You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.
IT’S THE SECOND day of vote counting in the 2016 general election, and one thing is clear: Fianna Fáil and Fine Gael are neck-and-neck.
The prospect of a FG/FF coalition is getting closer – and Taoiseach Enda Kenny has become increasingly pragmatic on the possibility of the two parties ruling together. Fianna Fáil, meanwhile, have been repeatedly ruling it out.
With counting yet to conclude across a number of counties we’ll keep you up to date as the situation unfolds. Here’s a list of marquee moments and things to watch for:
Green Party leader Eamon Ryan has secured a second seat for the Green Party in Dublin Bay South
Both Healy-Raes, Michael and Danny, have been elected in Kerry
Fine Gael’s deputy leader James Reilly has lost his seat in Dublin Fingal as has junior minister and Labour TD Kathleen Lynch in Cork North Central.
There is a full recount in Dublin South Central and ones on the way for Dublin South West and Wexford.
We’ve finally got a result in four-seat Cork East: Labour’s Seán Sherlock has just scooped the first seat, followed by David Stanton (Fine Gael) and Kevin O’Keeffe (Fianna Fáil).
This is a count that was going through the night, and now Sherlock’s surplus votes are being distributed to see who will get the final seat.
FINALLY! 9th count - Sherlock tops poll, Stanton 2nd & O'Keeffe 3rd. Sherlock surplus being distr. pic.twitter.com/fgfMpw21IE
It’s going to be a pretty intense day and night for Ireland – not only do we have the election counts, but we have nine nominations in tonight’s Oscars.
If we do win, at least it will give people something to celebrate, if they’ve had a bad weekend of it…
28 Feb 2016
9:24AM
Here’s Hugh’s update on what’s happening at the RDS:
At the RDS, we’re expecting a recount in Dublin South Central where there are 35 votes between Fianna Fáil’s Catherine Ardagh and AAA-PBP’s Brid Smith. There could also be a recount in Dublin Bay South where Labour’s Kevin Humphreys and Fianna Fáil’s Jim O’Callaghan are neck-and-neck
Dublin Central is complete. Dublin North West is not far behind where Fine Gael’s Noel Rock is set to take the last seat.
But Dublin Bay North, which only declared its first count last night, is expected to run long into the night
Here’s how our treats table is looking this morning. We’ve been eating a bit of fruit, in fairness to us, but the Christmas biscuits were most hard hit.
28 Feb 2016
9:46AM
Mary Lou McDonald was speaking to Morning Ireland earlier, and told them that Sinn Féin “will not be the facilitator or enablers of Fianna Fáil or Fine Gael running rampant across an unequal society”.
Meanwhile, Michael McCarthy of Labour told the same programme that what has happened to Labour in this election was “absolutely horrendous”.
Labour TD John Lyons was a prominent figure during the same-sex marriage referendum campaign, but he won’t be returning to his seat. He’s just one of Labour’s casualties in the GE16.
He’s sent a message to his supporters:
A big thanks to all those who voted for me. Past 5 yrs been an absolute honour/privilege that I'll never forget 😘.Politics is a tough game.
Let’s head over to Mayo now, where our reporter Órla Ryan is at the count centre.
As the 8th count (distribution of just under 3,000 votes) began this morning, Fine Gael’s local director of elections Brendan O’Dowd told Ryan:
Here in Mayo we’re in with a fighting chance of taking the third seat [for Fine Gael, and fourth seat overall]. Obviously we have Enda Kenny elected, Michael Ring is 1,100 votes short of the quota. And Michelle Mulherin is still there. She’s 176 behind Lisa Chambers so obviously it’s down to transfers at the moment.
O’Dowd says he not confident of Mulherin securing the seat.
A lot of things have to fall into place and be right to take the fourth seat … The longer Michael Ring is not elected, the better. And we would hope when he would be elected he’ll be elected with a massive surplus … that would push Michelle Mulherin over the finishing line. It’s a very, very long shot. All the gods are with Lisa Chambers.
Danny Healy-Rae’s win means that he’ll be joining his brother Michael up in Leinster House – here’s how their canny strategy ensured the both got a seat.
She told Claire Byrne on RTÉ that she did not want to discuss the 2014 leaflet, as she has already discussed it previously - but Byrne told her it wasn’t something she could not discuss.
Madigan said that the issue hadn’t come up on the doorsteps, and that locals “know I work hard”.
Hugh O’Connell has another update for us from the RDS count centre, where Fine Gael’s Eoghan Murphy just won a seat:
Fine Gael TD Eoghan Murphy, who’s just been re-elected in Dublin Bay South has said that his party should consider forming a minority government as it appears it will have more seats than Fianna Fáil.
He told reporters: “I wouldn’t rule out a minority Fine Gael government. I think there’s every possibility of that given the seats that we have. If you look at how we did versus Fianna Fáil, I think there are similar percentages, but we had a lot more seats , we had a lot more second preferences going to Fine Gael.
“People in the exit polls said they wanted Fine Gael returned to government, so I think we should try and do that and maybe the first thing we should try is a minority government. I don’t know, we’ll have to see.”
The Anti Austerity Alliance / People Before Profit’s Bríd Smith has spoken to Newstalk of the pending recount in Dublin South Central.
After Count 11 just 35 votes separate Smith from Fianna Fáil’s Catherine Ardagh in the battle for the last seat.
Smith said she doesn’t perceive there is going to be a sufficient margin of error to dramatically change the 35 votes that are in it. It’s going to be a full recount.
