Framework.
Manage Consent Preferences
Necessary Cookies
Always Active
These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems. They are usually only set in response to actions made by you which amount to a request for services, such as setting your privacy preferences, logging in or filling in forms. You can set your browser to block or alert you about these cookies, but some parts of the site will not then work.
Targeting Cookies
These cookies may be set through our site by our advertising partners. They may be used by those companies to build a profile of your interests and show you relevant adverts on other sites. They do not store directly personal information, but are based on uniquely identifying your browser and internet device. If you do not allow these cookies, you will experience less targeted advertising.
Functional Cookies
These cookies enable the website to provide enhanced functionality and personalisation. They may be set by us or by third party providers whose services we have added to our pages. If you do not allow these cookies then these services may not function properly.
Performance Cookies
These cookies allow us to count visits and traffic sources so we can measure and improve the performance of our site. They help us to know which pages are the most and least popular and see how visitors move around the site. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous. If you do not allow these cookies we will not be able to monitor our performance.
Store and/or access information on a device 95 partners can use this purpose
Cookies, device or similar online identifiers (e.g. login-based identifiers, randomly assigned identifiers, network based identifiers) together with other information (e.g. browser type and information, language, screen size, supported technologies etc.) can be stored or read on your device to recognise it each time it connects to an app or to a website, for one or several of the purposes presented here.
Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development 123 partners can use this purpose
Use limited data to select advertising 93 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times an ad is presented to you).
Create profiles for personalised advertising 68 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (such as forms you submit, content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (for example, information from your previous activity on this service and other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (that might include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present advertising that appears more relevant based on your possible interests by this and other entities.
Use profiles to select personalised advertising 67 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on your advertising profiles, which can reflect your activity on this service or other websites or apps (like the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects.
Create profiles to personalise content 32 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (for instance, forms you submit, non-advertising content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (such as your previous activity on this service or other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (which might for example include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present content that appears more relevant based on your possible interests, such as by adapting the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find content that matches your interests.
Use profiles to select personalised content 28 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on your content personalisation profiles, which can reflect your activity on this or other services (for instance, the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects. This can for example be used to adapt the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find (non-advertising) content that matches your interests.
Measure advertising performance 115 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which advertising is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine how well an advert has worked for you or other users and whether the goals of the advertising were reached. For instance, whether you saw an ad, whether you clicked on it, whether it led you to buy a product or visit a website, etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of advertising campaigns.
Measure content performance 56 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which content is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine whether the (non-advertising) content e.g. reached its intended audience and matched your interests. For instance, whether you read an article, watch a video, listen to a podcast or look at a product description, how long you spent on this service and the web pages you visit etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of (non-advertising) content that is shown to you.
Understand audiences through statistics or combinations of data from different sources 67 partners can use this purpose
Reports can be generated based on the combination of data sets (like user profiles, statistics, market research, analytics data) regarding your interactions and those of other users with advertising or (non-advertising) content to identify common characteristics (for instance, to determine which target audiences are more receptive to an ad campaign or to certain contents).
Develop and improve services 74 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service, such as your interaction with ads or content, can be very helpful to improve products and services and to build new products and services based on user interactions, the type of audience, etc. This specific purpose does not include the development or improvement of user profiles and identifiers.
Use limited data to select content 33 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type, or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times a video or an article is presented to you).
Use precise geolocation data 39 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, your precise location (within a radius of less than 500 metres) may be used in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Actively scan device characteristics for identification 23 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, certain characteristics specific to your device might be requested and used to distinguish it from other devices (such as the installed fonts or plugins, the resolution of your screen) in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Ensure security, prevent and detect fraud, and fix errors 77 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Your data can be used to monitor for and prevent unusual and possibly fraudulent activity (for example, regarding advertising, ad clicks by bots), and ensure systems and processes work properly and securely. It can also be used to correct any problems you, the publisher or the advertiser may encounter in the delivery of content and ads and in your interaction with them.
Deliver and present advertising and content 87 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Certain information (like an IP address or device capabilities) is used to ensure the technical compatibility of the content or advertising, and to facilitate the transmission of the content or ad to your device.
Match and combine data from other data sources 64 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Information about your activity on this service may be matched and combined with other information relating to you and originating from various sources (for instance your activity on a separate online service, your use of a loyalty card in-store, or your answers to a survey), in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Link different devices 46 partners can use this feature
Always Active
In support of the purposes explained in this notice, your device might be considered as likely linked to other devices that belong to you or your household (for instance because you are logged in to the same service on both your phone and your computer, or because you may use the same Internet connection on both devices).
Identify devices based on information transmitted automatically 75 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Your device might be distinguished from other devices based on information it automatically sends when accessing the Internet (for instance, the IP address of your Internet connection or the type of browser you are using) in support of the purposes exposed in this notice.
Save and communicate privacy choices 54 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
The choices you make regarding the purposes and entities listed in this notice are saved and made available to those entities in the form of digital signals (such as a string of characters). This is necessary in order to enable both this service and those entities to respect such choices.
have your say