Meanwhile, former Fine Gael TD Seán Conlan has been eliminated in Cavan-Monaghan on the sixth count. There’s still three seats to play for in that constituency with Heather Humphreys the only candidate past the post. Sinn Féin’s Caoimhghín Ó Caoláin and Fianna Fáil’s Brendan Smith look in a strong position to take two of those, with Fine Gael’s Joe O’Reilly looking good for the last seat.
There’s still three seats to be decided in Mayo with Taoiseach Enda Kenny the only TD elected so far, although it seems his party mate Michael Ring is closing in on the second seat.
Our own Órla Ryan has come up with this video to give you a greater idea of the lie of the land out west:
Just as we say it, Michael Ring has been elected for Fine Gael in Mayo on the ninth count. The party still has Michelle Mulherin scrapping for the final seat with Fianna Fáil’s Lisa Chambers, with Fianna Fáil’s Dara Calleary set to take the third.
Meanwhile, Dublin Bay South has been settled, with Fianna Fáil’s Jim O’Callaghan and Fine Gael’s Kate O’Connell taking the last two seats. Labour’s Kevin Humphreys is eliminated, as he had expected he would be. Councillor and pharmacist O’Connell ascends to Dáil Éireann for the first time.
Sinn Féin leader and newly re-elected Louth TD Gerry Adams has been speaking to RTÉ, repeating the campaign message that his party won’t be going into government with “these conservative parties”.
“We were given a mandate to do things differently. I have no confidence at all that Fianna Fáil has learnt the lessons. I have no confidence that Fine Gael have learnt the lessons,” he says.
Adams also takes a pop at the media and his opponents, saying they are more negative than the DUP in the North.
“You can’t throw that much muck at a party and not expect some of it to to stick. You go back through the campaign and try to find me a day where there wasn’t a negative story about Sinn Féin.”
Kate O’Connell and Jim O’Callaghan pictured after taking the last two seats in Dublin Bay South. The first picture of a new era of Fine Gael / Fianna Fáil detente maybe?
Labour’s Alan Kelly is now “confident” of keeping his own seat. Despite this he’s described the election as a “terrible result for the Labour party”.
When asked whether or not leadership is an issue for the party he replies:
Of course everything is part of the discussion. I’m deputy leader, so certainly everything is part of the discussion. We have to look at everything but today isn’t the day for going into detail of that.
A second interview on Newstalk sees Kelly, the outgoing environment minister, describe today as a “bittersweet victory” for him.
Count day is a rough experience for the losers, but take a look at the exhilaration on display here for the winners in Dublin Bay South and Dublin North West:
Oh dear, it’s looking like we’re heading for a full recount in Dublin South West where independent Katherine Zappone took the fifth and final seat by the slimmest of margins from Fine Gael’s Anne-Marie Dermody this morning.
Meanwhile in Sligo-Leitrim, Fine Gael’s John Perry, who famously took legal action against his own party to get on the ticket, has been eliminated on the ninth count. Still no TDs elected to that four-seat constituency, though Fianna Fáil senator Marc MacSharry is looking good to take the first – he’s 2,500 votes ahead of nearest challenger Fine Gael’s Tony McLoughlin.
28 Feb 2016
2:01PM
More from Alan Kelly who has been talking to RTÉ – he’s said he’s “relieved” to retain his seat:
“I have no wish to even start thinking about issues like leadership and things like that. We’ll talk about every issue in relation to our performance and everything else in the coming weeks but today is certainly not the day to be talking about things like that.”
He said that the Labour Party had to make “tough decisions” while in government, which he doesn’t regret.
Kelly also spoke about creating a plan for Labour going forward.
I am going to dedicate every moment I have to ensuring that the Labour Party will be back in its proper position and that my colleagues… will be back and [we will] bring forward new people
On to count nine in Longford-Westmeath with Fianna Fáil’s Robert Troy still the only one of four seats to be elected.
Meanwhile, the AAA/PBP’s Mick Barry has been elected in Cork North Central on the seventh count. That’s a big seat for the emerging hard-left in Irish politics.
Barry has run in all four general elections since 2002, and has waited 14 years for his first win, along with Sinn Féin’s David Cullinane, elected yesterday in Waterford.
For the final seat in Cork North Central, it could be trouble for sitting Labour TD Kathleen Lynch with Sinn Féin’s Jonathan O’Brien likely to benefit from the transfers of his eliminated party-mate Thomas Gould. That’ll be another heavy blow for Labour.
Meanwhile Fine Gael TD Alan Farrell has arrived at the count centre for Dublin Fingal. He looks likely to keep his seat. But the same can’t be said for constituency-mate James Reilly. Carnage.
Ó Laoghaire’s victory sees him take Sinn Féin’s first ever seat in Cork South-Central.
At just 26 years of age he joins Fianna Fáil’s Jack Chambers (25) as one of the two youngest members of the new Dáil. Baby-faced Simon Harris will be feeling old…
Cork South Central has just had its 11th count, and it’s bad news for Fine Gael and very good news for Sinn Féin’s Donnchadh Ó Laoghaire.
Fine Gael’s Simon Coveney is in, but Jerry Buttimer from the same party is eliminated. So Coveney and Ó Laoghaire join Micheál Martin and Michael McGrath who were elected yesterday.
Ó Laoghaire’s supporters are overjoyed, and bars of “We’re On The One Road” are being belted out around the counting centre.
It’s the moment of truth for James Reilly in Dublin Fingal… and he’s gone.
Sam Boal
Sam Boal
On the 10th count Fine Gael’s deputy leader Reilly is eliminated at the expense of Sinn Féin’s Louise O’Reilly. As mentioned before Alan Farrell has made it in as has Labour’s Brendan Ryan.
It was widely expected but that’s still a massive blow for Fine Gael.
Off to Tipperary now, and Alan Kelly has survived. He’s made it in with Seamus Healy of the Workers and Unemployed Action group on the seventh count.
Fine Gael’s Tom Hayes loses out.
Kelly and Healy join Fianna Fáil’s Jackie Cahill and independents Michael Lowry and Mattie McGrath in the 32nd Dáil.
28 Feb 2016
2:55PM
James Reilly has reacted to his loss on RTÉ:
“I suppose now the Taoiseach has a job to do, to be focused on. He’s not going to be thinking about my loss or Alan’s [Shatter] loss. He has to get this country back on track,” he said.
We saw what is happening in Spain. I saw an article today that said Spain’s lot is to be our lot. I really hope that isn’t the case.
Think it’s safe to say Alan Kelly is pretty happy with his result.
Meanwhile, in Cork South Central, it appears that elected TDs Fine Gael’s Simon Coveney and Sinn Féin’s Donnchadh Ó’Laoghaire have quite the disparity in height.
Labour’s chief whip Emmett Stagg has lost his seat in Kildare North. He’s been eliminated on the eighth count.
There’s still three seats to play for there. Fianna Fáil’s James Lawless and Frank O’Rourke seem poised to clinch the first two, with the final spot being a face-off between Fine Gael’s Bernard Durkan and Anthony Lawlor.
Sinn Féin are looking for a full recount of the votes of eliminated candidates Dessie Shiels and Sinn Féin’s own Gary Doherty.
Sinn Féin want Gary Doherty eliminated a round earlier than he was so his votes will go to Pearse Doherty whose surplus will then be more to go to Pádraig Mac Lochlainn.
The party is obviously in danger of only returning one TD in what should be a stronghold for them due to the dubious electoral strategy of running three candidates.
The recount is ongoing. We’ll see how it pans out.
We’re six and a half hours into the second day of counting, here’s how things stand:
Fine Gael have landed a couple of extra seats over Fianna Fáil. They’ve got 36 and 34 respectively. Sinn Féin are on 17, independents are 13, and Labour have secured six seats.
120, 76%, of the available 158 seats have now been allocated (assuming that Dublin South West’s results stay the way they are – there’s a recount on the way).
Heres our political editor Hugh O’Connell reporting from the count centres at the RDS:
“Tense times in Dublin Bay North where the marathon count continues.”
“Fine Gael’s Richard Bruton and Fianna Fáil’s Seán Haughey are assured of seats but it’s a dogfight for the last three with Labour’s Aodhán Ó Ríordáin, Sinn Féin’s Denise Mitchell and independents Tommy Broughan, Averil Power and Finian McGrath all in the mix.”
“Rumour is that Ó Ríordáin will have enough support to hold a seat for his beleaguered party, while Power is proving transfer friendly.”
The mammoth Dublin Bay North count continues. Independent TD Finian McGrath among those waiting nervously #GE16pic.twitter.com/WVFr6aQeyk
Interesting developments in Dublin Bay North. We’ve still no TDs elected of course (although Richard Bruton and Seán Haughey should be ok), but the AAA-PBP’s John Lyons has just received a hefty dose of transfers from his eliminated stable mate Michael O’Brien.
Could Lyons benefit from Sinn Féin transfers? There’s still a huge amount to play for in this most inscrutable of constituencies.
In Galway West independent Noel Grealish has just secured the second seat of five at the 13th count.
Incumbent Fine Gael TD John O’Mahony is eliminated.
Independent Catherine Connolly should get the third seat, then it’s a case of three into two seats between Fine Gael’s Sean Kyne, Sinn Féin’s Trevor Ó Clochartaigh and Fine Gael’s Hildegarde Naughton.
Surviving incumbent Dara Calleary says he’s “absolutely thrilled” to have secured Lisa Chambers as a party-mate in the four-seater.
“She stood up when many ran away from Fianna Fáil,” he says.
“Up Fianna Fáil, we’re back!” a supporter shouts.
Chambers for her part is chuffed with her party’s “remarkable achievement” in electing two TDs. Her supporters sang the Fields of Athenry for her when their victory was assured.
Green leader Eamon Ryan has told RTÉ: “It’s been a really big voluntary effort for five years with nothing, with no resources, but with people.”
Meanwhile, there’s a lot of Twitter talk that Fine Gael are bringing their financial might to bear on the legal mire that is the recount in Dublin South West, where Katherine Zappone may yet have her seat snatched from her grasp.
Fine Gael throwing their unfair weight against independent Zappone with barristers & solicitors now alongside recount at #dubsw#GE16
The final count in Kildare North has seen three TDs elected and all four seats are now filled.
That’s Fianna Fáil’s James Lawless, Fine Gael’s Bernard Durkan and Fianna Fáil’s Frank O’Rourke, joining Catherine Murphy who nabbed the first seat.
28 Feb 2016
4:30PM
A recheck of counts requested by Sinn Féin in Donegal has been completed and the eighth count is now underway. The party is hoping transfers from its candidate Gary Doherty, who has been eliminated, will boost Padraig Mac Lochlainn and push him ahead of independent TD Thomas Pringle.
28 Feb 2016
4:31PM
Dan Mac Guill is telling us a source from Dublin South-West confirmed Fine Gael are “bringing in the big guns” for the recount.
Katherine Zappone has brought in former Attorney General, Tánaiste and senior counsel Michael McDowell, himself a veteran of one of the longest recounts in history, when he lost out to John Gormley in 1997, after a week of waiting.
There’s Independent Averil Power checking in at the RDS:
Sam Boal / RollingNews.ie
Sam Boal / RollingNews.ie / RollingNews.ie
She’s one of 12 candidates left in Dublin Bay North, narrowed down from the 20 who ran in that constituency. We’re now into the eighth count there and still no one has reached the quota.
It’s looking good for Fine Gael’s Richard Bruton to take the first seat.
The Sinn Féin candidate clinched the fifth seat in the sprawling north Dublin constituency, pushing Fine Gael deputy leader James Reilly into sixth place and out of the Dáil.
Having travelled across to the RDS to check on Sinn Féin’s Dublin Bay North hopeful Denise Mitchell, Adams told the media that Sinn Féin will try to go into government, but also spoke about how the party is on alert for a second election very soon.
In Wicklow, Independent Joe Behan has been eliminated in Count 9. His 5,218 transfers will now be key in deciding whether Renua’s Billy Timmins will keep his seat.
Richard Bruton seems delighted. He has now won ten out of ten Dáil elections, stretching back to 1982. He has been a TD for 34 years, one of only six members of the new Dáil to serve continuously for three decades.
The final result is in for Galway West after a marathon 14 counts.
Fine Gael have managed to score an interesting seat with Hildegarde Naughton, beating Sinn Féin’s Trevor O Clochartaigh to the final seat. She joins Fine Gael’s Sean Kyne and independent Catherine Connolly. Neither of the three reached the quota of 10,712.
Independent Noel Grealish and Fianna Fáil’s Éamon Ó Cuiv had taken the first two seats.
While FG have ended up with two of the five seats, it reflects something of their struggle to appeal to hitherto stalwart supporters around the country that they didn’t manage to get John O’Mahony through. He was first elected as TD for them in 2007, riding high on a much-respected GAA managerial background.
The final line-up looks like this – but at least FG can say that they have now hit the milestone of 40 TDs elected.
And just when you think no count is coming, three come at once.
Next news we have for you is from Cavan-Monaghan where Sinn Féin’s Caoimhghín Ó Caoláin has been elected on the ninth count. He got in on 17,182 votes with a massive surplus.
28 Feb 2016
5:48PM
Oh, Longford-Westmeath with your 12 counts (and counting) and only one elected TD in Robert Troy of Fianna Fáil.
They have now eliminated independent James Morgan but there is still no candidate with enough transfers to reach the quota of 11,056.
No seats for Renua Ireland for sure now that Billy Timmins has been eliminated from Wicklow.
Timmins lost the seat first won by his dad in 1969 and held consistently since except for one two-year break between 1987 and 1989. Timmins himself took over in 1997.
That means that Wicklow is now done and dusted with Fine Gael’s Andrew Doyle and Fianna Fáil’s Pat Casey taking the last two seats there behind FG’s Simon Harris, Soc Dem Stephen Donnelly and Sinn Féin’s John Brady.
Daragh Brophy, reporting from the DSW count in Citywest, pictured noted legal eagle and former minister Michael McDowell advising independent Katherine Zappone.
The seat she took there is being challenged by Fine Gael over the elimination of their candidate Anne-Marie Dermody, for want of fewer than 200 votes between her and Zappone’s final figure.
Dublin South-West: That headache has become a fully-blown migraine (sorry) with news from our reporter Daragh Brophy there in Citywest that a full recount has been ordered to begin again tomorrow.
Another blow for Labour and the outgoing government with Kathleen Lynch, junior minister for Primary Care, Mental Health and Disability, losing her seat in Cork North Central.
That elects Fine Gael’s Daragh Murphy, and fills the four-seater as follows:
In Louth, Sinn Féin’s Imelda Munster has been elected to join her leader Gerry Adams in the five-seater. It was the 10th count there and Munster did very well from the transfers from AAA/PBP’s Garrett Weldon to leave the result as follows:
28 Feb 2016
6:10PM
Munster’s transfers will decide who takes the final two seats there – will Labour’s Ged Nash make a comeback from his current precarious position behind FG duo Fergus O’Dowd and Peter Fitzpatrick?
That is a question bound to be answered before the evening is out, as Munster had a sizeable 1,700 surplus to be shared out among the three.
Worth noting too that she is the first-ever female TD in Louth.
Fianna Fáil’s Marc MacSharry is the first elected for Sligo-Leitrim on the 12th count.
It’s been a long and static weekend for that constituency so it will come as a relief that he has made the quota – and that there are several runners coming up not far behind.
Take a look here:
It looks like Martin Kenny will get elected for Sinn Féin in the next round, with his running mate Chris MacManus in danger of being eliminated.
While the elimination of Billy Timmins seems to have put a final nail in Renua Ireland’s coffin (Terence Flanagan is still around in Dublin Bay North but he’s not likely to get in), Lucinda Creighton is looking at a silver lining:
Thank you to all the @RENUAIreland supporters & candidates.Disappointed but happy to have more time with this lady! pic.twitter.com/ZJc0wIBuMw
In the Dublin Bay North constituency where Flanagan has just been dropped, an extraordinary proportion of Richard Bruton’s transfers – just over half – went to Labour’s Aodhán Ó Riordáin in ninth count.
- There are eight constituencies still actively counting into tonight. They are: Cavan-Monaghan, Donegal, Dublin Bay North, Kerry, Longford-Westmeath, Louth, Sligo-Leitrim and there is a recount ongoing in Dublin South-Central.
- Dublin South-West and Wexford are the other two constituencies to be decided: both of those have been adjourned to tomorrow morning for a recount.
We’re going to sign off here and hand you over to Cianán Brennan who is keeping an eye on those Lateful Eight constituencies. Find him here.
A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article.
Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.
anyone else feel cheated that Kenny is now considering a ff coalition after saying he won’t multiple times. how can this man be trusted to run the country
I agree but FG ran a similar circus for the last 5 years going from scandal to scandal and people still voted for them too … Corruption riff in Irish politics – as bad as each other
I fear it was the absence of an acceptable alternative that has caused this.
I went to the ballot boxes wanting to vote for someone who was best for my area but couldn’t because of the party he was associated with so I went independent. I’m quite sure I wasn’t the only one.
We gave FG chance 5 years ago and the just milked the system and ploughed on as if they were FF.ignore massive water protests and expect no repercussions
what did you expect could happen when FG were voted in 5 years ago. The country was broke, you cant lower taxes and give benefits to people if you have no money. you seem to think that they chose to bring in water charges because it would be a good idea?
It’s amazing how you forget about not sorting out courts, solicitors and barristers. The country is broke and it’s not us that have to foot the final bill it’s our children. Don’t forget it’s 5 years of FG policies that have us were we are now . Public services decimated, waiting lists, homeless the list goes on
You’re spot on Reg. It’s a shame there is no real viable option other than Sinn Fein/AAA or any other “left” parties. They simply don’t have the numbers to contest it. It’s back to square one by the looks of it.
DM if they feck (and they will) again and betray the boters who gave them a second chance then they will be back to square one. They will not get a third chance either, instead the FF votes will go to SF. FG will be continue on their downward trajectory. It all points to a SF led government in 5 yrs time, unless this coalition (FF/FG)fails.
Many people took a stand on water charges protesting for 4 years due to their fear of price hikes, sale of iw, unfairness of the charge after already been hit with various other tax hikes and charges. Labour choose not only to ignore those people but try to use their union links Siptu etc to undermine the protest. Many protests were not even reported. Labour never even tried to adress those concerns in any serious way and certain Senior Labour people were condescending & flippant in their criticism of protestors.This unfuriated the people who feel very strongly about this issue.
Some of you seem a bit deluded about the water protests. As if the politicians should have listened and how dare they ignore you. It was a protest, the government have no obligation to listen especially when it was clear it was a minority of the electorate which has been borne out in the election. The right 2 change parties are firmly in the minority. You act like protesting is the same as voting and should mean mandatory change. It’s narcissistic to say because you were protesting, how dare the government not listen and abolish IW.
Robert unless you’re just not following the results it’s you who is deluded thinking water charges were not an issue look at the growth in popularity of ind. Etc wake up the people have spoken
Its gone very interesting. Heard M Martin say yesterday that they couldn’t go in with FG and leave the opposition to SF! As Adams says they want to control government and opposition!! Martin said it wouldn’t look good to outside investors! The cow towing to these “investors” has started already. Its really interesting now because FF may have to drive through some real progressive steps and changes as they are so scared of SF. I mean SF are the only credible All-Ireland republican party, which is what FF said they wanted to be for nearly a century.
Sorry Stephen, the water movement made a clear political pact in right2change and those candidates will win the majority of seats. That’s the point. The matter was an issue for a minority of voters.
True they won’t win a majority of seats but FF said they would abolish them for the next 5 years … the term of the government(if it doesn’t fall asunder) so the people have in fact spoken like it or lump it votes don’t lie
Search eagle SF are a self serving party and their only aim is Brits out, everything else is an after thought. And that’s ok if you’re upfront and honest but they’ll say whatever is popular at a given time to get a few votes.
Pretty shocked how well FF are doing to be honest. Very short memories in Ireland. Most countries in the world had a downward spiral after the financial crash but very few were quite as catastrophic as Ireland. That happened under FF’s watch. Would be very disappointed to see them back in government after everything
Was FG any better than FF? At least FF would be know as a better party for promoting business. FG and Lab made too many promises in 2011. I lent them my vote as they asked now I took it back thank you very much.
All the Fianna Fáil Yahoo’ing, Hollering and riding on shoulders is the ecstasy of a 90 grand salary, unlimited expenses, pension sorted and the Dail bar.
These criminals couldn’t care less about the ordinary Irish people.
Ecstasy of 90k… It’s amusing that people would be ecstatic with that as a salary. If you came to me tomorrow and said that figure, I’d be throughly depressed.
So Fianna Fáil torch the economy and then come back claiming to be the fire brigade. Guess what – they then deny they should be in government with Fine Gael even though there is no difference between them.
Fianna Fáil – always putting themselves first!
To be perfectly honest, FF real crimes in office were not preparing for an international economic downturn.. not regulating our banks enough and not broadening our tax base so we were not so heavily reliant on income tax.. FG would’ve done the same.. but in fairness to them once things went bad they made all the horrible decisions that had to be made and FG just kept up the same policies.. them going into gov together won’t be the worst thing… they are pretty much the same thing.. the real problem is ego’s.. Will they all now show they are really about putting the people first and go into gov and do what’s needed? At least this time they might actually keep each other in check..
Irish politicians in general spend too much time thinking about their constituency and too little thinking about their country. The system needs to be changed so that a national parlisment is elected instead of a county cooperative.
We should have an overhaul of the system. Maybe follow New Zealand where each voters gets two votes. One for a candidate and one for a party. Then devolve more power to regional councils. Let them take care of the pot holes etc.
FF brought this country to its knees and then we had FG continuing its legacy of taxes and corruption. Now we have the pleasure of Fianna Fáil AND Fine Gael. Two sides of the same coin. Yes, there was no strong alternative but Jesus Christ, What have we brought on ourselves.
Enda and micheal will be looking all doe-eyed at one another soon enough, which ones gonna bend over and take it for the sake of the national interest and gender equality
While the media were busy attacking SF every chance they got it the me fein party where left alone, nobody reminding us of their dodgy past. The establishment knew FG were in a bad way and labour were out so it suited them to let FF back. DOB now has a whole Dail full of buddies including Michael Lowry, Biffos brother, Enda and more, so it’s a very satisfactory result for kinf DOB indeed
its hilarious really. All they’ve got is that one radio show Adams did, everything else he said on live tv was TRUE. FF came in 2nd but got a lot of facts wrong. We all know what FF are capable of, seems like many forget. We’ve just seen what FG/Labour did. SF will get their day, if it doesnt work out then so be it but to see change for once for 5 years is worth taking it. People really need to forget about the IRA this and that. You were fooled on the previous governments promises, the lisbon treaty, the IW, the bankers getting off, Property Tax, endless crap. Now you’re going to be fooled again. Makes no odds, the lower class is rising, the poorer and getting poorer, it will be those people that will take SF up another 50% come 5 years from now, same for the Independents and the SD’s. Take the chance and be done with it, ye have taking all the wrong ones and dead certs so far. I’m no fan of Adams btw, but Mary Lou and Doherty would have any of those FF/FG/Labour leaders for breakfast. Miriam O’Callaghan is not fit to lead debates either when her own brother is running for FF. Those that emigrated can safely say that they won’t be coming home anytime soon. They’re where they because of what you’ve voted for again. Might be ok for the Farmers and Business buddies. We have the 2nd lowest wage rates in the world in comparison to our cost of living. That ballooned over the past 5 years and the rich got very much richer thanks to cheap labour. Makes no odds, we need to leave the EU cos theyre ruling this. The country is a dump and destroyed by lowering wages and increased living costs. It can only go one way that – a growing lower class and much more poverty. This is what the EU rulers want btw so better get out.
Hopefully they’ll be able to form a good right wing government and not have to be pandering to the layabout and scroungers that will not help themselves.
For example children, the elderly, the disable and the homeless? Or does leftist economics benefit only the subset of unemployed who don’t want to work?
And I asked “does leftist economics benefit only the subset of unemployed who don’t want to work?”.
That’s a smaller subset yet, since the long term unemployed have the disabled and the long-term ill among their numbers. The normal right wing responses to “benefit scroungers” won’t have any impact there. The normal left wing responses don’t do much either.
Is it possible the solution is nothing to do with a simplistic left/right choice?
Most right of centre voters would say of course the elderly and infirm should always be helped. People who genuinely cannot work. But everybody else? There is no excuse if you are able bodied and able minded not to be working. There should be obligation on society to continue to hand out benefits to people who refuse to work and who are intent on milking the system for all its worth.
“Hopefully they’ll be able to form a good right wing government and not have to be pandering to the layabout and scroungers that will not help themselves.”
That’d require some right wing parties to begin with. Sadly we only have the center/center-left FG, FF, SF, Labour who all have variations on exactly the same policies.
One of the things that this election has made clear is that in spite of so many apparent choices, there really are limited choices. Unless you want to go for one of the fringe far left groups with no workable policies, you’re stuck with one of that bundle.
Renua and Social Democrats offered something new, and while SD have built some ground, Lucinda has been punished for daring to offer anything different to the safe center-left consensus.
Correct. There is a need for a new right of centre party. All the parties follow the same policies in a roundabout way. It’s all traditional high tax and spend, pandering to the PS and running hefty budget deficits and borrowing billions to plug the gap. No stomach for any welfare reform, PS reform or balanced budgets.
It’s almost funny how the Sunday Indo act like SF don’t exist except when there is some hint of negativity then it’s emblazonedvon headlines, I would never pay money for that rag
If FF or FG or a weird mishmash of the 2 are the only alternatives we are ever going to have as government in this country then what is the point in ever voting again? Seriously what’s the point? I’m done with it!
“They miss judged the mood of the country” if only there was massive protest and they were followed everywhere the went with security because of the dissatisfaction of the people. The arrogance of the last 5 years is hitting home today. They didn’t miss judge the mood they ignored it and tried to tell us what the mood should be. #endofenda
It’s about time Ireland came to the realisation of what other states within the EU have realised. These government’s aren’t running countries they are managing them. We take orders from EU then our politicians rise and fall with the tide depending on how much the EU needs at any particular time. So we’re left withta situation that unelected technocrats decide what our politicians must do and we spin the politician carousel every 4 years throwing every consecutive one out depending how hard the demands from the unelected are. But after 10 years apparently you can be forgiven for destroying a country and still get voted back in. Time heals all wounds except the massive head wound the Irish electorate seem to have. Let’s go even more right as if there isn’t enough poverty unemployment health care and housing issues they vote for more of that ! Jerus I’ve almost lost faith in democracy. I actually heard a politician on the state channel saying you can’t vote your way out of problems?? What? What?????
What dont you understand? If we owe 40 billion, voting in a different party doesn’t change the fact that we still owe 40 billion….they may have a different way of solving the problem but the problem still exists.
The national broadcaster at it again first thing this morning/
‘RTÉ’s Political Correspondent Martina Fitzgerald tells RTÉ Morning Ireland that if the Fianna Fáil parliamentary party supports a coalition with Fine Gael then you would have to favour it getting past the party conference.’ (from their news website)
As I said early yesterday,if Micheal Martin thought about this as an alternative he would be crucified at his special Ard Fheis to discuss the issue, then, five years later, Fianna Fáil would become the new Labour Party, complete with their second vote collapse in a decade.
It was John Bowman said this morning at 1.30 that Eamon O Cuiv had ruled out coalition with Fine Gael, that wing of their party will not be bought off, especially in the year that’s in it.
Jane, Fianna Fáil could but, Sinn Féin have clearly ruled such out, the will of the people has prevailed, and may well again within a few months, the sad thing is, whom of the political leaders will be at the front of the General Post Office in April, hopefully not the leader of the party which helped partition our nation.
One thing is for certain, it won’t be Gerry or Mary.
A coalition of anykind with Enda Kenny and Michael Noonan is unexceptable ,other than a role as backbenchers ,FG must realise that these 2 despots are a reason why so many of their TD lost their seats ,along with this mith of a massive recovery ,all we are doing is introducing all the bad aspects of the Celtic Tiger that rouned our country ,for the gamblers that were at the helm
The people have spoken, now the only question is will these canditates but party first or country first. The biggest majority are those who failed to vote and this should be investigated. It opens the system to fraud and we must get to a stage of using photo ID when voting. I can’t believe that the percentage is so high, 4 in very 10 have given up on politics. Their option is unknown that is the biggest embarrassment for this election. This is the vote party should be fighting for.
the latest from no less than the leas Uachtarán Sinn Féin,
‘Sinn Féin’s deputy leader Mary Lou McDonald has said her party would not be enablers of Fine Gael and Fianna Fáil running “rampant” across an unequal society.
Speaking on RTÉ Morning Ireland, Ms McDonald said Sinn Féin would be very different from the Labour Party in that respect.
She said going into Government with either Fine Gael or Fianna Fail or both was a matter for the Ard Fheis (again from RTE website)
Gerry will, perhaps not for the first time, sell himself, and republicanism, to whomever wants to pay them the most, Judas Adams and chips looking to support one or other it seems.
It’s depressing to contemplate a FF/FG coalition,but if we ever want to have a government without either of them involved,this had to happen.If the left are ever to offer an alternative government,this will be the time to sort themselves out.
I didn’t know FF have to take any decision on a coalition to an Ard Fheis. If FF are the smallest party then I can’t see it happening, their egos won’t allow that and they know it would be a huge risk. Other FFers are saying a coalition with Labour, SocDems, Greens and other indos could happen.
This is going to be a long drawn out pain in the a**e. Each party will try and court smaller parties and indos and all kinds of promises will be made, you may even get the Healy Rae gobs**tes having a say if their numbers are needed and god knows what concessions they’ll get.
% of 1st preference votes according to the Irish Times: Labour 6.6%.
A Tribunal of Inquiry should be established, under a high court judge, to determine whether these 6.6% actually exist in real life and, if not, impostors and vote-count fraudsters should be given lengthy jail terms.
I mean, I have not met or heard of a single person who voted for the Labour Party.
But perhaps its simply a matter of Labour voters being too embarrassed to admit to their vice?
A minority government? Really? That won’t fare to well with FG, with it inevitably being incredibly unstable and the then inevitable vote of no confidence by the opposition, which will more than likely pass will lead to FG being weaker than they have ever been.
A minority FG government would be bad for FG long term as they’d probably face collapse at the next election as the global economy is on very shaky ground which affect Ireland. It would suit FF as they’d probably walk in at the next election and it would not suit SF as FF would really steal their thunder as the biggest opposition party.
Man (40s) dies after car enters water at Grand Canal in Kildare
3 hrs ago
Holyhead
'If our industry fails, this country fails': Hauliers call for subsidy amid ongoing Holyhead Port closure
3 hrs ago
Magdeburg
Four women and boy confirmed as those killed in German Christmas market attack
Updated
22 hrs ago
Your Cookies. Your Choice.
Cookies help provide our news service while also enabling the advertising needed to fund this work.
We categorise cookies as Necessary, Performance (used to analyse the site performance) and Targeting (used to target advertising which helps us keep this service free).
We and our 136 partners store and access personal data, like browsing data or unique identifiers, on your device. Selecting Accept All enables tracking technologies to support the purposes shown under we and our partners process data to provide. If trackers are disabled, some content and ads you see may not be as relevant to you. You can resurface this menu to change your choices or withdraw consent at any time by clicking the Cookie Preferences link on the bottom of the webpage .Your choices will have effect within our Website. For more details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
We and our vendors process data for the following purposes:
Use precise geolocation data. Actively scan device characteristics for identification. Store and/or access information on a device. Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development.
Cookies Preference Centre
We process your data to deliver content or advertisements and measure the delivery of such content or advertisements to extract insights about our website. We share this information with our partners on the basis of consent. You may exercise your right to consent, based on a specific purpose below or at a partner level in the link under each purpose. Some vendors may process your data based on their legitimate interests, which does not require your consent. You cannot object to tracking technologies placed to ensure security, prevent fraud, fix errors, or deliver and present advertising and content, and precise geolocation data and active scanning of device characteristics for identification may be used to support this purpose. This exception does not apply to targeted advertising. These choices will be signaled to our vendors participating in the Transparency and Consent Framework.
Manage Consent Preferences
Necessary Cookies
Always Active
These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems. They are usually only set in response to actions made by you which amount to a request for services, such as setting your privacy preferences, logging in or filling in forms. You can set your browser to block or alert you about these cookies, but some parts of the site will not then work.
Targeting Cookies
These cookies may be set through our site by our advertising partners. They may be used by those companies to build a profile of your interests and show you relevant adverts on other sites. They do not store directly personal information, but are based on uniquely identifying your browser and internet device. If you do not allow these cookies, you will experience less targeted advertising.
Functional Cookies
These cookies enable the website to provide enhanced functionality and personalisation. They may be set by us or by third party providers whose services we have added to our pages. If you do not allow these cookies then these services may not function properly.
Performance Cookies
These cookies allow us to count visits and traffic sources so we can measure and improve the performance of our site. They help us to know which pages are the most and least popular and see how visitors move around the site. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous. If you do not allow these cookies we will not be able to monitor our performance.
Store and/or access information on a device 94 partners can use this purpose
Cookies, device or similar online identifiers (e.g. login-based identifiers, randomly assigned identifiers, network based identifiers) together with other information (e.g. browser type and information, language, screen size, supported technologies etc.) can be stored or read on your device to recognise it each time it connects to an app or to a website, for one or several of the purposes presented here.
Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development 122 partners can use this purpose
Use limited data to select advertising 92 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times an ad is presented to you).
Create profiles for personalised advertising 67 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (such as forms you submit, content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (for example, information from your previous activity on this service and other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (that might include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present advertising that appears more relevant based on your possible interests by this and other entities.
Use profiles to select personalised advertising 66 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on your advertising profiles, which can reflect your activity on this service or other websites or apps (like the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects.
Create profiles to personalise content 31 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (for instance, forms you submit, non-advertising content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (such as your previous activity on this service or other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (which might for example include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present content that appears more relevant based on your possible interests, such as by adapting the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find content that matches your interests.
Use profiles to select personalised content 27 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on your content personalisation profiles, which can reflect your activity on this or other services (for instance, the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects. This can for example be used to adapt the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find (non-advertising) content that matches your interests.
Measure advertising performance 113 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which advertising is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine how well an advert has worked for you or other users and whether the goals of the advertising were reached. For instance, whether you saw an ad, whether you clicked on it, whether it led you to buy a product or visit a website, etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of advertising campaigns.
Measure content performance 54 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which content is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine whether the (non-advertising) content e.g. reached its intended audience and matched your interests. For instance, whether you read an article, watch a video, listen to a podcast or look at a product description, how long you spent on this service and the web pages you visit etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of (non-advertising) content that is shown to you.
Understand audiences through statistics or combinations of data from different sources 66 partners can use this purpose
Reports can be generated based on the combination of data sets (like user profiles, statistics, market research, analytics data) regarding your interactions and those of other users with advertising or (non-advertising) content to identify common characteristics (for instance, to determine which target audiences are more receptive to an ad campaign or to certain contents).
Develop and improve services 73 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service, such as your interaction with ads or content, can be very helpful to improve products and services and to build new products and services based on user interactions, the type of audience, etc. This specific purpose does not include the development or improvement of user profiles and identifiers.
Use limited data to select content 31 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type, or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times a video or an article is presented to you).
Use precise geolocation data 39 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, your precise location (within a radius of less than 500 metres) may be used in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Actively scan device characteristics for identification 23 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, certain characteristics specific to your device might be requested and used to distinguish it from other devices (such as the installed fonts or plugins, the resolution of your screen) in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Ensure security, prevent and detect fraud, and fix errors 76 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Your data can be used to monitor for and prevent unusual and possibly fraudulent activity (for example, regarding advertising, ad clicks by bots), and ensure systems and processes work properly and securely. It can also be used to correct any problems you, the publisher or the advertiser may encounter in the delivery of content and ads and in your interaction with them.
Deliver and present advertising and content 85 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Certain information (like an IP address or device capabilities) is used to ensure the technical compatibility of the content or advertising, and to facilitate the transmission of the content or ad to your device.
Match and combine data from other data sources 62 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Information about your activity on this service may be matched and combined with other information relating to you and originating from various sources (for instance your activity on a separate online service, your use of a loyalty card in-store, or your answers to a survey), in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Link different devices 45 partners can use this feature
Always Active
In support of the purposes explained in this notice, your device might be considered as likely linked to other devices that belong to you or your household (for instance because you are logged in to the same service on both your phone and your computer, or because you may use the same Internet connection on both devices).
Identify devices based on information transmitted automatically 74 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Your device might be distinguished from other devices based on information it automatically sends when accessing the Internet (for instance, the IP address of your Internet connection or the type of browser you are using) in support of the purposes exposed in this notice.
Save and communicate privacy choices 53 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
The choices you make regarding the purposes and entities listed in this notice are saved and made available to those entities in the form of digital signals (such as a string of characters). This is necessary in order to enable both this service and those entities to respect such choices.
have your say